اللُّجوءُ بالضَّغطِ في بيرو: وَقْع الأزمة الفنزويليّة و(ف-كورونا-19)

أدت الأزمة المستمرة في فنزويلا إلى زيادة كبيرة في طلبات اللجوء في مُجاوِرَتِها بيرو. فتجاوزت هذه الزيادة قدرة الحكومة على الاستجابة المناسبة في الوقت المناسب، فكانت على بيرو مصاعبٌ تفاقمت بجائحة (ف-كورونا-19).

في بداية أزمة الهجرة الفنزويلية، كانت بيرو إحدى الدول القليلة في تنفيذها سياساتٍ لتيسير الدخول القانوني إليها والإقامة فيها. وبإطلاقها تصريحَ الإقامة المؤقتة في سنة 2018، سمحت لآلاف الفنزويليين يتنظيم صفة هجرتهم إليها. فكان هذا التصريح ضرباً تكميليّاً من ضروب الحماية وأعان على تسليس الهجرة القانونية.

ولكن، مع الزيادة السريعة في عدد القادمين –إذ رُفِعَ إليها من طلبات اللجوء 482571 في سنة 2019، وهو عدد كبير بالقياس إلى 192 ألفَ طلبِ لجوءٍ في سنة 2018، و34167 في سنة 2017– ومع المشكلات البنيوية التي تعاني منها بيرو، سرعان ما تحوَّل الشعور العامّ بمناصرة الفنزويليين إلى رغبةٍ في رفضهم. وقد وجد تحليلٌ أجرته منظمة أُكسفَام سنة 2019 أن نحوَ 70% من الناس في بيرو والإكوادور وكولُمبيا يدعمون تشديد مراقبة الهجرة، ويرى 64.3% من أهل بيرو أن المهاجرين «يأخذون أكثر كثيراً ممّا يدفعون».[1]

وقد تجلّى هذا الرفض المتزايد للفنزويليين من قِبَل الحكومة بتنفيذها سلسلة من الإجراءات المُصمَّمَة لكَبْحِ دخولهم إلى البلد. والإجراءات التي اتَّخذتها هي: أ) الدعوة إلى وقف إصدار تصاريح الإقامة المؤقتة، ب) واشتراط جواز السفر لأي شخص يدخل بيرو، ج) واستحداث سِمَة (تأشيرة) إنسانية شديدةٌ مراقبَتُها. والحصول على هذه السِّمَة شديد التقيُّد، لأنها تشترط على رافعي الطلبات تقديمَ الوثائق التي يصعب عليهم الحصول عليها في الأحوال الراهنة، مثل سجلٍ موثَّقٍ يبيِّن أنْ لا حكم عليهم أو جواز سفر. فساقت هذه المعوِّقات إلى زيادة مفاجئة في طلبات اللجوء؛ لأن اللجوء أصبح عند كثيرٍ من اللاجئين الطريقة الوحيدة ليدخلوا بيرو دخولاً لا يخرق قانونها.

مصاعب في إجراء تقرير صفة اللاجئ

ينصُّ قانون اللاجئين العامّ في بيرو –القانون ذو الرقم 27891– على الإقرار السريع لهم، وينبغي أن لا يستغرق أكثرَ من 60 يوماً فقط. وهذا شَاملٌ رَفْعَ طلب اللجوء، والمقابلة شخصية؛ والتقدير الذي تجريه لجنةٌ حكومية اسمها اللجنة المختصّة بشؤون اللاجئين (Comisión Especial para los Refugiados)، ثم الموافقة على طلب اللجوء أو رفضه.

وكان أوّلَ الأمر تقديم طلب اللجوء كافياً لدخول بيرو. ومع ذلك، فقد زِيْدَ في وَضْعِ المراحل والمعايير، لكَبْحِ دخول المهاجرين الفنزويليين. وأحد هذه الإجراءات الفرز المسبق الذي يُجرَى على حدود ما بين بيرو والإكوادور. فبحسب ما قاله موظَّفون بيرووِيُّون، بمجرد رَفْع طلب اللجوء، تُجرَى مقابلات مع رافع الطلب، ويجريها موظفون من اللجنة المختصّة بشؤون اللاجئين عند الحدود. ثم تُرسَلُ ملفاتهم بالوَتسَآب[2] إلى مكتب اللجنة المختصّة بشؤون اللاجئين في ليما، حيث يُتَّخذ القرار: بالسماح لرافع الطلب بدخول البلد لمواصلة إجراءات الإقرار له أو بعدم السماح له بذلك. ويستغرق هذا التقويم المسبق من 30 إلى 70 يوماً، وخلال هذه المدى يجب على رافع الطلب الانتظار عند الحدود، من غير أن يبلغ شيئاً من الخدمات الأساسية.

وأصبح إجراء تقرير صفة اللاجئ معوِّقاً فعّالاً لدخول المهاجرين الفنزويليين إلى بيرو. فبين حزيران/يونيو وكانون الأول/ديسمبر من سنة 2019، لم يُسمَح بالدخول إلى البلد إلا لـ13% من طالبي اللجوء. وهذا يترك نسبة 87% المتبقية في حالةِ ضعفٍ، غير قادرين على دخول بيرو، وفي معظم الحالات، غير قادرين على العودة القانونية إلى الإكوادور؛ إذ إنّ العودة إلى الإكوادور –بدون وثائق– بعد أكثر من 48 ساعة من وقت الخروج غير مسموحٍ بها. على أنّ إنشاء هذا الضرب من المعوِّقات البيروقراطية لا يجري على القانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان والقانون الدولي للاجئين. فبموجب كِلا هذين الإطارين القانونيين، يجب أن تمتثل جميع إجراءات الهجرة لضمانات الإجراءات القانونية الواجبة، ولما كانت الآلية المستعملة هناك غائيّةً فما من طريقة للتثبُّت من أن التقويم المسبق يوافق المعايير القانونية الدولية، فليس هناك إجراءٌ لاستئناف القرار، سواء كان سماحاً بالدخول إلى الدولة أو رفضاً. ثمَّ إنَّ التقويم المسبق يهمل المبدأ الدولي الذي يمنع من الإعادة القسرية، فبموجبه لا يمكن رَفْضُ طالب اللجوء عند الحدود أو طرده من دولة من دون تحليلٍ مناسبٍ لطلب لجوئِه. ويستقيم على ما تقدَّم، أن مفوضيَّة اللاجئين أوضحت في استنتاجها ذي الرقم 8 أنه يجب على الدول السماح لطالبي اللجوء بالبقاء في الإقليم ما امتدَّت إجراءات تقرير صفة لجوئهم. وليس في التقويم المسبق هذا معايير واضحة، تمتدّ مدّته لتصل إلى 70 يوماً، يُمْنعُ فيها رافع الطلب من الدخول إلى الدولة وبلوغ الخدمات التي تتيحها، ومن الجليّ لنا أن خذا التقويم المسبق يعارض صريحاً ما تقدّم ذكره من استنتاج مفوضيَّة اللاجئين.

ثم بعد اجتياز التقويم المسبق، يعترض رافعي الطلبات انتظارٌ طويلٌ آخر؛ وذلك بسبب الأعداد الكثيرة ونقص الموارد عند اللجنة المختصّة بشؤون اللاجئين، والحاصل أنّ مدّة التقدير التي تبلغ 60 يوماً قد تمتدُّ لتبلُغ سنتين (هذا بحسب ما قاله موظَّفون مخفيُّو الهوية في اللجنة المختصّة بشؤون اللاجئين، فقد ذكروا أن من خطط اللجنة المختصّة بشؤون اللاجئين في منتصف سنة 2019 مقابلاتٌ مقرَّرٌ إجراؤها في سنة 2021؛ أي بعد سنتين).

وفوق ذلك، أنَّ التباطؤ في إجراء تقرير صفة اللاجئ له تأثير شديد السوء في بلوغ الخدمات الأساسية للعَيْش. وفي خطوة من خطوات تقرير صفة اللاجئ، يحق لرافعي الطلبات الحصول على بطاقةٍ اسمها بطاقة طالب اللجوء (Carnet de Solicitante de Refugio)، تسمح لحاملها بالعمل وبلوغ المرافق العامّة في أثناء مدّة انتظاره. ولكنْ، لمّا كان لا يحصل على البطاقة إلا بعد اجتياز المقابلة الرسمية في مكتب اللجنة المختصّة بشؤون اللاجئين في ليما، تعذَّر على معظم رافعي الطلبات الحصول عليها.

وَقْعُ (ف-كورونا-19)

ثمَّ جاءت جائحة (ف-كورونا-19)، فاشتدَّ خطر المصاعب في الطريق إلى الخدمات الأساسية. فمنذ آذار/مارس 2020، ذكر 60% من الناس الذين قابلتهم مفوضيَّة اللاجئين في بيرو أن المصاعب تعترضهم في سدِّ حاجاتهم الأساسية، ومنذ أيار/مايو، ما تزال فرقة العمل المعنيَّة باللاجئين والهجرة (Grupo de Trabajo sobre Refugio y Migración) –والمتولية تنفيذَ منصة الاستجابة التعاونية للاجئين والمهاجرين الفنزويليِّين في بيرو– ما تزال تبلِّغُ عن زيادة خطر الإخلاء وانعدام الأمن الغذائي والهشاشة الاقتصادية عند اللاجئين.[3]

وقد وَقَفَت حكومة بيرو معظم الأنشطة الاقتصادية في البلاد، لمكافحة انتشار (ف-كورونا-19). ولتعوِّضَ الناس عمّا أصابهم من هذه القيود، وضعت إجراءات لضمان استمرار الرواتب وعقود العمل، وأطلقت تعويضاتٍ طارِئةً للأسر الفقيرة. ولكنّ الإجراء الأوَّل لا يُفِيدُ إلا العاملين عملاً رسميّاً، والإجراء الثاني لا يُفِيدُ إلا المتسجِّلين في سجلات حكومية معيَّنة لها بالدَّخْل صلة. ثمَّ إنّه ليس لـ88% من طالبي اللجوء عَقْدُ عمل؛ وذلك لأنّهم على وجه التحديد لا يستطيعون الوصول إلى وثائق إثبات هويّتهم التي لا بدّ منها للأخذ في عملٍ رسميّ. لذا، فمن الوجهة العملية، كان وَقْفُ الأنشطة الاقتصادية يعني القضاء على كلِّ سبيلٍ إلى توليد الدَّخل أمام اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء، من غير أن يمكنهم بلوغُ التعويضات الداعمة المتصلة بالتوظيف.

ومع هذا، فلا تبلغُ الأسر التعويضات الطارئة إلا بعد أن تُسجِّلَ في نظام دعم الأسر المعيشية.[4] والتسجيل في هذا النظام شاقٌّ بيروقراطيّ، ويشترط حَمْل المُسجِّل وثيقة إثبات هويَّته الوطنية أو بطاقة الهجرة، هذا فضلاً عن إجراء تفتيش في منزل الأسرة. فالسواد الأعظم من أسر اللاجئين غير متسجِّلةٍ في نظام دَعْم الأسر المعيشية، إما لأنها لم تستطع بلوغَ التسجيل أو لأن أفرادها لا يحملون الوثائق اللازمة. وفي آذار/مارس 2020، أظهر مرصد الحماية التَّابع لمفوضيَّة اللاجئين أنَّ أقل من 1% من المهاجرين ينزلون منزلاً لهم، فجعل ذلك تفتيشَ المنزل أمراً مستحيلاً بلا شكّ في جلُّ الحالات.

وأمرت حكومة بيرو بأن تُهيَّأَ الرعاية الطبية لكلِّ شخصٍ فيه أعراض أو إصابة محققة بـ(ف-كورونا-19) من غير نظر إلى جنسيَّته أو صفة هجرته أو حالة وثائقه. ولكن، الظاهر أن بعض المستشفيات اشترطت على المرضى أن ترى وثائق إثبات هويّتهم الوطنية لكي تدخلهم في الرعاية الصحية.

فرص التَّحسين

وبدعمٍ من الأمم المتحدة والقطاع الخاص، وزَّعت الحكومة بحلول أواخر شهر أيار/مايو 2020 موادَّ غذائية على 5000 آلاف أسرةٍ لاجئةٍ ومهاجرة. وفي الوقت نفسه، وزَّعت فرقة العمل المعنيّة باللاجئين والمهاجرين مليونَين ونصف المليون دولارٍ أمريكي على أكثر من 53 ألفَ لاجئٍ ومهاجرٍ في بيرو، وكان ذلك جزءاً من خطة تبدأ كذلك وتنتهي إلى توزيع مبلغ خمسة ملايين وسبعة أعشار المليون دولار أمريكي. على أنَّ إجراءات الإغاثة هذه قصيرة الأجل، ولا تحلّ المشكلة البنيوية التي تعترض طالبي اللجوء في بيرو: نظام استجابة مرتجل وغير فعّال، لا يمكن به بلوغُ الحدِّ الأسفل من الضمانات. ودونك ما نقترحه للحل:

أولاً: تحتاج بيرو إلى الاستثمار في آلية سريعة وفعّالة لإصدار الوثائق تُقِرُّ بطالبي اللجوء طالبي لجوءٍ. فينبغي لها أن تزوِّدهم ببطاقة طالب اللجوء في اللحظة التي يدخلون فيها البلدَ، لا أن تكون مشروطةً بمقابلةٍ رسميّة عند اللجنة المختصّة بشؤون اللاجئين.

ثانياً: يجب على الدولة أن تضمن امتثالَ تقرير صفة اللاجئ للوائح البيرُوْوِيّة والمعايير الدولية، وأن لا تُتَّخذ الإجراءات الغائيّة.

ثالثاً: لمواجهة الضغوط على نظام اللجوء في البلاد، لعلّ من الحسن أن تُطبّق الحكومة الإقرار الجَمْعيّ أو الإقرار من أوّل وهلةٍ على طالبي اللجوء القادمين من فنزويلا، مع احتمال أن يكون تطبيقه مكلفاً من الوجهة السياسية. وقد أيَّدت ذلك مفوضيَّة اللاجئين في مناسبات متكررة، ومعها محكمة البلدان الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان، في فتواها التي رقمها 21. ففي عمل ذلك تسريعٌ لاندماج اللاجئين في المجتمع، في أثناء تقدير اللجنة المختصّة بشؤون اللاجئين لطلبات متعلقةٍ بحالات مختلفة. وفي خلال تنفيذ ذلك، سيتمكن مَن عندهم الوثائق المطلوبة من التوظُّف وبُلُوغِ المرافق العامّة التي يفتقرون إليها اليوم.

رابعاً: وأخيراً، ينبغي للدولة في مكافحة الجائحة الراهنة أن تتّخذ إجراءات حماية تشمل اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء. ومن الخطوات الحسنة في هذا الباب أن تُطلِقَ نظاماً معيَّناً لتعويضات الإغاثة التي تُسلِّمُها المؤسسات العامة إلى المحتاجين إليها، لا أن تُتْرَكَ المنظَّمات غير الحكومية وهي تتحمَّل عبء تقديم المعونة. ويمكن بذلك أن تَسنَحَ فرصةٌ للدولة تَجمَعُ بها سِجلاً للاجئين حديثاً ودقيقاً. ونعم، هذه الإجراءات لا يمكن أن تُتَّخَذَ فجأةً، ولكن آن الأوان لبدء العمل بإجراءاتٍ فعّالة بغيةَ إنهاءِ انتظارِ الفنزويليِّين الطويلِ للإقرار لهم بلاجئيَّتهم وإعطائهم حقوقهم.

 

پَوْلَا كَامِينو pcamino@pucp.edu.pe 

معيدةٌ، في كلية الحقوق، بالجامعة الباباويّة الكاثُوليكيّة في بيرو  http://facultad.pucp.edu.pe/derecho/en

 

أُوْبِر لُپَيْز مُنْترُوي ulopez@bullardabogados.pe 

معيدٌ، في كلية الحقوق، بالجامعة الباباويّة الكاثُوليكيّة في بيرو، ومعاونٌ، في مكتب بُلَرْد فالا إزكورا للمحاماة

 www.bullardabogados.pe/en

 

[1] Oxfam International (2019) Yes, but not here: Perceptions of xenophobia and discrimination towards Venezuelan migrants in Colombia, Ecuador and Peru

 (نعم، ولكن ليس هنا: تصوُّرات رُهاب الأجانب والتمييز بجاه المهاجرين الفنزويليين في كولُمبيا وإكوادور وبيرو)

www.oxfam.org/en/research/yes-not-here

[2]ما استطعنا الحصول على معلومات في بروتوكولات حماية معطيات في هذا الإجراء.

[3] منصة الاستجابة التعاونية للاجئين والمهاجرين الفنزويليِّين

)R4V Coordination Platform for Refugees and Migrants from Venezuela).

https://bit.ly/3dIFhLS  

[4]نظام دَعْم الأسر المعيشية (Sistema de Focalización de Hogares).

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

Asylum under pressure in Peru: the impact of the Venezuelan crisis and COVID-19

The continuing crisis in Venezuela has generated a significant increase in applications for asylum in neighbouring Peru. This has exceeded the government’s capacity to respond adequately and in a timely manner – difficulties that are exacerbated by the COVID-19 pandemic.

At the beginning of the Venezuelan migration crisis, Peru was one of the few States that implemented policies to facilitate legal entry and stay. With the introduction in 2018 of the Temporary Residency Permit (Permiso Temporal de Permanencia, PTP), thousands of Venezuelans were allowed to regularise their immigration status. This permit offered a complementary form of protection and helped to streamline the legal migration process.

However, with the rapid increase in arrivals – 482,571 asylum claims lodged in 2019, compared with 192,000 in 2018 and 34,167 in 2017 – and with the structural problems being experienced in Peru, the general feeling of solidarity with Venezuelans soon turned to rejection. A 2019 analysis by Oxfam found that around 70% of people in Peru, Ecuador and Colombia would support stricter migration control, while 64.3% of Peruvians believe that migrants “take much more than they put in”.[1]

This growing rejection of the Venezuelan population was echoed by the government through the implementation of a series of measures designed to curb their entry into the country. The measures adopted were: a) calling a halt to issuing Temporary Residency Permits; b) introducing the requirement for a passport to anyone entering Peru; and c) introducing a tightly controlled humanitarian visa. Access to this visa is very limited, since it requires applicants to present documents that are difficult to obtain under current conditions – such as a notarised record of any criminal convictions or a passport itself. These barriers led to a sudden increase in requests for asylum since for many refugees this became the only way of entering Peru in a regular manner.

Difficulties in the RSD procedure

Peru’s General Refugee Law – Law 27891 – provides for a rapid recognition process, which should take just 60 days. This comprises presentation of an application for asylum; an interview; evaluation by the government’s Special Commission for Refugees (Comisión Especial para los Refugiados, CEPR); and then approval or rejection of the request for asylum.

Presentation of an asylum claim was initially sufficient to enter Peru. However, more stages and criteria have been established, aimed at limiting the entry of Venezuelan migrants. One of these is the pre-screening undertaken at Peru’s border with Ecuador. According to Peruvian officials, once the request for asylum has been submitted, applicants are interviewed by CEPR personnel at the border. Their files are then sent via WhatsApp[2] to the CEPR office in Lima, where the decision is taken on whether or not to allow the applicant to enter the country to continue the recognition procedure. This prior evaluation takes 30 to 70 days, during which time the applicant must wait at the border – without any access to basic services.

The RSD procedure has become an effective barrier to the entry of Venezuelan migrants to Peru. Between June and December 2019, only 13% of asylum seekers were allowed entry into the country. This leaves the remaining 87% in a vulnerable state, unable to enter Peru and, in most cases, unable to legally return to Ecuador since re-entry to Ecuador – without documentation – after more than 48 hours is not allowed. Creating this type of bureaucratic barrier is incompatible with international human rights law and international refugee law. Under both legal frameworks, all immigration procedures must comply with guarantees of due process; by using an ad hoc mechanism, there is no way to ensure that the prior evaluation complies with international legal standards, since there is no procedure to appeal the decision to allow or deny entry to the country. Furthermore, prior evaluation ignores the international principle of non-refoulement whereby an asylum seeker cannot be rejected at the border or expelled from a State without adequate analysis of their request for asylum. Along the same lines, UNHCR established in its Conclusion No. 8 that States must allow asylum seekers to remain in the territory throughout the determination procedure. It is clear to us that this prior evaluation process, which lacks clear standards and takes up to 70 days, during which time the applicant is denied entry to the State and to the services it offers, is openly contrary to this principle.

After passing the prior evaluation, applicants face a further long wait; because of the numbers involved and CEPR’s lack of resources, the 60-day assessment period may last up to a couple of years (according to anonymous CEPR employees, in mid-2019 CEPR’s plans included interviews scheduled to take place in 2021 – that is, two years hence).

The slowdown in the RSD procedure also has an extremely negative impact on access to basic services for survival. As part of the RSD procedure, applicants are entitled to receive a refugee applicant card (Carnet de Solicitante de Refugio), which allows them to work and access public services in the interim period. However, since the card can only be obtained after going through the official interview with CEPR in Lima, most applicants cannot get one.

The impact of COVID-19

Difficulties in accessing basic services have been dangerously exacerbated by COVID-19. As of March 2020, 60% of people interviewed by UNHCR in Peru reported difficulties in meeting their basic needs, and since May the Working Group on Refuge and Migration (Grupo de Trabajo sobre Refugio y Migración, GTRM) – in charge of implementing the R4V Coordination Platform for Refugees and Migrants from Venezuela in Peru – has continually reported an increased risk of eviction, food insecurity and economic vulnerability among refugees.[3]

To combat the spread of COVID-19, the Peruvian government shut down most economic activities in the country. To compensate people for the impact of these restrictions, the government established measures to ensure continuity of salaries and employment contracts, and introduced emergency payments for families living in poverty. However, the first measure only benefits those people who are formally employed, while the second only benefits those who are registered in particular government records regarding income. Eighty-eight per cent of asylum applicants do not have an employment contract, precisely because they cannot access the identity documents necessary to secure formal employment. Thus, in practice, the shutting down of economic activities meant eliminating any income generation for refugees and asylum seekers, without them having the possibility of accessing employment-related support payments.

Meanwhile, to access emergency payments, a family must be registered in SISFOH.[4] Registration is a bureaucratic and laborious process, which requires having a National Identity Document or Immigration Card, as well as going through a home inspection. The vast majority of refugee families are not registered with SISFOH, either because they have not been able to access the registration process or because they do not have the necessary documentation. In March 2020, UNHCR protection monitoring showed that fewer than 1% of migrants had their own home – which evidently makes the house inspection process an impossibility in the vast majority of cases.

The Peruvian government ordered that anyone with symptoms or a confirmed case of COVID-19 should have access to medical care regardless of their nationality, immigration status or documentation status. However, it appears that some hospitals have required that patients present a National Identity Document in order to access care.

Opportunities for improvement

With the support of the UN and the private sector, by late May 2020 the government had distributed food to 5,000 refugee and migrant families.[5] In parallel, through the GTRM US$2.5 million has been distributed to more than 53,000 refugees and migrants in Peru, with a total distribution of  $5.7 million planned.[6] However, these short-term relief measures do not solve the systemic problem faced by asylum seekers in Peru: an improvised and inefficient response system that does not ensure access to minimum guarantees.

Firstly, Peru needs to invest in a fast and efficient mechanism for issuing documentation to recognise asylum seekers as such. Refugee applicant cards should be provided the moment the applicant enters the country, rather than being conditional on the official CEPR interview.

Secondly, the State must guarantee that the RSD process complies with Peruvian regulations and international standards, and that no ad hoc measures are introduced.

Thirdly, faced with the pressures on the country’s asylum system, it would be ideal – although potentially politically costly – if the government could apply group-based or prima facie recognition for asylum seekers from Venezuela. Both UNHCR, on repeated occasions, and the Inter-American Court of Human Rights, in their Advisory Opinion 21, have endorsed this possibility. Doing so would speed up the integration of refugees into society, with CEPR assessing claims relating to different situations. During this process, people with the required documentation would be able to access employment and the public services that they currently lack.

Fourthly, and finally, in the face of the current pandemic, the State should establish protection measures that include refugees and asylum seekers. A constructive move would be to issue a specific system of relief payments to be delivered by public institutions, rather than leaving NGOs to shoulder the burden of providing assistance. This could also provide an opportunity for the State to compile an up-to-date, accurate record of its refugee population. These measures cannot be adopted overnight but it is time to initiate effective action to end Venezuelans’ long wait for recognition and for access to their rights.

 

Paula Camino Morgado pcamino@pucp.edu.pe 
Teaching Assistant, PUCP Law School http://facultad.pucp.edu.pe/derecho/en

Uber López Montreuil ulopez@bullardabogados.pe 
Teaching Assistant, PUCP Law School; Associate, Bullard Falla Ezcurra  www.bullardabogados.pe/en

 

[1] Oxfam International (2019) Yes, but not here: Perceptions of xenophobia and discrimination towards Venezuelan migrants in Colombia, Ecuador and Peru
www.oxfam.org/en/research/yes-not-here

[2] We have been unable to access information regarding data security protocols in this process.

[3] R4V Coordination Platform for Refugees and Migrants from Venezuela bit.ly/3dIFhLS  

[4] Sistema de Focalización de Hogares (Household Targeting System)

[5] UN Information Centre – Peru (April 2020) ‘Perú y la ONU se alían para ayudar a los refugiados y migrantes venezolanos afectados por el coronavirus’ (Spanish only) bit.ly/3jPxUFb

[6] GTRM/R4V (2020) ‘Repuesta COVID-19’ (to 26 June 2020) (Spanish only) bit.ly/2Z6pAsv

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700