دور المجتمع المدني في هونغ كونغ

بمقدور المنظمات المحلية أن تساعد كثيراً في توفير الخدمات وفي جهود الدمج والمناصرة.

في هونغ كونغ، تستغرق عملية النظر في طلب اللجوء سنوات عدة وخلالها لا يسمح لطالبي اللجوء بالعمل لإعالة أنفسهم ولا يتلقون إلا القليل من المساعدات من الدولة. ومقارنة بالمستوى العالمي، تسجل هونغ كونغ أفل معدل للاعتراف باللاجئين إذ تصل إلى 0.7%. وحتى عندما يحصل الأفراد على صفة اللجوء، فلا يُمنَحون حق الإقامة في هونغ كونغ بل يحالون إلى المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين من أجل إعادة توطينهم في بلد ثالثة.

واعتاد معظم طالبي اللجوء على تلقي مساعدة شهرية من الدولة تبلغ ألف دولار هونغ كونغي (128 دولاراً أمريكياً) لتغطية أجور السكن، وتدفع مباشرة إلى الحساب المصرفي لصاحب العقار المؤجر، وبمقدورهم أيضاً تلقي المعونة الغذائية كل عشرة أيام من المتاجر المختارة وتصل قيمتها إلى 300 دولار هونغ كونغي. لكنَّ ارتفاع بدل الإيجار في هونغ كونغ، جعل من الصعب على طالبي اللجوء العثور حتى على غرفة صغيرة في حدود المبلغ الذي توفره لهم الدولة وآل الحال ببعض طالبي اللجوء إلى العيش في الشوارع أو في أكواخ دون المستوى في المناطق النائية من الأقاليم الجديدة.

واستجابة لذلك، أسست كنيسة فاين وغيرها من الكنائس الكبيرة شبكة الدعم لمساعدة طالبي اللجوء من خلال إضافة مبلغ على قيمة المساعدات التي تقدمها الحكومة إلى الحد الذي يمكنِّهم من استئجار غرفة صغيرة في المدينة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، بدأت بعض الكنائس في رفع مستوى الوعي بين أفراد المجتمع المحلي بشأن التَّحديات التي تواجه اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء والفوائد والمزايا التي يمكن أن تحققها لهم.

ولمواجهة التنميط الإعلامي، نظمت الكنائس ترتيبات لتمكين مجموعات من اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء من زيارة المدارس والكنائس المحلية، والمنظمات المجتمعية للتشارك في التحديات التي واجهوها والمهارات التي يمتلكوها أيضاً. فعلى سبيل المثال، شارك فريق من قارعي الطبول والراقصين الإفريقيين مهاراتهم مع مجموعات متنوعة من الشباب في هونغ كونغ وفي الوقت نفسه ساهم أحد طالبي اللجوء من ذوي المهارات الزراعية في دعم إنتاج المحاصيل للاستهلاك المحلي. وكان لهذه المبادرات أثر في تفكيك القوالب النمطية فأظهرت أنَّ اللاجئين يرغبون في المشاركة الإيجابية والبنَّاءة في المجتمع.

وكان اللاجئون سفراء أنفسهم، وأخذت برامج التوعية التي أطلقناها تغير تدريجياً وجهات نظر السكان المحليين تجاه اللاجئين وانضم بعض السكان المحليين إلى الحملات العامة لمطالبة الحكومة بإنشاء نظام رفاه أفضل للاجئين. وبالإضافة إلى ما قدمناه من تواصل وتوعية في المجتمع المحلي، كتبت أيضاً الكنائس والمنظمات غير الحكومية في هونغ كونغ خطابات إلى الحكومة وشاركت في الاحتجاجات التي نظمها اللاجئون في الشوارع لحث الحكومة على تقديم المساعدة القانونية للاجئين. وكل هذه الحملات التي تمارسها قطاعات المجتمع المختلفة ضد الحكومة تساهم في الضغط على الحكومة من أجل تحسين سياساتها تجاه اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء.

ورغم ما تميزت به هذه الممارسات من بطء فقد حققت تحسناً ملحوظاً إلى حد ما فقد عملت الحكومة على زيادة المساعدات التي تقدمها بشأن بدل الإيجار الشهري إلى 1500 دولارات هونغ كونغية والمساعدات الغذائية إلى 1200 دولار هونغ كونغي شهرياً تقدمها الحكومة إلى اللاجئين في صورة بطاقة غذائية يستطيع اللاجئون استخدامها في جميع أنحاء المدينة.

وسيستمر المجتمع المدني في هونغ كونغ في اضطلاعه بدوره الحيوي في مساعدة اللاجئين على الاندماج، وكسب الرزق، ومشاركة مواهبهم ومهاراتهم من أجل أن يتمكنوا من التخطيط لمستقبلهم والعيش بكرامة.

 

روي إنجوابي njuabe.roy@gmail.com

 مدير البرامج، منظمة فاين لخدمات المجتمع المحدودة www.vcsl.org

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The role of civil society in Hong Kong

Local organisations can significantly assist with service provision, integration and advocacy.

In Hong Kong it takes years to process asylum claims and during this time asylum seekers are not allowed to work to provide for themselves, and receive little assistance from the state. Compared globally, Hong Kong has the lowest recognition rate of refugees: about 0.7%. Even when they receive refugee status, individuals are not granted right of residence in Hong Kong, and are instead referred to UNHCR for resettlement to a third country.

The majority of asylum seekers used to receive HK$1,000 (US$128) per month from the state for accommodation rental, paid directly into their landlord’s bank account, and could collect food worth HK$300 every 10 days from selected shops. However, Hong Kong’s high rents made it difficult for asylum seekers to find even a tiny room with the amount they were provided, and many asylum seekers ended up living on the streets or in substandard huts in remote areas of the New Territories.

In response, the Vine Church and other large churches established a network of support to help asylum seekers by topping up the rental assistance provided by the government to an amount that was at least sufficient to rent a tiny room in the city. In addition, some churches started raising awareness among the local community of challenges facing refugees and asylum seekers and of the benefits they can bring.

To counter negative media stereotyping, the churches organised for groups of refugees and asylum seekers to visit schools, local churches and community organisations to share not only the challenges they faced but also their skills. For example, a team of African drummers and dancers shared their skills with different youth groups around Hong Kong, while an asylum seeker with farming skills supported the production of crops for local consumption. Such initiatives break down stereotypes and instead show that refugees want to contribute to the community.

Refugees were their own ambassadors, and our outreach programmes gradually changed the perspectives of local residents towards refugees. Some residents joined public campaigns demanding that the government create a better welfare system for refugees. In addition to our outreach in the local community, churches and NGOs in Hong Kong also wrote letters to the government, engaged in street protests and provided legal assistance for refugees. All these campaigns, coming from different sectors of society, put pressure on the government to improve their policies towards refugees and asylum seekers.

Although it has been slow, some progress at least has been made. The government has increased the monthly rental assistance to HK$1,500 and food assistance worth HK$1,200 a month is provided in the form of a food card which can be used widely across the city.

Hong Kong’s civil society will continue to play an important role in helping refugees to integrate, make a living and share their talents and skills, in order that they may plan their futures and live with dignity.

 

Roy Njuabe njuabe.roy@gmail.com
Programme Manager, The Vine Community Services Limited www.vcsl.org

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview