استعداد قانونٍ داخليٍّ في جنوب السودان لحماية النازحين الداخليِّين وإعانتهم

تعترض جنوبَ السودان تحدّياتٌ إنسانية معقَّدةٌ ذاتُ خطر، على أنَّ مُسوَّدةَ قانونٍ داخليّ سُوِّدَت بأخرةٍ في شأن النازحين الداخليّين تُبيِّنُ تجدُّداً في التزام البلد حمايةَ مواطنيه وفي رؤيته لذلك.

لمّا كان شهر حزيران/يونيو من سنة 2020، بلغ عدد النازحين الداخليّين في جنوب السودان أكثر من مليونٍ وست مئةٍ وسبعين ألفاً (1.67)، وبلغ عدد لاجئي جنوب السودان إلى البلدان التي تجاورها مليونين وعُشْرَي مليونٍ (2.2). وتُضيِّفُ مَوَاضِعُ حماية المدنيِّينَ القائمةُ عليها بعثة الأمم المتحدة في جنوب السودان من النازحين الداخليِّين ما ينيف على 200 ألف. وفي سنة 2013، كان چَالَوكَا بياني مقرِّراً خاصّاً في الأمم المتحدة معنيّاً بحقوق الإنسان بين اللاجئين الداخليّين، فوَفَدَ إلى جنوب السودان فبلَّغَ أنْ ليسَ في البلد قدرةٌ كافية واستعدادٌ مؤسّسيّ لتَحُدَّ عن التَّهجير الداخليّ وتَسْتجيبَ لهُ في المستقبل القريب والمتوسّط والبَعيد. ثمَّ وصَّى الوَفْدُ، وخصَّ بالتوصية أن يُنشَأَ إطارٌ سياسيّ شامل يحيط بجنوب السودان.

وألقت تقارير أخرى الضوء على الحاجة الماسة إلى المنع، وأشارت إلى أن مَنْشَأَ التّحدّيات الحمائية الواقعة على النازحين الداخليّين في جنوب السودان هو جَوَالِبُ نزاعٍ معقَّدةٌ داخلٌ بعضها في بعض، فقد هُجِّرَ كثيرٌ من النازحين الداخليِّين مرةً بعد أخرى لأسبابٍ مركَّبة ومختلفة، منها عنفٌ بين الطوائف، وهمومُ أمانٍ، وكوارثُ طبيعةٍ. وقد هلَكَ في نزاع جنوب السودان هذا خَلْقٌ كثير، فانتهكت فيه حُرْمَةُ حقوق الإنسان، واستهدفت الجماعات المسلَّحة المدنيِّين، وهُجِّرَ المدنيُّون تهجيراً.

سنة 2018: سنةٌ عَظِيمةُ الخَطَر

لمّا كانت هذه السنة ظهر أنّها ذاتُ شأنٍ في حماية النازحين الداخليِّين لا تُخطِئُ شأنَها عينٌ، ففيها أَخَذَ جنوب السودان يُنشِئ للنازحين الداخليِّين قانوناً داخليّاً سمَّاه قانون سنة 2019 لحماية النازحين الداخليِّين وإعانتهم. ومسوَّدة هذا القانون هي من مبادرةِ الحكومة في جنوب السودان، صرَّفت في أمرهِ وزارةَ الشؤون الإنسانية والتصرُّف في الكوارث ولجاناً برلمانية، وطلبت فيها التأليف بين اتفاقية كمبالا لسنة 2009 والمبادئ التوجيهية في التهجير الداخليّ لسنة 1998 لجعلها صالحةً للتطبيق في جنوب السودان.

فساقَ صَوْعُ قانونِ النازحين الداخليِّين الداخليِّ هذا –وقد أَشَبَّتهُ ودعمتهُ مبادرة الذكرى العشرين للمبادئ التوجيهية في التهجير الداخليّ– ساقَ إلى تصديق الحكومة في جنوب السودان اتفاقيةَ كمبالا. ثمَّ كان في العالم من إقرارِ اتفاق اللاجئين العالميّ والتزامِ جنوب السودان إنفاذَه أن تهيّأت فرصة للتوصُّل إلى حلول شاملة لمُهجَّري جنوب السودان. وأشارت هذه التحوُّلات إلى التزام الحكومة تحسينَ حماية النازحين الداخليِّين وتكثيرَ الجهد المبذول لإنهاء حالة التَّهجير الراهنة. وقد ذَكَرَ حسين مار نيوت، وزيرُ الشؤون الإنسانيّة والتصرُّف في الكوارث سابقاً، وهو يتكلم في إحالة مسوَّدة القانون إلى وزارة العدل، أنّ هذا التشريع الداخليّ يمكن أن يعزِّزَ الإنفاذَ الجاريَ للاتفاقية المُجدَّدة في شأن حلّ النزاع في جمهورية جنوب السودان التي أُبرِمَت سنة 2018. وتنصُّ هذه الاتفاقية على عودة اللاجئين والنازحين الداخليِّين وإعادة إدماجهم، وعلى أنّ ذلك أساسٌ من أُسُسِ تحقيقِ السلام الدائم في جنوب السودان.

نظرات في إنشاء القانون الداخليّ

اتَّخذ القيِّمون على صَوْغ القانون الداخليّ مقاربةً تشاركيَّة ليُحسِّنوا تعيين حاجات النازحين الداخليين والتحديات التي تعترض الحكومة، حتّى تكون الاستجابة للتَّهجير الداخليّ وافيةً بالغرض. وقدّمت خطة العمل للذكرى العشرين للمبادئ التوجيهية آليات التنسيق التي يَحتَاجُ إليها أصحاب المصلحة ويُحتَاجُ إليها في مشاركة النازحين الداخليّين (مع تقدير حاجاتهم). وقد قادت وِزارةُ الشؤون الإنسانية والتصرُّف في الكوارث ومُفوضيَّةُ اللاجئين شركاءَ جنوب السودان في خطة العمل للذكرى العشرين للمبادئ التوجيهية، فحَفَزُوا عدداً من أصحاب المصلحة، وفيهم وزاراتٌ تنفيذية ومديرياتٌ، وفاعلون إنسانيُّون وإنمائيُّون، وأوساط أكاديميّة، والمجتمع المدنيّ، والاتحاد الإفريقي، ومانحون، وغيرُهم من أصحاب المصلحة، وبذلك ضمنوا تحقيقَ مقاربةٍ تشتمل على المجتمع بأسره. ومن المهمّ في مثل هذا أن يكون الذين يُقِيمُونَ الاستشارات بينهم وبين كبار صانعي السياسات في الحكومة أن يكونوا أصحاب خبرة في سنِّ قوانين التَّهجير الداخليّ.

ومن الوجهة الفعليّة، عقدت أول ورشة في القانون والسياسة باشتراكٍ بين مفوضيَّة اللاجئين وزارة الشؤون الإنسانية والتصرُّف في الكوارث، عقدت في تموز/يوليو سنة 2018، ودُعِيَ إليها النَّازحون الداخليُّون. وكانت الورشة بداية استشارة النَّازحين الداخليّين وكبار المسؤولين الحكوميِّين، فأعانهم ذلك على تعزيز فهمهم لصَوْغ قوانين النَّازحين الداخليّين، وتوسيع معارفهم، لتكون مشاركتهم فعَّالةً ناشئةً عن عِلْم. وكان بعد ذلك أُقِيمَ حَدَثُ «إثباتِ شرعيّةٍ» للمسؤولين الحكوميِّين بغيةَ توكيدِ أهميَّة كلِّ ما تقدَّم، وكان ذلك مهمّاً لتحسين الإرادة السياسية في القانوني الداخليّ. ثمَّ إنَّ مشاركة الوزارات التنفيذية تِقْنيّاً ووِزاريّاً أتاحت تداول الآراء في المسائل العمليّة حول تنسيق الحماية والإعانة للنازحين الداخليِّين، وهذا دَعَمَ تنمية الترتيبات المؤسسيّة كما نصَّ عليه القانون الداخليّ. ثمَّ وُسِّعت مشاركة النازحين الداخليِّين بالاستشارات التي أقامتها مفوضيَّة اللاجئين في البلد بأسره، دخل فيها النازحون الداخليُّون والمجتمعات المضيفة. وكان لذلك عظيمُ شأنٍ في إدخال ما ينبغي إدخالهُ في مُسوَّدة القانون.

مثال ذلك: أنْ ظَهَرَ في أثناء الاستشارات أنّ من المستقرب أن يقع على النساء تحديات في استعادة أملاكهنّ التي تَرَكْنَها بالتَّهجير؛ فلا وثائق عندهنّ، ويسري عليهنّ سُنُنٌ ثقافيّة تمييزية؛ ولذا أُدرِجَ في مسوَّدة القانون ما ينصّ على حماية أملاك النساء حمايةً مناسبة. ومع ذلك، ثبت أنَّ الوصول الفعّال إلى النازحين الداخليِّين والمجتمعات المضيفة ومشاورتهم –وهو أمرٌ ذو شأنٍ إذ إنّ وجهات نظرهم وأولوياتهم تؤثّر في سنِّ القانون وإنفاذه– ثبت أنّه شديد الصعوبة في بعض المناطق بسبب النِّزاع، وفوق ذلك صعَّبَ ضَعْفُ البنية التحتية والوصول إلى الشابكة جَمْعَ المعطيات.

وبعد ذلك، أدّت استشارات أصحاب المصلحة في حَدَثٍ رفيع المستوى في شهر أيلول/سبتمبر سنة 2018 إلى تصديق مسوَّدةٍ أولى للقانون الداخليّ. دارت فيها المناقشات حولَ مسؤولية الدولة، وتنسيق الحماية والإعانة، والحلول الدائمة. فأما المناقشات التي دارت حول مسؤولية الدولة فقد ساقت إلى توصية الحكومة أن يكون توسّع نفوذها في الحماية والإعانة، ووصل ذلك بالحاجة إلى أ) أن يكون للنازحين الداخليين في الحلول الدائمة خيارٌ حرّ؛ أي العودة الطوعية أو الاندماج المحلي أو إعادة التوطين، ب) وأن يُحسَّن الأمن ويُعزَّزَ حكم القانون حتّى تكون العودة آمنةً كريمة. وأما التنسيق، فقد لوحظ أنّ تحقيقَ حماية الناوحين الداخليِّين وإعانتهم أمرٌ يستدعي مقاربةً متعدد الطبقات. فأوصى المتشاورون في هذا الصدد بآلية تنسيق مشتركة بين الوزارات، تُكْمِلُها منتدياتٌ تشغيلية وتقنية مشتركة بين القطاعات التي هي أدنى، مخصصةٌ لمعالجة حالة النازحين الداخليّين. ولوحظ على وجه الخصوص الرصد الذي تقوم به مؤسسات حقوق الإنسان من حيث هو أساسٌ في إقامة الضوابط والتوازنات.

أخيراً، وبناءً على العمل التشاركي، تعاونت مفوضيَّة اللاجئين ووزارة الشؤون الإنسانية والتصرُّف في الكوارث وجامعة جوبا فعقدت ندوةً لتوعية أفراد الشعب وتحسيسهم بقانون النازحين الداخليِّين، ولمعرفة أفكارهم العميقة في مسائل حماية النازحين الداخليِّين وإعانتهم. حضر الندوة أكثرُ من 70 مشاركاً أتوا من الوزارات التنفيذية، والجمعية التشريعية الوطنية الانتقالية، والاتحاد الإفريقي والمنظمات الإقليمية، وهيئات الأمم المتحدة، والمنظمات غير الحكومية الوطنية والدولية، والمنظمات المجتمعية والدينية، والأوساط الأكاديمية، ووسائل الإعلام الوطنية، وجمعية القانون في جنوب السودان. ومن المُتصوَّر أنَّ حملات الوعي العام تنظم من فورها بعد أن تدفع وزارة العدل القانون إلى الجمعية التشريعية الوطنية الانتقالية لتسنّ مسوَّدته.

رَدْمُ ثُلْمَة الحماية والحلول

اعتمد جنوب السودان إطارَ عملٍ وطنيّاً في العودة وإعادة التوطين وإعادة الإدماج سنة 2017، لتأطير المعونة الإنسانية وإعادة التَّعمير في جنوب السودان. وراجعت الحكومة هذا الإطار في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر من سنة 2019، ومع أنهُ كان خطوةً مهمّة نحو البحث عن حلول دائمة، ما كان فيه من شمول الإطار القانوني ما تُصُوِّرَ في المبادئ التوجيهية واتفاقية كمبالا. على أنّ سنّ قانونٍ داخليّ في النزوح الداخليّ جاءَ لميقات الحاجة إليهِ، إذ انضمت الدولة أيضاً إلى موقّعي اتفاقية كمبالا التي تدعو الحكومات الوطنية إلى سنِّ القوانين أو تعديلها لحماية النازحين الداخليِّين وإعانتهم (وذلك في الفقرة الثانية من مادتها الثالثة). وإذ قد كانت اتفاقية كمبالا مُتضمِّنةً المبادئ التوجيهية في النزوح الداخليّ لسنة 1998، فقد كان للبلد توطُّنها أساساً قانونياً معيارياً لتطبيق المبادئ التوجيهية في معالجة حالة النازحين الداخليِّين في جنوب السودان. فأتاح هذا التشريع الداخليّ فرصةً فريدةً لمعالجة الحاجة إلى حماية النازحين الداخليِّين معالجةً متماسكة مَبنيَّةً على مقاربةٍ تشتمل على الحكومة بأسرها على المجتمع بأسره.

ثم إنَّ مسوَّدة القانون تُكيِّف بابتكارٍ المعايير المرجعة في الحماية الدولية بحيث توافق الأحوال المحلية، مثال ذلك: أنَّها تنص على إجراءات حماية خاصة لصَوْن الحقوق في السكنى والأرض والملك، للنساء والأطفال. والمسوَّدة مُقرّةٌ بوقوع التحديات على تمام تحقيق الحلول الدائمة في السياق الراهن، فهي تنصُّ على مقاربات نفعيّة (برغماتية) مثل وضع برامج مخصصة لكلِّ منطقة على حدتها، وإيجاد الحلول الانتقالية، واستعمال المساعدة النقدية لتعزيز صمود المجتمعات المحليّة. وبمؤازاة المبادئ التوجيهية، يركز التشريع همّهُ بخاصة في حلول النزوح الداخلي، وذلك بإتاحة خيارات العودة، أو الاندماج في الموضع الذي نُزِحَ إليهِ، أو إعادة التوطين في موضع آخر من البلد.

وتأخذ مسوَّدة القانون في طريقٍ أخرى للتركيز عميقاً على الحلول، وذلك بأنها تدرج فيها توجيهَ إطار العمل في اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الوكالات للحلول الدائمة، ثم تجعله قابلاً للتطبيق في البلد. وتنصُّ مسوَّدة القانون أيضاً على إنشاء صندوقٍ لدعم إنفاذ قانونها (وذلك بتخصيص 30% من الدخل الوطني من النفط)، وهذه مقاربةٌ جديدة في المنطقة، تضمن أن تكون الاستجابات والإستراتيجيات الإنسانية للحلول الطويلة الأمد مُمَوَّلةً من موارد البلد نفسه، لا معتمدةً على تمويلٍ من الخارج. فجاءَ هذا التشريع الوطنيّ مُمَاشياً روحَ اتفاق اللاجئين العالميّ، مُحتملاً قوّةً على تعزيز إنفاذ الاتفاقية المُجدَّدة في شأن حلّ النزاع بجمهورية جنوب السودان (R-ARCSS)، ليُوصِلَ الحال في جنوب السودان إلى سلامٍ دائم.

إِنشاءُ الاندفاعِ وحِفْظُه

وإن نظر المرء إلى يوم إنشاء القانون، وجد أنَّ خطة عمل الذكرى العشرين للمبادئ التوجيهية كانت أساسَ ما حَفَزَ التزامَ أصحابِ المصلحة المتعدِّدين بإنشاء هذا القانون الداخليّ، وأنَّها ما تزال منبراً مهمّاً يدعم سنَّ مسوَّدة القانون من قِبَل الجمعية التشريعية الوطنية الانتقالية وإنفاذ القانون من فورِ سَنِّه. وقريبٌ أن تُعِينَ المشاركة القوية التي أقامتها الذكرى العشرين للمبادئ التوجيهية بينها وبين حكومة جنوب السودان على إنفاذ القانون إنفاذاً أعرض.

ويبقى أمرٌ عظيم الشأن، وهو أنَّ وجود إطارٍ قانونيّ داخليّ للنازحين الداخليِّين يبني الوعي أيضاً بالمسؤولية الأوَّلية للحكومة في القانون، ويلزمها كثيرَ إلزامٍ أن تخصِّص الموارد الضرورية لحماية النازحين الداخليِّين وإعانتهم، والحلول الدائمة من ذلك. ثم إنَّ استخدام الفرص التي أُتِيحَت إقليميّاً وعالميّاً بإنفاذ اتفاقية كمبالا واتفاقية اللاجئين العالمية سيكون له شأنٌ أيضاً في إنشاءِ الاندفاع المُحتَاج إليهِ لإنفاذ القانون. وبعدُ، فمع أنَّ إنشاء مسوَّدة القانون الداخليّ هذا خطوةٌ ذات بالٍ، فإنَّ استمرار الالتزام والاندفاع في سَنِّ القانون وإنفاذه أمرٌ ضروريّ، هذا إن أُرِيدَ للنازحين الداخليِّين الحماية والإعانة الوافيتين بالغرض، وبلوغَ الحلول الدائمة.

 

چَالَوكَا بياني chalokabeyani@hotmail.com

بروفيسورٌ مشارك في القانون الدولي بكلية لندن للاقتصاد والعلوم السياسية، وعضوٌ في جماعة الخبراء الاستشاريّين لفرقة الأمين العامّ رفيعة المستوى المعنيّة بالتَّهجير الداخليّ، ومُقرِّرٌ خاصٌّ سابق للأمين العامّ في شؤون حقوق الإنسان والنازحين الداخليِّين، وخبيرٌ في الحكومة ومفوضيَّة اللاجئين بشؤون سنِّ القوانين الداخليّة المعنية بحماية النازحين الداخليِّين في جنوب السودان وإعانتهم.

 

جاتَوِچ بيتر كُلَنج gatwechkulang@yahoo.com.au

وكيلُ وزارةٍ، في وزارة الشؤون الإنسانية والتصرُّف في الكوارث بجنوب السودان

 

رُوز إمْوِبي mwebi@unhcr.org

مستشارةٌ رئيسةٌ في الشؤون السياسية والإنسانية بمفوضيَّة اللاجئين (مندوبةٌ إلى إيغاد: الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بالتنمية)

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

The potential of South Sudan’s national law on protection and assistance to IDPs

South Sudan faces significant and complex humanitarian challenges but the recent drafting of a national IDP law reflects a renewed commitment to and vision for protecting its citizens.

As of June 2020, there were more than 1.67 million internally displaced persons (IDPs) in South Sudan, while 2.2 million South Sudanese were refugees in neighbouring countries. Over 200,000 IDPs are hosted in UNMISS Protection of Civilian Sites. In 2013 the former UN Special Rapporteur on the human rights of IDPs, Chaloka Beyani, undertook a mission to South Sudan, and reported on the absence of adequate capacity and institutional preparedness to prevent and respond to internal displacement in the short, medium and longer term. In particular, the mission recommended a comprehensive policy framework for South Sudan.

Further reports highlighted the dire need for prevention and indicated that protection challenges for IDPs in South Sudan result from complex and overlapping drivers of conflict; many IDPs have been repeatedly displaced due to a variety of compounding causes such as inter-communal violence, security concerns and natural disasters. The human cost of this conflict is immense, characterised by human rights violations, the targeting of civilians by armed groups, and the forced displacement of civilians.

2018: a pivotal year

In what turned out to be a remarkably significant year for the protection of IDPs, in 2018 South Sudan embarked on the development of a national IDP law entitled the Protection and Assistance to Internally Displaced Persons Act 2019. The draft national legislation, an initiative of the Government of South Sudan through its Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management (MHADM) and parliamentary committees, sought to domesticate the 2009 Kampala Convention as well as the 1998 Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement to make them applicable in South Sudan.

This process of formulating a national IDP law – galvanised and supported by the GP20 initiative – has led to the ratification of the Kampala Convention by the Government of South Sudan. And at the global level, the adoption of the Global Compact on Refugees (GCR) and South Sudan’s commitment to implementation of the GCR provide an opportunity to achieve comprehensive solutions for displaced South Sudanese. These developments signalled the commitment of the government to enhance protection for IDPs and to redouble efforts towards ending the current displacement situation. The former Minister for Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management, Hussein Mar Nyuot, on forwarding the draft legislation to the Ministry of Justice, noted that the national legislation would also reinforce the ongoing implementation of the Revitalised Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in the Republic of South Sudan (R-ARCSS) signed in 2018. The R-ARCSS provides for return and reintegration of refugees and IDPs as an integral element in the process of achieving durable peace in South Sudan.

Reflections on developing the national law

Those drafting the national law took a participatory approach in order to better identify the needs of IDPs and the challenges faced by the government to respond adequately to internal displacement. The GP20 Plan of Action provided the necessary coordination mechanisms for stakeholders and for the participation of IDPs (and assessment of their needs). The South Sudan GP20 partners, led by MHADM and UNHCR, galvanised a number of stakeholders including government line ministries and departments, humanitarian and development actors, academia, civil society, IDPs, the African Union, donors and other stakeholders, thereby ensuring a whole-of-society approach. It is important in such a process that those leading consultations with senior policymakers in government have expertise in law-making on internal displacement.

In terms of the actual process, a workshop on law and policy was first convened jointly by UNHCR and MHADM in July 2018, to which IDPs were invited. The workshop marked the starting point for consultations with IDPs and senior government officials, helping to build their understanding of IDP law making and boost their knowledge base to ensure their informed and effective participation. Following this, there was a ‘validation’ event for government officials to affirm the importance of the process; this was important in order to cultivate political will around the legislation. Furthermore, the participation of line ministries both at technical and ministerial levels enabled an exchange on practical issues on coordination of protection and assistance to IDPs that in turn supported the development of the institutional arrangements as framed in the national law. IDP participation in the process was then widened out through UNHCR-led countrywide consultations with IDPs and host communities. This was critical to informing the draft law. For example, it became evident during the consultations that women are likely to face challenges in reclaiming property left behind during displacement due to their lack of documentation and due to discriminatory cultural practices; as a result, appropriate protection for women’s property rights was included in the draft law. However, effective access to and consultation with IDPs and host communities – vital if their perspectives and priorities are to influence the development and implementation of the law – proved extremely challenging in some areas due to conflict, while limited infrastructure and internet access made it difficult to carry out data collection.

Following this, consultations with stakeholders at a high-level event in September 2018 led to validation of a zero draft of the national law. Discussions revolved around issues of State responsibility, coordination of protection and assistance, and durable solutions. Discussions on State responsibility led to a recommendation for the government to play a stronger role in providing protection and assistance, linking this with the need to a) enable IDPs to have a free choice of durable solution, namely voluntary return, local integration or resettlement, and b) improve security and strengthen rule of law to enable returns to happen in safety and with dignity. On the question of coordination, it was noted that provision of protection and assistance to IDPs requires a multi-tiered approach. In this regard, the consultations recommended an inter-ministerial coordination mechanism complemented by lower-level operational and technical inter-sectoral forums dedicated to addressing the situation of IDPs. The monitoring role of human rights institutions was particularly noted as being key to establishing checks and balances.

Finally, building further on the participatory process, a seminar was co-hosted by UNHCR, MHADM and the University of Juba to sensitise members of public on the IDP law and seek their insights on issues of protection and assistance for IDPs. The seminar was attended by over 70 participants drawn from line ministries, the Transitional National Legislative Assembly (TNLA), the African Union and regional organisations, UN agencies, national and international NGOs, community/faith-based organisations, academia, national media, and South Sudan’s law society. It is envisaged that public awareness campaigns will be undertaken once the law is presented by the Ministry of Justice to the TNLA for enactment as a draft bill.

Addressing the protection and solutions gap

South Sudan had adopted a National Framework on Return, Resettlement and Reintegration in 2017 to provide a framework for humanitarian assistance and reconstruction in South Sudan. The government revised this Framework in October 2019 but although it represents an important step towards the search for durable solutions, it lacks the comprehensiveness of a legal framework as envisaged by the Guiding Principles and the Kampala Convention. The development of a piece of national legislation on internal displacement was thus timely, in view also of the country’s accession to the Kampala Convention which calls on national governments to enact or amend relevant legislation to protect and assist IDPs (Article III, 2). Since the Kampala Convention incorporates the 1998 Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement, domesticating it provides a legal normative basis for application of the Guiding Principles in addressing the situation of IDPs in South Sudan. The national legislation thus presents a unique opportunity to deal coherently with the need for IDP protection, based on both a whole-of-government and a whole-of-society approach.

Innovatively, the draft law adapts international protection benchmarks to suit local conditions; for example, it establishes special protection measures to safeguard housing, land and property rights for women and children. Recognising the challenges of achieving durable solutions in the current context, the law provides for pragmatic approaches such as area-based programming, transitional solutions, and the use of cash assistance to strengthen the resilience of communities. In parallel with the Guiding Principles, the legislation specifically focuses on solutions to internal displacement by providing options for return, integration in the location of displacement, or resettlement to another part of the country.

Another way in which the draft law profoundly focuses on solutions is by incorporating the guidance of the IASC Framework on Durable Solutions, hence making it applicable in the country. The law also establishes a fund to support its implementation (provided through the allocation of 30% of national oil revenues), an approach that is new to the region and one that will ensure that humanitarian responses and strategies for long-term solutions are funded from the country’s own resources rather than being dependent on external funding. The national legislation thus aligns with the spirit of the GCR and has potential to strengthen implementation of the R-ARCSS towards a lasting peace in South Sudan.

Creating and maintaining momentum

Looking back at the process of developing the law, it is worth noting that the GP20 Action Plan was key to galvanising a multi-stakeholder commitment to developing the national law, and remains an important forum to support the enactment of the draft legislation by the TNLA and the implementation of the law once enacted. The strong partnership created by GP20 with the Government of South Sudan is likely to aid its implementation further.

Importantly, having a national legal framework for IDPs also builds awareness of the government’s primary responsibility in law, obliging it to a large extent to allocate the requisite resources for the protection and assistance of IDPs, including durable solutions. Harnessing opportunities created at the regional and global level through the implementation of the Kampala Convention and the GCR will also be important in creating the necessary momentum to implement the law. Finally, however, while the development of the draft national law represents an important step, continued commitment and momentum in enacting and implementing the law are vital if IDPs are to be adequately protected and assisted, and if they are to achieve durable solutions.

 

Chaloka Beyani chalokabeyani@hotmail.com
Associate Professor of International Law, LSE; Member of the Expert Advisory Group to the Secretary General’s High Level Panel on Internal Displacement; Former Special Rapporteur of the Secretary General on the Human Rights of IDPs; Government and UNHCR Expert on the development of the national legislation for Protection and Assistance to IDPs in South Sudan

Gatwech Peter Kulang gatwechkulang@yahoo.com.au
Undersecretary, Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management of South Sudan

Rose Mwebi mwebi@unhcr.org
UNHCR Senior Policy/Humanitarian Advisor (seconded to IGAD)

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700