الإقرار للاجئين: نحو فَهْم السُّبُل الحقيقية إلى الإقرار لهم بلاجئيَّتهم

إجراءات تقرير صفة اللاجئ هي المدخل إلى اللاجئيّة، ولذا كان عِظَمُ شأنها. ولكن تَظْهَرُ تحدِّيات مختلفة عند دراسة سُنَنِ العمل المتّبعة في هذه الإجراءات.  

يقصد مشروعنا البحثيّ هذا، الذي اسمه «الإقرار للاجئين»، إلى فهم العوامل التي تُقرِّرُ مَن يُقَرُّ له بلاجئيَّته (ومَن تُنْفَى عنه) في العالم.[1] فمن الناحية العملية، لا يعتمد الإقرار على التعريف القانوني لـ«اللاجئ» فحسب، إنما يعتمد أيضاً على ما هو أهمّ من ذلك: على الإجراءات المُؤسَّسية المعمول بها في الإقرار للاجئين بلاجئيَّتهم. ولهذه الإجراءات أسماءٌ مختلفة، فرَّبما سُمِّيت «إجراءَ اللُّجوء» أو «تقرير صفة اللاجئ». وربَّما أخذت في هذه الإجراءات سلطاتُ الدولة (أي حرس الحدود والشرطة وموظَّفو الهجرة أو صناع القرار والقضاة المختصّون باللجوء)، أو مفوضيَّة اللاجئين، أو مجموعة من موظَّفي الدولة ومفوضيَّة اللاجئين معاً. ولقد تكون الإجراءات إفراديّةً أو جَمْعية.

ومن الضروري دراسة هذه الإجراءات لأنها مَدخَل كَوْن المرء لاجئاً. فللإقرار للاجئ بلاجئيَّته فوائدُ مختلفة في سياقات مختلفة (من صفةٍ حماية الحقوق فيها مأمونة في بعض الدول إلى مجرَّد الحماية من الإعادة القسرية والحَجْز التعسُّفي في دول أخرى)، على أنّه مُحوِّلٌ نحوَ الأفضل عموماً. ومع ذلك، ليست نتيجة الإقرار للاجئين هي المهمة فحسب. إنما الإجراءات نفسها تعيد صَوْغَ العَيْش عميقاً. وفي سياق عملنا الميداني، روى كثيرٌ من طالبي اللجوء الإهانة الناجمة عن الانتظار والحَيْرة المتمادية، ثمّ لا شكّ عن تدهور حال مقابلات اللجوء. فإجراءات الإقرار، يجب أن تكون مدخلاً للحماية، وهي كثيراً ما تنطوي على عقبات أمام طالبي اللجوء، مع تأثير سيءٍ عميقٍ وطويلِ الأمد على الحقوق وعلى حُسْن الحال.

والغرض من هذه المقالة هو تعريفُ قُرّاءِ نشرة الهجرة القسرية بعضَ البحوث الأكاديمية الحديثة التي أُديرَت حول الإقرار للاجئين، ثمَّ ذِكْرُ بعض التحدِّيات التي اعترضتنا في بحثنا. وبالجملة، فإنّا سعينا إلى توسيع نطاق سُنَنِ العمل التي دُرِسَت، لبيانِ تنوُّع المقاربات في جميع العالم. ونحن بفعلنا ذلك نقصد أيضاً إلى فَهْم الجوانب الثلاثة الرَّئيسة في الإقرار للاجئين في العالم: الإجراءات الجَمْعيَّة، وشأنُ مفوضيَّة اللاجئين في تقرير صفة اللاجئ، وإجراءات الإقرار للاجئين في الدول التي لم تُصدِّق (أو التي لا تُطبِّق) اتفاقية اللاجئين لسنة 1951. وقد اخترنا أربعَ دولٍ نركز عليها وهي تجمع هذه ما تقدَّم ذكره من سماتٍ في مجموعات متنوعة، والأربع الدول هي كينيا ولبنان وجنوب إفريقيا وتركية، على أنّا أشركنا في البحث أيضاً باحثين ومؤسَّسات محلية في دول رئيسة أخرى في شمال إفريقيا وأمريكا الجنوبية وآسيا. ومع ذلك، اعتَرَضَنَا في بحثنا تحدٍّ واحد على وجه الخصوص: عدم الوضوح والصَّراحة. والمأمول عندنا أن تؤدي هذه المقالة إلى تفكُّر كثيرٍ من المزاولين المعنيِّين بالإقرار للاجئين، ومنهم المزاولون في مفوضيَّة اللاجئين والهيئات الحكومية.

عملٌ أكاديميّ رصين في تقرير صفة اللاجئ: الاختلاف وأسبابه

وأما نتائج تقرير صفة اللاجئ، فيوجد اليوم مجموعة عريضة من الأعمال الأكاديمية الرَّصينة (أكثرها في العلوم السياسية) التي تطرح إشكالية في «معدلات الإقرار» لجماعاتٍ مختلفة من طالبي اللجوء. وتُبيُّن هذه الأعمال أكاديمية الرصينة بالأمثلة أنَّ الإقرار بلاجئيَّة طالب اللجوء لا يعتمد فحسب (أو في بعض الأحيان لا يعتمد على الإطلاق) على قوة الطَّلب، ولكنّه يعتمد إلى ذلك على تصميم نظام الإقرار أو حتّى هوية صانع القرار (وهذه علامة مُوَكَّدة على أن الإجراء إجراء تعسُّفيّ). ويُلاحَظ هذا الاختلاف بين الدول وفيها (وبخاصةٍ في الاتحاد الأوربي، مع ما فيه من التنسيق القانونّي لنظام اللجوء في الاتِّحاد). وأظهرت الدراسة الأمريكية الرائدة، التي اسمها (رِفْيُجِي رُولِت)، أنَّ فرص الإقرار تتفاوت كثيراً حتّى بين القضاة في المكتب نفسِه.[2]

وتُبيِّنُ كثير من الدراسات التجريبية مشكلةَ التباين وأن العوامل الأخرى، غير قوة الطلب، تُفسِّر الحاصل. مثال ذلك: أن دراسة أجرتها لينا مارتِن السويدية أظهرت الصلة بين الإقرار والانتماء السياسي للقضاة.[3] ويُقابِلُ كتاب رِبِيكَا هَمْلِن النموذجيّ، واسمه (دعني أكون لاجئاً) بين أنظمة تقرير صفة اللاجئ في كندا والولايات المتحدة وأستراليا. فهذه دول ذات أنظمة قانونية متشابهة تطبق تجري على تعريف واحدٍ للاجئ، ولكن النتائج فيها مختلفة كثيراً من حيث المُقرِّ لهم بلاجئيَّتهم، ووجدت المؤلِّفة أنه كلما زاد عَزْل صانعي القرار عن التأثير السياسي زادت قدرتهم على وَضْع قانونٍ للاجئين بطرق تقدمية وعلى الإقرار بالطلبات القويّة.[4]

وأما العلماء الذين يدرسون إجراءات الإقرار للاجئين في شماليّ العالم، فيحلِّلون القرارات المنشورة ومعدلات الإقرار، وفي كثيرٍ من الحالات، تمكَّنوا من الوصول بضمانٍ إلى السجلَّات التي توثق أعمالَ اتِّخاذ القرار. ولم يقتصر العلماء على مراقبة الإجراءات التي كانت في الأمكنة العامة فحسب، بل سُمِحَ لهم أيضاً بدخول المؤسَّسات وحُضُور أعمال صُنْع القرار التي تجري عادةً في جلسات خاصة. هذا، وتمكن التِّقانات الجديدة من دراسة صُنْع القرار الشامل ولكنَّ هذا معتمدٌ أيضاً على إمكان الحصول المادّة المصدرية. فإن حصل عليهاالعلماء أمكنهم ذلك أن يورِدُوا أفكاراً عميقةً في جَوْدة صُنْع القرار.

جوانبُ رئيسةٌ في الإقرار للاجئين

1. الإقرار الجَمْعيّ

الإقرار الجَمْعي رُكنٌ من أركان الإقرار للاجئين، وهو ركنٌ غير مقدَّر حقّ قدره. مثال ذلك: أنّ تركية –وهي أكثر البلاد تضييفاً للاجئين– اعتمدت الحمايةَ الجَمْعيّة[5] لنحو ثلاثة ملايين وسبعة أعشار المليون من السوريِّين (مع أنها تحافظ على الإجراءات الإفرادية للجنسيات الأخرى كثيرَ محافظة). وأما الإقرار على أساس «أوّل وهلة» فيجري أكثره في إفريقيا، ولكن تجري أيضاً ضروب أخرى من الإقرار الجَمْعي، ومنها استعمال الافتراض القويّ للإدماج، في كثيرٍ من السياقات، ومنها مال يُتَّبع في مفوضيَّة اللاجئين من سُنَن عمل. وأما في الشرق الأوسط، فيكثر فيه أن يُقرَّ للاجئين العراقيين والسوريين إقراراً جَمْعيّاً. ثمَّ إنّ بعض دول الاتحاد الأوربي استجابت للاجئين السوريِّين الذي قدموا سنة 2015 بضروبٍ من الإقرار الجَمْعيّ يحكمها الواقع؛ أي رُجِّحَت معاملتهم معاملةَ اللاجئين. مثال ذلك: أنّ مقابلات اللجوء في ألمانيا ما عادت مطلوبةً، بعضَ الوقت، ما لم تكن جنسيةُ السوريِّين مشكوكاً فيها.

وأحد التحدِّيات الكبرى التي اعترضتنا صعوبة جَمْع المعطيات على أساسٍ قانونيّ ومعطيات الإجراءات المحيطة بالإقرار الجّمْعيّ. وينتشر اتّباع الإجراءات القائمة على أوّل وهلة على نطاق واسع في إفريقيا، ولكن، لا يوجد مصدر مركزي للمعلومات حول هذه القرارات، وفي بعض الحالات، يصعب تحديد موضع السجلات، مع أنها تُحدِّد بفعّاليّة صفة ملايين اللاجئين. وعلى الرغم من قصور المصادر الرسمية والوضوح والصراحة، فالظاهر أن الصفة التي من أوّل وهلة فعّالة من حيث إتاحة صفة آمنة للاجئين. مثال ذلك: أنّ اللاجئين السودانيين في كينيا المُقرَّ لهم من أوّلِ وهلةٍ كانوا من الجماعات القليلة من اللاجئين الذين قابلناهم وأعربوا عن رضاهم عن الإقرار من حيث إمكان الوصول إليه وإنصافه.

2. شأنُ مفوضيَّة اللاجئين

على أنّ صانع القرار العظيم الذي لم يُدرَسّ حقّ ما يستحق من الدراسة هو مفوضيَّة اللاجئين. إذ تتولى مفوضيَّة اللاجئين تقرير صفة اللاجئ في الدول التي ليست طرفاً من أطراف اتفاقية اللاجئين لسنة 1951، وفي كثيرٍ من الدول التي ليس فيها إجراءاتُ لجوءٍ وطنية مُطبَّقة. وأصبحت الأعمال الأكاديمية الدائرة حول ولاية مفوضيَّة اللاجئين على تقرير صفة اللاجئ (كما يطلق عليها) اليومَ قديمة، إذ يرتدّ تاريخها إلى أواخر تسعينيات قرن العشرين وأوائل العقد الأول من قرن الحادي والعشرين[6]، ومع ذلك، فما كُتِبَ من دراساتٍ وبحوثٍ شديد الأهمية، فقد علَّق على الافتقار إلى الإجراءات المنصفة والمحاسبة داخل أعمال مفوضيَّة اللاجئين. ويبدو أنه في السنين التي بين ذاك الزمن وهذا الزمن، أصلحت مفوضيَّة اللاجئين أعمالَها في تقرير صفة اللاجئ وتوسعت في المبادئ التوجيهية الإجرائية فيه. ففي سنة 2014 و2015، نشرت مبادئ توجيهية في الإقرار من أوّل وهلةٍ بصفة اللاجئ والحماية المؤقتة. ويوازي ذلك، أنّها سعت إلى شرح وتحسين تقرير صفة اللاجئ من خلال تعزيز الإقرار الجَمْعيّ. وفي أيا/مايو سنة 2016، أدخلت مفوضيَّة اللاجئين في عملها مقاربةً جديدة وصيَّرتها رسميّةً، أدخلتها على «مشاركتها الإستراتيجيّة» في تقرير صفة اللاجئ، فعزَّزت بعض سنن عملها السابقة التي تتّبعها.[7] وتنص هذه المقاربة الجديدة على أن «إستراتيجيات معالجة الحالات المتنوِّعة –مثل المعالجة الجَمْعيّة على أساس الإقرار من أوّل وهلةٍ بلاجئيَّة اللاجئ أو الإجراءات المُيسَّرة لحَمَلَةِ الجنسيات التي لا شكّ في أنها محتاجة إلى الحماية– يجب أن تُستبقى في الذهن لصَوْن جودة الإجراء ونزاهته وكفاءَته».

ومع كلّ ذلك، لا يمكننا إلى اليوم تقدير غَوْرِ هذا الإصلاح. وأكبر التحدِّيات في دراسة شأن مفوضيَّة اللاجئين في تقرير صفة اللاجئ هو إبهامها. فقرارات مفوضيَّة اللاجئين لا تُنشَر، بخلاف قرارات الاستئناف في الأنظمة الوطنية. وفي الواقع، لا توجد إلى اليوم آلياتُ استئنافٍ مستقلةٌ لقرارات مفوضيَّة اللاجئين في تقرير صفة اللاجئ. ثم إنّه على الرغم من المبادئ التوجيهية الإجرائية عند مفوضيَّة اللاجئين في تقرير صفة اللاجئ، فلا معلوماتٍ عن الكيفية التي تتَّخذ بها مفوضيَّة اللاجئين نفسها قرارات تقرير صفة اللاجئ. وممّا يُبايِنُ الانفتاح الملحوظ في بعض سلطات الدول – وأكثرها في شماليّ العالم– أنْ ليس في مفوضيَّة اللاجئين صراحة ووضوح والسنن التي تتبعها في عملها غير مفتوحٍ سبيل التفحُّص إليها.

3. الإقرار للاجئين في الدول غير الموقِّعة

وقد بدأنا توّاً نفهم الأغراض المتنوعة لتقرير صفة اللاجئ، لا سيَّما في الدول التي تُضِيفُ اللاجئين على مَضَض، ومنها الدول التي لم تُصدِّق اتفاقيةَ اللاجئين. وكثيراً ما يكون مهمة ولاية مفوضيَّة اللاجئين على تقرير صفة اللاجئ في الدول غير المُوقِّعة هو التمكين لإعادة التوطين. ومع ذلك، نجد أنّ أمكنة إعادة التوطين غير متاحةٍ البتّة للسواد الأعظم من اللاجئين. وحين ننظر في الروابط بين تقرير صفة اللاجئ وإعادة التوطين، يظهر لنا أنّ إعادة التوطين عملٌ قليلٌ الوضوح والصراحة فيه، حتّى أقلّ ممّا في تقرير صفة اللاجئ.

هذا، وتجري مفوضيَّة اللاجئين ضرباً معيّناً من تقرير صفة اللاجئ لإعادة التوطين، لا بدّ لها فيه من انتقاء اللاجئين الذين يلائمون أولويَّةَ دول إعادة التوطين. وفي هذا الإجراء تداخلٌ في تعريف اللاجئ، والتباسٌ في معايير مواطن الضعف، وفيه أنّ اللاجئين لا بدّ لهم من أن يلائموا ما عند الدول من تفضيلات معلنةٍ وغير معلنة. ثم إنّ عدم الصراحة والوضوح في هذا الإجراء كثيراً ما يترك الباحثين، والمزاولين، واللاجئين –وهم الأهم–، في حالة جهل لأساس الخيارات.

ذلك، وقد تُعرقِلُ الدولة المُضِيفَة مهمة مفوضيَّة اللاجئين في الإقرار للاجئين، وقد لا ينتج عن تقرير صفة اللاجئ فوائد واضحة للاجئين بالضرورة. مثال ذلك: أنّه في لبنان سنة 2015 طلبت الحكومة من مفوضيَّة اللاجئين وَقْفَ الإقرار لطالبي اللجوء السوريِّين، فأدَّى ذلك إلى أن لا يجاوز الأمر كتابةَ أعداد اللاجئين، بدلاً من أن تسجَّل حالاتهم، فمنعهم هذا من حصولهم على شهادة اللاجئ، فاحتمل أمرهم تقليلَ إعطائهم حقوقاً ومعونةً معيّنة. ولا شكّ أنّ افتقار اللاجئين إلى «الحماية» الناجم عن الإقرار لهم واضحٌ في كثيرٍ من الدول. وموافقةً للنتائج التي توصّلت إليها مايا جانماير في لبنان، ولما أوردته دِريا أوزكُل من مزيدِ بحثها في هذا العدد من نشرة الهجرة القسرية، فعند كثيرٍ من اللاجئين (المحتملين) الذين يسعون إلى أن يُقرَّ لهم بلاجئيَّتهم في الدول غير المُوقِّعة، قد يُقلِّل الإقرار لهم من حقوقهم ولا يزيدها. ومن الأمثلة على ذلك: اشتراط السلطات اللبنانية على اللاجئين الذين تُقِرُّ لهم مفوضيَّة اللاجئين بلاجئيَّتهم أن يُوقِّعوا في تعهُّدٍ بأن لا يعملوا في لبنان.

الخاتمة

وفي الختام نقول إنّا في هذه المرحلة الأولية من بحثنا ما نزال نبذل جهداً لنصل إلى تقديرٍ قائمٍ على الأدلَّة لإجراءات تقرير صفة اللاجئ. فإن كانت الإجراءات مبهمةً وغير معلنة للناس أو غير مفتوح سبيلها أمام التفحُّص العلمي، كان لا بدّ لنا من الاعتماد على أقوال اللاجئين ومُقدِّمي المعونة القانونية وغيرهم، ممَّن يدعمون اللاجئين لمُشاركتِهم في إجراءات الإقرار. وإنّا في بحثنا معتمداتٌ على حُسْن نية صانعي القرار والمسؤولين، في كلِّ من مفوضيَّة اللاجئين والهيئات الحكومية، بأن يسمحوا لنا بالوصول إلى السجلات التي توثِّق إجراءات الإقرار للاجئين. فما نراه اليومَ من عدم الصراحة والوضوح لا يجعل إجراءات الإقرار للاجئين مُسْتغلقةً بعض الاستغلاق على الباحثين فحسب، بل يفتح إلى ذلك سبيلَ الشكِّ في إنصاف الإجراء.

 

كاثرِن كوستِلُّو costello@hertie-school.org

بروفيسورةٌ في قانون اللاجئين والهجرة، بجامعة أكسفورد، وبرفيسورةٌ ومديرةٌ مشاركةٌ في الحقوق الأساسية، بمركز الحقوق الأساسية، في كليّة هِرْتي www.hertie-school.org/en/fundamental-rights

 

كارولين نَالُولِه caroline.nalule@qeh.ox.ac.uk

مُوظَّفةُ بحوث

 

دِريا أوزكُل derya.ozkul@qeh.ox.ac.uk

مُوظَّفةُ بحوث

 

في مركز دراسات اللاجئين، بجامعة أكسفورد www.rsc.ox.ac.uk

 

[1] هذا المشروع جزءٌ من مشروع رِفمِغ (RefMig): اللاجئون مهاجرون: تنقُّل اللاجئين والإقرار لهم وحقوقهم. وهو مشروعٌ نائلٌ جائزةَ أُفُق 2020، يُموِّله مجلس المشروع الأوربي، وأرقام منحته (716968).

[2] Schoenholtz A I, Ramji-Nogales J and Schrag P G (2007) ‘Refugee Roulette: Disparities in Asylum Adjudication’, Stanford Law Review 60 (2): 295

(رُولَيت اللاجئين: التفاوت في الحكم في اللجوء)

 https://scholarship.law.georgetown.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=2914&context=facpub

http://bit.ly/SLR-Refugee-roulette

[3] Martén L (2015) ‘Political Bias in Court? Lay Judges and Asylum Appeals’, Uppsala University, Department of Economics Working Paper Series 2/2015

(تحيُّز سياسي في المحكمة؟ القضاة المتحيِّزون وطعون اللاجئين)

[4] Hamlin R (2014) Let Me Be a Refugee, Oxford University Press

(دعني أكون لاجئاً)

[5]أي يكون الإقرار ذاتيّاً لأكثر أفراد الجماعة المُقرِّ لها، إن لم نقل كلّ أفرادها.

[6] Alexander M (1999) ‘Refugee Status Determination Conducted by UNHCR’, International Journal of Refugee Law 251; Kagan M (2006) ‘The Beleaguered Gatekeeper: Protection Challenges Posed by UNHCR Refugee Status Determination’, International Journal of Refugee Law 1.

(حارسٌ محصور: تحدِّيات الحماية الناشئة عن تقرير مفوضيَّة اللاجئين لصفة اللاجئ)

 وقد نشرت مدوّنةٌ اسمها «مرصد تقرير صفة اللاجئ»، وأسَّسها مَيكِل كيغان، كثيراً من الدراسات حول التحدِّيات في تقرير صفة اللاجئ الذي تجريه مفوضيَّة اللاجئين.

[7] UNHCR, Executive Committee of the High Commissioner’s Programme, Standing Committee 66th meeting, ‘Refugee Status Determination’, 31 May 2016, EC/67/SC/CRP.12

 (تقرير صفة اللاجئ)

www.refworld.org/pdfid/57c83a724.pdf

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

Recognising refugees: understanding the real routes to recognition

Refugee status determination procedures are the gateway to refugeehood and as such are profoundly important. Various challenges arise, however, in studying these practices.  

Our research project ‘Recognising Refugees’ aims to understand the factors that determine who is recognised as a refugee (and who is rejected) globally.[1] In practice, recognition depends not only on the legal definition of ‘refugee’ but also, and most significantly, on the institutional processes used to recognise refugees. These processes may variously be called an ‘asylum procedure’ or ‘refugee status determination’ (RSD). They may be conducted by State authorities (border guards, police, migration officials or dedicated asylum decision-makers and judges); by UNHCR; or by a combination of State and UNHCR officials. The processes may be group-based or individualised.

It is vital to study these processes, as they are the gateway to refugeehood. Recognition as a refugee brings different benefits in different contexts (from a secure rights-protective status in some States to mere protection from refoulement and arbitrary detention in others) but it is generally transformative. However, it is not only the outcome of refugee recognition that is important. The processes themselves shape lives profoundly. In the course of our fieldwork, many asylum seekers recounted the indignities of waiting, prolonged uncertainty, and indeed the degradations of asylum interviews. The recognition processes, while they ought to be a gateway to protection, often entail obstacles for applicants, with a profound and long-lasting negative impact on well-being and rights.

The aim of this article is to introduce FMR readers to some of the recent academic research on refugee recognition, and to share some of the challenges we have faced in our own research. Overall, we have sought to broaden out the range of practices studied, in order to reflect the diversity of approaches worldwide. In so doing, we also aimed to understand the three key aspects of refugee recognition globally: group-based processes; the role of UNHCR in status determination; and refugee recognition processes in States that have not ratified (or do not apply) the 1951 Refugee Convention. We chose four States on which to focus which bring together these features in diverse constellations, namely Kenya, Lebanon, South Africa and Turkey, but we also engaged with local researchers and institutions in other key States in North Africa, South America and Asia. However, we confronted one challenge in particular in our research: lack of transparency. We hope that this piece may trigger reflection on the part of the many practitioners involved in refugee recognition, including within UNHCR and government bodies.

Scholarship on RSD: variation and its causes

In terms of the outcomes of RSD, there is now a large body of scholarship (mainly in political science) problematising variation in the ‘recognition rates’ of different groups of asylum seekers. This scholarship clearly illustrates that whether an applicant is recognised as a refugee depends not only (or sometimes not at all) on the strength of her claim but on the design of the recognition regime or even the particular decision-maker’s identity (a sure sign of an arbitrary process). This variation is seen across States (particularly across the EU despite legal harmonisation of its asylum system), and also within them. The leading US study, Refugee Roulette, showed that the chances of recognition varied wildly even between judges in the same office.[2]

Much of the empirical scholarship illustrates the problem of variation and demonstrates that factors other than the strength of the claim explain the outcome. For example, Linna Martén’s Swedish study demonstrated the link between the judges’ political affiliation and recognition.[3] Rebecca Hamlin’s exemplary book Let Me Be a Refugee compares the RSD regimes in Canada, the US and Australia. These are States with similar legal systems applying the same refugee definition but with dramatically different outcomes in terms of who is recognised; she finds that the more insulated decision-makers are from political influence, the greater their ability both to develop refugee law in progressive ways and to recognise strong claims.[4]

Scholars studying the processes of recognising refugees in the Global North analyse published decisions and recognition rates, and in many instances have secured access to records which document decision-making. Scholars have not only observed proceedings held in public but have also been granted institutional access to decision-making usually held in private. New technologies enable the study of mass decision-making but this too relies on the accessibility of source material. With access, scholars can provide powerful insights into the quality of decision-making.

Key aspects of refugee recognition

1. Group recognition

Group recognition is a key aspect of recognising refugees, and one that is often underappreciated. For instance, Turkey – which hosts more refugees than any other country – has adopted group-based protection[5] for almost 3.7 million Syrians (although it maintains a highly individualised process for other nationalities). While recognition on a ‘prima facie’ basis is mostly applied in Africa, other forms of group recognition, including use of strong presumptions of inclusion, are found in many contexts, including in UNHCR’s own practice. In the Middle East, both Iraqi and Syrian refugees tended to be recognised as a group. Moreover, some EU States responded to the 2015 refugee arrivals with de facto forms of group recognition for Syrians, in the sense that they were treated presumptively as refugees. For example, for some time in Germany asylum interviews were no longer required as long as Syrians’ nationality was not in doubt.

One of the main challenges we have confronted is the difficulty in gathering data on the legal basis and processes underlying group recognition. Prima facie practices are widespread in Africa but there is no centralised source of information on these decisions, and in some instances records are difficult to locate, even though they effectively determine the status of millions of refugees. Notwithstanding deficits in official sources and transparency, it does seem that prima facie status is effective in terms of providing security of status for refugees. For instance, in Kenya, Sudanese refugees who are recognised prima facie were one of the few cohorts of refugees we interviewed who expressed satisfaction with the recognition process in terms of its accessibility and fairness.

2. The role of UNHCR

The great understudied decision-maker is UNHCR. UNHCR undertakes RSD in States that are not party to the 1951 Convention, and in many States that do not have a national asylum procedure in place. The scholarship on UNHCR mandate RSD (as it is called) is now out of date, dating from the late 1990s and early 2000s,[6] but what was written was overwhelmingly critical, commenting on the lack of fair procedures and accountability within UNHCR processes. It would appear that in the intervening years, UNHCR has reformed its RSD operations. It has elaborated on its own procedural guidelines. In 2014 and 2015, it published guidelines on prima facie recognition of refugee status and temporary protection. In tandem, it sought to both explain and improve its mandate RSD by promoting group recognition. In May 2016, UNHCR formalised a new approach to its ‘strategic engagement’ on RSD, consolidating some of its pre-existing practices.[7] This new approach states that “diversified case processing strategies – such as group processing based on a prima facie recognition of refugee status or simplified procedures for nationalities manifestly in need of protection – need to be considered to safeguard the quality, integrity and efficiency of the process.”

As yet, however, we cannot assess the impact of these reforms. The main challenge in studying UNHCR’s role in RSD is its opacity. UNHCR’s decisions are not published, unlike appellate decisions in national systems. Indeed, there are still no independent appeal mechanisms for UNHCR RSD decisions. Moreover, despite UNHCR’s procedural guidelines on RSD, information on how UNHCR itself is taking its RSD decisions is not available. In contrast to the remarkable openness of some State authorities – mostly in the Global North – UNHCR lacks transparency and its practices are not open to scrutiny.

3. Refugee recognition in non-signatory States

We are just beginning to understand the diverse purposes of RSD, in particular in States that host refugees reluctantly, including those that have not ratified the Refugee Convention. Often, the role of UNHCR mandate RSD in non-signatory States is ostensibly to enable resettlement. However, for the vast majority of refugees, resettlement places are simply not available. When we examine the links between RSD and resettlement, resettlement emerges as an even less transparent process.

UNHCR conducts a particular form of RSD for resettlement as it must pick refugees who fit resettlement States’ priorities. In this process, there is an intertwining of the refugee definition, vague vulnerability criteria and the knowledge that refugees must be acceptable to both the spoken and unspoken preferences of States. The lack of transparency in this process leaves scholars, practitioners and – most importantly – refugees often in the dark about the basis for choices.

UNHCR’s role in recognising refugees may be hampered by the host State and RSD may not necessarily generate any clear benefits for refugees. For example, in Lebanon in 2015 the government required UNHCR to stop recognition of Syrian applicants – which led to a population of refugees merely recorded rather than registered; this prevented refugees from having a refugee certificate, potentially reducing their access to certain rights and assistance. Indeed, the lack of ‘protection’ ensuing from recognition is evident in many States. Echoing findings of Maja Janmyr in Lebanon, and as Derya Ozkul further explores in this issue of FMR, for many (potential) refugees, seeking recognition as a refugee in non-signatory States may diminish rather than increase their rights. The Lebanese authorities’ requirement for refugees recognised by UNHCR to sign a pledge not to work in Lebanon is one such example.

Conclusion

At this preliminary stage in our research, we continue to struggle to come to an evidence-based assessment of refugee status determination procedures. If processes are opaque and not open to public or scholarly scrutiny, we have to rely on the accounts of refugees, legal aid providers, and others who support refugees in their engagement with recognition processes. For our research, we depend on the goodwill of decision-makers and officials, both in UNHCR and government bodies, to allow access to records documenting refugee recognition processes. The current lack of transparency not only renders the processes of refugee recognition somewhat impenetrable for researchers but also raises questions on the fairness of the process.

 

Cathryn Costello costello@hertie-school.org
Professor of Refugee and Migration Law, University of Oxford; Professor of Fundamental Rights and Co-Director, Centre for Fundamental Rights, Hertie School www.hertie-school.org/en/fundamental-rights

Caroline Nalule caroline.nalule@qeh.ox.ac.uk
Research Officer

Derya Ozkul derya.ozkul@qeh.ox.ac.uk
Research Officer

Refugee Studies Centre, University of Oxford www.rsc.ox.ac.uk

 

[1] This project is part of the Refugees are Migrants: Refugee Mobility, Recognition and Rights (RefMig) Project, a Horizon 2020 award funded by the European Research Council (grant number 716968).

[2] Schoenholtz A I, Ramji-Nogales J and Schrag P G (2007) ‘Refugee Roulette: Disparities in Asylum Adjudication’, Stanford Law Review 60 (2): 295 https://scholarship.law.georgetown.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=2914&context=facpub

[3] Martén L (2015) ‘Political Bias in Court? Lay Judges and Asylum Appeals’, Uppsala University, Department of Economics Working Paper Series 2/2015

[4] Hamlin R (2014) Let Me Be a Refugee, Oxford University Press

[5] Where there is automatic recognition for most if not all members in the particular group that is recognised.

[6] Alexander M (1999) ‘Refugee Status Determination Conducted by UNHCR’, International Journal of Refugee Law 251; Kagan M (2006) ‘The Beleaguered Gatekeeper: Protection Challenges Posed by UNHCR Refugee Status Determination’, International Journal of Refugee Law 1. The blog ‘RSD Watch’, founded by Michael Kagan, also published many pieces on the challenges involved in UNHCR RSD.

[7] UNHCR, Executive Committee of the High Commissioner’s Programme, Standing Committee 66th  meeting, ‘Refugee Status Determination’, 31 May 2016, EC/67/SC/CRP.12 www.refworld.org/pdfid/57c83a724.pdf

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700