منع النزوح أم السعي له؟

يعمد المدنيون المستخطرون إلى عدد من الخيارات للبقاء على قيد الحياة وتتضمن تلك الخيارات تجنب النزوح لكنها أيضاً تتضمن السعي له. ومع ذلك، يتداخل الخياران ويتذبذب الشخص بين هذا الخيار وذاك سعياً منه للحد من المخاطر التي ينطوي عليها كل خيار على حدة.

هناك إدراك بأنَّ النزوح يعني إخفاق الغرباء في الحيلولة دون دفع المدنيين من الخروج رغم إرادتهم عن بيوتهم ومواطنهم، لكنَّ ذلك الإدراك يقوم على افتراضات عدة تخضع للجدل من ثلاثة نواحٍ هي: أولاً أنَّ النزوح يجب منعه بدلاً من السعي له، وثانياً أنَّ أكبر تأثير قد يتعرض له النزوح هو من الغرباء وليس من السكان المحليين، وثالثاً وأخيراً أنَّ النزوح يتعلق بلحظة معينة يُجبر فيها الناس على الفرار.

أما المدنيون فيسعون إلى الصمود أمام النزوح سواء أكان ذلك القرار حكيماً أم لا لأنَّهم يدركون أنَّ النزوح قد يقضي على معائشهم ومصادر رزقهم والقدرة على حصولهم على الخدمات كما أنَّه  قد يمِّزق نسيجهم الاجتماعي وعلاقاتهم الاجتماعية. لكنَّ الفرار من جهة أخرى قد يكون محفوفاً بالمخاطر وكذلك الأماكن التي ينزح إليها النازحون والتي قد يعتقدون في البداية أنها أكثر أمنا وسلامة فقد يتبين لهم أنها مصدر لهلاكهم. وفي الحالات التي يستوي فيها خطر خياري البقاء والذهاب فقد يكون (أو لا يكون) لألفة الموطن الأصلي سبباً حاسماً للبقاء. يقول فريد كاني "أي استراتيجية تساعد على التخفيف من النزوح إنما هي عامل مهم في الحد من عدد الوفيات" فقد اكتشف أنَّه بمقارنة معدلات الوفيات بين اللاجئين والباقين في مناطق النزاع يتبين أنَّ فرص الحياة تكون أفضل لدى من فضَّل البقاء في مناطق النزاع.

لكن من ناحية أخرى، ينبغي للمدنيين (وهذا ما يفعلون في الغالب) الاستعداد لمواجهة الإخفاق في منع الفرار لأنَّ ذلك الاستعداد قد يحد من المخاطر. ففي مجال الحد من مخاطر الكوارث الطبيعية، يلاحظ أنَّ الجميع يخطط إلى النزوح الذاتي، ولكن ردة الفعل السياسية والاجتماعية والعاطفية العميقة على التهديد الذي تفرضه الرياح الموسمية تختلف عن ردة الفعل على تهديدات الخنجر والمدية.

من جهة الجماعات المسلحة فإنهم يستغرقون في بعض الأحيان سنوات عدة لبناء جاهزيتهم العسكرية، أما المدنيين فمع انعدام بصيرتهم وعدم معرفتهم للعواقب فقد لا تتاح لهم سوى بضع دقائق محدودة. ومع ذلك، فإنَّ الوضع الأفضل لحماية الأرواح يتمثل في الاستعداد لمنع النزوح أو السعي له. ويمكن القول أنَّ للمدنيين الحق في البقاء أو المغادرة وفقاً لما يعتقدون أنه الأصوب لهم. وبالنسبة للأشخاص الذي يعانون من العنف فإن القضية تكتيكية أكثر من أن تكون قانونية في حين أنَّ معادلتنا الليبرالية-الديمقراطية لأصحاب الواجبات وأصحاب الحقوق لا تقدم أي مهارات تكتيكية  لعيش تلك الحقوق واقعاً ملموساً عن طريق البقاء على قيد الحياة بعد موت القتلة. وكذلك فإنَّ عمال الإغاثة الإنسانية حتى عند توليهم دور مقدمي الحماية فهم على أرض الواقع غالباً ما يكونون أول المُهجَّرين.

وولتر كالين، الممثل السابق للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة للحقوق الإنسانية للنازحين، يؤكد على أنَّ وقوع الأحداث الجديدة المستمرة للنزوح الداخلي يشير إلى إخفاق المجتمع الدولي في أدائه لواجباته، وبالفعل فإنِّ الجهود المبذولة إلى التأثير على الفاعلين الخطرين والأحداث الخطرة أكثر عرضة للفشل والإخفاق أيضاً تاركة أمر تحديد العواقب مرهوناً إما بضبط النفس بين الجهات المتحاربة أو الحماية الذاتية للمدنيين. لكنَّ أخرين يؤكدون على أنَّ العوامل الثلاثة المحددة لبقاء المدنيين على قيد الحياة ممن يواجهون العنف في مكان النزاع أو في أثناء الفرار تتمثل في أفعال كل الأطراف المتحاربة والأطراف الأخرى والمدنيين المعرضين للخطر أنفسهم، لكن ما يلاحظ في الحوارات والسياسات المتعلقة بالمدنيين المستخطرين أنها تستثني هؤلاء المدنيين من المعادلة.

والحقيقة أنَّ الجهود التي يبذلها الغرباء لمنع النزوح قد يحفزها في بعض الأحيان رغبة الغرباء في احتواء التدفقات السكانية وفي بعض الأحيان لا تخفق هذه الجهود فحسب بل إنها تجعل السكان المحليين عرضة للخطر الأكبر فتشجيعهم على البقاء حيث هم قد يؤثر على الاستراتيجيات المتبعة محلياً للبقاء على قيد الحياة بما في ذلك استراتيجية النزوح.

وفي حين أنَّ المجتمع الدولي غالباً ما لا يكون في وضع السيطرة الذي يمكنه من تحديد الخيار الأمثل من حيث منع النزوح أو السعي له، فإن السكان المحليين قادرون على ذلك. ومن هنا فإن مصطلح "الهجرة القسرية" قد لا يحيط بدرجة استقلالية القرار ولا بعدد الخيارات المدروسة في سياقات الظروف القاهرة. ولذلك يتطلب إبصار هذه الاحتمالية ودعمها تواضعاً من جانب الغرباء ودراسة لأنماط الخطط البديلة التي قد يبدأ السكان المحليون في رسمها.

وفكرة دعم القدرات المحلية على المحافظة الذاتية ليست جديدة، فهناك كثير من الأمور التي بمقدور منظمات المساعدة الإنسانية عملها للاستناد إلى الاستراتيجيات التي توظفها المجتمعات بهدف "صون ممتلكاتهم والفرار من العنف والحد من المخاطر"[1] وتقترح لجنة الأمم المتحدة الدائمة بين الوكالات تعزيز الإدارة عن بُعد بواسطة إعمال الشراكات مع مقدمي الخدمات الأهليين الذين أثبتوا قدراتهم والتركيز على استخدام الأساليب الإبداعية في تقديم النفاذ المحلي للخدمات الإنسانية. كما أنها ترى أنَّ "الحماية العملية تُقدم أولاً وقبل أي جهة أخرى من جانب المجتمع المحلي." وأياً كانت الآليات المختارة لتوفير الدعم فإن الركيزة الأولى تتمثل في الاستشارات.

ويتخذ المدنيون قرارهم باختيار منع النزوح أو السعي له ويحددون الطريقة المثلى للحد من مخاطر أي من الخيارين وفقاً لحسابات يجرونها على ضوء السلامة وكسب الرزق والخدمات الحياتية الأساسية، وغالباً ما يكون المجتمع الدولي مدركاً للخيارات الصعبة التي تواجه السكان المحليين خلال الشهور والسنوات السابقة للنزوح المادي فوضع عدداً من الحلول منها وجودها المادي ومصاحبتها لهم ودعمها للجهود المحلية في الوساطة والحوار وغير ذلك من مناهج متبعة لتحويل مسار النزاع أو إدارته. وفي بعض الأحيان يشجع المجتمع الدولي المجتمع المحلي على تنظيم أمور الشرطة ومؤسسات الإنذار المبكر ورسم خطط الطوارئ وغالباً ما تدعم سبل كسب الرزق في خضم حالة عدم الاستقرار المزمنة على أمل إبقائهم في مكانهم. كما أنَّه يزيد من تطبيق أدوات الرقابة عن بُعد لتمكين استمرارية المشروعات المقامة من خلال الكوادر المحلية النظيرة والشركاء الأخرين حتى بعد رحيل تلك الكوادر.

ومع ذلك، هناك إجماع عالمي على أنَّ هذه الجهود المدروسة جيداً لا تحقق النجاح الكافي في الغالب ولذلك يعد من الأمور الحيوية النظر في ظاهرة غالبة هي انفصام العلاقات الملحوظ بين كيفية سعينا لمنع النزوح أو الحد منه من جهة وتوجهات السكان المحليين لهذا الأمر من جهة أخرى. ومن أمثلة ذلك ما يلي:

 

قد يكون لدينا ميل أكبر لـ...

 

في حين أنَّ السكان المحليين قد يكونوا أكثر ميلاً إلى....

تعزيز الحوار مع أصحاب النفوذ والسلطة

«

قطع العلاقات مع أصحاب النفوذ والسلطة

إرسال التحذيرات المبكرة إلى أصحاب الواجبات

«

إرسال التحذيرات المبكرة للأشخاص المستخطرين

إبقاء العائلات جنباً إلى جنب بأي ثمن كان

«

تقسيم العائلات وفقاً للحسابات التكتيكية

دعم نموذج "شرطة المجتمع المحلي" وفقاً للنمط الغربي

«

استخدام الشركة لمهاراتهم التي لا تناسب فحسب إنفاذ القانون لكن الانخراط في النزاع المسلح أيضاً.

توفير دعم كسب الرزق على أساس الإغاثة ثم استشفاء الإنتاج والأسواق

«

اتخاذ خطوات كسب الرزق على أساس عودة العنف وانهيار الاقتصاد الرسمي

التركيز على تحسين الزراعة والمحاصيل التي يمكن تسويقها للحصول على النقود بدلاً من إهمال ممارسات الزراعة ونهب المؤن للحصول على كسب الرزق والتي تقاوم النزاع.

 

«

السعي وراء كسب الرزق من خلال الزراعة ونهب المؤن واللجوء إلى تكتيكات الاستطلاع والتنقل الآمن وإخفاء الحصص الزراعية لتأمينها.

 

دراسة مبادرة معارضة لكل من نزع الممتلكات ومناهضة الإنماء

«

 

نزع الممتلكات وتحويلها لحماية المُقدَّرات الأسرية وإزالة المصادر التي قد تغري المعتدين والإبقاء على الممتلكات بعيداً عن متناول المجرمين والعناصر المتحاربة ووضع تلك الموارد في أياد المستجيبين الأوائل الأمينة لتعزيز تلك الشبكات.

 

التنديد بالأسواق السوداء وتجنب وكلاء تحويل الأموال غير الرسميين.

«

 

استخدام كلتا الوسيلتين لدرجة كبيرة جداً

 

المساعدة في تجهيز الكوادر المحلية والشركاء المحليين لتقديم المساعدات الملائمة بأنفسهم

«

 

السعي نحو تكتيكات وبنى أكثر سرية والسعي للمساعدات المتنقلة.

 

تكتيكات متبعة لإدارة المخاطر

غالباً ما يطلق على انعدام الأمن وانهيار سبل كسب الرزق وزوال الخدمات (خاصة الرعاية الصحية) "ببؤرة النزاع" فهي العوامل الأكثر قدرة على دفع الناس إلى مغادرة مواطنهم. ومع انحسار العنف، تسعى العائلات والمجتمعات المحلية إلى تعزيز سلامتها الجسدية والتأقلم مع سبل كسب الرزق وتعدل من الطرق الأهلية لتوفير المساعدات. ويشير النازحون من خلال تجربتهم إلى أنَّ النزوح لا يقتصر تعريفه على النأي عن مكان ما فحسب بل إنه يعني أيضاً تفكيك كثير من الممارسات الأساسية وإعادة تركيبها. وحتى لو بقي الناس في مواقعهم فإنَّهم غالباً ما يكون لقراراتهم تبعات مضاعفة أكثر من تبعات النزوح ذاته. وقد اخترنا فيما يلي بعضاً من مئات التكتيكات التي ذكرها تقرير مركز كاني بعنوان كيف ينجو المدنيون من العنف: جرد أولي. [2]

لتعزيز السلامة فقد يقنعون الفاعلين الدوليين أنهم قادرون على المساعدة أو أنهم مسالمين وقد ينتحلون شخصيات غير صحيحة وقد يقنعون أفراد المجتمع المحلي بالبقاء مسالمين على الحياد وقد يقطعون العلاقات مع الفاعلين المثلين لمصدر الخطر لهم وقد يحسنون من مهارات جمع المعلومات وتقييمها وتزييفها وقد يقسمون العائلة حسب الاعتبارات الأمنية والاقتصادية وقد يتنقلون بين البيت والمزرعة ومستوطنات الظل وقد يؤسسون أو يبنون مجموعات مستضعفة أو مهددة تتبنى اجراءات السلامة الشخصية وقد يساعدون العائلات والشبكات الاجتماعية الأخرى على إعداد خطط الطوارئ للتصدي للعنف وقد يسعون إلى إقامة العلاقات المفيدة مع المؤازرين من أصحاب النفوذ وقد يتسلحون أو يتحالفون مع الحماة المسلحين.

لتعزيز سبل كسب الرزق فقد ينوّعون من ممارسات كسب الرزق التقليدية وقد يستبدلون بها أساليب أخرى كالتقليل من الاستهلاك والمصروفات والاستثمار وحشد الممتلكات أو بيعها أو السعي وراء كسب الرزق بالزراعة أو نهب المؤن أو الدخول إلى الظل (السوق السوداء) واقتصادات التكيف. ودعماً لهذه التكتيكات فقد يسعون على سبيل المثال إلى تقديم المكافآت أو الرسوم أو الضرائب أو الرشاوى سعياً لمنع مضايقة أحد لوسائل كسب أرزاقهم.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فقد يسعون إلى البحث عن دعم خارجي وذلك عن طريق شبكات المؤازرين التي غالباً ما تكون على صورة مؤسسات دينية أو تجارية أو سياسية أو مسلحة. وقد يوسعون من شبكات المال كالاقتراض الشخصي والتجاري والحوالات الخارجية. وأخيراً، وبصورة "نزوح مادي" مقصود قد يستخدمون تكتيكات "انزع وحوّل" لغايات استعادة المال أو التفكيك أو التسييل أو توفير النقد أو الإيداع أو مصادرة المال أو انتهاج سياسة الأرض المحروقة.

لحماية الخدمات الأهلية فقد يتكيفون أو يتبنون مهارات توفر لهم الخدمات على أساس النزاع مع التركيز على جمع المعلومات وتقييمها والاتصالات الحساسة والتنقل الآمن. وغالباً ما تتعرض بنية الخدمات إلى التعديل باستخدام ممارسات عن بعد مع تجنب تسليط الأضواء عليهم وإعادة هيكلة الخدمات لتكون أكثر سرية وذات أشكال متنقلة وتخفيض استخدام البنى التحتية وتوزيع المؤن والكوادر والمستفيدين وتوزيع مهام الأعمال.

إنَّ تحسين مستوى الاستشارات يكشف عن قدرة مقدمي الخدمات المحليين والسكان على إجراء حساباتهم الحكيمة والخاصة بالمخاطر بطريقة تختلف عما يفعله الغرباء. وفي تقرير دعم الجاهزية، يسلط مركز كاني الضوء على واحدة من عمليات الاستشارة تلك. ودعم الجاهزية يعتمد على قدرات النظراء المحليين والمجتمعات المحلية على المحافظة الذاتية وعلى قدراتنا في مساعدتهم على الاستفادة من قدراتهم وتقصير المدة التي يستغرقونها في تعلم الظروف المهددة للحياة. هذه الجاهزية تعتمد على الإصغاء إلى ما يعرفون ودعم الممارسات التي ثبت نجاحها وربما تقديم المشورة لهم حول التكتيكات الإضافية التي يمكن لهم من خلالها الاختيار ثم الحشد. والسكان المجليون يستحقون هذا الدعم.

كايسي بارز cbarrs@mt.gov زميلة بحث في الحماية لدى مركز كوني www.cunycenter.org

 



[1] سوروشا أوكالاخان وسارة بانتليانو، العمل الحمائي: إدماج الحماية المدنية في الاستجابة الإنسانية، Protective Action: (Incorporating Civilian Protection into Humanitarian Response) تقرير مجموعة السياسات الإنسانية رقم 26، مجموعة السياسات الإنسانية، معهد الإنماء ما وراء البحار، لندن، ديسمبر/ كانون الأول 2007، ص.ص 4 و35 www.odi.org.uk/resources/docs/1640.pdf

[2]   htttp://tinyurl.com/HowCiviliansSurvive

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

To prevent or pursue displacement?

The repertoire of survival actions of at-risk civilians includes both avoiding and attempting displacement. But there are also overlaps, combinations and tacking back and forth between the two, while trying to mitigate the risks that any choice entails.

The perception of displacement as the failure of outsiders to prevent civilians being driven from their homes rests on several arguable assumptions: firstly, that displacement should be prevented, not pursued; secondly, that displacement can be most influenced by outsiders, not locals; and, thirdly, that displacement is about one particular moment when people are forced to flee.

Wisely or not, civilians often try to hold their ground. Displacement can disrupt life-critical sustenance, services, and protective social units and networks. Flight can be perilous and destinations thought to be safer often turn out to be deadly as well. If in a given situation both staying and going are dangerous choices, then familiarity with one’s home ground might – or might not – be a decisive argument for staying. As Fred Cuny said, “Any strategy that can help reduce displacement is an important element in reducing the number of deaths.” He found that when mortality rates among refugees and those who remain behind in conflict areas are compared, in most cases people have a better chance of survival in conflict zones.

On the other hand, civilians should – and often do – prepare for a failure to prevent flight and this readiness can reduce a range of risks. In the field of natural disaster risk reduction, everyone plans for self-displacement. But the political, social and visceral reaction to threat by monsoon differs from that to threat by machete.

Armed groups sometimes build their readiness for years. Without foresight, civilians might have only minutes. Nonetheless, the best posture for saving lives is to try to be prepared to either prevent or pursue displacement. It can be argued that civilians have a right to either stay or go as they determine best. For people experiencing violence the issue is more tactical than legal. Our liberal-democratic formula of duty bearers and rights holders does not offer any tactical skills for living out those rights by outliving killers. And humanitarians, even when in the assumed role of protector, in reality are often the first to be displaced.

Walter Kälin, the former UN Secretary-General’s Representative on the Human Rights of Internally Displaced Persons, contends that constant new instances of displacement indicate that the international community is failing in its duties. And indeed, efforts to influence dangerous actors and events far too often fail, leaving the outcome determined by either the self-restraint of belligerents or the self-protection of civilians themselves. But others emphasise that the three main determinants of the survival of civilians facing violence, whether in situ or in flight, are the actions of belligerent parties, of third parties and of endangered civilians themselves. Too much of the debate and policy regarding at-risk civilians excludes those civilians.

The truth is that outsiders’ efforts to prevent displacement might sometimes be motivated by the desire of outside parties to contain population flows. And sometimes these efforts not only fail but can place locals further in harm’s way; encouragement to stay in place might interrupt local survival strategies – including displacement.

The international community does not often control whether displacement will be prevented or will be pursued but locals sometimes do. The term ‘forced migration’ might not capture the degree of local autonomy and the range of intelligent choices even within coercive conditions. Seeing and supporting this potential requires humility on the part of outsiders and consideration of the types of Plan B that locals almost always begin to develop.

The idea of supporting local capacity for self-preservation is not new. There is much that aid organisations can do to build on the strategies that communities employ in order to “maintain their assets, escape violence, and mitigate threats.”[1] The UN’s Inter-Agency Standing Committee suggests bolstering remote management by partnering with proven indigenous providers, emphasising innovative, localised humanitarian access. It also argues that “practical protection is provided first of all by and through the community.” Whatever mechanisms of support are chosen, the bedrock must be consultation.

Civilians decide whether to prevent or pursue displacement – and how best to mitigate the risks of either choice – based on their calculations about safety as well as livelihood and life-critical services. The international community is often mindful of the hard choices that locals face in the months and years preceding physical displacement and has developed a range of stratagems. It offers its presence and accompaniment, and supports local efforts at mediation, dialogue, and other approaches to transform or manage conflict. It sometimes encourages community policing, early warning structures and contingency planning. It often supports livelihoods amid chronic instability in the hope of helping locals to maintain the wherewithal to stay in situ. And it increasingly establishes remote control apparatus so projects can continue through local counterpart staff and partners even after it evacuates.

But there is universal agreement that these well-intended efforts do not succeed often enough and so it is vital to look at the often stark disconnects between how we seek to prevent or mitigate displacement and how locals do.

 

We may be more inclined to…

«

While locals may be more inclined to…

Promote dialogue with controlling powers

«

Cut deals with controlling powers

Send early warning to duty bearers

«

Send early warning to those in harm’s way

Keep families together at all costs

«

Split families up based on tactical calculations

Support western-style ‘community policing’

«

Police using skills suited for not just lawlessness but also armed conflict

Provide livelihood supports premised on relief then recovery of production and markets

«

Take livelihood steps premised on return of violence and collapse of formal economy

Focus on improved agriculture and marketable cash crops to the neglect of conflict-resistant subsistence farming and foraging practices

«

Pursue subsistence farming and foraging — and the tactics of scouting, safe movement and hidden farm lots that make it safer

Consider asset stripping counter-intuitive and anti-development

«

Strip and transfer assets in order to protect family wealth; remove resources that invite attack; keep those assets out of the hands of criminals and belligerents; and put those resources into hands of trusted first responders, thus strengthening those networks

Malign black markets and avoid informal money transfer agents

«

Use both to a very great degree

Help prepare local staff and partners for conventional aid delivery on their own

«

Pursue the tactics and architecture of more discreet and mobile aid

 

Tactics for managing risk

Loss of security, collapse of sustenance and breakdown of services (especially health care) are frequently called conflict’s ‘centre of gravity’ and are the factors most likely to induce people to move. As violence closes in, families and communities try to augment their physical safety, adapt livelihoods and modify indigenous methods of aid delivery. In their experience, displacement is not merely defined by movement away from a location but is also about dismantling and reassembling a range of essential practices. Even when staying, people often make decisions more consequential even than flight. The following are some of the hundreds of tactics cited in the Cuny Center report How Civilians Survive Violence: A Preliminary Inventory.[2]

To enhance safety they may persuade threatening actors they are helpful or harmless; fabricate false identities; persuade community members to remain non-aligned and peaceful; cut deals with threatening actors; improve skills of information gathering, assessment and disinformation; split family up based on safety and economic considerations; commute between home/farm and shadow settlements; establish or build on non-formal policing; establish conflict early-warning/response systems; help specific vulnerable or threatened groups with personal safety measures; help families and other social networks prepare contingency plans for violence; pursue useful ties to powerful patrons; take up arms, or ally with armed protectors.

To underpin sustenance they may diversify or substitute conventional livelihood practices by, for example, reducing consumption, expenditure and investment, pooling or selling assets, pursuing subsistence agriculture or foraging, or entering shadow (black market) and coping economies. In support of these tactics they may, for example, make pay-offs – fees, taxes or bribes – in order to pursue livelihood activities unmolested.

In addition they may look for external support by seeking out patronage networks – most commonly among religious, business, political or armed entities – and expand money networks such as personal or commercial borrowing and foreign remittances. Finally, as forms of deliberate ‘material displacement’, they may use ‘strip and transfer’ tactics of redeeming, dismantling, liquidating, caching, depositing, temporarily forfeiting, scorching and more.

To protect indigenous services they may adapt or adopt skills that put service delivery on a conflict footing, emphasising information gathering and assessment, sensitive communication and safe movement. The architecture of service delivery is often altered, using remote and low-profile practices, deconstructing services into more discreet and mobile forms, downsizing infrastructure, dispersing supplies, staff and beneficiaries, and delegating work.

Better consultation reveals the capacity of local providers and populations to make wise risk-benefit calculations that differ from those of outsiders. The Cuny Center report, Preparedness Support, outlines one such process of consultation. Preparedness support rests on the abilities of local counterparts and communities for self-preservation and on our ability to help them cultivate their capacities and shorten the time it takes them to learn in life-threatening circumstances. It is based on listening to what they know, supporting what already works, and – perhaps – advising on additional tactics from which they can choose and then mobilise. Locals deserve this support.

 

Casey Barrs is a Protection Research Fellow with The Cuny Center.

 

[1] Sorcha O’Callaghan and Sara Pantuliano, Protective Action: Incorporating Civilian Protection into Humanitarian Response, HPG Report No. 26, Humanitarian Policy Group, Overseas Development Institute, London, December 2007; pp 4 and 35 www.odi.org.uk/resources/docs/1640.pdf

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview