اتِّخاذُ اللاَّجئينَ قرارَ العَوْدةِ

تؤثِّر عوامل متنوِّعةٌ في القرارات التي يتَّخذها اللاجئون فيقرِّرون فيها العودة إلى مساقط رؤوسهم، إلاّ أنَّ بعضها غير مُعبِّرٍ عن الرأيِ المتعارَف بين الناس.

مبدأ الطوعيَّة ركنٌ من أركان العودة. وتُفسَّر الطوعيَّة أحياناً تفسيراً ضيِّقاً فيقال إنها تعنى الموافقة، لكنْ في الواقع، هي درجةٌ من الاستقلال عند اتِّخاذ القرار، وبتعبير آخر: هي قدرة اللاجئ على اختيار وقت العودة أو العودة وعَدَمِها، من غير حرج. على أنَّ فَهْمَ حقيقة ما يؤثِّر في قرار اللاجئين قليلٌ. فجُمِعَتْ بيانات أولية من 393 لاجئاً من العراق وكولومبيا وميانمار، ثم أُكْمِلَ ذلك بتحليلٍ كمي لحالاتِ عودةٍ في العالم كلِّه بين عام 1995 وعام 2015، ويتيح كلُّ هذا النظرَ في ما يحمل اللاجئين على أنْ يقرِّروا العودة وعدمها إلى بلادهم الأصلية.[i]

الأمن
تكاد تُجْمِعُ المؤلَّفات اليومَ على أنَّ الأمن في البلاد الأصلية هو شرطٌ قَبْليٌّ لعودة اللاجئين، ثم إنَّ دور الأمن واضحٌ في المناقشات التي تدور حول حالات العودة إلى سورية خاصَّة. ويدلُّ تحليلٌ كميٌّ لحالات عودة اللاجئين بين عام 1995 وعام 2015 دلالةً تحتاج إلى مزيد تأكيدٍ على أنَّ الوفيات التي لها صلة بالنِّزاع في البلاد الأصلية ربَّما يكون بينها وبين نسبة حالات العودة إلى تلك البلاد ارتباطٌ عكسيٌّ؛ أي كلَّما زادت الوفيات نقصت حالات العودة، والعكس صحيح. وما يُبيِّن هذه النزعة، أنَّ أكثر اللاجئين الذين يرغبون في العودة إلى بلادهم الأصلية يقولون إنَّهم لن يفعلوا ذلك إلا عند تحقُّقِ السلام. ومع ذلك، صحيح أنَّ الأمْنَ في الغالب يُمكِّن العودةَ، لكنَّ هذا لا يعني بالضرورة أنَّه حاملٌ عليها، فبين الناس الذي استُطلِعُوا، لم يذكر إلا 16.5% من اللاجئين العائدين و19.6% من اللاجئين الراغبين في العودة إلى بلادهم الأصلية، أنَّ التحسينات الأمنية هي السبب الرئيس للعودة.

الظاهر أنَّ الرغبة في العودة مرتبطة بثقة اللاجئين بقوات الأمن في بلدهم الأصلي. إذ 67.9% من اللاجئين الذين يرغبون عن العودة، لا يثقون بقوات الأمن، يُضافُ إليهم 20.6% يشعرون شديداً أنهم مهدَّدون، والذي يُبايِنُ هذا أنَّ 53.9% فقط من اللاجئين الراغبين في العودة عديموا الثقة، ولم يذكر أحدٌ أنه يشعر بالتهديد.

العوامل الاجتماعية الاقتصادية
يسير إلى جانب الأمن الجسماني جزءٌ ثانٍ من الرأي المتعارَف بين الناس، يوجب أنَّ للأحوال الاجتماعية الاقتصادية في كلٍّ من البلاد المضيفة والبلاد الأصلية، دورٌ ذو شأنٍ في اتِّخاذ اللاجئين قرارَ العودة. والظاهر أنَّ نتائج الدراسة تؤيِّدُ هذا. إذ كشف التحليل الكمِّي أنَّ بين نسبة حالات العودة وبين متوسط العمر المُتوقَّع ونصيب الفرد من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في البلد المضيف، ارتباطٌ عكسيٌّ، مُشِيرةً بذلك إلى أنه كلَّما زاد العمر المُتوقَّع والناتج المحلي الإجمالي نقص احتمال حالات عودة اللاجئين، والعكس صحيح.

ومع ذلك، قد تختلف تجارِبُ اللاجئينَ الحياتيَّةُ اختلافاً بعيداً عن المُتوسِّطات الوطنية لحُسْن الحال الاجتماعية الاقتصادية، ويمكن أن تقع حالات العودة من البلاد المضيفة، التي فيها مستويات المعيشة أعلى من التي في غيرها، إذا ما جُعِلَ اللاجئون في الهامش، وأُبعِدُوا عن المجتمع الذي يضيفهم، وتُرِكُوا غير مستطيعينَ العملَ، يواجههم مستقبلٌ غير موثوق به، بسبب الإجراءات الطويلة المُدَّةِ التي في تحديد صفة اللاجئ. وفي مَن استُطلِعَ من العائدين، مَن كان بُؤْسُ ظروفهم المعيشية في البلد الذي يضيفهم أشْيَعَ الدوافع إلى عودتهم (وهم 30.4%).

ثم إنَّ حالات العودة إلى العراق، على حسب أقوال قادةٍ من المجتمع المحلي في الأردن، إنما الدافع إليها في الغالب نَقْصُ الفرص المُدرَّة للدخل في الأردن. لكنَّ اللاجئين العراقيين العائدين من المخيمات في سوريا خصُّوا بالذكر ظروفَ استضافةٍ شديدةَ الصعوبة. إذ قال دِلشَاد، وهو لاجئٌ عائدٌ عراقي: "عِشْنا في سجنٍ، لا في مخيم. ولقد عُومِلنَا معاملةً، هي إلى معاملة الحيوانات أقرب...". وكان لموظفي المنظمات غير الحكومية في سورية ملاحظات مماثلة، إذ قيل: "لا شكَّ أنَّ الناس يعودون لأنهم راغبون في العودة إلى ديارهم، لكنَّهم يعودون أيضاً لأنهم غير راضين عن الخدمات، ولعلَّ أكثر من ذلك أهمية، أنهم يعودون لأنهم في الواقع في حكم السجناء داخلَ المخيمات هنا".

التعلُّق وجَمْعُ الشمل
يفترض الرأي المتعارَف بين الناس أنَّ المرءَ يرى في أنماط العودة صورةَ الأمن وحسن الحال الاجتماعية الاقتصادية في البلاد المضيفة والبلاد الأصلية. لكنْ تدلُّ الدلائل على أنَّ اتِّخاذ اللاجئين قراراتهم قد يكون أيضاً متأثراً بتعلُّقهم ببلادهم الأصلية، ولو وقف في وجههم التحديات الاجتماعية الاقتصادية وانعدام الأمن المُستمِر. ففي عَقِبِ اتفاق السلام في أنغولا عام 2002، مثلاً، وقعت حالات عودة طوعية جدُّ سريعة. وقد رأى المجتمع الدولي أنَّ حالات العودة تلك سابقة أوانها. وجاء على لسان أحد الأنغوليين العائدين: "وضَّحت لنا المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين أنْ ليس هناك قوتٌ ولا منازل ولا مدارس، وأخبرتنا أنْ سيكون هناك من الألغام الكثير. لكننا أردنا العودة إلى بلادنا لأنها بلادنا، ولو لم يكن لنا فيها منازل ولا قوت ولا مدارس".[ii]

وكان ذكر مَن استُطلِعَ مِن العراقيين والكولومبيين والبورميين أنَّ اشتياقهم إلى ديارهم هو الدافع الرئيس إلى عودتهم، وكان من العائدين منهم 28.7% ومن الراغبين في العودة 23.2%. ثم من دوافع العودة، إلى جانب التعلُّق بالبلد، جَمْعُ شمل الأسرة. فكان أشْيَع الدوافع التي ذكرها اللاجئون الراغبون في العودة إلى بلدهم الأصلي هو جَمْعُ شملهم وشمل أسرهم وأصدقائهم (وهم 33.9%).

الآثار التي تتركها السياسة والممارسة
يُركَزُ همُّ معظم المناقشات التي تدور حول حالات عودة اللاجئين، في أهمية إعادة الأمن في البلاد الأصلية. وإنَّ هذا في الغالب شرطٌ قَبْليٌّ للعودة، لكنَّ التحسينات الأمنية لا تؤدي من ذات نفسها إلى وقوع حالات العودة. ولا ينبغي أن يتوقَّع المجتمع الدولي أنَّ ما يُنجَزُ من إنجازات بارزةٍ في الطريق إلى السلام والأمن، ينشأ عنه حالات عودة واسعٌ نطاقها، بل ينبغي له التخطيط لأن يستمرَّ في دعم اللاجئين الذين في خارج بلادهم وإعانتهم.

وإنَّ في حالة ميانمار مثالاً ينطبق على الذي نحن بصدده. فعَقِبَ اتفاق وقف إطلاق النار الشامل البلد كلَّه، وفوز الرابطة الوطنية من أجل الديمقراطية في الانتخابات عامَ 2015، افتُرِضَ كثيراً أنَّ اللاجئين في الحدود التايلاندية الميانمارية سيعودون إلى بلدهم الأصلي.[iii] فأدَّى هذا الافتراض إلى إنْقَاصِ الجهات المانحة الدولية الدعمَ، ومن ثمَّ تقليل الحصص الغذائية. ومع ذلك، فمن الوجهة العملية، ليس عند اللاجئين إلا ثقة قليلة بعملية السلام، وسَيْرُ حالات العودة بطيء.

هذا، على أنَّ حالات العودة الناجمة عن الشِّدة التي تُلْقِيها على كواهل اللاجئين الحَاجَاتُ التي لم تُعالَج، من المحتمل أن تكون غير مستدامة. فإن كان اللاجئون يعودون إلى بلدهم الأصلي على الرغم من الهموم الأمنية، لأنهم غير قادرين على إعالة أنفسهم في البلاد المضيفة، فهناك احتمال مرجوح، هو أن يجد اللاجئون العائدون أنفسهم وقد زيد على شِدَّة تهجيرهم شِدَّة. فينبغي للدول المضيفة أن تضمن حصول اللاجئين على ما يكفيهم من سُبُلِ المعاش والعون، لمنع حالات العودة السابقة أوانها من الإسهام في حلقات التَّهجير المفرغة. ولعلَّ بعض الدول المضيفة تعتقد أن لها مصلحة في الحثِّ على العودة السريعة، ولكن إنْ أدَّت حالات العودة السابقة أوانها إلى مزيد تهجيرٍ، فليست إذاً هي الحل.

أخيراً، يُحتاجُ إلى مزيد اعترافٍ بدور العوامل غير المادية، ومنها التعلُّق بالناس والمكان. ففي فَهْمِ التعقيد الذي عليه اتِّخاذ القرار تحسينٌ لقدرة أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين على التخطيط للعودة، ودعم اللاجئين والعائدين، وحماية الطوعية.

 

كلووي سيدني chloe.sydney@idmc.ch

 مركز رصد النُّزوح الداخلي www.internal-displacement.org

 

[i] جمع مركز رصد النُّزوح الداخلي كلَّ البيانات الأوَّلية. تقرير ميانمار قريب الصُّدور. أمَّا التقارير في أمر العراق وكولومبيا فانظرها في:

http://www.internal-displacement.org/publications/nowhere-to-return-to-iraqis-search-for-durable-solutions-continues

http://www.internal-displacement.org/publications/stuck-in-the-middle-seeking-durable-solutions-in-post-peace-agreement-colombia

[ii] Harild N, Christiansen A and Zetter R (2015) Sustainable Refugee Return: Triggers, constraints, and lessons on addressing the development challenges of forced displacement, Global Program on Forced Displacement, p70–74.

(عودة اللاجئين المستدامة: البواعث والقيود ودروس يُتعلَّم منها التصدِّي لتحديات التهجير القسري الإنمائية)

http://documents.worldbank.org/curated/en/542611468188337350/pdf/99618-WP-PUBLIC-Box393206B-Sustainable-Refugee-Return-15Sept-WEB-PUBLIC.pdf

[iii] انظر: مقالةَ ياكا هاسِغاوا في هذا العدد، وعنوانها ’أعَلَى العَوْدةِ مَقْسورون؟ عَوْدةُ اللاَّجئينَ المُيسَّرةُ إلى ميانمار‘.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Return decision making by refugees

There are multiple factors influencing refugees’ decisions to return to their country of origin, not all of which reflect conventional wisdom.

The principle of voluntariness is a cornerstone of refugee return. At times narrowly interpreted to signify consent, voluntariness in fact implies a degree of autonomy in decision making – that is, the ability of refugees to freely choose when, and whether, to return. However, there is only limited understanding of what actually influences refugees’ decision. Primary data collected among 393 refugees and returnees from Iraq, Colombia and Myanmar, complemented by quantitative analysis of refugee returns worldwide between 1995 and 2015, allow for an examination of what drives refugees’ decision to return, or not, to their country of origin.[1]

Security

Existing literature almost unanimously contends that security in countries of origin is a paramount precondition for refugee return, and indeed the role of security is particularly apparent in current discussions of returns to Syria. A quantitative analysis of refugee returns in the period 1995–2015 tentatively suggests that conflict-related deaths in countries of origin may indeed be negatively correlated with the proportion of returns to that country. Reflecting this trend, most of the refugees who wish to return to their countries of origin say they will only do so when there is peace. Yet while security may well enable return, it is not necessarily a motivating factor; among people surveyed, only 16.5% of returning refugees and 19.6% of refugees wishing to return to their countries of origin cited security improvements as the primary reason for return.

Willingness to return does appear to be correlated with refugees’ trust in their country of origin’s security forces. 67.9% of refugees who do not wish to return do not trust the security forces, and a further 20.6% feel actively threatened; in contrast, only 53.9% of the refugees who do wish to return experience mistrust, and none report feeling threatened.

Socio-economic factors

Alongside physical security, a second piece of conventional wisdom dictates that socio-economic conditions in both host countries and countries of origin play an important role in refugees’ decision to return. Results of the study seem to corroborate this. Quantitative analysis reveals that the proportion of returns is negatively correlated with life expectancy and GDP per capita in the host country, suggesting that the likelihood of refugee returns decreases as life expectancy and GDP increase, and vice versa.

However, lived experiences of refugees may differ significantly from national averages of socio-economic well-being, and returns can also take place from host countries with higher standards of living if refugees are marginalised and excluded from their host community, unable to work, and faced with an uncertain future due to lengthy refugee status determination procedures. Among returnees surveyed, poor living conditions in their host country were the most common motivation for return (30.4%).

According to community leaders in Jordan, returns to Iraq are predominantly motivated by lack of income-generating opportunities in Jordan. Meanwhile, Iraqi refugees returning from camps in Syria report particularly difficult hosting conditions. “We lived in a prison, not a camp. They treated us like animals,” reported Dilshad, a returning Iraqi refugee. Staff of non-governmental organisations in Syria made similar observations: “People are returning because of course they want to go home, but also because they are not happy with the services and, perhaps more importantly, because of the fact that they are virtual prisoners in the camps here.”

Attachment and reunification

Conventional wisdom assumes that patterns of return mirror security and socio-economic well-being in host countries and countries of origin. However, evidence suggests that refugees’ decision making may also be influenced by their attachment to their countries of origin even in the face of socio-economic challenges and ongoing insecurity. For example, following the peace agreement in Angola in 2002, rapid spontaneous returns took place. The international community thought these returns premature. According to one Angolan returnee, “UNHCR explained that there would be no food, houses or schools, and they also told us there would be a lot of mines. But even if we don’t have houses, and we don’t have food, and we don’t have schools, we wanted to return to our country because it’s our country.” [2]

Among the Iraqis, Colombians and Burmese surveyed, missing home was reported as the main driver of return by 28.7% of returnees and 23.2% of the refugees who wished to return. Beyond attachment to country, family reunification is a key driver of return. The most common motivation cited by refugees wishing to return to their country of origin was reunification with family and friends (33.9%).

Implications for policy and practice

Most discussions of refugee returns focus on the importance of restoring security in countries of origin. Often, this is indeed a precondition for return – but security improvements do not automatically result in returns. The international community should not expect perceived milestone achievements towards peace and security to result in large-scale returns but should rather plan for continued support and assistance to refugees abroad.

Myanmar is a case in point. Following the nationwide ceasefire agreement and electoral success of the National League for Democracy in 2015, it was widely assumed that refugees on the Thai–Myanmar border would return to their country of origin.[3] These assumptions resulted in a reduction in support from the international donor community, and therefore a decrease in food rations. In practice, however, the refugees have only limited confidence in the peace process, and the pace of returns has been slow.

Returns prompted by the pressures of unmet basic needs are likely to prove unsustainable. If refugees are returning to their country of origin despite security concerns because they are unable to sustain themselves in their host countries, there is a strong likelihood that these returning refugees will find themselves further displaced. Host States should ensure that refugees have sufficient access to livelihoods and assistance to prevent premature returns from contributing to vicious cycles of displacement. Some host States may believe it is in their interest to encourage rapid return – but if premature returns lead to further displacement, they are not the solution. 

Finally, there is a need to better acknowledge the role of intangible factors including attachment to people and place. Understanding the complexity of decision making would improve stakeholders’ ability to plan for return, support refugees and returnees, and safeguard voluntariness.

 

Chloe Sydney chloe.sydney@idmc.ch
Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre www.internal-displacement.org

 

[1] All primary data collected by IDMC. Myanmar report forthcoming. Reports on Iraq and Colombia online at:
http://www.internal-displacement.org/publications/nowhere-to-return-to-iraqis-search-for-durable-solutions-continues

http://www.internal-displacement.org/publications/stuck-in-the-middle-seeking-durable-solutions-in-post-peace-agreement-colombia

[2] Harild N, Christiansen A and Zetter R (2015) Sustainable Refugee Return: Triggers, constraints, and lessons on addressing the development challenges of forced displacement, Global Program on Forced Displacement, p70–74.
http://documents.worldbank.org/curated/en/542611468188337350/pdf/99618-WP-PUBLIC-Box393206B-Sustainable-Refugee-Return-15Sept-WEB-PUBLIC.pdf

[3] See Hasegawa Y ‘Forced to return? Facilitated return of refugees to Myanmar’ in this issue.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview