تعزيز حماية النِّساء والفتيات من خلال العقد العالمي حول اللاجئين

تقدم العملية الاستشارية المنتهجة في إطار تأسيس العقد العالمي حول اللاجئين فرصة نادرة لتضمين المساواة في الجندر ضمن المكوّنات المحورية لهذا الإطار الجديد للسياسات الدولية.

يعد إعلان نيويورك من أجل اللاجئين والمهاجرين الصادر في سبتمبر/أيلول لعام 2016 أول إعلان أصدرته الأمم المتحدة واعتمدته خصيصاً من أجل اللاجئين والمهاجرين، فهو بذلك الوثيقة الأساسية التي تستنير بها خطط العمل المتعلقة بهذا الموضوع، إذ يعيد هذا الإعلان التأكيد بوضوح على مبادئ اتفاقية اللاجئين لعام 1951 وهو أيضاً أول وثيقة اعتمدتها الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة خصيصاً من أجل اللاجئين والمهاجرين وتحتوي على التزامات جندرية حازمة.

وتضمن إعلان نيويورك مُسوَّدة اتفاق عالمي بشأن اللاجئين ينص على البدء بتنفيذ مبادرة الإطار الشامل للاستجابة للاجئين. ومع أنَّ التركيز الأكبر في الإعلان انصب على القضايا الجندرية، فما زال الإطار الشامل للاستجابة للاجئين ضعيفاً في تناول هذه القضايا. وللوقوف على ذلك الوضع، أعددنا ’تحليلاً جندرياً‘ للإطار الشامل للاستجابة للاجئين[i] ومن ثَمَّ أشركتنا المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين لإجراء ’تدقيق جندري‘[ii] لخمسة اجتماعات موضوعية عُقِدَت في عام 2017 ولاجتماع المفوض السامي بشأن تحديات الحماية من أجل تقييم كيفية معالجة قضايا المساواة في الجندر وقضايا حماية النساء والفتيات في عملية بناء العقد، وأفادت هذه الاجتماعات الخروج بمسودة برنامج عمل لتنفيذ الالتزامات الواردة في الإطار الشامل للاستجابة للاجئين.

ومع أنَّ أهم التوصيات التي قدمها إعلان نيويورك هي تعميم المنظور الجندري، غالباً ما يؤدي تعميم الأشياء إلى حجبها، وإذا ما أردنا بصدق النجاح في تعميم الجندر، يجب أن نسأل أنفسنا عن النتائج المترتبة على فشلنا في إدراك الحواجز التي تحول دون تحقيق المساواة في الجندر ومعالجتها. فمثلاً، إذا فشلنا في تعريف عدم القدرة على الحصول على المستلزمات الصحية كحاجز يحول دون التعليم، فذلك يعني أنه يجب على الفتيات أن يتغيبن عن المدرسة مدة أسبوع في كل شهر، وإذا لم نسأل عن المخاطر التي تتعرض لها طالبات اللجوء عبر البحر فلن نعرف إذاً أنهن جميعاً تعرّضن للاغتصاب أو غير ذلك من أشكال العنف الجنس،[iii] وإذا لم نسأل عما فعلته امرأة عزباء لتعيش على حصة فرد واحد من المعونة في المخيم فلن نسمع أنَّ معظم النساء يلجأن للجنس كخيار وحيد أمامهن.

لماذا التركيز على النساء والفتيات؟

يعد الخطاب المتعلق بالنساء والفتيات اللاجئات أساسياً في الكشف عن الأسباب التي تحول دون حصولهن على الحماية الدولية الكافية، وخلافاً للتصنيف العام لهن على أنَّهنّ أقلية أو فئة مستضعفة، فَهُنَّ لسن فئة مستضعفة بحد ذاتها، كما أنهن من الناحية العددية لسن أقلية، وعند التحدث من الناحية الاجتماعية بدلاً من الناحية الكمية، يدل مصطلح ’مجموعة أقلية‘ على الذين يعانون من التمييز والتبعية بسبب وضعهم الناجم عن تعرضهم لعدم المساواة في القدرة على اتخاذ القرارات والحصول على خدمات البنية التحتية والموارد والذين تتعرض قدراتهم الشخصية إلى التجاهل، فغالباً ما تعزو الأعراف الثقافية للنساء مرتبة اجتماعية أقل من تلك التي يحظى بها الرجال، وذلك بوضعهن في حالة من الاعتماد على الغير، كما أنَّ انعدام الفرص في التعليم يصعّب عليهن القدرة على اتخاذ القرارات والحصول على فرص عمل مدرة للدخل.

كما أنَّ أهم الاختلافات بين النساء والفتيات من جهة، والرجال والفتيان من جهة أخرى يكمن في التعرض المزمن للعنف الجنسي والقائم على الجندر، فبينما يُعتَرَف بأن بعض الرجال والفتيان اللاجئين يعانون أيضاً من العنف الجنسي، تشير الأبحاث إلى أن معظم النساء اللاجئات والنازحات عانين من هذا الانتهاك لحقوق الإنسان، ويمكن أن يعاني كل من الرجال والنساء من تأثيرات نفسية وإصابات جسدية شديدة كما قد يتعرضون للإصابة بالأمراض المنقولة جنسياً، بيد أن النساء يواجهن عواقب إضافية تتمثل بالحمل نتيجة الاغتصاب، كما تقضي كثير من الفتيات اللواتي يحملن في عمر مبكر جداً. وتُعزَل النساء والفتيات عن عائلاتهن ومجتمعاتهن إلى جانب ما يحملنه من عبء ووصمة العار، وغالباً ما تتعرض النساء من ذوات الإعاقة للعنف الجنسي أكثر من غيرهن باعتبارهن هدفاً سهلاً، كما تخضع المثليات والمغيرات للجندر إلى ما يدعى ’الاغتصاب التصحيحي‘ وأحياناً يُقْتَلْن. وأُجبِرَت كثير من النساء على ممارسة الجنس من أجل البقاء بتأمين الغذاء لأنفسهن ولعائلاتهن إضافة إلى وصمة العار الإضافية الناجمة عن ممارسة الدعارة، وتواجه كثير منهنَّ الزواج القسري إذ يشعر الرجال بالعار لعجزهم عن حماية الإناث في عائلاتهم فتتحمل المجتمعات المحلية الإدانة الجماعية.

بيد أن النساء والفتيات اللاجئات لسن مجرد ضحايا سلبيات، إذ يمكنهن إدارة دور الحضانة وتهيئة العناية اللازمة للأطفال الأيتام وتوفير الأماكن الآمنة للنساء اللواتي واجهن العنف الجنسي والقائم على الجندر، وضمان حصول العائلات على الغذاء الكافي وإدارة المشروعات التجارية الصغيرة وتنظيم المدارس الأساسية. ومعظم هذه الأعمال تُنجَز دون تمويل أو دعم خارجي، ففي غياب الرجال، تتولى النساء كل الأدوار الممكنة في الأسرة والمجتمع، فتتولى هذه الأنشطة مجموعة من النساء اللواتي يمتلكن مهارات رسمية إلى جانب نطاق واسع من المهارات غير الرسمية، فالنساء والفتيات اللاجئات يمتلكن وعياً شديداً بالمشكلات التي تواجهها النساء في مخيم اللجوء والمواقع الحضرية، كما لديهن معرفة بالحلول الممكنة.

إلا أن هذه الإمكانات والمهارات والقدرات غالباً ما تكون غير معترف بها. فكثيراً ما يُغَيَّب صوت المرأة بسبب محدودية فرص الحصول على التمثيل في المستويات كافّة، لذلك ثمة حاجة لتقديم دعم موجه يكون معنياً بتعليم النساء مهارات القيادة والمناصرة وقوانين حقوق الإنسان وإجراءات الاجتماعات الرسمية ومخاطبة الجمهور، وذلك لتُسمَع أصواتهن في عملية وضع السياسات وليسهمن بفعالية في المحافل التي يُحتَمَل أن تكون تمييزية وليَضمَنَّ أن دمجهُنّ في مثل هذه العمليات ليس من باب فض العتب.

التدقيق الجندري والتقدُّم في العقد

رغم بطء التقدم الذي أُحرِزَ فيما يتعلق بضمان المساواة في الجندر في العقد إلاّ أنّه كان ملحوظاً، فالتقرير المتعلق بأول اجتماع موضوعي الذي عُقِدَ في يوليو/تموز لعام 2017 ذكر النساء مرة واحدة، بينما لم يرد أي ذكر للجندر أو العنف الجنسي والقائم على الجندر أبداً، كما حضر فريق التدقيق الجندري الاجتماعين الموضوعيين الثاني والثالث في أكتوبر/تشرين الأول، ولكن على الرغم من الالتزام القوي الذي أبداه كبار موظفي المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين بوضوح، كان هناك نقاش صغير ومجدٍ حول المساواة في الجندر، وفي الكثير من الجلسات النقاشية، لولا تدخلات اللاجئين المشاركين لما ذُكر ذلك على الإطلاق، بينما دفعت هذه التدخلات في المجالس الأخرى رؤساءها إلى مراعاة القضايا المتعلقة بالجندر في التوصيات، وكان معظم المتحدثين الرئيسيين من الرجال، وفي حين كان هناك التزام قوي تجاه مشاركة اللاجئين، بالمقابل لم يكن ثمة اعتراف بالحواجز الإضافية التي تواجهها النساء والفتيات اللاجئات لِكي تُسْمَع أصواتهن، ولولا المتحدثون المتفانون والتوجيهات الموجهة إلى رئيس الجلسة لما ورد ذكر النساء والفتيات، ولكانت القضايا الجندرية ستعمم في غياهب النسيان مرة أخرى.

وقدم فريق التدقيق الجندري في تقريره توصيات قوية بشأن الاجتماعات القادمة تؤكد على ضرورة المساواة في الجندر في الجلسات النقاشية، كما اقترح الفريق على رؤساء الجلسات أن يطلبوا من أعضاء الفرق معالجة الأبعاد الجندرية للقضايا التي ستخضع للنقاش.[iv]

وفي الاجتماعات التي عُقِدَت في نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني، كان من الواضح أن المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين قد عملت بجد لضمان المساواة في الجندر في الجلسات النقاشية، وفي حين لم يكن ثمة زيادة كبيرة في عدد التدخلات التي تعالج كلا من المساواة في الجندر والعنف الجنسي القائم على الجندر، فلم يكن هنالك تحول مهم وملحوظ في جودة التدخلات التي قدمتها الدول وأصحاب المصلحة، وقد أبدت بعض دول الجنوب العالمي اهتماماً حقيقياً بكيفية معالجة هذه القضايا على المستوى الوطني وكيفية مدها بالموارد اللازمة، وكان هذا التحول الإيجابي انعكاساً للتدخلات الممتازة التي أدلى بها المشاركون اللاجئون بالإضافة إلى بعض رؤساء الجلسات والمتحدثين الرئيسيين.

 وعملت المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين على قدم وساق مسبَّقاً قبل أن يحين موعد حوار المفوض السامي بشأن الحماية في ديسمبر/كانون الأول لضمان تحقيق المساواة في الجندر في الجلسات النقاشية، وكان أهم ما في الأمر إدراج موضوع جديد في الاجتماع الرسمي على شكل طاولة مستديرة حول المساواة في الجندر، ومن الجدير بالذكر أن معظم المتحدثين في تلك الجلسة النقاشية كانوا من فئة اللاجئين بمن فيهم نساء من ميانمار والسودان بالإضافة إلى شاب سوداني يعيش لاجئاً في أوغندا، كما كان هنالك زيادة ملحوظة في تدخلات كل من دول الجنوب والشمال لزيادة الوعي بالمخاوف الجندرية ولاقتراح توصيات محددة ،وقد تبادلت المزيد من الدول الممارسات الجيدة فيما بينها لدعم استجابات أكثر فعالية لتحقيق الحماية الجندرية.

أما التحدي الحقيقي الذي يواجهنا الآن فهو تنفيذ ذلك كله على أرض الواقع إذ يجب إدراج التزامات الإعلان الصارمة تجاه النساء والفتيات في ديباجة الإطار الشامل للاستجابة للاجئين وبرنامج العمل المعني بتنفيذ الالتزامات الواردة فيه، وينبغي للاتفاق أن يصوغ الحاجات المحددة للنساء والفتيات من جهة والرجال والفتيان من الجهة الأخرى، ويجب عليه أن يدعم التحولات على أرض الواقع لمعالجة عدم المساواة في الجندر والعنف الجنسي المزمن، فهما من أهم العوائق التي تحول دون تحقيق التزامات الإعلان.

ولا بد من تضمين أصوات ومشاركات اللاجئين من النساء والرجال في كل المستويات، وينبغي تضمين إجراءات محددة لبناء المساواة في الجندر في المحاور الأربع لبرنامج عمل العقد، كما ينبغي لتلك الإجراءات أن تكون واضحة ومحددة وقابلة للتحقيق، وعليها أن تشتمل على دعم عملي للدول والجهات الفاعلة من غير الدول، وينبغي أن يكون هناك آلية مساءلة وآليات رصد مجدية للتأكد من أن الالتزامات المتعلقة بالمساواة في الجندر تتحول إلى حماية فعالة لكل اللاجئين. ويمكن للمجتمع المدني والمنظمات غير الحكومية وكل أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين أن يساعدوا من خلال التأكد من أن الإسهامات التي يقدمونها في عملية الاتفاق تعالج المساواة في الجندر في كل جانب من جوانب الحماية.

 

إيلين بيتاوي E.Pittaway@unsw.edu.au

بروفيسورة مشاركة

ليندا بارتولومي linda.bartolomei@unsw.edu.au

مُنظِّمة اجتماعات مشاركة، شبكة أبحاث الهجرة القسرية

جامعة نيو ساوث ويلز، أستراليا www.arts.unsw.edu.au/research/forced-migration-research-network



[i] Pittaway E, Bell C and Bartolomei L (2017) Strengthening the response to refugee women and girls in the Comprehensive Refugee Response Framework, University of New South Wales

(تعزيز الاستجابة للنساء والفتيات اللاجئات في إطار الاستجابة الشاملة للاجئين)

www.unhcr.org/595b7f344.pdf

[ii] ترأس فريق التدقيق الجندري ليندا بارتولوماي وإيلين بيتاوي وضَمَّ ممثلين عن مجتمعات اللاجئين وهم تشيري زاهاو وميليكا شيخ الدين وتينا ديكسون وأباجوك بيار وشذى الريحاوي، وحصل الفريق على دعم إضافي من تشارلون بيل وغيرالدين دوني.

[iii] فعالية على هامش النقاشات الموضوعية للعقد العالمي حول اللاجئين 2: الحماية في البحر

[iv] Bartolomei L, Dixson T, Sheikh-Eldin M, Zahau C and Pittaway, E (2017) Gender Audit Report on the Second and Third Thematic Discussion on the Global Compact on Refugees,

(تقرير التدقيق الجندري حول النقاش الموضوعي الثاني والثالث حول العقد العالمي للاجئين)

www.unhcr.org/5a251b537.pdf

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Enhancing the protection of women and girls through the Global Compact on Refugees

The consultative process involved in drafting the Global Compact on Refugees presents an ideal opportunity to ensure that gender equality is integral to this new international policy framework.

The New York Declaration for Refugees and Migrants of September 2016 is the first United Nations (UN) declaration adopted specifically for refugees and migrants and is therefore a critical agenda-setting document. It includes a clear reaffirmation of the principles of the 1951 Refugee Convention, and is the first document adopted by the UN General Assembly specifically for refugees and migrants that includes strong gender commitments.

The New York Declaration included draft text of a Global Compact on Refugees and provided for the roll-out of a Comprehensive Refugee Response Framework (CRRF). Although the Declaration has a strong focus on gender the CRRF remains weak on these issues. We prepared a ‘gender analysis’ of the CRRF[i] and were subsequently engaged by UNHCR to undertake a ‘gender audit’[ii] of five thematic meetings held in 2017 and of the High Commissioner’s Dialogue on Protection Challenges in order to assess how gender equality and the protection of women and girls are addressed in the Compact process. These meetings have informed the development of a draft Programme of Action (PoA) to implement the commitments made in the CRRF.

One of the New York Declaration’s major recommendations is to mainstream a gender perspective. However, mainstreaming very often leads to invisibility. If we are to genuinely achieve gender mainstreaming, we must ask ourselves what the outcomes are when we fail to recognise and address barriers to gender equality. For example, if we fail to identify lack of access to sanitary materials as a barrier to education, it means that for one week a month girls must miss school. If we do not ask what the risks are for women and girl asylum seekers making sea crossings, we do not hear that all of them have experienced rape or other forms of sexual violence.[iii] If we do not ask how single women survive on a single person’s rations in a camp, we do not hear that for most women survival sex is their only option.

Why focus on women and girls?

The discourse about refugee women and girls is key to unpacking the reasons why they do not enjoy adequate international protection. Although classified as a minority or vulnerable group, women and girls are not a vulnerable group per se and nor are they, numerically speaking, a minority. Used sociologically rather than quantitatively, however, ‘minority group’ denotes those who suffer discrimination and subordination because of their status, have unequal access to decision making, infrastructure and resources, and have their personal capacities ignored. Cultural norms often ascribe to women a lower social status than men, placing them in a position of dependency, while a lack of educational opportunities makes it more difficult for them to access decision-making and income-generation opportunities.

The most important difference between women and girls, and men and boys, is that of exposure to endemic sexual and gender-based violence (SGBV). While recognising that some refugee men and boys also suffer sexual violence, research indicates that the majority of refugee and displaced women endure this human rights abuse. Both men and women can suffer severe psychological impacts and physical injury and can contract sexually transmitted diseases. Women, however, face the additional consequence of bearing children of rape, and many girls who are too young for child-bearing die. Women and girls are isolated from families or communities, and all bear a burden of stigma. Disabled women are often the target of sexual violence. Lesbian and transgender women are subjected to ‘corrective rape’ and sometimes killed. Many women are forced to engage in survival sex to feed themselves and their families, with the additional stigma of prostitution. Many face forced marriage. Men are shamed because they cannot protect their female family members, and communities suffer collective guilt.

Refugee women and girls are not just passive victims; women run crèches, arrange care for orphaned children, provide safe spaces for women who have experienced SGBV, ensure that families are fed, run small businesses and organise basic schools. Much of this work is done without funding or external support. In the absence of men, women take on all roles in the family and community. These activities are undertaken by women who have not only formal but also a wide range of informal skills. Refugee women and girls have a keen awareness of the problems experienced in refugee camps and urban settings – and of potential solutions.

However, these capacities, skills and abilities often go unrecognised. Women are silenced by limited access to representation at every level. They need targeted support – in leadership skills, advocacy, human rights law, formal meeting procedures and public speaking – in order to make their voices heard in the policy-making process, to contribute effectively in potentially discriminatory forums and to ensure that their inclusion in such processes is not tokenistic.

The gender audit and Compact progress

Progress on ensuring gender equality in the Compact, while slow, has been significant. The report of the first thematic meeting (held in July 2017) mentioned women once, and gender and SGBV not at all. The gender audit team attended the second and third thematic meetings in October but, despite the evidently strong commitment of UNHCR senior staff, there was little meaningful discussion about gender equality. In several panels, were it not for interventions from refugee participants, it would not have been mentioned at all; in others these interventions triggered the chairs to reflect gender issues in recommendations. Most panelists were men and while there was strong commitment to refugee participation, there was no recognition of the additional barriers that refugee women and girls face to have their voices heard. Without a dedicated speaker or instructions to the chair, women and girls were not mentioned, and once again gender was mainstreamed into oblivion.

In their report the gender audit team made strong recommendations that, for subsequent meetings, there should be gender parity on panels and suggested that chairs ask panelists to address the gender dimensions of issues being discussed.[iv]

At the November meetings, it was evident that UNHCR had worked hard to ensure gender parity on panels. While there was not a huge increase in the number of interventions addressing gender equality and SGBV, there was a significant shift in the quality of the interventions, both from States and other stakeholders. There was a real concern expressed by some States from the global South about how to address these issues at a national level, and how to resource them. This positive shift was a reflection of the excellent interventions made by the refugee participants, and also by some of the chairs and panelists.

UNHCR again worked tirelessly ahead of the High Commisioner’s Protection Dialogue in December to ensure gender parity on panels. Most significant was the addition of a roundtable on gender equality to the formal meeting. Importantly, the majority of speakers on this panel were from refugee backgrounds, including women from Myanmar and Sudan and one young Sudanese man living as a refugee in Uganda. There was also a significant increase in interventions by States from both the global South and the global North to raise gendered concerns and to propose concrete recommendations, and an increased number of States also shared good practices to support more effective gendered protection responses.

Our challenge now is to move to practical implementation. The Declaration’s strong commitments to women and girls must be incorporated into a preamble to the CRRF, and in the PoA. The Compact must articulate the specific needs of women and girls, men and boys. It must support transformation on the ground to genuinely address gender inequality and the endemic sexual violence which is a key barrier to achieving this.

The voices and participation of refugee women and men must be included at all levels. Specific actions to build gender equality must be included in all four pillars of the Compact’s Programme of Action and must be clear, specific and achievable, and include practical support for States and non-state actors. There need to be an accountability mechanism and viable monitoring mechanisms in order to ensure that commitment to gender equality is transformed into effective protection for all refugees. Civil society, non-governmental organisations and all key stakeholders can assist by ensuring that any input they make into the Compact process addresses gender equality in every aspect of protection.

 

Eileen Pittaway E.Pittaway@unsw.edu.au
Adjunct Associate Professor

Linda Bartolomei linda.bartolomei@unsw.edu.au
Co-convenor, Forced Migration Research Network

University of New South Wales, Australia https://www.arts.unsw.edu.au/research/forced-migration-research-network/

 

[i] Pittaway E, Bell C and Bartolomei L (2017) Strengthening the response to refugee women and girls in the Comprehensive Refugee Response Framework, University of New South Wales www.unhcr.org/595b7f344.pdf

[ii] The gender audit team was led by Linda Bartolomei and Eileen Pittaway and involved  refugee community representatives Cheery Zahau, Melika Sheikh-Eldin, Tina Dixson, Apajok Biar and Shaza Al Rihawi. Additional support was provided by Charlotte Bell and Geraldine Doney.

[iii] Global Compact on Refugees Thematic Discussion 2, Side event: Protection at sea.

[iv] Bartolomei L, Dixson T, Sheikh-Eldin M, Zahau C and Pittaway, E (2017) Gender Audit Report on the Second and Third Thematic Discussion on the Global Compact on Refugees www.unhcr.org/5a251b537.pdf

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview