موازنة الحقوق بين النَّازحين والعائدين والباقين: دروس من العراق

يُنظَر إلى عودة بعض من 3.1 مليون شخص من النَّازحين داخلياً في العراق إلى أماكنهم الأصلية على أنَّها مؤشر للنجاح في أعقاب الحرب الأهلية التي دارات مؤخراً. ومع ذلك، فالوضع معقد بسبب بعض المسائل الحرجة التي تتعلق بخفض الحقوق المتنافسة وحاجات الحماية.

تسلط الإرشادات التوجيهية للحلول المستدامة للتَّهجير الضوء على ضرورة حماية حقوق النَّازحين داخلياً أينما كانوا، ومن هذه الحقوق حق العودة إلى أماكنهم الأصلية الذي يستند إلى الخيار الطوعي المبني على قرار مدروس إلى جانب توفير السلامة والكرامة. ومع أهمية هذا التأطير، كثيراً ما يغفل حقوق الذين عادوا بالفعل وحاجاتهم و/أو الذين ما زالوا في نزوحهم خاصةً إذا ما كانت العودة الخيار الوحيد لمشكلة النُّزوح.

وهذا هو الوضع في العراق، فقد منحت الحكومة وأصحاب المصلحة المعنيون الدوليون الأولوية لهذا التأطير باعتباره مفتاح النجاح في أعقاب النِّزاع الذي نشب بين الحكومة العراقية وتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية، وقد يغفل هذا التأطير حقيقة أنَّ العودة عملية مستمرة قد تستغرق سنوات إن لم يكن عقوداً لتكتمل، مثلها في ذلك مثل أي حل آخر من الحلول المستدامة. وأخيراً، قد يغفل هذا التأطير أيضاً عن استحالة العودة في بيئات ما بعد النّزاع إلى الحالة السابقة من الناحية العملية، كما لا يمكن اعتباره حلاً حسب المنظور الحقوقي لأنَّ السياق ربما كان غير عادلٍ قبل النِّزاع وربما ساهم بالفعل في أول تهجير قسري.

ولا يوجد على ذلك دليل أوضح من المجتمعات الموجودة في النصف الشمالي من محافظة نينوى في العراق، إذ تسود العشائرية على هيكلها الاجتماعي، وقد عانت المحافظة من قبل كثيراً من النُّزوح القسري، وضعف البنية التحتية، وقصور في توفير الخدمات العامة وإهمال عام من ناحية التنمية. وتضم نينوى المناطق الريفية متعددة الأعراق التي أصحبت ضمن المناطق المتنازع عليها بين السلطات الاتحادية والكردية، وتحيط بمدينة الموصل الواقعة شمال نينوى وهي من أكثر المناطق تعرضاً لهجمات تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية في 2014، بل ازدادت سوءاً في بعض الأحيان بتصارع مناطق مجاورة وقرى بأكملها، وكان وصول قوات تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية وإجلاؤها في عام 2015 سبباً في ظهور موجات جديدة من النُّزوح والعودة، وما زالت التوترات والانقسامات قائمة بين كل من المجموعات التي أقامت أو نزحت لفترة قصيرة وبين العائدين من جهة، وبين هذه الفئات السكانية والفئات التي ما زالت نازحة من جهة أخرى.

وفي الوقت الذي بدأت حركات العودة إلى المنطقة شيئاً فشيئاً، كانت النَّزاعات التي تنشب بين السلطات العراقية والكردية وعدم وجود سياسة رسمية للحلول المستدامة التي تتجاوز مجرد التركيز على العودة سبباً في جعل هذه المجتمعات في مأزق إزاء تحديد من يستطيع العودة ومن لا يستطيع ذلك، ويثير العمل الميداني الذي أُجرِيَ في عام 2017 المخاوف الرئيسية التي ينبغي للسلطات العراقية وأصحاب المصلحة المعنيين الدوليين التصدي لها إذا استمروا في انتهاج سياسة التي ترتكز إلى العودة.

حركات العودة في غياب الاستراتيجية

هناك معايير دولية تخص حماية حقوق النَّازحين داخلياً، لكنَّه من المهم أيضاً الانتباه إلى أنَّ النَّازحين داخلياً الذين عادوا بالفعل قد تكون لديهم همومهم الخاصة بالحماية أيضاً، وقد تكون لديهم تظلمات ضد أناس لم يعودوا بعد، وهذا ما حدث في شمال نينوى وفي معظم مناطق العراق التي تأثرت بالنِّزاع مع تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية، فكانت كثير من الجماعات تطلق وسماً جماعياً للأشخاص الذين ما زالوا نازحين على أنَّ عدم عودتهم تعني أنهم مرتبطون بالجماعة المسلحة. وبالفعل، ارتكب العائدون وقوات الأمن التي أخرجت الجماعة المسلحة أعمالاً انتقامية ضد كل من نُظِرَ إليه على أنَّه مرتبط بتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية (وضد ممتلكاتهم)، وعند اعتماد سياسة تضع أولوياتها على حركات العودة دون أن تلقي بالاً للتظلمات التي يدعيها الأشخاص الذين ما زالوا نازحين، بغض النظر عن صحة ادعاءاتهم، ضد من يُفتَرَض أن يستقبلوهم بالترحاب، فهذا يعني أنّ الباب مفتوح لبدء نزاع جديد، خاصة في جو الغموض الذي يحيط بعملية العودة كلها. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، قد تؤدي عمليات العودة بهذه الطريقة إلى تفاقم المطالبات التنافسية بخصوص حقوق الأرض ما لم تُتَّخّذ خطوات مهمة لضمان التحكيم أو استعادة الحالة السابقة للأوضاع بطريقة مناسبة، أو التعويض.

"أحد أهم الأمور لتحقيق السلام هنا أن تمنع الحكومة عودة العرب والعيش مرة أخرى في مناطقنا لأنَّهم السبب الرئيسي وراء وصول قوات تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية إلى هذه المناطق؛ لقد خانونا." (نازح يزيدي)

"إذا لم يرغب الآخرون في عودتنا، فعلى الحكومة حينئذٍ الفصل في هذا الأمر وتقرير مصيرنا، فنحن نريد العودة." (نازح عربي سُنّي)

وأخيراً، من الجدير بالملاحظة أنَّه حتى في المناطق التي يغلب عليها الطابع العشائري وتكون السيادة الرسمية للقانون ثانوية مقارنةً بالتحكيم العشائري، فإن الانقسامات في النسيج الاجتماعي كبيرة جداً لدرجة لا تستطيع القيادة العشائرية معالجتها، ويمكن للدعوة إلى إشراك الحكومة الاتحادية والقضاء أن تمهد الطريق أمام مزيد من التعاون والتنسيق بين العشائر ومن ثم التخلص من النظم القانونية الموازية شيئاً فشيئاً.

"ينبغي للحكومة إيجاد حلول لهذه المشكلات بمساعدة زعماء القبائل وفئة المثقفين، لماذا الحكومة؟ لأنَّ الحكومة لديها آليات لحل المشكلات أكثر من الأشخاص العاديين... يجب أن تسود الثقة بين الناس." (أحد العائدين اليزيديين)

وينبغي للحكومة الاتحادية وأصحاب المصلحة المعنيين إعطاء الأولوية لتطوير خطة عملية لعمليات العودة بعيداً عن التدابير الاعتباطية المتغيرة والمخصصة لهذا الغرض، فكيفية عودة الناس لا تقل أهمية عن عودتهم أو عدم عودتهم.

التوصيات

ينبغي أن ترتكز استراتيجية العودة على فهم جميع حاجات الضحايا للتصدي للمعاناة (السابقة والحالية) مع الانتباه إلى جميع مرتكبي الانتهاكات، وتسعى العشائر والمجتمعات المحلية إلى إحداث تدخلات رسمية للمساعدة في حل المسائل المتعلقة بالعودة، وتُعدُّ هذه المساعي فرصة للربط بين العمليات العشائرية والرسمية، وفي حين أنَّ اعتزام العراق والولايات المتحدة في قرارهما الأخير على وضع آليات للمساءلة بشأن جرائم تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية يُعدُّ بداية مهمة لكنَّه من الجدير بالملاحظة أنَّ تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية ليس المرتكب الوحيد لجميع الانتهاكات في هذا السياق وأنَّ التظلمات واسعة النطاق، ومن الضروري أيضاً إدراك عدم كفاية إجراءات العدالة الجنائية وأنَّه يجب أيضاً انتهاج مقاربات أخرى مثل جبر الضرر، وتقصي الحقائق، وإصلاح المؤسسات.

كما ينبغي أن تتسم العملية التي من خلالها يخضع الأشخاص المزمع عودتهم للفحص والتمحيص بالشفافية والوضوح حتى يتسنى للمجتمعات فهم المعايير المتبعة من جميع جوانبها وذلك لتمكين النَّازحين داخلياً من العودة.

ويتصل بذلك أيضاً المعايير الواضحة بشأن الانتماء أو الانتساب إلى تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية والعقوبات التي ستصدر بحق من ينتمي إليها وفقاً لدرجة الانتماء، إذ ينبغي أن تكون هذه المعايير واضحة وأن تتشاركها المجتمعات، وسوف يساعد ذلك في تحريك المجتمعات بعيداً عن وسم الناس بصفات معينة أو إصدار عقوباتها على العائدين.

وأخيراً، فالأمر المهم الذي ينبغي تحقيقه هو العمل على توسعة نطاق برامج التماسك الاجتماعي وبناء السلام التي تحدث حاليا في المجتمعات التي عادت بالفعل لتشتمل على الأشخاص الذين ما زالوا نازحين قبل حدوث أي عمليات عودة أخرى، كل هذا من أجل إعداد المجموعتين كلتيهما للعيش معاً مرة أخرى، وللمساعدة في صياغة العمليات التي من شأنها تخفيف حدة النِّزاع والتوتر، ومعالجة التظلمات الحالية والسابقة.

 

ناديا صِدِّيقِي nadia@social-inquiry.org

باحثة، الاستقصاء الاجتماعي (Social Inquiry)

https://social-inquiry.org @inquiry_org

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Balancing the rights of displaced, returning and remaining populations: learning from Iraq

The return of some 3.1 million IDPs in Iraq to their places of origin is seen as a benchmark of success in the aftermath of the recent civil war. However, the situation is complex, with critical questions related to mitigating competing rights and protection needs.

International guidelines for durable solutions to displacement highlight the need to protect the rights of the internally displaced wherever they are located. This includes their right to return to their places of origin, based on informed voluntary choice, and in safety and dignity. While this framing is important, however, it can often overlook the rights and needs of those who have already returned and/or those who have remained, particularly if returns are presented as the sole option for resolution to displacement.

This is the case in Iraq where government and international stakeholders have prioritised this outcome as the key to success in the aftermath of the conflict between the Iraqi government and ISIS. Such a framing may also neglect the fact that return is a continuous process and, like any other durable solution, can take years if not decades to be completed. Finally, it may also miss the fact that returning to the previous state of affairs is impossible in post-conflict settings in practical terms, nor is it a solution in rights-based terms since the context was probably unjust prior to the conflict, and may actually have contributed to the initial forced displacement.

Nowhere is this clearer than within the communities in the northern half of Nineveh Governorate in Iraq. The area, which is tribal in its social structure, had already suffered considerably from forced displacement, poor infrastructure and public service provision, and general neglect in development terms. Comprising the rural, ethnically diverse territory that is disputed by Federal Iraq and Kurdish authorities, and which surrounds Mosul City, northern Nineveh bore the brunt of ISIS attacks in 2014, in some cases with neighbours and whole villages pitted against one another. Both the arrival of ISIS and their expulsion in 2015 caused further waves of displacement and return. Tensions and divisions remain both between those groups that stayed or were displaced for a short time and returned, as well as between these populations and those still displaced.

While returns to the area are slowly beginning to occur, disputes between Iraqi and Kurdish authorities and the absence of a formal durable solutions policy – beyond an emphasis on returns – have left these communities in a stalemate as to who can come home and who cannot. Fieldwork carried out in early 2017 raises key concerns that Iraqi authorities and international stakeholders will need to take into account if they continue to pursue a returns-focused policy.

Returns in the absence of strategy

While there are international standards to protect the rights of internally displaced persons (IDPs), it is important to note that those IDPs who have already returned may have particular protection concerns – and grievances – against those who have not yet returned. This is the case in northern Nineveh and in the bulk of other areas of Iraq affected by the conflict with ISIS, where many groups have collectively labelled those still displaced as somehow affiliated with the armed group. Acts of retaliation and revenge against those perceived to be ISIS-affiliated (and their property) have already been perpetrated by returnees and by security forces who removed the armed group. A policy that prioritises returns without taking into account the grievances held – whether legitimately or not – against those still displaced by those who would have to welcome them back, coupled with the uncertainty of the process in general, opens the door to further conflict. Additionally, if there are no steps in place to ensure arbitration and appropriate restitution or compensation, a returns process may exacerbate competing claims over land rights.

“One of the important things to bring peace here is that the government must prevent the Arabs from coming back and living in our areas, because they are the reason for the arrival of ISIS to these areas; they betrayed us.” (Yazidi IDP)

“If other people do not want us back, well, then the government will have to arbitrate and decide. We want to return.” (Sunni Arab IDP)

Finally, it is critical to note that even in tribally oriented areas where the formal rule of law is secondary to tribal arbitration, divisions in the social fabric are now too great for a tribal process alone to heal. The call for the involvement of the federal government and the justice sector may pave the way for greater cooperation with tribes, slowly removing parallel legal systems.

“The government should find solutions to these problems with the help of tribal leaders and educated people. Why the government? Because the government has more problem-solving mechanisms than ordinary people… trust between people must prevail.” (Yazidi returnee)

The Federal Government of Iraq and its stakeholders must now prioritise developing an operational plan for the returns process beyond the ad hoc and variable measures currently in place. How people return matters just as much as if they do or do not return.

Recommendations

A returns strategy should focus on understanding all victims’ needs to address suffering (past and present), taking into account all perpetrators of abuse. Tribes and communities are seeking formal interventions to help resolve issues related to returns, and this is an opportunity to connect tribal and formal processes. While Iraq and the United Kingdom’s recent resolution to establish mechanisms for accountability for ISIS crimes is a useful start, it is critical to note that ISIS was not the only perpetrator of abuses in this context and that grievances are wide-ranging. It is also necessary to recognise that criminal justice proceedings alone are not enough and that other approaches – including reparation, truth-seeking and institutional reform – must also be considered.

A transparent and clear process for vetting and screening people for return should also be in place so that communities on all sides understand the criteria being followed to enable IDPs to return home.

Related to this, clear criteria for what constitutes ISIS affiliation – and the punishment that will be meted out according to the degree of affiliation – must be made clear and shared with communities. This will help in moving communities away from labelling or from meting out their own punishment to returnees.

Finally, and critically, social cohesion and peacebuilding programming, which at present is taking place with communities who have already returned, must be expanded to include those who are still displaced, before any further returns take place. This is to prepare both groups for living together again and to help in shaping processes that will mitigate conflict and tension, and address present and past grievances.

 

Nadia Siddiqui nadia@social-inquiry.org
Researcher, Social Inquiry https://social-inquiry.org @inquiry_org

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview