النَّظر في تسليم مفوضيَّة اللاجئين مسؤوليّةَ تقرير صفة اللاجئ إلى الدول

تسليم مفوضيَّة اللاجئين مسؤوليةَ تقرير صفة اللاجئ إلى دول أمرٌ معقَّد قلّما يكون سريعاً أو سَلِساً. ويعتمد التسليم الناجح –والقدرة على بلوغ الغاية الشاملة في حماية اللاجئين حمايةً كافية– على كثيرٍ من العوامل.

تقع المسؤوليَّة الأساسيَّة عن اللاجئين –ومنها تقرير صفة اللاجئ– على عاتق الدول، ولكنْ تُجرِي مفوضيَّة اللاجئين تقريرَ صفة اللاجئ حين تكون الدول غير راغبة فيه أو تكون أقلّ قدرةً من مفوضيَّة اللاجئين على القيام به. وفي 20 سنة (1998-2018)، وقع شيءٌ من تسليم مفوضيَّة اللاجئين تقريرَ صفة اللاجئ إلى 30 دولةً في الأقل. [1]ثمَّ في إطار اتفاق اللاجئين العالمي، أنشأت مفوضيَّة اللاجئين فرقةَ دعمٍ لقدرات استيعاب اللُّجوء لتُعِينَ مزيداً من الدول على إنشاء أو تطوير أنظمةٍ لها وطنيةٍ في السنين المقبلة تُنظِّم تقريرَ صفة اللاجئ.

ومع هذا الاتجاه المُعتَبَر، لم يكن هناك فحص منهجي للتَّسليم لتقديره والموازنة في جودة اتِّخاذ القرار وكيفية الحماية بين ما قبل التسليم وما بعده. ومعظم الدراسات السابقة في هذا الموضوع هي تقارير تقويمٍ من عند مفوضيَّة اللاجئين[2]، وهي تقارير تميل إلى عدم تقدير الآثار المترتبة على اتِّخاذ القرار وحماية اللاجئين عموماً، ولا تراعي آراءَ جميع الجهات الفاعلة ذات الصلة بالموضوع، ومنها الحكومات والمنظمات غير الحكومية ومنظمات المجتمع المدني، وأهم من كلّ ذلك أنها لا تراعي أراء طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين. وليس في هذا الموضوع من الدراسات المُستقلّة إلا القليلَ القليل.

وقد درس مشروعُنا البحثيُّ الدائر حول «الإقرار للاجئين»[3] سُنَنَ العمل المتَّبعة في كينيا وتركية، وهما دولتان «سلَّمت إليهما» مفوضيَّة اللاجئين أخيراً تقرير صفة اللاجئ. وصحيحٌ أنّ هذه المقالة الموجزة لا يمكنها أن تُقدِّم نظرةً عامّةً شاملةً (وقد تختلف العناصر المُميِّزة التي في التَّسليمات المختلفة)، ولكنّها تناقش بعض الأسئلة في التَّسليم، مُسْتدلَّةً بالإجراءات الانتقالية التي تتكشُّف بالتدريج في البلدين.

السؤال الأول: هل يُخفِّفُ تسليمُ تقرير صفة اللاجئ عن مفوضيَّة اللاجئين عبأها الماليّ؟

ولقد تكون الحكومات راغبةً في تولّي تقرير صفة اللاجئ، إلا أنها قد لا تكون مستعدةً تمام الاستعداد لتحمُّل كلّ ما يصاحب ذلك من الكلفة. مثال ذلك: أنّه منذ كانت سنة 2014، حين بدأ الانتقال في كينيا جديّاً، ما تزال مفوضيَّة اللاجئين تموُّل معظم أعمال أمانة شؤون اللاجئين (Refugee Affairs Secretariat)، ومن ذلك دَفْعُ رواتب الموظَّفين وتدريبهم، وتركيب البنية التحتية المحتاج إليها، ونقل قاعدة المعطيات المخصوصة بتقرير صفة اللاجئ. وإلى اليوم، لم تُدخِل الحكومة أكثر موظَّفي أمانة شؤون اللاجئين التشغيليين في نظام الأجور عندها، وهم مصنَّفون في موظّفي المشروع الذين تدفع أجورهم مفوضيَّة اللاجئين. وقال بعض الموظفين إنَّ الرِّيبة وانعدام الأمن الوظيفي أثَّرا في التزامهم الوظيفةَ وإنهم كانوا مداومين على البحث عن فرص أفضل في غير مكان. ولهذا أثر جانبيّ، هو أن الحكومة قد تخفق في الاحتفاظ بالموظَّفين المُدرَّبين تدريباً حسناً، فتنشأ حاجةٌ مستمرَّة إلى تدريب الموظَّفين.

فمع أنّ التَّسليم الرسميّ لتقرير صفة اللاجئ في تركية قد حصل في أيلول/سبتمبر سنة 2018، استمرَّت ميزانية تقرير صفة اللاجئ في مفوضيَّة اللاجئين في الزيادة. فقد بلغت نفقات مفوضيَّة اللاجئين في يتعلق بتقرير صفة اللاجئ، بحسب إحصاءاتها في سنة 2018، 341808 من الدولارات الأمريكيَّة، وبعد الإعلان الرسميّ عن تسليم تقرير صفة اللاجئ، تجاوزت هذه الأرقام مليونَ دولارٍ في سنة2019، وفي سنة 2020 تجاوزت ميزانيّة مفوضيَّة اللاجئين المخصّصة لتقرير صفة اللاجئ خمسة ملايين دولار. والسبب في ذلك أن في سنة 2018، كانت مفوضيَّة اللاجئين ما زالت تعمل على مراجعة 3470 ملفَ حالةٍ كانت إذ ذاك في قَيْد التقدير، وقبلت من رافعي الطلبات 2640 طلباً إضافيّاً لتنظر فيها من خلال إجراءاتٍ مدمجة فيها تقرير صفة اللاجئ وإعادة التوطين.[4]

السؤال الثاني: ما مَبلَغُ السرعة والإتمام الذي جيري بهما تسليمُ تقرير صفة اللاجئ؟

ومع أنّ «التسليم» يشير إلى حالة مُحدَّدة فيها تحمُّل كاملِ المسؤولية عن تقرير صفة اللاجئ، يَكْثرُ من الوجهة العمليّة أن ما يتمَّ بالتدريج ويندر أن يُضرَبَ له موعد بدءٍ أو انتهاء. وحتى في كينيا وتركية، حيث تولّت سلطات الدولة تقرير صفة اللاجئ، فما يزال التَّسليم يجري تنفيذه، ويكثر أن يكون فيه وجوه غير واضحةٍ في تقسيم العمل فيه.

ومن حلول شهر تموز/يوليو في سنة 2019، ما عادت مفوضيَّة اللاجئين تجري تقرير صفة اللاجئ في مخيم كاكوما بكينيا، واقتصرت على الإعانة التِّقنيَّة لموظَّفي أمانة شؤون اللاجئين. ولكن في نيروبي كانت كلا المؤسَّستين تعالجان الطلبات المعلَّقة والجديدة. ولقد تكون هذه إستراتيجية إدارية عَمَليّة تقصد إلى تقاسم المسؤولية بالسَّواء، ولكنّها أحدثت ارتباكاً لطالبي اللجوء واللاجئين في مَن يتولَّى معالجة طلباتهم؟ ولو بُنِيَ التقاسم على أساس المواعيد النهائية المُحدَّدة لأمكن مفوضيَّة اللاجئين أن تَرْكُزَ هَمَّها في إنهاء ما تراكم عندها من عمل، ولأمكن الحكومة أن تعالج الطلبات الجديدة، فتسقطُ الرِّيبة عن قلوب طالبي اللجوء ويعرفون أيّ مؤسَّسة تُعالِجُ طلباتهم.

وأما في تركية، فقد خُطِّطَ للتَّسليم مُذ اعتُمِدَ في سنة 2013 قانون اللجوء التركيّ الجديد، وهو القانون ذو الرَّقم 6458 في الأجانب والحماية الدولية. وهناك بدأت مفوضيَّة اللاجئين «تسليماً للتَّسجيل وتقرير صفة اللاجئ ذا مراحلَ» للاجئين غير السوريين في سنة 2015[5]، وأصدر التوجيه الحكومي الصادر في 23 حزيران/يونيو سنة 2018 إجراءاتِ عملٍ لمكاتب الحماية الدولية التابعة لها، التي تُسمَّى مراكزَ القرار. ومع ذلك، بعد التَّسليم الرسميّ في أيلول/سبتمبر سنة 2018، ظهر أنّ البنية التحتية المطلوبة ما كانت جاهزة، فلم يكن هناك على سبيل المثال عددٌ كافٍ من المختصِّين الاجتماعيِّين في تقرير صفة اللاجئ المدرَّبين تدريباً كافياً.

وقد واصلت مفوضيَّة اللاجئين العمل مع المديرية العامة لإدارة الهجرة على إنشاء وتعزيز مراكز القرار في أنقرة وإسطنبول، وتأليف الفِرَق المتنقلة، وهي اليومَ تعمل على فتحِ مركزٍ إقليميّ جديد لاتخاذ القرار في ڤان. واصلت أيضاً تقديم التدريب على إجراءاتِ تقرير صفة اللاجئ، وتقديرِ الأدلّة، واستعمالِ معلومات البلد الأصليّ، وتقنياتِ إجراء المقابلات. ولكنّ إحدى العقبات الكبيرة هي أنّ الموظَّفين في مراكز القرار يُبدّلون كثيراً، ولذا تستمرُّ الحاجة إلى تدريب الموظَّفين الجُّدُد. ومن المُستقرَب أن يمتدَّ التَّسليم إلى السنين القليلة المُقبلَة، ما لم تُقرِّر الحكومة أنها ما عادَ بها حاجة إلى معونة التدريب من مفوضيَّة اللاجئين.

السؤال 3: هل يمكن بتسليم تقرير صفة اللاجئ إلى سلطات الدولة أن يتحسَّن الوصول إلى الحقوق والحماية؟

تقول مفوضيَّة اللاجئين «إنَّه لمّا كانت الدول هي الوحيدة في قدرتها على ضمان الحماية الشاملة للاجئين والحلول الدائمة، كان تحمُّل الدولة مسؤوليةَ تقرير صفة اللاجئ بطريقة مستدامة أمراً ضروريّاً».[6] ويمكن القول إنّ الحكومات أقرب من غيرها إلى احترام القرارات التي تتَّخذها هيئاتها، ولذلك فقد تكون أقرب إلى أن تمدَّ الحقوق والمزايا لتشمل اللاجئين المُقرَّ لهم بلاجئيَّتهم في النظام الحكوميّ لتقرير صفة اللاجئ. على أنّ هذا ولا شكّ متوقِّفٌ في أكثره على مَبْلَغِ الجِدّ في وزارة الخارجية المتولِّية شؤون اللاجئين في ولايتها على حماية اللاجئين. ثم إنَّ تقرير صفة اللاجئ الذي تجريه الحكومة يبني في العادة آلياتِ استئنافٍ أو مراجعةٍ مستقلة، وأما الاستئناف في تقرير صفة اللاجئ الذي تجريه مفوضيَّة اللاجئين فينقصه الرقابة المستقلة، ولا يمكن الطعن فيه أمام المحاكم. ولذا يمكن أن يؤدي التَّسليم إلى تعزيز حماية اللاجئين، غير أن ذلك لا يكون إلا في الدول التي فيها درجة عليا نسبياً من الاستقلال القضائي وحُكْم القانون.

ويحصل التَّسليم في العادة حين يكون في الدولة المُضيِّفة أسبابها السياسية الخاصّة فتريد أن يُنظرَ إليها على أنها متولِّيةٌ تقرير صفة اللاجئ، ومن ذلك أن يُرَى أنّ لها سلطة أو سيطرة أعظم على جدول أعمالها الأمنيّ. مثال ذلك: أنّ الحكومة الكينية ساعةَ تولَّت تقرير صفة اللاجئ، وقفت الإقرار الرسميّ بطالبي اللجوء الصوماليِّين الجُّدُد في داداب، فبدأت «تحدُّهم بحسب مواصفاتهم»؛ أي تسجِّلهم يدويّاً. ولذا قلَّما تكون حماية اللاجئين بذاتها هي الدافع إلى تولِّي تقرير صفة اللاجئ. ثم إنّ نفوذ مفوضيَّة اللاجئين قليلٌ بالقياس إلى نفوذ الدولة إذا طلبت تولِّي تقرير صفة اللاجئ، وإن كان عند المفوَّضية تحفظات حمائية حول نيِّات الدولة.

وفي بعض الحالات، قد تتدخل المنظَّمات غير الحكومية ومنظَّمات المجتمع المدني فتحشد وتراوض وتنصر حقوقَ اللاجئين. مثال ذلك: أنّ هذه المنظَّمات في كينيا حشدت وراوضت من أجل الإقرار بصلاحيّة وثائق اللاجئين للسماح لهم بالوصول إلى المعونية المالية وخطة التأمين الصحي الوطنيّة. ومع ذلك، ما تزالُ بعضُ الحقوق كحريّة التنقُّل والحق في العمل مُقيَّدةً. ولكنّ المنظَّمات غير الحكومية ومنظَّمات المجتمع المدني هي في مُقدَّم المنتصرين لوَضْع قانونٍ جديد للاجئين، يُوسِّع نطاق الحماية الحقيقيّة المَمْنوحَة للاجئين في كينيا. ومثلُ ذلك في تركية، فهناك نشطت المنظَّمات غير الحكومية إلى الحشد والمراوضة من أجل حقوق اللاجئين، لكنَّ القيود استمرت، وبخاصةٍ قيود الحق في العمل. ثم إنّ التقارير ذكرت أنّ المنظَّمات غير الحكومية الدولية يعترضها ضغوط وترصُّد من قِبَل سلطات الدولة. وقد استبعدت مفاوضات التَّسليم في البلدين كثيراً من المنظَّمات غير الحكومية المحليَّة ومنظمات المجتمع المدني، غير أنّ مفوضيَّة اللاجئين في كينيا استشارت بعد ذلك بعض هذه المنظَّمات في تقويمها للمرحلة الانتقالية.[7]

وبعدُ، فبناءً على ما يظهر في الحالة الكينية والحالة التركية، ليس بالضرورة أن يخفِّف تسليمُ تقرير صفة اللاجئ إلى الدول عن مفوضيَّة اللاجئين عبأها الماليّ، وإن خفَّف عنها ذلك فليس على الفور، وليس التَّسليم يتمُّ سريعاً ولا تُضمَنُ بحدوثه الحماية الكافية للاجئين. وما يزال التَّسليم في كينيا وتركية ولا شكّ عملاً جارياً، عملاً موجباً الرَّصدَ من كَثَبٍ.

 

كارولين نَالُولِه caroline.nalule@qeh.ox.ac.uk

مُوظَّفةُ بحوث

 

دِريا أوزكُل derya.ozkul@qeh.ox.ac.uk

مُوظَّفةُ بحوث

 

في مركز دراسات اللاجئين، بجامعة أكسفورد  www.rsc.ox.ac.uk

 

[1] بناءً على الإحصاءات الحَوْليّة في مفوضيَّة اللاجئين، نُقِلَ منها إجراءُ تقرير صفة اللاجئ إلى حكومات البلدان الآتية: أنغولا، والبوسنة والهرسك، وبوروندي، وكمبوديا، وكولُمبيا، وقبرص، وجمهورية الكُنْغو الديمقراطية، وشرقيّ تيمور (تيمور ليشتي)، والإكوَدُور، وإلسِلفَدُور، والغابون، وغواتيمالا، وغينيا، وغينيا بيساو، وكينيا، ومالطة، والمكسيك، ونيكاراجوا، والنيجر، وبيرو، وجمهورية كوريا، وجمهورية مولدوفا، ورواندا، وصربيا والجبل الأسود (كوسوفو)، وسيراليون، وجنوب السودان، وتوغو، وأوروغواي، وفانواتو، وفنزويلا. وقد سُلِّمَ الإجراء رسميّاً إلى تركية وإن لم يظهر ذلك في الإحصاءات الحاليّة.

[2] انظر على سبيل المثال:

 UNHCR (2015) Building on the foundation: Formative Evaluation of the Refugee Status Determination (RSD) Transition Process in Kenya

(البناء على أساس: التقويم التكوينيّ لنَقْلِ تقرير صفة اللاجئ في كينيا)

 https://www.unhcr.org/uk/research/evalreports/5551f3c49/building-foundation-formative-evaluation-refugee-status-determination-rsd.html bit.ly/UNHCR-Building-on-foundation

[3] هذا المشروع جزءٌ من مشروع رِفمِغ (RefMig): اللاجئون مهاجرون: تنقُّل اللاجئين والإقرار لهم وحقوقهم. وهو مشروعٌ نائلٌ جائزةَ أُفُق 2020، يُموِّله مجلس المشروع الأوروبي، وأرقام منحته (716968).

[4] https://reporting.unhcr.org/turkey

[5] UNHCR (2015) Global Appeal 2015 Update: Turkey

(النداء العالميّ لسنة 2015: آخر الأخبار من تركية)

 http://www.unhcr.org/5461e60c52.pdf

[6] UNHCR, Executive Committee of the High Commissioner’s Programme, Standing Committee 66th Meeting, ‘Refugee Status Determination’, 31 May 2016, EC/67/SC/CRP.12.

(تقرير صفة اللاجئ)

www.refworld.org/pdfid/57c83a724.pdf

[7] UNHCR (2015) Building on the foundation, supra note 2, paras 183–187.

(البناء على أساس)

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

Exploring RSD handover from UNHCR to States

Handing over responsibility for refugee status determination from UNHCR to States is a complicated process that is rarely speedy or smooth. A successful handover – and the ability to meet the overarching goal of providing adequate protection for refugees – depends on many factors.

The primary responsibility for refugees – and therefore for refugee status determination (RSD) – lies with States but UNHCR conducts RSD where States are unwilling or less able to do so. Over a 20-year period (1998–2018), there has been some form of handover of RSD from UNHCR in at least 30 countries.[1] Furthermore, under the framework of the Global Compact on Refugees, UNHCR has established an Asylum Capacity Support Group to help more States create or develop their national RSD systems in the coming years.

Despite this significant trend, there has been no systematic examination of handovers in order to assess and compare the quality of decision-making and the quality of protection before and after. Most of the available literature on the subject is UNHCR’s own evaluation reports,[2] which tend not to assess the implications for decision-making and refugee protection more generally, nor do they take into account the views of all relevant actors including governments, NGOs and civil society organisations (CSOs), and – most importantly – asylum seekers and refugees. There is very little independent scholarship on the subject.

Our ‘Recognising Refugees’ research project[3] has examined practices in Kenya and Turkey, two States where UNHCR has recently ‘handed over’ RSD. While this brief article cannot provide a comprehensive overview (and the distinct elements involved in different handovers may vary), it discusses some of the questions about handovers, considering these in light of the unfolding transitional processes in both countries.

Question 1: Will handover of RSD reduce the financial burden on UNHCR?

Even though governments may be willing to take over RSD, they may not be quite as ready to take on all the associated costs. For example, since 2014 when the transition in Kenya began in earnest, UNHCR has been funding most of the operations of the Refugee Affairs Secretariat (RAS), including paying and training staff, installing necessary infrastructure, and transferring the RSD database. To date, the government has not incorporated the majority of the RAS operational staff into its payroll; they are categorised as project staff whose salaries are paid by UNHCR. Some staff said that this uncertainty and job insecurity affected their commitment to the job and that they were always looking for better opportunities elsewhere. The knock-on effect of this is that the government may fail to retain well-trained staff, which creates a continuing need for staff training.

In Turkey, despite an official handover of RSD in September 2018, UNHCR’s budget for status determination has kept increasing. According to UNHCR statistics, in 2018 its status determination-related expenditure was US$341,808; after the official declaration of the handover of RSD, this figure exceeded $1 million in 2019, and in 2020 its budget for RSD was over $5 million. This is because in 2018 UNHCR still needed to work on reviewing 3,470 case files already under assessment, and took on 2,640 additional applicants to be processed under merged RSD and resettlement procedures.[4]

Question 2: How quickly and completely can RSD be handed over?

Despite the fact that ‘handover’ suggests a specific instance of assuming full responsibility for RSD, in practice it is often a gradual process and rarely has defined start and finish dates. Even in Kenya and Turkey, where State authorities have taken over RSD, the handover is still a work in progress, often with blurred lines in the division of labour.

By July 2019 UNHCR was no longer conducting RSD in Kenya’s Kakuma camp, save to provide technical assistance to RAS staff. In Nairobi, however, both institutions were handling pending and new applications. While this may have been a practical administrative strategy aimed at sharing responsibility equally, it created confusion for asylum seekers and refugees regarding who was processing their cases. A division based on designated cut-off dates would have enabled UNHCR to focus on clearing its backlog, and the government to handle newer cases, creating certainty for asylum seekers as to which institution was handling their application.

In Turkey, the handover has been planned since the adoption of Turkey’s new asylum law, Law no. 6458 on Foreigners and International Protection, in 2013. UNHCR started “a phased handover of registration and refugee status determination” for non-Syrian refugees in 2015,[5] and a government directive of 23 June 2018 established the working procedures for its international protection bureaux, called Decision Centres. However, after the official handover in September 2018, it appeared that the required infrastructure was not ready; for example, there were not enough adequately trained RSD caseworkers.

UNHCR has continued to work with the Directorate General of Migration Management (DGMM) to establish and strengthen the Decision Centres in Ankara and Istanbul and mobile teams and is working to open a new Regional Decision Centre in Van. UNHCR has also continued to provide training on RSD procedures, assessment of evidence, the use of country of origin information, and interviewing techniques. One major obstacle is that staff at Decision Centres change frequently and, consequently, there is a continuous need for training of new staff. The handover process is likely to continue over the next few years unless the government decides it no longer requires UNHCR’s training assistance.

Question 3: Will handover of RSD to State authorities enable better access to rights and protection?

UNHCR argues that “as only States are able to ensure comprehensive refugee protection and durable solutions, the assumption of State responsibility for RSD in a sustainable manner is essential”.[6] It could be argued that governments are more likely to respect decisions made by their own agencies, and thus may be more likely to extend rights and benefits to refugees recognised in a government RSD system. This, however, will of course largely depend on how seriously the State department in charge of refugee matters takes its refugee protection mandate. Furthermore, government-conducted RSD usually builds in independent appeal or review mechanisms; UNHCR’s RSD appeal process, on the other hand, lacks independent oversight and cannot be challenged before courts of law. A handover could therefore enhance refugee protection – but only in States where there is a relatively high degree of judicial independence and rule of law.

Handovers usually occur when the host State has its own political reasons to want to be seen to be in charge of RSD, including being seen to assert greater authority or control over a security agenda. Once the Kenyan government assumed RSD, for instance, it put a halt to the formal recognition of new Somali asylum seekers in Dadaab and instead started ‘profiling’ them – that is, manually recording them. As such, rarely is refugee protection alone the motive to take over RSD. UNHCR has little leverage in the face of a State’s demand to take over RSD, even if it has protection-related reservations as to the State’s intentions.

In some cases, NGOs and CSOs may step in to lobby and advocate for refugee rights. In Kenya they have, for example, lobbied for recognition of refugees’ documents to allow access to finance and the national health insurance scheme. Yet some rights, such as the freedom of movement and right to work, continue to be restricted. Nonetheless, NGOs and CSOs are at the forefront of advocating for a new refugee law that would expand upon the substantive protection accorded to refugees in Kenya. Similarly, in Turkey, NGOs have actively lobbied for refugees’ rights, but restrictions continue, most notably in terms of access to the right to work. In addition, international NGOs are reported to face pressure and surveillance by State authorities. The handover negotiations in both countries largely excluded local NGOs and CSOs, although in Kenya some were later consulted by UNHCR in its evaluation of the transition.[7]

As the cases of Kenya and Turkey show, handing over RSD to States does not necessarily or immediately reduce the financial burden on UNHCR, nor is it necessarily a speedy process nor one that automatically ensures adequate protection of refugees. In both Kenya and Turkey, handover is still very much a work in progress and a process that warrants close monitoring.

 

Caroline Nalule caroline.nalule@qeh.ox.ac.uk
Research Officer

Derya Ozkul derya.ozkul@qeh.ox.ac.uk
Research Officer

Refugee Studies Centre, University of Oxford www.rsc.ox.ac.uk

 

[1] Based on UNHCR’s annual statistics, there has been a transfer of RSD from UNHCR to governments in Angola, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burundi, Cambodia, Colombia, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, East Timor (Timor-Leste), Ecuador, El Salvador, Gabon, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Malta, Mexico, Nicaragua, Niger, Peru, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Rwanda, Serbia and Montenegro/Kosovo, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Togo, Uruguay, Vanuatu and Venezuela. Although not yet reflected in the existing statistics, a handover has also officially taken place in Turkey.

[2] For instance, UNHCR (2015) Building on the foundation: Formative Evaluation of the Refugee Status Determination (RSD) Transition Process in Kenya www.unhcr.org/uk/research/evalreports/5551f3c49/building-foundation-formative-evaluation-refugee-status-determination-rsd.html

[3] This project is part of the Refugees are Migrants: Refugee Mobility, Recognition and Rights (RefMig) Project, a Horizon 2020 award funded by the European Research Council (grant number 716968).

[4] https://reporting.unhcr.org/turkey

[5] UNHCR (2015) Global Appeal 2015 Update: Turkey www.unhcr.org/5461e60c52.pdf

[6] UNHCR, Executive Committee of the High Commissioner’s Programme, Standing Committee 66th Meeting, ‘Refugee Status Determination’, 31 May 2016, EC/67/SC/CRP.12.
www.refworld.org/pdfid/57c83a724.pdf

[7] UNHCR (2015) Building on the foundation, supra note 2, paras 183–187.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700