متى تكون العودة طوعية؟ ظروف اللجوء في لبنان

يجب ألا يكون قرار اللاجئ السوري في لبنان بالعودة إلى سوريا ناتجاً عن تدهور أوضاعه وما يصاحب ذلك من ضغوطات جسدية واجتماعية ومادية تجعل قرار العودة أمراً مفروضاً لا خياراً.

 

يعيش ما يُقدَّر عددهم بـ 1.5 مليون لاجئ سوري في لبنان، بمن فيهم ما لا يزيد عن مليون شخص مُسَجَّلِين لدى المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، يضاف إليهم أعداد كثيرة أخرى من غير المسجلين حاليّاً. ووفق دراسة أجرتها منظمة أوكسفام (Oxfam) في عام 2017، لم يشعر سوى 21% من اللاجئين السوريين المشاركين في الاستبيان بأنَّهم عثروا على السلامة الكاملة في لبنان، واشترك الرجال والنساء منهم بوصف مخاوفهم اليومية والتحدث عن استمرار قلقهم.[1]

وأشاروا أيضاً إلى أنَّهم في بداية الأزمة كانوا يشعرون بأمان أكثر، وأنَّ معاملتهم في لبنان كانت أفضل مما هي عليه الآن. وفي عام 2017 أدت عدة عوامل إلى زعزعة إحساس اللاجئين بالأمان، منها: استحداث الدولة اللبنانية إجراءات تنظيمية جديدة جعلت عملية الحصول على إقامة صالحة أصعب في وجه اللاجئين السوريين، وتفاقم ظاهرة الاستغلال، وتزايد التوترات التي ظهرت بينهم وبين المجتمع المضيف والسلطات المحلية، وتكرار حملات الاعتقال العنيفة على تجمعات اللاجئين، إضافة إلى التهديدات بالترحيل والتسفير والإعادة القسرية. ورغم كل ذلك، ورغم أنَّ الغالبية العظمى من المستجيبين في الدراسة لا نيَّة لديهم بالبقاء في لبنان بعد انتهاء النزاع في سوريا، فهم لا يشعرون أنَّ الظروف الراهنة في سوريا تسمح لهم بالعودة الآمنة إلى ديارهم.

وعند الحديث عن أي عودة للاجئين، لا بد من التركيز على "الطَّوعِيَّة" التي تتجسد في تطبيق مبدأ عدم الإعادة القسرية والذي تنص عليه اتفاقية اللاجئين لعام 1951، والقانون العرفي الدولي. ووفقاً لدليل العودة الطوعية الذي نشرته المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، "يجب النظر في مبدأ ’الطوعية‘ على ضوء الظروف السائدة في البلد الأصلي (التي يُبنَى عليها القرار المستنير) والوضع في بلد اللجوء (السماح بحرية الاختيار)"[2]ومن جهة أخرى، لكي تكون العودة طوعية، يجب ألا تتأثر قرارات العودة ’بعوامل الطرد‘ المتمثلة بما فيها الضغوط الجسدية والنفسية والمادية.

لكنَّ كثيراً من اللاجئين السوريين في لبنان يقولون إنَّ هناك مجموعة من عوامل الطرد التي تؤثر في سلامتهم وقدرتهم على تلبية حاجاتهم الأساسية، وقد يؤدي ذلك إلى اضطرارهم إلى العودة قبل أوانها، دون أن تكون تلك العودة مستدامة، ودون أن تكون مبنية على قرار حقيقي يتخذه اللاجئ بهذا الشأن، وبذلك لا تكون العودة قائمة على حرية الإرادة والاختيار. وبما أنَّ الأزمة في سوريا مستمرة، بل تشهد تصعيداً في بعض مناطقها، فذلك يعني أنَّ أي عودة سابقة لأوانها قد تُعرِّض اللاجئين إلى التأثر بالنزاع والتعرض للاعتقال والتعذيب والاختطاف وغيرها إضافة إلى تكرار تهجيرهم.

الصفة القانونية وتلبية الحاجات الضرورية

هناك بعض الأسس التي يبنى عليها القول الفصل بما إذا كان قرار اللاجئ بالعودة جاء بطوع إرادته أم لا، وأهمها الوضع القانوني للاجئ. ففي لبنان، يفتقر ما تقدر نسبتهم بـ 80% من اللاجئين السوريين إلى الوضع القانوني فهم لا يحملون وثائق الإقامة الصالحة التي تصدرها الحكومة اللبنانية، علماً أنَّ عدم حَمْلِ وثائق الإقامة الصالحة تُعدُّ جناية في لبنان، وأي لاجئ يفتقر إلى هذه الوثائق يصبح معرضاً لخطر الاعتقال والاحتجاز. وبما أنَّ نقاط التفتيش منتشرة في جميع أنحاء البلاد، اضطر كثير من اللاجئين إلى فرض القيود الذاتية القهرية على تحركاتهم وتنقلاتهم لخفض احتمالات تعرضهم للاعتقال، وبمحدودية حركتهم، تنخفض قدرتهم على البحث عن العمل. أمَّا اللاجئون القادرون على العثور على العمل، فيؤدي افتقارهم إلى الوضع القانوني إلى جعلهم أكثر عرضة للاستغلال المالي بسبب إمكانية الإبلاغ عنهم للسلطات لأي سبب كان. وبانخفاض الدخل، يصعب عليهم كثيراً تلبية حاجاتهم الأساسية بما في ذلك حاجات المأوى، وهكذا تزداد حاجة العائلات للاقتراض من أجل البقاء على قيد الحياة. ولا يقف الأمر عند هذا الحد، بل ينشأ عن قيود الحركة ومخاوف من الاعتقال مصاعب جمّة أمام الوصول إلى الخدمات الرئيسية والمُساعِدَة، كالخدمات الصحية والتعليم.

وبالإضافة إلى الغذاء والملبس واللوازم الصحية وغيرها من الحاجات المنزلية الأساسية، هناك أجور السكن (حتى بالنسبة لمن يعيش في الخيم)، بمعدل يقارب 189 دولاراً في الشهر وهو مبلغ كبير للاجئين وله تعزى المخاوف من إمكانية إخلائهم من البيوت إذا ما عجزوا عن دفع الإيجار الشهري. وتزداد تخوفات اللاجئين إزاء الرعاية الصحية فهي مصدر رئيسي للتكاليف أيضاً، لأنَّ التأمين الصحي الذي تُقدِّمه المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين لا يُغطّي إلا 75% من التكاليف (ولا تغطي إلا إجراءات الحفاظ على الحياة للحالات الحرجة والتوليد) وحتى المساعدات الإنسانية النقدية التي يفترض بها التخفيف من الأعباء المالية لا هي كافية ولا تُتاحُ أصلاً لكل أسر اللاجئين، ولذلك السبب، يعيش أكثر من 70% من اللاجئين السوريين في لبنان في الفقر، وتصل معدلات الديون على العائلات إلى 857 دولاراً أمريكياً.

سبل الحصول على الإقامة

في شهر يناير/كانون الأول 2015 استحدثت الحكومة إجراءات خاصة بالإقامة حددت مسارين أساسيين لحصول السوريين على وثائق الإقامة، وهما التقدم على أساس شهادة تسجيل صالحة صادرة عن المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين (إذا ما كان لديهم هذه الشهادة)، أو الحصول على تعهد بالمسؤولية (الكفالة) من مواطن لبناني. وفي أول الأمر، اشترطت هذه الإجراءات على اللاجئين المسجلين لدى المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين التعهد بعدم العمل في لبنان، ومع أنَّ هذا البند أزيل في منتصف عام 2016، ما زال تطبيق هذه الإجراءات يعني في الواقع العملي أنَّ العائق ما زال قائماً. ويصبح اللاجئون، وعلى الأخص منهم الذكور في الفئة العمرية 18-60 عاماً، محل شبهة بأنَّهم يعملون وهذا ما يصد السلطات عن منحهم لتصريحات الإقامة على أساس شهادة تسجيلهم لدى المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين بل تخبرهم أن عليهم البحث عن كفيل. وحتى اللاجئين الذين حصلوا بالفعل على تصريح الإقامة من خلال نظام الكفالة، كأولئك الذين حصلوا عليها عندما كان شرط التعهد بعدم العمل سارياً، فلا يمكنهم الحصول على الإقامة على أساس شهادة تسجيلهم لدى المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين حتى بعد أن يسحب الكفيل كفالته عنهم. وبالنتيجة، تصبح الكفالة المسار الوحيد ’بفعل الأمر الواقع‘ الذي على هؤلاء اللاجئين الذين بحاجة إلى عمل اتباعه للحصول على الإقامة. ومع ذلك، أشار اللاجئون المكفولون إلى أنَّ هذا النظام تسبب لهم بالاضطرار إلى القبول بظروف العمل الاستغلالية من أجل الحفاظ على كفالتهم (ومن أجل الحفاظ على صفتهم القانونية). ومن أمثلة هذه الظروف الاستغلالية، ذكر اللاجئون اضطرارهم للعمل المجاني ودفع أموال إضافية تتراوح بين مائة إلى ألف دولار.[3]وأشار اللاجئون الذين خضعوا للمقابلة من شمال لبنان، وسهل البقاع في عام 2017 إلى أنَّ اللاجئين السوريين لو أتيح لهم الحق في الحصول على تصاريح الإقامة دون شرط الكفيل، بغض النظر عما إذا كانوا مسجلين لدى المفوضية أم لا وبغض النظر عن طريقة إعالتهم لأنفسهم، لكان ذلك أهم العوامل التي سوف تمكنهم من الشعور بالأمان والعيش بكرامة خلال إقامتهم في لبنان.

وعلى أي حال، يرى معظم اللاجئين السوريين أنَّه من المبكر جدّاً النظر في خيار العودة إلى سوريا، فعدا عن أنَّهم علقوا عودتهم على انتهاء النِّزاع في سوريا وعودة السلامة والأمان للبلاد، فقد تحدثوا عن ضرورة تقديم ضمانات بعدم تعريضهم للعمليات الانتقامية والاعتقال والاحتجاز. ومع ذلك، يواجه اللاجئون ’عوامل طرد‘ جسدية ونفسية ومادية حقيقية وجسيمة. ولضمان وصول اللاجئين في المستقبل إلى قرارات عودة مبنية على حرية الإرادة الحقيقية لا بُدَّ للمجتمع الدولي، والحكومة اللبنانية من أن تضمن قدرة جميع اللاجئين من سوريا على سهولة الوصول إلى شكل من أشكال الصفات القانونية التي تمنحهم الحقوق الأساسية وتسمح لهم بإعالة أنفسهم دون طلب الكفالة من أحد.

 

آمي كيث amylkeith@gmail.com

نور شوَّاف NShawaf@oxfam.org.uk

أوكسفام لبنان www.oxfam.org/en/countries/lebanon

 



[1] Shawaf N and El Asmar F (2017) ‘We’re Not There Yet…’ Voices of Refugees from Syria in Lebanon, Oxfam http://oxf.am/ZaoC

(’نحن لم نصل إلى هناك بعد...‘ أصوات اللاجئين من سوريا في لبنان)

International Protection Handbook, p10[2] UNHCR (1996) Voluntary Repatriation:

www.unhcr.org/uk/publications/legal/3bfe68d32/handbook-voluntary-repatriation-international-protection.html

(دليل العودة الطوعية: الحماية الدولية)

[3] الأدلة من رصد الحماية الذي نفَّذته أوكسفام في يونيو/حزيران ويوليو/تموز وأغسطس/آب 2017.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

When is return voluntary? Conditions of asylum in Lebanon

The decision of Syrian refugees in Lebanon to return to Syria must not be based on a deteriorating quality of asylum that creates physical, social and material pressures on decisions to return.

An estimated 1.5 million Syrian refugees are currently living in Lebanon, of whom just under one million are registered with UNHCR; many others are not currently registered. According to research conducted by Oxfam in 2017, only 21% of Syrian refugee respondents felt they had found complete safety in Lebanon, with both men and women describing daily fears and continuous worry.[1]

Respondents reported that at the beginning of the crisis they had felt safer and had received better treatment in Lebanon. In 2017, their sense of safety had been eroded by regulations that have made it much more difficult to obtain valid residency documents, by exploitation, by tensions with the host community and local authorities, by recurrent arrests, by violent raids on refugee settlements, and by threats of deportation and forced return. Despite this, and despite the fact that the vast majority of the respondents have no intention of remaining in Lebanon after the conflict in Syria ends, they do not feel that conditions in Syria currently allow for their safe return.

The principle of ‘voluntariness’ is at the core of refugee return, and is derived from the principle of non-refoulement as enshrined in the 1951 Refugee Convention and international customary law. According to the handbook on voluntary repatriation published by UNHCR (the UN Refugee Agency), “the principle of ‘voluntariness’ must be viewed in relation to both: conditions in the country of origin (calling for an informed decision) and the situation in the country of asylum (permitting a free choice).”[2] For return to be truly voluntary, return decisions should be made without the influence of ‘push factors’ in the form of physical, psychological or material pressure.

For many Syrian refugees in Lebanon, a host of push factors affect their safety and ability to meet their basic needs, which may result in premature and unsustainable returns that are not based on a truly free choice. The conflict in Syria continues and is escalating in some areas, and any premature returns could expose refugees to conflict, detention, torture, abduction and other forms of violence – and repeated displacement.

Legal status and meeting basic needs

One key factor for assessing the voluntariness of return decisions is refugees’ legal status in the country of asylum. At present, an estimated 80% of Syrian refugees in Lebanon lack legal status in the form of valid residency documents issued by the Government of Lebanon. Not having valid residency documents is a criminal offence in Lebanon and refugees who lack these documents are at particular risk of arrest and detention. As checkpoints are present throughout the country, many refugees have adopted self-imposed restrictions on movement to reduce their risk of arrest. Limited movement results in a reduced ability to find work. For those who can find work, their lack of legal status makes them vulnerable to financial exploitation, because they can be reported to the authorities. Reduced income makes it extremely difficult to meet basic needs – including shelter – and increases the need for families to take on debt in order to survive. Simultaneously, restrictions on movement and fear of arrest also make it more difficult to access basic services and assistance, including health care and education.

In addition to food, clothing, hygiene supplies and other essential household items, nearly all refugees in Lebanon (even those who live in tents) pay rent, at an average cost of US$189 per month. Eviction is a major fear due in large part to difficulties in affording rent. Health care is also a major expense and concern, as health insurance provided through UNHCR covers only 75% of costs (and then only for life-saving procedures and obstetrics). Cash-based humanitarian assistance meant to alleviate these financial burdens is neither sufficient nor provided to all refugee households. Over 70% cent of Syrian refugees in Lebanon live in poverty and households have on average debts totalling $857.

Pathways to residency

Residency regulations that came into force in January 2015 provide two primary pathways for Syrians to obtain residency documents: applying on the basis of a valid UNHCR registration certificate (if they have one), or obtaining a pledge of responsibility (sponsorship) from a Lebanese citizen. These regulations initially required those refugees with UNHCR registration certificates to sign a pledge not to work. This provision was removed in mid-2016 but the implementation of these regulations means that in practice this barrier persists. Refugees, especially men between the ages of 18-60, who work or are suspected of working have been denied residence permits when they try to obtain them on the basis of their UNHCR registration certificate, and are told instead to obtain a sponsor. Refugees who have already obtained residence via sponsorship – like those who did so when the pledge not to work was still in place – cannot later obtain residency via their UNHCR certificate, even if their sponsorship is withdrawn. For refugees who need to work, therefore, the sponsorship pathway remains in many cases the de facto ‘required’ pathway. However, sponsored refugees have reported being required to submit to exploitative conditions in order to maintain their sponsorship (and hence their legal status). The two principal means of exploitation are providing free labour and paying additional fees ranging from $100 to $1,000.[3] Syrian refugees across North Lebanon and the Beka’a valley who were interviewed in 2017 indicated that allowing Syrian refugees, even if they are not registered with UNHCR and regardless of how they are supporting themselves, to have residence permits without the need to obtain a sponsor was one of the most important factors that would enable them to feel safe and maintain their dignity during their time in Lebanon.

For most Syrian refugees, it is too early to consider return to Syria as a possibility. In addition to the need for the conflict to end and safety inside Syria to be established, refugees have spoken of the need for guarantees against reprisal, arrest and detention. However, refugees in Lebanon are facing very real physical, psychological and material ‘push factors’. In order to ensure that future return decisions are truly acts of free will, the international community and the Government of Lebanon must ensure that all refugees from Syria are able to easily access a form of legal status that grants their basic rights and allows them the capacity to sustain themselves, without requiring sponsorship.

 

Amy Keith amylkeith@gmail.com

Nour Shawaf NShawaf@oxfam.org.uk

Oxfam Lebanon www.oxfam.org/en/countries/lebanon

 

[1] Shawaf N and El Asmar F (2017) ‘We’re Not There Yet…’ Voices of Refugees from Syria in Lebanon, Oxfam http://oxf.am/ZaoC   

[2] UNHCR (1996) Voluntary Repatriation: International Protection Handbook, p10
www.unhcr.org/uk/publications/legal/3bfe68d32/handbook-voluntary-repatriation-international-protection.html

[3] Evidence from Oxfam protection monitoring carried out in June, July and August 2017.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview