تحدِّيات الإقرار للاجئين في الهند

أشارت الهند مرّةً بعد مرّة إلى أنها مستمرّة في التزامها حماية اللاجئين، ومع ذلك يعرض نظامها المُزدوِج في الإقرار للاجئين صورةً للحماية مُعقَّدةً.

في الهند نظامٌ مُزدوِجٌ نادرٌ، تتقاسم فيه الحكومة ومفوضيَّة اللاجئين تقريرَ صفة اللاجئ. يُطلَب من طالبي اللُّجوء القادمين من البلدان غير المجاورة، وميانمار، أن يقصدوا مفوضيَّة اللاجئين لقرير صفتهم وإعطائهم ما يحتاجون إليه من وثائق. فتُجرِي عليهم مفوضيَّة اللاجئين في الهند تقرير صفة اللاجئ بما يماشي اتفاقية اللاجئين لسنة 1951 (التي لم تُوقِّع فيها الهند) ويماشي مبادئها التوجيهية الخاصّة، فتنشئ قائمةً لطالبي اللجوء واللاجئين الذين أقرَّت لهم بلاجئيَّتهم وتُشرِكُ في القائمة وِزارةَ الداخلية هناك. ومع ذلك، فإنّ عدم السماح لمفوضيَّة اللاجئين بإنشاء مراكز تسجيل عند الحدود تُوقِعُ عبئاً على طالبي اللجوء القادمين في تعرُّف إجراءات اللجوء والسَّفر إلى نيودلهي ليرفعوا طلباتهم، وفي نيودلهي موضع مكتب مفوضيَّة اللاجئين بالهند وهو الوحيد في أنّه يُجرِي تقرير صفة اللاجئ ويتيح خدمات الحماية.

وأما مَن قَدِمَ من الدول المجاورة في جنوبيّ آسيا، التي تربطها بالدولة علاقاتٌ حسَّاسة، فهم مطالبون بمعاملة وِزارَة الداخلية مباشرةً. ولكنّ إجراءات القيام بذلك ومعايير القرار المعتمدة عند وزارة الداخلية في مثل هذه الحالات ليست متاحة لعامّة الناس. وفي الماضي، منحت الحكومة اللاجئين الذين يصلون بأعدادٍ جمّة، مثل التِّبتيِّين والسريلانكيِّين (في سنة 1955 وسنة 1984، على الترتيب)، حمايةً مُوَقّتة في المخيمات والمستوطنات، وقد أُشِيدَ بالهند دولياً لحسن معاملتها هؤلاء اللاجئين. ومع ذلك، ففي حال مَن قَدِمَ حديثاً، لا توجد مبادئ توجيهية واضحة للسياسة في الحكومة، سِوَى توجيهاتٍ داخلية هنا وهناك يصدرها مسؤولون من وزارة الداخلية.

إطار العمل التشريعيّ

ولم يكن هناك إطارُ عملٍ قانونيٌّ مُحدَّد، فدرجت العادة أن تستند حماية اللاجئين في الهند إلى ما هو معتبطٌ من سياساتٍ تنفيذية، وقوانين مُتمِّمة، وأحكام قضائية. وإلى وقتٍ قريب، كان التشريع الوحيد في تعلُّقه بالهجرة الدولية هو قانون الأجانب لسنة 1946 وقانون أجوزة السفر لسنة 1967،  اللذين يَحكُمَان دخولَ الأجانب (المعرّفين أنّهم غير مواطنين) وإقامتَهم وخروجَهم. ومن سوء الحظ، أنّ هذه القوانين تعطي صلاحياتٍ واسعة في حَجْز الأجانب وإبعادهم عن البلد لدخولهم وإقامتهم دخولا وإقامةً غير قانونيَّين، ولا تميِّز في ذلك اللاجئين من غيرهم، لذا كانوا عرضةً للحَجْز والإبعاد أيضاً.

ولمّا لم يكن تشريعٌ مُخصَّص، سمحت المحاكم الهندية في بعض الحالات للمَحْجوزين الذين يظهر من أوَّل وهلة أنهم رفعوا طلب لجوء، تسمح لهم بقصد مفوضيَّة اللاجئين لتُقرَّر لهم صفة اللاجئ. على أنّ هذا مستثنىً من الجاري العمل به، ومثل هذا التدخُّل لا يحكمه معايير محدَّدة، ولكنه جارٍ على أساس كلّ حالةٍ على حدتها. ثمّ إن هذا يزيد تعقيده حين يكون طالب اللجوء من إحدى الدول التي تندرج فيها طلبات اللجوء في ولاية الحكومة الهندية، فليس لمفوضيَّة اللاجئين سلطة مُعيَّنة تبتُّ بها في طلبات اللجوء هذه. ونتيجة لذلك، قد يكون طالبوا اللجوء من هذه البلدان أكثر عرضةً من غيرهم للبقاء في الحَجْز، إذ لا سُبُل لهم لرفع طلب اللجوء.

ثمَّ من يُقَرُّ لهم بلاجئيَّتهم في مفوضيَّة اللاجئين يزوّدون ببطاقة شخصية، ولكنّ هذه البطاقة غير مُقرٍّ برسميَّتها واسعاً عند سلطات الدولة (بخلاف الوثائق المقرّ برسميّتها واسعاً التي تصدرها الحكومة للاجئين الداخلين تحت ولايتها). لذا كان نَيْل صفة اللاجئ من مفوضيَّة اللاجئين لا يتيح للاجئين حمايةً كافية، لأن عدم الإقرار برسميّة وثائقهم يعني أنهم لا يستطيعون دائماً الحصول على الرعاية الصحية أو التعليم أو الحقوق الأساسيّة الأخرى. ولِمَا انتشر من قلّة الوعي بمفوضيَّة اللاجئين أو شأنها في الهند، كثيراً ما ترى السلطاتُ نائلي الوثائق الصادرة عن مفوضيَّة اللاجئين مُقيمينَ إقامةً غير قانونية.

وممّا يجدر ذكره أن المحاكم الهندية قد تدخَّلت على مرّ السنين وأقرّت للاجئين بأنهم فئة مميّزة من «الأجانب»، ووسَّعت لهم الحماية الدستورية الأساسية. مثال ذلك: أنّه في قضية مُعلَمة، وسعت المحكمة العليا في الهند الحق في العيش والمساواة ليشمل اللاجئين، وإن كان ذلك الشمول محدوداً.[1] وأصدرت المحاكم تعليماتٍ إلى سلطات الهجرة بالالتزام الشديد بمبادئ الإجراءات القانونية الواجبة في قضايا الإبعاد، وسعت إلى تدخُّل مفوضيَّة اللاجئين لإجراء تقرير صفة اللاجئ والبتّ في طلبات لجوء المَحجُوزين.[2] وبالتشريعات التكميلية، مثل قانون الحق في التعليم الذي يسمح لجميع الأطفال (من غير نظرٍ إلى صفتهم القانونية) بالتسجيل في المدارس الحكومية، سُمِحَ للاجئين بالحصول على الحقوق الاجتماعية الاقتصادية الأساسية.[3] ومع ذلك، معظم الأحكام القضائية من هذا النوع جاءت من المحاكم الأدنى درجةً وليست تبلغ ما تبلغ محكمةٌ عليا في سابقة أحكامها، فكان معظمها من ثمَّ خاصّ بحالات محدّدة ولا يمكن تطبيقه تطبيقَ المبدأ العامّ. فقد يبلغ قانونٌ في إدارة شؤون اللاجئين إلى أبعدَ من حكمِ محكمةٍ في توسيع الحماية القانونية للاجئين حقّ التوسيع، ولا سيما أكثر اللاجئين مواطن ضَعفٍ.[4]

الهند واتفاق اللاجئين العالمي

كان تأييدُ الهند المُطلَق، والحالة هذه، لاتفاق اللاجئين العالمي سنة 2018 التزاماً مُسْتحسناً. ومع أن اتفاق اللاجئين العالميّ ليس صكّاً مُلزِماً قانوناً (ولعلّ لهذا شأناً عظيماً في تلقِّي كثيرٍ من البلدان إيّاه بالقَبُول، ومنها الهند)، فهو يُورِدُ شيئاً من «قائمة رغبات» في حماية اللاجئين، قد تُحاسَب الحكومات فيها. واتفاق اللاجئين العالميّ غير محتوٍ على أيّ بند محدَّد لتقرير صفة اللاجئ، وهو يذكر صراحةً الحاجة إلى وجود آليات قائمة لاستعراف اللاجئين وتسجيلهم وللبتّ المنصف والفعّال في طلبات اللجوء الأفراد. وبخاصةٍ، فقد أدّى ذلك إلى إنشاءِ مفوضيَّة اللاجئين فِرْقَة دعمٍ للقدرات في اللجوء، فقدّمت المهارة التِّقْنيّة للدول التي تحتاج إليها، لإعانة نظام اللجوء فيها على تحقيق الإنصاف والكفاءة والنَّزاهة والقدرة على التكيُّف. وفي هذا بيانٌ واضح لموقف مفوضيَّة اللاجئين الذي تكرِّره كثيراً، ومحصّله أنّ تقرير صفة اللاجئ جزءٌ من إنفاذ الدولة لسلطتها السيادية وأنّ هدف مفوضيَّة اللاجئين هو تيسير الأنظمة الوطنيّة في تقرير صفة اللاجئ ما أمكن ذلك.

ومع ذلك، لم تعرب الحكومة الهندية حتى الآن عن أي نية معروفة لتولي المهام في تقرير صفة اللاجئ، التي تتولاها مفوضيَّة اللاجئين اليومَ، وتسمح لها بإجراء الأعمال بموجب بنود مذكرة التَّفاهم المبرمة بين الطرفين. وفي الواقع، ونظراً إلى الإهمال العامّ لقضايا اللاجئين على المستوى السياسي وبين عامّة الناس، جاء أمر الإبعاد الصادر في آب/أغسطس من 2017 –الذي دعا إلى الإبعاد الجماعي لجميع الروهينجيِّين في الهند– دون سابق إنذار. [5]ولم يُشِر الأمر إلى وصولهم، من حيث هم قادمون من ميانمار، إلى مركز اللاجئين التابع لمفوضيَّة اللاجئين، ولم يُميِّز بين اللاجئين الذين أُقِرَّ لهم بلاجئيَّتهم ومَن لم تصدر مفوضيَّة اللاجئين وثائقهم بعدُ. هذا، وأظهرَ أنّ الحكومة الهندية لا ترى إلا قليلاً من القيمة القانونية في صفة اللاجئ التي تُقرِّرها للاجئين مفوضيَّة اللاجئين.

وقد برزت قضايا اللاجئين أخيراً في الخطاب العامّ بعَقِبِ التعديلات التي أُدخلَت في كانون الأول/ديسمبر من سنة 2019 على قوانين الجنسية الهندية، وهي تعديلاتٌ أثارت مظاهرات وطنية قادها المواطنون.[6] ويسمح القانون الجديد لجميع الأقليّات الدينية، سِوَى المسلمين من أفغانستان وبنغلادش وباكستان، برَفْع طلبٍ لنَيْل الجنسية، فأثّر ذلك في اللاجئين الذين تحت ولاية الحكومة والذين تحت ولاية مفوضيَّة اللاجئين جميعاً. ومن عجائب التَّقادير أن هذا القانون هو أول تشريعٍ في الهند يسعى إلى توسيع نطاق الحماية لتشمل اللاجئين. على أنّه لم توضح التعديلات أيضاً معايير منح صفة اللاجئ، ولذلك، ما يزال الإبهامُ مُكْتنفاً أعمال إدارةِ اللجوء وتقريرَ صفة اللاجئ.

ثم إنّ تآكل الشرعية التي تمنحها الحكومة لولاية مفوضيَّة اللاجئين في تقرير صفة اللاجئ هو دليلٌ على التدهور العامّ في أحوال الحماية. وصحيحٌ أنّ اللاجئين الذي سبق أن كانوا تحت ولاية مفوضيَّة اللاجئين يمكنهم إيجاد عمل في الاقتصاد غير الرسمي الواسع في الهند، ولكن أصبح هذا الأمر صعباً، وما يزال يصعب، في السنين الأخيرة بسبب القيود التي فرضتها الحكومة على توظيف مَن ليس لديهم وثائق صادرة عن الحكومة، ومثل ذلك، أنّه حتى الأنشطة الاقتصادية البسيطة مثل استئجار منزل أو شراء بطاقة ذكيّة (SIM) أصبحت شبه مستحيلة. وصحيحٌ أيضاً أنّ الحكومة سمحت سنةَ 2012 للاجئين الداخلين تحت ولاية مفوضيَّة اللاجئين برفع طلبٍ للحصول على سمة دخولٍ لفئة خاصّة تسمى سِمَة طويلة الأمد[7]، تسمح لحاملها بالوصول إلى التعليم العالي والعمل في القطاع الخاص، إلا أن إصدارها اعتباطيّ ومقيّد جدّاً، ولم يظهر من الحومة أن عندها نية للسماح للاجئين بالوصول إلى ضروبٍ أخرى من الوثائق، التي من شأنها تيسير حياتهم اليومية.

وهذه الأحداث، التي استمرّت في الثلاث سنين الماضية أو نحو ذلك، إنما زامنت ما يظهر بحسب خبرتنا وتحليلنا لاتِّجاهات تقرير صفة اللاجئ أنه مقاربة أكثر حذراً تجاه تقرير صفة اللاجئ من جانب مكتب مفوضيَّة اللاجئين في نيودلهي، وقد انخفضت معدلات الإقرار انخفاضاً مضطرداً، وأصبحت الجداول الزمنية لمعالجة القضايا أطول بكثير بلا عُذْرٍ فلم يصل من اللاجئين عددٌ يُسوِّغ طول هذه الجداول.

ثمَّ فوق كلّ ما حدث، أدَّت جائحة (ف-كورونا-19) إلى وَقْف تقرير صفة اللاجئ في الهند. إذ الإصابات، وهذه المقالة تُكتَبُ، آخذةٌ في الارتفاع بمعدَّل ينذر بخَطَرٍ، والظاهر اليومَ أنّ احتمالَ استئناف التسجيل وأعمال تقرير صفة اللاجئ، لتصل في وقتٍ قريب إلى قَدْر ما كانت عليهِ قبل الجائحة، يسير جدّاً. وسيؤدي هذا إلى ترك العديد من اللاجئين فلا يصلون حتّى إلى الحماية الأساسية من الحَجْز والإبعاد، التي تتيحها لهم وثائق ولاية مفوضيَّة اللاجئين. ولكن في أثناء هذه الحال، فالحاجة الحقيقية هي إلى المناصرة المحليّة والدولية مع الحكومة الهندية، لضمان أن تفي بالتزامها ما في اتفاق اللاجئين العالميّ وواجباتها في العمل الإنسانيّ.

رُوشِني شَنْكِر roshni@aratrust.in
مؤُسِّسةٌ ومديرةٌ تنفيذيَّة

هَمْسا فيجاراجافان hamsa@aratrust.in
مُدِيرةُ شؤونٍ قانونيَّة

مشروع الهجرة واللجوء، في نيودِلْهي، بالهند www.migrationandasylumproject.org

 

[1] National Human Rights Commission v State of Arunachal Pradesh and Anr, 9 January 1996, 1996 SCC (1) 742

(اللجنة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان ضدّ ولاية أرونَتْشَال بَرَديش وأَنَر)

[2] Ktaer Abbas Habib Al Qutaifi and Ors v Union Of India (Uoi) and Ors, 12 October 1998

(كتير عباس حبيب القطيفي وأورس ضدّ اتحاد الهند)

[3] Gulsher v Govt of NCT of Delhi and Anr, 17 October 2019 W.P.(C) 10833/2019 & CM No.44817/2019

(جولَشر ضدّ حكومة إقليم الصاصمة الوطنيّة في نيودلهي وأَنَر)

[4] ما يزال مشروع الهجرة واللجوء يشاركُ من قُربٍ في صوغ مُسوَّدةٍ لأوّل قانونٍ من نوعه، اسمه قانون اللجوء لسنة 2015. ولمّا كان مُطلِقُ مسوَّدة القانون عضو خاصّ في حزبٍ معارض، كان من المستبعد للقانون أن يُعتَمَد.

http://164.100.47.4/billstexts/lsbilltexts/asintroduced/3088LS.pdf

[5] Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India ‘Identification of illegal migrants and monitoring thereof – regarding’, 8 August 2017 www.mha.gov.in/sites/default/files/advisoryonillegalmigrant_10092017.PDF bit.ly/Gov-India-illegal-migrants-2017 Litigation against this order remains pending in the country’s Supreme Court.

(استعراف المهاجرين غير القانونيِّين ومراقبتهم)

[6] Ministry of Law and Justice (2019) ‘The Citizenship (Amendment) Act, 2019

(قانون الجنسية «المعدَّل» لسنة 2019)

 http://egazette.nic.in/WriteReadData/2019/214646.pdf

[7] Ministry of Home Affairs (2017) ‘Long Term Visa Policy & 2011 Standard Operating Procedure

(سياسة سِمَة الدخول الطويلة الأمد وإجراءات التشغيل القياسية لسنة 2011)

https://mha.gov.in/PDF_Other/AnnexVI_01022018.pdf

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700

Refugee recognition challenges in India

India has repeatedly signalled its continued commitment to refugee protection and yet its dual system of refugee recognition presents a complex protection picture.

In a rare dual system, refugee status determination (RSD) in India is divided between the government and UNHCR. Asylum seekers arriving from non-neighbouring countries, plus Myanmar, are required to approach UNHCR for the determination of their status and for documentation. UNHCR in India conducts RSD for them in line with the 1951 Refugee Convention (to which India is not a signatory) and its own internal guidelines, sharing the list of asylum seekers and refugees it has recognised with the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA). However, the fact that UNHCR is not permitted to set up registration centres at the borders places the onus on arriving asylum seekers to find out about the asylum process and travel to New Delhi – the location of UNHCR India’s only office that conducts RSD and provides protection services – to make a claim.

Those from neighbouring South Asian countries, with whom the State has sensitive relations, are required to approach the MHA directly. The procedure for doing so and the decision criteria adopted by the MHA in such cases are not publicly available. In the past, refugees arriving in significant numbers, such as Tibetans and Sri Lankans (from 1955 and 1984, respectively), were offered temporary protection by the government in camps and settlements, and India has been internationally lauded for its treatment of these refugees. However, for more recent arrivals there are no clear policy guidelines from the government, other than sporadic internal directives for MHA officials.

Legislative framework

In the absence of a defined legal framework, refugee protection in India has traditionally been based on arbitrary executive policies, complementary legislation and judicial pronouncements. Until very recently, the only legislation relevant to international migration was the Foreigners Act of 1946 and the Passports Act of 1967, which govern the entry, stay and exit of foreigners (defined as non-citizens). Unfortunately, these laws give wide powers to detain and deport foreigners for illegal entry and stay, and accord no differential treatment for refugees, thereby making them, too, vulnerable to detention and deportation.

In the absence of dedicated legislation, Indian courts have in certain instances allowed detainees with a prima facie asylum claim to approach UNHCR for RSD. This, however, is the exception rather than the rule, and such interventions are not governed by any set criteria but made on a case-by-case basis. Moreover, this process is further complicated when the asylum seeker is from one of the countries where asylum claims fall under the mandate of the Indian government, since UNHCR has no designated authority to adjudicate on such asylum claims. As a result, asylum seekers from this group of countries may be even more likely to remain in detention, given the lack of avenues for them to make an asylum claim.

Those who are recognised as refugees by UNHCR are issued with an identity card, but these are not widely recognised by State authorities (in contrast with the widely recognised documentation issued by the government to refugees who fall under its mandate). Having UNHCR-awarded refugee status therefore does not provide refugees with sufficient protection because a lack of recognition of their documentation means they cannot always access health care, education or other basic rights. Because of widespread lack of awareness of UNHCR or its role in India, those with UNHCR-issued documentation are often still seen by authorities as illegal residents.

Notably, Indian courts have over the years stepped in and recognised refugees as a distinct class of ‘foreigners’, and have extended basic constitutional protection to them. For example, in a landmark case the Supreme Court of India extended the right to life and equality to refugees, albeit to a limited extent.[1] Courts have also instructed immigration authorities to strictly adhere to due process principles in deportation cases and have sought intervention from UNHCR to conduct RSD and determine the detainee’s asylum claim.[2] And, by invoking complementary legislations such as the Right to Education Act, which allows all children (regardless of legal status) to be enrolled in government schools, refugees have been allowed access to essential socio-economic rights.[3] However, most judicial pronouncements of this kind have come from lower courts and do not have the same value as a precedent set by a Supreme Court ruling; furthermore, most are case-specific and cannot be applied as a general principle. A law on refugee management would go further than a court judgement in meaningfully extending legal protection to refugees, particularly the most vulnerable.[4]

India and the GCR

India’s fairly uninhibited endorsement of the 2018 Global Compact on Refugees (GCR) was, against this background, a welcome commitment. Although not a legally binding instrument (which may of course have played a considerable role in its being accepted by many countries, including India), the GCR does provide some kind of ‘wish list’ for refugee protection, against which governments may be called to account. While it does not contain any specific provision for RSD, the GCR does explicitly mention the need to have mechanisms in place for identification and registration of refugees and for the fair and efficient determination of individual asylum claims. More concretely, it led to UNHCR establishing an Asylum Capacity Support Group to provide technical expertise to those States that request it, in order to help their asylum system to achieve fairness, efficiency, adaptability and integrity. This is a clear statement of UNHCR’s oft-repeated position that RSD is part of the State’s exercise of its sovereign power and that UNHCR’s objective is to facilitate national asylum determination systems wherever possible.

So far, however, the Indian government has expressed no known intention of taking over those RSD functions that are currently undertaken by UNHCR, and allows UNHCR to conduct its processes under the terms of the Memorandum of Understanding that exists between the two parties. In fact, given the general neglect of refugee issues at a political level and among the general public, the Deportation Order issued in August 2017 – which called for the mass deportation of all Rohingyas within India – came without warning.[5] It made no mention of their access, as people coming from Myanmar, to UNHCR refugee status, nor did it distinguish between refugees who had already been recognised and those who had not yet been issued documentation by UNHCR. It also demonstrated that the Indian government attaches little legal value to the refugee status awarded by UNHCR.

Refugee issues recently came to the fore in the realm of public discourse in the wake of amendments made in December 2019 to India’s citizenship laws, which sparked nationwide citizen-led protests.[6] The new law allows all religious minority groups except Muslims from Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Pakistan to apply for citizenship, affecting both government-mandate and UNHCR-mandate refugees. Ironically, this is India’s first legislation seeking to extend protection to refugees. However, the amendments did not also clarify the criteria for the granting of refugee status and, as a result, asylum management and RSD processes remain shrouded in ambiguity.

The erosion of the legitimacy accorded by the government to the UNHCR-mandate RSD process is also in evidence in the general deterioration in protection conditions. Where previously UNHCR-mandate refugees could find employment in India’s vast informal economy, in recent years this has become increasingly difficult due to the restrictions placed by the government on employing persons without government-issued documentation; similarly, even simple economic activities like renting a house or buying a SIM card have become virtually impossible. While in 2012 the government allowed UNHCR-mandate refugees to apply for a special category visa called the Long Term Visa,[7] which allows the holder to access tertiary education and be employed in the private sector, its issuance is arbitrary and severely restricted, and there has been no move by the government to allow refugees to access other forms of documentation that would simplify their day-to-day lives.

These events, which have played out over the last three years or so, have also coincided with what, according to our experience and analysis of RSD trends, seems to be a more cautious approach to RSD on the part of the New Delhi UNHCR office whose recognition rates have steadily decreased and case-processing timelines become far longer, without any proportionate increase in refugee arrivals.

Against this backdrop, the COVID-19 pandemic has brought RSD to a grinding halt in India. With infections rising at an alarming rate at time of writing, there currently seems to be little possibility of resuming registration and RSD activities at pre-pandemic levels any time soon. This will leave many refugees without access to even the basic protection against detention and deportation that is offered by UNHCR-mandate documentation. In the interim, the real need is for both domestic and international advocacy with the Indian government to ensure that it lives up to its GCR commitments and humanitarian obligations.

 

Roshni Shanker roshni@aratrust.in
Founder and Executive Director

Hamsa Vijayaraghavan hamsa@aratrust.in
Legal Director

Migration and Asylum Project (M.A.P), New Delhi, India www.migrationandasylumproject.org

 

[1] National Human Rights Commission v State of Arunachal Pradesh and Anr, 9 January 1996, 1996 SCC (1) 742

[2] Ktaer Abbas Habib Al Qutaifi and Ors v Union Of India (Uoi) and Ors, 12 October 1998

[3] Gulsher v Govt of NCT of Delhi and Anr, 17 October 2019 W.P.(C) 10833/2019 & CM No.44817/2019

[4] M.A.P has been closely involved in the only draft bill yet to be introduced, The Asylum Bill, 2015. As a Private Member’s bill introduced by a member of the opposition party this is, however, unlikely to be adopted. http://164.100.47.4/billstexts/lsbilltexts/asintroduced/3088LS.pdf

[5] Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India ‘Identification of illegal migrants and monitoring thereof – regarding’, 8 August 2017 www.mha.gov.in/sites/default/files/advisoryonillegalmigrant_10092017.PDF Litigation against this order remains pending in the country’s Supreme Court.

[6] Ministry of Law and Justice (2019) ‘The Citizenship (Amendment) Act, 2019’ http://egazette.nic.in/WriteReadData/2019/214646.pdf

[7] Ministry of Home Affairs (2017) ‘Long Term Visa Policy & 2011 Standard Operating Procedure’ https://mha.gov.in/PDF_Other/AnnexVI_01022018.pdf

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700