الاعتراف بحقوق الأرض للسكان الأصليين والمجتمعات الريفية

تضع التوجهات العالمية الحالية ضغوطاً اقتصادية متزايدة على الأرض والموارد الطبيعية، مما يزيد من مخاطر أن تكون القوى المشتركة للتغيُّر المناخي والاستثمار واسع النطاق في الزراعة سبباً في التيارات الجديدة للنزوح الداخلي.

عند إقرار المعايير التوجيهية حول النزوح الداخلي في عام 1998، كانت بعض المعايير تدريجية نسبياً في توصياتها حيث عمدت إلى تقديم تفسيرات للقانون الدولي التي تعكس أفضل الممارسات بدلاً من الممارسات العالمية المُطبّقة في ذلك الوقت بغرض التشجيع على تفعيل استجابات الدول تجاه النزوح. ومن بين هذه المبادئ، اتسم المبدأ (9) بالحداثة في وضع الالتزام بمنع النزوح من خلال حماية حقوق الأكثر استضعافاً من خسارة أراضيهم:

يقع على عاتق الدول التزام خاص بحماية نزوح الشعوب الأصلية والأقليات والفلاحين والرعاة والجماعات الأخرى ذات الاعتماد الخاص على أراضيها والارتباط بها.

ومن الناحية العملية، تتضمن هذه الحماية اعتراف الدول بحقوق امتلاك الأراضي الخاصة بالشعوب الأصلية والمجتمعات الريفية وحمايتها. إلا أن دعم القانون الدولي في ذلك الوقت لتلك الإجراءات لم يكن قوياً حتى في حالة الشعوب الأصلية التي تتناسب بشكل واضح مع معيار "الاعتماد الخاص على أراضيها والارتباط بها". وكان المصدر الأساسي للدعم القانوني للمبدأ (9) هو اتفاقية منظمة العمل الدولية رقم (169) بخصوص الشعوب الأصلية والقبلية التي الزمت الأطراف الموقّعة على "احترام الأهمية الخاصة للثقافات والقيم الروحية للشعوب المعنيّة بعلاقتها مع الأراضي أو الأقاليم".[1]

ومنذ تبني المعايير التوجيهية، تنامى الدعم في القانون الدولي لحقوق الأرض الخاصة بالشعوب الأصلية. وربما كانت الخطوة الأكثر أهمية في عام 2007 من خلال الإعلان الذي تبنته الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة حول حقوق الشعوب الأصلية الذي ينص على أن هذه الشعوب "لا يجب أن تُهجّر قسراً من أراضيها أو أقاليمها" دون "موافقتهم والمسبقة والمستنيرة" إلى جانب تعويضهم العادل وتزويدهم بخيار العودة، متى أمكن ذلك.[2]

وعلى المستوى الإقليمي، أصدرت محكمة الدول الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان مجموعة منتظمة من القرارات خلال العقد الأول من القرن الواحد والعشرين والتي تقتضي الاعتراف بحقوق الأرض الخاصة بالشعوب الأصلية واحترامها. وفي أوائل عام 2010، تمت إحالة العديد من هذه الأحكام إلى اللجنة الأفريقية لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب، عندما أصدرت قراراً رائداً يتطلب أن تستعيد كينيا الأراضي المأخوذة من الشعب الإندوروي قبل حوالي أربعين عاماً. وتشير أحكام هذا القرار إلى أن "الالتزام الخاص" بحماية هذه الجماعات من النزوح المُشار إليه في المعيار التوجيهي رقم (9) قد يستلزم اعتراف الدولة بملكية الأراضي بصورة فعلية:

تلاحظ اللجنة الأفريقية أنه إذا أريد للقانون الدولي أن يقتصر على منح حق الوصول فستبقى الشعوب الأصلية مستضعفة وعرضة لحالات جديدة من الانتهاكات/ انتزاع الملكية من قِبل الدولة أو من قبل أطراف أخرى. وتضمن الملكية أنه بإمكان الشعوب الأصلية مشاركة الدولة والأطراف الأخرى كأصحاب مصالح فاعلين وليس كمستفيدين سلبيين.[3]

وفي حين أصبح من الواضح الآن أن حقوق الأرض للشعوب الأصلية محمية بموجب القانون الدولي، فماذا عن المجموعات الأخرى التي ينص المعيار التوجيهي رقم (9) على أن لها أيضاً "اعتماد خاص على أراضيها وارتباطها بها) كالأقليات والمزارعين والرعاة؟ فلقد أكدت التوجهات العالمية الأخيرة على حكمة الأسلوب المُتبع في المعايير التوجيهية والذي يركز على التعرُّض لأثار فقدان الأرض (فيما يتعلق بكسب العيش والهوية) بدلاً من الوضع (كعضو في إحدى الجماعات الأصلية، على سبيل المثال).

ولقد قادت الأنماط المعاصرة للاستثمار الزراعي واسع النطاق في الدول النامية (والمُشار إليه في بعض الأحيان بالاستيلاء العام على الأراضي) والضغط على الموارد الطبيعية في الغالب إلى إفقار المجتمعات الريفية وحتى نزوحها، سواء أرأت أنفسها على أنها شعوب أصلية أم لا.

وتتضمن القوى الموجهة لهذه التطورات العمران الحضري والتغيُّرات المناخية وارتفاع أسعار الغذاء. ونظراً لأن هذه التوجهات العالمية لا يُحتمل أن تهدأ، فقد ينجم عن الاستثمار والنزوح المتعلق بالتنمية إلى إثارة القلق الدولي خلال العقد القادم بصورة تشبه ما يحدث بالنسبة للنزوح المرتبط بالصراعات في تسعينيات القرن الماضي والكوارث الطبيعية بعد حدوث الموجات الزلزالية (تسونامي) في المحيط الهندي عام 2004. ورغم أن الحديث عن النزوح الداخلي لم يرتبط بعد بالمناقشات حول استثمار الأراضي وتطويرها، يقدم المعيار (9) نقطة انطلاق ممتازة لمراعاة كيفية منع أو تقليل النزوح المرتبط بهذه التوجهات.

وقد استند مناصرو منع الأثار السلبية للاستثمار الزراعي واسع النطاق إلى حق المجتمعات الريفية الإنساني في الحصول على الطعام الكافي، بما في ذلك وسائل إنتاج غذائها الخاص. ومن الناحية العملية، فإن تنفيذ هذا الحق يستلزم الاعتراف بالملكية القانونية لهذه المجتمعات في أراضيها وحمايتها. وهذا الاعتراف هو نوع الإجراء الذي يؤكد المعيار (9) على التزام الدول الخاص بتنفيذه من أجل حماية الجماعات المعرّضة لفقدان أراضيها. إلا أن الدعم المتناسق حول هذه النقطة سيضمن منح المعيار (9) الأثر الوقائي الذي قصده واضعوه.

رودري سي. ويليامز rcw200@yahoo.com استشاري لحقوق الإنسان في ستوكهولم بالسويد. وهو مؤلف مدونة تيرانوليوس (TerraNullius): http://terra0nullius.wordpress.com/



[1] منظمة العمل الدولية، الاتفاقية رقم (169) (1989)، المادة 13(1)

www.ilo.org/indigenous/Resources/Publications/WCMS_100897/lang--en/index.htm

(((Note from the translator: Here is the link to the Arabic document: http://www1.umn.edu/humanrts/arabic/ilo-c169.pdf))) All ILO Arabic documents are available at Minnesota University Site here http://www1.umn.edu/humanrts/arabic/ilo.html)))

[2] الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة، الإعلان حول حقوق الشعوب الأصلية (2007)، المادة (10)

www.un.org/Docs/journal/asp/ws.asp?m=A/RES/61/295

[يحتوي عنوان موقع الإنترنت هذا علامات لأربع لغات حتى يمكن استخدام هذه في الأعداد الأربعة]

[3] اللجنة الأفريقية لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب، القضية رقم 276/ 2003 – مركز تنمية حقوق الأقلليات (كينيا) والمجموعة الدولية لحقوق الأقليات، بالنيابة عن مجلس رفاه الشعب الإندوروي في كينيا (2010)، الفقرة 204.

www.hrw.org/sites/default/files/related_material/2010_africa_commission_ruling_0.pdf

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Recognising the land rights of indigenous peoples and rural communities

Current global trends are putting increasing economic pressure on land and natural resources, raising the risk that new waves of internal displacement may be caused by the combined forces of climate change and large-scale investment in agriculture.

When the Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement were adopted in 1998, some of the Principles were relatively progressive in their recommendations, choosing interpretations of international law that reflected best practice rather than universal practice at the time in order to encourage effective state responses to displacement. Among these, Principle 9 was innovative in setting out an obligation to prevent displacement by protecting the rights of those most vulnerable to the loss of their land: “States are under a particular obligation to protect against the displacement of indigenous peoples, minorities, peasants, pastoralists and other groups with a special dependency on and attachment to their lands.” 

In practical terms, such protection implies state recognition and protection of the land tenure rights of indigenous peoples and rural communities. However, international law at the time only tenuously supported such measures even in the case of indigenous peoples, who most clearly fit the criterion of ‘special dependency on and attachment to their lands’. The main source of legal support for Principle 9 was the International Labour Organization’s Convention No. 169 concerning indigenous and tribal peoples, which required signatories to “respect the special importance for the cultures and spiritual values of the peoples concerned of their relationship with the lands or territories”.[1]

Since the adoption of the Guiding Principles, support in international law for indigenous peoples’ land rights has proliferated. Perhaps the most significant step was the 2007 adoption by the UN General Assembly of the Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, which states that such peoples “shall not be forcibly removed from their lands or territories” barring their “free, prior and informed consent” as well as fair compensation and the option of return, wherever possible.[2]

At the regional level, the Inter-American Court of Human Rights has issued a consistent line of decisions during the 2000s requiring recognition of and respect for indigenous peoples’ land rights. In early 2010, many of these judgments were referred to by the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, when it issued a groundbreaking decision requiring Kenya to restore land taken from the Endorois people nearly forty years earlier. The terms of this decision imply that the ‘particular obligation’ to protect such groups from displacement referenced in Guiding Principle 9 may require state recognition of ownership of land in practice: “The African Commission notes that if international law were to grant access only, indigenous peoples would remain vulnerable to further violations/dispossession by the state or third parties. Ownership ensures that indigenous peoples can engage with the state and third parties as active stakeholders rather than as passive beneficiaries.”[3]

While it is now clear that indigenous land rights are protected by international law, what of the other groups that Guiding Principle 9 identifies as also having a ‘special dependency on and attachment to their lands’, such as minorities, peasants and pastoralists? Recent global trends have affirmed the wisdom of the approach adopted in the Guiding Principles, which focuses on vulnerability to the effects of loss of land (in terms of both livelihood and identity) rather than status (for example, as a member of an indigenous group).

Contemporary patterns of large-scale agricultural investment in developing countries (sometimes referred to as ‘global land-grabbing’) and pressure on natural resources have frequently led to the impoverishment and even displacement of rural communities, whether these have viewed themselves as indigenous peoples or not. The forces driving these developments include urbanisation, climate change and rising food prices. Given that these global trends are unlikely to abate, investment and development-related displacement may come to trigger international concern during the coming decade in a similar manner to conflict-related displacement in the 1990s and natural disasters after the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami. Although the internal displacement discourse has yet to connect systematically with debates over land investment and development, Principle 9 provides an excellent starting point for consideration of how displacement related to such trends can be prevented or minimised.

Advocates for preventing the worst effects of large-scale agricultural investment have invoked the human right of rural communities to adequate food, including the means to produce their own food. In practice, the implementation of this right requires recognition and protection of such communities’ legal tenure of their land. This recognition is precisely the type of measure that Guiding Principle 9 asserts that states have a ‘particular obligation’ to implement in order to protect groups vulnerable to the loss of their land. However, only concerted advocacy on this point will ensure that Principle 9 has the preventive effect its drafters intended.

 

Rhodri C Williams is a human rights consultant based in Stockholm, Sweden. He is the author of the TerraNullius blog

 

[1] International Labour Organization , Convention No. 169 (1989), Article 13 (1). www.ilo.org/indigenous/Resources/Publications/WCMS_100897/lang--en/index.htm

[2] UN General Assembly, Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (2007), Article 10. www.un.org/Docs/journal/asp/ws.asp?m=A/RES/61/295

[3] African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, Case 276 / 2003 – Centre for Minority Rights Development (Kenya) and Minority Rights Group International on behalf of Endorois Welfare Council v Kenya (2010), paragraph 204. www.hrw.org/sites/default/files/related_material/2010_africa_commission_ruling_0.pdf

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview