منع التهجير

قد يكون النَّزوح وسيلة للفرار من العنف لكنَّه قد يجلب أيضاً كثيراً من المعاناة. لكن بما أنَّه لا مفر من النُّزوح، ما الذي يمكننا فعله لمنعه؟

الأرقام تتحدث عن نفسها. فمنذ ديسمبر/ كانون الأول 2011، نزح أكثر من 26 مليون شخص قسراً من منازلهم بسبب النزاع المسلح وتردّي الاوضاع الأمنية، بينما بحث الملايين عن اللجوء إلى خارج البلاد. أما الكوارث الطبيعية فقد هجَّرت قرابة 15 مليون شخص في عام 2011 وحده.

ولكن ما لا تخبرنا به الأرقام هو ما يعنيه التهجير بالنسبة للناس المتأثرين به. فالتعرض للتهجير والمعاناة منه غالباً ما لا يكون سوى البداية فحسب لسلسلة من التحديات التي تتضمن استمرار تردّي الأوضاع الأمنية ومزيد من التهجير نتيجة الاعتداءات على المخيمات والمستوطنات، والتعرض إلى التهديدات كالعنف الجنسي والتجنيد القسري والإتجار بالبشر. ما لا تخبرنا به الأرقام هو أنَّ الأضرار الوجدانية للتهجير هائلة جداً.

ومع كل  الجهود التي تبذلها المنظمات الإنسانية، يؤدي التهجير في الغالب إلى تفشي الجوع والمرض العقلي والجسدي على حد سواء ناهيك عن انتقاص الكرامة الإنسانية حيث يصبح الفرد وتصبح العائلات عالةً على الغير من أجل البقاء على قيد الحياة. ويفقد الأطفال قدرتهم على الذهاب إلى المدرسة ويفقد أخرون غيرهم قدرة الحصول على الرعاية الصحية التي يحتاجونها. أما آثار التهجير قد تبقى مدى الحياة بل قد تتجاوز ذلك لتضر بمصالح الأجيال القادمة أيضاً . وبالنسبة لكثير من المهجَّرين في العالم، قد ينجم عن هذه التجربة القاسية فقدان مصادر كسب رزقهم نهائياً أو لفرص حصولهم على العمل ثم ينتقلون بذلك إلى مرحلة أخرى هي حالة الفقر والعوز المزمنين. يفقد الناس الاتصال ببلدانهم الأصلية وتنفصم روابطهم مع ثقافاتهم ومجتمعاتهم المحلية. إنه أمر مدمر تماماً.

لكنَّ التهجير المؤقت، من وجهة نظر أخرى، قد يكون طريقةً مناسبة لحماية المجتمعات المحلية المهددة بالعنف أو بالكوارث. ففي هذه الحالة، بعد انتهاء الخطر يتمكن الناس من العودة إلى منازلهم، ولكن ذلك يجب ألا يكون إلا باحترام حرية الانتقال وببذل جميع الجهود المطلوبة لإيجاد الحلول للعوامل الضمنية التي سببت التهجير.

ليس التهجير أمراً حتمياً لا مفرّ منه. فما الذي يمكننا فعله لمنعه؟

يمكننا الضغط على جميع أطراف النزاع المسلح لاحترام القانون الإنساني الدولي وحماية الأشخاص العاديين من رجال ونساء وأطفال. كما أنَّ أعداد المهجرين ستنحسر إن اتخذت الأطراف المتحاربة الخطوات اللازمة لإبقاء الناس بمنأى عن آثار العمليات الحربية وإذا ما امتثلت تلك الأطراف إلى مبدَأي التمييز والتناسب. نحن بإمكاننا أن نضاعف جهودنا بل يجب علينا أن نضاعف جهودنا  لإجبار الأطراف المتحاربة على الامتناع عن استخدام التهجير القسري كسلاح في الحرب. وفي الأوضاع التي يُستخدَم بها التهجير بهذه الطريقة، قد يشكّل التهجير جريمة حرب أو جريمة ضد الانسانية يجب التحقيق بها وملاحقة مرتكبيها على أنهم مجرمي حرب بحق الإنسانية.

تفرض اتفاقية الأشخاص النازحين داخلياً التي تعد أول اتفاقية دولية ملزمة قانوناً واسمها: اتفاقية الاتحاد الإفريقي لمساعدة وحماية النازحين داخلياً في إفريقيا، على الدول اتخاذ التدابير الوقائية اللازمة لحماية الأشخاص من التهجير وفقاً لالتزامات تلك الدول بموجب القانون الدولي. كما أن تلك الاتفاقية تفرض على كل دولة تعيين  ضابط ارتباط ممثلا عنها في التعامل مع قضية التهجير. كما تفرض الاتفاقية على الدول التزاماً قانونياً بمنع الاقصاء والتهميش السياسي والاجتماعي والثقافي والاقتصادي اللذين يمثلا بعض العوامل السابقة للتهجير. وبموجب الاتفاقية، يترتب على الدول التزامات محددة لتخصيص المصادر وتبني السياسات والإستراتيجيات الوطنية وسنّ القوانين أو تعديلها بما يضمن منع التهجير، ووضع منظومات التحذير المبكرة في المناطق التي قد تمثل مشكلة. ستدخل الاتفاقية حيز النفاذ في 6/12/2012  وأنا أحثّ الدول التي لم توقع وتصادق على الاتفاقية أن تفعل ذلك دون أي تأخير.

وعلينا أيضاً بذل مجهود أكبر للاستعداد للتهجير ومنعه إذا كان سببه تردي الأحوال الجوية. فعلى سبيل المثال، في الدول التي تعاني من الجفاف على أساس منتظم، نعلم متى ستقع الكارثة وبذلك يمكننا بالاستعداد لها منع سوء التغذية. وكذلك الفيضانات التي تحدث بانتظام لا يجب أن تمسح قرى كاملة من الوجود. يجب أن يساعد عمل المجتمع الإنساني والإنمائي في جعل المجتمعات المحلية أكثر لدونة وقدرة على مقاومة الأحداث والكوارث الطبيعية، وعندما يتحقق ذلك ستكون تلك المجتمعات أكثر قدرة على مواجهة التغيرات المتعلقة بالمناخ والتغيرات الاقتصادية دون الاضطرار إلى مغادرة المنازل بحثاً عن الطعام أو العمل أو المأوى . وبرامج التدريب الفني والتخطيط الفعال للطوارئ وتوافر الفرق المدربة للاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ وتركيب محطات الأرصاد الجوية وإطلاق حملات رفع الوعي في المجتمعات المحلية وتوفير معدات الطوارئ الرئيسية كلها أدوات فعالة يمكن استخدامها لمنع وقوع الخسائر في الأرواح والحد من مخاطر التهجير في تلك الظروف.

كلنا نقرّ بأهمية المشروعات الإنمائية للبنية التحتية، كالسدود المائية المولدة للكهرباء والفوائد التي قد تعود بها على الاقتصادات الوطنية. لكن جماعات السكان الأصليين على وجه الخصوص غالباً ما تعتمد على الأرض لكسب الرزق كأساس لهويتهم الثقافية. فإن كان تهجيرهم لا مفر منه لإنشاء مشروعات البنية التحتية، فيجب أن يكون الأشخاص المتضررون جزءاً من عملية صنع القرار في ذلك الشأن وينبغي أن يُعرَّفوا بجميع حقوقهم وخياراتهم والبدائل الاقتصادية المتاحة لهم.

أنا أرحّب بالتركيز على هذه القضية في نشرة الهجرة القسرية. فبتعلم الخبرات الجديدة وبالتأسيس على خبراتنا الحالية وبالعمل مع نطاق واسع من الأشخاص المعنيين بوسعنا أن نفعل أكثر مما نفعل الآن لمنع التهجير والحد من المعاناة التي يتسبب بها

فاليري أيموس هي منسق الأمم المتحدة للإغاثة في حالات الطوارئ، ووكيل الأمين العام للشؤون الإنسانية. لمعلومات أوفر، يرجى الاتصال  بأماندا بيت، مكتب تنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية، نيويورك pitta@un.orgm

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Preventing displacement

Displacement can be a means of escaping violence but it can also bring great suffering. Displacement is not inevitable, so what can we do to prevent it?

The figures speak for themselves. As of December 2011, more than 26 million people were internally displaced, forced from their homes by armed conflict and insecurity, while millions more had sought refuge abroad. In addition, an estimated 15 million people were displaced by natural disasters in 2011 alone.

What the figures do not tell us is what displacement means for the people who are affected. Suffering displacement is often just the beginning of a series of challenges including continuing insecurity, further displacement through attacks on camps and settlements, and exposure to threats including sexual violence, forced recruitment and human trafficking. The personal emotional toll is immense.

Despite the efforts of humanitarian organisations, displacement often leads to hunger and illness, both physical and mental. There is a loss of dignity, as individuals and families become dependent on others for survival. Children are unable to go to school and many are not able to get the health care that they need. The effects of displacement can last a lifetime and beyond, damaging the prospects of future generations. For many displaced people in the world, the experience can result in a permanent loss of livelihood or employment opportunities, and can turn into chronic destitution. People lose contact with their countries, their cultures, their communities. It is devastating.

For some, temporary displacement is a way of protecting communities threatened by violence or disaster. After the threat has passed, people are able to return to their homes. But this is only possible if freedom of movement is respected and every effort is made to find solutions to the underlying factors which create the displacement.

Displacement is not inevitable, so what can we do to prevent it?

We can press all parties to armed conflict to respect international humanitarian law and protect the ordinary men, women and children. Fewer people would flee if warring parties took the necessary steps to spare them from the effects of hostilities, and complied with the principles of distinction and proportionality. We can and must do more to compel warring parties to refrain from using forced displacement as a weapon of war. In situations when it is used in this way, displacement may constitute a war crime or crime against humanity, and must be investigated and prosecuted as such.

The first international legally binding convention on Internally Displaced Persons, the African Union’s Convention for the Protection and Assistance of IDPs in Africa, requires states to take preventive measures to protect people from displacement in line with their obligations under international law. It also requires states to designate focal points to deal with the issue. States are legally required to prevent the political, social, cultural and economic exclusion and marginalisation that are likely to precede displacement. They have specific obligations to allocate resources, adopt national policies and strategies, and enact or amend laws to ensure that displacement is prevented, and set up early warning systems in areas where it could pose a problem. The Convention will enter into force on 6th December 2012, and I urge those states that have not done so to sign and ratify it without delay.

We must also do more to prepare for, and prevent, the displacement caused by extreme weather events. For example, in countries where there is drought on a regular basis, we know it is going to happen so it should not result in malnutrition. Regular flooding should not wash away entire villages. The work of the humanitarian and development community should help communities become more resilient. When communities and households are resilient, they are more able to withstand climate-related and economic changes without needing to leave home in search of food, work or shelter. Technical training, effective contingency planning, availability of trained emergency response teams, installation of weather stations, campaigns to raise community awareness and the provision of key emergency equipment can be effective tools to prevent the loss of life and risk of displacement in these circumstances.

We all recognise the importance of infrastructure development projects, like dams for hydroelectric power, and the benefits that these can bring to national economies. But indigenous groups in particular often rely on the land for their livelihood and as a basis for their cultural identity. If displacement cannot be avoided in developing infrastructure projects, the people affected should be part of the decision-making process on how it is to be carried out, and should be fully informed of the rights, choices and economic alternatives open to them.

I welcome the focus of this issue of Forced Migration Review. By learning from and building on our experience and by working with a wide range of the people involved, we can do more to prevent displacement and the suffering it brings.

 

Valerie Amos is United Nations Emergency Relief Coordinator and Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs. For more information contact Amanda Pitt, OCHA New York.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview