القانون الإنساني الدولي: ملخص موجز بالأحكام ذات الصلة

يعد قانون النزاع المسلّح، المعروف أيضاً بالقانون الإنساني الدولي، جزءاً من القانون الدولي الذي يقنن بوضوح المعايير الملزمة لمنع النزوح. والقانون الإنساني الدولي غير معني بمسألة شرعية النزاعات المسلحة لكنه يحكم السلوك المنتهج خلال النزاع ويضع الاعتبارات الإنسانية في مقابل الضرورة العسكرية.

تتضمن انتهاكات القانون الإنساني الدولي الاعتداءات على المدنيين وإساءة معاملتهم وتدمير الممتلكات والعنف الجنسي والحد من الوصول إلى الرعاية الصحية وغير ذلك من الخدمات الأساسية. وعلى وجه الخصوص، يتضمن القانون الإنساني الدولي المقنن في معاهدات جنيف لعام 1949 وبروتوكولاته الإضافية لعام 1977، أحكاماً مهمة لمنع نزوح الأشخاص ولحماية الأشخاص المجبرين على الفرار.

ويُنظر إلى العديد من هذه الأحكام على أنها أصبحت قانوناً دولياً عرفياً. وتتعامل معاهدة جنيف الرابعة بشكل خاص مع حماية المدنيين في أوقات الحرب، بما في ذلك الاحتلال. ويعد النازحون داخلياً جزءاً من السكان المدنيين، وبذلك يكون لهم الحق في تلقي نفس الحماية من توابع الحرب، مثلهم في ذلك مثل المدنيين الأخرين. ويكمّل البروتوكول الإضافي الأول تلك الحمايات في أوقات النزاعات المسلحة الدولية وكذلك يكمّل البروتوكول الإضافي الثاني الحمايات في أوقات النزاعات المسلحة غير الدولية. وتتحمل الدول مسؤولية تنفيذ هذه الحمايات في إطار العمل القانوني المحلي التابع لها.

ورغم أن كل نزوح مرتبط بالنزاع لا يمثل بالضرورة خرقاً للقانون الإنساني الدولي، يمنع القانون الإنساني الدولي العرفي، إلى جانب البروتوكولين السابقين، تهجير المدنيين، سواء داخل حدود الدولة أم عبر الحدود الدولية، أو تهجيرهم القسري أو نقلهم من الأراضي المحتلة، ما لم يكن ذلك بدافع الحفاظ على أمنهم أو ما لم تقتض ذلك الضرورة العسكرية. (معاهدة جنيف الرابعة، خاصة المادتين (4) و(27)). ومن بين الأحكام المهمة الأخرى يأتي البروتوكول الإضافي الأول، المادتين (51) و(75) والبروتوكول الإضافي الثاني، المادتين (4) و(5) وقواعد القانون الإنساني الدولي العرفي رقم (1) و(7). وبموجب القانون الإنساني الدولي، يحق للأشخاص النازحين العودة الطوعية الأمنة إلى منازلهم أو أماكن الإقامة الاعتيادية في أقرب وقت تنتهي فيه أسباب نزوحهم. (معاهدة جنيف الرابعة، المادتين (49) و(147) والبروتوكول الإضافي الأول، المواد (51)(7) و(78)(1) و(85)(4)(أ) والبروتوكول الإضافي الثاني، المادتين (4)(3)(ه) و(17) وقواعد القانون الإنساني الدولي العرفي رقم (129) و(132)).

وفي أوضاع النزاع المسلح، يجب أن لا تخضع العقارات والممتلكات إلى أعمال السلب والنهب (معاهدة جنيف الرابعة، المادة (33) وقاعدة القانون الإنساني الدولي العرفي رقم (52)) أو الاعتداءات المباشرة أو العشوائية (البروتوكول الإضافي الأول، المادة 85 وقاعدة القانون الإنساني العرفي رقم (11))، والتي تُستخدم كغطاء للعمليات أو الأهداف العسكرية (البروتوكول الإضافي الأول، المادة (51)) أو تدميرها أو الاستيلاء عليها بغرض الانتقام (البروتوكول الإضافي الأول، المادة (52)) أو كعقوبة جماعية (البروتوكول الإضافي الأول، المادة (75)(2)(د)).

لا يوجد نص صريح على توفير المأوى لحماية الأشخاص المحميين بموجب معاهدات جنيف وبروتوكولاتها الإضافية، ومع ذلك يُمنع التدمير الشامل ومصادرة المنازل.

أما الالتزام بنقل من جرى إخلاؤهم في أو من الأراضي المحتلة إلى ديارهم في أقرب وقت تتوقف فيه الأعمال العدائية فينطوي على حق في استعادة ممتلكاتهم. وبشكل أكثر خصوصية، فإنه يجب احترام حقوق الملكية الخاصة بالأشخاص النازحين. (قاعدة القانون الإنساني الدولي العرفي رقم (133)).

 

يرجى أيضاً الاطلاع على نشرة معلومات اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر بعنوان " النازحون داخلياً وقانون الإنسان الدولي" (‘Internally Displaced Persons and International Humanitarian Law’) على الرابط http://tinyurl.com/icrc-idp-factsheet وكذلك على مقالة لديفيد جايمس كانتور بعنوان "هل يحظر القانون الإنساني الدولي تهجير المدنيين خلال الحرب" (Does IHL Prohibit the Displacement of Civilians during War)، المجلة الدولية لقانون اللاجئين، العدد 24/4، ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2012 على الرابط التالي: http://ijrl.oxfordjournals.org

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

International Humanitarian Law: a short summary of relevant provisions

The law of armed conflict – also known as international humanitarian law (IHL) – is the body of international law that most clearly codifies binding standards for the prevention of displacement. IHL is not concerned with the lawfulness or otherwise of armed conflicts but governs conduct during conflict, setting humanitarian considerations against military necessity.

Violations of IHL include attacks against and ill-treatment of civilians, destruction of property, sexual violence and restricted access to health care and other essential services. IHL, in particular as codified in the Geneva Conventions of 1949 and their Additional Protocols of 1977, contains important provisions to prevent the displacement of people and for the protection of persons forced to flee.

Many of these provisions are considered to have become international customary law. The Fourth Geneva Convention (GCIV) deals specifically with the protection of civilian persons in times of war, including occupation. Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) are part of the civilian population and therefore are entitled to receive the same protections as other civilians against the consequences of war. Additional Protocol I (API) supplements these protections in times of international armed conflicts, and Additional Protocol II (APII) in times of non-international armed conflicts. States have the responsibility to implement these protections in their domestic legal framework.

Although not every conflict-related displacement necessarily represents a breach of IHL,  international customary humanitarian law as well as the two Protocols prohibit the displacement of civilians – whether within the borders of a country or across international borders – or their forcible deportation or transfer from occupied territories unless the security of the civilians involved or imperative military reasons require it. (GCIV in particular Art. 4 and 27.) Other important provisions are API Art. 51 and 75, and APII Art. 4 and 5, CIHL Rules 1 and 7. Under IHL, displaced persons have a right to voluntary return in safety to their homes or places of habitual residence as soon as the reasons for their displacement cease to exist. (GC IV Art. 49 and 147, AP I Art. 51(7), 78(1) and 85(4)(a) AP II Art. 4(3)(e) and 17, International Customary Humanitarian Law (ICHL) Rules 129 and 132.)

In armed conflict situations, civilian property and possessions shall not be subject to pillage (GC IV Art. 33, ICHL Rule 52) or direct or indiscriminate attacks (AP I Art. 85, ICHL Rule 11), used as a shield for military operations or objectives (AP I Art. 51) or destruction or appropriation as reprisal (AP I Art. 52) or collective punishment (AP I Art. 75(2)(d)).

Shelter is not specifically provided for in the protection of protected persons under the Geneva Conventions and Additional Protocols; however, the extensive destruction and appropriation of housing is prohibited. (GC IV Art. 147)

The obligation to transfer persons evacuated in or from occupied territories back to their homes as soon as hostilities have ceased there implies the right to recovery of their property. More particularly, the property rights of displaced persons must be respected. (CIHL Rule 133.)

Please also see ICRC information leaflet on ‘Internally Displaced Persons and International Humanitarian Law’ http://tinyurl.com/icrc-idp-factsheet and David James Cantor ‘Does IHL Prohibit the Displacement of Civilians during War’, International Journal of Refugee Law, Vol 24/4, December 2012 http://ijrl.oxfordjournals.org

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview