تثبيت الهُوِيَّة القانونية للمُهَجَّرين السوريين

بعد سبع سنوات من النِّزاع، هناك أثر ضار خطير واقع على كثير من السوريين ويحد من قدرتهم على إثبات هُوِيَّتهم القانونية.

يُنظَرُ إلى الهُوِيَّة القانونية على أنّها حقٌ أساسي من حقوق الإنسان، فهي التي تسمح لنا السفر والعمل والالتحاق بالمدرسة والزواج وإثبات النسب وتلقّي الرعاية الصحية والاستفادة من الخدمات الحكومية والتصويت في الانتخابات وتثبيت حقوق الميراث وشراء الممتلكات وبيعها، فهي تمس كل مفصل من مفاصل حياتنا. وبينما يسلِّم البعض بأنَّ الحق بالهوية القانونية حقٌ مفروغ منه يُحَصِّله الأفراد من خلال إصدار شهادات الميلاد وبطاقات الهُوِيَّة وجوازات السفر، ليس الأمر بتلك السهولة للسوريين المُهَجّرين. فبعد نحو سبع سنوات من النِّزاع وما ترتّب عليه من تدميرٍ أو إغلاقٍ لمكاتب الأحوال المدنية ومع التعقيدات الملازمة لإصدار الوثائق للاجئين في البلدان المضيفة، يُعَدُّ إثبات الهوية تحدياً رئيسياً يجابِهُه اللاجئون باستمرار.

وعلى الصعيد الدولي، كُرِّس الحق في الهُوِيَّة القانونية في القانون الدولي، إذ يشير العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية إلى حق جميع الأفراد بالاعتراف بهم أمام القانون. وتؤكد الاتفاقية الدولية لحقوق الطفل على الحق في تسجيل المواليد كما ينص الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان على الحق في الجنسية.لكنَّ الوضع القانوني والسياسي المعقد داخل سوريا وخارجها يحول دون إعمال تلك الحقوق ويجعل منها تحدياً أمام كثير من الناس.

فحسب ما تشير له الإحصاءات، يُقدَّر مجموع الأطفال اللاجئين السوريين في المنطقة ممن تقل أعمارهم عن أربعة أعوام 700 ألف طفل من بينهم 300 ألف طفل وُلِدوا في المنفى كلاجئين ولا يمتلك معظمهم شهادات ميلاد. ووفقاً للدراسات الاستقصائية التي أجراها المجلس النرويجي للاجئين، فإن 70% من اللاجئين السوريين لا يمتلكون بطاقات الهُوِيَّة كما أن أكثر من نصف المتزوجين لا يمتلكون أي إثبات على زواجهم.[1]كما لم يتمكن 94% من اللاجئين السوريين في لبنان من تلبية الشروط الإدارية الضرورية من أجل إصدار شهادات ميلاد لأطفالهم،[2] وتقدر المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين أنّ 30% من الأطفال اللاجئين السوريين في الأردن لا يملكون شهادات ميلاد. وينطوي على فقدان هذه الوثائق المهمة أثر مباشر في حياة المُهجَّرين اليومية. ومثال ذلك أنَّ مقابلات عدة أجريت مع مجموعة من النساء النَّازحات داخلياً في جنوب سوريا أظهرت أنَّ أقل من ربعهن يمتلكن شهادات زواج، وعلى الرغم من ذلك تظل شهادة الزواج شرطاً مسبقاً لإصدار شهادة الميلاد. ونتيجة لغياب الوثائق المدنية المهمة، لن يتمكن زهاء مليوني طفل في سن الدراسة من السكان النازحين داخلياً في سوريا من الالتحاق في المدرسة.[3]

الحصول على الوثائق في سوريا

أسفر النِّزاع السوري عن إغلاق وتدمير كثير من مكاتب الأحوال المدنية. ونتيجة لذلك، لم يُوثَّق كثيرٌ من المواليد الجُدُد وواقعات الزواج والطلاق والوفاة في السجلات الرسمية ما يحرم النَّازحين داخلياً من وثائق تثبت تلك الواقعات. وبما أنَّ القيود ليست جميعها محفوظة رقمياً، فذلك يعني أنَّ إتلاف الوثائق الأصلية قد يعني الخسارة الدائمة لهذه المعلومات.

وفي سوريا، يعد دفتر العائلة سجلاً رئيسياً وأساسياً للحصول على الوثائق المدنية الأخرى. لكنَّ 40% تقريباً من النَّازحين داخلياً ممن شملتهم الدراسة الاستقصائية قالو إنّ دفتر العائلة لم يعد بحوزتهم. وحتى الذين حافظوا على دفاتر العائلة، لم يكونوا بمنأى عن المشاكل إذ لم يتمكنوا من إضافة أسماء أطفالهم الذين وُلِدُوا خلال النزاع في المناطق التي لا تخضع لسيطرة الحكومة. فمعظم الأطفال المُهَجَّرين داخلياً في الشمال الغربي من سوريا ممن تبلغ أعمارهم خمسة أعوام أو أقل لم يُسجَّلوا في دفتر عائلتهم.

ووفقاً لقانون الأحوال المدنية في سوريا، يصبح الأطفال مؤهلين للحصول على بطاقة الهُوِيَّة الشخصية عندما يبلغون من العمر 14 عاماً إذ يُلزَمُ أولو الأمر حينئذ باستخراج بطاقات هوية لهم. إلا أنّ المقابلات التي أُجرِيَت في الشمال الغربي من سوريا كشفت عن أنَّ ربع المُهجّرين داخلياً ممن يبلغون 14 عاماً أو يزيد لا يملكون هذه الوثيقة وحين يُسأَلون عن السبب تكون الإجابة الرئيسية هي إغلاق مكاتب الأحوال المدنية.

وثمة مسألة أخرى تبعث على القلق، ففي ظل غياب مكاتب الأحوال المدنية، تتشارك مجموعة من الجهات الرسمية وتلك القائمة بحكم الأمر الواقع في توفير الوثائق المدنية للنازحين داخلياً إذ يكاد يكون من المستحيل الحصول على الوثائق المدنية الرسمية في المناطق السورية التي لا تخضع للسلطات الحكومية. وبدلاً من اللجوء لمكاتب الأحوال المدنية، يُضطَّر النازحون داخلياً للحصول على الوثائق المدنية من خلال المحاكم الشرعية والمجالس المحلية وسلطات الأمر الواقع والجهات الفاعلة المسلحة. وبهذا، تكون مختلف الوثائق متاحة للنازحين داخلياً إلا أن هناك أسئلة وشكوكاً تتعلق بصحتها القانونية والاعتراف بها.

الحصول على الوثائق المدنية في البلدان المُضيفَة

يقضي القانون السوري بأن الأطفال الذين وُلِدوا خارج الأراضي السورية يتبعون قوانين الأحوال الشخصية للبلد الذي يقيمون فيه، أي يجب على والديهم أن يحصلوا على شهادة الميلاد من السلطات الوطنية للبلد الذي وُلِدَ فيه الطفل ومن ثَمّ يتعين عليهم أن يسجلوا ولادته في أقرب سفارة أو قنصلية سورية في مدة أقصاها 90 يوماً من تاريخ الميلاد. غير إنَّ عوامل عدة تؤثر في قدرة اللاجئين السورين على حماية هُوِيَّتِهِم القانونية.

فمن المشاكل الرئيسية التي تحول دون إتمام عملية تسجيل المواليد نقص الوثائق المطلوبة نتيجة لضياعها أو مصادرتها أو تلفها. (يعد تسجيل واقعة الزواج شرطاً أساسياً لتسجيل المواليد في البلدان المضيفة كما تعد شهادة الزواج مهمة لإثبات هوية الأب القانوني للطفل.) وثمة مشاكل أخرى كعدم إلمام اللاجئين بشروط عملية التسجيل المدني في البلدان المضيفة ومن ضمنها الشروط الزمنية الصارمة للتسجيل، عدا عن أنَّ معظم اللاجئين لا يرغبون بالتواصل مع سفارتهم خوفاً من تبعات ذلك. وأحياناً، تحول التكاليف الباهظة والحواجز اللغوية دون الوصول إلى إجراءات التسجيل المدني كما في تركيا. وغالباً ما تشترط الدولة المضيفة تقديم إثبات بالإقامة القانونية قبل السماح بإصدار شهادات الميلاد وغيرها من الوثائق. وأخيراً، بعض الدول ومنها الأردن تُصادِرُ من اللاجئين بعض الوثائق المهمة كبطاقات الإقامة وشهادات طلب اللجوء وذلك عند عودتهم إلى سوريا تاركةً اللاجئين بلا وثائق تساعدهم على إثبات هويتهم داخل الأراضي السورية.

وللتغلب على هذه العقبات، غالباً ما يستعين اللاجئون بآليات تكيف قد تضعهم في مواجهة خطر أكبر كالعودة إلى سوريا من أجل الحصول على الوثائق أو شراء الوثائق المزورة. فعلى الصعيد الإقليمي، تشير المقابلات التي أجراها المجلس النرويجي للاجئين مع الأسر المعيشية اللاجئة إلى أن 17% من تلك الأُسَر أُجبِرَت على الحصول على وثائق مزورة.  وفي الواقع، تعرض مثل هذه الآليات اللاجئين إلى مخاطر جديدة تتعلق بالحماية كالاعتقال والاحتجاز والاستغلال.

لكنَّ السلطات المضيفة اتخذت بعض التدابير الإيجابية بجهودٍ من المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، ففي الأردن، أصبح من الممكن الآن للأطفال السوريين الذين وُلِدُوا في سوريا ولا يملكون إثبات ميلاد أن يستخدموا شهادة طلب اللجوء الصادرة عن المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين من أجل الحصول على تصريح إقامة أردني. كما قدمت لبنان تنازلات محدودة للاجئين السوريين تتعلق بالتكلفة السنوية لتمديد فترة الإقامة القانونية. أما في تركيا، فلم تعد شهادة الزواج ضرورية للحصول على شهادة ميلاد للأطفال السوريين المولودين في تركيا.[4]وعلى الرغم من ذلك، يمكن للبلدان المضيفة أن تقدم جهوداً أكبر لحماية حق اللاجئين في الحصول على هُوِيَّة قانونية.

نحو إيجاد الحلول

ينبغي للحلول أن تبدأ بالاعتراف بالأهمية الأساسية للحق في الهُوِيَّة القانونية، ومن ثَمَّ تستمر من خلال فهم الأسباب التي تحول دون حصول اللاجئين والمُهَجَّرين على مثل هذه الوثائق، لتصل في النهاية إلى خطوات وتدابير عملية تساعد الأفراد في الحصول على الوثائق المهمة مع الامتثال الكامل للحماية المكفولة بموجب القانون الدولي.

وسيكون من الضروري على طول الطريق إعادة النظر في القوانين والمعايير التي تنظم عملية إصدار الوثائق المدنية في كل من سوريا والبلدان المضيفة، وينبغي النظر في التحديات العملية التي يواجهها الأشخاص الذين وُلِدوا خارج المناطق التي تسيطر عليها الحكومة. كما يجب أن يكون هناك قبولاً بضرورة ملائمة الإجراءات القائمة من أجل تسهيل تسجيل الأعداد الكبيرة من العائدين المحتملين بطريقة عادلة وسريعة وفعّالة دون الإخلال بأي من الأسباب التي قد تجعل المُهَجَّرين السوريين غير قادرين على التسجيل وفقاً للإجراءات المناسبة.

كما ستؤدي هيئات الأمم المتحدة لا سيما المفوضية السامية لشؤون اللاجئين دوراً مهماً نظراً لخبرتها العالمية في إصدار وثائق تسجيل اللاجئين. ويمكن للمنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية والدولية أن تمثل دوراً بنّاءً في تقديم المشورة للأشخاص المُهَجَّرين فيما يتعلق بإجراءات التسجيل الرسمية ومساعدتهم في الحصول على الوثائق المهمة كما يمكنها أن تقدم المشورة لأصحاب المصلحة فيما يتعلق بالعقبات الرئيسية الماثلة أمامهم مع تقديم التوصيات بشأن السياسة العامة لسد الثغرات. وستشتمل الخطوات العملية في سبيل الإعمال الكامل للحق في الهوية القانونية على ما يلي:

  • استعادة النُظُم الوطنية للتسجيل المدني لتسهيل إصدار وثائق الهوية القانونية بسرعة وبأسعار معقولة للمُهَجَّرين داخلياً، وينبغي لهذه النظم أن تضع في الاعتبار الأسباب التي جعلت النَّازحين داخلياً عاجزين عن الحصول على مثل هذه الوثائق.
  • اعتراف كل من أطراف النزاع والمجتمع الدولي بالقيمة العملية للوثائق الصادرة في المناطق التي لا تخضع لسيطرة الحكومة بالنسبة للمستفيدين منها، تزامناً مع تبديل تلك الوثائق بأخرى حكومية وإخضاع الوثائق غير الحكومية للفحص والتدقيق.
  • إنشاء نُظُم للمُهَجَّرين السوريين لاستبدال الوثائق المزيفة بأخرى رسمية وتصحيح المعلومات الخاطئة فيها، ووضعها رهناً للتحقق بدون غرامات أو إجراءات عقابية.
  • يجب على الحكومات المضيفة بدعم من الأمم المتحدة والجهات الإنسانية الفاعلة أن تتخذ الإجراءات اللازمة لضمان أ) حصول جميع اللاجئين في البلدان المضيفة على وثائق هوية قانونية مناسبة والتأكد من زوال العقبات التي تحول دون ذلك و ب) إمكانية احتفاظ اللاجئين العابرين للحدود الدولية بالوثائق الصادرة في البلدان المضيفة (بما يشمل تصاريح الإقامة) التي تساعدهم على إثبات هويتهم لا سيما حين لا تتوفر لديهم وثائق أخرى.

لكنَّ الخطر الذي قد يظهر على الأمد البعيد هو ما يترتب على انتهاء مدة الوثائق أو عدم اكتمالها، فذلك سيكون عقبة أمام العودة أو تطبيق أي من الحلول المستدامة الأخرى. ولذلك، لا بد من تضافر الجهود وتنسيقها بين أصحاب المصالح فمن شأنها أن تساعد على تسهيل توسيع نطاق إثبات الهوية القانونية لعدّة آلاف من المُهَجَّرين السوريين مما يتيح لهم الحصول على حقوقهم الأساسية واستحقاقاتهم ويساعد السلطات السورية والمضيفة على رفع مستويات الحماية.

 

مارتن كلاترباك martin.clutterbuck@nrc.no

مستشار إقليمي في مجال المعلومات والاستشارات والمساعدة القانونية، المجلس النرويجي للاجئين، المكتب الإقليمي للشرق الأوسط www.nrc.no

لاورا كونيال

متخصصة في برنامج تقديم المعلومات والمساعدة القانونية، المجلس النرويجي للاجئين-سوريا

laura.cunial@nrc.no

باولا بارسانتي

متخصصة في برنامج تقديم المعلومات والمساعدة القانونية، المجلس النرويجي للاجئين-الأردن paola.barsanti@nrc.no

تينا جيويس

متخصصة في برنامج تقديم المعلومات والمساعدة القانونية، المجلس النرويجي للاجئين-لبنان tina.gewis@nrc.no

 



[1] المجلس النرويجي للاجئين (2017)، النزوح والسكن والأرض والملكية والحصول على الوثائق المدنية في شمال غرب الجمهورية العربية السورية

https://reliefweb.int/sites/reliefweb.int/files/resources/final_nrc_displacement_hlp_and_civil_doc_s_syria_23_07_2017_ar.pdf

والمجلس النرويجي للاجئين (2017)، النزوح وحقوق السكن والأرض والملكية، والحصول على الوثائق المدنية في جنوب الجمهورية العربية السورية.

https://reliefweb.int/sites/reliefweb.int/files/resources/final_nrc_displacement_hlp_and_civil_doc_s_syria_23_07_2017_ar_0.pdf

[2] المجلس النرويجي للاجئين (2017)، حق اللاجئين السوريين في الهوية القانونية: الآثار المترتبة على العودة.

https://www.nrc.no/globalassets/pdf/briefing-notes/syrian-refugees-right-to-legal-identity-implications-for-return-arabic.pdf

[3] للاطلاع على مزيد من النقاشات حول فقدان الوثائق ومخاطر انعدام الجنسية، انظر www.fmreview.org/ar/statelessness

[4] Refugees International (2015) Birth Registration in Turkey: protecting the future for Syrian children

(شهادات الولادة في تركيا: حماية المستقبل للأطفال السوريين)

https://www.refugeesinternational.org/reports/2015/6/13/birth-registration-in-turkey-protecting-the-future-for-syrian-children

 

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Establishing legal identity for displaced Syrians

Seven years of conflict have had a serious detrimental effect on many Syrians’ ability to prove their legal identity.

Having a legal identity is a basic human right. It allows us to travel, work, go to school, get married, confirm parentage, receive health care, access government services, vote, inherit, buy and sell property – nearly everything. While many take the right to a legal identity for granted through the issuance of birth certificates, national identity cards, passports and other documents, this cannot be said for displaced Syrians. After nearly seven years of conflict, and with the destruction or closure of civil registries and complicated processes for issuing documents to refugees in host countries, proving who you are can be a major challenge.

The right to a legal identity is enshrined in international law. The International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights notes the right of all persons to have recognition before the law. The International Convention on the Rights of the Child confirms the right to birth registration and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights sets out the right to a nationality.  However, the complex legal and political situation inside and outside Syria makes realisation of these rights a challenge for many.

Of the estimated 700,000 Syrian refugee children under the age of four in the region, 300,000 have been born in exile as refugees, many of whom do not have birth certificates. In recent surveys by the Norwegian Refugee Council, 70% of Syrian refugees did not have national identity cards, while over half of married couples did not have proof of their marriage.[1] Ninety-four per cent of Syrian refugees in Lebanon were unable to meet all the necessary administrative requirements to obtain a birth certificate for their children,[2] while UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, estimates that 30% of Syrian refugee children in Jordan do not have birth certificates. The lack of such vital documentation has a direct impact on the daily lives of displaced persons. For example, fewer than a quarter of internally displaced women interviewed in southern Syria had their marriage certificate with them, yet a marriage certificate typically remains a pre-requisite for the issuance of a birth certificate. And without civil documentation, the two million school-age children among the IDP population in Syria will not be able to enrol in school.[3]

Obtaining documents in Syria

The conflict in Syria has resulted in the closure and destruction of many civil registry offices. New births, marriages, divorces and deaths are often not entered into official records, leaving internally displaced persons (IDPs) without documents to prove these events took place. Since not all records are digitally preserved, loss or destruction of original documents can result in the permanent loss of this information.

The family booklet is the primary civil record in Syria, and the basis for obtaining all other civil documents. Around 40% of IDPs surveyed stated that they no longer have their family booklet with them. Those IDPs who do have their family booklet have not been able to add children’s names to it if the children were born during the conflict in non-government controlled areas. In north-west Syria almost half of IDP children aged five and under were not included in their family booklet.

Children become eligible for national identity cards in Syria when they are 14, at which time their guardian is obliged to obtain an identity card for them. However, a quarter of IDPs aged 14 or over who were interviewed in north-west Syria do not have this document; the main reason given was the closure of civil registries.

Another issue of concern is the array of official and de facto actors engaged in providing documentation in place of the civil registries. In non-government controlled areas it is almost impossible to obtain official Syrian civil documentation. Instead, IDPs said they obtain civil documents from the local sharia court, local councils, non-governmental/de facto authorities and armed actors. These documents may be all that are available to IDPs, yet questions as to their legal validity and recognition remain.

Obtaining documents in host countries

Syrian law requires that children born outside Syria follow the personal status laws of the country in which they reside, meaning that parents are required to obtain a birth certificate from the national authorities of the country in which their child is born and then register its birth at the nearest Syrian embassy or consulate within 90 days of the date of birth. However, the ability of Syrian refugees to protect their legal identity is affected by many factors.

Lack of the documentation required to complete birth registration is a major problem, with many refugees having lost their documents or having had them destroyed or confiscated. (Marriage registration is particularly important since a marriage certificate is typically required for birth registration in the host countries and to establish the identity of the child’s legal father.) Refugees may also face difficulties due to their lack of familiarity with the civil registration process in host countries, including strict time limits for registration. In addition, most refugees do not wish to approach their own embassy due to fear of repercussions. Prohibitive costs and (in Turkey) language barriers may also create problems of access to civil registration procedures. Proof of legal stay in the host country is often necessary before birth and other documents can be issued. And, finally, in some countries, including Jordan, documents such as residency cards and asylum-seeker certificates may be confiscated from refugees returning to Syria, leaving them with no documents to help prove their identity once inside Syria.

To overcome these barriers, refugees often resort to coping mechanisms that can put them at further risk, such as returning to Syria to access documents or purchasing falsified documents. At a regional level, 17% of refugee households interviewed by NRC had been obliged to obtain false documentation. Such coping mechanisms expose refugees to new protection risks, including arrest, detention and exploitation.

Some positive measures have been put in place by host authorities and through UNHCR efforts. Syrian children in Jordan who were born in Syria but have no proof of their birth are now able to use their UNHCR Asylum Seeker Certificate to obtain a Jordanian residency permit. Lebanon has introduced limited concessions for Syrian refugees on the annual cost of extending legal stay. A marriage certificate is not necessary in order to obtain a birth certificate for Syrian children born in Turkey.[4] Nevertheless, more can be done by host countries to protect the right to an identity.

Towards solutions

Solutions must start with recognition of the fundamental importance of the right to a legal identity, continue with an understanding as to why some refugees and displaced persons have been unable to obtain such documentation, and conclude with practical steps and measures to assist persons obtain such vital documentation in full compliance with international law protections.

Along the way it will be necessary to look at the laws and standards governing the issuance of civil documents in Syria and host countries, and the practical challenges for persons born outside government-controlled areas. There must be acceptance of the need to adapt existing procedures to facilitate the massive registration of potential returnees in a fair, expeditious and effective way, without prejudice to the reasons for which many displaced Syrians may have been unable to register in accordance with proper procedures.

UN agencies, primarily UNHCR, will play a significant role because of their global expertise on issuance of refugee registration documentation. National and international NGOs can also play a constructive role in advising displaced persons as to the formal registration procedures, assisting them to obtain documents and advising stakeholders of key obstacles, with policy recommendations for remedying gaps. Practical steps towards full realisation of the right to an identity would include the following:

  • The restoration of national civil registration systems to facilitate the rapid and affordable issuance of legal identity documents to IDPs; these systems should take into account the reasons for which IDPs may have been unable to obtain such documents.
  • An acknowledgement by parties to the conflict and the international community of the practical value to beneficiaries of documents issued in non-government controlled areas, coupled with a process for replacement of such documents with government documents subject to procedures for checking and verification of non-government documents.
  • Establishment of systems for displaced Syrians to replace false or forged documents with official documents and to correct incorrect information in such documents, subject to verification and without punitive action or fine.
  • Measures to be put in place by host governments, supported by UN and humanitarian actors, to ensure that a) all refugees in host countries have appropriate legal identity documentation and that obstacles to obtaining such documents are removed and b) refugees crossing international borders are able to retain documents issued in host countries (including residency permits) which help them verify their identity, particularly when they have no other documents available.

 

The long-term risk is that missing, expired or incomplete documentation could become a significant obstacle to return and other durable solutions. A concerted and coordinated effort by all stakeholders would help facilitate the widespread confirmation of the legal identity of many thousands of displaced Syrians, allow them to access their basic rights and entitlements, and assist authorities (both Syrian and host) to increase levels of protection.

 

Martin Clutterbuck martin.clutterbuck@nrc.no
Information, Counselling and Legal Assistance (ICLA) Regional Advisor, Norwegian Refugee Council (NRC) Middle East Regional Office www.nrc.no

Laura Cunial laura.cunial@nrc.no
NRC Syria ICLA Specialist

Paola Barsanti paola.barsanti@nrc.no
NRC Jordan ICLA Specialist

Tina Gewis tina.gewis@nrc.no
NRC Lebanon ICLA Specialist

 

[1] NRC (2017) Displacement, housing, land and property and access to civil documentation in the north west of the Syrian Arab Republic https://reliefweb.int/report/syrian-arab-republic/displacement-housing-land-and-property-and-access-civil-documentation and (2017) Displacement, HLP and access to civil documentation in the south of the Syrian Arab Republic
https://reliefweb.int/report/syrian-arab-republic/displacement-hlp-and-access-civil-documentation-south-syrian-arab

[2] NRC (2017) Syrian refugees’ right to legal identity: implications for return
www.nrc.no/resources/briefing-notes/syrian-refugees-right-to-legal-identity-implications-for-return/

[3] For more discussion about lack of documentation and risk of statelessness, see www.fmreview.org/statelessness

[4] Refugees International (2015) Birth Registration in Turkey: protecting the future for Syrian children
https://www.refugeesinternational.org/reports/2015/6/13/birth-registration-in-turkey-protecting-the-future-for-syrian-children

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview