استعمال قانون السوابق والأحكام القضائية القطرية الإرشاديّة في تقرير صفة اللاجئ خارجَ المملكة المتحدة

أصبح استعمال قانون السوابق القضائية الإرشادية القطرية اليومَ أداةً راسخة في إجراءات الإقرار للاجئين بالمملكة المتحدة، فهناك يستعمل المحامون وصانعوا القرار في الدولة والقضاة المستقلون ما في هذا القانون من القرارات. ويوجد فيه الآن أكثر من 300 قضية إرشادية قطرية تتعلق بطالبي اللجوء من أكثر من 60 بلداً. وهذه القضايا داخلةٌ في النِّطاق العموميّ، يجدها الناس في مواقع المحاكم والمجالس القضائية على الشَّابكة[1]، والقضايا هناك مصنّفة بحسب البلد مع وصلة لكلِّ قضية تُوصِلُ إلى النسخة التامّة من قرارها.

وأطلقت هذه القضايا الإرشادية في أعمال تقرير صفة اللاجئ في المملكة المتحدة سنة 2002، للإعانة على الاتِّساق في صنع القرار عند النظر في المسائل والأدلة نفسها أو في ما يشبهها لرافعي الطلبات الأفراد، في ما يتعلق ببلدهم الأصليّ. وعند تطبيق هذه القضايا في المملكة المتحدة، تتجاوز كونها مصدراً لمعلومات البلد الأصلي، ففيها إضافةً إلى ذلك إرشادٌ يتنزّل منزلةً مُعتَمَدةً في تقرير صفة اللاجئ (ما لم تظهر أسباب قوية لأن لا يعتمد عليها).[2]

ثم إنّ هذه القرارات مرجع مفتوح المصدر، يمكن أن يستعمله بعض صانعي القرار –وبعضهم يستعمله اليومَ– في إجراءات الإقرار للاجئين خارجَ المملكة المتحدة. وحين يُعتَمَدُ على هذه القرارات، من المهم يُنظَرَ في أحدث قرارٍ في شأن القضية، وأن يأخذ صانع القرار في الاعتبار صحيحاً كلّ أدلَّة البلد الأصليّ وكلّ دليلٍ جديد يظهر منذ تقرير القضية القطرية الإرشادية، التي قد تكون ذات صلة بالقضية المنظور فيها. وأيضاً، فمن المهم مراعاة الحقائق المحددة للطلبات الإفرادية. ويقدُّم دليلُ أحسنِ سُنَنِ العمل في استئناف قضايا اللجوء وحقوق الإنسان[3] بين يديهِ إرشاداتٍ مفيدة في كيفية تطبيق قضيةقطرية إرشادية على طلبٍ إفراديّ.

ونعم، من البيِّن أن هذه القرارات القطرية الإرشادية لا تتنزَّل خارجَ المملكة المتحدة منزلةً يعتمد عليها في إجراءات الإقرار للاجئين، إلا أنه ينبغي أن تُرَى على أنها أحد مصادر المعلومات المفتوحة.

 

مَاكِش جُوشِي makesh.joshi@outlook.com

محاميُّ لاجئين، في المملكة المتحدة

 

[1]هذه أحدث قائمة، نُشِرَت في أيلول/سبتمبر 2020:

www.judiciary.uk/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/cg_list_last_updated_01_09_20.pdf

bit.ly/UK-country-guidance-Sept2020 

[2]انظر المذكرة التوجيهية ذات الرقم 2 الصادرة سنة 2011 عن المحكمة العليا (دائرة الهجرة واللجوء)

https://www.judiciary.uk/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/guidance-note-2001-no-2-reporting-decisions-july-2015.pdf

bit.ly/guidance-note-2 

[3] Henderson M, Moffatt R and Pickup A (2020) Best Practice Guide to Asylum and Human Rights Appeals

(دليلُ أحسنِ سُنَنِ العمل في استئناف قضايا اللجوء وحقوق الإنسان)

 www.ein.org.uk/bpg/contents

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

The use of country guidance case law in refugee recognition outside the UK

Country guidance case law should be perceived as one source of open-access information.

The use of country guidance case law is now a well-established tool in refugee recognition in the UK, with lawyers, State decision-makers and independent judges using these determinations. There now exist over 300 country guidance cases relating to asylum seekers from more than 60 countries. These are in the public domain, located on the Courts and Tribunals website,[1] and are sorted by country with links to a full copy of the determination for each case.

They were introduced in the refugee status determination process in the UK in 2002 to help provide consistency in decision-making when considering the same or similar issues and evidence for individual applicants relating to their country of origin. When applied in the UK, they go beyond being solely a source of country of origin information, additionally providing guidance that is treated as authoritative in the refugee status determination process (unless there are good reasons not to rely on them).[2]

As an open-access resource, these decisions can and are being used by some decision-makers in the refugee recognition process outside the UK. If relying on them, it is important to ensure that the most recent determination on the issue is being considered and that the decision-maker properly takes account of other and any new country of origin evidence that has emerged since the country guidance case was determined and that may be relevant to the case in question. It is also critical that the specific facts of the individual application are considered. The Best Practice Guide to Asylum and Human Rights Appeals[3] provides useful guidance on how a country guidance case may apply to an individual claim.

Although clearly not authoritative in refugee recognition processes outside the UK, country guidance determinations should be perceived as one source of open-access information.

 

Makesh D Joshi makesh.joshi@outlook.com
Refugee lawyer, UK

 

[1] The most recent list, published in September 2020, is at
www.judiciary.uk/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/cg_list_last_updated_01_09_20.pdf

[2] See the Upper Tribunal (Immigration and Asylum Chamber) Guidance Note 2011 No 2
www.judiciary.uk/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/guidance-note-2001-no-2-reporting-decisions-july-2015.pdf

[3] Henderson M, Moffatt R and Pickup A (2020) Best Practice Guide to Asylum and Human Rights Appeals www.ein.org.uk/bpg/contents

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700