الأخذ في مقاربات تعاونيَّة لتحسين معطيات النُّزوح الداخليّ

لا يُفْهَمُ عِظَم حجم حالات النُّزوح الداخليّ وشدّتها وتنوُّعها –فضلاً عن أنه لا يستجاب له استجابةً مناسبة– إلا بمُعطياتٍ شاملةٍ ودقيقة. وتُورِد مبادراتٌ مثل خطة عمل الذكرى العشرين للمبادئ التوجيهية أمثلة على سنن العمل الحسنة للمُضيِّ قُدُماً في هذا الميدان المعقَّد.

تحتاج الحكومات والجهات الفاعلة الدولية إلى الوصول إلى أدلَّةٍ شاملة وموثوقٍ بها لتوجيه الاستجابات والسياسات والبرامج، لا سيما عند البحث عن حلول دائمة للنُّزوح الداخليّ. وعلى الرغم من التحدِّيات المختلفة، مثل استعمال معايير وتعريفات مختلفة، هناك العديد من الأمثلة على سُنَنِ العملِ الحَسَنة المُتَّبعة في جَمْعِ معطيات التَّهجير ونشرها واستعمالها.

وقد أتاحت مبادرةُ خطَّة عمل الذكرى العشرين للمبادئ التوجيهية للحكوماتِ ولطائفةٍ واسعة من أصحاب المصلحة العالميِّين تبادل الخبرة والمهارة القيّمة وسنن العمل الحسنة، فضلاً عن دَعْم تنمية القدرات. وتقدِّم هذه المقالة بين يديها ثلاثةَ أمثلةٍ ملموسة لسنن العمل الحسنة في العالم، من جمهورية إفريقيا الوسطى والصومال، وهي أمثلة على التصدِّي لتحدِّيات معطيات النُّزوح الداخليّ وعلى مساعدة الحكومات وغيرها من الجهات الفاعلة على الاستفادة ممّا ينتج من معطيات. وتُظهِرُ هذه الأمثلة الثلاثة أهمية التعاون في العمل ووَضْع المعايير على الصعيد العالميّ والوطنيّ، لضمان أن تكون معطيات النُّزوح الداخليّ ذات صلة بالأمر وذات كيفية حسنة، وذلك لتوجيه العمل في معالجة أسباب التَّهجير وآثاره وضمان إيجاد حلول دائمة.

تصوُّر المقاييس والمُشِيرَات

تتنوع حالات النُّزوح الداخليّ وتتعدد الطبقات في طبيعتها، وما يزال من الصعب نقل أُطُر العمل المعمول بها دوليّاً من الكلام إلى الفعل، مثل المبادئ التوجيهية بشأن النُّزوح الداخليّ وإطار اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات بشأن الحلول الدائمة للنازحين الداخليِّين. ويُعدُّ قياس إيجاد الحلول الدائمة أمراً معقّداً على الخصوص، إذ يعترضه كثيرٌ من التحدِّيات تقنيّاً وعمليّاً. فأسهم ذلك في وَضْع مقاربات مختلفةٍ وسُنَنِ عملٍ متباينة.

فكانت إحدى أقوى المبادرات لرَدْمِ هذه الفجوة: فرقة الخبراء المعنيَّة بإحصاءات اللاجئين والنازحين الداخليِّين (Expert Group on Refugee and IDP Statistics).[1] فمنذ سنة 2016، عملت فرقة الخبراء المعنيَّة بإحصاءات اللاجئين والنازحين الداخليِّين عملاً تعاونيّاً على إخراجِ توصياتٍ (تقصد إلى الأنظمة الإحصائية الوطنية) لتنفيذ قياساتٍ مُتآلفةٍ للتَّهجير في كلِّ نطاق التنقُّل البشري. ثمّ جاءت التوصيات الدولية بشأن إحصاءات النازحين الداخليِّين[2]، التي وضعتها الفرقة الفرعية للنازحين الداخليِّين[3] التابعة لفرقة الخبراء المعنيَّة بإحصاءات اللاجئين والنازحين الداخليِّين، وأيّدتها اللجنة الإحصائية للأمم المتحدة في آذار/مارس 2020، وهي توصيات أوردت إطاراً مُتفقاً عليه دولياً لإحصاءات النازحين الداخليِّين. واشتملت هذه التوصيات أيضاً على إرشادات تجري على إطار عمل اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئاتحول كيفية قياس إيجاد الحلول الدائمة قياساً إحصائيّ الغرض.[4]

وتقر التوصيات بأن إنشاء وتطوير مقياس إحصائيّ لقضية معقدة مثل الحلول الدائمة هو تحدٍّ كبير. ويحتاج مقياسٌ كهذا إلى إقامة التوازن بين إدراج العناصر الجوهرية ذات الصلة بالأمر وبين أن يكون وثيق الصلة عالمياً بمجموعة واسعة من سياقات التَّهجير وواقعيّاً من حيث التنفيذ. لذلك، كان من بين النُّقط الرئيسة للنقاش في تطوير المقياس كيفيةُ تحديد الجوانب الأكثر أهمية المرتبطة بالتَّهجير، مع التركيز على مواطن الضعف المتعلقة بالتَّهجير التي التقطتها المعايير الثمانية عند اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات[5]، مع مراعاة الموضع المادّي للنازحين الداخليِّين (أي موضع التَّهجير أو موضع العودة أو موضع مستوطنة آخر). فالموضعُ الماديُّ مهمٌ عند إجراء الموازنات في المجتمع المحليّ غير المُهجَّر، ولا سيَّما لتحديد حاجات النازحين الداخليِّين ومواطن ضعفهم المتعلقة تحديداً بتهجيرهم، ووالحاجات ومواطن الضعف التي يتشارك فيها المُهجَّرون وغير المهجَّرين.

في ضوء ذلك، ومع الأخذ في الاعتبار المستويات المختلفة للموارد والقدرات الإحصائية المتاحة في سياقات النازحين الداخليِّين، تقترح التوصيات الدولية بشأن إحصاءات النازحين مقياساً مركبّاً يركز على حصول تقدير التغلب من عدمه على مواطن الضعف المتعلقة بالتَّهجير بناءً على خمسةٍ من المعايير الثمانية عند اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات. ومع ذلك، فقياس التقدُّم نحو إيجاد حلول دائمة للنازحين الداخليِّين أمر بالغ الأهمية لإفادة وَضع البرامج والاستجابة، ولذا اشتملت التوصيات الدولية بشأن إحصاءات النازحين الداخليِّين على توصياتٍ لقياس التقدُّم الذي يأخذ في الاعتبار جميع المعايير الثمانية عند اللجنة الدائمة المشتركة بين الهيئات.

على أنّه لم توضع بعدُ مجموعةٌ من المشيرات العالمية. وهذا يعني أنّه في أثناء المُضيِّ قُدُماً فرصة لصقل المنهجية بمزيدٍ من الاختبار والتعاون المستمرّ بين الحكومات والمنظَّمات الدولية.

ورشةٌ تعاونيةٌ في طرق جَمْع المعطيات في جمهورية إفريقيا الوسطى

أٌقِرَ بلا خلافٍ بالحاجة إلى معطيات حسنة وموثوق بها عن المتضرِّرين بالتَّهجير، وكان ذلك الإقرار في خلال التخطيط للعمل الإنسانيّ سنة 2019 في جمهورية إفريقيا الوسطى. ومع ذلك، فيبدو أن هناك اختلافاً في فَهْم بعض المفاهيم الأساسية في النُّزوح الداخليّ. فقد أبرزت الأزمة الإنسانية المُعقَّدة في جمهورية إفريقيا الوسطى، حيث توجد عدة ضروب من التَّهجير في مناطق واحدة ووقت واحد، أبرزت الحاجةَ إلى فَهْمٍ مشترك للتعريفات والمفاهيم بين جميع أصحاب المصلحة.

وفي كانون الثاني/يناير من سنة 2019، نظمت مبادرة الذكرى العشرين للمبادئ التوجيهية في جمهورية إفريقيا الوسطى ورشةً جَمَعَتْ بين ممثلي المجتمعات المتضرِّرة والسلطات الوطنية والمحلية والمنظَّمات الإنسانية والإنمائية ومنظمات المجتمع المدني لمناقشة تحسين جودة ما حول النُّزوح الداخليّ من معطيات. وتمكن المشاركون في الورشة من الخروج بفهمٍ مشترك للمفاهيم الأساسية للنُّزوح الداخليّ والحاجة إلى تتبع العدد الإجمالي للأشخاص المُهجَّرين في مدّةٍ زمنية مُحدَّدة، وتتبّع التغيير في هذا العدد في خلال مدة زمنية محدَّدة، وذلك لفهم العوامل في حركيّة التَّهجير (الدِّيناميّات) فهماً أحسن، وبذلك يُتوصَّلُ إلى المناسب من الاستجابة الحمائية والمعونة.

واتَّفق المشاركون أيضاً على خطة عمل لتحسين جودة المعطيات المتعلقة بالنُّزوح الداخليّ في جمهورية إفريقيا الوسطى. وفي جزءٍ من هذه الخطة، وضعوا إجراءَ التشغيل الموحَّد الذي أُورِدَ فيه فيما أُورِدَ معايير للتحكيم للمساعدة في حل النِّزاعات الجارية أو المحتملة بين مقدمي المعلومات في أثناء جَمْع المعطيات، ووضعوا منهجيةً لتصنيف المعطيات بحسب السّنّ والجنس لكلٍ من النازحين الداخليِّين الذين يعيشون في المخيمات وللنازحين الداخليِّين الذين يعيشون أسرٍ لهم تُضِيفُهُم. يُضَافُ إلى ذلك، أنّ إجراءَ التشغيل الموحَّد يقدِّم خطة للتثبُّت من صحة المعطيات ونشرها، مع تحديد المسؤوليات بوضوح، ويُبرِزُ أهميَّة التعاون المستمر بين أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين لضمان معطياتٍ شاملة وموثوق بها في جمهورية إفريقيا الوسطى.

التخطيط لإيجاد حلول دائمة: تحديد السِّمات في مقديشو بالصومال

 إنّ تحديد سمات العشوائيَّات في مقديشو، الذي أُجرِيَ بين سنة 2015 و2016، هو مثالٌ على استعمال جَمْع المعطيات التعاونيّ لإفادة الحلول الدائمة في سياق التَّهجير المُتمادِي. فلمّا اجتمع على الصومال النِّزاع المسلَّح والجفاف والفيضانات الشديدة والمتكررة بدأ التَّهجير وامتدّ عقوداً من الزمن. وعندما نَزِلَ النازحون الداخليِّون في العشوائيّات الحضرية حول العاصمة مقديشو، أخذت تقع عليهم تحدِّيات مختلفة عن التحدِّيات الواقعة على السكان غير المهجَّرين في العشوائيّات نفسها. ومع ذلك، فنظراً إلى قلّة الأدلة المتاحة حول تجربة السكان النازحين الداخليِّين، أجرى الشركاء الحكوميون بين سنة 2014 و2015 على مستوى المدينة والمستوى الاتحادي، ومعهم الفاعلون في ميدان العمل الإنساني، أجروا تمرينَ تحديدِ سماتٍ ليفهموا فهماً شاملاً حال التَّهجير في المدينة وليفيدوا التخطيط لسياساتٍ وبرامجِ الحلول الدائمة. [6] وكان الغرض من تحديد السمات تقديمَ تقديرات مفصّلة لعدد النازحين الداخليِّين الذين يقيمون في العشوائيّات، وتحليلَ تاريخ نزوحهم، والنظرَ في مهارات الأُسَر وقدراتها وحاجاتها والآليّات التي يتّخذونها للتصدّي لصعوبة معيشتهم فتؤثِّر في اتخاذهم قراراتهم حول مستقبلهم.

فاستُفِيدَ من نتائج تحديد السمات وأدخلت مباشرةً في خطط التنمية على المستويين المحلي والوطني وفي إستراتيجيات الحلول الدائمة. وأفادت هذه النتائج أيضاً في إنشاءِ مبادرةِ الحلول الدائمة للنازحين الداخليِّين الصوماليين، وفي إدراج النُّزوح الداخلي أوّل مرةٍ في خطة التنمية الوطنية للبلاد (سنة 2017). ثم إنّ تحديدَ السمات أفادَ في إنشاء فرقة عمل بقيادة عُمْدَة مقديشو، وأتاحَ المعطيات الأساسيَّة لإستراتيجية الحلول الدائمة للمدينة ذات الخمس سنين (سنة 2020).[7] هذا، ودفع تحديد السمات إلى محاورة أصحاب المصلحة في التنمية، الذين أصبحوا يُقرِّون بالتَّهجير عاملَ إفقارٍ، وفَهِمُوا أهميَّة دور البلديّات في تنفيذ الحلول الدائمة، وبهذا فُتِحَ الباب أمام جَمْع التبرُّعات في القطاع العمل الإنسانيّ والتنموي.

الخاتمة

وبعدُ، فالمثالَان الواردَان في هذه المقالة ليسا إلا قليلٌ من شيءٍ كثيرٍ من المبادرات التي بُودِرَ بها لسدّ الفجوات المحيطة بمعطيات النُّزوح الداخليّ، لضمان الفهم المشترك ومَنْع هذه الظاهرة وحلِّها. وينبغي لهذه المبادرات وغيرها اليومَ أن تُوَسَّعَ ويُستفاد منها ليبلغ أثرها أعمق ما يكون. صحيحٌ أنّ اشتدادَ تعقيد النُّزوح الداخليّ يكثر أن يُعوِّق الحوار والعمل، وصحيحٌ أنه لا يمكن معالجة جميع المسائل في وقت واحد، ولكن يوضح هذان المثالان أن التصدِّي لأكثر التحدِّيات صلةً بالأمر تصدِّياً تعاونيّاً يمكن أن يُنشِئ قاعدة صلبة لإيجاد الحلول الملموسة والفعّالة والدائمة للنُّزوح الداخليّ.

وبناءً على هذا الاندفاع، ينبغي للحكومات والجهات الفاعلة الدولية الآنَ أن تسعى جاهدةً إلى تعزيز التعاون على تحسين المنهجيات والمقاربات المُوحَّدة وتنفيذها. وينبغي لها إلى ذلك إشراكُ المجتمعات المحليّة المتضرِّرة في كلّ جَمْعِ المعطيات وتحليلها، وتخصيصُ الموارد اللازمة لتنمية القدرة على إنتاج معطياتٍ شاملةٍ وجيِّدة الكيفية عن النازحين الداخليِّين، معطياتٍ تكون مناسبةً لأن يستعملها مختلف أصحاب المصلحة، معطياتٍ تفيد في صُنْع القرار.

 

دِڤُورا لِڤَاكُوڤا levakova@jips.org

مستشارةٌ في تحديد السمات، بالدائرة المشتركة المعنيّة بتحديد سمات النازحين الداخليِّين www.jips.org

 

أدِرْيَان كالڤو ڤالدراما adrian.calvo@idmc.ch

منسِّقُ رَصْدٍ رئيسٌ، في مركز رصد النُّزوح الداخليّ www.internal-displacement.org

 

جاك أجاروڤا واثُم ajaruvwa@unhcr.org

منسِّقٌ رئيسٌ في مجموعة الحماية، بمفوضيَّة اللاجئين في جمهورية إفريقيا الوسطى www.unhcr.org

 

دمِيَان چَوسلُم djusselme@iom.int

منسِّقُ إقليميّ في مصفوفة تتبع التَّهجير، في وسط إفريقيا وغربيّها، بالمنظمة الدولية للهجرة https://displacement.iom.int

 

[1] https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/web/expert-group-on-refugee-statistics

bit.ly/EGRIS

[2] https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/documents/7723677/10225952/International+Recommendations+on+IDP+Statistics.pdf/98b79165-d6c8-d579-88c0-6f67f5feb0c9

bit.ly/IDPstatistics-IRIS

[3] الفرقة الفرعيّة للنازحين الداخليِّين هي جزء من فرقة الخبراء المعنيَّة بإحصاءات اللاجئين والنازحين الداخليِّين، تقودها الدائرة المشتركة المعنيّة بتحديد سمات النازحين الداخليِّين، بدَعْمٍ من الشعبة الإحصائية بالأمم المتحدة، ومنظمة الإحصاءات النروجية، ومركز رصد النُّزوح الداخلي. وتتألف هذه الفرقة الفرعية من ممثّلين عن مكاتب إحصائية وطنية من 15 دولةً ومن الدول الأعضاء، وعن خبراء من منظمات إقليمية ودولية.

[4] IASC (2010) Framework : Durable Solutions for Internally Displaced Persons

(حلول دائمة للنَّازحين الداخليِّين)

https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/system/files/iasc_framework_on_durable_solutions_for_idps_april_2010.pdf

bit.ly/IASC-Durable-Solutions

اقرأه بالعربية في:

 https://www.brookings.edu/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/04_durable_solutions_arabic.pdf

bit.ly/IASC-ar

[5] انظر الهامش الرابع.

[6] بدعمٍ تِقْنيٍّ من الدائرة المشتركة المعنيّة بتحديد سمات النازحين الداخليِّين، قاد التمرينَ هيئة إدارة الكوارث الصومالية التابعة لوزارة الداخلية والشؤون الاتِّحادية، والإدارة الإقليمية لبنادير، وفرقةُ تحديد السمات العاملةُ في مجموعة الحماية، وكان في هذا الفرقة مفوضيَّة اللاجئين، ومجلس اللاجئين الدّنماركيّ، والمنظمة الدولية للهجرة، ومكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق المساعدات الإنسانية، ومجلس اللاجئين النَّرويجيّ، ولجنة الإنقاذ الدولية، ومنظمة إنقاذ النساء والأطفال الصوماليين (SSWC)، ومنظمة أُرْدُو للإغاثة التنمية (ORDO)، ومنظمة النساء الرَّائدات من أجل السلام والحياة (HINNA)، ومنظمة إلْمَان لإرساء السلام (ELMAN)، ومنظمة فيلق الرحمة، ومنظمة رعاية المجتمع المحليّ بأسره (DBG)، منظمة إنقاذ الطفل، ومبادرة رِتْش (REACH)، والمجموعة المَعنيَّة بتهيئة الملاجئ.

[7] وُضِعَت إستراتيجية الحلول الدائمة لسلطة بنادير الإقليمية وبلدية مقديشو.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

Using collaborative approaches to improve internal displacement data

The magnitude, severity and diversity of internal displacement situations cannot be understood – and much less be adequately responded to – without comprehensive and accurate data. Initiatives such as the GP20 Plan of Action offer examples of good practice for the way forward in this complex area.

Governments and international actors need access to comprehensive, reliable evidence to inform responses, policies and programming, especially when seeking durable solutions to internal displacement. Despite various challenges, such as the use of differing standards and definitions, there are many examples of good practice in the collection, dissemination and use of displacement data.

The GP20 Plan of Action initiative has enabled governments and a broad range of global stakeholders to share valuable expertise and good practice, as well as support with capacity development. This article offers three concrete examples of good practice at the global level, from the Central African Republic and Somalia, both in meeting challenges specific to internal displacement data and in helping governments and other actors to make use of the resulting data. These three examples show the importance of working collaboratively and setting standards at the global and national levels to ensure that internal displacement data are relevant and of good quality in order to inform work on addressing the causes and impacts of displacement and securing durable solutions.

Conceptualising measures and indicators

Internal displacement situations are varied and multi-layered in nature and it remains difficult to translate internationally established frameworks such as the Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement and the IASC Framework on Durable Solutions for IDPs into practice. Measuring the achievement of durable solutions is particularly complex, with many challenges at both technical and practical levels. This has contributed to the development of different approaches and diverging practices.

One of the strongest initiatives to fill this gap is the Expert Group on Refugee and IDP Statistics (EGRIS).[1] Since 2016, EGRIS has worked collaboratively on developing recommendations (aimed at national statistical systems) for the implementation of harmonised measurements of forced displacement across the entire spectrum of human mobility. The International Recommendations on IDP Statistics (IRIS),[2] developed by EGRIS’ IDP sub-group[3] and endorsed by the UN Statistical Commission in March 2020, provide an internationally agreed framework for IDP statistics. These recommendations also include guidance – that builds on the IASC Framework – on how to measure the achievement of durable solutions for statistical purposes.[4]

The recommendations recognise that developing a statistical measure for a complex issue such as durable solutions is extremely challenging. Such a measure needs to balance the inclusion of relevant substantive elements with being globally relevant for a wide range of displacement contexts and realistic in terms of implementation. Therefore, among the major points of discussion in developing the measure was how to identify the more crucial aspects linked to displacement, focusing on the displacement-related vulnerabilities captured by the eight IASC criteria,[5] while still accounting for the physical location of IDPs (that is, location of displacement, location of return, or other settlement location). The physical location matters when making comparisons with the non-displaced community, in particular to identify the IDPs’ needs and vulnerabilities specifically related to their displacement and those shared by both the displaced and non-displaced.

In light of this and taking into consideration the varying levels of resources and statistical capacities available in IDP contexts, IRIS proposes a composite measure that focuses on assessing whether key displacement-related vulnerabilities have been overcome based on five of the eight IASC criteria. However, measuring overall progress towards durable solutions for IDPs is crucial for informing programming and response, and IRIS therefore also includes recommendations for a progress measure that takes into account all eight IASC criteria.

A global set of indicators has not yet been developed. Moving forwards, this means that there is an opportunity to refine the methodology through further testing and continued collaboration between governments and international organisations.

Collaborative workshop on data collection methods in CAR

The need for good, reliable data on people affected by displacement was unanimously recognised during the 2019 humanitarian planning process in the Central African Republic (CAR). However, there appeared to be differences in the understanding of some of the basic concepts of internal displacement. The complex humanitarian crisis in CAR, where several types of displacement coexist in the same areas at the same time, underlined the need for a common understanding of definitions and concepts among all stakeholders.

In January 2019, in CAR, a workshop was organised by the GP20 initiative that brought together representatives of affected communities, national and local authorities, humanitarian and development organisations, and civil society organisations to discuss the improvement of the quality of internal displacement data. Participants were able to develop a common understanding of the basic concepts of internal displacement and the need to track the total number of persons in a situation of displacement at a specific moment in time and the change in that number over a defined period of time in order to better understand the dynamics of displacement and thereby to enable appropriate protection response and assistance.

They also agreed on an action plan to improve the quality of data on internal displacement in CAR. As part of this plan, they developed a Standing Operating Procedure (SOP) which introduced, among other things, criteria for arbitration to help resolve actual/potential conflicts between providers of information during data compilation, and a methodology for disaggregating data by age and sex both for IDPs living in camp settings and for IDPs living with host families. In addition, the SOP presents a data validation and publication scheme, with clearly assigned responsibilities, and underlines the importance of continued collaboration between the relevant stakeholders to ensure comprehensive, reliable data in CAR.

Planning for durable solutions: profiling in Mogadishu, Somalia

The profiling of informal settlements in Mogadishu, conducted in 2015–16, provides an example of the use of collaborative data collection to inform durable solutions in a protracted displacement context. The combination of armed conflict and severe and recurrent drought and floods has driven displacement in Somalia for decades. Settling in the informal urban settlements around the capital city of Mogadishu, IDPs seem to face different challenges from those faced by the non-displaced populations in the same settlements. However, given the limited evidence available on the experience of displaced populations, in 2014–15 federal and city-level government partners and humanitarian actors carried out a profiling exercise to gain a thorough understanding of the displacement situation in the city and to inform planning for durable solutions policies and programmes.[6] The purpose of the profiling was to provide disaggregated estimates of the number of IDPs living in the informal settlements, analyse their displacement history, and examine the families’ skills, capacities, specific needs and coping mechanisms that affect their decision-making about their own future.

The results of the profiling fed directly into local- and national-level development plans and durable solutions strategies. They informed the establishment of the Somali IDP Durable Solutions Initiative and the inclusion, for the first time, of internal displacement in the country’s National Development Plan (2017). The profiling furthermore informed the creation of a taskforce led by the Mayor of Mogadishu and provided the baseline data for the city’s five-year Durable Solutions Strategy (2020).[7] The profiling process also prompted dialogue with development stakeholders, who came to recognise displacement as an impoverishment factor and to understand the importance of the role of municipalities in implementing durable solutions; it thus opened the door for fundraising across the humanitarian and development sector.

Conclusion

The examples presented in this article are only a few of many initiatives to bridge the gaps surrounding internal displacement data in order to ensure common understanding, prevention and resolution of this phenomenon. These initiatives and others should now be expanded and/or capitalised on for maximum effect. The high level of complexity of internal displacement often deters dialogue and action. However, these examples demonstrate that, although not all issues can be addressed at once, tackling the most pertinent challenges collaboratively can create a solid base for the identification of tangible, effective, lasting solutions to internal displacement.

Building on this momentum, governments and international actors should now strive for enhanced collaboration on the refinement and implementation of standardised methodologies and approaches. They should furthermore engage affected communities throughout the data collection and analysis processes, and dedicate the necessary resources to develop capacity to produce comprehensive, good-quality IDP data that are both suitable for use by various stakeholders and relevant for decision-making.

 

Devora Levakova levakova@jips.org
Profiling Advisor, JIPS www.jips.org

Adrián Calvo Valderrama adrian.calvo@idmc.ch
Senior Monitoring Coordinator, IDMC www.internal-displacement.org

Jacques Ajaruvwa Wathum ajaruvwa@unhcr.org
Senior Protection Cluster Coordinator, UNHCR CAR www.unhcr.org

Damien Jusselme djusselme@iom.int
Regional Displacement Tracking Matrix Coordinator, West and Central Africa, IOM https://displacement.iom.int

 

[1] https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/web/expert-group-on-refugee-statistics

[2] https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/documents/7723677/10225952/International+Recommendations+on+IDP+Statistics.pdf/98b79165-d6c8-d579-88c0-6f67f5feb0c9

[3] As part of EGRIS, the IDP subgroup was led by JIPS, with support from UNSD, Statistics Norway and IDMC, and consisted of representatives from National Statistical Offices of 15 Member States and experts from regional and international organisations.

[4] IASC (2010) Framework : Durable Solutions for Internally Displaced Persons
https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/system/files/iasc_framework_on_durable_solutions_for_idps_april_2010.pdf

[5] See endnote 4, p27.

[6] With technical support from JIPS, the exercise was led by the Somalia Disaster Management Agency of the Ministry of Interior and Federal Affairs, the Banadir Regional Administration, and the Protection Cluster’s profiling working group, which included UNHCR, DRC, IOM, OCHA, NRC, IRC, SSWC, ORDO, HINNA, ELMAN, Mercy Corps, DBG, Save the Children, REACH and the Shelter Cluster.

[7] The Durable Solutions Strategy is developed for the Banaadir Regional Authority / Municipality of Mogadishu.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview