السوريُّون في ألمانيا: الأسباب التي تدعو الأفراد إلى العودة أو البقاء

ليس اللاجئون السوريُّون في أوروبا جماعة واحدةً متجانسة، إنما هم أفراد وأُسَرٌ جاؤوا من بقاعٍ سورية مختلفة، فتجاربهم في المنفى مختلفة، وتوقُّعاتهم في العودة مختلفة.

يُشِيرُ بحثٌ أُجْرِيَ على اللاجئين السوريين في ألمانيا إلى أنَّ عودةَ اللاجئين الذين كانوا موظَّفين في سورية -ولا سيَّما الذين وظَّفتهم الحكومة- تَرْجِحُ على عودة غيرهم.[i] وينطبق هذا خصوصاً على الذين تزيد سِنُّهم على 40 عاماً، فهم يميلون إلى استصعاب تعلُّم لغة المجتمع الذي يُضيِّفُهم وإيجاد وظيفة تُناسِبُ درجاتهم التعليمية، وهم في استصعاب ذلك أكثر من اللاجئين الأصغر منهم سناً. كل هذا، فضلاً على أنَّ المستطيعين العودةَ إلى وظائفهم السابقة يمكن أنْ يستأنفوا عَيْشَهم في بلادهم الأصلية استئنافاً سهلاً. وتشعر هذه الفئة من اللاجئين أيضاً، أكثر من غيرها، باقتلاعها من ثقافتها، وتحنُّ إلى أنْ تعود إلى عيشتها السابقة.

ولكنْ قد تكون العودة الطوعية التي تُصَانُ فيها الكرامة على فئات اللاجئين السوريين الأخرى أصْعَبُ. من ذلك مثلاً، وفق المكتب الاتحادي للهجرة واللاجئين، أنَّ ثلاثة أرباعٍ إلا قليلاً (أي 73.8% - 532 ألفَ شخصٍ و799 شخصاً) من طالبي اللجوء في ألمانيا عام 2016 -ومنهم السوريُّون- يَصْغُرُون عن 30 عاماً. عُلِّمَ معظمهم ودُرِّبوا في ألمانيا وتعلَّموا اللغة الألمانية، ويكسب كثيرٌ منهم راتباً جيداً، ويَرَوْنَ أنَّهم مندمجون في المجتمع الألماني. ومع ذلك، لن يفيدهم شيءٌ من مؤهلاتهم في سورية. ولذا، لا يُحتمَل أنْ تَرْغَبَ هذه الفئة من اللاجئين في العودة إليها. فلو أنَّ هؤلاء اللاجئين الشباب الذين يكسبون اليومَ رزقهم في ألمانيا بَقَوْا في سورية، لَنُظِرَ إلى كثيرٍ منهم على أنَّهم، بحسب المعايير التعليمية السورية، ذوو درجةٍ تعليميةٍ رديئة، ولَعاشوا عيشةً صعبة جداً، حتَّى لو كان ذلك قبل الحرب، ولَعملوا غالباً في أعمال صعبة تقتضي منهم جهداً جسمانياً في البناء والزراعة. وبعد ما أصبحوا يتمتعون به من أمْنٍ وتأمين اجتماعيٍّ وصحيٍّ، وأهم من كل ذلك، كرامتهم المُصانَةُ في ألمانيا، فغير مُحتمَلٍ أنْ يختاروا العودة إلى سورية.

وأمَّا العودة الطوعية التي تُصَان فيها الكرامة، فالظاهر أنَّ حال الأطفال اللاجئين -ولا سيَّما الذين وُلِدُوا في ألمانيا أو الذين كانت سِنُّهم أقل من سبعةٍ يومَ قَدِمُوا- هي أصعب الأحوال. فقد اندمج هؤلاء الأطفال كلَّ الاندماج في النظم التعليمية المضيفة، وهم لا يعرفون قراءة اللغة العربية ولا كتابتها. وفي بعض الحالات، لا يتكلَّم الأطفال اللاجئون إلا بلهجة أمهاتهم وآبائهم (وليست هي اللغة العربية الفصحى التي يُتعلَّمُ بها في المدارس السورية)، حتى إنَّ بعضهم لا يستطيعون التكلُّم بلهجة أمهاتهم وآبائهم. والواقع أنَّ كثيراً منهم يَكْثُرُ أن يغلب عليهم كونهم من مواطني البلاد التي يعيشون فيها الآن، لا البلاد التي يأتي منها الآباء والأمهات. وستكون العودة إلى المجتمع السوري ونظمه التعليمية عليهم صعبةً. فإن أفرطَ في تبسيط أمرهم وصُنِّفوا سوريِّين بسبب جنسية آبائهم، فمن المُحتمَل، إن هم عادوا إلى سورية، أن يغالبوا الدراسة وأن يشعروا بأنهم مجفوُّون من المجتمع. وهذا يخالف اتفاقية حقوق الطفل، ولا سيَّما التعليق العام رقم 6 الذي يقول: "لا يجوز للدول إعادة طفلٍ إلى بلد فيه أسباب حقيقية تدعوا إلى الاعتقاد بوجود خطر يُعرِّض الطفل لضرر لا يُعوَّض".[ii]

ليس اللاجئون السوريُّون في أوروبا جماعة واحدةً متجانسة، وإن طُبِّقتْ عليهم جميعاً سِيَاسةُ عودةٍ واحدة غير متمايزة، فسيُضِرُّ ذلك كثيراً منهم، ولا سيَّما الأطفال واللاجئين الشباب ذوي الدرجات التعليمية التي هي أقلُّ من غيرهم. ولذا، لا بدَّ أن يُوسَّع فَهْمُ خصوصية كلِّ مرحلةٍ من مراحل حياة الناس، وظروفِهم في المنفى ومراعاتها، وذلك من أجل أنْ تُضمَن لتهجيرهم حلولٌ، تَجْتمِعُ فيها المناسبة والطوعية والاستدامة.

أحمد العجلان ahmad.ajlan@uni-bielefeld.de

باحثٌ في معهد البحوث المتعددة التخصصات التي محورها النِّزاع والعنف، في جامعة بيلفيلد www.uni-bielefeld.de/ikg

 

[i] See Al Ajlan A (2019) ‘Older Refugees in Germany: What Are the Reasons for the Difficulties in Language-learning?’, Journal of Refugee Studies

(اللاجئون المسنُّون في ألمانيا: ما هي أسباب مصاعب تعلُّم اللغة؟)

https://academic.oup.com/jrs/advance-article/doi/10.1093/jrs/fez056/5532152

[ii]  اتفاقية حقوق الطفل، التعليق العام رقم 6 (2005) www.ohchr.org/en/professionalinterest/pages/crc.aspx

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Syrians in Germany: individuals’ reasons for returning or remaining

Syrian refugees in Europe are not one homogenous group but are individuals and families from different parts of Syria who have different experiences in exile and different expectations around return.

Research undertaken with Syrian refugees in Germany suggests that those refugees who were employed in Syria – particularly by the government – are more likely to return than others.[1] This is particularly so for those who are older than 40, because they tend to have more difficulty than younger refugees in learning the language of their host society and finding a job to match their level of education. Furthermore, those who are able to return to their former jobs can more easily resume their lives in their home countries. This group of refugees also feels more uprooted from their culture and yearns to regain their former lives.

However, it may be harder for other Syrian refugee groups to return voluntarily and with dignity. For instance, according to the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees in Germany almost three quarters (73.8%, 532,799 persons) of asylum seekers in Germany in 2016 – including Syrians – are younger than 30. Most of them have received education and training in Germany and have learned German; many are earning good salaries and feel integrated into German society. Yet none of their qualifications will be of use to them in Syria. This group of refugees is therefore unlikely to want to return. Many of these young Syrian refugees who are now earning in Germany would, by Syrian standards, have been considered to be poorly educated, and would have had very difficult lives even before the war, often doing hard physical work in construction or agriculture. After enjoying safety, social and health insurance, and – most importantly – dignity in Germany, they are unlikely to choose to return to Syria.

In terms of voluntary return with dignity, the situation of refugee children – especially those born in Germany or who were younger than seven when they arrived – seems to be the most difficult. These children have integrated fully into the host education system and cannot read or write Arabic. In some cases, refugee children can only speak the dialect of their parents (and not the standard Arabic language used in Syrian schools) while others cannot even speak their parents’ dialect. In reality, many of them identify more as citizens of the countries where they now live, not of the country where their parents came from. It will be difficult for them to return to Syrian society and its education system. If categorised simplistically as Syrians due to the citizenship of their parents, they are likely on return to Syria to struggle with their studies and feel alienated. This will be in contravention of the Convention on the Rights of the Child, especially General Comment 6: “States shall not return a child to a country where there are substantial grounds for believing that there is a real risk of irreparable harm to the child.”[2]

Syrian refugees in Europe are not one homogenous community, and applying one undifferentiated return policy to them all will be harmful to many, especially children and less educated younger refugees. Considerations of people’s life stage and circumstances in exile need to be better understood and taken into account in order to ensure appropriate, voluntary, sustainable solutions to their displacement.

 

Ahmad Al Ajlan ahmad.ajlan@uni-bielefeld.de
Researcher, Institute of Interdisciplinary Research on Conflict and Violence, Bielefeld University www.uni-bielefeld.de/ikg    

 

[1] See Al Ajlan A (2019) ‘Older Refugees in Germany: What Are the Reasons for the Difficulties in Language-learning?’, Journal of Refugee Studies
https://academic.oup.com/jrs/advance-article/doi/10.1093/jrs/fez056/5532152

[2] Convention on the Rights of the Child, General Comment No 6 (2005)
www.ohchr.org/en/professionalinterest/pages/crc.aspx

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview