سياسة العودة من الأردن إلى سورية

أصبح الاستعداد لعودة اللاجئين السوريِّين مسألةً بارزةً في الأردن، غير أنَّ احتمال وقوع العودة يثير من المخاوف الكثير.

يعيش اليومَ في الأردن نحوٌ من مليونٍ و400 ألفِ لاجئٍ سوريٍّ، ثلاثة أرباعٍ منهم، على حسب المنظمات غير الحكومية، ينوون العودة إلى سورية في وقتٍ ما في المستقبل. وينبغي أن تقوم العودة إلى البلد الأصلي على حريَّة القرار، وعلى صدور القرار عن علمٍ، مع التزامٍ تامٍّ من البلد الأصلي بإعادة الإدماج. ولكنْ يواجه السوريُّون الذين ينوون العودةَ احتمالَ العودة إلى نظامٍ سلطويٍّ ليس له اهتمامٌ يُذْكَر في دَعْمِ إعادة إدماجهم. هذا فضلاً على صعوبة ضمان أيِّ قدرٍ من الأمن للاجئين العائدين، وذلك بسبب استمرار النِّزاع الشَّديد في سورية.

ومنذ بداية النِّزاع تقع حالات عودةٍ عفويةٍ كثيرة العدد. ولكنْ لم تتَّخذ الحكومة الأردنية والهيئات التي تتبعها إلى الآن أيَّة تدابير لتيسير عودةٍ طوعيةٍ، رسميةٍ، واسعة النطاق. لا بل فعلت عكس ذلك، فعلى الرغم من إعادة فَتْحِ المعبر الحدودي بين نصيب وجابر في شهر أكتوبر/تشرين الأول عامَ 2018، أعلنت الحكومة الأردنية أنَّها لا تدعم عودة السوريِّين في الوقت الحاضر.[1] لكنْ لمَّا لم تُبتَدأ برامِجُ عودةٍ رسميَّةٌ بين البلدين، أصبح الاستعداد للعودة مسألةً بارزةً في الأردن.[2]

معوِّقات العودة من الأردن
يختلف أمْرُ الأردن في زيارات الاطِّلاع على ما يجريعن غيره من البلاد التي يعود منها اللاجئون السوريُّون، فهذه الزيارات عند اللاجئين السوريِّين في الأردن غير ممكنةٍ. ففي حالة الأردن، ليس للمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين بنية تحتية، ولا ترتيبات بينها وبين الحكومتين السورية والأردنية، لكي تُيسِّرَ هذه الزيارات. وقد حافظت الحكومة الأردنية على علاقات دبلوماسية ظاهرية مع سورية، ولكنْ ليس إلى حدٍّ تُرتِّب فيه معها زياراتِ الاطلاع على ما يجري. ثم إنَّ فكرةَ الزيارة للاطِّلاع على ما يجري من أوَّلها مشكوكٌ فيها، فانعدام الأمن داخل سورية مستمرٌ، ثم هل سيستطيع اللاجئون، في الواقعِ، المُضيَّ في هذه الزيارة ثم الرجوعَ من بعدُ؟

وفي ظلِّ القانون السوري، تجب الخدمة العسكرية على الرجال السوريِّين الذين تقع سِنُّهم بين 18 و42، أو يواجهون خطر الحَبْس أو التجنيد القسري. وأكثر المجنَّدين في سورية يخدمون في الجيش منذ بداية النِّزاع، إلى أجلٍ غير مُعيَّنٍ، وأصبحت الكبْسات التي تشنُّها السلطات على الأحياء والمنازل بحثاً عن المجنَّدين المطلوبين وأفراد الاحتياط شائعةً. ويستعمل نظام الأسد أيضاً وسائل الإعلام الحكومية ورجال الدين للترويج لصورة الذين يخدمون في جيشه وأسرهم على أنَّهم أهل الشَّرف، وأمَّا الفارُّون من الخدمة فيصفهم من الصفات ما يذمُّهم. وأمرٌ آخر يشبه ذلك، وهو إظهار السوريِّين الذين تركوا البلد في أثناء النِّزاع في صورةٍ سيئة، ويخشى كثيرٌ منهم الأعمال الانتقامية، بسبب الجُبْن المزعوم أو عدم تأييد النظام.

ومنذ بدء النِّزاع، أصبح الاغتصاب والعنف الجنسي وسيلتَينِ فاشِيَتينِ يستعملهما نظام الأسد وفصائل المتمرِّدين. ولقد وقع العنفُ الجنسيُّ في النِّزاع السوريِّ على النساء والرجال على السَّواء. فصحيحٌ أنَّ أكثر العنف الجنسيَّ واقعٌ على النساء والفتيات، ولكنْ كُشِفَتْ أدلَّةٌ عظيمة الشأن على استعمال العنف الجنسي استعمالاً منتظماً في تعذيب الرجال والفتيان، ولا سيَّما في مراكز الاحتجاز السورية.[3] وعند النساء والرجال في سورية، يُخفَى العنف الجنسي غالباً، وجزءٌ من السبب في ذلك هو الوصمة الاجتماعية الشديدة في الحديث الصريح العلني عن ذلك، وهذا من ثمَّ يجعل من أمر المساءلة ملتبساً. ففي حالاتٍ أخرى، بعد انتهاء النِّزاع، سُلِكَتْ سُبُل العدالة التصالحية لمحاسبة مرتكبي العنف الجنسيِّ، وللترويج للمصالحة الطويلة الأمد. فإن كانت إستراتيجيَّات المساءلة والمصالحة ستُطبَّقُ في سورية، فعلى من سيُطبِّقها مراعاة ما تقدَّم من عوامل.

ويواجه اللاجئون المثليون والمثليات ومزدوجو الميل الجنسي ومغايرو الجندر وأحرار الهوية والميول الجنسية وحاملو صفات الجنسين (إل جي بي تي آي كيو+) معوِّقات معيَّنة في الطريق إلى العودة. فقد عانى كثيرٌ منهم من الاضطهاد داخلَ سورية وخارجها ما هو أشدُّ من الذي عانوه قبل النِّزاع. فالقانون السوريُّ ينصُّ على عقاب مَن يمارس أنشطة المثلية الجنسية في حكم حَبْسٍ قد يصل إلى مدة ثلاث سنوات. وكثيراً ما يعاني لاجئو الـ(إل جي بي تي آي كيو+) صعوبةً أشدَّ من غيرهم في إيجاد الوظائف وفي الوصول إلى الشبكات الاجتماعية، في مناطقهم الأصلية وخارجها، وهذان أمران إن يُسِّرا، فسيدعمان إعادة إدماجهم المستدامة أو عودتهم المستدامة. والأردن بلدٌ أكثر لبراليَّةً بالقياس إلى غيره، ولكن ما يزال لاجئو الـ(إل جي بي تي آي كيو+) فيه يواجهون مخاطرَ حمائيةً، وتمييزاً، وسوءَ معاملةٍ.[4] فلا بدَّ من فَهْمِ هذه الأحوال عند التخطيط لإستراتيجيَّات العودة الطوعية، هذا إن كانت العودة حلاً دائماً.

ثقافة التَوَهان
نجاح مشروع حالات العودة الرسمية مُعْتَمِدٌ على حصول اللاجئين على معلوماتٍ كاملةٍ عن الحال، غير أنَّ الشائعات تُعوِّقُ قدرة الكثيرين على اتِّخاذ قراراتهم عن علمٍ. ولقد مكَّنت منصات التواصل الاجتماعي كالوتسآب والفيسبوك الناس من معرفة مدى التخريب الواقع، وذلك من طريق الأسرة أو الأصدقاء والجيران. ومع ذلك، دفع انهمار المعلومات المستمرُّ عن الحال وعن استحسان العودة من عدمه كثيراً من اللاجئين إلى التحدُّثِ إليَّ مُعبِّرين عمَّا يغلب عليهم من مشاعر التَوَهان.

فعلى سبيل المثال، في شهر أبريل/نيسان من عام 2018، أقرَّت حكومة الأسد قانونَ ملكيَّةٍ، رقمه 10، سمح للسكان بمدة 30 يوماً فقط لإثبات ملكيَّة ما يملكون في ما يُسمَّى المناطق التنظيمية، حُدِّدَ أكثرها في المناطق التي تمرَّدت على الحكومة السورية بعد عام 2011. ويمكِّن هذا القانون السلطات من مصادرة الأملاك العقارية من غير أن تعوِّضَ أصحابها أو أن تُتِيحَ لهم استئناف الحكم. وفي شهر نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني من عام 2018، بعد ضغوطٍ دولية، أصدر الرئيس الأسد تعديلاً لذلك القانون يُتِيحُ للسوريِّين مدة سنة لكي يعودوا في خلالها إلى سورية ويطالبوا بأملاكهم. ولكنَّ نهاية المدَّة الحقيقية ملتبسةٌ على كثيرٍ من اللاجئين، ويفتقر أكثرهم إلى وثائق إثبات الهوية أو الملكية، وهذا قبْلَ كلِّ شيءٍ حاجزٌ بينهم وبين مطالبتهم بأملاكهم. ثم هناك زَعْمٌ واسعٌ انتشاره -لا يقوم على أساسٍ إلى الآن- أنَّ القانون رقم 10 يسمح للشركات الإيرانية (التي لها طموحٌ ماليٌّ في سورية) بنزع الملكية من أملاك السوريِّين الذين في المنفى.

فأنشأت هذه الظروف التي تسودها الفوضى، والتغيُّرات السياسية المتكرِّرة، والأخبار غير الصادقة السائرة بين الناس من طريق وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي، كلُّ هذا، أنشأ من القلق والحَيْرة ما هو عظيم. وهذا مجالٌ من المجالات التي رَكَزْت المنظمات الإنسانية جهدها فيه، فهي تعمل على رصد أحوال العائدين، وعلى رَتْقِ الخروق في المعلومات، وعلى الدعوة إلى حضِّ نظام الأسد على مراعاة هذه الهموم. وتعمل لجنة الإنقاذ الدولية، مثلاً، على تنمية مهارات موظَّفيها في الاستماع الاجتماعي وفي رَصْدِ ما يجري في قنوات وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي وإدارتها، وذلك لتحديد الأخبار غير الصادقة، ولدعم التواصل المجدي بين اللاجئين الذين ينوون العودةَ.

وفي الوقت نفسه، تواجه المنظمات الإنسانية تحدِّياتٍ في تنفيذ حالات العودة الطوعية الرسمية. إذ تنشط في سورية هيئات الأمم المتحدة وبعض الجهات الفاعلة من المجتمع المدني، ولكنْ على الرغم من أنَّ الحدودَ مفتوحةٌ، لا يُسْمَحُ بأيِّ عملٍ خَدَمِيٍّ عابرٍ للحدود اليومَ تقوم به المنظمات، التي تُتِيحُ إقامة الخدمات قبل الحاجة إليها، للاجئين السوريِّين في الأردن. والذي سيحدث غالباً أنَّ العاملين في المجال الإنساني سيفاوضون الجهات الفاعلة في القطاع الخاص عند نظام الأسد وروسيا في تيسير دَعْمِ عودة اللاجئين إلى بلدهم.

سياسة العودة الطوعيَّة
ورد على الحكومة الأردنية من عند الاتحاد الأوروبي من المعونة المالية ما هو عظيمٌ، منذ بدء التَّهجير الشامل إلى الأردن. ولقد قال العاملون في المجال الإنساني الذين تحدَّثتُ إليهم إنَّ سبب امتناع المسؤولين الأردنيِّين عن المراوضة العامَّة على إدخال مشروعٍ للعودة في سياسة الحكومة هو، جزئياً، ناجمٌ عن أنَّ هذه المعونة المالية مرتبطةٌ باندماج اللاجئين في الأردن، فإن توقَّف الاندماج توقَّفت المعونة. ومع ذلك، ومع استمرار النِّزاع، واجه الأردن سَأَمَ المانحين، وهبوط الاستثمارات الدولية. ومع احتمالات الخطر هذه، يتساءل كثيرٌ من العاملين في المجال الإنساني، أيمكن حقاً أن تنظر الحكومة الأردنية قريباً في الحضِّ على العودة أم لا؟

ذلك، وحال لبنانَ كحال غيرها من الدول المضيفة الرئيسية في المنطقة، فقد اتَّخذَ إجراءاتٍ مُريبَةً لإنجاح عودة السوريين إلى سورية. إذ انتشرت في البلد لوحات إعلانية نقَّالةٌ توضح الخدمات اللوجستية في العودة إلى سورية وفوائدها، في محاولةٍ لحثِّ اللاجئين على العودة. ولكنَّ الاضطهاد المنتشرَ عموماً هناكَ، الواقعَ على اللاجئين، إنما يجعل استدامة سُبُلِ المعيشة الكريمة إلى المستحيل أقرب. وفي ظلِّ هذه الظروف، يصعب أن يُقَامَ لفكرة العودة الطوعيَّة وزنٌ. وقد أثارت هذه الأحداث أخذاً وردّاً في الأردن، في أمْرِ مَنْ عندها من اللاجئين السوريِّين. وتغيَّرت المواقف الاجتماعية من اللاجئين على مرِّ السنين، إذ أُضِيفَ السكان السوريُّون إلى عددٍ جدِّ كثيرٍ من اللاجئين الفلسطينيين والعراقيين واليمنيين والسودانيين والصوماليين، كانوا هُجِّروا من قبلُ. ثم إنَّ في الشائع الذائع بين الناس، أنْ يُحمَّل السوريُّون ذَنْبَ قِلَّة الموارد، مع أنَّ الذنب ليس ذنبهم، ولذلك يزيد أكثر فأكثر وَضْعُهم موضع اللومِ وسوءِ الظنِّ. ولقد تطابقت إعادة فَتْحِ الحدود مع الفِكْر الشائع بين الأردنيِّين عموماً في أنَّ السوريِّين طوَّلوا المُكُوثَ في الأردن حتَّى أمَلُّوا.

وما دام التساؤل يدور حول العودة الآمنة، لا ينبغي للبلاد المضيفة أن تُتِيحَ عوامل دَفْعٍ لتحفيز عودة اللاجئين، ولكنْ ينبغي أن تستمرَّ في نماذج اندماجٍ محليٍّ، من مثل الاندماج المحليِّ بتيسير الوصول إلى التعليم والتوظيف والتدريب. ولقد فُتِحَ سبيلٌ إلى الشكِّ في القطاعات التي يتوظَّف فيها السوريُّون، وكان ذلك جزءاً من النقد الشديد الذي أصاب ميثاق الأردن. إذ لم يُدرِجْ ميثاق الأردن مهناً لا غنىً عنها، كالطب والتعليم والهندسة، بين القطاعات التي يستطيع السوريُّون العمل فيها، وبذلك منع الميثاق السوريِّين من اكتساب الخبرة في هذه المهن، التي لها شأنٌ عظيمٌ في إعادة بناء سورية. وأمَّا المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية والدولية، فإنَّ عملها في إتاحة أماكن للتعليم الجامعي، والتدريب المهني، لشباب اللاجئين السوريِّين لَيُثِيرُ الإعجاب، وقد أقام اللاجئون السوريُّون كثيراً من الأعمال المُبْتَكَرة في الأردن. ومثال ذلك، أنَّ صاحبةَ عملٍ سوريةً تدعم أكثر من 100 امرأة سورية بعقود عمل ليِّنةٍ شروطها (كأنْ تعمل بعضهنَّ من منازلهنَّ) في إنتاج الصابون والمنسوجات من خلال جمعية لاجئاتٍ تعاونيةٍ، فتبعْنَ المنتجات من طريق الإنترنت ووسائط التواصل الاجتماعي. على أنَّ كثيراً من اللاجئين السوريين، يجدون تنقُّلهم مقيَّداً، ومجَالَ ما يطمحون إليه في التوظيف مُضيَّقاً.

هذا، وفي حُسْنِ ترحيب البلاد المضيفة باللاجئين مصلحة للجميع. فقبل كلِّ شيءٍ، يجب الاستماع إلى أصوات اللاجئين، إن أُرِيدَ لمشروعي العودة والاندماج أن ينجحا. وأمَّا السياسة التقييدية، المعقَّدة اعتباطاً، التي تبغض الأجانب، والتي تحدُّ من تنقُّل اللاجئين ومن فُرَص وصولهم إلى العمل والخدمات الأساسية، فقد تدفع اللاجئين إلى العودة التلقائية إلى بلدٍ غير آمنٍ. وإن ضُمِنَ للاجئين أن يستطيعوا العودةَ إلى بلدهم المضيف عودةً آمنةً، أو الانتقال إلى بلد آخر، إنْ هم اختاروا ذلك، فلقد يزداد عدد المشاركين في العودة المستدامة والطوعيَّة، وفي التأسيس لمستقبل سورية.

جوليا موريس morrisjc@uncw.edu

بروفيسورةٌ مساعدةٌ في تخصُّصِ الدراسات الدولية، بجامعة نورث كارولينا في ويلمنغتُن https://uncw.edu/int/morrisj.html

 

[1] Al-Khalidi S ‘Jordan’s PM appeals for more aid as most Syrian refugees set to stay,’ Reuters, 20 February 2019

(الأردن يطلب مزيداً من الدعم مع اعتزام أغلب اللاجئين السوريين البقاء)

 https://af.reuters.com/article/worldNews/idAFKCN1Q9290

[2] هذا بناءً على عملٍ ميدانيٍّ قائمٍ على علم وصف الأعراق البشرية، جرى بين شهرَي فبراير/شباط ومارس/آذار من عام 2019 في الأردن، مع لاجئين سوريِّين ومواطنين أردنيين ومنظمات دولية غير حكومية.

 Morris J (forthcoming) ‘Manufacturing Landscapes: The Politics and Practices of the Jordan Refugee Compact’, Refuge

(صناعة الأوضاع: سياسة ميثاق الأردن في اللاجئين وما درج عليه)

[3] Chynoweth S (2017) “We Keep it in Our Heart” – Sexual Violence Against Men and Boys in the Syria Crisis, UNHCR

("مكتومة في قلوبنا" - العنفُ الجنسيُّ على الرجال والأولاد في الأزْمَة السورية)

 www.refworld.org/docid/5a128e814.html 

[4] UNHCR (2017) Building Capacity for Protection of LGBTI Persons of Concern – Jordan

(بناء القدرة على حماية المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الجندر وحاملي صفات الجنسين في الأردن)

 www.refworld.org/docid/5a38dfe64.html

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The politics of return from Jordan to Syria

Return preparedness of Syrian refugees has become a prominent issue in Jordan, but the prospect of return raises numerous concerns.

An estimated 1.4 million Syrian refugees currently live in Jordan, of whom three quarters are calculated by non-governmental organisations (NGOs) to plan to return to Syria at some point in the future. Repatriation should be based on a free and informed decision with the full commitment of the country of origin to the reintegration process. Syrian returnees, however, face the prospect of returning to an authoritarian regime that has little interest in supporting their reintegration. Moreover, given the continued active conflict, guaranteeing any measure of security for returning refugees is difficult.

There have been significant numbers of spontaneous returns since the beginning of the conflict. However, the Jordanian government and affiliated agencies have so far taken no measures to facilitate large-scale formal voluntary returns. On the contrary, despite the reopening of the Jaber–Nasib border crossing in October 2018, the Jordanian government has publicly announced that it does not support Syrians returning at the present time.[1] But while no formal returns programmes have been initiated between the two countries, return preparedness has become a prominent issue in Jordan.[2]

Barriers to return from Jordan

Unlike in other host countries from which Syrian refugees are returning, ‘go-and-see’ visits are not possible for refugees in Jordan. In the case of Jordan, UNHCR does not have the infrastructure in place, nor the arrangements with the Syrian and Jordanian governments, to facilitate the trips. The Jordanian government has maintained a semblance of diplomatic relations with Syria but not when it comes to arranging go-and-see visits. Furthermore, the very idea of a go-and-see visit is questionable given the continuing insecurity inside Syria, and whether in fact refugees would be able to visit and return.

Under Syrian law, Syrian men between the ages of 18 and 42 must serve in the military or risk imprisonment or forcible conscription. Most conscripts have been kept in the army indefinitely since the conflict began, and raids by the authorities on neighbourhoods and homes in search of wanted conscripts and reservists have become common. The Assad regime has also utilised State media and religious leaders to promote the image of those serving in the army and their families as honourable, while depicting deserters in pejorative terms. A similarly negative image is projected of Syrians who left the country during the conflict, and many fear reprisals due to perceived cowardice or disloyalty to the regime.

Since the start of the conflict, rape and sexual violence have become a widespread tactic used by the Assad regime and rebel factions. Sexual violence in the Syrian conflict has been faced by both women and men alike. While women and girls often bear the burden of greater sexual violence, substantial evidence has also come to light of the systematic use of sexual violence and torture on adult men and boys, particularly in Syrian detention centres.[3] For women and men, sexual violence is often made invisible, partially from a deep social stigma of speaking out about it, which obfuscates accountability. In other post-conflict situations, restorative justice methods have been used to hold actors accountable and to promote long-term reconciliation. If accountability and reconciliation strategies are to take root in Syria, they must take these factors into account.

LGBTIQ+ refugees also face specific barriers to return. Many have encountered levels of persecution within and outside Syria that are higher than those they experienced pre-conflict. Under Syrian law, engaging in homosexual activities carries a sentence of up to three years’ imprisonment. LGBTIQ+ refugees also frequently have more difficulty in finding work and accessing familial and social networks both in and outside their home regions which can support their sustainable integration or return. While Jordan is a relatively liberal country, LGBTIQ+ refugees have still been found to face protection risks, discrimination and abuse.[4] Understanding these contexts is essential when planning voluntary returns strategies, if return is to be a durable solution.

A culture of disorientation

The success of a formal returns project depends on refugees having complete information about the situation but rumours hamper the ability of many to make informed decisions. Social media platforms such as WhatsApp and Facebook have enabled people to find out the extent of devastation from family, friends and neighbours. However, the constant barrage of information about the situation and whether or not it is advisable to return led many refugees to speak to me of overwhelming feelings of disorientation.

For example, in April 2018 the Assad government passed a property law, Law No 10, which gave residents just 30 days to prove their property ownership in so-called redevelopment zones that are largely in the areas of the country which rebelled against the Syrian government after 2011. The law enables authorities to confiscate property without compensating the owners or giving them an opportunity to appeal. In November 2018, following international pressure, President Assad issued an amendment giving Syrians a year to return and claim their property. However, many refugees are unclear as to which is the real deadline, and the majority lack identification or property registration documents to make the claims in the first place. Another widespread claim – so far unfounded – is that Law No 10 allows Iranian companies (which have financial aspirations in Syria) to expropriate the property of Syrians in exile.

These chaotic conditions, frequent policy changes, and circulation of misinformation on social media have created a high level of anxiety and uncertainty. This is one area where humanitarian organisations have focused their energies, working to monitor the returns situation, reduce information gaps, and advocate to encourage the Assad regime to take these concerns into account. The International Rescue Committee, for example, has been developing its staff’s social listening and social media management skills in order to be able to identify misinformation and support effective communication for refugees planning to return.

At the same time, humanitarian organisations face challenges in implementing formal voluntary returns. UN agencies and some civil society actors are active in Syria but, even though the border is open, no cross-border service work is permitted at the present time for organisations providing pre-existing services to Syrian refugees in Jordan. Instead, humanitarians will probably be negotiating with the Assad regime and Russian private sector actors to facilitate repatriation support.

The politics of ‘voluntary’ return

The Jordanian government has received immense financial aid from the European Union since the start of large-scale displacement to Jordan. Humanitarian practitioners I spoke with report that the reason why Jordanian officials have not publicly lobbied for a returns project as government policy is partially as a result of this aid funding tied to refugee integration in Jordan. However, as the conflict has continued, Jordan has encountered donor fatigue, and international investments have begun to drop. With these possible threats to funding, many humanitarian practitioners are questioning whether the Jordanian government might indeed soon consider encouraging returns.

Lebanon, like other major host States in the region, has already taken questionable steps to promote return to Syrian refugees. Portable displays explaining the logistics and benefits of returning to Syria have cropped up across the country in an effort to encourage refugees’ return. Meanwhile, a generally oppressive culture towards refugees makes sustaining a decent livelihood next to impossible. In these circumstances, the idea of return being voluntary is difficult to take seriously. These developments have sparked new debates in Jordan with respect to its own Syrian refugee population. Social attitudes towards refugees have altered over the years, as the Syrian population has added to substantial numbers of Palestinians, Iraqis, Yemenis, Sudanese and Somalis from earlier displacements. In public discourse, Syrians are often scapegoated for the scarcity of resources and are consequently increasingly being regarded as objects of blame and suspicion. The reopening of the border has coincided with the widespread sentiment among the Jordanian public that Syrians have overstayed their welcome in Jordan.

So long as there remains a question mark over return in safety, host countries should not provide push factors to incentivise refugee return but rather should continue with forms of local integration, such as through facilitating education, employment and training. The sectors in which Syrian refugees in Jordan can obtain employment have already been called into question as part of the much criticised Jordan Compact. By not including vital professions such as medicine, education and engineering among those sectors, the Jordan Compact prevents refugees gaining experience in such sectors, which are critical to rebuilding Syria. International and local NGOs are doing impressive work in offering university places and skills training to Syrian refugee youth, and Syrian refugees have set up a wide range of innovative businesses in Jordan. One Syrian businesswoman, for example, supports over 100 Syrian women on flexible contracts (some working from home) to produce soaps and textiles through a refugee women’s cooperative, selling the products online and through social media. Yet many Syrian refugees still find their movements restricted and employment ambitions curtailed.

It is in everyone’s interests that host countries make refugees welcome. Above all, the voices of refugees must be listened to if return and integration projects are to be successful. Restrictive, needlessly complicated, xenophobic policies that limit refugees’ movement and access to work opportunities and basic services may drive spontaneous returns to a country that is not safe. By guaranteeing that refugees can return in safety to their host country, or move to another country if they choose, more people might engage in sustainable and voluntary return, and help create a Syria for the future.

 

Julia Morris morrisjc@uncw.edu
Assistant Professor of International Studies, University of North Carolina Wilmington

https://uncw.edu/int/morrisj.html

 

[1] Al-Khalidi S ‘Jordan’s PM appeals for more aid as most Syrian refugees set to stay,’ Reuters 20 February 2019 https://af.reuters.com/article/worldNews/idAFKCN1Q9290

[2] Based on ethnographic fieldwork carried out in February and March 2019 in Jordan with Syrian refugees and with Jordanian and international NGOs. Morris J (forthcoming) ‘Manufacturing Landscapes: The Politics and Practices of the Jordan Refugee Compact’, Refuge

[3] Chynoweth S (2017) “We Keep it in Our Heart” – Sexual Violence Against Men and Boys in the Syria Crisis, UNHCR www.refworld.org/docid/5a128e814.html 

[4] UNHCR (2017) Building Capacity for Protection of LGBTI Persons of Concern – Jordan www.refworld.org/docid/5a38dfe64.html

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview