مَنْعُ التَّهجير ومعالجة أسبابه الأصليَّة ووعْدُ الاتفاق العالمي بشأن اللاجئين

يقتضي مَنْعُ التَّهجير بمعالجة أسبابه الأصليَّة مقاربةً كُليَّة والتزامَ فئات متنوعة كثيرة من الجهات الفاعلة. ولا بدَّ أن تكون بداية ذلك توسيع فَهْمِ الأسباب الأصلية وما فيها من تعقيد.

لمَّا كان شهر ديسمبر/كانون الأول في عام 2015، رُكِزَ همُّ الحوار السنوي الثامن لمفوَّض الأمم المتحدة عن تحدِّيات الحماية، في موضوع فَهْمِ أسباب التَّهجير الأصلية ومعالجتها‘.[1] فأقرَّ المجتمعون ضرورة تقديم المُجْتمعِ الدوليِّ أمرَ المَنْعِ على غيره ومعالجة الأسباب الأصليَّة. ويقتضي هذا وضع التَّهجير في جدول أعمال الإدارة في الأمم المتحدة، وفي جميع المنظمات الدولية والإقليمية، وفي الدول كلِّها، وذلك لتكون جميعاً أَقْدَرَ على اكتشاف ما يُثِيرُ التَّهجيرَ ويُحرِّكه، وعلى تحويل آليات الإنذار المبكِّر إلى إجراءاتٍ مُبادِرَة. ولُوحِظَ أنْ لفعلِ كلِّ ذلك، ينبغي أن نعترف بتعقيد الظاهرة وبالحاجة إلى مقاربة كُليَّة.

إنَّ معالجة أسباب التَّهجير الأصلية لتحدٍّ هائل. ففي ظلِّ رقم قياسيٍّ هو 70.8 مليون إنسان مُهجَّرٍ قسراً في العالم، لا بدَّ من معالجة العوامل الأساسية والمتراكبة غالباً، التي هي وَقُود العنف والنزاع، سواءٌ نشأت عن انتهاكات خطيرة لحقوق الإنسان، أو انهيار سيادة القانون، أو الاتِّجار بالأسلحة، أو الصناعات الاستخراجية، أو اشتداد التفاوت الاجتماعي، أو السلطوية، أو التغيُّر والتدهور البيئيِّين. فإنْ لم تُعَالَج مثل هذه المُحرِّكات، كان الهرب -ومنه الذي يقتضي عبور الحدود الدولية- غالباً آليةً وقائيَّةً حامِيَةً النَّفسَ، يفعله إمَّا فرد وإمَّا جماعة. نعم، قد يكون هذا، هو الخيار الوحيد الذي به يبقون في قيد الحياةثم ليست مهمَّة العمل الإنساني العمل على تقييد آليات المساعدة هذه أو شدِّ قيدها، إنما مهمَّته أنْ ينصرها، مع آخرينَ (ومنهم الدول والمنظمات الإقليمية والجهات المانحة الثنائية)، لمعالجة أسباب التَّهجير الأصلية.

مَنْعُ التَّهجير
يمكن تجنُّب كثير من حالات التَّهجير، أو في الأقل جَعْلُ آثارها أقل ما يكون، إذا ما ضُمِنَ امتثالُ أمْرِ حقوقِ الإنسانِ الدوليةِ والقانونِ الإنسانيِّ الدوليِّ أيضاً. وكلَّما مَضَيْنا قُدُماً في هذا الطريق، قلَّ عدد الناس الذين يقتلعون من منابتهم ويُقسَرُونَ على أن يكونوا في المنفى. وفي الصدد الذي نحن فيه مسألتان جديرتان بالفحص: كيف يؤدي عدم احترام كلِّ حقٍّ من حقوق الإنسان إلى التَّهجير، أو كيف يمكن أن يُؤَدِيَ إليه؟ وكيف يُعالَج ذلك؟ الحفاظ على حكم القانون أمرٌ ضروري؛ إذ هو حاجزٌ يفصل بين العدالة والاستقرار والاستعداد، وبين الفوضى وعُدْمِ النظام والاستبداد.

ثم لا شكَّ أنَّ تغيُّر المناخ مُحرِّكٌ للتَّهجير أيضاً، وهو اليومَ في جداول الأعمال مثبَّتٌ، عند معظم الجهات الفاعلة الدولية. وصحيح أنَّ القطع بارتباط تغيُّر المناخ بحالات تهجيرٍ محدَّدةٍ أمرٌ ما يزال عسيراً، لكنَّ المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين تدرك خطورة عواقب تغيُّر المناخ، ومن ذلك ما قد يقع على اللاجئين وعلى غيرهم ممن تُعنَى المفوضية بهم. وقد شهد التاريخ الحديث التنقُّلات العابرة للحدود، في حالاتٍ تفاعلَ فيها النِّزاع أو العنف، والكوارث أو آثار تغيُّر المناخ الضارَّة.

واضحٌ أنْ ليس المَنْعُ مهمَّةَ جهةٍ فاعلةٍ دون غيرها. إذ هو يقتضي المُشتركَ من إستراتيجيَّات ومبادرات، تُسهِمُ في التماسك الاجتماعي والتمكين، إلى جانب العمل على إحقاق حقوق الإنسان والدفاع عنها. فتقسيم العمل، في ما له صلة بالتفويض والخبرة والميزة المُقارَنَة، يُعزِّزُ التَّتامَّ ويجعل الأثر أعظم ما يكون. ثم إنَّ التَّهجيرَ تحدٍّ إنسانيٌّ وتنموي. فإن عُزِّزَ التماسك بين الجهات الفاعلة في مجال العمل الإنساني وفي مجال العمل التنموي، يمكن أن يوضع اللاجئون في مواضع أفضلَ -أولئك الذين يودُّ معظمهم العودة إلى بلادهم الأصلية حين يكون ذلك آمناً- وأن يُعَدُّوا للخوض في إعادة الإعمار بعد انتهاء النِّزاع.

يجب علينا، في جميع مداخلاتنا، أن نُوْليَ الفَهْمَاهتماماً خاصاً، مثل الذي نوليه للمعالجة‘. فقد استعرضت ورقة عملٍ من منظمة التعاون والتنمية في الميدان الاقتصادي[2] تقييمات لأنشطة تحقيق الاستقرار التي تقوم بها الجهات الفاعلة الدولية في البلاد الهَشَّة الأحوال، والبلاد المتأثرة بالنزاعات، مثل أفغانستان، التي هي من أكثر البلاد إنشاءً للاجئين منذ أكثر من 30 عاماً. وأشارت إلى أنَّ الجهود بدأت غالباً من الافتراض بأن ضمَّ الجهات الفاعلة في المجال الإنساني والتنموي والدفاعي والدبلوماسي، من خلال البرمجة المشتركة، مع صبِّ الانتباه على المكاسب السريع كَسْبها، سيعين على تعزيز دعم الدولة، من حيث هي جهة فاعلة شرعية، وعلى تحسين الحوكمة، وعلى الوصول إلى الاستقرار. وألقى التقرير الضوءَ على عدة حالات لم يكن فيها الحَالُ في الواقع كما ذكرنا. إذ لُوحِظَ فيها أنَّ فهم الاقتصاد السياسي ودوافع النَّزاع الرئيسية والهشاشة، كل ذلك، احتاج إلى مزيد اهتمامٍ في كثير من برامج التنمية.

وعلى الرغم من التحدِّيات، ينبغي لنا أن ننصر شديداً تشغيلَ الرابطة التي تربط الإنسانية والتنمية والسلام بعضها ببعض.[3] وصحيح أنَّ هذه المناقشة ليست بالجديدة، لكنَّ سياق الأحداث تغيَّر، سياسياً واقتصادياً واجتماعياً. ثم إنَّ النظر في التَّهجير وأسبابه الأصلية من حيث قرائن أحواله وأحوالها، والاطِّلاع على الدلائل، مَنفقَةٌ للوقت والموارد شديدةٌ، لكنَّها عملية يجب علينا الاستثمار فيها وتقديمها على غيرها، إذا نحن أردنا أن نتقدَّم في طريق الجهود التي نبذلها من أجل معالجة الأسباب الأصلية. ولا يقلُّ عن ذلك أهميةً، الحاجَةُ إلى التعلُّم من اللاجئين، لفَهْمِ العوامل التي قسرتهم على الفرار أوَّل الأمر، أحسن فَهْم، وإلى تقدير خبرتهم في التَّهجير حقَّ القَدْر.

دور المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين
للمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين عددٌ من المَدَاخِل، تستطيع من خلالها أنْ تدعم المنع وتسهم فيه. وبعض هذه المداخل مفهومٌ حقَّ الفهم ومرَّ عليه زمنٌ طويل، وتشمل ما منها يُعمَلُ على إحلال المساواة في الجندر خصوصاً، وحكم القانون وحقوق الإنسان عموماً، مع الاستثمار في التعليم وسُبُل المعاش. والاشتغال بالمُتضرِّرِ من الجماعات والأفراد هو في صميم برامج المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين. إذ تعمل سياسيات السِّنِّ والجندر والتنوُّع على إرساء مقاربة مجتمعية، وتقصد إلى تمكين مشاركة المهجَّرين وعديمي الجنسية في اتِّخاذ القرارات التي تؤثِّر في حياتهم. وإلى جانب ضمان أنْ تُسمَعَ آراءُ الجماعات المُهجَّرة، ولا سيمَّا النساء منهم، في مفاوضات السلام، هناك عناصر أساسية أخرى تُعزِّزُ استدامة العودة الطوعيَّة في السياقات التي ما بعد النّزاع، كضمان الوصول إلى العدالة ودَعْمِ إعادة إدماج المسلَّحين المُسرَّحين، ومن ثمَّ المساعدة على ردْمِ الحفرة في الطريق إلى السلام.

ثم إنَّ إنهاء حالات انعدام الجنسية وسيلةٌ مجدية في معالجة أحَدِ أسباب النَّزاع والتَّهجير الأصلية، وتسعى المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين إلى ذلك من خلال حملةٍ تحت وَسْم (#لي_انتماء #IBELONG)، على سبيل المثال.[4] وكثيرةٌ هي الأدلَّة على الاندفاع الإيجابي الواقع في هذا المجال، ومن ذلك إصلاح قوانين الجنسية ومَزِيدُ توقيعٍ على اتفاقيات تخفيض حالات انعدام الجنسية.

هذا، ويمكن أن يُعِينَ رَصْدُ النُّزوح الداخلي على التنبُّؤ بحالات التَّهجير المحتملة عبر الحدود الدولية، ويمكن أن تؤدِّيَ الاستجابات المبكرة للنُّزوح الداخلي إلى تخفيف خطر الاضطراب والفقر المدقع من أوَّل أمره. ثم إنَّ توجيهات المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين المتعلقة بمشاركتها في شؤون النَّازحين داخلياً (وذلك في نظام المجموعات أساساً)، إنما تُحدِّدُ عدداً من المجالات التي يمكننا من خلالها الإسهام في إرساء مسؤولية الدولة، وذلك بدعم تنمية القوانين والسياسات الدائرة حول النُّزوح الداخلي، وبالتدريب ومشاريع بناء القدرة في مجال حماية الطفل، وبوَضْعِ إستراتيجياتٍ تمنع العنف القائم على الجندر.

وهناك، إلى جانب المنع، يمكن للاستعداد المُحسَّنِ من خلال نُظُمِ الإنذار المبكِّر والتخطيط للطوارئ، أنْ يُعِينَ على تخفيف بعضٍ من أسوء العواقب الإنسانية الناشئة من النِّزاع والعنف. ومن ذلك مثلاً، أنَّه لو وَجَّهَ التخطيط للطوارئ والعمل المشترك الاستجابات الأوروبية لحالات وُفُودِ اللاجئين العابرين البحر المتوسط عام 2015، حين بدأت أعدادهم تزيد، لكان ممكناً تجنُّبُ كثيرٍ من الفوضى والضرر النفساني. ولو كان عندنا آلية لضمان التمويل المبكِّر الذي يمكن التنبُّؤ به من أجل الاستجابات الإنسانية لأعداد كثيرة من الوافدين الجدد، لكان ممكناً إنشاء نُظُمٍ من أوَّل الأمر لمَنْعِ تدهور الحالات الحرجة إلى حالات طوارئ.

الاتِّفاق العالمي بشأن اللاجئين
لقد رأيناً مراراً كيف أنَّ للنِّزاعات العنيفة وغيرها من دوافع التَّهجير عواقبَ أبعادها ليست محلية فحسب، بل عالميةً أيضاً. فإذا أردنا التغلُّب على الانعزالية، والتجزُّؤ، والمناقشات العامَّة الضارة، فسوف نحتاج إلى مقاربةٍ مشتركة وشاملة واستباقية لحالات اللاجئين. وكان الإقرار العالمي إعلانَ نيويورك من أجل اللاجئين والمهاجرين الذي أقرَّته الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة في سبتمبر/أيلول عام 2016، اعترافاً واضحاً بهذه الضرورة، كما كان كذلك تأكِيدُ الاتفاق العالمي بشأن اللاجئين في ديسمبر/كانون الأول عام 2018.

ويهدف الاتفاق العالمي بشأن اللاجئين إلى ضمان تَشَارُكٍ في المسؤولية عادلٍ ويمكن معرفته مُقدَّماً، وذلك لمعالجة كلٍّ من تنقُّل اللاجئين الواسع النطاق وحالات اللجوء التي طال أمدها. وهو يُمثِّل التزام الدول التزاماً واضحاً أنْ تبذل جهوداً مبكرةً لمعالجة دوافع حالات اللجوء الواسع ومُثيراتِها، وأنْ تُحسِّنَ التعاون بين الجهات الفاعلة في المجال السياسي والمجال الإنساني والمجال التنموي ومجال تحقيق السلام. ذلك، ويؤكِّد الاتفاق أهمية الجهود الدولية لمنع النِّزاع وحلِّه، قائماً على أُسُسِ ميثاق الأمم المتحدة، والقانون الدولي، وحكم القانون، وحقوق الإنسان، والحريات الأساسية، وعدم التمييز. ثم هو يُبْرِزُ الحاجة إلى إعانة البلاد الأصلية إعانةً تنمويةً، فيُماشِي بذلك خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030 وغيرها من أطر العمل التي لها صلة بالأمر.[5] نعم، الاتفاق العالمي بشأن اللاجئين، هو إطارُ عملٍ حقيقيٌّ لإنفاذِ رابطة الإنسانية والتنمية والسلام، التي قدَّمنا ذكرها آنفاً.

وهناكَ اتفاقية اللاجئين لعام 1951 وبروتوكولها لعام 1967، اللذان يَركُزَان همَّهما في حقوق اللاجئين والتزامات الدول، ولكنْ ليس لهما شأنٌ يُذكَر في الإرشاد إلى التعاون الدولي، وإنَّ هذا لجانبٌ رئيسيٌّ يعالجه الاتفاق العالمي بشأن اللاجئين، فنأمل أن يَجِدَ لتحسين تعدُّديَّةِ الأطراف مسلكاً يسلكه.

ولكنْ لمَّا كان الاتفاق العالمي بشأن اللاجئين غير ملزم التقيُّد به، كان نَجَاحُ إنفاذه معتمداً على استنفار الإرادة السياسية، ولذا تعمل المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين من قُرْبٍ مع الدول وغيرها من أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين على هذا الاستنفار تمهيداً للمنتدى العالمي الأوَّل للاجئين في ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2019. فإنَّا لمُدْرِكُونَ التحديات الأصيلة في حينٍ تتصاعد فيه القومية الشعبويَّة، ويُضيَّق مجال اللجوء، وتتطوَّر سياسة الاحتواء فتصير إستراتيجيَّةَ استجابة. ومع ذلك، وحتى في هذه الأيام العصيبة، ما نزال نشهد من مَجْموعةِ جهاتٍ فاعلةٍ جديدةٍ مُشَارَكةً قاعدتها صلبة في مسائل اللاجئين، ومن ذلك المؤسسات المالية الدولية، والجهات المانحة الناشئة، والقطاع الخاص، والمجتمع المدني، والمواطنون العاديُّون، كلُّ ذلك، هو خُلاصةٌ لمفهوم التناصر في العمل. ومع استبقاء ذلك في الذهن، نرى مجالاً واسعاً للتعاون الثابت الحقيقي من أجل مَنْعِ النِّزاع ومعالجة أسباب التَّهجير الأصلية.

فولكر تورك
الأمين العام المساعد على شؤون التنسيق الإستراتيجي في المكتب التنفيذي للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة
.

كَتَبَ هذه المقالة وهو في وظيفته السابقة؛ أي المفوَّض السامي المساعد، المعني بشؤون الحماية، في المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين. ولمزيد من المعلومات يرجى الاتصال ببرفين علي من طريق .alip@unhcr.org

[1] High Commissioner’s Dialogue on Protection Challenges (2015) Understanding and addressing root causes of displacement

(فَهْمُ أسباب التَّهجير الأصليَّة ومعالجتها)

www.unhcr.org/high-commissioners-dialogue-on-protection-challenges-2015

[2] Morrison-Métois S (2017) Responding to Refugee Crises: Lessons from evaluations in Afghanistan as a country of origin, OECD Development Co-operation Working Papers, No 40

(الاستجابة لأزمات اللاجئين: دروس مستقاة من التقييمات في أفغانستان من حيث هي بلد أصلي) https://doi.org/10.1787/de7e6a13-en

[3]  تُشِيرُ رابطة الإنسانية والتنمية والسلام -أو الرابطة الثلاثية‘- إلى الترابط بين الجهات الفاعلة في المجال الإنساني والمجال التنموي ومجال إحلال السلام. ونحثُّ منظمات الأمم المتحدة في المجال الإنساني والمجال التنموي ومجال إحلال السلام على العمل معاً، عملاً أكثر تماسكاً، فتَسْتغِل الميزات المقارَنَة في كل قطاع، لتقليل الحاجة واحتمال الخطر والاستضعاف.

[5]

تقرير المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، الجزء الثاني، الاتفاق العالمي بشأن اللاجئين، الجمعية العامة، في الدورة الثالثة والسبعين، الفقرتان ٨ و٩.

www.unhcr.org/ar/5c470d034.html

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Preventing displacement, addressing root causes and the promise of the Global Compact on Refugees

Preventing displacement by addressing its root causes requires a holistic approach and engagement by a wide range of actors. The starting point must be a better understanding of root causes and their complexity.

In December 2015, the eighth annual High Commissioner’s Dialogue on Protection Challenges focused on the theme ‘Understanding and addressing root causes of displacement’.[1] Those gathered acknowledged the need for the international community to prioritise prevention and to address root causes. This would require putting displacement on the governance agenda of the UN, all international and regional organisations, and all States, in order to be better able to detect drivers and triggers of displacement, and to transform early warning mechanisms into prompt action. To do this, it was noted, we should recognise the complexity of the phenomenon and the need for a holistic approach.

Addressing the root causes of displacement is a formidable challenge. With a record 70.8 million people around the world forcibly displaced, it is imperative to address the underlying and often overlapping factors that fuel violence and conflict, whether they emanate from serious human rights violations, the breakdown of the rule of law, the arms trade, extraction industries, severe inequality, authoritarianism, or environmental change and degradation. Where such drivers of displacement are not addressed, flight – including when this entails crossing international borders – is often a preventive, self-protection mechanism exercised by the individual or community. Indeed, it may be the only viable option for survival. The role of humanitarian action is not to promote or enable restrictions on these coping mechanisms but instead to advocate, with others (including States, regional organisations and bilateral donors), to address the root causes of displacement.

Preventing displacement

Many instances of displacement could be avoided, or their impacts at least minimised, if compliance with international human rights as well as international humanitarian law were to be assured. The more advances we make in this respect, the less people will be uprooted and forced to live in exile. In this regard, it would be worth examining how a lack of respect for each human right leads or could lead to displacement, and how this could be addressed. Maintaining the rule of law is essential: it separates justice, stability and preparedness from chaos, anarchy and arbitrariness. 

Undeniably, climate change is also a driver of displacement, and is now firmly on the agenda of most international actors. Although definitively linking climate change to specific displacement remains difficult, the UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) recognises the seriousness of the consequences of climate change, including for refugees and other people of concern. Recent history has borne witness to cross-border movements in situations where conflict or violence has interacted with disaster or adverse effects of climate change.

It is evident that prevention is not the sole remit of any one actor. It requires joint strategies and initiatives that contribute to social cohesion and empowerment, alongside the promotion and defence of human rights. A division of labour, in respect of mandates, expertise and comparative advantage, enhances complementarity and maximises impact. Displacement is both a humanitarian and development challenge. Enhanced coherence between humanitarian and development actors can better position and equip refugees – most of whom would like to return to their home countries when it is safe to do so – to engage in post-conflict reconstruction.

In all our interventions, we must place as much emphasis on ‘understanding’ as we do on ‘addressing’. A recent OECD Working Paper[2] reviewed evaluations of stabilisation activities by international actors in fragile and conflict-affected countries like Afghanistan, one of the biggest refugee-producing countries for over 30 years. It noted that efforts often started from the assumption that joining humanitarian, development, defence and diplomatic actors through joint programming, with a focus on ‘quick wins’, would help reinforce support for the State as a legitimate actor, improve governance and help lead to stability. The report highlighted several instances where this was in fact not the case. It observed that understanding the political economy and main drivers of conflict and fragility needed much more attention in many development programmes.

Despite the challenges, we should strongly advocate for the operationalisation of the humanitarian-development-peace nexus.[3] Although this is not a new discussion, the context has changed – politically, economically and socially. Contextualising displacement and its root causes, and learning through evidence, is a time- and resource-intensive process but it is a process that we must invest in and prioritise if we are to make headway in our efforts to address root causes. No less important is the need to learn from refugees, to fully comprehend the factors that forced them to flee in the first place, and to appreciate their lived experience of displacement.

The role of UNHCR

There are a number of entry points for UNHCR to support and contribute to prevention. Some are well understood and of long standing, and include promoting gender equality specifically, and the rule of law and human rights more broadly, while also investing in education and livelihoods. Engaging with affected communities and individuals is at the very centre of UNHCR’s programmes. The Age, Gender and Diversity policy promotes a community-based approach and is intended to enable the participation of displaced and stateless people in decisions that affect their lives. In addition to ensuring that the voices of displaced communities, and women in particular, are heard in peace negotiations, there are other essential elements in promoting sustainable voluntary return in post-conflict contexts, such as securing access to justice and supporting the reintegration of demobilised armed elements, thereby helping to bridge the gap towards peace.

Ending statelessness is an effective means of addressing one particular root cause of conflict and forced displacement, which UNHCR is pursuing through, for example, the #IBELONG campaign.[4] There are many indicators of the positive momentum that is taking place in this area, including reforms to nationality laws and further accessions to the Statelessness Conventions.

Monitoring internal displacement can help forecast potential later displacement across international borders, and early responses to internal displacement can mitigate the risk of upheaval and impoverishment from the outset. UNHCR’s guidance on its engagement with IDPs (primarily within the cluster system) also outlines a number of areas where we can contribute to promoting State responsibility through supporting the development of law and policy on internal displacement, training and capacity-building projects on child protection, and strategies to prevent gender-based violence.

Alongside prevention, better preparedness through early warning systems and contingency planning can help to mitigate some of the worst humanitarian consequences of conflict and violence. For example, had contingency planning and joined-up action guided European responses to the arrivals of refugees across the Mediterranean in 2015 when numbers were starting to increase, a great deal of chaos and trauma could have been avoided. Or if we had a mechanism to ensure early and predictable funding for humanitarian responses to large numbers of new arrivals, systems could be put in place from the start to prevent critical situations deteriorating into emergencies.

The Global Compact on Refugees

We have seen repeatedly how violent conflicts and other drivers of displacement have consequences that take on not only regional but global dimensions. If we are to overcome isolationism, fragmentation and toxic public debates we will need a concerted, comprehensive and proactive approach to refugee situations. The universal adoption of the New York Declaration for Refugees and Migrants by UN Member States in September 2016 was a clear acknowledgement of this imperative, as was the affirmation of the Global Compact on Refugees (GCR) in December 2018.

The GCR aims to ensure equitable and predictable responsibility sharing to address both large-scale movements of refugees and protracted refugee situations. It represents a clear commitment by States to early efforts to address the drivers and triggers of large refugee situations, and to improved cooperation among political, humanitarian, development and peace actors. It underscores the importance of international efforts to prevent and resolve conflict on the basis of the UN Charter, international law, the rule of law, human rights and fundamental freedoms, and non-discrimination. It also highlights the need to provide development assistance to countries of origin in line with the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and other relevant frameworks.[5] Indeed, the GCR provides a concrete framework for implementing the aforementioned humanitarian-development-peace nexus.

The 1951 Refugee Convention and its 1967 Protocol focus on the rights of refugees and the obligations of States but they do not offer significant guidance on international cooperation; this is a key aspect that the GCR does address, and which we hope will chart a pathway to enhanced multilateralism.

However, as the GCR is non-binding, its successful implementation will depend on the mobilisation of political will, and UNHCR is working closely with States and other stakeholders to mobilise this in the lead-up to the first Global Refugee Forum in December 2019. We recognise the inherent challenges at a time when populist nationalism is on the rise, asylum space is being reduced, and containment has evolved into a response strategy. And yet, even in these difficult times, we continue to witness strong engagement on refugee issues from a range of new actors, including the international financial institutions, emerging donors, the private sector, civil society and private citizens – all epitomising the concept of solidarity in action. With this in mind, there is considerable scope for strong and substantive collaboration to prevent conflict and address the manifold root causes of displacement.

 

Volker Türk
Assistant Secretary-General for Strategic Coordination in the Executive Office of the UN Secretary-General

This contribution was written in his former function as UNHCR’s Assistant High Commissioner for Protection. For more information please contact Perveen Ali alip@unhcr.org.  

 

[1] High Commissioner’s Dialogue on Protection Challenges (2015) Understanding and addressing root causes of displacement
www.unhcr.org/high-commissioners-dialogue-on-protection-challenges-2015

[2] Morrison-Métois S (2017) Responding to Refugee Crises: Lessons from evaluations in Afghanistan as a country of origin, OECD Development Co-operation Working Papers, No 40 https://doi.org/10.1787/de7e6a13-en

[3] The humanitarian-development-peace nexus – or ‘triple nexus’ – refers to the interlinkages between humanitarian, development and peace actors. UN humanitarian, development and peace agencies are encouraged to work together more cohesively, capitalising on the comparative advantages of each sector to reduce need, risk and vulnerability.

[4] www.unhcr.org/ibelong/

[5] Report of the UN High Commissioner for Refugees, Part II Global Compact on Refugees, General Assembly, Seventy-third Session, para 8–9 www.unhcr.org/gcr/GCR_English.pdf

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview