مَنْعُ النِّزاع على مستوى المجتمعات المحليَّة وبِنَاءُ السَّلام في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية والصومال

يزداد إدراك الحاجة إلى معالجة الأسباب الأصلية للتَّهجير، من خلال وجهة الرابطة الثلاثية، أيْ رابطة الإنسانية والتنمية والسلام. ويُظْهِرُ برنامجٌ مَقُودٌ محلياً في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية والصومال هذه المقاربةَ ويُتِيحُ المُفِيدَ من دروسٍ وتوصيات.

جاهد على مرِّ السنين القائمون على صناعة المعونة -وما يزالون- لإيجاد حلول دائمةٍ للتَّهجير، وذلك بسبب العوامل المُعقَّدة والمتشابكة التي يشتمل عليها الأمر. ويَنْشأ إجماعٌ على أنَّ التنسيق المُحسَّن بين الجهات الفاعلة في المجال الإنساني والمجال التنموي ومجال السلام (المعروفة باسم الرابطة الثلاثية‘) يمكن أن يُتِيحَ إطارَ عملٍ لمعالجة المسائل المرتبطة بالتَّهجير الذي يطول أمده، ومن ثمَّ إيجاد حلولٍ دائمة. وفي هذا السياق، وُضِعَ ونُفِّذَ برنامج منع النِّزاع وبناء السلام الذي تموِّله الوكالة السويدية للتعاون الإنمائي الدولي (Sida).[1]

ويُقصَدُ بهذا البرنامج إلى معالجة بعض الأسباب الأصلية للتَّهجير في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية والصومال. والذي أفاد تصميمَ البرنامج ثلاثَةُ مفاهيمَ أساسيةٌ، وهي:

أولاً: يَرْكُزُ البرنامج همَّه في فهم محرّكات النِّزاع البنيوية والفورية ومعالجتها. فأمَّا المحرِّكات البنيوية التي تُسْهِمُ في النِّزاع ولا تُسْهِمُ في العزلة، فإنما تقود إلى العنف. وهي ترتبط في الصومال وجمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية، بثلاث أزمات:  1) أزْمة الهوية (ومثال ذلك، طبيعة التركيب العرقي والقَبَلي وطبيعة المنافسة بين النُخَب)، 2) وأزْمة التمثيل (ومثال ذلك، طبيعة النظام السياسي والثقافة السياسية)، 3) وأزْمة النفوذ (ومثال ذلك، قدرة الدولة على أداء وظائفها السياسية). وأمَّا المحرِّكات الفورية، فهي التي تحوُّل الأسباب البنيوية إلى نزاعات يمكن أن تكون عنيفة. وتشتمل هذه المحرِّكات في الصومال وجمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية على: عدم المساواة في الحصول على المعلومات والخدمات وغيرها من المنافع العامَّة، والمشاركة غير المتكافئة في صنع القرار، واستعمال الهوية العرقية والهوية العشائرية خدمةً لأغراضٍ سياسية محدودةٍ جداً.

ثانياً: يَرْكُزُ أيضاً البرنامج همَّه صراحةً في السلام الإيجابي بدلاً من السلام السلبي. ويشير السلام السلبي إلى وقف العنف الجسماني المباشر. وأمَّا السلام الإيجابي، فهو إزالة العنف بنيوياً، أيْ إزالة عوامل كالمظالم المُستحكِمَة، وانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان، والعنف الجندري، والظلم الاجتماعي، والإقصاء، وضعف المؤسسات العامة ومؤسسات إدارة النِّزاع. وتهدف أنشطة بناء السلام الإيجابي إلى إزالة الأسباب البنيوية والمباشرة للنِّزاع العنيف أو اقتلاعها تدريجياً. ففي جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية، نستعمل الحصول العادل على الخدمات الصحية لجماعتَين عرقيَّتين (البانتو والتُّوَا) في تنجانيقا، وفي الصومال، نستعمل الوصول إلى العدالة في منطقة كاران ومنطقة هاول وَدَاق في مقديشو، من حيث هي نقاط دخولٍ للعمل على إنجاح السلام الإيجابي.

ثالثاً: تقتضي معالجة الأسباب الأصلية للنِّزاع مع منع العودة إلى العنف تحليلاً مراعياً لظروف النِّزاع، يُرَكَّزُ في معالجة العلاقة بين البرنامج وسياقَي النِّزاع والتَّهجير. ولقد أدرجنا هذا التحليل فهو جزءٌ من التقييم الأساسي، اعتماداً على ما يعرفه شركاؤنا المحليُّون، وذلك من أجل إلقاء الضوء على المجالات ذات الأوْلويِّة، في إستراتيجيات المخاطر وتخفيفها. ولقد أدرجنا أيضاً مقاربةً من مقاربات الامتناع عن الضرر، عن طريق تحديد مُفرِّقات‘ ’وجامعاتفي الأماكن التي فيها المشروع، وهي عناصرٌ في المجتمع، إمَّا تُفرِّق الناس (وهي مصادر للتوتُّر) وإمَّا تجمعهم (ويمكن تصييرها أداةً لحلٍّ المشكلات). وقد أعانت النتائج على وضع التصميم وإستراتيجيات التنفيذ في كلٍّ من مكوِّنات جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية والصومال.

البرنامج: الأسباب الأصلية والسلام الإيجابي
في قلب البرنامج محاولةٌ لدعم الناس المتأثرين بالنِّزاع بطرقٍ تجعلهم آمنين في مجتمعاتهم وتُمكِّنهم من التأثير في القرارات التي تؤثِّر في عيشهم. ويكون ذلك كذلك من خلال دعم الأنشطة الآتية التي تشتمل على روح الرابطة الثلاثية:

  • في العمل الإنساني: الاستجابة للحاجات الإنسانية بإيصال الخدمات مباشرةً، وتوفير المعونة القانونية، وتحسين المساءلة وإمكانية الحصول على الخدمات الصحية في المناطق التي إمَّا يحتاج فيها جزءٌ عظيمٌ من الناس إلى المساعدة الإنسانية أو فيها احتمال خطرٍ لنشوء تلك الحاجة.
  • في بناء السلام المحليِّ والتماسك الاجتماعي: تنفيذ الأنشطة التي تعزِّزُ التماسك الاجتماعي، كالحوار الذي بين المجتمعات المحلية والذي بين أفراد كل مجتمع محلي، والأنشطة التي تُشْرِكُ الجماعات المهمَّشة في عمليات صُنْعِ القرار حول خدمات الصحة والعدالة.
  • في الحُكْم المحلي وحُكْم القانون: رَكْزُ الهمِّ في تقوية المنظومات، وتطوير قدرة المكلَّفينَ المسؤوليةَ المسؤولين عن توفير خدمات الصحة والعدالة، مع زيادة قُدْرة المجتمعات المحلية ومعارفها (أي أصحاب الحقوق) على مساءلة المكلَّفينَ المسؤولية.

الملكيَّة المحليَّة جزءٌ لا يُستغنَى عنه في منهجية التصميم وفي تنفيذ كلا المشروعين. وتشتمل الشراكات على أفراد المجتمع والمُكلَّفينَ المسؤوليةَ، ولا سيَّما الجهات الفاعلة في الحكومة المحلية، والمجتمع المدني. فالجهات الفاعلة المحلية هي أفضل العوامل درجةً وأنسبها، وأكثرها فعاليةً واستدامةً، لتحسين المساءلة والاندماج، وتخفيف حِدَّةِ النِّزاع، وتحديد المشكلات المحلية وحلِّها.

ففي جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية، نعمل مع منظمة دينية محلية، اسمها اللجنة الأبرشية للعدالة والسلام (Commission Diocesaine de la Justice et Paix). وهنا يسهم البرنامج في تقوية الصُّمود، وحُسْن الحال، والمشاركة الشاملة لناسٍ من جماعتَي البانتو والتُّوَا العرقيَّتين، وذلك من خلال بناء السلام والوصول إلى المبادرات الصحية في منطقتين صحيَّتين هما نيونزو وكاليمي بمقاطعة تنجانيقا. ويعالج ذلك الأسبابَ الأصليةَ للنِّزاع بين البانتو والتُّوَا بإنشاء منابرَ في المجتمع المحلي وببَعْثِ النَّشاط الجديد فيها، وتُمَثِّلُ هذه المنابر كلتا الجماعتين العرقيَّتين.

وفي منطقة نيونزو، التي عانت فقراً مدقعاً وتماسكاً مجتمعياً متضرِّراً وعقوداً من انعدام الاستثمار، حُشِدَ المتطوعون من المجتمع المحلي، وانتُخِبوا لجاناً محليةً للسلام والصحة. ومن خلال هذه اللجان، يتعاون أفراد جماعتَي البانتو والتُّوَا بعضهم مع بعض لبناء السلام وللعمل على إرساء الانتعاش. وكون اللجانِ مُخْتلِطَةً أمرٌ ضروريٌّ لإعادة بناء الثقة. فقد مكَّنت دعوة اللجان، ومنها ما هو مع الميليشْيات المحلية، إعادةَ الأمن والمُهجَّرين إلى مناطق المشروع، إذ هي ساعدت على إنشاء الظروف التي يمكن من خلالها إعادة تأسيس الخدمات الصحية والحصول عليها.

ويعمل المُختصُّون الصحيُّون المجتمعيُّون على التوعية في قُرَاهُم، فيُوسِّعون المدارك حول الخدمات الصحية المحلية ويزيدون الثقة بها. ويستعمل الخدمات اليومَ من التُّوَا عددٌ كثيرٌ، أكثر من قبل، تلك الخدمات التي كانوا يتجنَّبون استعمالاها سابقاً مخافةَ التَّمييز وسوء المعاملة. فنساء التُّوَا اليومَ تخترْنَ أن تلدن في المراكز الصحية، لا المنازل، وعدد كثير منهنَّ، أكثر من قبل، يأتينَ بأطفالهنَّ لتلقيحهم.

وأمَّا في مقديشو، وفي الأجزاء الجنوبية والوسطى من الصومال عموماً، فأحد الأسباب الرئيسية للنِّزاع والتَّهجير هو انعدام قدرة الدولة على توفير الخدمات الأساسية، ومنها تنظيم نظامٍ قضائيٍّ عادلٍ صريحٍ وإدارته. ويعمل البرنامج في الصومال بالشراكة مع منطقتين: منطقة كاران ومنطقة هاول وَدَاق. ومُهمَّته تعزيز الوصول إلى نُظُم القضاء، وقدرات أفراد المجتمع والسلطات المحلية، وذلك لمَنْعِ النِّزاعات والمُنَازعات والقدرة عليها من غير عُنْف. ويعمل المشروع خصوصاً على تحقيق تغيُّر سلوكيٍّ عند مُتِيحِي الخدمة القضائية، بحيث يحمون الحقَّ في محاكمة عادلة، ويسعى البرنامج جاهداً إلى زيادة استعمال المواطنين الخدمات القضائية الآمنة، وإلى دعم المجتمعات المحلية لوضع إستراتيجيات للعمل الجماعي تشتمل على أصوات الناس كلِّهم، من غير نظرٍ إلى الانتماء العشائري.

ومن جهة أخرى، يعمل البرنامج من قُرْبٍ مع مجلِسَي المنطقتين، وهذا يُقوِّي التنفيذ المحليَّ والملكية والاستدامة. ويُضَافُ إلى ذلك، أنَّ ممثِّلي المجتمع المحلي -ومنهم النساء والشباب- كانوا من المشاركين في التحليل الأوَّلي لطبيعة النِّزاعات في مقديشو.

ثم اعترافاً بالتعددية القانونية في الصومال وتَفْضيلِ المجتمعِ المحليِّ النُظُمَ القضائية التقليدية والعرفية غير الرسمية، سعى المشروع إلى الخوض في قدرات ورغبة كلِّ من مُتِيحِي الخدمة القضائية الرسميين وغير الرسميين وبنائها، وذلك لإرساء الحقِّ في المحاكمة العادلة. إذ تساعد الأنشطة التشاركية كمنتديات أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين، ومنابر الحوار، والتخطيط لإجراءات تخفيف حِدَّة النِّزاع على أساس المجتمع المحلي، كل ذلك يساعد على إحداث تواصلٍ منتظمٍ بين المجتمعات المحلية والحكومة المحلية من أجل إدارة النِّزاع والوصول إلى العدالة. وهذا يُرسِي المساءلة بناءً على المُهمَّات والمسؤوليات المُتَّفق عليها.

الآثار التي تتركها السياسة والممارسة
صحيحٌ أنَّ البرنامج ما يزال في أوَّله، ولكنَّه يأتينا ببعض الدروس القيِّمة في مَنْع النِّزاع وفي بناء السلام. فالتعلُّم والبحث مُدرجَان في الدورة البرنامجية، واليومَ، في سنة البرنامج الثانية، نجد ثلاثةَ دروسٍ تستحقٌّ خصوصاً إلقاءَ الضوء عليها.

أثبت إيْصَالُ الخدمات أنَّه نقطَةُ دخولٍ مفيدةٌ، ومنْبَرٌ قويٌّ، تُنظَّمُ من خلاله مقاربات بناء السلام، ويُبنَى التماسك الاجتماعي بين الجماعات المُتَنازِعَة. ثم إنَّ تقويةَ المؤسسات المحلية، الحكومية وغير الحكومية، وتعزيز المساءَلةِ في إيصال الخدمات، أمرٌ ضروريٌّ، لتكون المقاربات مستدامةً ومَقُودةً محلياً. ويمكن أن ينشأ من خلال التطوِّع في القواعد الشعبية، تعاونٌ وعملٌ جماعي عظيمٌ.

ومثال ذلك، أنْ كان العمَلُ مع لجان المتطوِّعين في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية عاملاً رئيسياً في إرساء تمثيل النساء وجماعة التُّوَا العرقية الأقليَّة، في صُنْعِ القرارات المحليَّة. ولقد أعان ذلك على بناء الثقة وتبيين التعاون عملياً بين المجتمعات المحلية في حلِّ المشكلات المحلية. فإنْ أُرِيدَ بناء التماسك الاجتماعي بناءً ناجحاً، فلا بدَّ من فَهْمِ ديناميَّات القوة بين الجماعات، ومن معالجة أوجه عدم المساواة والمعوِّقات التي تحول دون مشاركة المُبعَدين، وهذا يقتضي أيضاً أنْ يُتَاحَ من الموارد ما يكفي الحاجةَ للتعويض عن كلفة المشاركة.

ويقتضي تعريف المؤسَّسات المحلية ودَعْمُها، مع الحفاظ على الحياد، فهماً عميقاً لديناميَّات النِّزاع المحلي. وهذا يتطلَّب تحليلاً مُنْتظماً مراعياً لظروف النِّزاع، واستعمالاً لمقاربات الامتناع عن الضرر. ويحتاج كلُّ هذا إلى توفير الموارد والدعم كما ينبغي، وإلى القدرة على التكيُّف استجابةً لفَهْمٍ ناشئٍ لما هو محليٌّ من حقائقَ وديناميَّات.

ولِمَا قُدِّمَ ذِكْرُه آنفاً آثارٌ واضحةٌ في المانحين وفي أعمال شركائهم في التنفيذ وسياستهم، فنورد هاهنا منها خمسة آثار.

أولاً: ينبغي للمانحين أن يطلبوا من شركائهم في التنفيذ أن يُقرُّوا صراحةً البرامج المستجيبة للحال والمَقُوْدَةَ محلياً، ويمكن أن يُيسِّرَ المانحون ذلك بدّعْمِ مقارباتٍ ألْينَ، تُدرِجُ التعلُّم في الدورة البرنامجية وتسمح بالتكيُّف. وكان أحد التحدِّيات التي تحدَّتنا أنَّ تصميم المشروع الأوَّليَّ اعتمد على نظرية تغيير عامَّةٍ عالميةٍ. ففي مرحلة تأسيس المشروع في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية والصومال، بعد إجراء البحوث الميدانية الأساسية، أدرك فريق المشروع أنَّ كلَّ مشروعٍ قُطْريٍّ يحتاج إلى نظريةِ تغييرٍ خاصةٍ بحالهِ، وهذا مِنْ ثمَّ أتى بفكرة التكيُّف في تصميم البرنامج. فلِيْنُ المانحين وتفتُّحُهم لقبول إدارة المشاريع المُتكيِّفة هذه أمرٌ لا غنىً عنه، كما بيَّنا بحالتنا في مقاربة الوكالة السويدية للتعاون الإنمائي الدولي.

ثانياً: ينبغي للعاملين في أوساط المعونة على إيجاد حلول دائمة للتَّهجير الناجم عن النِّزاع أنْ يستثمروا في البحث والتحليل المناسبَيْن. فعلى سبيل المثال، كي تُقَاس نتائج بناء السلام، مُهمٌّ أن نُدرِكَ أنْ ليس كلُّ شيءٍ يُحسَبُ يُحْتسَبُ به. فالتحليل الكيفي الوافر -الذي فيه سرد قصص وحكايات- إلى جانب التحليل الكمِّي يمكن أن يُتِيحَ لنا من عُمْق النظر في ديناميَّات بناء السلام ونتائجه ما هو أعمق من الذي تُتِيحُه لنا الأساليب الكميَّة وحدها.

ثالثاً: من المهمِّ تحطيم الحواجز بين العمل الإنساني والتنموي وبناء السلام. فالتزام الصفقة الكبرى[2] بالحلول الدائمة وبالرابطة الثلاثية مُرحَّبٌ به ما دام يؤكِّدُ أهميَّةَ التآزر بين مجالات التدخُّل هذه. وفي مستوى القاعدة الشعبية، لا يعيش الناس منعزلين بعضهم عن بعض، ولكنْ يميل العاملون في أوساط المعونة إلى أنْ يُنظِّموا ويعملوا منعزلين. ويمكن أن يكون هذا الانعزال مدفوعاً من تدفُّق تمويل المانحين في البيئات المتأثرة بالنِّزاع، التي تميل إلى أنْ تَفْصِلَ عمداً بين مجهود العمل الإنساني والتنموي وبناء السلام.

رابعاً: ينبغي تصميم آليات تمويلٍ لدعم الحلول المُحرَّكةِ محلياً للأزْمات التي يطول أمدها، وذلك باستعمال تدفُّق التمويل المشترك الذي يقصد إلى إدماج عناصر السلام الإيجابي، مع التركيز في معالجة بعض الأسباب الأصلية للنِّزاع العنيف والتَّهجير.

أخيراً، تُبِّين تجربتنا في تنفيذ هذا المشروع تبييناً عملياً أنَّه يمكن أن تشارك الجهات الفاعلة في مجال العمل الإنساني في بناء السلام المُحرَّكِ محلياً، ويمكن أن تشترك مع الجهات الفاعلة في المجال التنموي ومجال إرساء السلام، مع الحفاظ على الحياد وعدم التحيُّز. ولكي تنجح الاستدامة في حلول بناء السلام، من واجب الجهات الخارجية الفاعلة في بناء السلام أنْ تَفْهَم دوْرَ البنى المحلية والديناميَّات المحلية، وأن تُحدِّدَ سُبُلَ دَعْمِ المشاركة الشاملة بحيث تبني الثِّقةَ وتضمن الحيادَ.

ما بعد ما هو محليٌّ
ربْطُ بناء السلام المحليِّ بما هو أوسع نطاقاً من جهودٍ في صدد المقاطعات وفي الصدد الوطني هو أحد التحدِّيات الرئيسية في أعمال بناء السلام، وذلك لأسباب أهمُّها أنَّ الأحداث والجهات الفاعلة والمصالح في المستويات العليا تُهيِّئ جُهُوْدَ بناء السلام المحليَّةَ وتؤثِّر فيها. ويعتمد تخطيط الجهات الفاعلة الدولية الذي أمده أطول على ما هو موجودٌ ويُنفَّذُ من خطط التنمية وتخفيف النِّزاع الموضوعة وطنياً ومحلياً، وعلى الإرادة السياسية أيضاً. وهذا تحدٍّ على وجه الخصوص في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية، إذ الدولة منهارةٌ هناك، والإرادة السياسية فيها محدودةٌ غالباً عند السلطات والنخب الوطنية.

ومع كل ذلك، هناك إمكانيةٌ عظيمةٌ لبناء السلام بناءً يقوده المجتمع المحليُّ في جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية، فيكون له أثرٌ حسنٌ في ما بعد ما هو محليٌّ. ويمكن أنْ تَبْنِيَ مبادراتٌ كمبادرة المشروع الذي تموِّلهُ الوكالة السويدية للتعاون الإنمائي الدولي ديناميةً مؤيِّدةً للتنمية وبناء السلام، للتعويض عن الافتقار إلى الإرادة السياسية عند النخبة، وذلك من خلال بناء التماسك الاجتماعي والإرادة السياسية، ابتداءً من القاعدة الشعبية فصاعداً.

 

والَاي أورشورفيسان Wale.Osofisan@rescue-uk.org

مديرٌ فنيٌّ رئيسٌ (نائبٌ)، في الوحدة الفنية المعنية بالحوكمة

شونا كين Shuna.Keen@rescue.org 

مديرةٌ رئيسةٌ في أُطُر العملِ والتعلُّم - في ميدان بناء السلام

لجنة الإنقاذ الدوليَّةwww.rescue.org


[1] Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Community-level conflict prevention and peace building in DRC and Somalia

There is growing recognition of the need to address the root causes of displacement through the perspective of the humanitarian-development-peace ‘triple nexus’. A locally led programme in DRC and Somalia reflects this approach and offers useful lessons and recommendations.

Over the years, the aid industry has struggled to find durable solutions to displacement, given the complex and interwoven factors that are involved. There is an emerging consensus that better coordination between humanitarian, development and peace actors (known as the ‘triple nexus’) could provide a framework to tackle the issues associated with protracted displacement and hence durable solutions. It is within this context that the Sida-funded[1] Conflict Prevention and Peacebuilding Programme was designed and implemented.

This programme seeks to address some of the root causes of displacement in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and Somalia. Three key concepts informed the programme’s design:

Firstly, the programme focuses on understanding and tackling the structural and immediate drivers of conflict. The structural drivers contribute to conflict but do not in isolation lead to violence. In Somalia and DRC, these are associated with three crises: 1) crisis of identity (for example, the nature of ethnic/tribal composition and the nature of competition among elites); 2) crisis of representation (for example, the nature of the political system and political culture); and 3) crisis of penetration (for example, State capacity to perform its basic functions). The immediate drivers are those that transform structural causes into potentially violent conflicts. In Somalia and DRC, these include: inequality of access to information, services and other public goods; unequal participation in decision making; and the utilisation of ethnic and clan identities to serve narrow political ends.

Secondly, the programme explicitly focuses on positive peace as opposed to negative peace. Negative peace refers to the cessation of direct, physical violence. Positive peace is about the removal of structural violence – factors such as deep-seated grievances, human rights abuses, gender-based violence, social injustices, exclusion, and weak public and conflict management institutions. Activities to build positive peace aim to remove or gradually chip away at the structural and proximate causes of violent conflict. In DRC, we use equitable access to health services for two ethnic groups (Bantu and Twa) in Tanganyika, and in Somalia we use access to justice in Karaan and Hawl Wadaag districts of Mogadishu, as entry points to promote positive peace.

Thirdly, dealing with the root causes of conflict while preventing a relapse into violence requires a Conflict Sensitivity Analysis that focuses on addressing the relationship between the programme and the conflict/displacement context. We included this analysis as part of the baseline assessment, drawing on our local partners’ knowledge in order to highlight priority areas of risk and mitigation strategies. We also incorporated a Do No Harm approach by identifying specific ‘dividers’ and ‘connectors’ in project locations – that is, those elements in society that either divide people (and are sources of tension) or connect people (and can be instrumental in problem solving). The findings helped inform the design and implementation strategies of both the DRC and Somalia components. 

The programme: root causes and positive peace

At the heart of the programme is an attempt to support people affected by conflict in ways that keep them safe in their communities and empower them to influence the decisions that affect their lives. It does so by supporting the following activities that embody the spirit of the triple nexus:

 

  • Humanitarian action: responding to humanitarian need through direct service delivery,  providing legal assistance and improving the accountability and accessibility of health services in areas where a significant part of the population is either in need of humanitarian assistance, or risks developing that need.

 

  • Local peace building and social cohesion: implementing activities that promote social cohesion such as intra/inter-community dialogues, and that include marginalised groups in decision-making processes around health and justice services.

 

  • Local governance and rule of law: focusing on strengthening systems and developing the capacity of duty bearers who are responsible for providing health and justice services, while increasing the capacity and knowledge of communities (rights holders) to hold duty bearers accountable.

 

Local ownership is integral to the design methodology and implementation of both projects. Partnerships include community members and duty bearers, especially local government actors, and civil society. Local actors are the best positioned and most appropriate, effective and sustainable agents for improving accountability and inclusion, mitigating conflict, and identifying and solving local problems.

In DRC, we work with a local faith-based organisation, Commission Diocesaine de la Justice et Paix. Here the programme contributes to strengthening resilience, well-being and inclusive participation of people from Bantu and Twa ethnic groups through peace building and access to health initiatives in Nyunzu and Kalemie health zones in Tanganyika Province. It tackles the root causes of conflict between the Twa and Bantu by creating and rejuvenating community platforms that are representative of both ethnic groups

In Nyunzu, which has experienced extreme poverty, damaged community cohesion and infrastructure, and decades of underinvestment, community volunteers have been mobilised and elected onto local peace and health committees. Through these committees, Bantu and Twa community members are collaborating to build peace and promote recovery. Having mixed committees has been essential for rebuilding trust. The committees’ advocacy, including with local militias, has enabled the return of security and displaced populations to the project areas, helping to create the conditions through which health services can be reestablished and accessed.

Community health workers carry out sensitisation in their villages, building awareness of, and trust in, the local health services. Many more Twa are now using services they had previously avoided, fearing discrimination and mistreatment. Twa women are now choosing to give birth in the health centres, rather than at home, and many more are bringing their children to be vaccinated.

In Mogadishu, and across South and Central Somalia in general, a key cause of conflict and displacement is the lack of State capacity to provide basic services, including the management and administration of a fair and transparent justice system. The programme in Somalia is working in partnership with two districts – Hawl Wadaag and Karaan. It works to strengthen access to justice systems and the capacities of community members and local authorities to prevent and manage conflicts and disputes in a non-violent way. Specifically the project works to achieve behavioural change by justice service providers so that they protect the right to a fair trial; it also strives to increase use of safe justice services by citizens and to support communities to develop strategies for collective action that are inclusive of all voices, irrespective of clan affiliations.

The programme works closely with the two district councils, strengthening local implementation, ownership and sustainability. In addition, community representatives – including from women and youth groups – were involved in the initial analysis of the nature of conflicts in Mogadishu.

Recognising Somalia’s legal pluralism and the community’s preference for and trust in informal traditional and customary justice systems, the project has sought to engage with and build the capacity and willingness of both formal and informal justice service providers to promote the right to a fair trial. Participatory activities such as stakeholder forums, dialogue platforms and community-based conflict mitigation action planning help generate regular communication between communities and local government on conflict management and access to justice. This promotes accountability based on agreed roles and responsibilities.

Implications for policy and practice

While still in its early stages, the programme is generating some valuable lessons for conflict prevention and peace-building practice. Learning and research are built into the programme cycle, and now, in the programme’s second year, three lessons in particular are worth highlighting.

Service delivery has proven to be a useful entry point and viable platform around which to organise peace building approaches and to build social cohesion between conflicting groups. Strengthening local State and informal institutions and accountability for service delivery is essential for sustainable and locally led approaches. There is huge potential for collaboration and collective action through voluntarism at the grassroots.

Working with the volunteer committees in DRC, for example, has been a key factor in promoting women and Twa ethnic minority representation in local decision-making processes. This has helped to build trust, demonstrating cooperation between communities in solving local problems. To build social cohesion successfully, it is necessary to understand intergroup power dynamics and to address inequalities and barriers to participation for the excluded; this also requires adequate resourcing to offset costs of participation.

Identifying and supporting local institutions while maintaining impartiality requires deep understanding of local conflict dynamics. This demands regular conflict sensitivity analysis and use of Do No Harm approaches. Such processes need to be properly resourced and supported, with the capability of being adapted in response to an evolving understanding of local realities and dynamics.

The above have clear implications for donors and their implementing partners’ practices and policies, of which we highlight five.

First, donors should require implementing partners to explicitly adopt context-responsive and locally led programming; donors can facilitate this by supporting more flexible approaches that build learning into the programme cycle and allow for adaptation. One challenge we faced was due to the fact that the initial design of the project was based on a generic, global theory of change. During the inception phase of the project in DRC and Somalia, and following baseline field research, the project team realised that each country project instead needed its own context-specific theory of change, which then informed adaptations to the project design. Donor flexibility and openness to such adaptive project management are vital, as exemplified in our case by Sida’s approach.  

Second, those within the aid community working on durable solutions to conflict-induced displacement should invest in appropriate research and analysis. For instance, to measure peace-building outcomes, it is important to recognise that not everything that counts can be counted. Rich qualitative analysis – including of storytelling and anecdotes – combined with quantitative analysis can give us deeper insight into peace-building dynamics and results than quantitative methods alone.

Third, it is important to break down the siloes between humanitarian, development and peace building work. Grand Bargain[2] commitments to durable solutions and to the triple nexus are welcome to the extent that they emphasise the importance of the synergies between these areas of intervention. At the grassroots people do not live in siloes, although the aid community still tends to be organised and to operate in siloes. These siloes can be driven by donor funding streams in conflict-affected environments, which tend to deliberately separate humanitarian from development and peace building endeavours.

Fourth, funding mechanisms should be tailored toward supporting locally driven solutions for protracted crises, using joint funding streams designed to incorporate positive peace elements with a focus on addressing some of the root causes of violent conflict and displacement.

Finally, our experience in implementing this project demonstrates that it is possible for humanitarian actors to engage in locally driven peace building, and to partner with local development and peace actors, while maintaining neutrality and impartiality. For sustainable peace-building solutions to be successful, it is incumbent on external peace-building actors to understand the role of local structures and local dynamics, and to identify ways to support inclusive participation in a way that builds trust and ensures impartiality.

Beyond the local

Linking local peace building to broader provincial and national efforts is one of the key challenges in peace building work, not least because events, actors and interests at higher levels shape and impact on local peace building efforts. Effective longer-term planning by international actors relies on the existence and implementation of nationally and locally owned development and conflict mitigation plans and political will. This is particularly challenging in the DRC, where there is state failure and often limited political will among national authorities and elites.

Nonetheless, there is huge potential for local community-led peace building in the DRC to have positive impact beyond the local. Initiatives like the Sida-funded project have potential to build a pro-development and peace building dynamic to counterbalance the lack of political will among the elite, building social cohesion and political will from the grassroots upwards.

 

Wale Osofisan Wale.Osofisan@rescue-uk.org
Senior Technical Director (Acting), Governance Technical Unit

Shuna Keen Shuna.Keen@rescue.org 
Senior Frameworks and Learning Manager – Peacebuilding

International Rescue Committee www.rescue.org

 

[1] Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency

[2] https://interagencystandingcommittee.org/grand-bargain-hosted-iasc/

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview