قيود بُلُوغِ التَّمثيل القانونيّ في تقرير صفة اللاجئ بكينيا

الفرص المتاحة لطالبي اللجوء في كينيا للطعن في قرارات تقرير صفة اللاجئ مقيدةٌ بضِيقِ السبيلِ إلى بُلُوغِ التمثيل القانوني.

بموجب قانون اللاجئين في كينيا لسنة 2006، يتعين على طالبي اللجوء في كينيا رَفْعُ طلبٍ إلى مفوَّض شؤون اللاجئين (ونسمِّيه هاهنا المفوَّض اختصاراً) للنظر في طلبات لجوئهم من الدرجة الأولى. فإذا لم يرضيهم قرار المفوَّض، يمكنهم الطعن فيه أمام مجلس طعون اللاجئين (ونسمِّيه هاهنا المجلس اختصاراً)، وهو هيئة قانونية أُلِّفَت بموجب قانون اللاجئين لمراجعة قرارات المفوَّض. فإن لم يرضيهم قرار المجلس، فحينئذٍ يمكنهم بُلُوغُ المحكمة العليا في كينيا. ومن الوجهة النظرية، ينبغي أن يكون الصعود في درجة السلطة من مؤسسةٍ إلى أخرى صعوداً سلساً، على أن تكون المحكمة العليا في قمّة الدرجات. ومع ذلك، لم تصل أي قضية إقرارٍ للاجئين إلى المحكمة العليا مذ سلَّمت مفوضيَّة اللاجئين إجراءَ تقرير صفة اللاجئ إلى أمانة شؤون اللاجئين (ونسمِّيها هاهنا الأمانة اختصاراً) التي يرأسُها المفوَّض، وكان التسليم في تموز/يوليو سنة 2014.[i]

وكان التأثير القضائي –أي مشاركة المحاكم– في تقرير صفة اللاجئ في كينيا قليل، ورأسُ السبب في ذلك هو تطبيق كينيا مقاربة الوهلة الأولى على جماعات مُعيَّنة من طالبي اللجوء. ويُؤلِّف القادمون من جنوب السودان والصومال ما يصل إلى 78% من طالبي اللجوء في كينيا، وما يزال يُطبَّقُ هذا الإقرار الجَمْعيّ على كلا الجماعتَين منذ سنين (على أنّه أُلغِيَ تطبيقه على الصوماليِّين سنة 2016). ونتيجة لذلك، يُقَرُّ لنسبةٍ كبيرة من طالبي اللجوء على هذا الأساس، فلا يحتاجون إلى بلوغ الاستئناف.

وتعمل المحاكم الكينية في الغالب في بتِّ قضايا الوصول إلى الأراضي الكينية وحريّة التنقُّل. وتنحصر مثل هذه القضايا التي تتعلق بطالبي اللجوء بكينيا في تُهَمِ الإقامة خارج منطقة مُعيِّنٍ لهم الإقامة فيها، وذلك من دون إذنٍ قانونيّ. نعم، طلب اللجوء في حدِّ ذاته ليس بجريمة، ولكن يُطلَب من طالبي اللجوء الإقامة في منطقة تُعيَّن لهم –وهي في الغالب مخيَّما اللاجئين: داداب وكاكوما– ولا يُسمَح لهم بدخول المخيّمات والخروج منها إلا بإذنٍ صريحٍ من الأمانة.

بُلُوغُ التَّمثيل القانونيّ

النظام القضائي الكيني نظامُ تَخَاصُمٍ، وهذا يعني أن المحاكم لا تتدخل إلا حين يرفع طالب اللجوء أو المفوَّض إليها استئنافاً على قرارٍ اتَّخذه المجلس. وقلَّما تسمح المحاكم في كينيا بالتمثيل الذاتي، وهو غير مسموحٍ به بأي حال من الأحوال في قضايا الاستئناف على قرارات الهيئات القانونية مثل المجلس. لذا يجب على طالبي اللجوء غير الراضين عن قرار المجلس الاستعانة بخدمات محامٍ مُسجَّل لتمثيلهم في المحكمة. ولكنّ الخدمات القانونية في كينيا ثمنها باهظٌ وهي عن متناول معظم طالبي اللجوء بعيدةٌ.

صحيح أنّه، من الوجهة النظرية، يجوز لطالبي اللجوء أن يلجؤوا إلى صندوق المساعدة القانونية، ويمكنهم هناك أن يرفعوا طلباً للحصول على دَعْمٍ من دائرة المعونة القانونية الوطنية (National Legal Aid Service)، ولكن من الوجهة العملية ليس في الصندوق موارد مالية كافية لدفع الفواتير القانونية لا لطالبي اللجوء ولا للكينيِّين أصلاً الذين هم غير قادرين على نَيْلِ التمثيل القانوني الفعّال في أمور أخرى. وهذا يجعل الخدمات التي تقدمها المنظمات غير الحكومية في المعونة القانونية بديلاً وحيداً لطالبي اللجوء المُرفُوضة طلبات لجوئهم غير القادرين على دَفْعِ الرسوم القانونية. ومع ذلك، هناك أقل من عشر منظمات غير حكومية للمعونة القانونية في كينيا تُقدِّم تمثيلاً في المحكمة عموماً، وليس منها إلا قليلٌ متخصِّصٌ في قانون اللجوء. يُضافُ إلى ذلك، أنّ تمويلَ هذه المنظمات الذي يمكّنها من تقديم هذه الخدمات بالمجّان قدِ انخَفَضَ كثيراً في السنين الأخيرة.

هذا، ويؤثر عدم الوصول إلى التمثيل القانونيّ الفعّال أيضاً في قدرة طالبي اللجوء على رفع طلبات الاستئناف. فعلى الرغم من أنه يُسمَح لهم بإقامة الاستئناف على المجلس من غير تمثيلٍ قانونيّ، قد يفتقر طالبوا اللجوء الذين يفعلون ذلك إلى المعارف القانونية التي تمكنهم أوّل الأمر من تفسير الاستدلال القانوني الذي يقدّمه المفوَّض لدَعْمِ قراره. مثال ذلك: أنه كثيراً ما يكون طالب اللجوء محتاجاً إلى شيءٍ من المعارف القانونية حتّى يفكّ المُعمَّى في مفاهيم قانون اللاجئين، مثل مفهوم الخوف المُسوَّغ من الاضطهاد أو مفهوم الاحتمال المعقول للتعرُّض لضَرَرٍ جسيم. فبدون هذه المعارف القانونية، يصعب على طالبي اللجوء صَوْغ نُقَط الاستئناف المطلوبة لينجحوا في إقامة مراجعةٍ للقرارات، فقد يقدِّمون إما نُقَط استئنافٍ غير قانونيةٍ أو نقطاً أقلّ فعّاليّة مما ينبغي، أو قد يُمنعُونَ من الاستئناف بالمرّة.[ii] ومن ثمَّ فإن عدم بُلُوغِ التمثيل القانونيّ في كينيا يقلل قدرة طالبي اللجوء الذين يريدون الطعن في قرارات تقرير صفة اللاجئ، لأمرَين: تقديم نقطة أو نقط استئنافٍ فعّالة، وتمكين تلك الطعون من الجَرْيِ في إجراءات المحكمة.

وبالنظر إلى هذه التحدِّيات، نقترح عدداً من الطرق فيما يلي لتحسين بُلُوغِ طالبي اللجوء في كينيا التمثيلَ القانوني:

تعزيز صندوق المعونة القانونية: إذ يحتاج الصندوق إلى توفير موارده المالية من قِبَل النائب العامّ، والموظّف الحكوميّ المسؤول عن إدارة الصندوق. فستتيح الموارد المالية الإضافية البدء في صرف الأموال للمحامين الذين يعملون التمثيلَ القانوني للكينيين وطالبي اللجوء الذين لن يكونوا قادرين على تحمل تكاليف هذه الخدمات إلا بذلك.

توسيع المدارك: إذ تحتاج دائرة المعونة القانونية الوطنية إلى اتِّخاذ خطوات لرفع درجة الوعي بين المحامين المُسجَّلين حول وجود الصندوق وقواعد التطبيق. فيجب أن يكون هناك توعيةٌ وتدريبٌ على نطاق واسع للمحامين المسجَّلين في كينيا، لرفع وعيهم بمسائل اللاجئين، وتشجيعهم على الدخول في هذه الأمور. ولم يكن عند كثيرٍ من المحامين المُسجَّلين الذين عامَلَهُم اتِّحاد اللاجئين في كينيا أيّ معرفةٍ بالصندوق أو بأنه يمكن استعماله لتزويد طالبي اللجوء بالخدمات القانونية. فخرج من جلسات توسيع المدارك التي أجراها اتِّحاد اللاجئين في كينيا بعضُ النتائج الحسنة المُبكِّرة، مثل زيادة عدد المناصرين المستعدين للتمثيل القانونيّ بالمجّان في المجلس. ثمَّ يجب اتخاذ خطوات أيضاً لرفع درجة الوعي بين طالبي اللجوء بوجود الصندوق، وذلك بالتزويد بالمعلومات ونشرها باللغات التي يفهمها طالبو اللجوء.

دَعْم المنظَّمات غير الحكومية المعنيّة بالمعونة القانونية: ينبغي لحكومة كينيا من خلال مكتب النائب العام أن تضمن أيضاً توفير التمويل الكافي للمنظمات غير الحكومية التي تقدُّم المعونة القانونية حتى تتمكن من الاستمرار في فعل ذلك لطالبي اللجوء الذين يحتاجون إلى هذه المعونة. ويمكن أن يشتمل هذا الدعم أيضاً على بذل الجهود لتحسين الحماية القانونية لطالبي اللجوء، ومنها على سبيل المثال إتاحةُ راصدي الحماية، وراصدو الحماية لاجئون مدرَّبون على شرح المعارف القانونية حول الوثائق والمسائل المتعلِّقة باللجوء.

فإن اتُّبِعَت هذه الخطوات زادَت قدرةُ طالبي اللجوء على تلقِّي ما هو فعّالٌ مجانيٌّ من مشورةٍ وتمثيلٍ قانونيَّين، وضُمِنَ بُلُوغَ إجراءاتِ الاستئناف بلوغاً أكثر إنصافاً.

إيلين إمبُوسَا imbosa@rckkenya.org
موظَّفةٌ في الشؤون القانونية

أندرو مَيْنَا maina@rckkenya.org
موظَّفٌ في المناصرة

اتِّحاد اللاجئين في كينيا www.rckkenya.org

 

[i] UNHCR (2020) Building on the foundation: Formative Evaluation of the Refugee Status Determination (RSD) Transition Process in Kenya

(البناء على أساس: التقويم التكوينيّ لنَقْلِ تقرير صفة اللاجئ في كينيا)

 www.unhcr.org/5551f3c49.pdf

[ii] وأما ما يُستأنَفُ في المحكمة العليا على قرارات اتَّخذها المجلس، فيطلب فيه من المحامي أن يقدّم الاستئناف ثم أن يقود معركة الاستئناف الشديدة في المحكمة.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

Limitations to accessing legal representation in Kenya’s RSD processes

Opportunities for asylum seekers in Kenya to appeal refugee status determination (RSD) decisions are restricted by limited access to legal representation.

Under the Kenyan Refugees Act of 2006, asylum seekers in Kenya have to apply to the Commissioner for Refugee Affairs (the Commissioner) for first-instance consideration of their asylum claim. If they are dissatisfied with the decision of the Commissioner, they can appeal to the Refugee Appeals Board (the Board) which is a statutory body established by the Refugees Act to review the decisions of the Commissioner. Should they be dissatisfied by the decision of the Board they then have access to the High Court of Kenya. In theory, there should be a smooth progression from one institution to the next, with the High Court at the apex. However, no refugee recognition case has reached the High Court since UNHCR handed over the RSD process to the Refugee Affairs Secretariat (the Secretariat) – headed by the Commissioner – in July 2014.[1]

Judicial influence – that is, the involvement of courts of law – on RSD processes in Kenya is limited, and the most significant reason for this is Kenya’s application of prima facie status to certain groups of asylum seekers. Those from South Sudan and Somalia comprise up to 78% of Kenya’s asylum seekers, and this group-based recognition has for some years been applied to both groups (although it was revoked for Somalis in 2016). As a result, a significant proportion of asylum seekers are granted recognition on this basis and therefore do not need to access the appeal process.

Kenyan courts are predominantly engaged in resolving access to territory and freedom of movement issues. Such cases involving asylum seekers in Kenya focus exclusively on charges of residing outside a designated area without lawful authority. Seeking asylum per se is not a crime but asylum seekers are required to reside in a designated area – often refugee camps in Dadaab and Kakuma – and are only permitted to move in and out of the camps with express authorisation from the Secretariat.

Access to legal representation

The Kenyan judicial system is adversarial, meaning that the courts only become involved either when an asylum seeker or the Commissioner files an appeal against a decision made by the Board. Courts in Kenya very rarely allow for self-representation – which in any case is not permitted in cases of appeal against decisions of statutory bodies such as the Board. Asylum seekers who are dissatisfied with the Board’s decision must therefore engage the services of a registered lawyer to represent them in court. Legal services in Kenya, however, are expensive and out of reach for most asylum seekers.

Although in theory asylum seekers have recourse to the Legal Aid Fund and can apply for support through the National Legal Aid Service, in practice the Fund does not have sufficient financial resources to meet the legal bills either of asylum seekers or indeed of Kenyans unable to obtain effective legal representation in other matters. This leaves services provided by legal aid NGOs as the only alternative for rejected asylum seekers who are unable to pay legal fees. However, there are fewer than ten legal aid NGOs in Kenya offering court representation generally, and only a few of them specialise in asylum law. Furthermore, funding for these organisations to enable them to offer these services for free has been reduced significantly in recent years.

Lack of access to effective legal representation also affects asylum seekers’ ability to launch appeals. Although they are permitted to instigate appeals to the Board without legal representation, asylum seekers who do so may lack the legal knowledge to first interpret the legal reasoning provided by the Commissioner in support of its decision. For instance, some level of legal knowledge is often required in order for an asylum seeker to decipher the meaning of refugee law concepts such as a well-founded fear of persecution or the reasonable possibility of suffering serious harm. Without this legal knowledge, it is difficult for asylum seekers to draft the points of appeal that are required to successfully instigate a review, and they may either present less effective, non-legal points of appeal, or be deterred from launching an appeal in the first place.[2] The lack of access to legal representation in Kenya therefore limits the ability of asylum seekers who wish to appeal against RSD decisions both to put forward an effective point or points of appeal, and to enable those appeals to proceed through the court process.

In light of these challenges, we suggest a number of ways to improve access to legal representation for asylum seekers in Kenya:

Boosting the Legal Aid Fund: The Fund needs to be better financially resourced by the Attorney General, the State officer responsible for its administration. Additional financial resourcing would enable funds to begin to be disbursed to lawyers that provide legal representation to Kenyans and asylum seekers who would otherwise be unable to afford these services.

Raising awareness: The National Legal Aid Service needs to take steps to raise awareness among registered lawyers about the Fund’s existence and the rules for application. There needs to be a large-scale sensitisation and training of registered lawyers in Kenya to raise their awareness of refugee issues and to encourage them to take up these matters. Many registered lawyers with whom RCK has engaged had no knowledge of the Fund or that it can be used to provide asylum seekers with legal services. Awareness-raising sessions conducted by RCK have produced some early positive results, such as increasing the number of advocates who are willing to provide free legal representation at the Board. Steps also need to be taken to raise awareness among asylum seekers of the existence of the Fund by providing and publicising information in languages that asylum seekers can understand.

Supporting legal aid NGOs: The Government of Kenya through the Office of the Attorney General should also ensure that sufficient funding is provided for legal aid NGOs so that they are able to continue to provide legal support to asylum seekers who require it. Such support can also include related efforts to improve legal protection of asylum seekers, such as through providing Protection Monitors – refugees who are trained to offer legal knowledge on documentation and asylum-related issues.

Following these steps will increase asylum seekers’ ability to access free, effective legal advice and representation, which should in turn ensure fairer access to the appeal process.

 

Eileen Imbosa imbosa@rckkenya.org
Legal Officer

Andrew Maina maina@rckkenya.org
Advocacy Officer

Refugee Consortium of Kenya www.rckkenya.org

 

[1] UNHCR (2020) Building on the foundation: Formative Evaluation of the Refugee Status Determination (RSD) Transition Process in Kenya www.unhcr.org/5551f3c49.pdf

[2] For appeals in the High Court against decisions made by the Board, an advocate is required both to lodge the appeal and then to navigate the rigorous appeal process in court.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview