الكوارث الطبيعية ونزوح السكان الأصليين في بوليفيا

إذا أراد أحد أن يفهم ويعالج الأسباب المؤدية إلى ارتفاع أعداد النازحين من السكان الأصليين في بوليفيا، فعليه أن يدرس العلاقة بين المعارف التقليدية وآثار التغير المناخي.

لم تكن الكوارث الطبيعية التي ضربت بوليفيا مؤخراً الأسوأ في تاريخ البلاد، إلا أن الأنماط الهيكلية المرتبطة بالقطاع الزراعي الرعوي والتغيرات المناخية قد اجتمعت لجعل النزوح المتعلق بالمناخ أمراً خطيراً. وتعتبر المناطق الثلاث الأكثر تضرراً: المنطقة الشرقية حيث اضطربت الدورات المناخية في حوض الأمازون اضطراباً شديداً وفي المنطقة الجنوبية حيث تزايد التصحُّر، وفي الشمال حيث شهدت درجات الحرارة في جبال الأنديز تغييراً سريعاً. ويعتمد السكان الأصليون المنتشرون في بوليفيا (وهم بالتناسب الأعلى في أي من دول أمريكا اللاتينية بنسبة 62%) اعتماداً كبيراً على الزراعة، ولذلك فإنهم معرّضون بصورة خاصة إلى آثار التغيُّرات المناخية.

وفي جميع هذه المناطق، يشهد الإنتاج الزراعي تغيرات كبيرة من حيث الخصائص، وفي كثير من الحالات تضعف هذه التغيُّرات القدرة على الإعاشة المحلية. وتستند أساليب النشاطات الزراعية التقليدية على المعارف التقليدية التي لم تتكيف بعد مع الدورات المناخية الجديدة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يغلب على هذه المجتمعات التنائي ويقل حصولها على الدعم السياسي. والنتيجة زيادة أعداد الأشخاص المجبرين على الهجرة إلى المدن والمراكز الحضرية بصورة عامة.

ومن الناحية الإيجابية، فللحكومة البوليفية التزام تجاه حقوق السكان الأصليين علاوة على الوعي بدور القضايا البيئية. وقد تأكد هذا الالتزام من خلال مؤتمر شعوب العالم حول التغيُّرات المناخية وحقوق كوكب الأرض الأم في أبريل/نيسان 2010[1] الذي نتج عنه مقترحات ملموسة للحراك السياسي والاتفاقيات الدولية.

وللتعامل مع المشكلات الفعلية لهجرة السكان الأصليين، لا بد من إجراء الاستقصاءات الاجتماعية والفنية التي تسعى وراء الحلول العملية لإثراء المناقشات العامة. ويجب أن تكون مثل هذه الاستقصاءات تشاركية وأن تركز على الهجرة كإستراتيجية تكيّفية. كما يلزم أن تحدد جوانب المعرفة التقليدية التي قد تدعم جهود التغلُّب على المصاعب الفنية وأن ترسم بانتظام صورة عن خصائص اللدونة والقدرة على المواجهة ومحدودية كل مجتمع من السكان الأصليين.

فإذا ما فعلت ذلك، فإنها ستسلّط الضوء على أحد جوانب إدارة المخاطر التي لم تلق نسبياً إلا قليلاً من العناية، وربما تساهم في منع نزوح السكان الأصليين نتيجة للتغيُّرات المناخية.

لودفيك جيرارد ludvik.girard@gmail.com مستشار للمنظمة الدولية للهجرة في بوليفيا http://tinyurl.com/IOM-Bolivia .

جميع ما ورد في هذا المقال يعبر عن رأي الكاتب ولا يعكس بالضرورة وجهات نظر المنظمة الدولية للهجرة.



[1] مؤتمر شعوب العالم حول التغيُّرات المناخية وحقوق كوكب الأرض http://pwccc.wordpress.com/

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Natural disasters and indigenous displacement in Bolivia

Those seeking to understand and address the reasons for growing numbers of displaced indigenous people in Bolivia should consider the relationship between traditional knowledge and the impacts of climate change.

In Bolivia not only have recent natural disasters been the worst ever but structural patterns related to the rural agricultural sector and climate change have combined to make climate-related displacement significant. The three most affected areas are the east where the weather cycles in the Amazon basin have been profoundly disturbed, the south where there has been increasing desertification, and the north where the temperatures in the Andes mountains have been undergoing rapid change. Bolivia’s large indigenous population (proportionally the highest in any Latin American country at 62%) is largely dependent on agriculture and therefore particularly vulnerable to the effects of climate change.

In all of these regions, agricultural production has been increasingly changing in character and in many cases these changes are undermining the capacity for local subsistence. Traditional methods of agricultural activity are based on traditional knowledge that is not adapted to the new climatic cycles. In addition these communities tend to be remote and with less access to political levers. The result is that growing numbers of people are forced to migrate, generally into towns and cities.

On the positive side, the Bolivian government has a commitment to the rights of indigenous people, as well as an awareness of the role of ecological issues. This commitment was confirmed by the World People’s Conference on Climate Change and Rights of Mother Earth in April 2010[1] which produced concrete proposals for political action and international agreements.

To deal with the very real problems of indigenous migration, a sociological and technical enquiry is needed, seeking feasible solutions and feeding into public debates. Such an investigation must be participative and focus on migration as an adaptive strategy. It should seek to identify those aspects of traditional knowledge that might support efforts to overcome technical difficulties, and should systematically profile the resilience and limitations of each indigenous community.

If it does this, it will shed light on an aspect of risk management that receives relatively little attention, and potentially help prevent the displacement of indigenous people as a result of climate change.

 

Ludvik Girard ludvik.girard@gmail.com has been working as a consultant to IOM Bolivia http://tinyurl.com/IOM-Bolivia The opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of IOM.

 

[1] Conferencia Mundial de Pueblos sobre el Cambio Climático y los Derechos de la Madre Tierra http://pwccc.wordpress.com/

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview