تحويل السُّلطة وتغيير الممارسة لدَعْمِ بناء السلام المَقُودِ محلياً

يقتضي بناء السلام بناءً مستداماً توسيعَ إدراك ديناميَّات النِّزاعِ المحليِّ، ورغبةً من جهة الجهات الفاعلة الخارجية، في التخلِّي عن السيطرة، وتسليمها للجهات الفاعلة المحلية.

يُطْرَدُ أكْثَرُ اللاجئين من ديارهم ويُبْعَدونَ عنها بسبب النِّزاع، ثم يَرَوْنَ غالباً أنَّ ديناميَّات النِّزاع الذي يفرُّون منه والتوتُّرات التي تقوم عليه، إنما تُنْقلُ إلى محيطهم الجديد. ويأتي أكثر من نصف اللاجئين جميعاً من ثلاثة بلادٍ (هي سورية وأفغانستان وجنوب السودان)، وأكثر لاجئي العالم مستضافون في 15 بلداً، ومعظم هذه البلاد مجاورةٌ البلادَ التي يفرُّ منها اللاجئون. وإضافةً إلى القُرْب الجغرافيِّ، تتشارك هذه البلاد غالباً في روابط عرقية ودينية، إلى جانب روابطَ أوسع نطاقاً، سياسيةٍ واقتصاديةٍ واجتماعيةٍ. وفي كثير من الحالات، يكون للمصالح الخاصة أو السياسية في البلد المضيف مكانٌ في النِّزاع الذي يجاورها.

وتظهر هذه الديناميَّات غالباً في العلاقات بين اللاجئين والمجتمعات المضيفة على المستويين المحلي والإقليمي، وهي من ثمَّ يمكن استعمالها لتعزيز بعض من الروايات السياسية. ثم إنَّ تفاعُلَ هذه الديناميَّات، التي زادت حِدَّتها بسبب تحميل اللاجئين والمجتمعات المضيفة ما لا طاقة لهم ولها به في حالات التَّهجير التي يطول أمدها، يمكن أن يزيد خطر التوتُّرات بين اللاجئين أنفسهم، والتوتُّرات بين اللاجئين والسكان المضيفين.

وفي هذا السياق، يمكن أن يكون للتنمية والمساعدة الإنسانية دور فعَّالٌ في معالجة الأسباب الأصلية أو التوتُّرات المُتَفاقمَةِ معالجةً مجدية. وفي جهود بناء السلام التي يبذلها لاجئو جنوب السودان في أوغندا، فُرَصٌ للتفكُّر في التحدِّيات التي تتحدَّاهم، وفي الممارسة السليمة، فكيف يكون إدماج نتائج بناء السلام ومنع نشوب النِّزاع في البرامج الإنسانية والتنموية؟ وكيف يُحسَّنُ تمكين دَعْمِ الجهات الفاعلة الخارجية للجهودِ المُسْتدامةِ المَبْذُولةِ محلياً؟ ويمكن أن يتوافق كثيرٌ من الأفْكَارِ المُنَاقشَةِ هي وغير أحوال تهجيرٍ أخرى.

ما بعد الكلام المُنمَّق
يُحَال مفهُومَا الامتناع عن الضرر ومراعاة ظروف النِّزاع غالباً إلى كلامٍ منمَّقٍ. إذ يُذكَرُ المفهومان مراراً في عُرُوض المشاريع، ووثائق البرامج، والأُطُر المنطقية، ولكنْ يندر أنْ يُحوَّلا إلى مصطلحين عمليَّين وأنْ يُسْتخلصَ منهما نتيجتهما المنطقية، من حيث التعديلات البرنامجية والعمليَّة المطلوبة. ونظراً إلى الطبيعية الملازمة للتنمية والمساعدة الإنسانية -التي تفضِّلُ نقل الموارد، والتأثر، والوصول إلى جماعات معيَّنة دون غيرها- فلا تدخُّلاً كاملاً مراعياً لظروف النِّزاع. ومع ذلك، يمكن من أجل التصدِّي لهذه المعضلات فِعلُ ما هو أكثر بكثير ممَّا يُمارَس اليومَ. وتَظْهر قِلَّة الاهتمام عملياً بهذين المفهومَيْن خصوصاً في الاستجابة الإنسانية، وجزءٌ من ذلك سببه صعوبة الموازنة بين تعقيد السياقات المتأثرة بالنِّزاع وبين ضرورة إيصال المساعدة في أسرع وقت مُمْكن.

ثم إنَّ قوة الاندفاع التي تدفع الاستجابة إلى الحاجات الإنسانية إنما تعني أنَّ أهمية فَهْمِ ديناميَّات الصراع، من حيث صِلَتُها باللاجئين والمجتمع المضيف، هي إمَّا مُقلَّلٌ من شأنها أو مَغْفولٌ عنها. ففي أوغندا، أدَّى ذلك إلى اتِّباع مقاربةٍ اعتباطيةٍ تأتي بنتائج عكسية في معالجة التوتُّرات في جماعة لاجئي جنوب السودان. ففي بداية الأمر، كانت القرارات المتعلقة بموقع مستوطنات اللاجئين الجغرافيِّ غافلةً عن مواطن التصدُّع العرقي التي أظهرتها الحرب الأهلية في البلد. ولمَّا اندلع العنف المحلي في بعض مستوطنات اللاجئين، فُرِّقَ اللاجئون من بعدُ جغرافياً وفق طوائفهم. ومع مرور الوقت، عمل هذا في تقوية التوتُّرات المجتمعية وإدامتها. ولمَّا كان لا بدَّ من الاعتراف بالاختلافات بين المجتمعات المحلية، والعمل على مَنْعِ العنف الذي يمكن أن يقع أو على تخفيفه، كان من المهمِّ أيضاً فَهْمُ المساعدة الإنسانية التي يمكن أن تأتي لتكون كالجسر يُمَدُّ بين المجتمعات المحلية ليجمع بينها، ولتُسهِمَ في زيادة التماسك الاجتماعي. ولا بدَّ أن تُدْمَجَ هذه الأهداف في وَضْعِ البرامج، ولا ينبغي أنْ تُفتَرضَ أو تُعَدَّ أفكاراً تُسْتدرَكُ بعد حين.

ولقد وَضَعَتْ مبادرةٌ اسمها معونة أفضل في النِّزاع (Better Aid in Conflict) في جنوب السودان إطاْرَ عملٍ توجيهياً مفيداً يُسمَّى مجال الطموح (Spectrum of Ambition).[i] ويبدأ هذا الإطار بحدٍّ أدنى من الأمر الزجري بتجنُّب الضرر، كما هو مطلوب في مبادئ الدول الهشَّة، التي وضعتها لجنة المساعدة الإنمائية، في منظمة التعاون والتنمية في الميدان الاقتصادي. وهو يسير في الطريق إلى هدف الإسهام في السلام والاستقرار في ضمنِ ما هو موجود من أُطُرٍ والتزامات عمليةٍ وسياساتيةٍ (ولكنْ من غير تغييرٍ في الغَرَضِ الرئيس الذي يرمي إليه البرنامج). وآخر مطاف الإطار هو التطلُّع -كما جاء في الهدف رقم 16 من أهداف التنمية المستدامة- إلى معالجة محرِّكات النِّزاع معالجةً مباشرةً ومُتروَّىً فيها (وهذا في جميع البرامج التي تتَّخذ تخفيض النِّزاع هدفاً رئيساً لها).

ذلك، وبيَّن عددٌ من الدراسات كيف أنَّ المساعدة الإنسانية، للاجئي جنوب السودان الذين يقيمون في شماليِّ أوغندا، عزَّزت ديناميَّات النِّزاع بين عناصر المجتمع الأوغندي المختلفة، وهذا أدَّى إلى زيادةٍ في حدَّة عدم المساواة والانقسام بين قلب المجتمع وضواحيه (centre–periphery).[ii] وتَظْهر هذه التوتُّرات بعْدُ في الكيفية التي عليها استعمال المجتمع المحلي المضيف ما لديه من نفوذ على السكَّان اللاجئين لكي يجذب المعونة والمعاملة التفضيلية من الحكومة المركزية. وهذا يزيد ما يشعر به اللاجئون من تهميشٍ وحَيْرةٍ، ومن ثمَّ يُضَاعف دور ديناميَّات النِّزاع داخل جماعات اللاجئين أنفسهم.

ونظراً إلى طبيعة النِّزاع في جنوب السودان، هناك أيضاً من النِّزاعات بين اللاجئين ما هو كامنٌ وما هو ظاهرٌ، تنشأ غالباً عن ارتباطات حقيقيةٍ أو متصورةٍ بين أطراف النِّزاع في جنوب السودان. وصحيح أنَّ التوتُّرات تختلف في مستوطنات اللاجئين بأوغندا، ولكنَّ نشوءها إنما يعني أنَّ الأحداث أو المنازعات الظاهر ضررها قد تصاعدت سريعاً، وهذا أدَّى إلى مزيدٍ من الاضطرابات أو العنف أو كليهما، وأدَّى في بعض الحالات إلى وفيات. وفي هذا السياق، مُهمٌ جداً أن يكون لدى الجهات الفاعلة في المجال التنموي والإنساني فَهْمُ دقيقٌ للديناميَّات التي يكثر وقوعها محلياً في ما يستوطنه اللاجئون، أو في منطقةٍ محددةٍ ممَّا يستوطنه اللاجئون، ومن هذا الفَهْمِ معرفة كيفية ارتباط هذه الديناميَّات بالديناميَّات التي في نزاع جنوب السودان الذي هو أوسع نطاقاً، وكيفية تطوِّرها اعتماداً على ظروف مستوطنة اللاجئين. ويجب أن يكون ذلك نقطة انطلاق كلِّ مساعدةٍ، لا أنْ يُقْتصَرَ على الجهود التي تُبذَلُ في سبيل الإسهام في منع النِّزاع وبناء السلام.

ويا للأسف، مِثْلَ كثيرٍ من السياقات، يَغْلب على المساعدة الإنسانية التي تصل إلى لاجئي جنوب السودان في أوغندا أنْ تغفل عن هذه الديناميَّات. وفي سلسلةٍ من الأحداث البارزة، سعت فيها الجهات الفاعلة الدولية في المجال الإنساني إلى الاستجابة للنِّزاع داخل جماعات اللاجئين، اتَّخذت هذه الجهات الفاعلة غالباً مقاربةَ التفريق بين الجماعات، بدلاً من أن تسعى إلى الجمْعِ بينهم لمعالجة المسائل الأساسية التي تُثِيرُ التوتُّر أو سوء التفاهم بينهم. ومع مرور الوقت، ما كان من ذلك إلا أنْ زاد هذه الشروخ انشقاقاً. هذا من جهة، ومن جهة أخرى، أنَّ الجهود المبذولة لجمع اللاجئين من مجتمعاتٍ محليَّةٍ مختلفةٍ من خلال التعليم سُبُل المعيشة إنما تعتمد كثيراً، أكثر مما ينبغي، على الافتراض القائل بأنَّ التفاعل وحده بين اللاجئين كافٍ ليؤدِّي إلى نتائج بناء السلام. ولكنْ في بعض الحالات، إن لم تُصمَّم التدخُّلات تصميماً مناسباً أو إن عُجِّلَ بها، يمكن أن يزيد التفاعل -أي الاتصال- حقاً في سوءِ النِّزاع. ويتجاهل هذا أيضاً الحاجة إلى إنشاء الثقة أولاً، والحاجة إلى تيسير تعميق التفاعلات بعد أن تُختَم أنشطة المشروع.

تَرْكُ الزِّمامِ للجهات الفاعلة المحلية
لا يمكن أن تكون الجهود المبذولة لمعالجة الأسباب الأصلية فعَّالةً ومستدامةً إلا إذا قادتها جهاتٌ فاعلةٌ محليَّةٌ من المجتمع المحليِّ المتأثر بالنِّزاع. وتقتضي هذه الجهود أيضاً اتِّباعَ مقاربةٍ تدريجيةٍ متسلسلةٍ، تبدأ بالخوض في المجتمعات المحلية لفَهْمِ تصوُّراتهم الخاصة للنِّزاع، وأهمُّ من ذلك، لتحديد ما هو قائمٌ من قدراتٍ أو مقارباتٍ أو منابرَ، وذلك لحلِّ التنازع أو النِّزاع داخل المجتمع المحلي. وصحيح أنَّ الجهات الفاعلة الخارجية كهيئات الأمم المتحدة، والمنظمات غير الحكومية الدولية، وغيرها من الجهات المانحة، تستطيع إتاحةَ دَعْمٍ مفيدٍ، لكنَّها تستطيع كذلك -إن لم تُتِح الدعْمَ إتاحةً سليمةً- أن تقوِّضَ وتعوِّقَ شِدَّةَ النَّشاطِ واللِّينَ المطلوبَين لترقية جهود بناء السلام. وما يُبايِنُ ذلك، أنَّ بُنَاةَ السلام على مستوى المجتمع المحليِّ إنما يتمتعون بالشرعية ونقاط الدخول والشبكات، وهذا لا يمكن أن ينطبق على الجهات الفاعلة الخارجية، حتَّى الجهات الفاعلة التنموية أو الإنسانية منها، التي لها تاريخ طويل من الحضور أو الخوض في مجتمعٍ محليٍّ معيَّن.

ثم إنَّ الجهُوْدَ المختلفة المَقوْدَةَ محلياً لمنع اندلاع النِّزاع ولبناء السلام بين جماعة لاجئي جنوب السودان في أوغندا، إنما تُبيِّنُ عملياً الأثر الذي يمكن تحقيقه حين تتنزَّل الجهات الفاعلة الخارجية منزلةً ثانوية وتُفسِحُ المجال لغيرها ليقود. ومثال ذلك: التشَارُكُ مع قادةٍ من المجتمعات المحلية المختلفة لتحسين الوساطة وحلِّ النِّزاعات من غير عنفٍ داخل المجتمعات المحلية وبينها، ودَعْمُ الشباب والنساء ليكونوا وسطاء أو مديري نزاعاتٍفي مجتمعاتهم المحلية، والخَوْضُ في التعليم أو الأعمال الثقافية المشتركة أو الرياضة، وإنشَاءُ منتدياتٍ مجتمعيةٍ لتوسيع المدارك في بناء السلام.

من جهةٍ، قد يبدو نطاق الأنشطة المدعومة، التي يقوم بها لاجئو جنوب السودان، اعتباطياً وغير مُخطَّطٍ له ولا تنسيق فيه، ولكنْ يحتاج بُنَاةُ السلامِ المحليُّون إلى الحرية في تقرير الأنشطة والأعمال التي يُحتَاجُ إليها وفي تحديد الأنشطة والأعمال التي يرجح أن تجذب المشاركة المجتمعية، فإن قَدِرَ بُنَاةُ السلام على سلوك طريقٍ خالٍ من أوامر الداعمين، فستكون نتائج بناء السلام إيجابيةً على الأرجح. ويمكن أن يكون للجهات الفاعلة الخارجية أدوارٌ ذات شأنٍ، ولكنْ ينبغي أن تكون مُصاحِبَةً أكثر فأكثر، لا مُوجِّهةً، وأن تكون مفتوحةً لإجراءٍ متكررٍ يُحِيطُ بالتشابك والتعقيد الواقعان، أي مفتوحةً للتعلُّم من كُلٍّ من النجاح‘ ’والإخفاق‘.

وهناك عاملٌ آخرُ إمَّا يمكِّن بناء السلام المَقُودِ محلياً أو يُقيِّده، وهو بيئة السياسات في مكانٍ محدَّد. ويُقَرُّ في نطاقٍ واسعٍ أنَّ أوغندا هي ربما أكثر الدول المضيفة كرماً، إذ يتمتع اللاجئون فيها بمجموعة واسعة من الحقوق تُوْصِلُهم إلى سبل المعيشة والتعليم والحماية. ويشتمل ذلك على الحقِّ في تسجيل منظمة أهلية وافتتاحها، وينظر إلى هذا على أنه خطوةٌ أساسيةٌ تتماشى هي وما تدعوا إليه السياسات العالمية من تمكين الاستجابات التي يقودها اللاجئون. هذا مهمٌّ لتيسير تأسيس المنظمات التي يقودها اللاجئون لكي يصل إليها التمويل من الجهات المانحة في المجال الإنساني والتنموي، غير أنَّه يُنشِئُ لغزاً حول الجهود التي يقودها المجتمع المحلي لمَنْعِ اندلاع النِّزاع ولبناء السلام. فقد يكون من الحوافز إلى تأسيس منظمة أهلية مسجلة أو منظمة غير حكومية مسجلة، في آخر المطاف، أنْ تُقوَّضَ القدرة على الخوض في طرق ديناميَّةٍ سلسةٍ، تتجاوز حدُوْدَ منظمةٍ تعتمد على تمويل مشاريع مُحدَّدة.

وعلى حين أنَّ تأثير منهاج المنظمات غير الحكوميةفي العمل المدني من أجل التغيير هو اتِّجاهٌ عامٌّ تَناقُصُه غير واردٍ، بين يَدَي الجهات الفاعلة الخارجية وسائل يمكن أن تُتيحَ بها دعماً أعْوَنَ على بناء سلامٍ مَقُودٍ بالحقِّ محلياً. ومن هذه الوسائل دَعْمُ شبكات اللاجئين وحركاتهم الاجتماعية وغيرهم من المُشرَكين في بناء السلام في مستوى المجتمع المحلي، ودَعْمُ المنصات (لا المنظمات) التي تربط الجهات الفاعلة بعضها ببعض من طوائف المجتمع المحليِّ كُلِّها. وفي حال مجتمع لاجئي جنوب السودان في أوغندا، كان -وما يزال- مَنْحُ المِنَحِ لمبادرات بناء السلام المَقُودَةِ محلياً وسيلةً قيِّمةً لتقوية الجهود التي يقودها المجتمع المحلي على معالجة الأسباب الأصلية. وفي مستوطنة راينو، ساعد دَعْمُ مبادرات بناء السلام المَقُودة محلياً على حلِّ العنف المُمِيت الذي اندلع بين قبيلتَي الدِّينكا والنُّوير في شهر يونيو/حزيران من عام 2018، وليس هذا فحسب، بل ساعد أيضاً على ضمان أن يتحقق استمرار الحوار والتفكير في المجتمع المحلي في أعقاب ذلك. وبدلاً من تحديد النتائج والأُطُر المنطقية تحديداً مسبقاً، تُتِيحُ المقاربات المفتُوحُ باب العضوية فيها، المستنِدَةُ إلى نطاقٍ واسعٍ من الأهداف المرحلية، إجراءَ تعديلاتٍ إجراءً متكرراً، وانتهازَ فُرَصٍ لم تكن في الحسبان.

ولقد يكون الكفُّ عنما درجت عليه المؤسسات أمراً صعباً، ولكنَّ الذي هو أصعب من ذلك هو تحويل تصوُّرات المجتمع المحلي المرتبطة بصورةمنظمةٍ ما وبطُرُقِ عملها القياسية. وبهذه الطريق، ينشأ احتمال خطرِ أن تصبح كلٌّ من المشكلات والحلول مُوجَّهاً إليها في مشروعٍ بعينه من غير نظرٍ إلى مسائل وحاجاتٍ أخرى، مشروعٍ منحصرٍ في نفسه، وقصير الأمد، وتدريجي. وفي هذا مشكلات وصعوبات، لا سيَّما عند معالجة الأسباب الأصلية، إذ أشار البنك الدولي وغيره إلى أنَّ تحويل أنماط النِّزاع مُحتَاجٌ إلى عقدَين من الزمن على الأقل.[iii] فنعم، قد تأتي المشاريع القصيرة الأجل بما هو عكس الذي يُنْتَظر، وذلك بسبب ما يُثَارُ من توقُّعات المجتمعات المحلية، ووَضْعِ مناصري إحلال السلام في مواضع لا يُطيقونها أو تأثير منهاج المنظمات غير الحكوميةفيهم. وينبغي تجنُّب هذه الممارسات، على حين ينبغي الحضُّ على ممارساتٍ أخرى. ومنها إتاحة دَعْمٍ مستدامٍ، يمكن التنبُّؤ به، ولكنَّه غير مُقرَّرٍ سلفاً، ومن ذلك الدَّعْمُ عن طريق التمويلِ الجماعيِّ للأفراد والحركات، الذين يتخطَّونَ الحدود التنظيمية، ويُمكِّنون اتِّخاذ القرار والعمل المَقُودَين مجتمعياً، ويُعزِّزون القدرات والأعمال التي يمكن تكون مستدامةً مع مرور الوقت. وإنَّ هذا لتحدٍّ طويل الأمد، يقتضي مشاركةً، مستدامةً، مكرَّرةً، طويلاً أمدها، لكي تُوضَعَ الجهود المَقُودةُ محلياً موضع المُسَيْطر.

أليكس شوبرِدج ash@oxfamibis.dk

مستشار شؤون بناء السلام، في منظمة أوكسفام (فرع الدانمارك) https://oxfamibis.dk

 

[ii] See for example European Union (2018) Contested Refuge: The Political Economy and Conflict Dynamics in Uganda’s Bidibidi Refugee Settlements, p5

(ملجأٌ متنافسٌ فيه: الاقتصاد السياسي وديناميَّات النِّزاع في مستوطنات بيديبيدي للاجئين في أوغندا)

https://reliefweb.int/report/uganda/contested-refuge-political-economy-and-conflict-dynamics-ugandas-bidi-bidi-refugee

[iii] See World Bank/United Nations (2018) Pathways for Peace: Inclusive Approaches to Preventing Violent Conflict

(مسالك السلام: مقارباتٌ شاملةٌ لمَنْعِ النِّزاع العنيف)

www.pathwaysforpeace.org

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Shifting power and changing practice to support locally led peace building

Building sustainable peace requires both a greater awareness of the dynamics of localised conflict and a willingness on the part of external actors to cede control to local actors.

The majority of the world’s refugees are driven from their homes by conflict, often finding that the dynamics and underlying tensions from the conflict they are fleeing are transplanted into their new surroundings. More than half of all refugees come from three countries (Syria, Afghanistan and South Sudan), and most of the world’s refugees are consistently hosted by 15 countries, the majority of whom share borders with the countries refugees are fleeing. In addition to geographic proximity, these countries often share ethnic or religious ties, as well as broader political, economic and social links. In many instances, private or political interests in the host country also have a stake in the conflict next door.

These dynamics are often reflected in relations between refugee and host communities at a local and regional level, which in turn can be used to reinforce certain political narratives. The interplay between these dynamics, exacerbated by the strain placed on both refugee and host communities in situations of protracted displacement, can increase the risk of tensions within refugee communities and between refugee and host populations.

In this context, development and humanitarian assistance can have an instrumental role in either effectively addressing root causes or exacerbating tensions. Peace building efforts led by South Sudanese refugees in Uganda offer opportunities to reflect on challenges faced and good practice, on how peace building and conflict prevention outcomes can be integrated across humanitarian and development programming, and on how the support of external actors can better enable locally led, sustained efforts. Many of the ideas discussed can be adapted to other contexts of displacement.

Going beyond the rhetoric

The concepts of Do No Harm and conflict sensitivity are often reduced to rhetorical devices. The concepts are frequently cited in project proposals, programme documents and logframes but are rarely translated into practical terms and taken to their logical conclusion in terms of the programmatic and operational adjustments required. Given the inherent nature of development/humanitarian assistance – which preferences the transfer of resources, influence and access to certain groups over others – there is no perfect conflict-sensitive intervention. However, much more can be done to grapple with these dilemmas than is currently standard practice. The lack of practical attention paid to these concepts is especially marked in humanitarian response, in part due to the sheer difficulty of balancing the complexity of conflict-affected contexts with the imperative to deliver assistance as soon as possible.

The impetus to respond to humanitarian needs means that the importance of understanding conflict dynamics as they relate to both the refugee and host community populations is either underplayed or overlooked. In Uganda, this has led to a haphazard and counterproductive approach towards addressing tensions among the South Sudanese refugee community. At first, decisions about the geographic location of refugee settlements were blind to ethnic fault lines reflected in the country’s civil war. When localised violence broke out in some refugee settlements, refugees were subsequently geographically divided along community lines. Over time, this has served to harden and perpetuate community tensions. While it is critical to recognise differences between communities and act to prevent or mitigate possible violence, it is also important to comprehend the potential of humanitarian assistance to serve as a bridge to bring communities together and to contribute to increasing social cohesion. Such goals need to be built into programme design, and cannot simply be assumed or seen as an afterthought.

The Better Aid in Conflict initiative in South Sudan has developed a useful guiding framework called the Spectrum of Ambition.[i] This framework starts with the minimalist injunction to ‘avoid harm’, as required by the Fragile States Principles of the OECD’s Development Assistance Committee. It progresses to the goal of contributing to peace and stability within existing operational and policy frameworks and commitments (but without any change to a programme’s primary objective). And it ends with the aspiration – as outlined in SDG 16 – to directly and deliberately address drivers of conflict (where all programmes have conflict reduction as their primary objective).

A number of studies have demonstrated how humanitarian assistance to South Sudanese refugees living in northern Uganda has reinforced conflict dynamics between different elements of Ugandan society, exacerbating perceptions around inequality and the centre–periphery divide.[ii] These tensions are then reflected in how parts of the host community leverage the refugee population in order to attract aid and preferential treatment from the central government. This increases the marginalisation and uncertainty refugees feel, which in turn compound the conflict dynamics within refugee communities themselves.

Given the nature of conflict in South Sudan, there are also both latent and manifest conflicts between refugees, often derived from real or perceived associations with the conflict parties inside South Sudan. While varying across refugee settlements in Uganda, the presence of such tensions has meant that seemingly innocuous events or disputes have quickly escalated, leading to wider unrest and/or violence and in some cases to deaths. In this context, it is critical that development and humanitarian actors have a nuanced understanding of the hyper-localised dynamics within a refugee settlement, or within a certain area of a settlement, including knowledge of how these dynamics relate to those in the wider South Sudanese conflict, and how they evolve depending on the circumstances of the refugee settlement. This must be the starting point for any assistance, not just for those efforts seeking to contribute to conflict prevention and peace building.

Unfortunately, as in many contexts, humanitarian assistance to the South Sudanese refugee population in Uganda is often blind to these dynamics. In episodes where international humanitarian actors have sought to respond to conflict within refugee communities, they have often taken the approach of separating groups, rather than seeking to bring them together to address the underlying issues triggering tension or misunderstanding. Over time, this has only served to calcify these fractures. On the other hand, efforts to bring refugees from different communities together through education or livelihoods activities are all too often based on the assumption that interaction alone will lead to peace-building outcomes. In some instances, if interventions are not appropriately designed or if the process is rushed, interaction – contact – can actually exacerbate conflict. This also overlooks the need to build trust between groups beforehand, and the need to facilitate the deepening of interactions and exchange after project activities have been concluded.

Letting local actors lead

Efforts to address root causes can only be effective and sustained if they are led by local actors from the community affected by conflict. Such efforts also require a gradual and sequenced approach beginning with engaging with communities to understand their own perceptions of conflict and, importantly, to map existing capacities, approaches or platforms for resolving disputes or conflict within the community. While external actors such as UN agencies, international non-governmental organisations (NGOs) and other donors can provide useful support, they can equally – if support is not provided in an appropriate manner – undermine and hinder the dynamism and flexibility required to advance peace-building efforts. Community-level peacebuilders, by contrast, possess legitimacy, entry points and networks that cannot be matched by external actors, even those development or humanitarian actors which have a long history of presence or engagement with a particular community.

The various locally led conflict prevention and peace building efforts among the South Sudanese refugee community in Uganda demonstrate the impact that can be achieved when external actors take a ‘back seat’. Examples include: engaging with leaders from different communities to enhance mediation and non-violent resolution of conflicts within and between communities; supporting youth and women to serve as mediators or ‘conflict managers’ in their communities; engaging through education, shared cultural practices or sport; and creating community forums to increase awareness of peace processes.

From one perspective, the range of activities supported could appear haphazard and unstrategic but it is precisely when local peacebuilders have the freedom to identify actions which are appropriate and likely to generate community engagement that they are more likely to contribute to positive peace-building outcomes. External actors can play important roles but they should increasingly be accompanying, rather than directing, and be open to an iterative process which embraces the messiness of reality – open to learning from both ‘success’ and ‘failure’.

Another factor either enabling or constraining locally led peace-building efforts is the policy environment in a given setting. Uganda is widely recognised as perhaps the most generous refugee host country, with refugees enjoying a wide range of rights granting access to livelihoods, education and protection. This includes the right to register a community-based organisation (CBO), seen as a key step in line with global policy calls to enable refugee-led responses. While this is important for facilitating refugee-led organisations to access funding from development and humanitarian donors, it poses a conundrum in relation to community-led conflict prevention and peace building efforts. Incentives to become a registered CBO/NGO may ultimately undermine capacity to engage in dynamic, fluid ways that go beyond the confines of an organisation reliant on funding for specific projects. 

While the ‘NGO-isation’ of civic activism is a trend that is unlikely to wane, there are ways that external actors can provide support more conducive to truly locally led peace building. One way is through supporting networks and movements of refugees and others engaged in peace building at community level, and supporting platforms (rather than organisations) which connect actors across community lines. In the context of the South Sudanese refugee community in Uganda, providing grants to refugee-led peace-building initiatives has been a valuable way of empowering community-led efforts to address root causes. In Rhino settlement, support to locally led peace-building initiatives helped not only to resolve deadly violence between Dinka and Nuer which erupted in June 2018 but also to ensure ongoing dialogue and reflection in the community in the aftermath. Rather than having predetermined outcomes and logframes, open-ended approaches based on broad milestones allow for iterative adjustments to be made, and for unforeseen opportunities to be seized.

It can be hard to ‘unlearn’ institutional practices, and it is harder still to shift community perceptions attached to an organisation’s ‘brand’ and standard ways of working. In this way, both problems and solutions risk becoming ‘projectised’ – self-contained, short-term and piecemeal. This is particularly problematic when addressing root causes, with the World Bank and others suggesting that it takes at least two decades to transform patterns of conflict.[iii] Short-term projects may indeed be counterproductive, given the community expectations raised and the unsustainable positioning or ‘NGO-isation’ of peace activists. While such practices should be avoided, there are others that should be encouraged. This includes providing sustained, predictable yet not predetermined support, including through pooled funding to individuals and movements that cuts across organisational lines, empowers community-led decision making and action, and reinforces capacities and practices that can be sustained over time. This is a long-term challenge that requires sustained, iterative and long-term engagement to put locally led efforts in the driving seat.

 

Alex Shoebridge ash@oxfamibis.dk
Peacebuilding Advisor, Oxfam IBIS (Denmark)
https://oxfamibis.dk

 

[i] p5 www.southsudanpeaceportal.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/CSRF-Conflict-Sensitivity-Toolkit.pdf

[ii] See for example European Union (2018) Contested Refuge: The Political Economy and Conflict Dynamics in Uganda’s Bidibidi Refugee Settlements, p5
https://reliefweb.int/report/uganda/contested-refuge-political-economy-and-conflict-dynamics-ugandas-bidi-bidi-refugee

[iii] See World Bank/United Nations (2018) Pathways for Peace: Inclusive Approaches to Preventing Violent Conflict www.pathwaysforpeace.org

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview