إعادة النظر في الدروس المستفادة من مخيم الزعتري

تركزَّت الجهود الإنسانية المبذولة في بناء مخيَّمٍ نموذجيٍّ للَّاجئين في الأزرق على الاستفادة من الدروس المفترضة من تجربة مخيَّم الزعتري وتجنب الوقوع في سلبياته المتصورة، لكنَّها أغفلَت جوانب إيجابيَّةً حاسمة تمتعت بها إدارة مخيم الزعتري.

أقيم مخيم الزعتري في عام 2012 ليكون المخيَّم الثاني الأكبر في العالم، وهو مَضافةٌ مؤقَّتة يؤوي ثمانين ألف سوري ممَّن فرُّوا من مدينة درعا في جنوب غربي سوريا إلى الأردن. وكانت البنية التحتية المادية للمخيم في أولى أيامه ضعيفة وسيئة، فانهارت الخيم في الرَّمل المُوحِل في الشتاء، وتظاهر اللاجئون محتجِّين على الظروف القائمة في المخيَّم وعلى الحرب القائمة في بلادهم، فكانت البيئة العامة في المخيَّم يسود عليها جو من انعدام الثقة العامَّة. وبعد عامين من ذلك، كرَّرت المنظمات الإنسانية في الأردن محاولتها في بناء مخيم نموذجي جديد: الأزرق. لكنَّ الزعتري وإن كان في نظر الجهات العمل الإنسانية فاشلاً من عدة نواحٍ، فهو الأكثر شيوعاً بين اللاجئين.

الزعتري

تطوَّر الزعتري بسرعة ليصبح رابع أكبر مدينة في الأردن[1]، وغالباً ما يُعزَى ذلك إلى سبب واحد هو لدونة أوائل قاطني المخيَّم، لكنَّ الفضل أيضاً يعود إلى الإدارة الإنسانية للمخيَّم، إذ مثَّلت هذه الإدارة دوراً محوريّاً في ذلك التطور، فالفضاءات العامة الممنوحة لاجئين أتاحت لهم الفرصة في إقامة قاعدة مرتجلة باستخدام المرافق التي قدَّمتها لهم المنظمات غير الحكومية مثل المدارس ومراكز توزيع الخبز، والمراكز الصحيَّة. واستفادت أولى أفواج الواصلين من اللَّاجئين من تزاحم الأقدام أمام الطريق الرئيسي للمخيَّم؛ ففتحوا دكاكينهم الخاصَّة بهم، وأنشؤوا ما يُعرَف عندهم بـــ «شامزليزيه»؛ (تقليداً لاسم شارع الشانزليزيه المشهور في فرنسا)، وهذا السوق أبقت عليه مفوضيَّة الأمم المتحدة السَّامية للَّاجئين فلم تغلقه، بل فضلت الاكتفاء بالاتفاق مع أصحاب هذه الدكاكين على المحافظة على حجمها، وترشيد استخدام الكهرباء فيها. وفي واقع الأمر، تُقدِّم المنظمات غير الحكومية كثيراً من الامتيازات التجاريَّة من أجل الوصول إلى مستوى من التطور يراعي الاعتبارات الأمنية ويدر الدخل على قاطنيه في الوقت نفسه. ودأب مدير المخيم السابق كيليان كلاين شميكش على أن يخصص جزءاً من عمله في التعرف إلى قادة الشبكات غير الرسمية في الزعتري التي انتقلت كثيرٌ منها إلى الزعتري من درعا، وكان هدفه تأسيس الثقة وإقامتها بين قادة المنظمات الإنسانية وقادة اللَّاجئين.

في بداية الأمر، كان القصد من مخيم الزعتري أن يكون مجموعة من الخيم لكنَّه تحول إلى مجموعة من الكرفانات لاحقاً موضوعة في صفوف منظمة يسهل إدارتها ويجعلها أكثر قبولاً في عيون الزائرين من الجهات المانحة. بل أنشأت الإدارة أيضاً خارطةً للزعتري، وهي أولى الخارطات السَّاتليّة التي وُجدت لمخيَّم للَّاجئين، [2]لكنَّ ما حدث بعدها أنَّ اللَّاجئين نقلوا منازلهم المؤقتة لتكون أكثر قرباً من أقاربهم، أو انضموا إلى الكرفانات، ولذلك أصبحت الخارطة أقل جماليَّة من الناحية الهندسيَّة لتظهر توسعاً غير منظم ذي نهاية مسدودة ومُرتجَلة، وتجمعات غير متكافئة. والزعتري كما يبدو اليوم يحتوي على كرفانات لا يمكن القول إنَّ واحدة منها تشبه الأخرى، فكان لا بد من صبغ البنية التحتية لتقليد ما اعتاد عليه اللَّاجئون في مدينتهم الأصليَّة درعا، ثمَّ ما لبث القاطنون أنْ أقاموا مئاتٍ من حدائقهم الصغيرة الخاصَّة منها والعامَّة في تلك المنطقة الصحراويَّة.

فالأجهزة الإنسانية في الزعتري مهما كانت نشاطات اللاجئين فيها محدودة، ودون شك قد بذلت جهوداً في العمل التشاركي مع اللاجئين على المستوى الفردي، ومع أنَّ التدخلات الإنسانية كان يفترض بأن تكون على مستوى أفضل لتلبية حاجات الرجال، نجد أنَّ كثيراً من النساء يحصلن على الدعم في تمكينهن من تولِّي دور المعيل الأساسي لأسرهن، أمَّا الشابَّات ممن يحضرن جلسات وضع البرامج في المنظمات غير الحكومية، فيجدن الشجاعة لمقاومة الزواج المبكِّر، والتوجه بدلاً من ذلك إلى المدرسة أو العمل، وكذلك الشباب ممَّن يحتاجون إلى كسب المال بدءوا يتدرَّبون على التقنيات الحديثة، وأعمال الحلاقة والخياطة، لكي لا يقعوا فريسة الاستغلال في أعمال تتطلب جهداً بدنياً كبيراً لقاء مبلغ زهيد من المال كما في أعمال نقل الحصى في العربات اليدوية. ومن جهة فئة الأطفال، مثَّل عمال الإغاثة دور المرشد والناصح لتشجيع التزام الأطفال بالمدرسة والعمل على تحقيق طموحاتهم المهنية.

الأزرق

يُظهِر التحرُّك نحو الأزرق مفارقةً مذهلةً عمَّا كان عليه الحال في الزَّعتريّ الذي يعجُّ في مدخله عمَّال المساعدات واللَّاجئ,ن بين رائحٍ وقادم. أمَّا في الأزرق، فلا تظهر إلا سيارات المنظمات غير الحكومية تشق طريقها في المخيم على شارع طويل أحادي المسار. وللولهة الأولى، يرى الناظر صفوفاً وراء صفوف من الكرفانات التي تخفي أي دليل عن وجود النشاط في المخيم، ولعله يشعر إذ يرى ملاعب كرة السلة المهجورة أنَّ ثمة إهمال لحق بالمكان، فمخيم الأزرق أشبه ما يكون مستودعاً للتخزين أكثر من أن يكون مأوى بعيد الأمد لأناس فروا من العنف.

وكان تصور القائمين على التخطيط لمخيم الأزرق إنشاء مخيم يضم قرى تحافظ على بنية المجتمعات المحلية السورية التقليدية مع تلبية حاجات الأكثر استضعافاً في الوقت نفسه من نساء منفردات وأمهات إضافة إلى الأشخاص من ذوي الإعاقة وكبار السن. غير أنَّ هدفاً آخر أعم وأكثر إلحاحاً سعى إليه المخططون وهو الحفاظ على الأمن. فلذلك بُنِيَ مخيَّم الأزرق في منطقةٍ معزولة صحراويَّة في الشمال الشرقي من البلاد، وهي منعزلةٌ أكثر من انعزال مدينة الزعتري، وهناك مركبات القوات المسلَّحة الرابضة في المناطق العالية على أطراف مخيَّم الأزرق، وتواجه إلى الخارج الصحراء الممتدة، ويكمن رؤية المدخل والمخرج، حيث يتحقق المسؤولون من تصريحات عمال الإغاثة والسيارات. ومع أنَّ هذه الإجراءات تشير إلى الجهود المبذولة من أجل الحفاظ على سلامة اللَّاجئين في المخيَّم وأمانهم من أي تهديداتٍ خارجيَّة، يبيِّن الانتقال على السيَّارة داخل الأزرق أنَّ الأمن بالفعل يضع الأولويَّة على سلامة عمال المنظمات الإنسانية؛ فمخيَّم القاعدة الإداريَّة لمكاتب المنظمات غير الحكوميَّة تقع على مبعدة عشر دقائق بالسيَّارة عن أقرب قرية من المخيَّم. ومقارنةً بتصميم الأسواق الكثيف في الزعتري ومراكز المنظمات غير الحكوميَّة والكرفانات الممتدة عبر 12 منطقةٍ في رقعةٍ مساحتها خمسة كيلو مترات مربعة صممت لإسكان ما يصل إلى 130 ألف لاجئ، هناك فاصل بين قرى الأزرق الأربع بما يساوي 15 كيلو متراً مربَّعاً من مناطق شاسعة من الفضاء غير المُستغَل، مما يجعل الفراغ عارماً في ذلك المخيَّم. والمفارقة أنَّ توافر المساحة في الأزرق قد صُمِّمت بالأصل للحد من حريَّة حركة اللَّاجئين، فمن الصعب إقامة المظاهرات السياسيَّة نتيجة صعوبة الحشد والانفصال الماديّ داخل ذلك المجتمع.

ويقول كثيرٌ من عمَّال المساعدات إنَّ تنظيم الأزرق هو الذي يميِّزه كمخيَّمٍ نموذجيّ عن الزعتري، فبالإضافة إلى المنافع الأمنيَّة، جاء المخيَّم ليقدَّم مزيداً من التسهيلات لعمال المساعدات، إذ يقول أحد العمَّال الإنسانيين إنَّ إحدى هذه المزايا الأمثل في الاستخدام غير المسبوق للبيانات الخاصة للمنظَّمات غير الحكومية من خلال تطبيق Google Drive. ولعل ما يشير إليه هذا التنظيم ضمناً أنَّ المخيَّم يخضع لإدارةٍ أكثر كفاءة من إدارة الزعتري، لكنَّه في الواقع أدخل طبقاتٍ من البيروقراطيَّة التي تمكنَّت الفوضى المقامة في الزعتري من التحايل عليها. والنتيجة ظهور منطقة خاضعة لرقابةٍ مشدَّدة تعاني من البؤس والشقاء عدا عن أنَّ نصفها فارغ تضم مناطق متماثلة تقيِّد النشاط الاقتصادي والحركة والتعبير عن الذات، بل إنَّ بعض اللَّاجئين شبَّهوا المخيَّم بالسجن المفتوح، في حين وصف مراقبون إنسانيُّون المخيَّم بأنَّه كابوسٌ حقيقيّ.

أهم الاختلافات بين المخيمين

لقد غاب عن فكر المخططين الإنسانيين وجود اختلاف محوري بين الفئات السكانية التي تعيش في المخيمين. فمخيَّم الزعتري ملاذٌ للسوريين الذين فرُّوا من قمع الأسد لدرعا؛ تلك المدينة التي بدأت فيها ثورتهم، وكان كثير منهم قد شارك في المظاهرات ضد الأسد، فبعض الذين وصلوا منهم أو أحيلوا إلى مخيم الأزرق جاؤوا من درعا، لكنَّ كثيراً غيرهم فرُّوا من مدن أخرى مثل حمص وحلب، وهناك أعداد أخرى لا بأس بها من الذين هربوا من تنظيم الدولة الإسلاميَّة في الرقة، هؤلاء احتمالية نشاطهم السياسي منخفضة مقارنة بنظرائهم الدرعاويين في الزعتري. وهكذا، رغم التخطيط المسهب في مخيم الأزرق لأولى القريتين (القريتان 3 و6) لتفادي مسألة التعبير السياسي في الزعتري، وجد المسؤولون أنفسهم في حالة من الارتجال المستمر ليضيفوا قريتين جديدتين (القريتان 5 ثم 2) استجابة إلى قدوم مجموعات جديدة من السوريين الفارين من مستجدات النِّزاع في سوريا. وبعدها، سُمِحَ بدخول 21 ألف سوري كانوا عالقين في معبر الركبان بعد فرارهم من تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية عام 2016 على شرط إسكانهم في القرية (5) إلى حين ترتيب أمورهم للسماح لهم بالتوجه للقرية (2) المبنية حديثاً.[3]وبعد عامين، ظهرت مشكلة عدم توفير الكهرباء في تلك القرى لتكون في حالة متعارضة تماماً مع صورة الاستعداد التي تصورها المخططون عام 2014.[4]

إذاً، عندما وضعت المنظومة الإنسانية في الأزرق الأولويَّة على التنظيم والأمن، فإنَّها بذلك قيَّدت نشاطات اللاجئين في كسب الرزق، كما أنَّ عزل القرى بهدف الحد من النشاط السياسي يعرقل الروتين اليومي، ويُصعِّب على اللَّاجئين الذهاب إلى السوق للتبضُّع أو لحضور الاجتماعات التي تقيمها المنظمات غير الحكومية. وليس عمَّال المساعدات بأوفر حظّاً، بل تأثَّروا أيضاً لأنَّهم عليهم أن ينتظروا في بعض الأحيان لساعات إلى حين الحصول على وسيلة منظَّمة للنقل والتنقُّل بين القرى. وخلافاً لما هو الحال عليه في الزعتري حيث هناك فضاءات عامَّة غير رسميَّة تنتشر فيها النشاطات اليوميَّة التي يمارسها كثير من اللاجئين، نجد أنَّ الفضاء الممتد في الأزرق أضفى نوعاً من الفراغ على قاطنيه ولم يترك مساحةً كبيرةً تقدَّم فيها نشاطات مجتمعيَّة ذات فائدة، فالصفوف القليلة من المقاعد المتبعثرة في مكاتب الكرفانات والمراكز المجتمعيَّة في كلِّ قرية إنَّما صُمِّمَت لانتظار اللاجئين الراغبين بمقابلة المسؤولين والتحدث إليهم وليس من أجل أن تكون مبانٍ مجتمعيَّة. أمَّا الأسواق التي أنشأتها الجهات المديرة لمخيم الأزرق، فهي أكثر هدوءاً وأكثر فراغاً مقارنةً بشارع الشامزلزيه الصَّاخب في الزعتري، ولا تقدِّم إلَّا عدداً قليلاً جدّاً من المتاجر التي يُسمَح للاجئين بإدارتها. وعدا عن السوق يدير مخيَّم الأزرق خُطَّةً تطوُّعيَّة قائمة على الحوافز للَّاجئين لتشجيعهم للعمل في المنظمات غير الحكوميَّة على أساسٍ متناوب، لكنَّ ارتفاع الطلب على هذه الوظائف يعني أنَّ أربعة عشر ألفاً من اللَّاجئين المسجَّلين للحصول على هذه الفرص سينتظرون حوالي 11 شهراً كلَّ سنةٍ إلى أن يحين دورهم.

لا شكَّ أنَّ لدونة المقيمين في الأزرق حتَّى لو كانوا يعيشون في ظروفٍ قاسية يمكن ملاحظتها عند رؤية العائلات التي تستمتع بوقتها في شرب الشَّاي في الظلِ في الصباح، وفي وحدات الرفوف المُرتجلَة التي تحوِّل الكرفان للغرفة الواحدة إلى فضاء أكثر وظيفيَّةً، ويتبيَّن ذلك أيضاً من خلال الحدائق التي تمكَّن بعضهم من زرعها أمام رواقه المتواضع، والمتاجر المستقلَّة الصغيرة أو صالونات الحلاقة التي تُدار في الكرفانات، والتكيُّف مع الوضع الذي نراه في الزعتري لم يختلف كثيراً عن التكيُّف لدى السوريين في الأزرق، لكنَّ عوامل نجاح العمل في الزعتري كمخيَّمٍ للَّاجئين هي في الواقع كلُّ ما اختار مخيم الأزرق أن يتجنَّبه من البداية، ومن أهم هذه العوامل التطوُّر العضوي، والفرصة الاقتصاديَّة، والإحساس بالانتماء إلى مجتمعٍ محليٍّ. ومع أنَّ الزعتري لم يكن لديه الوقت من أجل التجهيز والإعداد لقبول أفواج اللَّاجئين، تطوَّر المخيَّم في الفضاء المتاح إليه، وتمكَّن المقيمون من إيجاد عملٍ فيه، ومَنَحَ المخيَّم لهم القدرة دائماً على المشاركة في شيءٍ ما. أمَّا الأزرق من ناحيةٍ أخرى فقد صُمَّم للانتظار: لانتظار الخدمات، لانتظار العمل، لانتظار العودة.

ميليسا ن غاتر mg745@cam.ac.uk

مرشحة لنيل درجة الدكتوراه جامعة كامبردج www.cam.ac.uk

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Rethinking the lessons from Za’atari refugee camp

Humanitarian efforts to build a model refugee camp when constructing Azraq camp in Jordan – drawing on what was supposed to have been learned in Za’atari camp – missed crucial aspects of Za’atari’s governance.

Za’atari refugee camp in Jordan, the second largest camp in the world and temporary home for 80,000 Syrians, was built in 2012, materialising over two weeks as thousands of Syrians fled the city of Dara’a in southwestern Syria. The physical infrastructure of the camp was poor in its early days. Tents collapsed in the muddy sand in the winter, refugees demonstrated against both the conditions in the camp and the war at home, and the environment was one of general distrust. Two years later, humanitarians in Jordan attempted to build a new model camp: Azraq. However, although Za’atari is considered by humanitarians to have failed in many respects, it is by far the more popular camp among refugees.

Za’atari

Za’atari’s rapid development into the fourth-largest city in Jordan[1] is often credited solely to the resilience of its entrepreneurial camp dwellers. But the camp’s humanitarian governance also played a key role in this, as public spaces for refugees were allowed to form on an impromptu basis using facilities provided by non-governmental organisations (NGOs) such as schools, bread distribution centres and medical clinics. When the first arrivals took advantage of regular foot traffic along the camp’s main road to open up independent shops, creating what is known as the Shams Élysées (playing on the name of the Avenue des Champs Élysées, a prestigious street in Paris, with Sham meaning Syria in Arabic), UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, did not shut it down but rather negotiated with shopkeepers to regulate its size and electricity usage. In fact, NGOs make constant concessions to allow a degree of camp development that can be regulated for the sake of security but that allows conditions to remain livable for residents. Former camp manager Kilian Kleinschmidt made it a part of his job to get to know the leaders of Za’atari’s informal networks, many of which had transferred from Dara’a, in order to establish trust between humanitarian and refugee leadership.

The original blueprints for Za’atari had envisaged tents, and eventually caravans, organised in neat symmetrical rows – easier to manage and more presentable for visiting donors. Those in charge even created a map of Za’atari, the first ever satellite map of a refugee camp.[2] But as refugees shifted their temporary homes to be closer to relatives or to join up with other caravans, the map became less aesthetically geometric, revealing unplanned cul-de-sacs, improvised home expansion and uneven crowding. As Za’atari appears today, no two caravans look the same, much of the infrastructure has been painted to imitate Dara’a’s greenery, and hundreds of small private and public gardens have been planted in the desert terrain.

Za’atari’s humanitarian apparatus, while limiting refugee activity, has also made an effort to engage with refugees on an individual level. Although humanitarian interventions in the camp could do better to address men’s needs, many women are being supported in taking on the role of primary provider for their families. Young women who attend NGO programming are finding the courage to resist early marriage in favour of school or work. Young men who need to earn money can train in technology, barbering and sewing so they do not have to resort to physically arduous and often exploitative labour for little pay, such as transporting wheelbarrows of gravel around the camp. Aid workers have acted as mentors to children to encourage them to attend school regularly and work towards the profession they want.

Azraq

The drive into Azraq reveals a striking contrast to Za’atari. The entrance to Za’atari is always filled with aid workers and refugees coming and going. In Azraq, NGO vehicles are the only traffic heading down a long one-way road. At first glance, rows upon rows of caravans conceal any evidence of activity. Neglected basketball courts give the camp an air of dereliction. Azraq looks more like a storage depot than a long-term home for people fleeing violence.

Azraq’s planners wanted to construct the camp in such a way as to create villages within the camp in order to preserve traditional Syrian community structures while also accommodating the needs of those deemed more vulnerable: single women and mothers, people with disabilities, and the elderly. However, there was also an overarching – and overwhelming – objective to ensure security. Built in an isolated region of the northeastern desert, Azraq is far more secluded than Za’atari. Jordanian army vehicles are stationed at high points on the outskirts of Azraq, facing outward to the desert, as well as at the camp’s entrance and exit where officers check permits for both aid workers and vehicles. While these measures point to efforts to keep the camp’s refugees safe from external threats, a drive through Azraq reveals that security in reality prioritises the safety of humanitarian workers. The administrative base camp for NGO offices is a ten-minute car ride to the nearest of Azraq’s villages. Compared with Za’atari’s dense layout of markets, NGO centres and caravans across twelve districts in five square kilometres, Azraq’s four villages, designed to accommodate up to 130,000 refugees, are separated across 15 square kilometres by large plots of unoccupied space – and the emptiness is overwhelming. Ironically, the abundance of space in Azraq is designed to limit refugees’ movement; political demonstrations are harder to organise when mobilisation is a challenge and the community is physically disconnected.

Many aid workers state that Azraq’s organisation is what sets it apart as a model camp. In addition to the security benefits, it is meant to make things more convenient for aid workers, with one humanitarian citing camp NGOs’ unprecedented use of data sharing via Google Drive. This implies that the camp runs more efficiently than Za’atari but instead it has in fact introduced layers of bureaucracy that Za’atari’s comparative disorderliness has managed mostly to circumvent. The result: a heavily controlled, miserable and half-empty enclosure of symmetrical districts that restricts economic activity, movement and self-expression. Some refugees have likened the camp to an outdoor prison, while humanitarian observers have described it as a dystopian nightmare.

Critical differences

Azraq’s humanitarian planners missed a critical difference between the populations of both camps. Za’atari is refuge to Syrians who fled Assad’s crackdown on Dara’a, the city where their revolution began, and many had participated in the early demonstrations against Assad. Some of those who arrived or were assigned to Azraq had also come from Dara’a but many had fled from Homs and Aleppo, and a significant portion fled ISIS in Raqqa and are less likely to be politically active than their Dara’awi counterparts in Za’atari. Thus, despite Azraq’s extensive planning of the first two villages constructed (Villages 3 and 6) to prevent the kind of political expression witnessed in Za’atari, those in charge found themselves continually improvising, adding the next two villages (5 and then 2) to respond to groups of Syrians fleeing new developments in the Syrian conflict. 21,000 Syrians who were kept at the Rukban border after fleeing ISIS in 2016 were accepted into Jordan on condition that they would be held in Village 5 until cleared to move to the newly built Village 2.[3] Two years later, the lack of electricity in both of these villages is in stark contrast to the image of preparedness projected in 2014.[4]

By prioritising organisation and security, Azraq’s humanitarian system has restricted the potential for refugee livelihoods activities. Separating the villages to limit political mobility also interferes with daily routine, making it difficult for refugees to go to the supermarket or to attend meetings hosted by NGOs. Aid workers are also affected, having to wait hours sometimes for transport to travel between villages. Unlike in Za’atari, where unofficial public spaces arose spontaneously in the many areas where refugees were undertaking daily activities, Azraq’s endless space has actually left little room for meaningful communal areas. Featuring a few rows of benches squared in by caravan offices, the community centres in each village are designed more for refugees to wait to speak to officials than for community building. Created and managed by Azraq’s governing agencies, the marketplaces are quieter and emptier than Za’atari’s bustling Shams Élysées and offer only a small number of shops that refugees are allowed to run. Apart from the market, Azraq runs an incentive-based volunteering scheme for refugees to work for NGOs on a rotational basis but the high demand means that the 14,000 refugees who have registered usually spend 11 months of each year waiting for their turn.

Of course, the resilience of Azraq’s residents can be seen: families enjoying tea in the shade in the mornings, the makeshift shelving units that transform one-room caravans into a more functional space, the gardens that many have planted, and the small independent shops or salons run out of caravans. As the Syrians of Za’atari have adapted, so too have the Syrians of Azraq. But what makes Za’atari work – for a refugee camp – is everything that Azraq has chosen to prevent from the start: organic development, economic opportunity, a sense of community. While Za’atari did not have time to prepare for the arrival of refugees, it has nevertheless grown into a space where there is always something for residents to participate in. Azraq, on the other hand, is designed for waiting: waiting for services, waiting for work, waiting for return.

 

Melissa N Gatter mg745@cam.ac.uk
Doctoral candidate, University of Cambridge www.cam.ac.uk

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview