نظراتٌ في تجارب الدول في منطقة «إيغاد»

رُكِزَ الاهتمام في التبادل بين الدول سنةَ 2019 في ما هو مُحتاجٌ إليهِ أكثر إذا أرادت الحكومات في منطقة إيغاد أن تستجيب استجابةً أكثر فعّالية لكثرة النزوح الداخلي هناك.

النُّزوح الداخليّ مصدرُ قلقٍ كثير في منطقة الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بالتنمية «إيغاد». فقد زاد عديدُ النازحين الداخليِّين في هذه الكتلة التجارية المجتمعة من ثماني دولٍ[1] زيادةً عظيمةً منذ كانت سنة 2014، وعلى رأس السبب في ذلك النِّزاع في جنوب السودان وإثيوبيا. في آخر سنة 2019، نزح ما يقرب من ثمانية ملايين إنسانٍ نزوحاً داخليّاً في المنطقة من جرّاء النِّزاع والعنف. ويضاف إلى ذلك، أنه قُدِّرَ أنّ 1753000 إنسانٍ هُجِّروا بالكوارث، معظمهم في الصومال وكينيا وإثيوبيا.[2]

والكوارث الناجمة عن الجفاف والفيضان وانهيال الأرض هي اليومَ السائقات الرَّئيسات إلى النزوح في جيبوتي وكينيا وأوغندا. وتؤدي الكوارث أيضاً إلى تهجير الناس في إثيوبيا والصومال وجنوب السودان والسودان، ولكنّ النِّزاع هو السائقة الرئيسة إلى ذلك في تلك البلدان، والنُّزوح الداخليّ الناتج عنه فيها يطول ويتمادى طوله.

وأعلن الاتحاد الإفريقي أنّ سنة 2019 هي سنة اللاجئين والعائدين والنازحين الداخليِّين. وأيضاً، فقد كانت تلك السنة الذكرى الخمسين اتفاقية منظمة الوحدة الإفريقية التي تحكم المظاهر الخاصة بمشكلات اللاجئين في إفريقيا (اتفاقية اللاجئين في منظمة الوحدة الإفريقية)، والذكرى العاشرة لاتفاقية الاتحاد الإفريقي لحماية ومساعدة النازحين الداخليِّين في إفريقيا (اتفاقية كَمْبَالا). 

ولذلك كان من المناسب أن تُقِيمَ إيغاد في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر من سنة 2019 –بمعاونة مبادرة الذكرى العشرين للمبادئ التوجيهية، وبدعم مجموعة الحماية العالمية، وحكومة سويسرا ومفوضية الاتحاد الإفريقي– تبادلاً للتجربة والخبرة في دَعْم الصُّمود لصعوبة الحال والحلول الدائمة للنُّزوح الداخليّ. وأُقِيمَ التبادل في إطار عملية التشاور العربية الإقليمية حول الهجرة في إيغاد –وهي منصّة مفتوحة لمناقشة مسائل الهجرة وتحسينها– وضمّ أكثر من 100 مسؤول حكوميّ، وممثلين عن المؤسَّسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان، وخبراء، ومزاولين في ميدان العمل الإنساني، والفاعلون التنمويِّون، والجهات المانحة. وتعرض هذه المقالةُ لبعض النتائج والدروس المستقاة من هذه المناقشات.

أهميَّة أُطُرِ العمل المعيارية

وتعقد إيغاد ندواتٍ سنويةً مشتركة وتديرها حول اتفاقية كمبالا بمعونة اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر ومفوضية الاتحاد الإفريقي وهيئات من الأمم المتحدة. وهذه الندوات هي بمنزلة منصات تدعو إلى تصديق الاتفاقية وإنفاذها في أعضاء إيغاد، وإلى مناقشة الأدوات وأنظمة الدعم المُتاحَة لمعونة الدول الأعضاء على بلوغ هذا القصد. وفي التبادل الإقليمي السنوي في سنة 2019، مُدِّدت المناقشات إلى ما بعد اتفاقية كمبالا، فشملت مناقشة أنظمة الإنذار المُبكِّر وبناء السلام وجمع المعطيات والتمويل ومقاربات الحلول الدائمة، وكلّ ذلك على الصعيد الوطنيّ ودون الوطنيّ. هذا، وتنشئ الندوات والتبادلات السنوية، التي تُشجَّعُ فيها الدول الأعضاء على إظهار ما بلغته من التقدُّم في إجابة حاجات الحماية والمعونة للنازحين الداخليّين، تنشئ عاملَ منافسةٍ يُحدِثُ أثراً حسناً في الدول الأعضاء.

وكانت إحدى النتائج المشجعة للتبادل الإقليمي سنةَ 2019 هي القبول العام لأهميّة اعتماد وتنفيذ القوانين والسياسات والمراسيم التي تعالج النُّزوح الداخليّ. وتساعد أُطُر العملِ المِعياريةُ على إيضاح المسؤوليات الحكومية وتحديد سلطة المستجيبين وزيادة إمكانية الإخبار بمستقبل العمل الإنساني والتنموي، وذلك بإدخال الصفة المؤسَّسية على الترتيبات التعاونية. ثم إنها تحدّد حقوق النازحين الداخليّين والإجراءات الواجب اتِّخاذها لضمان تمامِ حمايتهم. وبناءً على ذلك، أُخِذَ في جلسةٍ مخصَّصة أديرت حول القانون والسياسة في جلسة التبادل، فيسَّرت تبادل الخبرات في سَنّ وتنفيذ القوانين والسياسات المتعلقة بالنُّزوح الداخليّ. 

وقد اعتمدت الدول الأعضاء في إيغاد مقاربات مختلفة وهي في مراحل مختلفة من وَضْع الأطر لمعالجة حاجات النازحين الداخليِّين في بلدانها. وأما على المستوى الإقليمي فتُعدُّ اتفاقية كمبالا الأداةَ الإقليمية الوحيدة في أنها ملزمةٌ قانوناً في النُّزوح الداخليّ، وقد أعربت جميع الدول الأعضاء في إيغاد عن التزامها السياسيّ بالنهوض لأهدافها. ومن شهر تشرين الأول/أكتوبر سنة 2019، صدَّقت جيبوتي وجنوب السودان والصومال وأوغندا اتفاقيةَ كَمْبَالا. وصدَّقتها إثيوبيا منذ ذلك الحين إذ كانت قد وقَّعتها من قبل. وأما كينيا والسودان فلم يوقّعا فيها بعدُ.

على أنّ كينيا وجنوب السودان والسودان وأوغندا هي دول أطراف في ميثاق الأمن والاستقرار والتنمية في منطقة البحيرات الكبرى، ويدخل في ذلك بروتوكول حماية النازحين الداخليِّين ومساعدتهم، إضافةً إلى بروتوكول حقوق الملكية للعائدين. ذلك، وعند معظم الدول الأعضاء في إيغاد قوانين أو سياسات أو أطر عمل وطنيّة في النُّزوح الداخليّ.

وبجانب الاتفاق على الحاجة إلى سياساتٍ وقوانين مناسبة لمعالجة النُّزوح الداخليّ، اتِّفق أعضاء الورشة التي عُقِدَت على أن ضمان التنفيذ أمرٌ أساسٌ. وأما التحدِّيات الواقعة على التنفيذ التي أبرزتها الدول الأعضاء في إيغاد فتشتمل على المخاوف الأمنية، قِلّة القدرات المؤسَّسية، ونقص الموارد والأراضي التي للتخصيص، وسَأَم المانحين، وعدم كفاية معطيات مواصفات النازحين والعائدين، والالتزام القليل من أصحاب المصلحة الحكوميين، وقلة التِّقانة التي قد تُعِينُ على مَنْع التَّهجير (في تقدير الأخطار واحتمال الأخطار).

وتشتمل الجهود التي بُذلِت لمعالجة تحديات التنفيذ هذه على خطة عمل هَرَارِي لسنة 2017، وهي أوَّل خطةِ عملٍ لتنفيذ اتفاقية كَمْبَالا. وإضافةً إلى إنشائها أُطُرَ العمل، فأهدافها استنجاحُ وتعزيز الإجراءات الإقليمية والوطنية لمنع الأسباب الأصلية للنُّزوح الداخلي والقضاء عليها وإيجاد حلول دائمة، ثم استنجاح التزامات ومسؤوليات الدول الأطراف، ثم تحديد الالتزامات والأدوار والمسؤوليّات المعيّنة للجماعات المسلحة والجهات الفاعلة غير الحكومية والجهات الفاعلة الأخرى ذات الصلة بالأمر، ومنها منظمات المجتمع المدني. ويشتمل التقدُّم الرَّئيسُ في تنفيذ خطة عمل هراري على اعتماد القانون النموذجيّ للاتحاد الإفريقي لسنة 2018[3] في النُّزوح الداخليّ، وعلى وإنشاء مؤتمر للدول الأطراف لرصد وتعزيز امتثال الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الإفريقي.

وعلى المستوى القطري، أنشأت الصومال وإثيوبيا مبادراتٍ للحلول الدائمة، تقصد بها إلى تسهيل العمل الجماعيّ والتعاون بين السلطات الحكومية في المستويات الوطنية والإقليمية والمحلية وبين المجتمع الدولي (أي الأمم المتحدة والمنظمات غير الحكومية الوطنية والدولية والجهات المانحة). وتدعم مبادرات الحلول الدائمة الملكية والقيادة السياسيَّتين في أعلى مستوى، وتضمن المشاركة المجتمعية وتوصيل الجهات الفاعلة في ميدان العمل الإنساني والإنمائي وميدان بناء السلام المحتاج إليها في دعم الحلول الدائمة للنازحين الداخليِّين في الأصعدة السياسية والتشريعية والمؤسَّسية والتخطيطية والتشغيلية. وقد يسَّرت مبادرات الحلول الدائمة في الصومال وإثيوبيا تصديقَ اتفاقية كمبالا وصَوْغ السياسات الوطنية ودون الوطنية الدائرة حول النازحين الداخليِّين. وأيضاً، فقد عزّزت الفهم المشترك واستعمال الأدوات المنهجية المشتركة بين مختلف أصحاب المصلحة.

مركزيَّة التنسيق بين الحكومة وأصحاب المصلحة المتعدِّدين

كان هناك إجماعٌ عامّ على أن القيادة الحكومية –وهي ضرورية في تحديد الحلول الدائمة للنزوح الداخلي وتنسيقها وتنفيذها– تحتاج إلى تعيين جهة تنسيق حكومية. فتعيين جهه تنسيقٍ حكومية أمرٌ مهمٌّ لإيضاح المسؤوليَّات المؤسَّسية ولزيادة المحاسبة الحكومة.[4] ثم إن القيادة الحكومية ضروريةٌ إن أُرِيدَ للتنسيق أن يكون فعّالاً عمودياً (بين المستويات الوطنية ودون الوطنية والمحلية) وفعّالاً أفقياً (في الوزارات والمؤسَّسات الأخرى ذات الصلة). وتتولى هذا التنسيقَ جميعُ الدول الأعضاء في إيغاد، وإن كان التولّي على طرق مختلفة.

هذا، ويمكن العثور على مثالٍ للتنسيق الفعّال بين أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين في السودان، حيث تشارك الحكومة الوطنية والمحلية والمجتمع المدني الوطني والمحلي والقطاع الخاص والمجتمع الدولي (وفيه الأمم المتحدة ومصارف التنمية والجهات المانحة والمنظمات غير الحكومية الدولية)، تشارك كلّ هذه في التخطيط ووضع البرامج والتنفيذ، وذلك بما يعرف بوظائف الاتِّصال الحكومية (State Liaison Functions).

وتحثُّ الأنشطة المشتركة جميع الأطراف على استثمار الطاقة في منع النِّزاع وبناء السلام، ومن ذلك المعونة الإنسانية المستمرّة والاستثمارات المتعدِّدة السنين في الصُّمود لصعوبة المعيشة. على أنّه كشفت المناقشات أنّ قصرَ أمد التمويل وسياقَ جمع الأموال المملوء تحدياتٍ أمران يُهدِّدان استدامة الأثر.

استدامة التمويل

إن قَدْرَ ما تُولِيه الحكومة من الأولويّة لتمويل النازحين الداخليِّين مُشيرٌ إلى مستوى إدراكها والتزامها تجاه النازحين الداخليّين. وقد شدّد أصحاب المصلحة في التبادل الإقليميّ على أن بالحكومات حاجةٌ إلى تخصيصِ تمويلٍ كافٍ لدعم البرامج لصَوْن المدنيِّين من التَّهجير، وإعانة النازحين الداخليِّين وحمايتهم وهم مُهجَّرون، وتهيئة الأحوال التي يمكن بها إيجاد حلول دائمة.

وخرج الاجتماع بتوصيتَين رئيستَين: الأولى ضمان إيجاد الموارد الكافية بالميزانيّات الوطنية ودون الوطنية وخطط التنمية الوطنية، والثانية المناصرة والحَشْد لتمويل إضافي ليّن الشروط ومتعدِّد السنين يرد على البرامج في كلّ مراحلها ما دام النُّزوح الداخليّ مستمرّاً، من الوقاية إلى الحلول الدائمة.

وجود المعطيات الموثوق بها

ما يزال جمع المعطيات الجيِّدة النوعيَّة في شؤون النَّازحين الداخليِّين والمجتمعات المحليّة المتضرِّرة من التَّهجير بغيةَ أن يُداوَمَ على التخطيط للحلول الدائمة، ما يزال تحديّاً في منطقة إيغاد. فالمعطيات الموجودة غير كافيةٍ لأسباب عدّة.

أوّلها، أنّ المعطيات التي تُجمَعُ اليومَ حول التَّهجير، صيغت أساساً لتوجيه استجابات العمل الإنساني، فبحسب ذلك تُصَاغ أنظمة المعطيات. وقد اتُّفقَ عموماً على أنّ أنظمة معطيات التَّهجير تحتاج إلى تحسّن معالجة الرابطة بين العمل الإنساني والتنموي وعمل بناء السلام وبناء الدولة، وذلك للمساعدة على مَنْع ومعالجة التَّهجير المتمادي ولدعم الاندماج وإعادة الاندماج المستديمان. وشدد المشاركون على أنّه من الأهمية بمكان الانتقال إلى أنظمة المعطيات التي تُتِيحُ ما تحتاج إليه المعلومات الطُّوليَّة وطويلة الأمد، لتحسين الفَهْم في مواصفات النازحين الداخليِّين ومسائلهم باستعمال نظام معطيات لأصحاب المصلحة المتعددين، لا استعمال الأنظمة القائمة التي يحفزها العمل الإنساني وتقوم على المُنظَّمات. قد يستدعي هذا، على سبيل المثال، إدماج معطيات التَّهجير في النظام الإحصائي الوطني.

وثانيها، أنه على المستوى التشغيلي، تُجرِي المنظَّمات تقديرات لأغراضها الخاصة لا للأغراض المشتركة، وتستعمل في ذلك منهجيّاتٍ مختلفة وتُخرِجُ معطياتٍ متفاوتة الجودة.

وثالثها، أن هناك نقص أيضاً في الأدوات المشتركة والأعمال المنسَّقة لتقدير إسهام برامج الحلول الدائمة والنتائج الجماعية الأخرى التي نطاقها أوسع.

ورابعها، أنه ما دامت معطيات النازحين الداخليِّين تجمعها في الأكثر المنظَّمات غير الحكومية وهيئات الأمم المتحدة، وما دام عدد المعطيات التي تصدرها الحكومة قليل نسبياً، فإن مصداقية إحصاءات النازحين الداخليِّين هي محلّ شكٍّ في بعض الأحيان، ويندر أن تستعمل إحصاءات اليوم أو تُقْتَبَس.

وأخيراً، أنه يندر جَمْعُ المعطيات في المناطق القاصية. والنتيجة هي فَهْمٌ مجزّأٌ ناقصٌ للنُّزوح الداخلي ولحاجات النازحين الداخليِّين من حماية ومعونة.

على أنّه تُبذَلُ في المنطقة جهودٌ لتحسين وجود المعطيات والانتفاع منها. مثال ذلك: أنّ إثيوبيا والسودان يُنسّقان بينهما وبين مصفوفة تتبع التَّهجير التابعة للمنظمة الدولية للهجرة، وذلك في مشاركة معطيات التَّهجير وجَمْعِها جمعاً مشتركاً، ومن ذلك التقديرات الموسمية المتعدِّدة القطاعات. وفي الوقت نفسه، تعمل الصومال على وَضْعِ معطياتٍ لتسجيل للنازحين الداخليِّين مشاركةً أصحابَ المصلحة، وقد أدرجت مُشيراتِ للتَّهجير في خطة التنمية الوطنية الثالثة تُماشِي أهدافَ التنمية المستدامة في الأمم المتحدة.

خاتمة

صحيحٌ أنّ تبادلَ إيغاد في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر من سنة 2019 قد أتاح منصةً لتبادل الخبرة والمهارة في دعم الصُّمود لصعوبة المعيشة والحلول الدائمة للنُّزوح الداخليّ، ولكن يُحتاجُ إلى مزيدٍ من الجهد لمتابعة كلِّ دولةٍ عضوٍ في ميادين التنفيذ. وما يُحتَاج إليهِ على الخصوص أن تركز الجهود على أهمية اعتماد وتنفيذ القوانين والسياسات والمراسيم التي تعالج النُّزوح الداخلي، وعلى إنشاء قيادةٍ حكومية وتنسيقٍ فعّال بين أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين، وعلى ضمان وجود موارد تمويلٍ كافٍ ليّن الشروط، وعلى تحسين إتاحة المعطيات والانتفاع بها. ثم إنّأصحاب المصلحة اتفقوا على اعتماد مقاربةٍ طويلة الأمد في معالجة وحل مشكلة النُّزوح الداخليّ بإدراجها في خطط التنمية الوطنية وسياساتها. وتشمل أهدافهم في القيام بذلك إعانةَ النازحين الداخليِّين على استعادةِ إنتاجيَّتهم، وإقامةِ حواراتِ سلام ليسير التَّماسُك الاجتماعيّ، وكبحِ النِّزاع بإدخال آليّات إنذارٍ مُبكّر مُحسَّنة، وتوقُّعِ وطأة الأخطار الطبيعية وتخفيفها، ووَضْعِ آليّات لاندماج النازحين الداخليّين، والتركيزِ على ضمان حيازة الأراضي، ودعمِ المجتمعات المُضيِّفة للنازحين الداخليِّين.

 

چَارلِز أُبِيلا Charles.Obila@igad.int

موظَّف هجرةٍ، في منظمة إيغاد https://igad.int/divisions/health-and-social-development

 

أَرْيَدْنَا پُوْپ ariadna.pop@eda.admin.ch  

موظَّفةٌ دبلوماسية، في وِزارة الخارجيّة الاتحاديّة السويسريّة

www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/fdfa/fdfa/organisation-fdfa/directorates-divisions/directorate-political-affairs/hsd.html

http://bit.ly/SFDFA-HSD

 

[1] أعضاء إيغاد الثمانية (وإيغاد الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بالتنمية) هي: جيبوتي وإثيوبيا وإريتريا وكينيا والصومال وجنوب السودان وأوغندا.     

[2] IDMC (2020) Global Report on Internal Displacement 2020

(التقرير العالمي في النُّزوح الداخلي سنة 2020)

www.internal-displacement.org/global-report/grid2020

[3] القانون النموذجيّ للاتحاد الإفريقي لسنة 2018

 www.refworld.org/docid/5afc3a494.html

[4] Brookings Institute (2016) ‘Assessing National Approaches to Internal Displacement: Findings from 15 Countries

(تقدير المقاربات الوطنية لمعالجة مسألة النُّزوح الداخليّ: نتائج من 15 بلداً)

www.brookings.edu/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/From-Responsibility-to-Response-Nov-2011_ch1.pdf

 bit.ly/2011-Ch1

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Reflections on State experiences in the IGAD region

State-to-State exchanges in 2019 focused attention on what more is needed if governments in the IGAD region are to respond more effectively to high levels of internal displacement.

Internal displacement is a major concern in the IGAD region. The population of internally displaced persons (IDPs) across this eight-country trading bloc[1] has risen significantly since 2014, mainly due to conflicts in South Sudan and Ethiopia. At the end of 2019, an estimated nearly eight million people were internally displaced in the region as a result of conflict and violence. In addition, an estimated 1,753,000 people were displaced by disasters, mostly in Somalia, Kenya and Ethiopia.[2]

Disasters caused by drought, floods and landslides are currently the main drivers of displacement in Djibouti, Kenya and Uganda. While disasters also displace people in Ethiopia, Somalia, South Sudan and Sudan, conflicts are the main drivers in those countries and the resulting internal displacement is largely protracted.

The African Union had declared 2019 to be the Year of Refugees, Returnees and Internally Displaced Persons. It was also the 50th anniversary of the OAU Convention Governing the Specific Aspects of Refugee Problems in Africa (OAU Convention on Refugees) and the 10th anniversary of the African Union Convention for the Protection and Assistance of Internally Displaced Persons in Africa (Kampala Convention).  

It was fitting, therefore, that in October 2019 IGAD – in collaboration with the GP20 initiative and with the support of the Global Protection Cluster, the Government of Switzerland and the African Union Commission (AUC) – convened an exchange of experiences in supporting resilience and durable solutions to internal displacement. The exchange was held under the framework of IGAD’s Regional Consultative Process on Migration – an open platform to discuss and advance migration issues – and brought together over 100 government officials, representatives of national human rights institutions, experts, humanitarian practitioners, development actors and donors. This article reflects on some of the outcomes and lessons emerging from these discussions.

Importance of normative frameworks

IGAD convenes joint annual seminars on the Kampala Convention in collaboration with the International Committee of the Red Cross, AUC and UN agencies. These serve as platforms to advocate for the ratification and implementation of the convention by IGAD Member States and for discussion of the tools and support systems available to help them achieve this goal. At the 2019 annual regional exchange, discussions were extended beyond the Kampala Convention to include early warning systems, peacebuilding, data collection, funding and approaches to durable solutions at both national and sub-national levels. The annual seminars and exchanges, in which Member States are encouraged to showcase their progress in addressing IDPs’ protection and assistance needs, create an element of competition that works to exert a positive influence on Member States.

One of the most encouraging outcomes of the 2019 regional exchange was the general acceptance of the importance of adopting and implementing laws, policies and decrees addressing internal displacement. Normative frameworks help clarify government responsibilities, define responders’ roles and increase the predictability of humanitarian and development action by institutionalising collaborative arrangements. They also define IDPs’ rights and the measures to be taken to ensure they are fully protected. Accordingly, there was a dedicated session on law and policy at the exchange that facilitated the sharing of experiences on development and implementation of laws and policies on internal displacement. 

IGAD Member States have adopted various approaches and are in different phases of developing frameworks to address the needs of IDPs in their countries. At the regional level, the Kampala Convention is the only legally binding regional instrument on internal displacement, and all IGAD Member States expressed their political commitment to advancing its aims. As of October 2019, Djibouti, South Sudan, Somalia and Uganda had ratified the Kampala Convention. Ethiopia, which had signed the Convention, has since ratified it. Kenya and Sudan are yet to sign.

Kenya, South Sudan, Sudan and Uganda are also party to the Pact on Security, Stability and Development in the Great Lakes Region; this includes a Protocol on the Protection and Assistance to Internally Displaced Persons as well as a Protocol on the Property Rights of Returning Persons. In addition, most IGAD Member States have national laws, policies or frameworks on internal displacement.

Besides the need to have appropriate policies and laws addressing internal displacement in place, however, members of the workshop agreed that ensuring their implementation is key. Challenges to implementation that were highlighted by IGAD Member States include security concerns, limited institutional capacity, lack of resources and land for allocation, donor fatigue, inadequate data on IDP and returnee profiles, limited commitment of government stakeholders, and limited access to technology which may assist in the prevention of displacement (for example, for hazard risk assessment).

Efforts that have been made to address these implementation challenges include the 2017 Harare Plan of Action – the first action plan for the implementation of the Kampala Convention. In addition to establishing frameworks, its objectives are to promote and strengthen regional and national measures to prevent and eliminate the root causes of internal displacement and provide for durable solutions; to promote the obligations and responsibilities of States Parties; and to identify specific obligations, roles and responsibilities of armed groups, non-State actors and other relevant actors including civil society organisations. Key progress on implementing the Harare Plan of Action includes the adoption of the 2018 AU Model Law on Internal Displacement[3] and the establishment of a Conference of States Parties to monitor and foster compliance among AU Member States.

At country level, Somalia and Ethiopia have established Durable Solutions Initiatives (DSIs) which aim to facilitate collective action and cooperation between the government authorities at national, regional and local levels and the international community (UN, international and national NGOs and donors). DSIs support political ownership and leadership at the highest level, ensure community engagement and connect the necessary humanitarian, development and peace actors to support durable solutions for IDPs at policy, legislative, institutional, planning and operational levels. The DSIs in Somalia and Ethiopia have facilitated the ratification of the Kampala Convention and the drafting of national and sub-national IDP policies. They have also promoted shared understanding and use of common methodological tools among different stakeholders.

Centrality of government and multi-stakeholder coordination

There was a general consensus that government leadership – essential in identifying, coordinating and implementing durable solutions to internal displacement – requires the designation of a government focal point. Designating a government focal point is important for clarifying institutional responsibilities and for increasing government accountability.[4] Government leadership is essential if coordination is to be effective both vertically (between national, sub-national and local levels) and horizontally (across relevant ministries and other institutions). All IGAD Member States undertake such coordination, though in different ways.

An example of particularly effective multi-stakeholder coordination can be found in Sudan, where national and local government, national and local civil society, the private sector and the international community (including the UN, development banks, donors and international NGOs) engage in joint planning, programming and implementation through what are known as State Liaison Functions.

Joint activities encourage all parties to invest energy in conflict prevention and peacebuilding, including continued humanitarian assistance as well as multi-year investments in resilience. However, as the discussions revealed, the short-term nature of funding and the challenging fundraising context threaten the sustainability of the impact.

Sustainability of funding

The extent to which a government gives priority to funding for IDPs is an indication both of its level of awareness and of its commitment to IDPs. Stakeholders at the regional exchange stressed that governments need to allocate sufficient funding to support programmes to safeguard civilians against displacement, to assist and protect IDPs during displacement, and to create conditions that enable durable solutions.

The meeting established two key recommendations: first, ensure that adequate resources are made available through national and sub-national budgets and national development plans; and second, advocate for and mobilise additional flexible and multi-year funding for programmes across the continuum of internal displacement from prevention to durable solutions.

Availability of reliable data

Gathering good-quality data on IDPs and displacement-affected communities for durable solutions planning remains a challenge in the IGAD region. The data that are available are inadequate for several reasons.

First, the data currently collected on displacement are mainly tailored to informing humanitarian responses – and data systems are shaped accordingly. It was generally agreed that displacement data systems need to better address the humanitarian–development–peace/statebuilding nexus to help prevent and address protracted displacement and support sustainable (re)integration. Participants stressed that it was critical to transition to data systems that provide for longitudinal and longer-term information needs in order to better understand IDPs’ profiles and issues by using a multi-stakeholder data system rather than the current humanitarian driven, organisation-based systems. This may for instance require the integration of displacement data into the national statistical system.

Second, at the operational level, organisations conduct assessments for their own rather than joint purposes, using different methodologies and producing data of varying quality.

Third, there is also a lack of joint tools and harmonised processes to assess the contribution of durable solutions programmes and other broader collective outcomes.

Fourth, insofar as IDP data are largely collected by NGOs and UN agencies, it was pointed out that, since comparatively few existing data are produced by governments, the credibility of IDP statistics is sometimes called into question and the existing statistics rarely used or quoted.

Finally, data are rarely collected in remote areas. The result is a fragmented and incomplete understanding of internal displacement, including of the protection and assistance needs of IDPs.

Efforts are being undertaken in the region to improve data availability and usefulness. Ethiopia and Sudan, for example, are coordinating with IOM’s Displacement Tracking Matrix to share and jointly compile displacement data including multi-sectoral seasonal assessments. Meanwhile, Somalia is developing registration data for IDPs in partnership with stakeholders, and has included displacement indicators in its National Development Plan III in line with the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

Conclusion

While the IGAD exchange in October 2019 provided a platform to share experiences and expertise in supporting resilience and durable solutions to internal displacement, more effort is required to follow up with each Member State on areas of implementation. In particular, efforts need to focus on the importance of adopting and implementing laws, policies and decrees addressing internal displacement; on establishing government leadership and effective multi-stakeholder coordination; on ensuring the availability of adequate and flexible funding resources; and on improving data availability and usefulness. In addition, stakeholders agreed to embrace a long-term approach in addressing and resolving internal displacement by integrating it into national development plans and policies. Their goals in doing so include helping IDPs regain their productivity, establishing peace dialogues to facilitate social cohesion, curbing conflict by the introduction of improved early warning mechanisms, anticipating and mitigating the impact of natural hazards, developing IDP integration mechanisms, ensuring a focus on tenure security, and supporting communities hosting IDPs.

 

Charles Obila Charles.Obila@igad.int
Migration Officer, IGAD https://igad.int/divisions/health-and-social-development

Ariadna Pop ariadna.pop@eda.admin.ch 
Diplomatic Officer, Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/fdfa/fdfa/organisation-fdfa/directorates-divisions/directorate-political-affairs/hsd.html

 

[1] The eight members of IGAD (Intergovernmental Authority on Development) are Djibouti, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan and Uganda.     

[2] IDMC (2020) Global Report on Internal Displacement 2020 www.internal-displacement.org/global-report/grid2020

[3] AU Model Law on Internal Displacement www.refworld.org/docid/5afc3a494.html

[4] Brookings Institute (2016) ‘Assessing National Approaches to Internal Displacement: Findings from 15 Countries’ www.brookings.edu/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/From-Responsibility-to-Response-Nov-2011_ch1.pdf

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700