قانون ’زامبا‘ الإيطالي: زيادة درجة الحماية للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين

سَنَّت إيطاليا تشريعاً شامِلاً لحمايةِ حقوقِ الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين الواصلين إلى إيطاليا، ومع أنَّ هناك عيوباً في الطريقة التي تُعامِلُ فيها إيطاليا هذه الفئة المستضعفة الخاصة، تؤسس المقاربة الإيطالية القائمة على الحماية لمثالٍ يُحتذَى به في الدول الأخرى.

في مارس/آذار 2017، أصبحت إيطاليا الدولة الأوروبية الأولى التي شَرَّعَت إطار عملٍ شاملٍ لحماية الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين. وكان مشروع القانون قد قُدِّمَ قبل ثلاث سنوات تقريباً للمرة الأولى وتبع ذلك حملةَ كسبِ تأييدٍ نَسَقَتها منظمات حقوق الإنسان طيلة مدة القراءة البرلمانية لمشروع القانون ثم حصل مشروع القانون على الإقرارِ تحت اسم ’أحكام تدابير الحماية للقاصرين الأجانب غير المصحوبين ببالغين‘[i] على تصويتِ الأغلبية العظمى من النواب. ويشار إلى القانون بِاسْم قانون زامبا نسبةً إلى السياسي الإيطالي الذي اِقترحه وبُنِيت أحكامه على الخبرة الممتدة في الميدان مع الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين وعلى مبادئ حقوق الطفل الدولية.

ولقي هذا القانون ترحيباً من منظمة الأمم المتحدة للطفولة (اليونيسف) كنموذجٍ يُحتَذَى به في الدول الأوروبية الأخرى، أما منظمة إنقاذ الطفل (Save the Children) فوصفته بأنَّه "النظام الأكثر تفصيلاً في توفير الحماية للأطفال في أوروبا"، وجاء قانون زامبا استجابة لتزايدِ الأعداد الكبيرة من الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين المسافرين عبر البحر المتوسط إلى إيطاليا. وفي الفترة الممتدة ما بين 1 يناير/كانون الثاني و31 ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2017 دخل 15779 من الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين إيطاليا عبر البحر.[ii]وأتى غالبية هؤلاء الأطفال من الدول الإفريقية ومن بنغلاديش وسوريا، وتشير كثير من التقارير الصادرة مؤخراً إلى الصعوبة التي تتسم بها رحلاتهم وإلى وقوع حالات من الإساءات الجنسية والبدنية التي غالباً ما يواجهونها إضافة إلى تعرضهم لخطر استغلال عصابات الاتجار بالبشر.[iii]

وعلى مستوى الاتحاد الأوروبي، اُتِّخِذَت عدد من الخطوات للتصدي لحاجات الحماية الخاصة بالأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين بما في ذلك مراجعة منظومة اللجوء الأوروبية المشتركة، وتوجيه الاتحاد الأوروبي بشأن العودة، وتنفيذ خطة عملها الخاصة بالقاصرين غير المصحوبين ببالغين للأعوام 2010-2014.[iv]ورغم كل هذه الإجراءات والجهود التي بذلتها بعض دول الاتحاد الأوروبي ما زالت بعض الدول تفتقر إلى القوانين الخاصة أو الأطر العامة الشاملة للتصدي لحاجات الحماية للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين.

أحكام القانون

تُنشِئ مواد قانون زامبا وأحكامه وتعدل عدة إجراءات ترتبط باستقبال الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين في إيطاليا والتعامل معهم وتقدم لهم ضمانات بالحد الأدنى من الرعاية. والأهم من ذلك أنَّ القانون يعكس الحقوق الرئيسية الواردة في اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الطفل بما فيها الحق في الرعاية الصحية والتعليم والتمثيل القانوني وحق سماع بيِّناتِهِم خلال المرافعات القضائية والإدارية، وينص القانون أيضاً على مبدأ أفضل مصالح الطفل.

وتُقِرُّ المادة الأولى من القانون بمواطن الاستضعاف الخاصة بالأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين وتضمن لهم الحقوق والحماية ذاتها الممنوحة للأطفال الإيطاليين والأوروبيين. وهناك مادة أخرى تنص على الحظر التام لإعادة أي طفل غير مصحوب ببالغين وإزالته من إيطاليا ما لم يكن ذلك بأمر من المحكمة وفي ظروف استثنائية ولا يجوز فعل ذلك بأي حال من الأحوال إذا ما أنطوى عليه ضرر خطير بحق الطفلِ. ويَشترِط القانون أيضاً تنفيذ إجراءات تحديد الهوية فور وصول الطفل غير المصحوب ببالغين في إيطاليا ثم يُنَفَّذ استقصاء من أجل تحديد الإجراءات المستقبلية التي يجب أن تنصب بأفضل مصالح الطفل. وإذا كان هناك أي شيء معقول حول عمر الطفل، فيجب تنفيذ إجراءات تحديد العمر شريطة استخدام الطرق الأقل تدخلاً بالشؤون الخاصة ما أمكن ذلك. وينبغي تنفيذ إجراءات التحديد ضمن عشرة أيام في مرافق الاستقبال الأولية ويجب على هذه المرافق أن تستوفي المعايير الدنيا لضمان الحماية الكافية للطفل في إسكانه وحقوقه الرئيسية. وبعد 30 يوماً، ينبغي نقل الطفل إلى مراكز ثانوية ضمن المنظومة الإيطالية لحماية طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين.

وينص القانون أيضاً على وجوب توفير الخدمات الصحية الإيطالية للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين خلال إقامتهم في إيطاليا ويُلزِمُ إدخالهم إلى المؤسسات التعليمية. وبموجب هذا القانون، يتمتع هؤلاء الأطفال أيضاً بحق الاطلاع الكامل على ما يتعلق بالتمثيل القانوني ويلزم القانون الدولة بتقديم تلك الخدمة لهم مجاناً دون مقابل. وتُعَدِّلُ موادٌ أخرى في قانون زامبا إجراءات سابقة أو تقدم إجراءات جديدة فيما يخص لم الشمل الأسري وتوفير تصاريح الإقامة والوصول إلى الرعاية الوالدية وتدريب الأوصياء وتعيينهم وتقديم المساعدة لضحايا الاتجار بالبشر. وينص القانون على إنشاء منظومة معلومات وطنية تُصَمَّمُ من أجل متابعة الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين في إيطاليا وتَتضمَّن المعلومات الخاصة بموقعهم وحاجاتهم الفردية.

تحديات التنفيذ

لا شك في أنَّ هذا القانون يُمَثِّل خطوة إيجابية ويضرب مثلاً يحتذى به في الدول الأخرى، لكِّنَّ ضمان تنفيذه الفعال من الأمور الصعبة على ما يبدو. فتوفير السكن الملائم والكافي للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين والوصاية والرعاية الصحية والتعليم وغيرها من الأمور تتطلب تمويلاً واستطاعة كافيتين. لكنَّ جودة هذه الخدمات في كثير من أنحاء إيطاليا ومدى إتاحتها ما زالت أقل من المعايير المطلوبة. ويسوء الوضع أكثر بسبب الضعف الذي يعتري منظومة الاستقبال الإيطالية التي لا يقدم قانون زامبا كثيراً من التعليمات لتصحيحها ويَنتِجُ عن ذلك إسكان معظم الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين في صقلية أو كالابريا. كما أنَّ كثيراً منهم يُحرَمُونَ من حق الوصول إلى منظومة حماية طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين ويبقون في مرافق الاستقبال الأولية لمدد زمنية مطولة أو في مراكز الاستقبال المؤقتة. ويَنتِج عن ذلك شعور بالإحباط لدى الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين بسبب هذه الخدمات المضغوطة في تلك المناطق وسوء ظروف المسكن وإطالة أمد فترات الانتظار وغياب المعلومات الخاصة باللجوء وإجراءات لم الشمل الأسري وهذا ما يجعلهم في أغلب الأحيان يختفون من مراكز الاستقبال ويحاولون الوصول إلى أماكن أخرى من إيطاليا أو أوروبا. وعندما يفعلون ذلك فإنهم يعرضون أنفسهم إلى مخاطر مجددة للإساءة والاتجار بالبشر.

وأدركت إيطاليا هذه التحديات، فاتخذت الخطوات اللازمة لتحسين عملية التنفيذ، ومن هنا سُنَ قانونٌ في ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2017 للتعامل مع مزيدٍ من إجراءات الوصاية وهناك أيضا تدابير أخرى قيد التصميم تسعى إلى زيادة قدرات مراكز الاستقبال وعدد الأوصياء المتاحين.[v]ويُخطَّطُ الآن لتصميم الممارسة المثلى ونشرها بالإضافة إلى جمع البيانات الخاصة والمفصلة.

وبما أنَّ الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين يعانون بطبيعتهم من مواطن ضعف كبيرة فذلك يحتم على الدول أن تطور أطرها العامة القائمة على حقوق الإنسان وتنفذها تنفيذاً فعالاً من أجل حماية هؤلاء الأطفال. فلو كان هناك أي ثغرات في القوانين فذلك قد يؤدي إلى معاملة الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين بطرق لا تتلاءم مع حقوقهم الممنوحة لهم وفقاً للقانون الدولي. ومع أنَّ هناك ثغرات واضحة ومواطن عجز كبيرة في معاملة إيطاليا للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين، يُبيِّن قانون زامبا الذي أقرته حديثاً أنَّ البلاد بدأت تتخذ خطوات تشريعية قوية لمنح هؤلاء الأطفال كل العطف والحماية التي يستحقونها. أمَّا الدول الأخرى التي تمثل وجهات أساسية للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين فما زال عليها سن القوانين التي تماثل أو تضاهي الحمايات المبنية على الحقوق في إيطاليا. فنحن نجد أنَّ الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية على سبيل المثال تَعمَدُ على الدوام إلى إعادة الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين المكسيكيين دون إجراء أي فحص وتمحيص كافيين لطلبات لجوئهم أو التحقيق بادعاءاتهم بالتعرض للاتجار بالبشر[vi]أمَّا الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين في جنوب إفريقيا فغالباً ما يفتقرون إلى القدرة على الوصول إلى الخدمات الأساسية وإجراءات طلب اللجوء.[vii]ومع تقدم المجتمع الدولي نحو العقد العالمي حول اللاجئين والعقد العالمي حول المهاجرين، ينبغي لجميع الدول دون استثناء أن تبذل العناية الواجبة لحماية الأطفال وأن تعالج السياسات والممارسات التي تضع هؤلاء الأطفال في خطر.

جوزيف ليليوت j.lelliott1@uq.edu.au

مرشح لنيل درجة الدكتوراه، جامعة كوينزلاند www.uq.edu.au



[i]    ’Disposizioni in materia di misure di protezione dei minori stranieri non accompagnati

[ii]   Unaccompanied and Separated Children (UASC) Dashboard, December 2017: UNHCR (2018) Italy

(إيطاليا: لوحة القيادة للأطفال المنفصلين عن ذويهم وغير المصحوبين ببالغين، ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2017)

https://reliefweb.int/report/italy/italy-unaccompanied-and-separated-children-uasc-dashboard-december-2017

[iii]  The Central Mediterranean Migration Route:UNICEF (2017) A Deadly Journey for Children

(رحلة الموت للأطفال: مسار الهجر عبر منتصف المتوسط)

www.unicef.org/publications/index_94905.html

[v]    European Asylum Support Office (2017) Operating Plan Agreed by EASO and Italy

(خطة العمل المتفق عليها بين المكتب الأوروبي لدعم اللجوء وإيطاليا)

www.easo.europa.eu/sites/default/files/Italy-OP-2018.pdf

[vi]   UNHCR (2014) Children on the Run www.unhcr.org/56fc266f4

(الأطفال الهاربون)

[vii] UN Committee on the Rights of the Child (2016) Concluding Observations of the Second Periodic Report of South Africa

(الملاحظات الختامية للتقرير الدوري الثاني لجنوب أفريقيا)

www.refworld.org/docid/587ce86b4.html

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Italy’s ‘Zampa’ law: increasing protection for unaccompanied children

Italy has enacted comprehensive legislation to protect the rights of unaccompanied children arriving in Italy. While flaws remain in Italy’s treatment of these particularly vulnerable migrants, the country’s protection-focused approach sets an example to other countries.

In March 2017, Italy became the first European country to legislate a comprehensive framework protecting unaccompanied children. Close to three years after the bill was first introduced, and following concerted advocacy by human rights organisations during the parliamentary process, the ‘Provisions on protective measures for unaccompanied foreign minors’[1] was passed with a large majority. It is referred to as the ‘Zampa’ law after the Italian politician who proposed it, and its provisions are based on extensive experience in the field with unaccompanied children and on international child rights principles.

Hailed by the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) as a model for other European countries and described by Save the Children as the “most elaborate system for child protection in Europe”, the Zampa law emerged in response to the large numbers of unaccompanied children travelling across the Mediterranean Sea to Italy. Between 1 January and 31 December 2017, 15,779 unaccompanied children entered Italy by sea.[2] These children come predominantly from African countries, Bangladesh and Syria and many recent reports have illustrated the difficulty and desperation of their journeys, the sexual and physical abuse they often encounter, and their vulnerability to human traffickers.[3]

The European Union (EU) has taken a number of steps to address the protection needs of unaccompanied children, including revising both the Common European Asylum System and the EU Return Directive, and implementing its Action Plan on Unaccompanied Minors 2010-2014.[4] Notwithstanding these actions, and despite the efforts of some EU states, many countries lack specific laws or comprehensive frameworks to address the protection needs of unaccompanied children.

The law’s provisions

The Zampa law’s articles create and amend various procedures relating to the reception and treatment of unaccompanied children in Italy, and guarantee them a minimum level of care. Importantly, the law reflects several fundamental rights from the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, including rights to health care and education, legal representation, and to be heard during judicial and administrative proceedings. It also incorporates the best interests of the child principle.

The law’s first article recognises the special vulnerabilities of unaccompanied children and guarantees them the same rights and protection afforded to Italian and other European children. Another article introduces an absolute prohibition on the return or removal of any unaccompanied child from Italy, unless ordered by a court in exceptional circumstances – and only where no serious harm would befall the child. The law requires identity procedures to be carried out on arrival of an unaccompanied child in Italy, and an inquiry to be conducted to determine what future actions will be in the child’s best interests. Where there is reasonable doubt over a child’s age, age determinations may be carried out, but should use the least invasive methods possible. Identification procedures should be concluded within ten days and be carried out in primary reception facilities. Facilities must meet minimum standards to ensure the child is adequately accommodated and their fundamental rights protected. After 30 days children should be transferred to secondary centres within Italy’s System for the Protection of Asylum Seekers and Refugees (SPRAR).

The law provides that unaccompanied children must have access to the Italian National Health Service during their time in Italy, and be admitted to educational institutions. They also have a right to be informed about legal representation, which should be provided free of charge, funded by the state. Other articles of the Zampa law amend or introduce procedures regarding family reunification, the provision of residency permits, access to foster care, the training and appointment of guardians, and assistance for victims of human trafficking. The law also provides for the creation of a national information system, which is designed to keep track of unaccompanied children in Italy and includes information on their location and their individual needs.

Implementation challenges

Although this law represents a positive step and an example for other countries, ensuring its effective implementation is likely to prove difficult. Providing unaccompanied children with sufficient accommodation, guardianship, health care and education, among other things, requires sufficient funding and capacity. Unfortunately, the quality and availability of these services in many places in Italy continue to fall below the standards envisioned. These are exacerbated by continuing inefficiencies in Italy’s reception system which the Zampa law does little to rectify, and which result in most unaccompanied children being accommodated in Sicily and Calabria. Many are denied access to the SPRAR system, and stay in primary reception facilities for extended periods or in temporary reception centres. Frustrated by overburdened services in these regions, poor accommodation, prolonged waiting times and a lack of information regarding asylum and family reunification procedures, unaccompanied children often disappear from reception centres and try to reach other parts of Italy or Europe. Doing so exposes them to further risks of abuse and human trafficking.

Mindful of these challenges, Italy is taking steps to improve implementation. A law passed in December 2017 further addresses guardianship procedures, while measures to increase reception capacity and the number of available guardians are being developed.[5] Efforts to develop and disseminate best practice are also planned, as is continued collection of detailed data.

The vulnerabilities of unaccompanied children make it essential that States develop and effectively implement rights-based frameworks for these children’s protection. Existing gaps in laws may result in unaccompanied children being treated in ways that are inconsistent with their rights under international law. While significant gaps and deficits remain in Italy’s treatment of unaccompanied children, its passing of the Zampa law shows that the country is taking concrete legislative steps to afford such children the compassion and protection they deserve. Many other countries that are major destinations for unaccompanied children have yet to pass laws that match Italy’s rights-based protections. The United States, for example, routinely returns Mexican unaccompanied children without adequate screening for asylum claims or trafficking,[6] while unaccompanied children in South Africa are often unable to access basic services and asylum procedures.[7] As the international community progresses towards the Global Compact on Refugees and the Global Compact for Migration, all countries must pay special attention to the protection of children, and address policies and practices that put them in danger.

 

Joseph Lelliott j.lelliott1@uq.edu.au
Doctoral candidate, University of Queensland www.uq.edu.au

 

[1]    ‘Disposizioni in materia di misure di protezione dei minori stranieri non accompagnati’

[2]    UNHCR (2018) Italy: Unaccompanied and Separated Children (UASC) Dashboard, December 2017 https://reliefweb.int/report/italy/italy-unaccompanied-and-separated-children-uasc-dashboard-december-2017

[3]    UNICEF (2017) A Deadly Journey for Children: The Central Mediterranean Migration Route http://www.unicef.org/publications/index_94905.html

[5]    European Asylum Support Office (2017) Operating Plan Agreed by EASO and Italy www.easo.europa.eu/sites/default/files/Italy-OP-2018.pdf

[6]    UNHCR (2014) Children on the Run www.unhcr.org/56fc266f4

[7]    UN Committee on the Rights of the Child (2016) Concluding Observations of the Second Periodic Report of South Africa www.refworld.org/docid/587ce86b4.html

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview