برنامج إعادة دمج العائدين البنغاليين

عندما وصل المهاجرون البنغاليون إلى وطنهم بعد إخلائهم من ليبيا لقوا تعاوناً بين الحكومة والمجتمع المدني والمنظمات الدولية والقطاع الخاص لمساعدتهم.

في عام 2011 وخلال الأسابيع الثلاثة الأولى من شهر آذار/ مارس، هرب 36594 مهاجراً بنغالياً من العنف الذي اندلع في ليبيا وعادوا إلى وطنهم: بنغلاديش. ولدى عودتهم إلى بلادهم، استقبلهم على أرض المطار موظفو المنظمة الدولية للهجرة وقدموا لهم المساعدة في التسجيل وتسيير معاملات الهجرة بالإضافة إلى تقديم الرعاية الصحية المباشرة على مدار الساعة وفي جميع أيام الأسبوع خلال كامل المدة. وقدمت الحكومة لكل عائد الطعام والماء فور وصوله كما سجلت جميع العائدين وقدمت مبلغ ألف تاكا (تقريباً 12 دولاراً أمريكياً) لمساعدتهم في تغطية مصروفات التنقلات اللاحقة ولترتيب خدمات الحافلات التي ستنقلهم الى المحطات الرئيسية للحافلات والقطار في المدينة.

ورغم الكابوس الذي أحاط بالخدمات اللوجستية، استمر الاتصال المكثف بين كل من المنظمة الدولية للهجرة في داكا والبعثات الميدانية للمنظمة الدولية للهجرة في كل من تونس ومصر، كما استمر اتصالهم جميعاً بالحكومة وأدى ذلك إلى ضمان انتظام معالجة تسجيل جميع العائدين.

ومع أنَّ معظم العائدين كانوا في حالة كبيرة من التعب والإرهاق، فقد كانوا سعداء بالعودة سالمين وكانوا يتوقون لرؤية أسرهم. لكنهم في الوقت نفسه عادوا ليجدوا الديون الكبيرة تنتظرهم كما أنهم تركوا كل ممتلكاتهم وراءهم في ليبيا دون أن يتمكنوا من الحصول على رواتبهم لأشهر هناك. وفي حين أنَّ كثيراً منهم جاء إلى بلاده حاملاً حقائب كبيرة مليئة بكل شيء استطاعوا حمله، هناك أشخاص آخرون عادوا خاليي الوفاض، فعدا عن الملابس التي يرتدونها وربما بعض البطانيات التي توافر البعض عليها فإنَّهم لم يكونوا يمتلكون أي شيء كان.

ولدى عودة معظم الجالية المهاجرة من البنغال بسلام إلى بنغلادش، بدأت المحادثات حول إطلاق برامج اعادة الدمج اشترك فيها كل من الحكومة ومنظمات المجتمع المدني والمنظمات الدولية والقطاع الخاص حيث عقدوا الاجتماعات لمناقشة السبل التي يمكن من خلالها دعم ما يقارب 35000 عائد كما وافقت الحكومة على إيلاء الأولوية للعائدين بخصوص فرص العمل المتاحة خارج البلاد، أما القطاع الخاص فقد وافق أيضاً على توظيف بعض العائدين. ومع كل ذلك، تبقى النسبة الأكبر من هؤلاء العائدين دون وظيفة ودون أن يكون لهم قدرة على دعم أنفسهم وإعالة أسرهم. وفي نهاية المطاف، حصلت الحكومة على قرض من البنك الدولي بقيمة 40 مليون دولار أمريكي دفعت منظمه لمنظمة الهجرة الدولية لقاء نفقات النقل الجوي لألف بنغالي من أصل 31000 بنغالي أمَّنت تلك المنظمة إعادتهم جواً إلى بلادهم. أما ما تبقى من القرض، فقد قدمت الحكومة لكل عائد بنغالي من ليبيا مبلغاً مقطوعاً على شكل منحة بقيمة 50000 تاكا (ما يعادل 600 دولار أمريكي) لتلبية حاجاتهم المباشرة .

وقد نُفِّذ برنامج إعادة الدمج على عدة مراحل. ففي المرحلة الاولى أُطلقت حملة توعوية مكثفة بين العائدين لنشر الوعي بينهم بخصوص وجود البرنامج كما أُعلموا بالوثائق والمستندات التي يجب عليهم تقديمها بما فيها ضرورة فتح الحسابات المصرفية. ثم أنشأت المنظمة الدولية للهجرة قاعدة بيانية شاملة للعائدين جميعهم وذلك من خلال التسجيل الذي أجراه مكتب توظيف القوى العاملة والتدريب في المطار، كما تأسس مركز للاتصال ووزعت أرقامه من خلال وسائل الاعلام المطبوعة والالكترونية وكذلك من خلال الرسائل النصية القصيرة على الهواتف الخلوية للعائدين التي حصلوا عليها فور وصولهم المطار. واستخدم كل عائد مركز الاتصال لتحديد موعد له وبعدها كان على مركز التحقق العمل على التحقق الشخصي من كل عائد ومطابقته مع الوثائق والمستندات المطلوبة وكانت تلك الخطوة الاخيرة في العملية الشاملة لتحديد هوية العائدين الحقيقين قبل أن يتمكن العائد من الحصول على المنحة التي بلغت 50000 تاكا والتي حُولت مباشرة  إلى حسابه.

 

أنيتا جاوا دوروافنا ودود (ajwadud@iom.int) منسقة تطوير المشروعات والبرامج لدى المنظمة الدولية للهجرة في بنغلاديش.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The reintegration programme for Bangladeshi returnees

When evacuated Bangladeshi migrants arrived home, the government, civil society, international organisations and the private sector cooperated to help them.

In 2011, during the first three weeks of March, 36,594 Bangladeshi migrants fled the violence in Libya and returned to Bangladesh. Returnees were greeted at the airport by IOM staff who provided assistance with registration and immigration processing and immediate medical attention – round the clock, seven days a week for the entire period. The government provided each returnee with food and water on arrival, registered all returnees, gave 1,000 taka (approximately US$12) for onward transport and arranged for shuttle bus services to the main bus and train terminals in the city. Despite the logistical nightmare, constant liaison between IOM Dhaka, IOM field missions in Tunisia and Egypt and the government resulted in a fairly systematic processing of all returnees.

While most were exhausted, they were nonetheless happy to have returned safely and were eager to see their families. However, they have returned to large debts and have left behind possessions and months’ worth of unpaid salary in Libya. Many had large suitcases filled with whatever they could carry but many others returned only with the clothes they were wearing and perhaps a blanket.

As soon as the majority of the Bangladeshi migrants had returned safely to Bangladesh, talks about reintegration programmes began. The government, civil society, international organisations and even the private sector held meetings to discuss ways in which over 35,000 returnees could be supported. The government agreed that the returnees would be given priority for overseas employment opportunities and the private sector also agreed to employ some of the returnees; most, however, remained unemployed with little means of supporting themselves and their families. Ultimately, the government obtained a loan of US$40 million from the World Bank with which it reimbursed IOM for the air-travel costs of 10,000 of the approximately 31,000 Bangladeshis IOM had repatriated. With the rest of the loan, each Bangladeshi returnee from Libya was provided with a one-off cash grant of 50,000 taka (approx $600) to meet their immediate needs.

The reintegration programme was implemented in several stages. Firstly, through an extensive outreach campaign the returnees were informed of the programme and what documents they would need, including the need for a personal bank account. A comprehensive database of all returnees was developed by IOM from the registration conducted by the Bureau of Manpower Employment and Training at the airport. A call centre was set up and its numbers disseminated through print and electronic media and texts to returnees’ phone numbers obtained at the airport. Each returnee used the call centre to make an appointment. Then the Verification Centre went into operation for in-person verification with all relevant documents. This was the last step in the exhaustive process of identification of actual returnees before the cash grant of 50,000 taka was transferred directly to their accounts.

Anita Jawadurovna Wadud ajwadud@iom.int is a Project Development and Programme Coordinator with the International Organization for Migration in Bangladesh.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview