الفيضانات في تايلاند: هروب أم مقاومة أم تعايُّش

لقد أدت شدة الفيضانات التي حدثت مؤخراً في تايلاند واحتمال حدوثها في المستقبل إلى إطلاق عملية إعادة تقييم آليات التعايش المُستخدمة من قِبل السكان والحكومة في تايلاند.

لم تكن الفيضانات دائماً سبباً للنزوح البشري في تايلاند، فقد كُيِّفت العمارة المحلية والثقافة وأساليب الحياة في تايلاند بالصورة التي تسمح لمن يعيشون في الأراضي المنخفضة الخصبة بالاستمرار في حياتهم العادية خلال الفيضانات السنوية. لكن ذلك تغير مع زيادة السكان ونمو المراكز الحضرية وامتداد أنظمة إدارة المياه الأكثر تطوراً.

وفي عام 2011، تأثرت البلاد بفيضان عارم غير المسبوق نتج عن العاصفة الاستوائية نوك-تين وامتد أثره ليشتمل على أكثر من ثلاثة ملايين شخص في 74 مقاطعة منذ نهاية شهر يوليو ولأكثر من ثلاثة أشهر. وبحلول شهر سبتمبر، تركزت جهود الحكومة على نقل مياه الفيضان من العاصمة بانكوك لحماية مركز الدولة المالي والاقتصادي.

ومع اقتراب تجمعات المياه بطيئة الحركة، تُرك سكان بانكوك  للتفكير في صنع القرارات بأفضل ما في وسعهم، استناداً إلى كمية المعلومات الهائلة، إلى جانب المعلومات الخاطئة المتاحة للجميع.

ومع اخلاتف مصادر المعلومات، اختار آلاف الأشخاص إعادة الانتقال طوعاً قبل الوصول المحتمل لمياه الفيضان. وتم إغلاق المنازل وإيقاف السيارات على أي أرض مرتفعة قدر الإمكان أو تغطيتها، إتباعاً لبعض التعليمات المختلفة والمتاحة على الإنترنت. وذهب بعض السكان للبقاء في المقاطعات الأخرى مع الأصدقاء والأقارب أو في الإيجارات طويلة الأجل في الفنادق والمنتجعات عبر المناطق غير المتضررة من البلاد. ورأى البعض أنها فرصة لأخذ أسرهم في إجازة، لكن لم يتوقع أحد أن الفيضانات، أو إعادة نقلهم الطوعي ستستمر كل هذا الوقت، في حين عاد البعض إلى منازلهم وأعمالهم ليجدوا أنهم أساءوا الحكم على ارتفاع وقوة مياه الفيضان الراكدة و/ أو استخدموا الطرق غير المناسبة للحماية من المياه. وقد وقع البعض في شرك الفيضانات واضطر إلى إعادة النقل الطارئ غالباً في المراكز الجماعية أو إيجاد حلول مؤقتة وخاصة. لكن الفياضانات سرعان ما اجتاحت كثيراً من هذه المراكز الجماعية مما أدى بالسكان إلى خوض تجربة أوجه النزوح المتعددة.

وبالنسبة للمتضررين الذين اختاروا البقاء في مناطق الفيضانات، ظهرت ثلاث فئات أساسية. تضمنت الفئة الأولى من لا يزالون يتكيفون للعيش مع المياه، الذين يعيشون بشكل عام في أجزاء من تايلاند والتي تستمر في مواجهة الفيضانات السنوية والنجاة منها. ومع تطبيق الاحتياطات البسيطة وبعض المساعدة والدعم الأساسيين، خاصة في الحالات حيث تتوقف أنشطة كسب العيش الأساسية، فإن بإمكانهم التكيُّف بفاعلية مع الفيضانات حتى ارتفاع مترين إلى ثلاثة أمتار.

أما المجموعة الثانية، فتشتمل على من لديهم موارد لمكافحة المياه القادمة بالإستراتيجية والقوة. فقاموا ببناء جدار ثان وتركيب مضخات المياه ووضع أكياس الرمل في مداخل بيوتهم وشراء القوارب الصغيرة ذات المحركات. وفي العديد من الحالات، كانت هذه المجموعة الخاصة في وضع جيد والذي يساعدها على تقديم الدعم اللوجيستي المتاح للأخرين.

في حين تألفت الفئة الأخيرة والأكبر من الأشخاص الذين، للعديد من الأسباب الاجتماعية والاقتصادية، قرروا عدم الذهاب إلى المراكز الجماعية لكنهم لم يتوافروا على الموارد اللازمة للانتقال بعيداً أو للاكتفاء الذاتي في منازلهم. واعتمدت هذه المجموعة بشكل كبير على المساعدة والدعم الخارجيين لتلبية احتياجاتهم الأساسية خلال حالة الطوارئ.

التأمل

اختارت نسبة كبيرة من السكان المتضررين عدم إخلاء منازلهم على الإطلاق، وتصرّف البعض كوحدات دوريات مجتمعية في أحيائهم لمن قرروا إعادة النقل وعملوا كموزعين للمساعدة للأقل قدرة على التكيُّف مع ظروف الفيضان أثناء البقاء في المنزل. أما الدخول إلى الإنترنت والاستخدام الشائع لمواقع التواصل الاجتماعي فقد هدف إلى تحديث المعلومات الخاصة بالوضع المستمر للفيضانات والاحتياجات غير الملباة وفرص التطوُّع، وذلك بشكل مستمر، وجعلها متاحة للجميع. إلا أنها عنت أيضاً أنه من غير المحتمل بالنسبة للمجتمعات ذات الدخول القليل أو المنعدم إلى الإنترنت أن تتلقى المساعدة والدعم في الوقت المناسب.

وشهد أيضاً فيضان عام 2011 ظهور حالة طارئة لجيل جديد من المتطوعين الإنسانيين من ذوي الخبرة بالتكنولوجيا والأدوات الرائعة مثل www.thaiflood.com الذي حاول ملء فجوة إدارة المعلومات، إلى جانب صفحة الفيس بوك و"تطبيق برمجي" لحشد المصادر على الهاتف الجوال والذي يعطي المعلومات المحددة بنظام التموضع الجغرافي حول الفيضانات وكذلك البرامج التلفزيونية الدعائية التي كثر عنها الحديث والمقدمة من استديو RooSuFlood (www.youtube.com/roosuflood) والتي تقدم برامج عامة وموضوعية للمشاهدين لمساعدتهم في اتخاذ القرارات المستنيرة وخدمة رسم الخرائط RooTanNam (www.rootannam.com) مع خطها الساخن المتاح لمن يحاولون فهم ما يدور حول الفيضان القادم وتأثيره المحتمل على منازلهم. ومع هذا النطاق الممتد والمختلف من الفاعلين، تبين أن توحيد التنسيق وإدارة المعلومات باستمرار قد شكلت في الغالب التحدي الأكبرٍ.

التطلُّع إلى المستقبل

مع استعداد الحكومة والمجتمعات المحلية للفيضانات المستقبلية المحتملة، سيتعين على كافة الأطراف مراعاة خيارات "البقاء والمقاومة" و"المقاومة". وهناك ثلاثة عناصر أساسية للتحليل والحوار وتخطيط العمل: أ) اللدونة المجتمعية وقدرة المجتمعات على موجهة الكوارث الطبيعية وبناء الوعي للاستعدادية للكوارث، وب) إطار العمل التكيفي للمساعدة والحماية الإنسانية المنسقة فيما يتعلق بمختلف السيناريوهات، وج) بناء القدرات مع دعم ومتابعة مختلف الفاعلين في تخفيف الكوارث (بما في ذلك منع النزوح) والاستعدادية والاستجابة على المستويات الوطنية والإقليمية والمحلية.

وفي أعقاب فيضانات عام 2011، أثقل عامة الناس بشكل كبير بحملات "كيف تعمل..." المنطلقة من القطاعين العام والخاص للتزويد بخيارات "المعرفة" و"افعلها بنفسك" والتي تتراوح بين أفضل الطرق لحماية المنزل من المياه إلى الرعاية الصحية أثناء وقوع الفيضان والإجراءات الاحترازية عند تنظيف المبنى بعد فترة طويلة من الإغراق.

وبالمقابل، هناك تجاهل لضرورة معرفة العامة وفهمهم للمعايير الوطنية والمبادئ الإنسانية ومدونات السلوك الأخلاقي. ومع لعب القطاع الخاص والفاعلين من المجتمع المدني أدواراً رائدة في الاستجابة إلى الفيضان، من الواضح أن جميع الفاعلين المستقبليين سينتفعون من الفهم المشترك للحاجة للمساءلة والأدوار والمسؤوليات في الاستجابة الشاملة والتوجُّه اللغوي والهيكلي لأطر عمل التنسيق الوطني والمحلي. وخلال التدريب الأول لتنسيق وإدارة المراكز الجماعية في تايلاند، والتي تم إقامتها وإدارتها من قِبل مكتب المنظمة الدولية للهجرة في تايلاند في أوائل عام 2012، بناءً على طلب إدارة التأهب للكوارث والتخفيف من آثارها في تايلاند، تحدث المشاركون عن إمكانية تعزيز التنسيق وفهمه بشكل أفضل من قِبل جميع المشاركين.

ومع بدء تايلاند في عملية تجديد التخطيط الطاريء الوطني للكوارث الطبيعية عام 2012، تناقش الدولة وتعيد دراسة الإستراتيجيات التي يمكن اتباعها بنجاح على خيارات الاستجابة المتنامية للمجتمعات المحلية تجاه الفيضانات. وستلعب زيادة الوعي الفاعلة وبناء القدرات دوراً أساسياً في ضمان استعداد جميع المشاركين الملزمين والمتطوعين، بشكل كفء ومحافظ على السرية، للأدوار والمسؤوليات التي سيتعين عليهم اتخاذها أثناء الكوارث الطبيعية المستقبلية في البلاد.

أما تايلاند ككل فيلاحظ أنها بدأت الآن تفهم الحاجة للموارد والخطط والاستعدادية القوية المطلوبة لإنجاح خيار "البقاء والمقاومة".

وان إس. سوفونبانيتش wan@thingsmatter.com  استشاري مستقل حول الإيواء لدى المنظمة الدولية للهجرة www.iom.int.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Flooding in Thailand: flee, fight or float

The severity of recent flooding in Thailand and the probability of future flooding have triggered a re-assessment of coping mechanisms employed by both the Thai population and the government.

Flooding has not always been a cause for human displacement in Thailand. Thai vernacular architecture, culture and lifestyles were adapted to allow those living on fertile lowlands to continue with their daily lives during annual floods. However, this has changed with a larger population, the growth of urban centres and the extension of increasingly sophisticated water management systems.

In 2011, unprecedented flooding caused by tropical storm Nock-Ten affected more than three million people in 74 provinces from the end of July for over three months. By September the government’s efforts were focused on diverting the water from the capital, Bangkok, to protect the nation’s financial and economic centre. Faced with the approach of slow-moving masses of water, the residents of Bangkok were left to watch, speculate and make decisions as best they could based on the colossal amount of information, as well as misinformation, publicly available.

With information from diverse and varying sources, thousands of people chose to voluntarily relocate themselves ahead of the possible arrival of floodwater. Houses were closed and sealed up while cars were parked on any available higher ground or ‘wrapped up’ following one of many on-line instructions. Some residents went to stay in other provinces with friends and relatives or into longer-term rentals in hotels and resorts throughout the unaffected parts of the country. Some saw it as an opportunity to take their families on holiday, but none expected the flood – or their voluntary relocation – to last as long as it did and in many cases returned to their homes and businesses to find that they had misjudged the height and strength of standing floodwater and/or had used inadequate waterproofing methods. Many others were caught by the flood and forced into emergency relocations, often to collective centres or into finding ad hoc, temporary solutions. Several of these collective centres were subsequently flooded, forcing their residents to experience multiple displacements.

For those affected who chose to stay on in flooded areas, three main categories emerged. In the first category were those still adept at living with water, who generally live in parts of Thailand that continue to face, and survive, annual floods. With simple precautions in place, and with some basic assistance and support, especially in cases where essential livelihood activities have been put on hold, they can efficiently cope with floods of up to two to three metres in height.

In the second group were those who had the resources to fight off encroaching water with strategy and might. They built up a second wall, installed water pumps, sandbagged their entrances or purchased small motor-boats. In many cases, this particular group was well positioned to provide neighbourhood logistical support to others too.

The last and largest category was of people who, for various social and economic reasons, decided against moving into collective centres but in turn lacked the resources either to move away or be self-sufficient at home. This group was largely dependent on external assistance and support for their overall well-being and meeting of basic needs during the emergency.

Reflection

Of the notable proportion of the affected population choosing not to evacuate their homes at all, some acted as community patrol units in their neighbourhoods for those who decided to relocate, and as distributors of assistance to those less able to cope with the flood while remaining at home. Access to the internet and the overwhelming use of social media platforms meant that information regarding on-going flooding status, unmet needs and volunteer opportunities was regularly updated and publicly accessible. It also meant, however, that communities with little or no access to the internet were less likely to receive assistance and support in a timely manner.

The flood of 2011 also saw the emergence of a new breed of tech-savvy humanitarian volunteers and interesting tools, such as www.thaiflood.com which attempted to fill the information management gap, together with its Facebook page and mobile crowd-sourcing ‘app’ giving GPS-located information on the flood; the much-talked-about ‘infomercials’ from RooSuFlood[1] which provided easy-to-digest and timely thematic episodes for viewers to help them make informed decisions; and the mapping service RooTanNam with its hotline for those trying to make sense of the approaching flood and its likely effect on their homes. With this expanding and diverse range of actors, coherent coordination and consistent information management were often identified as the greatest challenge.

Looking forward

As the government and local communities prepare for inevitable future floods, all parties will need to consider both ‘stay-and-fight’ and ‘flight’ options. There are three key components for analysis, dialogue and action planning: a) community-based resilience and awareness building for disaster preparedness; b) an adaptive framework for coordinated humanitarian assistance and protection in relation to the varying scenarios; and c) capacity building with follow-up support for the diverse actors in disaster mitigation (including prevention of displacement), preparedness and response at national, provincial and local levels.

In the wake of the 2011 flooding, the general public has essentially been overloaded with ‘how-to’ campaigns from both the private and public sectors, providing them with ‘knowledge’ and ‘do-it-yourself’ options ranging from better ways to waterproof a home to health care during a flood and precautions needed when cleaning up a building after a long period of inundation.

In contrast, the public’s knowledge and understanding of national standards, humanitarian principles and codes of good conduct are being overlooked. With the private sector and civil society actors playing leading roles in the response to the flood, it is clear that all future actors would benefit from a common understanding of the need for accountability, roles and responsibilities in an overall response, and orientation in the language and structure of both national and local coordination frameworks. During Thailand’s first Collective Centre Coordination and Management training, which was designed and led by the International Organization for Migration’s Thailand office in early 2012 at the request of Thailand’s Department of Disaster Preparedness and Mitigation, participants reflected that coordination could be further strengthened and better understood by all those involved.

As Thailand starts the process of renewing its national contingency planning for natural disaster in 2012, the country is reflecting on and re-examining strategies that can successfully be adapted to local communities’ evolving choices of response to flooding. Effective awareness raising and capacity building will play a key role in ensuring that all mandated and voluntary practitioners are efficiently and confidently prepared in the roles and responsibilities that they will have to take on during the country’s natural disasters in the future.

Thailand as a whole is beginning to understand that robust resources, planning and preparedness are required if the ‘stay-and-fight’ option is to be successful.

 

Wan S Sophonpanich is an independent shelter consultant for the International Organization for Migration.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview