إثارة التهجير: الأسلحة الانفجارية في المناطق المأهولة بالسكان

لقد أصبح دور الأسلحة الانفجارية في التسبب بالنزوح في المناطق الحضرية من المسائل التي تصدرت الأجندة الدولية حديثاً.

للتهجير القسري عديد من البواعث، لكن أكثرها إثارة للمخاوف هو استخدام الأسلحة الانفجارية في المناطق المأهولة بكثافة بالسكان وسواء أكان ذلك في غزة خلال عملية الرصاص المصبوب في ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2008 إلى يناير/كانون الثاني 2009 أم خلال المراحل الشاقة النهائية للصراع في سريلانكا أو في حلب وحمص في سوريا حالياً، فإنَّ استخدام الأسلحة المتفجرة في المناطق المأهولة بالسكان يشجع على تهجير مئات الآلاف من الأشخاص قسرياً.

وتتنوع الأسلحة الانفجارية بشكل كبير، فهي تتضمن القذائف المدفعية والرؤوس الحربية للقذائف والصواريخ وقذائف الهاون ومقذوفات الطائرات والألغام والعبوات الناسفة. إلا أن السمة المشتركة بينها هي أنه لا يمكن التمييز بينها من حيث مناطق انفجارها وأثر شظاياها، مما يجعل استخدامها في المناطق المأهولة بالسكان مثيراً للمشكلات. وتوضّح البيانات المجمّعة عبر عدد من النزاعات، بما في ذلك أفغانستان والعراق والصومال واليمن، معاناة المدنيين الكبيرة والمستمرة، البدنية والنفسية، الناجمة عن آثار الانفجار والشظايا لهذه الأسلحة في المناطق المأهولة بالسكان. وقد وجدت الدراسة التي أُجريت هذا العام من قِبل منظمة مكافحة العنف المسلّح أن 87% من وفيات وإصابات المدنيين حدثت في المناطق المأهولة بالسكان، بما فيها الأسواق والمدارس ودور العبادة والمنازل الخاصة.[1]

وفي حين يصعُب عزو النزوح بصورة مباشرة إلى الأسلحة الانفجارية، فإن لاستخدامها آثار واضحة على نزوح المدنيين. أولاً، فإن الأشخاص يُرغمون على الفرار من مناطق الاعتداءات. وإذا توقف القتال أو انتقل إلى مكان أخر، فلا يتمكن الأفراد في الغالب من العودة نظراً للدمار المنتشر والأضرار اللاحقة بمنازلهم وموارد رزقهم والبنية التحتية مثل شبكات المياه والصرف الصحي. وتمثل الذخائر غير المنفلقة تهديداً مستمراً للمدنيين، بمن فيهم اللاجئين والأشخاص النازحين داخلياً العائدين إلى أن يتم التخلص منها.

وقد ظهرت الحاجة للتعامل مع هذه القضية مؤخراً على خطة العمل الدولية حيث ذكرت اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر[2] وكذلك ذكر الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة[3] ومنسق الأمم المتحدة للإغاثة الطارئة، فاليري آموس، ومجلس الأمن والجمعية العامة أثر استخدام الأسلحة الثقيلة في المراكز السكانية وحذروا من ذلك.

كما التف المجتمع المدني أيضاً حول القضية. ففي مارس/آذار 2011، تأسس ائتلاف من الجمعيات الأهلية، هو الشبكة الدولية حول الأسلحة الانفجارية[4]، مناشدة الدول وغير ذلك من الفاعلين للنهوض لتفادي الضرر الناجم عن الأسلحة الانفجارية في المناطق السكانية، وللتعاون وجمع البيانات ذات الصلة، ولتلبية حقوق الضحايا ولوضع معايير دولية أقوى. ولجمع البيانات وتحليلها أهميته في تعميق فهمنا للأثر الإنساني لهذه الأسلحة ولتوفير المعلومات المستنيرة للسياسات والممارسات. وسيكون العامل الهام في هذا هو التحليل الأكثر تفصيلاً لأثر الأسلحة الانفجارية، وذلك فيما يتعلق بالتسبُّب في النزوح وإطالته.

سايمون باغشو bagshaw@un.org كبير استشاريي السياسات بمكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية بجنيف www.unocha.org. جميع ما ورد بهذا المقال يعبر عن رأي الكاتب فقط ولا يعكس بالضرورة آراء منظمة الأمم المتحدة.



[1] منظمة مكافحة العنف المسلح، رصد العنف الانفجاري (Monitoring Explosive Violence)، مجموعة بيانات مشروع مراقبة العنف التفجيري 2011 (2012)

http://tinyurl.com/aoav-evmp2011

[2] اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر، القانون الإنساني الدولي وتحديات النزاعات المعاصرة(International Humanitarian Law and the Challenges of Contemporary Conflicts) – تقرير أُعدَّ للمؤتمر الدولي الواحد والثلاثين للجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر والهلال الأحمر (أكتوبر/تشرين الأول 2011) 42

http://tinyurl.com/icrc-31st-int-conf-ihl

[3] انظر تقرير الأمين العام حول حماية المدنيين في النزاعات المسلحة S/2009/277 (29 مايو 2009) وS/2010/579 (11 نوفمبر 2010) وS/2012/376 (22 مايو 2012)

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Driving displacement: explosive weapons in populated areas

The issue of the role of explosive weapons in generating displacement in urban areas has recently risen up the international agenda.

Forced displacement has many drivers but one of increasing concern is the use of explosive weapons in densely populated areas. Whether in Gaza during Operation Cast Lead in December 2008 to January 2009, during the final gruelling stages of the conflict in Sri Lanka, or in Aleppo and Homs in present-day Syria, the use of explosive weapons in densely populated areas encourages the forced displacement of hundreds of thousands of people.

Explosive weapons vary considerably, and include artillery shells, missile and rocket warheads, mortars, aircraft bombs, grenades and improvised explosive devices. Their common feature, however, is that they are indiscriminate within their zones of blast and fragmentation effect, which makes their use in populated areas highly problematic. Data collected across a range of conflicts, including Afghanistan, Iraq, Somalia and Yemen, reveal substantial and ongoing civilian suffering, both physical and psychological, caused by the blast and fragmentation effects of such weapons in populated areas. A study this year by Action on Armed Violence found that 87% of civilian deaths and injuries occurred in populated areas, including markets, schools, places of worship and private homes.[1]

While it is difficult to attribute displacement directly to explosive weapons, their use has obvious implications for the displacement of civilians. To begin with, people are forced to flee areas under attack. If and when the fighting ceases or moves on, people are often unable to return due to the widespread destruction of, and damage to, their homes, sources of livelihood and essential infrastructure such as water and sanitation systems. Unexploded ordnance poses a continuing threat to civilians, including returning refugees and internally displaced persons, until it is removed.

The need to address this issue has recently risen up the international agenda, with ICRC,[2] the UN Secretary-General,[3] UN Emergency Relief Coordinator Valerie Amos, the Security Council and the General Assembly all noting or speaking out against the impact of the use of heavy weapons in population centres.

Civil society has also mobilised around the issue. In March 2011 an NGO coalition, the International Network on Explosive Weapons (INEW[4]), was established, calling on states and other actors to strive to avoid the harm caused by explosive weapons in populated areas, to gather and make available relevant data, to realise the rights of victims, and to develop stronger international standards. Data collection and analysis are essential to deepening our understanding of the humanitarian impact of such weapons and to inform policy and practice; an important element in this would be more detailed analysis of the impact of explosive weapons in terms of causing and prolonging displacement.

 

Simon Bagshaw is Senior Policy Advisor, UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, Geneva. The views expressed here are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of the UN.



[1] Action on Armed Violence, Monitoring Explosive Violence: The EVMP Dataset 2011 (2012)

http://tinyurl.com/aoav-evmp2011

[2] ICRC,  International Humanitarian Law and the Challenges of Contemporary ConflictsReport prepared for the 31st International Conference of the Red Cross and Red Crescent (October 2011) p42

http://tinyurl.com/icrc-31st-int-conf-ihl

[3] See Report of the Secretary-General on the protection of civilians in armed conflict, S/2009/277 (29 May 2009), S/2010/579 (11 November 2010) and S/2012/376 (22 May 2012)

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview