تطبيقُ إطارِ اللَّجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات على الصومال والسودان

أُطلِقَ إطارُ عملِ اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات سنة 2010، ونشأ عن تحليل كيفية استعماله في خلال هذا العقد بعض الأفكار المُفيدَة لمَن يعملون على إيجاد حلول دائمةٍ للنُّزوح الداخلي. 

تنظر هذه المقالة في إطارِ عملِ اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات لإيجاد الحلول الدائمة للنازحين الداخليِّين[1] (ويشار إليه فيما يلي بإطار اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات)، تنظرُ فيه من حيث هو الوجهة الأولى للتقدُّم نحو إيجاد الحلول الدائمة، في السياقات التي يرتبط فيها التَّهجير بالتمييز وباختلال توازن القوى وبالفرص غير المتكافئة في الحصول الحقوق. ويوضح الإطار المبادئ الرئيسةَ، ويحدد معايير قياس الحلول الدائمة، ويعطي الأولوية لمشاركة المجتمعات المتضرِّرة بالتَّهجير ومشاركات أصحابِ المصلحة المتعدِّدين بين الحكومات والجهات الفاعلة في ميدان العمل الإنساني وبناء السلام وحقوق الإنسان والتنمية.

ومنذ إطلاق هذا الإطار في سنة 2010، أصبح مرجعاً موثوقاً بهِ في الحلول الدائمة. فعلى المستوى الوطني، تُبيِّن كثيرٌ من القوانين والسياسات مُكوِّناتها، كما هي الحال في النيجر وأفغانستان وكينيا وسريلانكا والصومال وجنوب السودان. وعلى المستوى العالمي، فُعِّلَت معايير الإطار في مكتبة مُشِيرَات الحلول الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات[2] في سنة 2018، ثمّ جاءت سنة 2020، فأيدت اللجنة الإحصائية للأمم المتحدة التوصيات الدولية بشأن إحصاءات النازحين الداخليِّين[3] التي تشتمل على مقارباتِ قياس الحلول الدائمة بناءً على إطار عمل اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات. وعلى المستوى الإقليمي، وُضِعَت عدَّةٌ من المقاربات السياقية، مثل إطار الأمانة الإقليمية لإيجاد حلول دائمة[4] في شرقيّ إفريقيا والقرن الإفريقي.

واحتفالاً بالذكرى العاشرة لإطلاق إطار اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات، تتصفَّحُ هذه المقالة الدروس المستقاة من تطبيقه في الصومال والسودان، حيث رُكِزَ الهمُّ في إيجاد الحلول الدائمة سنينَ عدداً. وفما يلي من الفِقَر مناقشةٌ في تفعيل معايير الإطار ومبادئِه في البَلَدَين. ويلي ذلك ما ظهر في النظرات الختامية في تطبيق إطار اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات من أ) حاجةٍ إلى إقامة مشاركات لضمان الأخذ في المقاربتَين: الصعودية والنُّزولية، ب) وأهميةٍ عظيمةٍ لطوعيّة الحلول وكونها غير تمييزيّة؛ ج) ثم حاجةٍ إلى استمرار تقاسم القدرات والمشاركة في وَضْع المبادئ والتعريفات لتعزيز تماسك الاستجابة والعمل الجماعي.

دراسةُ حالة: الصومال

كان إيجاد حلٍّ للتَّهجير بإقامة المشاركة بين الجهات الفاعلة في ميدان العمل الإنساني والإنمائي وبناء السلام أولويةً من أولويّات الحكومة الاتّحاديّة في الصومال والمجتمع الدولي منذ سنة 2016. [5]في بداءَةِ الأمر، أرشد إطار اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات إلى أن يُبتَدَأَ بتحديد السمات في مقديشو وهرجيسا، فنشأ من ذلك قاعدةُ أدلَّةٍ تفيد في تحديد أولويات الحلول الدائمة في خطة التنمية الوطنية الثامنة (National Development Plan). وبعد ذلك، أُتِيَ بمجموعةٍ مختارة من مُشيرَات الحلول الدائمة، مأخوذةٍ مباشرةً من مكتبة مشيرات الحلول الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات وإطار عمل الأمانة الإقليمية لإيجاد الحلول الدائمة، واستعملت هذه المجموعةَ الأمانةُ الإقليمية لإيجاد الحلول الدائمة واتِّحاداتُ المنظَّمات غير الحكومية، لتنفيذ ثلاثةٍ من مشاريع الحلول الدائمة. وكان الغرض من ذلك إيجاد أدلَّةٍ لإفادة التَّخطيط المُخصّصِ لكلِّ منطقةٍ على حِدَتِها وإعادة إدماج النازحين الداخليِّين والعائدين في مقديشو وكِسْمَايو وبيدوة.

ثم إنَّ تفعيلَ إطار اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات في هذه المواضع قد سلَّط الضوء على أهميّة التركيز على التماسك الاجتماعي وعدم التمييز، وأظهر أنّهما عنصران حاسمان في نجاح التدخُّل الذي غرضه إيجاد الحلول الدائمة. ومع ذلك، فاتباع المقاربة النُّزُولِية في قياس التقدُّم المحقَّق في الحلول الدائمة هو مُكمِّلٌ ضروريٌّ للتحليل الميدانيّ الصعوديّ، ولا سيَّما لتجنُّب المقاربة المشاريعيّة في إيجاد الحلول الدائمة. وقد ساعد استعمال ما في إطار اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات من تعريفاتٍ ومبادئ ومشيراتٍ مستندةٍ إلى المعايير، ساعد على إفادة الوثائق الإستراتيجية الحكومية، وكان إدراج أحكام إطار اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات في السياسات الوطنية في الصومال حَدَثاً مهماً ناشئاً عن هذه المقاربة.

ومن المتوقع أن تعمل إستراتيجية الحلول الدائمة الوطنية القادمة في الصومال على توسيع تفعيل أحكام إطار اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات في جميع أنحاء البلد، ثم أن تعزِّزَ الروابط بحُكْمِ القانون وتحقيق الاستقرار والعدالة والأمن والتنمية الاقتصادية. هذا الاعتبار الأكثر منهجية لإطار اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات هو نتيجةُ أربعِ سنين من المشاركة، ونتيجةُ تحويُّلٍ تدريجيّ إلى أعمالٍ تقودها الحكومة على المستويين المحلي والوطني، ونتيجةُ تَوَسُّعٍ في بناء القدرات ليشمل الشركاء الدوليِّين والحكومة والمجتمع المدني.

دراسةُ حالة: السودان

إيجاد حلولٍ دائمةٍ للنزوح الداخليّ في السودان هو أولوية من الأولويات العشر للحكومة الانتقالية هناك. فبين سنة 2017 و2019، شرعت الحكومة والمجتمع الدولي في مسعى مشترك لدعم الحلول الدائمة في الفاشر (شماليّ دارفور) وأم دخن (وسط دارفور) للتحوُّل من تقديم المعونة الإنسانية إلى تقديم برامج مستدامة طويلة الأمد للنازحين الداخليِّين والمجتمعات المُضِيفَة. فنتج عن ذلك مشروعان تجريبيان، اتَّخذا مقاربةً مُخصّصة لكلِّ منطقةٍ على حِدَتِها لإيجاد الحلول الدائمة، واتَّخذا إجراءً من خمس خطوات يعطي الأولويّة لجَمْع الأدلة الشاملة، فضلاً عن المشاورات والتخطيط المشترك مع المجتمعات المتضرِّرة بالتَّهجير، وكلّ ذلك كان أساساً لوضع برامج لإيجاد الحلول الدائمة. فأفاد إطارُ اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات التحليلَ والمنهجيَّة ووَضْعَ البرامج المشتركة.

أمّا على المستوى المحلي، ففي المشروع الريفي التجريبي في منطقة أم دخن، وُضِعَت خططُ عملٍ قائمة لمعالجة العقبات التي تعترض إيجاد الحلول الدائمة. واستندت هذه الخطط إلى مشاورة المجتمعات المتضرِّرة بالتَّهجير وإلى دَعْمٍ من أصحاب المصلحة، ومنهم السلطات المحلية. وأما المشروع التجريبي الحضري في الفاشر[6]، فكان تحديدَ سماتٍ جماعيّاً متعدِّد القطاعات، اشترك في القيام بهِ الحكومة، والبنك الدولي، والأمم المتحدة، والجهات المانحة، والمنظمات غير الحكومية الدولية (ومثَّلها في ذلك فرقة عمل الحلول الدائمة)، والنازحين الداخليِّين المقيمين في مخيّم أبو شوك ومخيّم السلام. وكانت تلك أوّل مرةٍ تعمل فيها الجهات الفاعلة الإنسانية والإنمائية مع السلطات المحلية لتوليد معطيات عالية الجودة، تَجمَعُ بين التحليل الاجتماعي الاقتصادي لحالة النازحين الداخليِّين وجيرانهم وبين تحليلٍ لمتطلبات تخطيط المدينة الواسع.

وفي مثل هذه الحالات، كما هو في الصومال، كان من الواضح أن التحليل والتخطيط المحليَّان الصعوديَّان محتاجان إلى إكمالهما بإستراتيجيةٍ نزوليّة على المستوى الوطنيّ، لضمان اتِّفاق جميع أصحاب المصلحة على مفاهيم الحلول الدائمة ومبادئها ومعاييرها. واستناداً إلى الدروس المستفادة من المشاريع التجريبية في دارفور، يجري اليومَ توسيعُ نطاق الجهود لدعم تخطيط الحلول الدائمة في سبع محافظاتٍ في السودان. وباتِّباع هذه المقاربة سيُضمَن بعدُ أن يكون للجهات الفاعلة داخل البلد والسلطات نتائج يمكن مقارنتها وتحليلها مقارنةً وتحليلاً مشتَرَكَين، بغيةَ وَضْع سياسةٍ لدعم إيجاد الحلول الدائمة.

تحدياتٌ ودروس

بعد عشر سنين من إطلاق إطار اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات أصبحَ معروفاً في نطاقٍ واسع بين المنظمات التي تعمل على إيجاد حلول دائمة وأصبح أساساً متيناً لها. ومع ذلك، هناك كثير من التحدِّيات التي يجب معالجتها والدروس التي يجب أخذها في الاعتبار، عند تفعيل إطار اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات.

هذا، وقد ألقى تقويمٌ خارجيّ[7] لتحليل السمات أُجرِيَ في الفاشر الضوءَ على أنه ليس بين أصحاب المصلحة كلمةٌ سَوَاءٌ في تعريف الحلول الدائمة المقبول دوليّاً. ولكن في الصومال، عُمِلَ على وَضْع تعريفات ومبادئ اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات في سياقها، والاتفاق عليها مع الحكومة، فدَعَمَ ذلك العملَ الذي يركِّز على الحلول المتقدِّمة الذكر دَعماً فعّالاً. وقد أُكِّدَت بالعمل على مستوى المستوطنات أهميةُ إدماج التفاهم المحليّ لهذه المبادئ. ذلك أنّ بلوغَ فهمٍ مشتركٍ للتعريفات والمبادئ عند الشروع في إيجاد الحلول الدائمة أمرٌ أساسٌ للتخفيف من التوقعات المختلفة ولإفادة التنسيق. 

ثم إنّه كثيراً ما تركِّز الجهات الفاعلة على الحلول الجغرافية الواردة في إطار اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات (مثل العودة، والمكوث، والاستقرار في مكان آخر)، ولا تركِّز على مبدأ عدم التمييز ومبدأ الطوعيَّة في التوصُّل إلى حلول دائمة مذكورةٍ في الإطار، وهي بذلك يَكْثُرُ أن تتجاهل أنّ بلوغَ الحلول الدائمة في العادة عملٌ طويلٌ ومعقَّد، يتجاوز التسوية المادية. ووفقاً لإطار اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات: «لا يتحققُ الحلُّ الدائمُ إلا حين لا يكون بالنازحين الداخليِّين حاجاتٌ إلى المعونة والحماية محدَّدةٌ مرتبطة بتهجيرهم، وحين يمكنهم التمتع بحقوقهم الإنسانية من دون تمييزٍ ناتج عن تهجيرهم». على أنّه من الأهمية بمكانٍ التركيزُ على أن تكون الحلول طوعيّةً غير تمييزية، وقياسُ الاندماج المحليّ سواء كان في المكان الذي انتهى الناس إليهِ بعد التَّهجير أو حيث يعودونمن حيث هي عملٌ للتغلُّب على ما له صلةٌ بالتَّهجير من مواطن ضعف.

وفي كلا الحالتَين: الصومال والسودان، أثبتَ الجمع بين المقاربة النزولية والمقاربة الصعودية عِظَمَ شأنِه. ومن الوجهة المثالية، لا بدّ من معالجة الحلول الدائمة معالجةً مفهوميّةً وتشغيلية، في المستويين الوطني والمحلي، وفي الإحصاءات الرسمية والمعطيات التشغيلية أيضاً، وذلك لضمان قابلية التشغيل البينيّ وزيادة الفعّاليّة. وتعتمد هذه الإجراءات على حركيّاتٍ (dynamics) حكومية معقدة، لا يُنسَّقُ العمل فيها على المستويين الوطني والمحلي في وقتٍ واحد، وقد تستدعي التَّسَلسُل. ومفتاحُ هذه الجهود هو مواءمة التعاريف والمُشيرَات، وتُسِهمُ التوصيات الدولية بشأن إحصاءات النازحين الداخليِّين في هذا الأمر إسهاماً عظيماً

وبعدُ، فقد استند قياسُ التقدُّم المحقَّق نحوَ إيجاد الحلول في السودان والصومال إلى مقارنة حال المهجَّرين بحال السّكَان غير المهجَّرين (بدلاً من مقارنتها بالمعايير الدنيا). فأثبتت هذه المقاربة أنها أساس فعّال عند قياس الحلول، وأنها داعمةً للمقاربات المخصّصة لكلِّ منطقةٍ على حِدَتِها التي شوهدت في دراسة الحالَتَين. وبهذه المقاربات المخصّصة لكلِّ منطقةٍ على حِدَتِها حُدِّدَ التماسك الاجتماعي، وهو ليس يعدُّ في معايير إطار اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات، بأنّه عاملٌ رئيسٌ إضافيّ في التكامل المحليّ يفوق المعايير الثمانية في إطار اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات، وبأنّه عاملٌ يحتاجُ إلى أن يكون له في التحليل والاستجابة موضع.

 

فرقة عمل الحلول الدائمة في الصومال Teresa.delministro@one.un.org

 

فرقة عمل الحلول الدائمة في السودان elmikh@unhcr.org

 

مَرْغَريتَا لُنغفِسْت هَنْدُومَادي lundkvist@jips.org 

مستشارةٌ رئيسةٌ في تحديد السمات، بالدائرة المشتركة المعنيّة بتحديد سمات النازحين الداخليِّين www.jips.org

 

ياسمين كتابجي ketabchi@unhcr.org  

موظَّفةُ شؤون الحلول المستدامة، في مفوضيَّة اللاجئين www.unhcr.org

 

[1] https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/other/iasc-framework-durable-solutions-internally-displaced-persons

bit.ly/IASC-Framework

[2] http://inform-durablesolutions-idp.org/indicators/ 

[3] https://unstats.un.org/unsd/statcom/51st-session/documents/BG-item-3n-international-recommendations-on-IDP-statistics-E.pdf

bit.ly/UNStats-IRIS-March2020

[4] الأمانة الإقليمية لإيجاد حلول دائمة https://regionaldss.org/

[5] كان ذلك في صميم مبادرة الحلول الدائمة، التي دَعَمَها أصحاب المصلحة الرَّئيسون، مثل الهيئة السويسرية للتنمية والتعاون.

[6] UNCT, Government of Sudan, JIPS, World Bank (2019) Progress towards Durable Solutions in Abou Shouk and El Salam IDP camps, North Darfur Sudan

(التقدُّم نحو إيجاد حلول دائمة مخيَّمَي أبو شوك والسلام للنازحين الداخليِّين)

 http://dswgsudan.org/en/2019-progress-towards-durable-solutions-abushouk-elsalam-idp-camps/#section=0&page=0&subpage=0

bit.ly/DSWG-North-Darfur-2019

[7] Jacobsen K and Mason T B (2020) Measuring Progress Towards Solutions in Darfur

(قياس التقدُّم تُجاه الحلول في دارفور)

https://inform-durablesolutions-idp.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/Progress-Durable-Solutions-IDPs-Evaluation-Sudan-June2020.pdf

bit.ly/Jacobsen-Mason-Darfur-2020

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The application of the IASC Framework in Somalia and Sudan

Analysing how the IASC Framework has been used over the decade since its launch in 2010 provides some useful reflections for those working to achieve durable solutions to internal displacement. 

This contribution explores the Inter-Agency Standing Committee Framework on Durable Solutions for Internally Displaced Persons[1] (hereafter IASC Framework) as a compass for progressing towards durable solutions in contexts where displacement is linked to discrimination, power imbalances and unequal opportunities in accessing rights. The Framework articulates key principles, defines criteria for measuring durable solutions, and prioritises engagement with displacement-affected communities and multi-stakeholder partnerships between governments and humanitarian, peace, human rights and development actors.

Since its launch in 2010, the IASC Framework has become an authoritative reference on durable solutions. At the national level, numerous laws and policies reflect its components, as in Niger, Afghanistan, Kenya, Sri Lanka, Somalia and South Sudan. At the global level, the Framework’s criteria were operationalised into the Interagency Durable Solutions Indicator Library[2] in 2018, and in 2020 the UN Statistical Commission endorsed the International Recommendations on IDP Statistics[3] (IRIS) which include approaches to measuring durable solutions based on the IASC Framework. At the regional level, several contextualised approaches have been developed, such as the ReDSS[4] Framework in East and Horn of Africa.

To mark the 10th anniversary since the launch of the Framework, this article reviews learning from the application of the IASC Framework provisions in Somalia and Sudan where there has been a focus on durable solutions for numerous years. The following sections discuss the operationalisation of the Framework’s criteria and principles in both countries. Concluding reflections on the application of the IASC Framework highlight a) the need for partnerships to ensure both bottom-up and top-down approaches; b) the overarching importance of the voluntary and non-discriminatory nature of solutions; and, finally, c) the need for continued capacity-sharing and engagement on principles and definitions to enhance coherence of response and collective action.

Case-study: Somalia

Resolving displacement through partnerships with humanitarian, development and peace actors has been a priority for the Federal Government of Somalia and the international community since 2016.[5] Initially, the IASC Framework guided the roll-out of the Mogadishu and Hargeisa profiling exercises, which created an evidence base for prioritising durable solutions in the eighth National Development Plan. Subsequently, a selection of durable solutions indicators, taken directly from the Interagency Durable Solutions Indicator Library and the ReDSS Framework, was used by ReDSS and NGO consortia to implement three durable solutions projects. These aimed to generate evidence to inform area-based planning and reintegration of IDPs and returnees in Mogadishu, Kismayo and Baidoa.

The operationalisation of the IASC Framework in these locations has shed light on the importance of focusing on social cohesion and non-discrimination as crucial elements in the success of durable solutions interventions. However, a top-down approach to measuring progress on durable solutions is a necessary complement to the on-the-ground, bottom-up analysis – particularly in order to avoid a projectised approach to durable solutions. The use of IASC Framework definitions, principles and criteria-based indicators helped inform government strategic documents, and the inclusion of IASC Framework provisions in national policies in Somalia was a significant development emerging from this approach.

Somalia’s forthcoming National Durable Solutions Strategy is expected to expand the operationalisation of IASC Framework provisions across the country, thereby strengthening linkages with rule of law, stabilisation, justice, security and economic development. This more systematic consideration of the IASC Framework is a result of four years of engagement, a progressive shift towards government-led processes at both the local and national level, and the expansion of capacity building to international partners, government and civil society.

Case-study: Sudan

Finding durable solutions to Sudan’s internal displacement is one of the ten priorities of the transitional government. Between 2017 and 2019 the government and the international community embarked on a joint endeavour to support durable solutions in El Fasher (in North Darfur) and Um Dukhun (Central Darfur) in order to shift from the provision of humanitarian assistance to more long-term, sustainable programming for internally displaced and host communities. This resulted in two pilot projects, which adopted an area-based approach to durable solutions and a five-step process that prioritises comprehensive evidence-gathering, as well as consultations and joint planning with displacement-affected communities, as the basis for durable solutions programming. The IASC Framework informed the analysis, methodology and joint programming design.

At the local level, in the rural pilot in Um Dukhun area-based action plans were developed to address obstacles to durable solutions. These plans were based on consultations with displacement-affected communities and with buy-in from relevant stakeholders, including the local authorities. The urban pilot in El Fasher[6] was a collaborative multi-sectoral profiling exercise undertaken jointly by the government, the World Bank, the UN, donors and INGOs (represented through the Durable Solutions Working Group) and IDPs residing in Abu Shouk and El Salam camps. For the first time, humanitarian and development actors worked with the local authorities to generate high-quality data, combining a socio-economic analysis of the situation of IDPs and their neighbours with an analysis of the wider city-planning requirements.

In these cases, as in Somalia, it was evident that local, bottom-up analysis and planning need to be complemented by a top-down, national-level strategy to ensure that all stakeholders agree on concepts, principles and criteria for durable solutions. Based on the lessons learned from the pilots in Darfur, a scaling-up of the efforts to support durable solutions planning is now underway in seven states in Sudan. This approach will subsequently ensure that in-country actors and the authorities will have results that can be compared and jointly analysed in order to design policy to support durable solutions.

Challenges and lessons

Ten years after its publication, the IASC Framework is widely known among, and provides a solid foundation for, organisations working on durable solutions. However, there are several challenges to be addressed and lessons to be taken on board when operationalising the IASC Framework.

An external evaluation[7] of the profiling analysis undertaken in El Fasher highlighted that there was a lack of common understanding among stakeholders of the internationally accepted definition of durable solutions. In Somalia, by contrast, work had been carried out on contextualising the IASC definitions and principles and agreeing them with the government, which effectively underpinned the solutions-focused work described above. Work at settlement level has also underscored the importance of incorporating local understandings of these principles. Having a common understanding of definitions and principles when embarking on durable solutions processes is key in order to mitigate differing expectations and inform coordination. 

Often, actors focus on the geographic solutions outlined in the IASC Framework (return, stay, settle elsewhere), rather than on the principles of non-discrimination and the voluntary nature of reaching durable solutions described in the Framework, thus often overlooking the fact that reaching durable solutions is typically a long and complicated process over and beyond the physical settlement. As per the IASC Framework, “a durable solution is achieved when IDPs no longer have specific assistance and protection needs that are linked to their displacement and such persons can enjoy their human rights without discrimination resulting from their displacement.” It is of central importance to focus on the non-discriminatory and voluntary nature of solutions, and to measure local integration – whether in the place where people have found themselves after being displaced or where they have returned to – as a process towards overcoming displacement-linked vulnerabilities.

In both Somalia and Sudan, a combined bottom-up, top-down approach has proven important. Ideally, durable solutions need to be addressed conceptually and operationally, at both national and local level, as well as in official statistics and in operational data, in order to ensure inter-operability and greater effectiveness. These processes hinge on complex government dynamics whereby alignment of national- and local-level action may not happen simultaneously and may require sequencing. Key to these efforts is the alignment of definitions and indicators, and in this area IRIS is making a very significant contribution. 

Measuring progress towards solutions in both Sudan and Somalia was based on the comparison of the situation of the displaced population with that of the non-displaced population (rather than against minimum standards). This approach has proved an effective foundation when measuring solutions and has also underpinned the area-based approaches seen in both case-studies. Through these area-based approaches, social cohesion, which is not a criteria of the IASC Framework, has been identified as an additional key factor in local integration processes beyond the eight criteria in the IASC Framework – and one that needs to be included in analysis and response.

 

DSWG Somalia Teresa.delministro@one.un.org

DSWG Sudan elmikh@unhcr.org

Margharita Lundkvist-Houndoumadi lundkvist@jips.org 
Senior Profiling Advisor, JIPS www.jips.org

Jasmine Ketabchi ketabchi@unhcr.org 
Durable Solutions Officer, UNHCR www.unhcr.org

 

[1] https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/other/iasc-framework-durable-solutions-internally-displaced-persons

[2] http://inform-durablesolutions-idp.org/indicators/  

[3] https://unstats.un.org/unsd/statcom/51st-session/documents/BG-item-3n-international-recommendations-on-IDP-statistics-E.pdf

[4] Regional Durable Solutions Secretariat https://regionaldss.org/

[5] This was at the heart of the Durable Solutions Initiative, which was supported by key stakeholders such as the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation.

[6] UNCT, Government of Sudan, JIPS, World Bank (2019) Progress towards Durable Solutions in Abou Shouk and El Salam IDP camps, North Darfur Sudan http://dswgsudan.org/en/2019-progress-towards-durable-solutions-abushouk-elsalam-idp-camps/#section=0&page=0&subpage=0

[7] Jacobsen K and Mason T B (2020) Measuring Progress Towards Solutions in Darfur
https://inform-durablesolutions-idp.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/Progress-Durable-Solutions-IDPs-Evaluation-Sudan-June2020.pdf

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview