مخيم واحد وثلاث مجموعات للاجئين: تحديات أمام المنظمات المحلية غير الحكومية

تواجه المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية في مخيم برج البراجنة في لبنان تحديات كثيرة في الاستجابة إلى الاحتياجات المعقدة لثلاث مجموعات مختلفة من اللاجئين.

يقع مخيم برج البراجنة على أرض مساحتها كيلومتر مربع بالقرب من مطار بيروت الدولي، ويعد واحداً من أصل اثني عشر مخيماً رسمياً للاجئين الفلسطينيين في لبنان شُيِّدَت عقب إقامة إسرائيل عام 1948، وقد آوى المخيم زهاء 27 ألف نسمة قبل بدء النزاع في سوريا كان معظمهم من اللاجئين الفلسطينيين من لبنان، ولكن مع حلول عام 2017 تزايد عدد اللاجئين السوريين واللاجئين الفلسطينيين من سوريا ليصل عدد سكان المخيم إلى 41 ألف نسمة.[1]

وقد جذب مخيم البراجنة اللاجئين من سوريا نظراً لأن التكلفة المعيشية فيه أقل مما هي عليه في أي مكان آخر في بيروت عدا عن أن بعض اللاجئين الفلسطينيين القادمين من سوريا لديهم أقارب يعيشون بين اللاجئين الفلسطينيين من لبنان في المخيم. وكبقية المخيمات الفلسطينية الأخرى في لبنان، لا يتبع مخيم برج البراجنة لسلطة اختصاص السلطات اللبنانية وهذا ما يفضله بعض اللاجئين القادمين من سوريا. وفي خضم هذه الأزمة السكانية، تواجه المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية كثيراً من التحديات في توفير الدعم لمجموعات اللاجئين المختلفة في المخيم.

وفي ضوء ذلك، يبدي اللاجئون الفلسطينيون من لبنان استياءهم إزاء تدهور الظروف المعيشية التي رافقت الزيادة السكانية، فظروف العيش في المخيم كانت سيئة أصلاً وتفاقمت أكثر بتوافد هذه المجموعات الجديدة وتدفق الناس عليه، وأدى ذلك في نهاية الأمر إلى ارتفاع مستوى التوتر بين سكان المخيم. فمن ناحية البنية التحتية، شهد المخيم توسعاً عمودياً نتيجة لتشييد الطوابق الجديدة فوق المساكن، إذ وصل ارتفاع بعضها إلى ثمانية أو تسعة طوابق وكلها تفتقر إلى الأساسات المناسبة، كما أدت التوسعة التي شهدتها شبكَتَا الكهرباء والمياه لتصل إلى السكان الجُدُد إلى تشابك الأسلاك الكهربائية مع أنابيب المياه الدالفة على مستوى الرأس في كل أنحاء المخيم.

ورغم ما تلقته المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية من تمويل لتحسين المساكن، ما زال البناء العام والبنية التحتية في المخيم أدنى من مستوى الجودة المطلوبة يضاف إليها صِغَر المساحة وكلها أسباب تحول دون إيواء اللاجئين بما يضمن سلامتهم وراحتهم في الوقت نفسه.

وبما أنَّ العلاقة بين السلطات اللبنانية والسكان واللاجئين الفلسطينيين من لبنان يشوبها التوتر، أصبحت هذه الفئة من اللاجئين في وضع أسوأ من وضع أي فئة أخرى من اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في المنطقة. ومَرَدُّ هذا التوتر أنَّ السلطات اللبنانية تُقصِي اللاجئين الفلسطينيين عن معظم المهن، فلا تكاد تترك لهم من فرص العمل القانونية إلا قطاعَي البناء والزراعة وجمع النفايات. كما يُحظَر على اللاجئين الفلسطينيين من لبنان امتلاك العقارات ، وهناك قيود مفروضة على حريتهم في الحركة. وعلى خلاف مجموعات اللاجئين الأخرى الذين تشملهم ولاية المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، تختص وكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في الشرق الأدنى (الأونروا) بتقديم المساعدة للفلسطينيين. وبسبب القيود التي تفرضها السلطات اللبنانية ومنعها اللاجئين الفلسطينيين من الوصول إلى خدمات الدولة يضطر الفلسطينيون في لبنان للاعتماد على الأونروا لدرجة أكبر مما يعتمد عليه نظراؤهم في أماكن أخرى من المنطقة إذ إنّ الأونروا هي المزود الرئيسي للرعاية الصحية والتعليم كما أنها المسؤولة عن نظام الصرف الصحي وجمع النفايات في المخيمات الرسمية البالغ عددها اثنا عشر مخيماً. غير إنَّ غياب دعم الدولة وعدم كفاية خدمات الأونروا أدى إلى تطوير شبكة واسعة من المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية العاملة في المخيمات.

حاجات متباينة لثلاث مجموعات من اللاجئين

تحدد الأوضاع القانونية المختلفة لمجموعات اللاجئين الثلاثة إمكانية حصولهم على المساعدة ، إذ ما زال اللاجئون الفلسطينيون من لبنان يحصلون على خدمات كل من الأونروا والمنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية، ويشاركهم الآن اللاجئون الفلسطينيون القادمون من سوريا، بينما يحصل اللاجئون السوريون على المساعدات من المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين والمنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية إضافة إلى بعض الخدمات الحكومية التي تتيحها السلطات اللبنانية لهم. ولذلك ينبغي للمنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية أن تُكيّفَ استجابتها لاحتياجات هذه المجموعات الثلاثة المختلفة وهي مهمة صعبة، نظراً لاختلاف مستوى صعوبة الحصول على التمويل الذي يسهل إذا كان الهدف منه خدمة اللاجئين السوريين، لكنَّه يصعب إذا استهدف اللاجئين الفلسطينيين من سوريا ويصعب أكثر إذا استهدف اللاجئين الفلسطينيين من لبنان. ويتحتم على عدم المساواة في الحصول على المساعدات وازدواجية الأجهزة التابعة للأمم المتحدة زيادة في حدة التوترات بين المجموعات الثلاثة إذ تعتقد كل واحدة من تلك المجموعات أن المجموعتين الأخرتَين تحظيان بظروف عيش أفضل منها.

أما المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية فتجد أنه يتعذر عليها تلبية احتياجات جميع الفئات السكانية، وذلك من جملة التحديات السابقة للأزمة السورية وتفاقمت مع وصول المزيد من اللاجئين الجُدُد إذ تحرص الجهات المانحة على تمويل البرامج التي تستهدف النساء والأطفال أكثر من حرصها على تمويل تلك المُوَجَّهة للمسنين والشباب والرجال. وهذا ما يدفع المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية للاعتقاد أنَّ الجهات الدولية المانحة لا تنظر لمساعدة كبار السن على أنَّها ’استثمار جيد‘. أما خطط الاستجابة الإقليمية[2] فتركز على احتياجات الشباب وضرورة دمجهم إيجابياً مع مجتمعاتهم وتمكينهم وجعلهم قادرين على التكيف مع الظروف المحيطة، غير إنَّ المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية لم تتمكن من الحصول على تمويل للبرامج المُوَجَّهَة للشباب. وهذه إشكالية خاصة في مكان كمخيم برج البراجنة، فمع قلة خيارات العمل المتاحة لا يجد معظم الشباب بُدَّاً من قضاء أوقاتهم بشرب الخمر والتدخين وتعاطي الحبوب المخدرة ليصبحوا بذلك عرضة لاستغلال العصابات الإجرامية والجماعات المسلحة. فاللاجئون الفلسطينيون من الذكور في لبنان يكافحون لتأدية أدوارهم التقليدية كمعيلين لعائلاتهم وذلك بسبب القيود المفروضة على حقهم في العمل. وكذلك الرجال السوريون شأنهم في ذلك شأن النساء والأطفال السوريين، فقد عانوا من الصدمة النفسية جرَّاء النزاع والفرار من سوريا، وتتضاعف معاناتهم الآن بتقييد حقهم في العمل. وتفيد المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية بأن الإحباط المتفشي بين الرجال في المخيم يتجلّى في مظاهر عدّة أهمها العنف الأسري الذي يعرّض الزوجات إلى الإساءة مما يدفعهن بالمقابل إلى الإساءة لأطفالهن. ووجدت المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية أنَّ الجهود المبذولة لتنفيذ البرامج القائمة على الجندر وفقاً لخطط الاستجابة الإقليمية تقتصر على البرامج التي تستهدف النساء والأطفال.

ولكل مجموعة من اللاجئين جملة من الاحتياجات الإنسانية والإنمائية. ورغم حرص الجهات المانحة على الانتقال من المشاريع الطارئة إلى المشاريع الإنمائية، يشوب بعض هذه المشاريع ضعف استهدافها للفئات المستفيدة. فعلى سبيل المثال، ترغب الجهات المانحة بتمويل المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية لدعم سبل كسب الرزق من خلال توفير التدريب المهني أو تقديم المشورة في الشؤون التجارية، لكنَّ المؤكد أن تلك المشاريع ذات أثر محدود بسبب القيود المفروضة على حقوق اللاجئين في العمل. لذلك، غالباً ما قدمت المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية التمويل اللازم لعقد ورشات العمل التوعوية حول الحقوق بدلاً من تمويل العمل على تلبية الاحتياجات الأساسية لسكان المخيم. وصحيح أن نشر المعلومات المتعلقة بالحقوق أمر هام وضروري، إلا أن تكرار هذه الأنشطة واستهدافها المستمر لأشخاص غير قادرين على الاعتماد على أنفسهم في تلبية احتياجاتهم الأساسية يفرغ ورشات العمل تلك من محتواها وقيمتها ويجعل تسويغها صعباً.

الاستفادة من المشاريع الناجحة

رغم كل هذه الصعوبات، سجَّلت المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية بعض التجارب الناجحة في مسيرتها. وكان برامج تسريع التِّعليم من ضمن تلك التجارب إذ نفذتها كثير من المنظمات في لبنان بهدف دمج الأطفال القادمين من سوريا في التعليم السائد. وتنقسم برامج تسريع التِّعليم إلى نوعين: أهداف تعليمية وأخرى نفسية-اجتماعية، إذ صُمِمَت البرامج لمساعدة الأطفال على اللحاق بما فاتهم من تعليم وبناء المهارات اللازمة لتمكينهم من الدراسة ذاتياً وتطوير الآليات اللازمة للتصدي للتنمر الذي قد يواجهونه باعتبارهم طلاب جُدُد في المدرسة. وركَّز برنامج تسريع التِّعليم على تطوير المهارات اللغوية للأطفال القادمين من سوريا ليتمكنوا من الانضمام والمشاركة في المدارس في لبنان، وتُدَرَّسُ المناهج غالباً باللغتين الإنجليزية والفرنسية. وتساعد عناصر البرنامج الأطفال على تجاوز الصدمات النفسية التي تعرضوا لها، كما توفّر الدعم للآباء ليتمكنوا من فهم الآثار المترتبة على التجارب التي مرّ بها أطفالهم ما يمكنهم من تقديم الدعم لهم. ولقي هذا النهج الشمولي مديحاً من كل الأطراف المشاركة يشمل الأطفال المشاركين فيه وآباءهم والموظفين المُنَفِّذين. ورغم النتائج الإيجابية لبرنامج تسريع التِّعليم، لم يكن مصحوباً ببرامج مساندة أخرى، وهذا ما يدفع موظفي المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية إلى المناشدة بضرورة توسيع الدعم بما يشمل الاستمرار بتقديم الدعم النفسي-الاجتماعي للأطفال وعائلاتهم إذا لزم الأمر حتى بعد إكمال الأطفال للبرنامج بنجاح لما في ذلك من أهمية في تعزيز ما تعلموه خلال البرنامج، ومع أنَّ الأطفال في برج البراجنة التمسوا وتلقوا المزيد من الدعم غير الرسمي من معلميهم السابقين في برنامج تسريع التِّعليم فإنه من الأفضل العمل على التوسيع الرسمي للبرنامج.

ومن المشاريع الأخرى التي أطلقتها المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية برامج النقد مقابل العمل المُصَمَّمة لتعزيز التماسك الاجتماعي من خلال مبادرات الصحة والنظافة العامة، ومثال ذلك ما تلقّاه اللاجئون الفلسطينيون من سوريا ولبنان من أجور مقابل تكملة خدمات الأونروا في جمع النفايات في برج البراجنة، فبالإضافة إلى جمع النفايات نقل المشاركون رسائل أساسية تتعلق بالصحة والنظافة العامة إلى الأسر التي تعيش في المخيم. وكانت ردود فعل المشاركين في البرنامج إيجابية خصوصاً النساء اللواتي استمتعن بالمشاركة في أنشطة خارجية ساعدتهم على الخروج من المنزل والاختلاط بأشخاص آخرين من المخيم كما وجدوا أنه ثمة فائدة من المال الإضافي الذي جمعنه بالعمل، ورغم ذلك فإنَّ أثر البرنامج محدود وفي بعض الأحيان سلبي؛ إذ شعر بعض اللاجئين الفلسطينيين من لبنان بالإساءة بسبب الرسائل المتعلقة بالصحة والنظافة العامة، وذلك لأنها توحي بأنهم قذرون. ورغم مستوى النظافة الملحوظ الذي تتمتع به المخيمات في أثناء تنفيذ هذه المشاريع كانت مدة تنفيذها قصيرة لا تتجاوز بضعة أسابيع في كل مرة وذلك بسبب محدودية التمويل.

تحسين الدعم الدولي للمنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية

لا يُعدُّ الوضعُ الذي يعيشه مخيم برج البراجنة فريداً من نوعه. ثمّ إن إدراك المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية لاحتياجات سكان المخيم وعدم قدرتها على تمويل النشاطات اللازمة لتلبيتها يضعها في موقف محبط، لذا تأتي التوصيات الرامية إلى تحسين توجيه واستهداف الدعم الدولي والتي تشمل ما يلي:

·         يجب استشارة المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية فيما يتعلق باحتياجات السكان المحليين بهدف توفير الدعم لكل المجموعات المستضعفة وليس لتلك التي تفضل الجهات المانحة دعمها فحسب.

·         يجب إتاحة التمويل لكل من الدولة المضيفة والسكان اللاجئين على حد سواء.

·         يجب على المانحين أن يركزوا على ما هو ممكن: فبدلاً من محاولات إيجاد فرص جديدة لكسب الرزق، يُفَضَّل دعم سبل كسب الرزق من خلال تغطية تكاليف النقل وشراء الأدوات للعمال اليوميين أو تقديم رعاية الأطفال

·         يجب على المنظمات الدولية أن تضغط على الحكومات المضيفة لتحترم حقوق اللاجئين وذلك لما تحظى به من موقع دولي أقوى من ذلك الذي تتمتع به المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية.

·         يجب على الجهات المانحة أن تعمل على المستوى الوطني: فمثلاً، ينبغي لها أن تتفاوض حول توفير فرص عمل للاجئين وتسهيل دمجهم مع القوى العاملة فيما قُرِرَ من برامج واسعة النطاق للأشغال العامة.

·         يجب أن تسمح برامج التماسك الاجتماعي للمنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية بالعمل مع أشخاص من كل الفئات السكانية وتوجيه برامجها لأولئك الذين هم في أمس الحاجة إليها.

·         يجب تمويل المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية لتتمكن من تصميم برامجها لاستكمال خطط الاستجابة الوطنية والإقليمية.

·         يجب دعم البرامج الناجحة باستمرار وتوسيعها إذا لزم الأمر وذلك استناداً للدروس المستفادة.

ألفت محمود Palwho@gmail.com

مديرة، جمعية المرأة الخيرية http://www.palwho93.org

ريبيكا روبرتس rebekah_roberts@yahoo.co.uk

مستشارة مستقلة

 


[1]وفق أرقام اللجنة الشعبية في مخيم برج البراجنة قبل الأزمة السورية وفي أغسطس/آب 2017 بما فيها جميع القاطنين في المخيم بمن فيهم اللاجئين الفلسطينيين من سوريا واللاجئين الفلسطينيين من لبنان المسجلين لدى الأونوروا.

[2] الخطة الإقليمية للاجئين وتعزيز القدرة على مواجهة الأزمات 2017-2018 استجابةً للأزمة السورية

http://bit.ly/UNHCR-3RP-2017-2018-ar

the Government of Lebanon and the United Nations’ Lebanon Crisis Response Plan 2017-20

خطة لبنان للاستجابة للأزمة (2017-2020)

www.3rpsyriacrisis.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/Lebanon-Crisis-Response-Plan-2017-2020.pdf

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

One camp, three refugee groups: challenges for local NGOs

Local non-governmental organisations in Lebanon’s Bourj al-Barajneh camp face challenges in responding to the complex needs of three different refugee groups.

Bourj al-Barajneh refugee camp is located on about 1km2 of land close to Beirut’s international airport, and is one of twelve official Palestinian camps in Lebanon established following the creation of Israel in 1948. Before the Syrian conflict, it accommodated around 27,000 people, most of whom were Palestinian refugees from Lebanon. By 2017, the arrival of Syrian refugees and Palestinian refugees from Syria had increased the camp population to 41,000.[1]

Bourj al-Barajneh has attracted refugees from Syria because living in the camp is cheaper than living elsewhere in Beirut and some Palestinian refugees from Syria have relatives among the Palestinian refugees from Lebanon in the camp. Like the other Palestinian camps in Lebanon, Bourj al-Barajneh is outside the jurisdiction of the Lebanese authorities which some among those arriving from Syria prefer. Local non-governmental organisations (NGOs) in the camp face numerous challenges in providing support to the camp’s different groups.

The Palestinian refugees from Lebanon resent the deteriorating living conditions caused by the increased population. Conditions were already poor before the arrival of these new groups and the influx of people has only exacerbated these pre-existing problems and created tensions among the population. Storeys have been added to the poorly constructed shelters, some of which are now eight or nine storeys high, without proper foundations, and electricity wires and leaking water pipes intertwine at head height throughout the camp as a result of the networks being extended to reach new inhabitants.

Local NGOs have received funding to improve shelters but the overall construction quality, camp infrastructure and lack of space prevent people being accommodated safely and comfortably.The tense relationship between the Lebanese authorities and population and the Palestinian refugees from Lebanon has meant that the latter are often in a worse situation than Palestinian refugees elsewhere in the region. They are excluded from most professions so legal work opportunities are limited mainly to the construction and agricultural sectors and refuse collection. Palestinian refugees from Lebanon are prohibited from owning property and their freedom of movement is restricted. Unlike other refugee groups, who come under the mandate of UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, assistance to Palestinians is provided by the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA). Palestinian refugees from Lebanon have had to rely more heavily than other Palestinian refugees elsewhere in the region on UNRWA because the Lebanese authorities prohibit Palestinians from accessing state services. UNRWA is the main provider of health care and education and is responsible for sewerage systems and refuse collection in all twelve official camps but the lack of state support and the inadequacy of UNRWA services have led to the development of an extensive network of local NGOs operating in the camps.

The differing needs of three refugee groups

The different legal status of the three refugee groups determines their access to assistance. Palestinian refugees in Lebanon continue to access UNRWA and local NGO services, which they now share with Palestinian refugees from Syria. The Syrian refugees receive assistance from UNHCR and local NGOs, and the Lebanese government allows Syrian refugees some access to state services. Local NGOs must tailor their responses to the needs of the three groups – a difficult task, as it is easier to secure funding for Syrian refugees than for Palestinian refugees from Syria and from Lebanon, and easier to secure funding for Palestinians from Syria than from Lebanon. Inevitably, the unequal access to assistance and the dual UN structure increase tensions among the three groups, each of which believes the other two groups are favoured over their own.

Local NGOs have also found it impossible to meet the needs of all demographic groups, another challenge that pre-dates the Syrian conflict and is now amplified by the arrival of the new refugees. Donors are keen to fund programmes for women and children but less so for the elderly, youth and men. Local NGOs believe that the elderly are not seen by international donors as ‘a good investment’. The regional response plans[2] emphasise the needs of youth to be positively engaged in their communities, empowered and resilient, but local NGOs have been unable to secure funding for youth-focused programmes. This is particularly problematic in somewhere like Bourj al-Barajneh where, with few employment options, many young people pass the time drinking, smoking and taking drugs, and are vulnerable to recruitment by criminal gangs and armed groups. Male Palestinian refugees from Lebanon struggle to fulfil their traditional roles as breadwinners because of the restrictions on their right to work. Syrian men have, like Syrian women and children, experienced the trauma of the conflict and the flight from Syria and their right to work is also restricted. Local NGOs report that frustration among the men can manifest itself in domestic violence, which may also lead to wives who suffer abuse then in turn abusing their children. Local NGOs find that efforts to implement gender-based programming, in accordance with the regional response plans, are limited to those supporting women and children.

Each refugee group has a combination of humanitarian and development needs. Although donors are anxious to shift from emergency to development projects, some of these projects are poorly targeted. For example, donors want to fund local NGOs to support livelihoods by providing vocational training or business advice but inevitably such projects have limited impact because of the restrictions on refugees’ rights to work. Local NGOs are frequently offered funding for workshops to raise awareness about rights rather than funding to meet the basic needs of the camp inhabitants. Disseminating information about rights is important but these activities are being duplicated and for people who are unable, independently, to meet their basic needs, the workshops seem inappropriate and are difficult to justify.

Building on successful projects

Despite these difficulties, local NGOs have some positive experiences. These include the Accelerated Learning Programmes (ALP) which have been implemented by numerous organisations throughout Lebanon to integrate children from Syria into mainstream education. The ALP have educational and psychosocial aims: they are designed to help children catch up on missed education, build skills to study independently, and develop coping mechanisms to help them deal with bullying they might encounter because they are behind or new to the school. The ALP have focused on developing the language skills of children from Syria so that they can participate in schools in Lebanon, where the curriculum is often taught in English and French. Elements of the ALP help children to deal with trauma, and support is provided to parents to help them understand how their children have been affected by their experiences and how they can support them. The holistic approach has been praised by the children taking part, by parents and by the implementing staff. However, the ALP are not joined up with other support, and local NGO staff urge that once the children successfully complete the ALP and enter mainstream school, further support should be available to reinforce what they have learned, including ongoing psychosocial support to the children and their families if required. Children inside Bourj al-Barajneh have sought and received support informally from their former ALP teachers but a formal extension of the programme would be preferable.

Other projects instigated by local NGOs include cash-for-work schemes designed to promote social cohesion through health and hygiene interventions. For example, Palestinian refugees from Syria and Palestinian refugees from Lebanon have been paid to supplement UNRWA’s refuse collection services in Bourj al-Barajneh. As well as clearing the refuse, participants deliver basic health and hygiene messages to households. Feedback from participants has been positive, particularly from the women, who enjoy having an activity outside the home and mixing with other people from the camp, and who find the additional money useful. However, the impact has been limited and sometimes negative. Some Palestinian refugees from Lebanon have been offended by the delivery of the health and hygiene messages because it implies that they are dirty. The camps are noticeably cleaner while the projects are being implemented but because of limited funding they operate for only a few weeks at a time.

Improving international support to local NGOs

Bourj al-Barajneh’s situation is not unique. Local NGOs are in the frustrating position of knowing the needs of the camp population but unable to fund activities to meet those needs. Recommendations for improving targeting of international support include the following:

  • local NGOs to be consulted about the needs of the local population so that funding is available for all groups identified as vulnerable and not just for those groups donors prefer to support
  • funding to be made available for the host as well as the refugee population
  • donors to focus on what is possible: rather than trying to create livelihoods opportunities, it would be better to support livelihoods by covering transport costs, funding the purchase of tools for daily labourers or providing childcare
  • international organisations to lobby host governments to respect refugee rights as they are in a stronger position to do so than are local NGOs
  • donors to operate at a national level: for example, negotiating employment opportunities for refugees and facilitating their inclusion in the workforce for planned large-scale public works programmes
  • social cohesion programmes to allow local NGOs to work with people from all populations and to target those most in need
  • funding to enable local NGOs to tailor their programmes to complement national and regional response plans
  • successful programmes to be consistently supported and extended if necessary, based on lessons learned.

 

Olfat Mahmoud Palwho@gmail.com
Director, Palestinian Women’s Humanitarian Organization http://www.palwho93.org

Rebecca Roberts rebekah_roberts@yahoo.co.uk
Independent consultant

 

[1] The population figures collated by Bourj al-Barajneh Popular Committee before the Syrian conflict and in August 2017 include all camp inhabitants and not just the Palestinian refugees from Syria and Palestinian refugees from Lebanon that UNRWA registers.

[2] UNHCR’s Regional Refugee and Resilience Plan 2017-2018 in Response to the Syria Crisis www.unhcr.org/uk/partners/donors/589497237/2017-2018-regional-refugee-resilience-plan-response-syria-crisis-12-december.html and the Government of Lebanon and the United Nations’ Lebanon Crisis Response Plan 2017-20 www.3rpsyriacrisis.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/Lebanon-Crisis-Response-Plan-2017-2020.pdf

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview