من الاستضعاف إلى اللدونة: تحسين الاستجابة الإنسانية

يُمْكِنْ للدروس المستفادة من الاستجابات لأزمة التهجير السورية أنْ تُثْرِي النقاشات العامة حول كيفية بناء الاستجابات بطريقة تتصدى على وجه أمثل للاستضعاف، وتُقَدِّم الدعم للدونة، وتتضمن المهجَّرين من نساء وأطفال وشباب في كل تنوعاتهم.

جميع الأُطر العامة الدولية الحديثة تشير دون استثناءٍ إلى أهمية تعزيز اللدونة على المستويين العالمي والفردي. وينبغي لجهود اللدونة ألاّ تقتصر في استهدافها على المناطق والأقطار والمنظومات، بل يجب أنْ تُرَكِّز أيضاً على الأفراد والجماعات بما فيها جماعات النساء والفتيات والأقليات. وقد تبنَّى أصحاب العلاقة المعنيون المشاركون في عملية القمة الإنسانية العالمية طريقة جديدة للعمل تتعامل مع الحاجة وتخفض من المخاطر والاستضعاف، وتعكس كل هذه الجهود أجندة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030، والتعهدات التي أبدتها في عدم ترك أي مُخَلَّفٍ.

وقد تحدَّت الاستجابة الإقليمية للأزمة الإنسانية السورية الطريقة التي يفهم فيها المجتمع الدولي هذه الطريقة الجديدة في العمل، ومضموناتها على الممارسات الإنسانية. وعلى ضوء الاختزالات في التمويل، والانتقال نحو وضع التهجير المُطَوَّلِ بدأت عملية البرامج الإنسانية في السياق السوري الآن بزيادة تركيز المساعدات نحو من يُنْظَرُ إليهم على أنَّهم الأكثر استضعافاً، ونحو دمج المقاربات المبنية على اللدونة. ثم شُكِّلَ مرفق الاستجابة دون الإقليمية في عام 2013 (المعني بالعمل مع أصحاب العلاقة المعنيين الإنسانيين، والإنمائيين، والحكوميين على استدامة الاستجابة)، وما تبعها من خطط الاستجابة للاجئين، ومواجهة الأزمات على المستويين الإقليمي والوطني (3RPs)، ومثَّلَت نقلة هامّة تُعَزِّز التواؤم بين التخطيط الإنساني والإنمائي وأولوياتهما، وتعزيز دور الحكومات المضيفة، وإشراك شركاء جدد للعمل مع جموع اللاجئين.[1]وتتضمن هذه الخطط إبداء الالتزامات الصريحة باستهداف الأكثر استضعافاً في بناء اللدونة.[2]

وقد كان الاستضعاف والحاجة من العوامل المُحَرِّكَة النمطية التي تُحَرِّك وتحدد تصميم البرامج الإنسانية وتنفيذها. وتُعَرَّفُ المجموعات الخاصة على أنَّها من المجموعات المستضعفة، وتُؤَسَّسُ المعايير من أجل استهداف الأكثر استضعافاً ووضع الأولوية عليهم مع إبداء قليل من الاهتمام إلى مهاراتهم وقدراتهم. أمَّا عند الحديث عن الاستضعاف واللدونة؛ فيختلف الأمر لأنَّه يُمْكِنْ النظر إليها على أنَّها سلسلة متصلة تدريجيّاً. فعلى الطرف الأول من هذه السلسلة يقع الاستضعاف، وفيه تُنَفَذُّ التقييمات والتدخلات من أجل التصدي للحاجات المادية، أو المتعلقة بالحماية. أمَّا على الطرف الثاني من هذا الطيف فهناك اللدونة، فينظر القائمون عليها بإستراتيجيات المسايرة الإيجابية، أو القدرات. ويُمْكِنُ أنْ تتغيَّر عوامل الاستضعاف واللدونة مع مرور الوقت، ووفقاً للفرص أو التدخلات، ويُمْكِنْ أن تتأثر أيضاً بالسياقات. ومن هنا ينبغي للمقاربات المبنية على اللدونة أن تُقَدِّم الدعم للأفراد والعائلات، والمجتمعات في سبيل انتقالها عبر هذه السلسلة المتصلة لتعزيز قدراتهم، ومهاراتهم، وإمكانات مسايرتهم للظروف، وتكيفهم معها، والاستشفاء من الضغوط والصدمات التي مروا بها.

المقاربة المبنية على الاستضعاف: الثغرات والممارسات الواعدة

لقد عمِلَت هيئات الأمم المتحدة، والحكومات المضيفة، والمنظمات غير الحكومية المستجيبة لأزمة تهجير السوريين جنباً إلى جنب من أجل تأسيس معايير أوضح لأغراض استهداف المساعدات خاصة ضمن التدخلات القائمة على النقد، لكنَّ التقييمات والتحليلات غالباً ما تخفق في تحديد الأسر التي تضم أفراداً يُعَانُون من حالات استضعاف مضاعفة، ومنحهم الأولوية اللازمة، ومنهم على سبيل المثال من يُعَانِي من الإعاقات التي قد تتطلب تقديم الرعاية الخاصة لهم، ومنهم الفتيات المراهقات اللواتي قد يتولينَّ أدوار تقديم الرعاية في المنزل. وفكرة الاستضعاف المضاعف أيضاً مرتبطة بالمنازل التي فيها النساء والأطفال واليافعين ممن يُمَثِّلُ الاستضعاف مصدراً للمخاوف الخاصة بالحماية إزاء الإساءة والاستغلال أو العنف نتيجة الاستضعاف الاقتصادي.

ومثال ذلك برنامج المساعدات النقدية متعدد الأغراض في لبنان الذي تنفِّذه ست منظمات غير حكومية ضمن اتحاد النقد اللبناني، فهي تحدِّد الأسر المستفيدة عن طريق حساب مصروفها الشهري للفرد نِسْبَةً لعدد من العوامل المتنوعة والمتغيِّرة. ومن أحد هذه العوامل نسبة العِوَلْ المُعَدَّلة حسب الإعاقة التي تنظر في وضع الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة على أنَّهم معالون، وتصنفهم على أنَّهم يؤثِّرون على درجة استضعاف الأسرة بغضِّ النظر عن الجنس، والعمر، والحاجات، والمهارات، والقدرة. وقد ركَزَ تقييم الأثر لعام 2015 على البرنامج على أمثلة تخص الأسر التي تعولها الإناث، والأسر التي تضم أطفالاً من ذوي الإعاقات ممن لم يُمنحوا الأولوية في المساعدات؛ لأنَّ تقييمات الاستضعاف أخفقت في الإدراك الكامل لمسؤوليات تقديم الرعاية، وعدم وجود فرص درِّ الدخل والتكاليف الطبية المضافة.[3]وقبل مدة بسيطة حُدِّثَ الإطار العام لتقييم الاستضعاف في الأردن، ويشتمل الآن على إرشادات إضافية، وأسئلة وظيفية تتعلق بالإعاقة.[4]ويُمْكِنُ أنْ تظهر هنا أسئلة مفيدة حول كيفية التأمل بنواحي الاستضعاف المتقاطعة في هذه التقييمات، وذلك بعد تطبيق الإطار العام وتحليله.

وفي غضون ذلك كان الأداء أفضل في تقييمات مجموعات معينة من السكان من ناحية الحماية، وذلك بتحديدها لمخاطر الحماية وتطبيق بعض التحليلات الخاصة والمتقاطعة التي تتعامل مع العمر والجنس والإعاقة. ومثال ذلك إجراءات التشغيل القياسية العابرة للهيئات، والخاصة بالعنف القائم على الجندر، وحماية الأطفال في الأردن، إذ تعرض وتثبت دمجاً أكثر شمولية لإدماج الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة، ومشاركتهم وإدراك خصوصيات الجنس والعمر.[5]

المقاربة المبنية على اللدونة: ثغرات وممارسات واعدة

استخدمت تقييمات الاستضعاف متعددة القطاعات في الاستجابة لأزمة التهجير السوري، لكنَّها أخفقت في معظم الأحيان في مجال إدماج المسايرة الإيجابية، أو خصائص اللدونة في تحليل الحاجات. ويُقرُّ الإطار العام لتقييم الاستضعاف في الأردن بإستراتيجيات المسايرة، لكنَّه لا ينظر بها إلا على أنَّها من المؤشرات الإضافية للاستضعاف، إذ يقع التركيز الأكبر على آليات المسايرة المتطرفة، أو غير المستدامة (بما في ذلك التسول، والعمل في القطاع غير الرسمي أو الخطر، واستنزاف الموارد والمدخرات والموجودات).[6]أمَّا بستراتيجيات مسايرة الظروف الإيجابية التي تدعم اللدونة مثل التأكيد على شبكات الدعم، فعادة ما تكون مُغَيَّبَة في هذه التقييمات.

وتبقى جهود الحماية القائمة على المجتمعات المحلية في مركز مكونات الحماية والعمل الإنساني لخطط الاستجابة للاجئين، ومواجهة الأزمات على المستويين الإقليمي والوطني (3RPs) لعامي 2017 و2018. وتُقَيِّم مثل هذه المقاربات المصادر والمهارات والخبرات المتاحة في المجتمع المحلي، وتعزز من الحلول التي يقودها المجتمع إذا كانت إيجابية لحلِّ المخاوف الخاصة بالحماية. لكنَّ المجتمعات المحلية للاجئين والمضيفين متنوعة كتنوع نفوذ أفرادها، وذلك ما يقصِّي ويهمِّش بعض الأفراد والجماعات. وما زال الفاعلون الإنسانيون عاجزين عن استكشاف قدرات الحماية الذاتية، وإستراتيجيات المسايرة الإيجابية، أو المقدرات الخاصة بالنساء والأطفال والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة، وغيرهم من المجموعات التي يُنْظَرْ إليها على أنَّها مجموعات مستضعفة. ونتيجة لذلك غالباً ما تُنَزَّل من قيمة هذه الفئات السكانية لتصبح في مستوى الضعف الآخر من الطيف المذكور، فيُنْظَرْ إليهم على أنَّهم مستفيدون من المعونات، بدلاً من أنْ يُنْظَرْ إليهم على أنَّهم شركاء في بناء القدرات واللدونة.

وعلى المستوى الفردي يُمْكِنُ من خلال استخدام المقاربات القائمة على نقاط القوة والقدرات في وضع البرامج أنْ تُعَزِّز من لدونة النساء والأطفال واليافعين بمن فيهم الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقات. فتشير برامج المراهقين والشباب اليافعين في العراق ولبنان التي نفَّذتها المنظمات الشريكة، والتي أشركت فيها الفتيات والفتيان ذوي الإعاقة إلى أنَّها ركَّزت على بناء المقدرات الشخصية من خلال التدريب على المهارات المهنية، والتواصل، ومحو الأمية، والمقدرات الاجتماعية من خلال تعزيز شبكات الدعم الاجتماعية، والمشاركة في النشاطات الرياضية والتدريب، والأصول والموجودات المادية من خلال تأسيس الفضاءات الآمنة. ويصف المشاركون اكتساب المهارات الجديدة، وتوسيع شبكات الحماية للنظراء والأصدقاء والميسرين والمدربين.[7]

أمَّا الفتيات والفتيان ذوي الإعاقات، فبصفتهم فئة مستهدفة فيُنْظَر إليهم غالباً على أنَّهم حصراً مجموعة قائمة على الاستضعاف، لكنَّ المشروعات الريادية التجريبية تشير إلى أنَّ خصائص اللدونة مثل المهارات والقدرات وإستراتيجيات الحماية يُمْكِنُ أن تُحَدَّد على الطيف نفسه، ويُمْكِنْ أنْ تضم الاستضعاف، فهذه الصفات لا تخفض المخاطر فحسب، لكنَّها تُقَدِّمُ الدعم أيضاً للفرد في مجال الانتقال في الطيف نحو النتيجة الأكثر إيجابية واستدامة.

الخطوات القادمة

نادراً ما تُحَدِّدُ الاستجابات الإنسانية وتُعَزِّزُ من إستراتيجيات المسايرة الإيجابية، والقدرات التي تتمتع بها فئات النساء والأطفال واليافعين، ولا شكَّ في أنَّها قاصرة تماماً عن إشراك الأفراد المتنوعين ضمن هذه المجموعات في المقاربات القائمة على اللدونة. وعلى الجهات الفاعلة الإنسانية أنْ تُقَدِّمَ إرشادات أكثر لتحديد العوامل التي تُمَكِّنُ من الوصول والمشاركة والتمكين، وكيفية تعزيز هذه العوامل ودعمها من خلال وضع البرامج الإنسانية. ويمكننا أنْ نعتمد على المصادر والخبرات المتحققة في القطاع التنموي، وتكييف الإرشادات العملية وتجربتها، وتوثيق النواتج والتشارك بالمعرفة فيما يخص الجندر واللدونة والدمج الاجتماعي في السياقات الإنسانية؛ لأنَّ ذلك سوف يسمح في النهاية بتحقيق الهدف المشترك المنشود وهو عدم ترك أي مُخَلَّف.

 

إيما بيرس EmmaP@wrcommission.org

مديرة مشاركة، الإدماج الاجتماعي

بورام لي BoramL@wrcommission.org

مستشار في الإعاقة

اللجنة النسائية المعنية باللاجئات

www.womensrefugeecommission.org



[1] انظر غونزاليز غ. (2016) ’ بنية مساعدات جديدة وبناء اللدونة حول الأزمة السورية‘، نشرة الهجرة القسرية العدد 52 www.fmreview.org/ar/gonzalez

: The Syria Regional Refugee and Resilience Plan [2] UNDP (2016) The State of Resilience Programming ((3RP

(وضع برمجة اللدونة: الخطة الإقليمية للاجئين وتعزيز القدرة على مواجهة الأزمة السورية (3RP))

www.arabstates.undp.org/content/dam/rbas/doc/SyriaResponse/UNDP_Resilience-3RP_final-lowres.pdf

[3] Save the Children and Lebanon Cash Consortium (2015) Impact of Multipurpose Cash Assistance on Outcomes for Children in Lebanon

(أثر المساعدات النقدية متعددة الأغراض في النتائج للأطفال في لبنان)

http://data.unhcr.org/syrianrefugees/download.php?id=10526

[4] Vulnerability Assessment Framework, Jordan (2016) Disability Universal Indicator to assist Identification

(المؤشر العالمي للإعاقة لمساعدة التحديد)

 https://humanity-inclusion.org.uk/sites/uk/files/documents/files/2016-11-disability-universal-indicator-jordan-unhcr.pdf

[5] SOP Task Force (2014) Inter-Agency Emergency Standard Operating Procedures for Prevention of and Response to Gender-based Violence and Child Protection in Jordan.

(إجراءات العمل القياسية للطوارئ المشتركة بين الهيئات لمنع العنف القائم على الجندر والاستجابة له في حالة وقوعه وحماية الأطفال في الأردن)

https://data.unhcr.org/syrianrefugees/download.php?id=3143.

:Baseline Survey [6] UNHCR (2015) Vulnerability Assessment Framework

(إطار تقييم الاستضعاف: دراسة استقصائية أولية)

https://data.unhcr.org/syrianrefugees/download.php?id=8837

[7] Women’s Refugee Commission (2017) Vulnerability- and resilience-based approaches in response to the Syrian crisis: Implications for women, children, and youth with disabilities

(الاستضعاف والمقاربات القائمة على اللدونة استجابةً للأزمة السورية: الآثار الواقعة على النساء والأطفال والشباب من ذوي الإعاقات)

https://www.womensrefugeecommission.org/populations/disabilities/research-and-resources/1442-resilience-syrian-crisis

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

From vulnerability to resilience: improving humanitarian response

Lessons from responses to the Syrian displacement crisis can inform broader discussions on how to build responses that better address vulnerability, support resilience and include displaced women, children and young people in all their diversity.

Recent international frameworks all reference the importance of strengthening resilience, both at the global level and the individual. Resilience efforts should target not only regions, countries and systems but also individuals and groups, including women, girls and minority groups. Stakeholders engaged in the World Humanitarian Summit process widely endorsed a ‘new way of working’ that both addresses need and reduces risk and vulnerability. These efforts all reflect the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development pledge to leave no one behind.

The regional response to the Syrian humanitarian crisis has both challenged and advanced how the humanitarian community understands this ‘new way of working’ and its implications for humanitarian practice. In light of reductions in funding and the transition into a protracted displacement situation, humanitarian programming in the Syrian context now increasingly targets assistance toward those considered the most vulnerable and to integrating resilience-based approaches. The formation of a Sub-Regional Response Facility in 2013 (mandated to work with humanitarian, development and government stakeholders on the sustainability of responses) and subsequent regional and national Refugee and Resilience Response Plans (3RPs) marked an important shift, strengthening alignment between humanitarian and development planning and priorities, enhancing the role of host governments, and bringing new partners to work with refugee populations.[1] These plans include explicit commitments to target ‘the most vulnerable’ for resilience building.[2]

Vulnerability and need have typically driven the design and implementation of humanitarian programmes. Specific groups are defined as vulnerable, and criteria are established to target and prioritise the ‘most vulnerable’, with little attention paid to their skills and capacities. Vulnerability and resilience, however, can be seen as a continuum. At the vulnerability end of the spectrum, assessments and interventions address immediate material- or protection-related needs; at the resilience end, they look at positive coping strategies or capacities. Vulnerability and resilience factors can change over time and according to opportunities or interventions, and are affected by contexts. Hence, resilience-based approaches should support individuals, households and communities to move along this spectrum by strengthening their assets and skills and their capacity to cope with, adapt to and recover from the stresses and shocks they experience.

Vulnerability-based approach: gaps and promising practices

United Nations (UN) agencies, host governments and non-governmental organisations (NGOs) responding to the Syrian displacement crisis have worked together to establish more nuanced vulnerability criteria for the purposes of targeting assistance, particularly within cash-based interventions. However, assessments and analyses often fail to efficiently and effectively identify and prioritise households with individuals who have compounding vulnerabilities, such as new disabilities which can require additional health care, and adolescent girls who may be increasingly assuming care-giving roles. This idea of compounding vulnerability is also relevant to households with women, children and young people, where vulnerability to wider protection concerns such as abuse, exploitation or violence may be exacerbated by economic vulnerability.

For example, the Multipurpose Cash Assistance Programme in Lebanon, implemented by six international NGOs who comprise the Lebanon Cash Consortium, determines beneficiary households by calculating their per capita monthly expenditure in relation to a range of variables. One such variable, the ‘disability-adjusted dependency ratio’, considers all persons with disabilities as ‘dependent’ and categorises them as affecting a household’s vulnerability to the same degree, regardless of their gender, age, needs, skills and capacities. A 2015 impact evaluation of the programme highlighted examples of female-headed households and households with children with disabilities who were not prioritised for assistance because vulnerability assessments failed to fully recognise care-giving responsibilities, lack of income generation opportunities and even added medical costs.[3] More recently, the Vulnerability Assessment Framework in Jordan was updated to include additional guidance and functional questions relating to disability.[4] Valuable lessons on how to reflect intersecting vulnerabilities in such assessments may well emerge after further roll-out and analysis of the Framework.

Targeted protection assessments of population groups, meanwhile, do better in identifying protection risks and apply some analysis of the intersections of age, gender and disability. For example, the inter-agency standard operating procedures for gender-based violence and child protection in Jordan demonstrate a more comprehensive integration of inclusion and participation of persons with disabilities, recognising gender and specific age groups.[5]

Resilience-based approach: gaps and promising practices

Multi-sector vulnerability assessments used in the Syrian displacement crisis response often fail to integrate positive coping or resiliency traits in analysing need. The Vulnerability Assessment Framework in Jordan recognises ‘coping strategies’ but only as additional indicators of vulnerability, with a focus on extreme or unsustainable coping mechanisms (including begging, being in informal or dangerous employment, and depletion of resources, savings or assets).[6] Positive coping strategies that support resilience, such as tapping into support networks, are generally not identified or not considered in these assessments.

Community-based protection efforts remain at the centre of the protection and humanitarian components of the 3RPs for 2017-18. Such approaches assess the resources, skills and experiences available in a community, and strengthen positive community-led solutions to protection concerns. Refugee and host communities, however, are diverse and the varying status and power of community members often exclude and marginalise certain individuals and groups. Humanitarian actors still rarely explore the self-protection capacities, positive coping strategies or the assets of women, children, people with disabilities and other groups perceived to be vulnerable. As a result, these populations are often relegated to the vulnerability end of the spectrum and seen as beneficiaries of aid rather than as partners for capacity development and resilience building.

At an individual level, using strengths- and assets-based approaches in programming can strengthen the resilience of women, children and young people, including those with disabilities. Adolescent and youth programmes in Iraq and Lebanon run by partner organisations, which have engaged girls and boys with disabilities, focus on building: personal assets through training in vocational skills, communication and literacy; social assets through strengthening social support networks, participation in sport, and mentorship; and physical assets through the establishment of safe spaces. Participants describe acquiring new skills and expanded protective peer networks of friends, facilitators and mentors.[7]

As a target group, girls and boys with disabilities are seen almost exclusively from a vulnerability-based perspective yet these pilot projects suggest that resilience traits such as skills, capacities and protection strategies can be identified on the same continuum that incorporates vulnerability. These traits not only mitigate risks but also support an individual to move along the spectrum towards a more positive, sustainable outcome.

Next steps

Humanitarian responses rarely identify and leverage the positive coping strategies and capacities of women, children and young people, and certainly fall short of engaging diverse individuals within these groups in resilience-based approaches. Humanitarian actors need further guidance to identify the factors that enable access, participation and empowerment, and on how those factors can be strengthened and supported through humanitarian programming. We can also draw on the resources and experience of the development sector, adapting and piloting operational guidance, documenting outcomes and sharing learning on gender, resilience and social inclusion in humanitarian contexts, in turn realising the shared goal of leaving no one behind.

 

Emma Pearce EmmaP@wrcommission.org
Associate Director, Social Inclusion

Boram Lee BoramL@wrcommission.org
Disability Advisor                             

Women’s Refugee Commission
www.womensrefugeecommission.org

 

[1] See Gonzalez G (2016) ‘New Aid Architecture and Resilience Building around the Syrian Crisis’, Forced Migration Review issue 52 www.fmreview.org/solutions/gonzalez

[2] UNDP (2016) The State of Resilience Programming: The Syria Regional Refugee and Resilience Plan (3RP)
www.arabstates.undp.org/content/dam/rbas/doc/SyriaResponse/UNDP_Resilience-3RP_final-lowres.pdf

[3] Save the Children and Lebanon Cash Consortium (2015) Impact of Multipurpose Cash Assistance on Outcomes for Children in Lebanon http://data.unhcr.org/syrianrefugees/download.php?id=10526

[4] Vulnerability Assessment Framework, Jordan (2016) Disability Universal Indicator to assist Identification https://humanity-inclusion.org.uk/sites/uk/files/documents/files/2016-11-disability-universal-indicator-jordan-unhcr.pdf

[5] SOP Task Force (2014) Inter-Agency Emergency Standard Operating Procedures for Prevention of and Response to Gender-based Violence and Child Protection in Jordan. www.data.unhcr.org/syrianrefugees/download.php?id=3143

[6] UNHCR (2015) Vulnerability Assessment Framework: Baseline Survey www.data.unhcr.org/syrianrefugees/download.php?id=8837

[7] Women’s Refugee Commission (2017) Vulnerability- and resilience-based approaches in response to the Syrian crisis: Implications for women, children, and youth with disabilities https://www.womensrefugeecommission.org/populations/disabilities/research-and-resources/1442-resilience-syrian-crisis

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview