نحو نظام قانوني رسمي للحماية

توجد مجموعة من النصوص القياسية المشتركة لحماية البيئة ومنع وتقليل الكوارث، إلى جانب ضمان احترام حقوق الإنسان في جميع الظروف. وتمثل هذه المعايير مجتمعة إطار عمل قانوني وتشغيلي فاعل ولا يجب تأويلها بصورة مستقلة أو على حدة.

ألزمت المعايير التوجيهية حول النزوح الداخلي والمعاهدة الخاصة بحماية ومساعدة الأشخاص النازحين داخلياً في أفريقيا (معاهدة كامبالا) عام 2009 الحكومات الوطنية بإقامة إطار عمل قانوني لمنع النزوح. لكن يمكن مراعاة ثلاثة مجالات قانونية لتوضيح العلاقة بين التزامات الحكومات المختلفة وللمساهمة بصورة أكثر فعالية في تقليل مخاطر النزوح:

1. تقليل الكوارث

تلقي آلية تقليل الكوارث، المندرجة ضمن إطار عمل هيوجو، بمسؤولية تقليل المخاطر البيئية الطبيعية والبشرية وحماية السكان من خلال تقديم السياسات أو البرامج أو التشريعات الهادفة إلى تقليل الأخطار الطبيعية[1]، على عاتق الحكومات. ولم يتم تضمين مشكلة النزوح بصورة مبدئية في إدارة الكوارث. إلا أن الإستراتيجيات الموضوعة قد عززت من القدرة على الاستجابة لمثل هذه الأوضاع، ويمكن أن يكون لها أثر هام على نطاق النزوح.

فعلى المستوى الوطني، ضُمّن هذا الالتزام في الأحكام الدستورية للعديد من الدول. فالدستور الإثيوبي لعام 1994، على سبيل المثال، ينص على أنه "يتعين على الحكومة اتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة لتوفير الحماية ضد الكوارث الطبيعية والبشرية. وفي حال وقوع الكوارث، فإن عليها تقديم المساعدة إلى الضحايا في الوقت المناسب". كما تبنت الحكومات الأخرى إجراءات وطنية. إذ يهدف قانون إدارة الكوارث في الهند لعام 2005 وقانون إدارة الكوارث الوطني في توفالو لعام 2008 وقانون إدارة وتقليل مخاطر الكوارث في الفلبين لعام 2010 إلى مأسسة المعايير الخاصة بتقليل مخاطر الكوارث من أجل زيادة لدونة المجتمعات المستضعفة وقدرتها على التعامل مع قضية النزوح.

وعلى المستوى الإقليمي، فقد أكدت اتفاقية الأسيان لعام 2005 حول إدارة الكوارث والاستجابة إلى حالات الطوارىء وإطار عمل مادانج للأعوام 2005-2015 الخاص بمنطقة المحيط الهادىء على تقديم المعايير الإلزامية المتعلقة بالمنع. كما تتطلع الاتفاقية الأوروبية والمتوسطية للأخطار الكبرى 1987 أيضاً إلى دعم التوجه الوقائي بالمنطقة نحو الكوارث الطبيعية والتكنولوجية. وعلى المستوى الدولي، يُطلب إلى مؤسسات الأمم المتحدة المختصة العمل على النحو الذي يدعم تنفيذ إطار عمل هيوجو.

وفيما يتعلقبالنزوح نتيجة للحوادث الصناعية بشكل خاص، فليس نظام منع الكوارث الصناعية مقتصراً على الالتزامات الخاصة بإطار عمل هيوجو. وعلى الرغم من أن حادث محطة الطاقة النووية فوكوشيما باليابان في مارس 2011 قد نجم عنه نزوح 40000 شخص، فقد أعلِن عن تبني العديد من المعاهدات والاتفاقيات الوطنية والدولية المتعلقة بقضيتي المنع والمساعدة، مع إلزام الحكومات بتنفيذ السياسات الوطنية المناسبة لحماية البيئة والسكان من أي تهديدات.

2. حماية حقوق الإنسان

بالنسبة للمنهج القائم على حقوق الإنسان، تفرض توابع الأضرار البيئية على الحياة والصحة والممتلكات التزاماً على الحكومات الوطنية باتباع الإجراءات الوقائية لأجل تفادي، إلى أبعد حد ممكن، تهجير السكان واحترام حقوقهم الأساسية. وقد قضت المحكمة الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان، في قضية أونيريلديز ضد تركيا، أن المنع هو الواجب الأساسي للدولة وهو مشتق من التزامها الإيجابي لحماية الحق في الحياة. وظهر نفس الالتزام، في قضية بوداييفا وأخرون ضد روسيا، عندما أكدت المحكمة أن على الدولة التزام إيجابي بإقامة إطار عمل قانوني وإداري لغرض حماية حقوق الإنسان من عواقب الكوارث[2]. كما أقرت اللجنة الأفريقية أيضاً، في قضية جمهورية نيجيريا الاتحادية ضد جالية أوجوني، أن العجز عن تنفيذ الإجراءات الوقائية المستهدفة لحماية المجتمع من التلوث، والمنبثقة عن مصدر خاص، وتفادي النزوح، لهو انتهاك للحقوق بموجب الميثاق الأفريقي. وبالمثل، تزايد الإقرار بأنه قد وجب على الدول نشر المعلومات في حال وقوع خطر صناعي، مثل الحادث النووي في اليابان، وضمان المشاركة العامة في القرارات حول الإخلاء والتعويض، على سبيل المثال. وللحقوق الإجرائية، مثل الحق في المعلومات والحق في المشاركة العامة في صنع القرارات، إلى جانب الحق في الحصول على العدالة، أهميتها في منع النزوح.

3. حماية البيئة

يشتمل الالتزام العام بحماية البيئة على الواجب المفروض على الحكومات الوطنية لاتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة لمنع حدوث المخاطر البيئية المحتمل أن ينجم عنها النزوح. وفي نفس الوقت، ومع اضطرار الحكومات إلى تقديم برامج التكيُّف لإبطاء آثار التغيرات المناخية ومنع النزوح، اكتسب المبدأ الوقائي، إلى جانب المبدأ الاحترازي، درجة محددة من السلطة على المستوى الدولي. وتشهد العديد من القوانين واللوائح التنظيمية الدولية على الالتزام بخضوع الحكومات الوطنية إلى تنفيذ الإجراءات الوقائية المستهدفة لوقف المخاطر البيئية من أن تقع وأن تتسبب في النزوح. ويرتبط هذا الالتزام بشكل متزايد بمفهوم التنمية المستدامة، مما يستلزم التقييم الأفضل للمخاطر وشيكة الحدوث وتقليل تداعياتها على الأشخاص. ويتجلى هذا المنهج في معاهدة 1996 لمكافحة التصحر، والتي تؤكد على أهمية التنمية المستدامة في مكافحة المشكلات الاجتماعية الخطيرة "والمشكلات الناتجة عن هجرة ونزوح الأشخاص وعوامل التغيير السكانية"[3].

تكاملية الأنظمة

على الرغم من أن الهدف الأصلي للحماية في بعض الحالات لم يكن الأشخاص النازحين بصورة مباشرة، فقد قُدمت مجموعة من النصوص المقننة المشتركة والتكاملية لحماية البيئة ولمنع وتقليل الكوارث، إلى جانب ضمان احترام حقوق الإنسان في جميع الظروف. وفي الواقع، تمثل هذه المجالات الثلاثة إطار عمل قانوني وتشغيلي شامل الذي لا يلقي بالضوء على الالتزامات الواجبة على الحكومات الوطنية لتقليل آثار الكوارث على الأفراد فحسب، بل يظهر بشكل أساسي أنها مسؤولية السلطات العامة لمكافحة الأسباب الفعلية للنزوح. لذلك، صار حتمياً ألا يُنظر إلى الالتزامات المتعددة والمفروضة من قِبل هذه المعاهدات والاتفاقيات على أنها مستقلة بعضها عن بعض. بل يجب تطبيق جميع الالتزامات الواجبة على الحكومات الوطنية والمنتشرة عبر مجالات القانون المختلفة كنظام موحد قائم بذاته للحماية من أجل ضمان تحقيقها للنتائج الملموسة. ولكي يحدث ذلك، فلا بد من زيادة التعاون الدولي عبر المجالات الثلاثة المذكورة.

ديميتريوس تشوتوراس dchotour@hotmail.com محامً يترافع أمام المحاكم العليا ويحمل درجة الدكتوراه في القانون من جامعة لورين.



[2] انظر والتر كالين وكلودين هايني دال "الحد من مخاطر الكوارث – لمذا يهمنا حقوق الإنسان"، (Disaster risk mitigation – why human rights matter ) نشرة الهجرة القسرية العدد 31،  www.fmreview.org/sites/fmr/files/FMRdownloads/ar/pdf/NHQ31/38-39.pdf

[3] الفقرة 9 من ديباجة المعاهدة الخاصة بمكافحة التصحر

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Towards a uniform legal system of protection

There exists a set of inter-related normative texts for the protection of the environment and for the prevention and reduction of disasters, as well as for ensuring respect for human rights in all circumstances. Taken together these standards constitute an effective legal and operational framework and should not be interpreted independently or in isolation.

The Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement and the Convention for the Protection and Assistance of Internally Displaced Persons in Africa (Kampala Convention) of 2009 already specifically place national governments under an obligation to set up a legal framework to prevent displacement. Three other areas of law could be considered, however, to show the relationship between governments’ various obligations and to make a more effective contribution to reducing the risk of displacement:

1. Reducing disasters

The mechanism for disaster reduction enshrined in the Hyogo Framework for Action gives governments responsibility for reducing natural and anthropogenic environmental risks and protecting populations by introducing policies, programmes or legislation aimed at reducing natural threats.[1] The problem of displacement was not initially included in disaster management. The strategies developed, however, have enhanced the ability to respond to such situations and can have a significant impact on the extent of displacement.

At a national level, such an obligation has been included in the constitutional provisions of several countries. The Ethiopian Constitution of 1994, for example, states that the government “shall take measures to provide protection against natural and man-made disasters; and, in the event of disasters, it shall provide timely assistance to the victims.” Other governments have adopted national regulations. India’s 2005 Disaster Management Act in India, Tuvalu’s 2008 National Disaster Management Act and the Philippines’ 2010 Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Act all aim to institutionalise measures to reduce the risk of disasters in order to increase the resilience of vulnerable communities and tackle the issue of displacement.

At a regional level, the 2005 ASEAN Agreement on Disaster Management and Emergency Response and the 2005-15 Madang Framework for Action for the Pacific both emphasise the introduction of binding measures in relation to prevention. The 1987 European and Mediterranean Major Hazards Agreement also aspires to strengthen the region’s preventive approach to natural and technological disasters. At an international level, the specialist institutions of the UN are required to work in ways that support the implementation of the Hyogo Framework for Action.

As far as displacement due to industrial accidents in particular is concerned, the prevention system for industrial disasters is not solely limited to the obligations of the Hyogo Framework. Although the incident at Japan’s Fukushima nuclear power station in March 2011 resulted in the displacement of 40,000 people, various national and international conventions and agreements relating to the issue of prevention and assistance have been adopted, obliging governments to implement proper national policies for protecting the environment and populations under threat.

2. Protecting human rights

As far as the human rights-centred approach is concerned, the consequences of environmental damage on life, health or property impose an obligation on national governments to adopt preventive measures in order to avoid – as far as possible – populations being displaced and to respect their fundamental rights. The European Court of Human Rights stated, in the case of Ӧneryildiz v. Turkey, that prevention is the primary duty of the state and is derived from its positive obligation to safeguard the right to life. The same obligation appeared in the case of Boudaïeva et al. v. Russia, when the Court reiterated that the state has a positive obligation to establish a legislative and administrative framework for the purpose of protecting human rights from the consequences of a disaster.[2] The African Commission also recognised, in the case of Federal Republic of Nigeria v. Ogoni Community, that failing to implement preventive measures designed both to protect the community from pollution stemming from a particular source and to avoid displacement is a violation of rights under the African Charter. Similarly, it is increasingly recognised that it is incumbent upon states to disseminate information in the event of an industrial risk, such as the nuclear accident in Japan, and to ensure public participation in decisions about, for example, evacuation and compensation. Procedural rights – like the right to information and the right to public participation in decision making, as well as the right to access to justice – are central in preventing displacement.

3. Protecting the environment

A general obligation to protect the environment underlies the duty imposed on national governments to take necessary measures to prevent the occurrence of environmental risks likely to result in displacement. At the same time as governments are being forced to introduce adaptation programmes to slow down the effects of climate change and prevent displacement, the preventive principle – as well as the precautionary principle – has acquired a certain degree of authority at an international level. Numerous international laws and regulations attest to the obligation that national governments are under to implement protective measures designed to stop an environmental risk from becoming a reality and therefore resulting in displacement. This kind of obligation is increasingly linked to the concept of sustainable development, requiring better evaluation of imminent risks and reduction of repercussions for people. This approach appears clearly in the 1996 Convention to Combat Desertification, which emphasises the significance of sustainable development in combating important social problems “and those arising from migration, displacement of persons and demographic dynamics.”[3]

Complementarity of systems

Although in some cases the original target for protection was not the displaced person directly, a set of interrelated and complementary normative texts has been introduced to protect the environment and to prevent and reduce disasters, as well as to ensure respect for human rights in all circumstances. In reality these three areas constitute a broad legal and operational framework which not only highlights the obligations incumbent on national governments to minimise the effects of disasters on individuals but also, more fundamentally, shows that it is the responsibility of public authorities to combat the actual causes of the displacement. It is therefore imperative not to consider the various obligations imposed by such conventions and agreements as being independent of each other. All the obligations incumbent on national governments, dispersed across different areas of law, need to be applied as a single, uniform system of protection in order to ensure that they achieve tangible results. For this to happen, there will need to be increased international cooperation across all three areas.  

 

Dimitrios Chotouras is a barrister and holds a doctorate in law from the University of Lorraine.

 

[2] See Walter Kälin and Claudine Haenni Dale ‘Disaster risk mitigation – why human rights matter’, FMR 31 www.fmreview.org/FMRpdfs/FMR31/38-39.pdf

[3] Paragraph 9 of the Preamble to the Convention to Combat Desertification.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview