التعويض فيما يخص الممتلكات في سوريا ما بعد النّزاع

لا شك في أنَّ التعويض عن الممتلكات يمثل جزءاً من أساس أي اتفاق بعد النزاع، لكنَّ هذه العملية في سوريا ستكون معقدة للغاية، ولا بد من الامتثال لمبادئ بينيرو للأمم المتحدة في هذا الصدد.

بغض النظر عما ستؤول إليه الأمور في سوريا ما بعد النّزاع، ستكون هناك تحديات هائلة أمام تثبيت حقوق الممتلكات هناك، فقد تسببت العوامل المحركة للنِّزاع إضافة إلى التَّهجير الهائل لما يقارب نصف عدد سكان سوريا في انتقال السوريين للبحث عن ملاذ آمن لهم في أي مكان آخر يستطيعون إيجاده. ومع أنَّ التعويض عن الممتلكات فيما بعد النِّزاع حق مكتسب ومعترف به في القانون الدولي، يعم الغموض طريقة التعامل مع الممتلكات في سوريا ذلك أنَّ قليلاً من السوريين يعرفون ما إذا كانوا سيستعيدون حقوق ملكيتهم ومتى ذلك.

ولا ينبغي لعمليات استعادة الملكية والتعويضات المتعلقة بها أن تقتصر على النظام القانوني والجماعي المعقد الذي ينظم حقوق السكن والأرض والملكية في سوريا، بل يجب أن تتعامل مع النطاق الهائل للأضرار والدمار والتهجير، وسينطوي على التعويض عن الممتلكات مصاعب أكبر نتيجة ضياع سجلات الممتلكات أو تعرضها للتلف بالإضافة إلى ارتفاع نسبة المهجَّرين الذين كانوا يعيشون في المستوطنات غير الرسمية قبل بدء النَّزاع. وسوف تعاني النساء من تحديات إضافية خاصة عند المطالبة بحقوقهن بالممتلكات والميراث.

صورة معقدة

يرسم البحث الذي أجري مع النَّازحين داخلياً واللاجئين خارج سوريا صورة مليئة بالتحدي تتمثل في ضياع سندات التمليك وعدم وضوح ملكية العقارات وعمليات البيع والشراء غير الرسمية والقسرية إضافة إلى حلول المساكن المؤقتة.[i]وفي دراسة استقصائية أجريت في سوريا على 4006 مجتمعات لغايات تقرير اللمحة العامة عن الاحتياجات الإنسانية لعام 2018،[ii] قالت 2280 مجتمعاً (أي 57%) إنَّ لديها تخوفات إزاء حقوق السكن والأرض والملكية. إذ فقدت 75% من هذه المجتمعات سندات التمليك ودخلت في نزاع على الملكية. وتضمنت التحديات الأخرى دمار البيوت وعمليات البيع والشراء غير القانونية وغير الموثقة للسكن والأرض والملكية والتنازع بشأنها إضافة إلى إشغال الآخرين لها من غير وجه حق ووجود مخلفات الحرب المتفجرة فيها. وانتشرت مثل هذه المشكلات على وجه الخصوص في المناطق غير الخاضعة لسيطرة الحكومة حيث يستحيل أو يصعب تسجيل معاملات العقارات والوصول إلى مكاتب التسجيل العقاري.

ولا بد من فهم كيفية إدارة حقوق السكن والأرض والملكية قبل النِّزاع لأنّ ذلك الفهم سيقع في صلب التخطيط لعمليات التعويض فيما يخص الممتلكات المستقبلية. فقانون العقارات السوري يتأثر تأثراً كبيراً بالنظام العثماني لإدارة الأراضي ويراعي كثيراً من حقوق استخدام الأراضي غير الرسمية التي تختلف من منطقة لأخرى في البلاد وتقوم على أساس الممارسات التاريخية. أما نظام حيازة العقارات فهو قائم على عدد من المنظومات القانونية التشريعية والعرفية والشرعية الإسلامية وغير الرسمية. وتشير البيانات الحكومية أيضاً إلى أنَّ ما تصل نسبته 50% من الأراضي في سوريا لم تُسجَّل رسمياً قبل بدء النزاع. ووفقاً لبيانات البنك الدولي، عاش قبل النزاع ما يزيد على نصف عدد السكان البالغ عددهم الإجمالي 22.5 مليون في المناطق الحضرية وشبه الحضرية، وكان قرابة ثلث السكان الحضريين يعيشون في مستوطنات غير رسمية. وفي تلك المستوطنات غير الرسمية، كانت الأوراق البديلة كعقود البيع والصكوك العدلية ومستندات المنافع تُستَخدَم من أجل إثبات الملكية في غياب سند التمليك (الطابو).

ثم ساءت الأوضاع أكثر بعد نشوب النزاع، وتشير اللمحة العامة عن احتياجات الحماية لعموم سوريا لعام 2018[iii] إلى أنّ 60% من المجتمعات الخاضعة للتقييم قد ذكرت أنَّ عقاراتها احتلها الآخرون دون وجه حق مشروع. وتبع ذلك أعمال النهب والسلب للممتلكات الخاصة حسبما أشار إليه 56% من المجتمعات. وقال غالبية اللاجئين الذين خضعوا للمقابلات في دراستنا الاستقصائية إلى أنَّهم فقدوا جميع سندات التمليك خاصة لأنها أتلفت أو فقدت أو خلفوها وراءهم أو صودرت منهم. أما الذين يحظون بمستندات التمليك فقال أكثر من نصفهم إنَّ سندات التمليك (الطابو) لم تكن صادرة باسمهم لكنها كانت صادرة بأسماء أقاربهم الأكبر سناً من الذكور.[iv] وحتى لمن حظي بالمستندات الرسمية التي تثبت حقوقه في الملكية، فكان الواقع يفرض تحديات معقدة لأنَّ ملكية العقارات غالباً ما كانت مشتركة بين أفراد الأسرة فكان الناس معتادون في سوريا على استخدام المستندات البديلة. وهناك مزيد من التعقيدات التي تحدث في تفسير قوانين السكن والأرض والملكية في سوريا. ومن التعقيدات الأخرى أنّه من غير المرجح أبداً أن تحظى النساء بمستندات الملكية بأسمائهن خاصة في المناطق الريفية في سوريا يضاف إلى ذلك تزوير سندات التمليك خاصة في المناطق غير الخاضعة للسيطرة الحكومة. وبينما تعمل المحاكم الشرعية على حل بعض مشكلات السكن والأرض والملكية في سوريا، لا تحظى المحاكم الواقعة في المناطقة الخاضعة للمعارضة بأي سلطة رسمية. ونتج عن ذلك تعارض وارتباكات في الممارسات والقرارات الصادرة عنها،[v]وإزاء هذا الوضع المعقد، يطرح السؤال الآن: ما الذي يجب فعله؟

خارطة طريق نحو الحصول على التعويض

التعويض مفهوم قانوني عرفه الإنسان منذ أكثر من قرن في مختلف المنظومات القضائية كوسيلة من وسائل الانتصاف من انتهاكات المسؤوليات القانونية. كما أنَّ مجلس الأمن للأمم المتحدة من خلال قراراته أكد مراراً وتكراراً على حق جميع اللاجئين والنازحين في العودة إلى منازلهم وأماكن أصلهم وأن يستردوا جميع حقوق منازلهم وممتلكاتهم التي حرموا منها أو أن يعوضوا عما يستحيل استرداده.

وكذلك هناك مبادئ الأمم المتحدة حول التعويض فيما يخص السكن والملكية للاجئين والنازحين داخلياً (المعروفة بمبادئ بينيرو)[vi] فهي تقدم مجموعة شاملة من المعايير الدولية للتعويضات فيما يخص السكن والأرض والملكية بما في ذلك الطرق الخاصة بدعم ادعاءات النساء في استعادة ممتلكاتهم وينبغي استخدام تلك المعايير لتكون نقطة الانطلاق الأساسية المعيارية في هذا المجال. وتطلب المبادئ من الدول تأسيس إجراءات عاجلة وموقوتة ومستقلة وشفافة ونابذة للتمييز وتوفير المؤسسات والآليات اللازمة للتعامل مع هذه الادعاءات وتنفيذها. وينبغي تمكين الوصول إلى هذه العمليات للنازحين داخلياً ومن المهم جداً إنفاذها إنفاذاً فعالاً وتطبيقها على أرض الواقع.

فالعودة المستقبلية للنازحين داخلياً واللاجئين إلى مجتمعاتهم داخل سوريا ستؤدي إلى ظهور عدد هائل وكبير من الادعاءات المتنافسة والمتعارضة على استخدام الأرض والملكية وإشغالها من المالكين الأصليين والثانويين والآخرين غير الشرعيين. وخلال النزاع، استمرت معاملات بيع الممتلكات وشرائها فلم تتوقف وغالباً ما كانت توثق في عقود خاصة أو اتفاقات بين الأفراد دون أن تُسجَّل في أي منظومات قانونية فقد باع كثير من المالكين عقاراتهم نظراً للضغوط المالية التي رزحوا تحتها وإضافة إلى ذلك، كانت هناك أعمال الطرد القسري ومصادرة الممتلكات ومعاملات البيع والشراء القسرية تحت الإكراه، وهناك نزاعات الإشغال الثانوي للأراضي والعقارات من النزاعات الشائعة أصلاً في كل البلاد حتى قبل النزاع وأشارت سلطات الأمر الواقع في المناطق غير الخاضعة لسيطرة الحكومة بالوساطة أو التفاوض بشأن نزاعات الملكية.

ونظراً لانتشار نزعة اعتماد الناس في سوريا على سندات السكن والأرض والملكية باسم شخص آخر (عادة ما يكون أحد أفراد العائلة الذكور)، فمعنى ذلك أنَّ هناك تحديات جسيمة تواجه الناس الذين يحاولون استعادة الوصول إلى أصولهم في السكن والأرض والملكية. وتزداد التحديات تعقيداً بوفاة آلاف المالكين خلال النِّزاع، وهذا ما يؤكد على ضرورة توفير إجراءات ميسرة وفعالة في حصر الإرث. ولا بد من إيلاء الأولوية القصوى لاستعادة القيود والسجلات المساحية إذ لا تقل أهمية عن أهمية بناء القدرات في التعامل المرن والعادل مع كثير من الترتيبات غير الرسمية التي اعتاد الناس على تطبيقها في حيازة الممتلكات التي وُجِدَت وما زالت قائمة حتى قبل النزاع. ولا بد من استحداث الإجراءات اللازمة لتقييم مختلف المعاملات غير الرسمية التي نُفِّذَت على الممتلكات في المناطق غير الخاضعة للسيطرة الحكومية ولا بد من تقييم القرارات التي اتخذتها سلطات الأمر الواقع والمحاكم الشرعية.

ولا بد من الانتباه إلى أنَّ النساء على وجه الخصوص سيواجهن تحديات خاصة عند محاولتهن إثبات حقوقهن في الممتلكات. ففي سوريا، كما الحال في عدة دول أخرى، هناك تمييز تجاه الرجال في القوانين والممارسات والأعراف والقرارات المتعلقة بالممتلكات والميراث. فعلى سبيل المثال، ترتبط هوية المرأة القانونية المسجلة في منظومة الأحوال المدنية السورية بهوية زوجها أو والدها، وذلك الواقع كان سائداً حتى قبل النزاع، وغالباً ما تتنازل النساء عن حقوقهن في الميراث لأحد أفراد الأسرة من الذكور. وهناك عوائق أخرى تتضمن على سبيل المثال طبيعة عقود الزواج التي تثبت حق المرأة في الممتلكات بعد وفاة الزوج أو الطلاق لكنَّها لا تنص على شيء يتعلق بالموجودات والأصول الممتلكة خلال الزواج. وذلك، على أي نظام يُعتَمد في التعويض فيما يخص الممتلكات بعد النِّزاع أن يُسهِّل الاعتراف العادل لحقوق النساء وأن يعمل على تصويب أوضاع الممتلكات وحل مشكلة عدم المساواة المتوارثة منذ أمد بعيد.

لقد تراكم قدر كبير من المعرفة من خلال أوضاع النزاع السابقة وما نبعها من عمليات التعويض فيما يخص الممتلكات وعودة المهجرين وخاصة في دول البلقان (البوسنة وكوسوفو) وأوروبا الشرقية بعد انتهاء الشيوعية والعراق وكولومبيا. تلك الحالات تقدم لنا دروساً لا بد من الاستفادة منها في السياق السوري، إذ نتعلم منها ضرورة أن تكون عمليات التعويض فيما يخص الممتلكات سهلة المنال وسريعة ومستقلة وشفافة ومبنية على معايير عادلة نابذة للتمييز وأن تتيح المجال بحق الطعن بالقرارات السلبية وأن تمتثل للمعايير الدولية والقانون المحلي. وأي عملية قضائية أو مساحية تهدف للتأكيد على ملكية العقارات يجب أن تكون حيوية بما يكفي لمسايرة الأعداد الهائلة للقضايا وتعقيدات المشكلات المنطوية عليها. ومن أهم ما يجب فعله إطلاق حملة توعوية حول أي عملية تهدف للتعويض عن الممتلكات ويجب أن تمتد الحملة لما وراء البلد المعني لتصل البلدان المجاورة المضيفة ولتصل عالمياً إلى جميع البلدان حيث يعيشون اللاجئون فقد ثبت قصور العمليات التي أخفقت في مواجهة التغيرات العرقية والسكانية التي طرأت خلال النزاع على ملكية العقارات واستخداماتها (والتي كانت غالباً نتيجة للنزاع)، وكذلك ثبت عدم فعالية العمليات الأخرى التي لم يتبعها إنفاذ القرارات وفرضها على أرض الواقع.

وسيتطلب ذلك تأسيس آليات عادلة فعالة ومستجيبة لنزاعات الأراضي والممتلكات وتفعيل فض المطالبات المتنافسة ومراجعة المعاملات على الممتلكات وتحديد الصحيح منها لأنَّ ذلك مفتاح ضمان أمن الحيازة وتجنب أي نزاعات مستقبلية على الممتلكات. وأيٌّ كان النظام المتبع لذلك، ستكون العدالة والحيادية والصرامة في الموازنة بين الادعاءات المتنافسة أساسية في الحكم على مصداقية النتائج.

مارتن كلاترباك martin.clutterbuck@nrc.no

مستشار إقليمي في مجال المعلومات والاستشارات والمساعدة القانونية، المجلس النرويجي للاجئين، المكتب الإقليمي للشرق الأوسط www.nrc.no



[i] المجلس النرويجي للاجئين، الأردن.

[iv] المجلس النرويجي للاجئين (2017)، مذكرة موجزة: تأملات في التحديات المستقبلية الخاصة بتعويضات السكن والأرض والملكية للاجئين السوريين

https://www.nrc.no/globalassets/pdf/briefing-notes/reflections-on-future-challenges-to-housing-land-and-property-restitution-for-syrian-refugees-arabic.pdf

[v] المجلس النرويجي للاجئين والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين (2017)، النزوح والسكن والأرض والملكية والحصول على الوثائق المدنية في شمال غرب الجمهورية العربية السورية

https://reliefweb.int/sites/reliefweb.int/files/resources/final_nrc_displacement_hlp_and_civil_doc_s_syria_23_07_2017_ar.pdf

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Property restitution in post-conflict Syria

Although restitution of property should underpin any post-conflict agreement, in Syria this will be a complex exercise. Adherence to the UN’s Pinheiro Principles will be critical.

The challenges in establishing property rights in any post-conflict Syria will be enormous. The dynamics of the conflict, together with the massive displacement of up to half of the population, have caused Syrians to move and find shelter wherever they can. While post-conflict property restitution is a recognised right under international law, the ongoing uncertainty in Syria means that few Syrians know if, and when, they will be able to reclaim their property.

Restitution and compensation processes will not only need to take into consideration the complex, pluralistic legal system governing housing, land and property (HLP) rights in Syria but they will also need to address the massive scale of damage, destruction and displacement. Restitution will be even more difficult because of the loss and damage to property records as well as the high proportion of displaced persons who were living in informal settlements before the conflict began. Women will face particular challenges in claiming their property and inheritance rights.

A complex picture

Research conducted with displaced persons and refugees, both inside and outside Syria, paints a challenging picture of lost documents, uncertain property ownership, informal and coerced transactions, and transitional housing solutions.[1] 2,280 communities (57%) out of 4,006 communities surveyed in Syria for the 2018 Humanitarian Needs Overview[2] reported HLP as an issue of concern. Lack of documents and disputed ownership were reported by more than 75% of the communities. The other challenges included destruction of houses, illegal and undocumented HLP transactions, disputes, property unlawfully occupied by others and the presence of explosive remnants of war. Such issues were especially prevalent in non-government controlled areas where registration of property transactions and access to government registries are either impossible or very difficult.

An understanding of how HLP rights were governed before the conflict is key for the planning of future restitution processes. Syrian property law is heavily influenced by the Ottoman system of land administration and many informal land usage rights exist which are different in each locality and are based on historical practices; the underlying tenure system is governed by a range of statutory, customary, Islamic and informal systems. Government data indicate that up to 50% of land in Syria was not formally registered before the conflict began. According to World Bank data, prior to the conflict, over half of the country’s 22.5 million inhabitants lived in urban or peri-urban areas and approximately one third of the urban population lived in informal settlements. In these informal settlements alternative papers such as sales contracts, notarised documents and even utilities documents were used to demonstrate ownership in absence of a title deed (tabou).

The conflict has massively exacerbated these pre-existing problems. The 2018 Whole of Syria Protection Needs Overview[3] found that 60% of communities assessed reported that their property had been unlawfully occupied by others. Looting of private properties was reported by 56% of communities. A majority of refugees interviewed during our surveys reported that they no longer had their property documentation, primarily because it had been destroyed, lost, left behind or confiscated. Of those who had property documentation, over half noted that the tabous had not been issued in their names but typically in the names of older, male relatives.[4] For those with formally documented property ownership rights, the reality is likely to be equally complex, given that property ownership is often shared by family members, the use of alternative documents is prevalent, and there are myriad complexities in interpreting HLP laws in Syria. Women are unlikely to have property documentation issued in their names, particularly in rural parts of Syria. Widespread falsification of property documents, particularly in non-government controlled areas, has also occurred. While sharia courts operate to resolve certain HLP issues throughout Syria, those working in opposition-held areas have no formal authorisation. This has resulted in conflicting and confusing practices and decisions.[5] Against this complex background, what is to be done?

A roadmap for restitution

As a legal concept, restitution has been seen as a core remedy for violations of legal obligations within many jurisdictions for more than a century. United Nations (UN) Security Council resolutions have also reaffirmed the right of all refugees and IDPs to return freely to their countries, or places of origin, and to have restored to them any housing and property of which they have been deprived, or to be compensated for property that cannot be restored to them.

The UN Principles on Housing and Property Restitution for Refugees and Displaced Persons (the ‘Pinheiro Principles’)[6] provide a comprehensive set of international standards for HLP restitution, including specific ways to support women's restitution claims, and should be used as a benchmarking standard. The principles require States to establish equitable, timely, independent, transparent and non-discriminatory procedures, institutions and mechanisms to address and enforce HLP restitution claims. Such processes must be accessible to displaced persons and, critically, be effectively enforced and implemented in practice.

The future return of IDPs and refugees to their communities of origin inside Syria is likely to result in a very high number of competing claims over the use and occupancy of land and property by original owners, secondary occupants and illegal occupants. Throughout the course of the conflict property transactions have continued to take place, often as private contracts or agreements between individuals that are not recorded in statutory systems. Many owners have sold property due to financial pressures. In addition, there have been forced evictions, expropriation and property transactions made under duress. Secondary occupation and land and property disputes are already common throughout the country. De facto authorities in non-government controlled areas have been engaged in mediating or negotiating property disputes.

The widespread tendency for people in Syria to have HLP documents in someone else’s name (normally an older male family member) also suggests that there will be large-scale challenges for people trying to regain access to their HLP assets if they are unable to provide other evidence of either ownership or familial relationship to the person who is named in the document. The deaths of many thousands of property owners during the conflict highlight the need for accessible and effective inheritance procedures. Restoration of cadastral records must be a high priority, as must building the capacity to deal flexibly and fairly with the many, often long-standing, informal tenure arrangements that existed prior to the conflict. Procedures will also need to be put in place to assess the many informal property transactions that have taken place in non-government controlled areas, as well as decisions made by de facto authorities and sharia courts.

Women are likely to face particular challenges in asserting their property rights. In Syria, as in many other countries, laws, norms and practices around ownership, inheritance and decision favour men. For example, a woman’s registered legal identity in the Syrian civil registration system both prior to the conflict and today is linked to that of her husband or father, and women often relinquish their inheritance rights to a male family member. Further obstacles include the fact that marriage contracts, which establish the property to be held by the woman upon death or divorce, do not typically cover assets acquired during the marriage. Any post-conflict property restitution system should facilitate equal recognition of the property rights of women and work toward the rectification of historical inequalities.

A body of knowledge has been generated through property restitution and reparations processes in other post-conflict situations, most notably in the Balkans (Bosnia, Kosovo), Eastern Europe following the end of communism, Iraq and Colombia. A number of important lessons from these contexts may be of relevance to the Syria context, namely that property restitution processes should be readily accessible, expeditious, independent and transparent; based on clear, fair and non-discriminatory criteria; contain the right of appeal of negative decisions; and be compliant with international standards as well as domestic law. Any judicial or cadastral processes to provide confirmation of ownership must be sufficiently robust to cope with the massive volume of cases and the complexity of issues. Of critical importance is a public awareness campaign about any property restitution process – a campaign which must extend beyond the country in question to neighbouring host countries and indeed globally to all countries in which refugees from the conflict may be living. Processes which were unable to counter the ethnic and demographic changes to property ownership and usage which took place during the conflict (and which were often a cause of the conflict) have been shown to be flawed, while processes in which there was limited enforcement of decisions on the ground have been shown to be ineffectual. 

The institution of fair, effective and responsive land and property dispute mechanisms with the power to resolve competing claims and validate transactions, either through courts, administrative agencies or other property restitution mechanisms, will be key to ensuring tenure security and avoiding further conflict. Whatever forum is selected, fairness, impartiality and rigour in weighing competing claims will be central to the credibility of the outcomes.

 

Martin Clutterbuck martin.clutterbuck@nrc.no
Information, Counselling and Legal Assistance Regional Advisor, Norwegian Refugee Council Middle East Regional Office www.nrc.no

 

[1] Research by the Norwegian Refugee Council.

[4] NRC (2017) Reflection on future challenges to Housing, Land and Property restitution for Syrian refugees https://www.nrc.no/resources/briefing-notes/reflections-on-future-challenges-to-housing-land-and-property-restitution-for-syrian-refugees/

[5] NRC and UNHCR (2017) Displacement, housing, land and property and access to civil documentation in the north west and in the south of the Syrian Arab Republic
https://reliefweb.int/report/syrian-arab-republic/displacement-housing-land-and-property-and-access-civil-documentation

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview