العمل الإنساني الذي يقوده اللاجئون في مخيم شاتيلا في لبنان

تثير المبادرات التي يقودها اللاجئون الفلسطينيون ’المرسخون‘ استجابةً لوصول السوريين المُهجَّرين ’الجدد‘ إلى مخيم شاتيلا أسئلة محورية حول القيود التي يواجهها النظام الإنساني وتمثيل اللاجئين على أنَّهم ضحايا سلبيون.

يُعد مخيّمُ شاتيلا الذي تقل مساحته عن ميل مربع على الحدود الجنوبية من بيروت، واحداً من المخيمات المخصصة لاستقبال اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في لبنان، وأُسِّسَ في عام 1949 ليتَّسِعَ لما لا يزيد على ثلاثة آلاف شخص، لَكنَّ ما يحدث اليوم أنَّ المخيم أصبح يضم ما يقارب من 40 ألف لاجئ رغم أنَّ مساحته لم تزدد أبداً، ورغم أنَّ الفقر والازدحام والظروف الصحية المتدنية أكثر ما يجتاح مخيم شاتيلا، أصبح المخيم منذ عام 2011 ملاذاً للجوء اللاجئين السوريين الجدد، فقد سهَّل قدومهم إلى هناك الروابط والعلاقات الأسرية الموجودة مسبقاً بين اللاجئين السوريين بمن فيهم اللاجئين الفلسطينيين من سوريا، واللاجئين الفلسطينيين من لبنان الذين يعيشون في شاتيلا، وتشير التقديرات إلى زيادة عدد سكان شاتيلا إلى أكثر من ضعفين منذ اندلاع النِّزاع في سوريا، ولا يوجد توثيق يُذكَر للاستجابات الإنسانية التي يقودها اللاجئون أنفسهم إزاء اللاجئين السوريين الذين وصلوا إلى مخيم شاتيلا. ومع ذلك، فقد قدمت هذه المبادرات صوراً حية وملموسة من الدعم، والتضامن وحسن الضيافة، وهذا ما أشارت إليه فيديان-قاسمية ’بإنسانية اللاجئ للاجئ‘.[1]

ورغم الفقر وندرة الموارد وسوء الخدمات، استخدم اللاجئون الفلسطينيون المرسخون -ونقصد بهم اللاجئين الذين يعيشون بالأصل في المخيم- الموارد الرسمية وغير الرسمية لتوفير الدعم المادي وغير المادي للاجئين السوريين الجدد خلال المراحل الأولى من وصولهم، ومن خلال شبكات التواصل غير الرسمية، استضاف كثير من اللاجئين الفلسطينيين عائلات سورية لمدة أشهر موفِّرين لهم الدعم المادي والمعنوي. وعلى الصعيد الرسمي، اُسْتُخدِمَت المساجد لإيواء اللاجئين الجدد ولإقامة فعاليات التضامن مع السوريين، فقد تبرع اللاجئون الفلسطينيون بما يفيض عن حاجتهم من ملابس والفُرُش والبطّانيات وغيرها من الموارد.

ولا بد هنا من الانتباه إلى أنَّ الفلسطينيين ليسوا جميعاً في فئة واحدة بل هناك فئات عدة لهم حسب اختصاص الجهة الراعية لكل فئة، فالفلسطيني الذين يُعرَّف بأنه: "كل من كانت فلسطين مكان إقامته الطبيعي خلال الفترة ما بين 1 حزيران 1946 وحتى 15 أيار 1948 والذي فقد منزله ومورد رزقه نتيجة الصراع الذي دار عام 1948" فإنه يتبع وكالة الأمم المتحدة لغوث اللاجئين الفلسطينيين وتشغيلهم في الشرق الأدنى (الأونروا).[ii] ولذلك يتبع اللاجئون ’المرسخون‘ في مخيم شاتيلا إلى اختصاص الأونروا لأنَّهم بالأصل لاجئون فلسطينيون، (ويشار إليهم في هذه المقالة بعبارة ’اللاجئون الفلسطينيون من لبنان‘). وهناك المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين التي تقدم خدماتها لأي شخص كان ما دام مستوفياً لشروط اللجوء حسب تعريف اتفاقية جنيف لعام 1951، ويتضمن ذلك السوريين (باستثناء الفلسطينيين). ولا تقتصر المشكلة في التفرقة بين اللاجئين السوريين والفلسطينيين على ظهور فجوة في الحماية القانونية والاجتماعية في شاتيلا فحسب بل أثَّر أيضاً في العلاقة وفي موازين القوى بين اللاجئين ’الجدد‘ و’المرسخين‘ داخل المخيم.

ووفقاً لما قاله مجدي آدم، وهو ناشط اجتماعي فلسطيني ورئيس النادي الرياضي الفلسطيني في مخيم شاتيلا، فقد شوهد اللاجئون الفلسطينيون المُهجَّرون من سوريا يتجولون في مراكز توزيع المساعدات المخصصة للسوريين، ويطالبون بتقديم المعونة لأنفسهم أيضاً قائلين: "نحن لاجئون أيضاً، فلماذا يقتصر تقديم المساعدات على السوريين؟"، [iii]وأخبرنا مجدي إنَّ اللاجئين الفلسطينيين شرعوا في مبادرة خاصة بهم لمناهضة هذا التمييز غير المنطقي، وقد أخبره أحد هؤلاء اللاجئين: "شرعنا في هذه المبادرة الخاصة بنا، وفي الوقت نفسه نعمل مع المنظمات غير الحكومية المختصة بمساعدة السوريين فقط. فعلى سبيل المثال، كنا نسجل اللاجئين السوريين على الورق حسبما هو مطلوب، لكننا في الليل كنا نقدم للاجئين الفلسطينيين من سوريا ما يحتاجون إليه."

وهناك انتقادات من مجتمع اللاجئين المرسخين بشأن كيفية توزيع الموارد المحدودة. فعلى سبيل المثال، كما أخبرنا مجدي، تقدم هيئات المساعدات لكل عائلة المقدار نفسه من المؤن بغض النظر عن عدد الأطفال داخل كل أسرة، ولهذا السبب استخدم اللاجئون المرسخون الذين يعملون مع هذه المنظمات مبادرتهم لسد هذه الفجوة، وكما شرح لنا مجدي: "بالنسبة للعائلات التي لديها عدد كبير من الأطفال، نخبرهم أن يعودوا إلينا ليلاً للحصول على مزيد من البطانيات والموارد لتلبية حاجاتهم"، مثل هذه المبادرات التي يقودها اللاجئون تغير وضع اللاجئين الفلسطينيين لتجعل منهم مقدمين للدعم لا عالة على الغير، ومما يكتسب أهمية قصوى أنَّ هذه الخبرات تثبت وجهات نظر اللاجئين بشأن أوجه القصور التي تعيب الاستجابة الإنسانية، وتثبت في الوقت نفسه مساهمة تضامن اللاجئ مع اللاجئ في سد هذه الثغرات، ووفقاً لما قاله أحد لاجئي فلسطين من لبنان الذي يعمل مع الأونروا: "بما أنَّنا لاجئون فلسطينيون، فنحن ندرك جيداً الشعور بعدم الحصول على مكان آمن للإقامة فيه ونعرف معنى الشعور بعدم الترحيب. لذلك تحتم علينا مسؤوليتنا الإنسانية والأخلاقية والوطنية أن نقدم لهم كل ما في استطاعتنا وأن نرحب بهم على الأقل."

استدامة الترحيب

رغم ذلك، من السابق للأوان الانبهار العاطفي بهذا الشكل من أشكال التعامل الإنساني بين اللاجئ واللاجئ، إذ سرعان ما ظهر تحوّل تدريجي من طور الضيافة إلى العداء، فالتوتر على مدار السنوات السبعة منذ وصول السوريين، فقد ذكر اللاجئون الفلسطينيون المرسخون أنَّهم أدركوا أنَّ النِّزاع في سوريا قد يمتد لأكثر من سنة، وهكذا بدأت علاقتهم بالسوريين في المخيم تتغير، وقال الخاضعون للمقابلات إنَّ ازدياد وطأة الضغوط التي فرضتها استضافة اللاجئين السوريين خلال السنوات السبعة الماضية أصبح أمراً محتوماً خاصة مع نقص الموارد وضعف الظروف المعيشية التي يعاني منها المخيم أصلاً قبل توافد اللاجئين الجدد عليه.

ووصل التوتر إلى ذروته في المدارس وما حولها وفي الوظائف وفي الحصول على الرعاية الصحية. ففي المدارس، دُمِجَت صفوف اللاجئين الفلسطينيين من لبنان مع صفوف اللاجئين الفلسطينيين من سوريا فازدحمت واكتظت بطلابها، وأصبحت مدة الحصول على خدمات الرعاية الصحية أطول من المعتاد، وازدادت حدة التنافس على العمل في القطاع غير الرسمي، وهذا ما عبّر عنه أحد اللاجئين الفلسطينيين من لبنان الذي لم يخف احتجاجه قائلاً: "بالنسبة لشخص مثلي يعمل في مجال طلاء الجدران، أطلب أربعين دولاراً في اليوم في حين يقبل السوري العمل لقاء عشرين دولاراً."

وتزداد الأمور صعوبة مع تناقص الأموال المتاحة للأونروا وهذا ما دفعها لتطبيق تدابير تقشفية على مدار السنوات القليلة الماضية رافقها انخفاض واضح في مستوى الخدمات، فقد انخفض معدل الإنفاق السنوي للأونروا على اللاجئ من مائتي دولار في عام 1975 إلى نحو 110 دولارات في يومنا هذا، وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، في حين تسعى المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين إلى إيجاد حلول مستدامة مثل إعادة توطين اللاجئين السوريين المسجًّلين، لا تقدم الأونروا ضمن اختصاصها فرصاً مثيلة للاجئين السوريين الفلسطينيين من سوريا أو للاجئين الفلسطينيين من لبنان لأنَّ هذا قد يعني فقدانهم لحق العودة. ومن ناحية أخرى، يحظر قانون العمل اللبناني على اللاجئين الفلسطينيين من لبنان ومن سوريا العمل في 36 مهنة (منها الطب، والزراعة، والنقل العام)، وبسبب الوضع القانوني المحدود للسوريين في لبنان اضطرت كلتا الفئتين من اللاجئين إلى التنافس في قطاع العمل غير الرسمي. وبالنتيجة، تمثل السياسات والمنظومات الدولية سبباً رئيساً في الآثار السلبية التي يشعر بها اللاجئون في مثل هذا المكان المزدحم قليل الموارد، مما يعيق استدامة إنسانية لتعامل اللاجئ مع اللاجئ.

ومع ذلك، فمن المهم جداً الإشارة إلى بعض الآثار الإيجابية التي شعر بها بعض اللاجئين، فعندما سُئِلَ اللاجئون الفلسطينيون المرسخون عما إذا كانت حياتهم الاجتماعية قد تغيرت بعد وصول اللاجئين الجدد، كانت إجابة الجميع: نعم. وبالنسبة لمجدي، أخبرنا أنَّ وصول اللاجئين الجدد كان سبباً في تحفيزه ليصبح ناشطاً اجتماعياً: "[وصولهم] جعلنا نتذكر تهجيرنا كلاجئين فلسطينيين، دفعني ذلك أيضاَ إلى مضاعفة جهدي وتحفزي للعمل الاجتماعي؛ [فبدأنا] نرحب بالسوريين والفلسطينيين السوريين ونشجعهم على الانضمام إلى النادي [الرياضي] لمساعدتهم على نسيان معاناتهم والاندماج في المجتمع، وقال لاجئان سوريان: "عندما وصلنا إلى هنا، كنا نشعر بعدم الراحة والخجل تماماً مثل الغرباء لذلك كنا نفضل البقاء مع السوريين ننتظر وحدنا، لكننا اليوم، نشعر بالاندماج في المخيم وفي الحياة العملية، والآن إذا أخذت جولة في الشوارع سيراً على الأقدام، فلن تلاحظ أي فرق بين سوري وفلسطيني في المخيم."

إلا أنَّ قلة الموارد، وضيق الحيز المادي، وضعف الحقوق التي يعاني منها اللاجئون في مخيم شاتيلا تجعل التحول من الضيافة إلى العداء أمراً لا مفر منه، لكنَّ التعميم هنا لا يقدم وصفاً شاملاً للعوائق الرئيسية أمام تضامن اللاجئين تجاه أنفسهم، تلك العوائق الناتجة من تطبيق الحكومة لسياسات غير عادلة وبرنامج إنساني غير متوازن يقدم معاملة تفضيلية على أساس الجنسية. ولكي نبني مقاربات قائمة على الإنماء لتعزيز إنسانية تعامل اللاجئ مع اللاجئ والحد من تهميش اللاجئين الفلسطينيين المرسخين، لا بد من إعادة تقييم فعالية البرامج الحالية من خلال مراعاة وجهات نظر اللاجئين أنفسهم وتمكينهم على أنّهم أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين بمستقبلهم.

هند شريف sharifhind@gmail.com

متدربة في برنامج سخروف، وحدة العمل لحقوق الإنسان، المديرية العامة للسياسات الخارجية للاتحاد الأوروبي، البرلمان الأوروبي.

www.europarl.europa.eu



[1]    Fiddian-Qasmiyeh E (2016) ‘Repressentations of Displacement in the Middle East’, Public Culture 28(3)

(’تمثيلات التَهجير في الشرق الأوسط، الثقافة العامة)

http://discovery.ucl.ac.uk/1520016/1/Fiddian-Qasmiyeh_Accepted.EFQ.%20Public%20Culture.31%20Jan%202016-2.pdf

انظر أيضاً فيديان-قاسمية إ(2016) ’اللاجئون يستضيفون اللاجئين‘، نشرة الهجرة القسرية 53.

www.fmreview.org/ar/community-protection/fiddianqasmiyeh

[iii]بنيت هذه المقالة على مقابلات أجريت مع اللاجئين الفلسطينيين والسوريين في مخيم شاتيلا في لبنان ومع كوادر الأونوروا ونُفِّذت في الفترة ما بين أبريل/نيسان ومايو/أيار 2017. ويمكن الحصول على النسخة الأطول من المقالة ضمن تقرير عام 2017 بعنوان اللاجئون السوريون في لبنان: بين اللدونة والاستضعاف، من منشورات جامعة القديس يوسف في بيروت

http://bit.ly/ISP-Syrians-resilience-2017

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Refugee-led humanitarianism in Lebanon’s Shatila camp

Refugee-led humanitarian initiatives by ‘established’ Palestinian refugees in response to the arrival of ‘new’ displaced Syrians to Shatila camp raise key questions about the limitations of the humanitarian system and representations of refugees as passive victims.

Shatila camp, covering less than a square mile on the southern borders of Beirut, is one of the Palestinian refugee camps in Lebanon that was established in 1949, for merely 3,000 people. Today, the camp occupies the same limited space but has around 40,000 residents. While poverty, overcrowded shelters and poor health conditions plague Shatila, the camp has become a space of refuge for new refugees from Syria since 2011. This emergence as a space of refuge for displaced Syrians was facilitated by pre-existing bonds and family relationships between the Syrian refugees – including Palestinian refugees from Syria – and Palestinian refugees from Lebanon already living in Shatila. As a result, the population of Shatila is estimated to have increased more than twofold since the conflict in Syria began. Refugee-led humanitarian responses to the Syrian refugees that arrived at Shatila camp are largely undocumented, yet such initiatives have offered key and palpable forms of support, solidarity and hospitality, in an example of what Fiddian-Qasmiyeh refers to as ‘refugee-refugee humanitarianism’.[1]

In spite of poverty, scarce resources and poor services, established Palestinian refugees – those already living in the camp – have used formal and informal resources to provide the new arrivals from Syria with material and non-material support during the initial stages of their arrival. Through informal networks, numerous Palestinian refugees hosted Syrian families in their homes for months, providing them with physical and moral support. More formally, mosques have also been used for housing the new refugees and to host days of solidarity with Syrians, where Palestinian refugees would donate extra clothes, mattresses, blankets and other resources.

Different classifications of Palestinians fall under different international mandates. Palestine refugees, who are “persons whose normal place of residence was Palestine during the period 1 June 1946 to 15 May 1948, and who lost both home and means of livelihood as a result of the 1948 conflict” (including the descendants of Palestine refugee males, plus their adopted children), fall within the mandate of the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA).[2] ‘Established’ refugees in Shatila come under UNRWA’s mandate as they are formerly Palestine refugees (now referred to as Palestinian refugees from Lebanon). UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, offers its services to anyone who meets the definition of a refugee according to the 1951 Geneva Convention – which includes Syrians (excluding Palestinians). This separation not only produces a legal and social protection gap between Palestinian and Syrian refugees in Shatila but also has an impact on the relationship and power imbalances between the ‘new’ and ‘established’ refugees within the camp.

According to Majdi Adam, a Palestinian social activist and captain of Shatila’s Palestine Sports Club, Palestinian refugees from Syria have been witnessed in the distribution centres for Syrians calling out for aid for themselves, asking, “We are refugees too – why is the aid only for Syrians?”[3] Majdi told us that Palestinian refugees began using their own initiative to combat this unreasonable separation. One refugee had told him: “We started our own initiatives while working with the NGOs that only help the Syrians. For example, we would register the Syrian refugees on paper as required but then, at night, we would also provide the Palestinian refugees from Syria with what they needed.”

The established refugee community is also critical of how the limited resources are distributed. For instance, Majdi told us that the aid agencies provide every family with the same amount of supplies, regardless of how many children they have. Established refugees that work with these organisations have used their own initiative in order to fill this gap. “For the families that have many children, we would tell them to come back at night and we would furnish them with more blankets and resources to fulfil their needs,” Majdi explained. Such refugee-led initiatives reposition Palestinian refugees as providers of support rather than dependent recipients. Most importantly, such experiences demonstrate the refugees’ perspectives on the shortcomings of the humanitarian response and show how refugee-refugee solidarity can help fill these gaps. As one of the Palestinian refugees from Lebanon working with UNRWA put it, “As Palestinian refugees, we know how it feels not to have anywhere safe to go or not to be welcomed. Our human, ethical and national responsibility is to offer them whatever we possibly can and to at least welcome them.”

The sustainability of welcome

It is important, however, not to fall into the trap of romanticising this form of refugee-refugee humanitarianism. There has been a gradual development from hospitality to hostility and tension over the seven years since the Syrians’ arrival. The established Palestinian refugees stated that when they realised that the Syrian conflict would extend longer than a year, their relationship with the Syrians in the camp started to change. Interviewees described the increasing pressure of hosting Syrian refugees over the last seven years as inevitable, considering the shortage of resources and poor living conditions that already existed in the camp.

The tension has mostly been felt around schools, jobs and access to health care. The schools have merged classes of Palestinian refugees from Lebanon and Syria, and the classes have become overcrowded. Accessing health care takes significantly longer than it used to, and the informal job sector has become more competitive. A Palestinian refugee from Lebanon protested, “For someone like me, whose job is to paint walls, I ask a salary of US$40 per day, while a Syrian accepts $20.”

As UNRWA has been forced by lack of funds to apply austerity measures over the last few years, a decline in services has been evident. In fact, UNRWA’s average annual spend per refugee has dropped from about $200 in 1975 to around $110 today. Moreover, while UNHCR seeks durable solutions such as resettlement for the registered Syrian refugees, UNRWA does not offer equivalent opportunities to the Palestinian refugees from Syria or Lebanon under its mandate as this may mean them losing their right of return. On the other hand, since Lebanese labour law forbids Palestinian refugees from Lebanon and from Syria to work in 36 occupations (which include medicine, farming and public transportation) and due to the limited legal status of Syrians in Lebanon, both refugee populations are forced to compete in the informal sector. In effect, policies and international regimes contribute significantly to the negative impacts refugees have felt in an overcrowded and under-resourced space – and so hinder the sustainability of refugee-refugee humanitarianism.

Nonetheless, it is important to note that some refugees also felt positive impacts. When established Palestinian refugees were asked if their social life had changed after the arrival of the new refugees, all were positive. For Majdi, their arrival provided him with the incentive to become socially active: “[It] has made us remember our own displacement as Palestinian refugees. This motivated me to provide double the energy that I had for social work. We started welcoming and encouraging Syrians and Palestinian refugees from Syria to join the [sports] club to help them forget their sufferings and integrate with the community.” Two Syrian refugees reflected, “When we first arrived here, we felt very uncomfortable and shy, just like strangers – so we always preferred to hang out with Syrians alone. But today, we feel like we have integrated into the camp and the work life. Nowadays, if you walk on the streets, you will not notice a difference between a Syrian and a Palestinian in the camp.”

Considering the lack of resources, physical space and rights that the refugees endure in Shatila, the shift from hospitality to hostility may be perceived as inevitable. This generalisation does not, however, do justice to the key hindrances to refugee-refugee solidarity, which are largely driven by unjust government policies and an imbalanced humanitarian programme that offers differentiated treatment based on nationality. In order to build development-based approaches that could sustain refugee-refugee humanitarianism and limit the marginalisation of the established Palestinian refugees, it is important to re-evaluate the effectiveness of current programmes by taking into consideration the refugees’ own perspectives and empowering them as stakeholders in their own futures.

 

Hind Sharif sharifhind@gmail.com
Sakharov Trainee, Human Rights Action Unit, Directorate-General for External Policies of the Union, European Parliament
www.europarl.europa.eu

 

[1] Fiddian-Qasmiyeh E (2016) ‘Repressentations of Displacement in the Middle East,’ Public Culture 28(3) http://bit.ly/F-Qasmiyeh-Public-Culture-2016
See also Fiddian-Qasmiyeh E (2016) ‘Refugees hosting refugees’, Forced Migration Review 53 www.fmreview.org/community-protection/fiddianqasmiyeh

[3] This article is based on interviews conducted with Palestinian and Syrian refugees in Shatila camp in Lebanon and with UNRWA staff members, carried out between April and May 2017. A longer version of this article is available as part of the 2017 report Syrian Refugees in Lebanon: Between Resilience and Vulnerability, published by the University of Saint Joseph in Beirut
http://bit.ly/ISP-Syrians-resilience-2017

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview