التعليم كمقوّم أساسي لمنع إعادة تهجير الشباب

إذا نظرنا إلى التعليم على أنه من العوامل التي تبقي اللاجئين في المخيمات أو في المجتمعات المضيفة بدلاً من تشجيعهم على العودة إلى ديارهم، فينبغي عندها أن نُدمج التعليم ضمن حل العودة لمنع إعادة النُّزوح.

نظراً لأنَّ التعليم يعد عاملاً أساسياً لبقاء اللاجئين في المخيمات أو المجتمعات المضيفة، فبدلاً من تشجيعهم على العودة إلى أوطانهم، فمن العجيب ألا يتم تضمين التعليم بشكل منهجي كجزء من العودة. وتشير تجربتنا في بوروندي بأن الحصول على التعليم ليس حقاً فحسب ولكنه أيضاً ضرورة لاستدامة عودة الشباب واليافعين، وبذلك يتم منع إعادة تهجيرهم. فالوصول المستمر إلى التعليم المناسب يدعم إعادة الاندماج الاجتماعي للعائدين من الشباب، وبذلك يُمنع التهجير على المدى البعيد. وعليه، يجب أن يكون التعليم جزءاً أساسياً من خطط الإعادة.

وقد كان لغياب التخطيط الهيكلي بالنسبة لليافعين، خاصة فيما يتعلق باستمرارية التعليم عند عودتهم إلى بوروندي من تنزانيا، أثر ضار على قدرتهم على الاندماج مع المدارس هناك. ففي تنزانيا، كانت معدلات الالتحاق في المدارس الثانوية أقل بنسبة 23% ممن بقوا في بوروندي. والغريب أنه بعد عودتهم أصبح مستوى الالتحاق 55% أقل ممن لم يغادروا[1].

وقد وجدنا أن الصعوبات التي يواجهها العائدون من الشباب تتضمن الفقر الذي أدى إلى انعدام قدرة الأسرة على دفع تكاليف تعليم أبنائهم (كالزي المدرسي والكتب وما إلى ذلك)، والإمكانات المحدودة لنظام التعليم البوروندي لاستيعاب العائدين في المدارس العامة وغياب الشهادات المدرسية لإظهار مستوى التحصيل الدراسي في المنفى، الذي يمنعهم من دخول المدارس البوروندية، هذا إلى جانب عدم المعرفة بلغة التدريس (حيث إنَّ لغة التدريس لا تساعد اليافعين في إنجازاتهم في المدرسة فحسب بل تساعدهم أيضاً في اكتساب حس الانتماء ومقاسمة الهوية المشتركة) والحاجة للَّحاق بالمواد الدراسية التي فاتتهم من المناهج الدراسية في تنزانيا.

ووجد العائدون من الشباب، ممن تمت مقابلتهم والذين لم يكونوا يذهبون إلى المدارس، أن إعادة الاندماج صعبة عليهم بصورة عامة، لدرجة أنهم يوصون اللاجئين الذين لا يزالون موجودين في مخيم متابيلا، المخيم الوحيد الباقي للاجئين البورونديين في تنزانيا، للبقاء في تنزانيا، في حين أن من ذهب منهم إلى المدارس كانت لديهم خططاً أكثر قوة لمستقبلهم ويتصورون أنه من السهل البقاء في موطنهم. وبشكل عام، ذكرت الفتيات أنهن واجهن صعوبة أكبر في الاندماج أكثر من الفتيان، وذلك راجع بشكل كبير إلى البيئة المدرسية العدائية.

وختاماً، من أجل ضمان الإعادة الناجحة لليافعين، تظهر ضرورة الالتزام تقديم الدعم عبر الحدود واستمرارية دعم الأنشطة التعليمية الناشئة للمساهمة في الاندماج الاجتماعي والسلام والاستقرار والحد من الفقر وبذلك تكون العودة الدائمة.

مارينا ل. أنسيلمي anselme@theret.org رئيسة، ومسؤولة برنامج التعليم واستقطاب الدعم المالي في صندوق تعليم اللاجئين http://theret.org/en/home. وباربرا زيوس zeus@theret.org رئيسة بعثة صندوق تعليم اللاجئين في بوروندي http://theret.org/en/where-we-work/1/burundi.



[1] استناداً إلى دراسة الأثر التي أقامها صندوق تعليم اللاجئين في بوروندي ما بين سبتمبر 2011 ومارس 2012. ولمزيد من التفاصيل، يُرجى الاتصال بصندوق تعليم اللاجئين.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Education as an essential component of prevention of youth re-displacement

If education is seen as a factor that keeps refugees in camps or host communities rather than encouraging them to go back home, it should be systematically included as part of return to prevent re-displacement.

Given that education is seen as a factor that keeps refugees in camps or host communities rather than encouraging them to go back home, it is ironic that it is not systematically included as part of return. Our experience in Burundi is that access to education is not only a right but also essential to the sustainability of return for younger people and thus to preventing their re-displacement. Consistent access to appropriate education underpins social reintegration of young returnees and thus the prevention of displacement in the longer term. Education should thus be a core part of repatriation plans.

Lack of structural planning for young people especially in terms of continuity of education once they crossed back to Burundi from Tanzania has had a detrimental effect on their ability to integrate into schools there. In Tanzania secondary school enrolment was 23% lower than for those who remained in Burundi. Paradoxically after their return the level was 55% lower than for those who had never left.[1]

We found that the difficulties faced by young returnees included poverty, leading to families’ inability to pay for their children’s education-related costs (uniforms, books, etc); limited capacity of the Burundian education system to absorb the returnees in the public schools; lack of school certificates showing their level of educational attainment in exile, which prevented them from being admitted to Burundian schools; unfamiliarity with the language of instruction (language instruction not only helps young people in their achievements at school but also in attaining a sense of belonging and shared common identity); and the need to catch up with subjects that were missing from the curriculum in Tanzania.

Young returnees interviewed who were not going to school found it harder to reintegrate in general, to the point where they would recommend to refugees still in Mtabila, the one remaining camp for Burundian refugees in Tanzania, to remain in Tanzania while those who were going to school had more solid plans for their own future and easily envision staying in their home country. On the whole girls found it harder to integrate than boys, mostly because of the hostile school environment, they reported.

Finally, to ensure the successful repatriation of young people, cross-border commitment and continuity of support are needed for education activities that are shown to contribute to social integration, peace, stability, poverty reduction and therefore permanent return.

 

Marina L Anselme is Chief, Education Programme and Development Officer at The Refugee Education Trust. Barbara Zeus is Head of Mission for RET in Burundi.

 

[1] Based on an impact study conducted by the RET in Burundi between September 2011 and March 2012. For more details, please contact the RET.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview