تربية السلام والدعم النَّفسي-الاجتماعي نحو تحقيق التماسك الاجتماعي

تُظهِر الأدلة المستمدة من برنامج التعليم من أجل السلام القائم على أساس تقديم الدعم النفسي والاجتماعي للمُهَجَّرين السوريين الأهمية القصوى لمعالجة الصدمات النفسية الناجمة عن النِّزاع للتغلب على العوائق النفسية التي تحول دون تحقيق التماسك الاجتماعي.

للنزاع آثار نفسية واسعة تمس الأطفال والشباب على حدٍّ سواء وتجعل القلق متفشياً بين صفوف اللاجئين من فئة الشباب، فقد يعاني اللاجئون من مختلف المشكلات العاطفية والمعرفية والسلوكية والاجتماعية، كما لا مفرّ أمامهم من الآثار المترتبة على آليات المواجهة السلبية التي يضطرون إلى اللجوء إليها. وتشير التقارير على الدوام إلى اعتماد هؤلاء اللاجئين للانسحاب كشكل من أشكال الحماية النفسية، بينما تتفاقم التجارب المسببة للصدمات النفسية الناجمة عن الحرب بسبب "عوامل الإجهاد النفسي اليومية المترتبة على التهجير والفقر ونقص الموارد والخدمات اللازمة لتلبية الحاجات الأساسية ومخاطر العنف والاستغلال والتمييز والعزلة الاجتماعية". [1]وكثير من السوريين الشباب يكاد الأمل ينعدم عندهم نحو المستقبل فيشعرون أنهم في حالة تيه بين سوريا التي لا يمكنهم العودة إليها والبلد المضيف الذي لا يمكنهم الاندماج فيه.

وفي النِّزاعات المطوَّلة، غالباً ما تتفكّك الشبكات والمنظومات الاجتماعية التي تقدم الدعم وتنظّم رفاه المجتمع، وبذلك يُهدَّم التماسك المجتمعي والأسري، ويفقد الناس الهوية المشتركة أو العلاقات الداعمة، فتظهر الاضطرابات والمشكلات النفسية لا سيما عند الأطفال والشباب. ورغم انتشار الوعي بضرورة اشتمال المساعدات الإنسانية على خدمات تقدم الدعم النفسي والاجتماعي والرعاية الصحية العقلية، غالباً ما يُصرَفُ النظر عن دور الصدمات النفسية في التأثير على التماسك الاجتماعي. ونتيجة لذلك، لا تعالج البرامج بطريقة واحدة الحاجات النفسية التي تؤثر على كيفية ارتباط الناس بعضهم ببعض.

فحتى الآن، ينحصر التركيز الأعظم لمثل هذه البرامج على معالجة التوترات بين المجتمعات المختلفة إزاء فرص العمل والخدمات أو إنشاء آليات التفاعل، دون التفكير ملياً بمعالجة الصدمات النفسية التي تحد من فرص تحقيق التماسك الاجتماعي في المقام الأول، وغالباً ما يحد ذلك من فعالية البرنامج. فمثلاً، واجه المزاولون الذين يعملون مع اللاجئين في طرابلس في لبنان تحديات في تنفيذ كل من برامج النقد مقابل العمل والتدريب المهني وبرامج الريادة الاجتماعية مع الشباب السوري واللبناني بسبب زيادة حدة التوترات الناجمة عن الصدامات المتقطعة بين المجتمعات في طرابلس والمشكلات الاجتماعية المتكررة بين الأشخاص بما فيها التوترات الاجتماعية والمتعلقة بمكان العمل والتَّنمُّر والتوتر والقلق، مما يؤدي إلى تسرب المشاركين من البرنامج أو عدم قدرتهم على الاستمرار في العمل الدائم.[2]

توفير الأدوات

يمكن للمقاربات المراعية للصدمات أن تمارس دوراً إيجابياً وتترك أثراً طيباً في تعزيز التماسك الاجتماعي بين اللاجئين، فمشاريع التثقيف بالسلام التي يقودها الشركاء المحليون لمنظمة التأهب الدولية (Alert) في كل من سوريا ولبنان وتركيا تشتمل على تدريب المعلمين ودعم العاملين لتمكينهم من عقد دورات منتظمة في المدارس ومراكز المجتمع لتعزيز التفاعل السلمي وتوفير خدمات التوعية والتوجيه والإحالة للأطفال والشباب.[3]ومع أنَّ هذه البرامج كُيِّفَت بما يلائم الحاجات المحددة للسياق المحلي، كان من أهدافها الرئيسية التصدي للحواجز التي تحول دون تحقق التماسك الاجتماعي واستعادة الشبكات الاجتماعية من خلال بناء القدرة على احترام التنوع وتعزيز القدرات الذاتية وتوفير فرص العمل التي تعود بالفائدة على المجتمع بأكمله.[4] وفي المقام الأول، أوجدت الهيئات الشريكة فضاءات آمنة للسماح للأطفال بالشعور بالسلامة الجسدية والأمان النفسي، كما دعمت الشباب لتمكينهم من التعامل مع الذكريات الأليمة.

كما خضعت هذه المقاربات للتقييم في المرحلتين القبلية والبعدية لتدخلات الدراسات الاستقصائية للمعارف والمواقف والممارسات بالإضافة للمقابلات النوعية ومناقشات مجموعات التَّركيز. أما بيانات الدراسات الاستقصائية فأظهرت على الدوام ازدياد وعي الأطفال والشباب وتحسن مهاراتهم المتعلقة بالسلام والتسامح وغيرهما من جوانب المهارات الحياتية الأخرى في مختلف المواقع والمقاربات. إلا أنَّ أهم التحسينات التي تُعزَى إلى البرنامج تجلَّت في فهم كيفية خفض حدة التوترات من خلال الحوار والإصغاء للآخرين والتعبير عن الذات ومناقشة المشكلات والانفتاح على التنوع وغيرها من السلوكات التي تسهم في تعزيز التماسك الاجتماعي.

وزُوِّدَ الشباب بالأدوات التي تساعدهم على التحكم بغضبهم والتعبير عنه بطريقة غير عدوانية، ولاحظ المُيَسِّرون انخفاض معدلات التنمُّر مقابل ارتفاع معدل التعاون واللعب الإيجابي بين الفتيات والفتيان. فعلى حد قول أحد المُيَسِّرين: "نعطيهم الأدوات التي تساعدهم على التعبير عن أنفسهم في المجتمع بدلاً من أن يستخدموا السلاح لتنفيس الغضب الناجم عن خساراتهم." وأكدت المقابلات ومناقشات مجموعات التَّركيز مع الآباء والمجتمعات ما قدمته البيانات من أرقام، إذ قال المشاركون إنَّ الرغبة التي أبداها الشباب بالانتقام وممارسة السلوكات العدوانية قبل البدء بالبرنامج قد انخفضت. وعلى الرغم من ضرورة رصد هذه التغيرات على المدى الطويل من أجل تقييم الآثار طويلة الأمد، تظهر النتائج الأولية أنَّ البرامج التي تركز على معالجة التماسك الاجتماعي بين اللاجئين من خلال تقديم الدعم النفسي والاجتماعي قد تعود على مجتمع اللاجئين بالآثار الإيجابية.

القيود

ثمة أربعة عوامل رئيسية تؤثر وتحدُّ أحيانا من قدرة هذه المقاربات القائمة على تقديم الدعم النفسي والاجتماعي على ترك آثار إيجابية مستدامة. فأولاً، قد تتراجع الحاجة المُلِحّة للتماسك الاجتماعي طويل الأمد أو لمقاربات الترويج للسلام بسبب الحاجات النفسية-الاجتماعية والإنسانية الطارئة. وثانياً، ثمة حواجز مادية حقيقية تحول دون التفاعل بين المجتمعات المضيفة واللاجئة مثل حواجز الطرق والتعليم المنفصل، مما يقلل فرص تحقيق التماسك الاجتماعي. وثالثاً، سيتقلّص تأثير المقاربة القائمة على الدعم النفسي في الأماكن التي تعاني من فقدان الدعم التكميلي المسؤول عن تمكين اللاجئين من الحصول على التعليم والتوظيف والرعاية الصحية والخدمات الثقافية وغيرها من الخدمات. وأخيراً، نقص الكوادر المؤهلة وارتفاع معدل تنقلات اللاجئين بسبب التمويل قصير الأمد والفجوات بين المشروعات يؤديان إلى تفاقم هذه المشكلات.

كما أنَّ لتجاوب المجتمع المضيف أثراً كبيراً على التماسك الاجتماعي. فربما يكون من الصعب إشراك السكان المضيفين في نشاطات المجموعات المختلفة خصوصاً عندما تنخفض معدلات الثقة وارتفاع معدلات الخوف. فمثلاً، وجد المزاولون في لبنان أنَّه من الصعب إشراك المجتمعات المضيفة في النشاطات المشتركة لتقديم الدعم النفسي والاجتماعي للاجئين بسبب انعدام الثقة بين المجتمعين المضيف واللاجئ. ومن أجل التغلب على هذه المشكلة، يجب أن تكون التدخلات النفسية-الاجتماعية جزءاً من حزمة كاملة وشاملة من الدعم الذي يعود بالفائدة على كل من اللاجئين والمجتمعات المضيفة. ويمكن أن يشتمل ذلك على التدخلات التي تجلب الأطفال والشباب من المجتمع المضيف إلى الأماكن الآمنة المشتركة ودمجهم في النشاطات التي تتحدى القوالب النمطية الموجودة وتبني مكانها الثقة المتبادلة.

الخلاصة

تتميز مقاربات التثقيف على السلام القائمة على أساس تقديم الدعم النفسي-الاجتماعي بقدرتها على مساعدة الأشخاص في الشفاء من الاضطرابات النفسية والاجتماعية واستعادة الشعور الإيجابي بالذات والهوية، كما يمكنها إرساء القواعد لبناء شبكات اجتماعية داعمة عبر المجتمعات المحلية التي تعد جزءاً لا يتجزأ من بناء التماسك الاجتماعي. ولا بد لبرامج التماسك الاجتماعي من أن تتصدى للصدمات على الدوام وإلا ستكون استدامتها محدودة إن لم تتسبب بالضرر على من يُفتَرض أن تخدمهم. وينبغي النظر إلى معالجة الآثار المترتبة على الأزمات النفسية على أنها حجر أساسي لكل الجهود الرامية لتعزيز التماسك الاجتماعي عند العمل في مجتمعات تعاني من النِّزاعات والتهجير بدلاً من اعتبار ذلك خطوة منفصلة حتى وإن كانت ضمن برنامج تكميلي.

روث سمبسون rsimpson@international-alert.org

قائدة رئيسية (التنمية والأثر والتَّعلم) في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، منظمة التنبيه الدولية (International Alert) www.international-alert.org


[1] UNHCR (2015) Culture, Context and the Mental Health and Psychosocial Wellbeing of Syrians

A Review for Mental Health and Psychosocial Support Staff Working with Syrians Affected by Armed Conflict

(الثقافة والسياق والصحة العقلية والرفاه النفسي والاجتماعي للسوريين: لمحة عامة عن كوادر الصحة العقلية والدعم النفسي والاجتماعي العاملين مع السوريين المتأثرين بالنِّزاع المسلَّح)

www.unhcr.org/55f6b90f9.pdf

[2] مقابلة عبر سكايب مع متخصص نفسي سوري، مارس/آذار 2017

[3] العمل مع سبعة آلاف يافع وشاب في الفئة العمرية 6-18 والشباب في فئة 18+ داخل سوريا وبين اللاجئين الذين يعيشون في لبنان وتركيا.

[4] لمزيد من المعلومات وللاطلاع على التقييم الكامل، انظر

International Alert (2016) Teaching peace, building resilience: Assessing the impact of peace education for young Syrians

(تعليم السلام وبناء اللدونة: تقييم أثر التثقيف حول السلام للشباب السوريين)

www.international-alert.org/publications/teaching-peace-building-resilience

 

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Peace education and psychosocial support for social cohesion

Evidence from psychosocial support-based peace education work with young displaced Syrians shows that addressing trauma is critical in overcoming psychological barriers to social cohesion.

Conflict has extensive psychological impacts on children and young people, and anxiety among young refugees is widespread. Refugees may suffer from various emotional, cognitive, physical, behavioural and social problems, as well as from the impacts of negative coping mechanisms. Withdrawal as a form of psychological safeguarding is regularly reported, while the traumatic experiences of war are further exacerbated by the “daily stressors of displacement, poverty, lack of resources and services to meet basic needs, risks of violence and exploitation, discrimination and social isolation”.[1] Many young Syrians have little hope for the future, and feel themselves to be in a state of limbo between a Syria they cannot return to and a host country where they cannot integrate.

In protracted conflicts, the social networks and social systems which provide support and regulate well-being often disintegrate; the resulting lack of family and community cohesion, shared identity or supportive relationships can lead to mental health issues and stress disorders, particularly in children and young people. Although there is widespread recognition that humanitarian responses should include mental health and psychosocial support services, the role of trauma in social cohesion processes is often overlooked. As a result, programmes do not consistently address the psychological needs that have an impact on how people relate to each other.

Up to now, the major focus of such programming has been on addressing tensions between communities over jobs and services, or on establishing mechanisms for interaction, without much thought given to addressing the trauma that limits chances for social cohesion in the first place. This often limits programme effectiveness. For example, practitioners working with refugees in Tripoli in Lebanon have experienced challenges in implementing cash-for-work, vocational training and social entrepreneurship programmes with young Syrians and Lebanese because of heightened tensions related to sporadic clashes between communities in Tripoli, and recurrent interpersonal and social issues – including social and workplace tensions, bullying, stress and anxiety – that lead to participants dropping out of the programme or unable to hold down steady work.[2]

Providing the tools

Trauma-sensitive approaches, however, can have a positive impact on social cohesion between refugees. Peace education projects led by International Alert’s local partners in Syria, Lebanon and Turkey involved training educators and support workers to deliver regular sessions in schools and community centres to promote peaceful interaction, and to provide outreach, mentoring and referral services for children and young people.[3] Although the projects were adapted to the specific needs of local contexts, they all aimed to address barriers to social cohesion and restore social networks by building respect for diversity, promoting agency and providing avenues for action which benefited the wider community.[4] Primarily, the partner agencies created safe spaces to allow children to develop a sense of physical and psychological safety and supported young people to deal with traumatic memories.

The approaches were assessed before and after the intervention through Knowledge, Attitudes and Practice (KAP) surveys, in addition to qualitative interviews and focus group discussions. The survey data consistently demonstrated that children and young people had increased their knowledge and skills in peace, tolerance and other life-skills areas, across the different locations and approaches. The most significant improvements attributable to the programme were in understanding how tensions can be eased by dialogue and listening to others, in self-expression and discussing problems, and in openness to diversity – all attitudes which are conducive to social cohesion.

Young people were being equipped with the tools to manage and express their anger in a non-violent way, and facilitators observed reduced bullying and increased cooperation and play, including between girls and boys. In the words of one facilitator: “We give them tools to express themselves in the community rather than using weapons to express anger at their losses.” Interviews and focus group discussions with parents and communities corroborated the data, with participants stating that the desire for revenge and aggressive behaviour that many young people had exhibited before the start of the programme had decreased. Although it is important to monitor these changes over the longer term in order to assess long-term impact, these initial results show that programmes focusing on addressing social cohesion between refugees through psychosocial support can have a positive impact.

Limitations

There are four main factors that influence – and may limit – the potential of these psychosocial support-based approaches to have a lasting impact. Firstly, the need for longer-term social cohesion or peacebuilding approaches can be eclipsed by emergency humanitarian and psychosocial needs. Secondly, there are very real physical barriers to interaction between host and refugee communities – for example, roadblocks or separate schooling – that reduce opportunities for social cohesion. Thirdly, the impact of psychological-based approaches will be limited where there is a lack of complementary support to enable access to education, employment, health, cultural and other services. Finally, the lack of qualified staff and high staff turnover rates due to short-term funding and gaps between projects compound these problems.

Receptiveness of the host community also has significant influence on social cohesion. It can be challenging to engage the host population in mixed group activities, especially where there is little trust and high levels of fear. For example, practitioners in Lebanon have consistently found it challenging to engage host communities in joint psychosocial support activities with refugees due to the stigma and mistrust between communities. In order to overcome this, psychosocial interventions need to be part of a holistic, tailored package of support which benefits both refugee and host communities. This could include interventions that bring children and young people from the host community to shared safe spaces and engage them in activities that challenge existing stereotypes and build trust.

Conclusion

Psychosocial support-based peace education approaches can help individuals to heal, regain a sense of self and positive identity, and lay the foundations for building supportive social networks across communities, which are all integral to building social cohesion. Without consistently addressing trauma, social cohesion programmes are likely to have limited sustainability and potentially risk doing harm. Rather than being seen as a separate albeit complementary programming focus, addressing the impact of trauma should be a building block for all social cohesion efforts when working with communities affected by conflict and displacement.

 

Ruth Simpson rsimpson@international-alert.org
Senior Lead (Development, Impact and Learning) Middle East & North Africa, International Alert www.international-alert.org

 

[1] UNHCR (2015) Culture, Context and the Mental Health and Psychosocial Wellbeing of Syrians A Review for Mental Health and Psychosocial Support Staff Working with Syrians Affected by Armed Conflict
www.unhcr.org/55f6b90f9.pdf

[2] Skype interview with Syrian psychologist, March 2017

[3] Working with 7,000 young Syrians aged 6-18 and youth aged 18+ inside Syria and living as refugees in Lebanon and Turkey.

[4] For more information, and a full evaluation, see International Alert (2016) Teaching peace, building resilience: Assessing the impact of peace education for young Syrians
www.international-alert.org/publications/teaching-peace-building-resilience

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview