زواج الأطفال في الأردن: كسر الحلقة

في خضم الجهود المبذولة لمناهضة ظاهرة زواج الأطفال بين اللاجئين السوريين، لا بد من إشراك نطاق واسع من الفاعلين المعنيين، ولا بد أيضاً من الإقرار بأنَّ للفتيات والفتيان القدرة على التعامل مع هذه المشكلة في مجتمعاتهم المحلية.

ينتج عن الطبيعةِ المُطوَّلةِ للتهجير أثرٌ بالغٌ في تعميق الدوافعِ الموجودةِ أصلاً في زواج الأطفال، فتزداد العائلات لجوءاً إلى زواج الأطفال لمسايرة الضغوطات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الرازحةِ تحتها. ومع أنَّ زواج الأطفال تتجذر أسبابه في انعدام المساواة الجندرية، وارتفاع مستويات الفقر، وغياب الفرص أمام البنات، فهناك عوامل أخرى مثل ارتفاع معدلات الفقر، ومحدودية الفرص المتاحة للفتيات، إذ تسهم في زيادة هذه الظاهرة. كما أن العائلات السورية المُهجّرة تلجأ أكثر مما مضى إلى تزويج الأطفال لمواجهة الضغوطات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية، لكنَّ زواج الأطفال أبعد من أن يكون مصدراً للأمان أو السلامةِ لهم.

فالمُزوَّجُون من الفتيان والفتيات على حدٍّ سواء يعانون من حالة استضعافٍ تؤدي بهم إلى التسرب من المدرسة في مرحلةٍ مبكرة. أمَّا البناتُ فيتعرضنَّ إلى خطر الحمل المبكرِ ومشكلاتٍ خطيرةٍ جدّاً تتعلق بالصحة الإنجابية[1]، فيما تتعرض الفتيات اليافعات المتزوجات من رجال أكبر سناً منهن للعزلةِ الاجتماعية، ويفقدن التمكين، ويصبحن معتمداتٍ اعتماداً كبيراً على أزواجهن في تأمين حقوقهن. ومن هنا نلاحظ ارتفاع نسبة الصدمة النفسية التي تواجه مجتمع اللاجئين السوريين، بل رفع ذلك من خطرِ انتهاءِ الزوجين الطفلين إلى أوضاعٍ مهينة فيها إساءةٌ واستغلال. وينعكس ذلك في تقرير المجلس الأعلى للسكان في الأردن، فيفيد أنَّ 60% من ضحايا العنفِ المُسَجَّل من الإناث تعرَّضن للزواج المبكر أو أُجبرن عليه.[2] وبما أنّ الفرص التعليمية والاقتصادية محدودة وليست مفتوحة إلا لقليلٍ جداً من هؤلاء الزوجات، نجد أنّ الفتاة المُزوَّجة دون السن القانوني قد حُدِّدَت على أنها الأقل مشاركةً في الاقتصاد الأردني، وهذا ما يجعلها أكثر تعرضاً للعيش في الفقر.

وفي السياق الأردني، يصعب تحديد السن المتعلق بزواج الأطفال فهي مسألة معقدة، لأنَّ قانون الأحوال الشخصيةِ الأردني ينص على أنَّ سن الزواج الرسمي هو 18 عاماً، لكنَّ زواج القاصرين بين سن خمسة عشر وسبعة عشر عاماً تسمح به المَحَاكمُ الشَّرعِيةُ في الظروف التي تعتقد أنَّها تَنْصَب ’في المصلحة المُثلَى للطفل‘[3]، مع أنّ الواقع العملي على أي حال يشير إلى شيوع الموافقة على زواج من هم في هذه الفئة العمرية. وفي شهر يوليو/تموز 2017 أضيفت إلى هذا القانون تسعة قيودٍ للحدِّ من الصلاحيات التقديرية لقضاة المحكمة الشرعيةِ في منح الأذون لوقائع الزواج التي تتضمن أطفالاً، ومع أنَّ البعض انتقد ذلك التعديل، وقالوا إنَّه لا يفي بالغرض، ولا يحظر زواج الأطفال حظراً نهائياً، فيُؤمَل من هذه الممارسة أن تقود إلى تخفيض زواج الأطفال غير المسموح به قانوناً.

أما الفتيات والفتيان الذين يتزوجون خارج الإطار الرسمي من خلال الشيوخ المحليين فيجدون أنفسهم في حالة من الضعف الشديد نتيجة لغياب الوثائق، مما يجعلهم عُرضةً لدفع غرامة تصل إلى ألف دينار أردني أي (1,410 دولار أمريكي). ودون إثبات زواج الآباء والأمهات لا يمكن تسجيل المواليد، وهذا يؤدي إلى عواقب وخيمة تؤثر على حماية الطفل في المستقبل. وفي مقابلة أجريناها مع امرأة شابة تُدعى ليلى قالت إنها تزوجت وهي تبلغ من العمر 14 عاماً وأنجبت في السنوات الأربع منذ زواجها ثلاثة أطفال، توفي طفلها الثاني وهو يبلغ من العمر شهرين دون أن يحظى بشهادة ميلاد أو وفاة، كما لم يحصل طفلاها الأول والثالث على شهادة ميلاد حتى الآن.

ومع ذلك، ما زال كثير من الرجال والنساء في المجتمع السوري يدافعون عن زواج الأطفال، إذ تُسوِّغ امرأةٌ سوريةٌ (40 عاماً) قرارها تزويج ابنتها في عمر الرابعة عشرة فتقول: "الرجال في مجتمعنا يريدون الزواج بين عمر الثامنة عشرة والواحد وعشرين عاما، والرجال دائماً ما يرغبون بعروسٍ صغيرة السن، هكذا تسير الأمور ومن تنتظر كثيراً، يفوتها القطار."

ويعد فهم المظاهر المختلفة لموافقة القُصّر على الزواج أمراً مهماً في مواجهة هذه الظاهرة، ففي حين تتم كثير من الزيجات صراحة ضد إرادة العروس المُعلَنة إلا أن مفهوم الإرادة ذاته كثيراً ما يكون غامضاً، إذ ثمة عناصر إكراه خفية تختبئ خلف الإرادة الظاهرية للعرائس اللواتي يعشن تحت الضغوطات العائلية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية، فقليلاً ما تدرك تلك الفتيات الخيارات الأخرى المتاحة لهم في الحياة، وبالتالي يقبلن ’طوعاً‘ بالزواج باعتباره قدرهن.

التوصيات

تعمل اللجنة الكاثوليكية الدولية للهجرة مع اللاجئين في الأردن منذ عام 2007، وبدأت التعامل مع اللاجئين السوريين منذ عام 2012. وتتركز نشاطاتها على منع زواج الأطفال والاستجابة لهذه الظاهرة مع مراعاة تنوع الظروف التي تؤدي إلى زواج الأطفال والبواعث المُحرِّكَة لزواج الأطفال، كما تنظر بعدد الفاعلين المعنيين في صناعة القرار والآثار السلبية المحتملة لتلك الظاهرة. ومن خبرتها في إعداد البرامج، خلصت اللجنة الكاثوليكية الدولية للهجرة إلى التوصيات التالية:

تغيير سلوك الجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية: يجب تصميم رسائل التوعية بالمخاطر التي ينطوي عليها زواج الأطفال وفوائد انتظار الأطفال حتى بلوغهم سن الرشد القانوني بصورة تناسب جميع الجهات الفاعلة الرئيسية بمن فيها الفتيات والفتيان والآباء ومقدمي الرعاية والشيوخ ووجهاء المجتمع والمحاكم والموظفين القضائيين.

إبقاء الفتيات والفتيان في المدارس: فعندما تُلْحَقُ الفتاةُ في المدرسةِ تقل احتماليةُ ضغوطات أولياء الأمور بشأن تزويجها قبل سن الثامنة عشرة، ونلاحظ في الوقت نفسه بالمقابل أنَّ التسرب المبكر من المدرسة يرتبط ارتباطاً مباشراً ووثيقاً بارتفاع مخاطر التزويج المبكر.

إشراك الفتيات والفتيان في تعليم النِّد للنِّد: من السهل على التدخلات أنْ ترُكِّزَ بالكامل على أولياء الأمورِ ومقدمي الرعاية، وتتجاهل بذلك قدرة اليافعين أنفسهم، ولذلك من الأفضل عقد جلسات التوعية ومجموعات الدعم لأنها ستساعد في تمكين الشباب وتحديد القادة وصانعي التغيير المُحتَمَلين الذين يمكن أن يخاطبوا أقرانهم ومجتمعهم حول قضية زواج الأطفال.

التصدي للحاجات الرئيسية: يمكن أن يساعد توفير المواد غير الغذائية والمساعدات النقدية الطارئة على التخفيف من الاحتياجات المالية المُلِحَّة التي قد تشجع على اللجوء إلى الزواج المبكر كطريقة سلبية لمواجهة الظروف الاقتصادية الصعبة.

زيادةِ فرصِ كسب العيش للمجتمع ككل: يمكن لتمكين تطوير المهارات التي تدر الدخل للسكان اللاجئين أن يساعد في التخفيف من الدوافع الاقتصادية طويلة الأمد لزواج الأطفال.

ويمكن للشباب أن يؤثروا إيجابياً على التصورات والممارسات المؤذية التي تتعلق بزواج الأطفال، وذلك من خلال المبادرات التي تدعم الفتيات والفتيان كقادة وتوصِل صوتهم لمجتمعاتهم، مما سيسهم في إيجاد تغيير اجتماعي مستدام. وأوضحت امرأة شابة كانت ممن حضروا جلسات التوعية التي تعقدها اللجنة الكاثوليكية الدولية للهجرة كيف تحدث تلك التأثيرات من الداخل:

”تزوجت جدتي وهي طفلة وتزوجت أمي وهي طفلة وكذلك الأمر معي أنا، قبل حضور هذه الجلسات كنت بلا شك سأزوج ابنتي وهي طفل، ولكنني الآن أدرك أن هذا سيؤذيها، وأنا أريد الأفضل لها. لذلك سأكسر القاعدة."

 

جورجيا سوان Swan@icmc.net

مديرية برامج الحماية، اللجنة الكاثوليكية الدولية للهجرة-الأردن www.icmc.net



[1] مع أنَّ زواج الأطفال واقعٌ حاصل لكل من الفتيات والأولاد، فالفتيات على وجه الخصوص هنّ الأكثر تأثراً. وتشير بيانات اللجنة الكاثوليكية الدولية للهجرة إلى أنَّ ٨٩% من قضايا زواج الأطفال المحددة تمس الفتيات.

7 Higher Population Council (2017) Policy Brief – Child Marriage in Jordan

(خلاصة السياسات- زواج الأطفال في الأردن)

www.share-net-jordan.org.jo/?q=en/node/12144

[3] يجدر الذكر أنَّ السن القانوني للزواج في البلدان الأخرى منخفض أيضاً إن لم يكن أقل مما عليه الحال في الأردن. فهناك كثير من الدول التي تسمح لبعض الاستثناءات وحالات الزواج المبكر دون سن الثامن عشرة.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Child marriage in Jordan: breaking the cycle

In seeking to combat the growing phenomenon of child marriage among Syrian refugees, it is vital to engage the whole range of actors involved, and to recognise that girls and boys have the capacity to address this issue in their own communities.

The protracted displacement caused by the Syrian conflict has exacerbated pre-existing drivers of child marriage. The practice of child marriage is rooted in gender inequality; however, high levels of poverty and lack of opportunities for girls also contribute to the practice, and displaced Syrian families are increasingly resorting to child marriage to cope with economic and social pressures. Yet child marriage is far from safe.

Both boys and girls who are married as children are vulnerable to dropping out of school early, while girls are at risk of early pregnancy and a range of serious reproductive health concerns.[1] Young girls married to older men are often socially isolated and disempowered, heavily dependent on their husbands to secure their rights. High levels of trauma facing the Syrian refugee community have also increased the risk that child spouses may end up in abusive or exploitative situations. This is reflected in the Jordanian Higher Population Council’s report that 60% of recorded female victims of violence have been subject to forced and child marriage.[2] Since they have limited, if any, educational and economic opportunities, married underage girls have been identified as the group with the lowest participation in the Jordanian economy and are thus more likely to live in poverty.

In the Jordanian context, what constitutes child marriage is a complex question. According to the Jordanian Personal Status Law, the legal age of marriage is 18, with marriage involving minors aged between 15 and 17 years of age only permitted by sharia courts in circumstances deemed to be in the ‘best interest of the child’.[3] In practice, however, these marriages are frequently approved. In July 2017, nine new restrictions were added to the Personal Status Law in order to limit the discretionary power of sharia court judges to approve a marriage involving a child. While some have criticised the amendment for failing to completely outlaw child marriage, it is hoped that this will lead to a decrease in legally sanctioned child marriages.

Girls and boys who are married unofficially by local sheikhs find themselves in an extremely vulnerable situation, without documentation and liable for a fine of 1,000 Jordanian dinars (US$1,410). Without proof of the marriage of parents, births cannot be registered, with potentially serious future child protection implications. In the four years since she was married at the age of 14, one young woman we interviewed, Layla, has given birth to three children; her second child died at two months old with neither the birth nor the death registered, while the births of her first- and third-born children have also not been registered.

Yet many men and women in the Syrian community continue to advocate for the practice of child marriage. A 40-year-old Syrian woman justifies her decision to marry her daughter at the age of 14: “The men in our community want to get married between 18 and 21 years old. And the men will always want a younger bride. This is the way it works. If you wait too long you will miss out.”

Understanding the different manifestations of consent of minors is important to combatting the practice. While many marriages take place overtly against the expressed will of the bride, the notion of will is often blurred. A hidden element of coercion may be involved in otherwise seemingly willing brides who are under great familial, social and economic pressures. Girls may have little exposure to other life options or understanding of their life choices, and thus ‘willingly’ accept marriage as their fate.

Recommendations

The International Catholic Migration Commission (ICMC) has been working with refugees in Jordan since 2007 and with Syrian refugees since 2012. Its activities focus on both prevention of and response to child marriage, taking account of the diversity of circumstances in which child marriages take place, the multiple drivers of child marriage, the range of actors involved in decision making, and the potential negative impacts. From its experience of programming come the following recommendations:

Change the behaviour of key actors: Awareness-raising messages about the risks involved in child marriage and the benefits of waiting until children reach legal maturity should be tailored to be appropriate for all key actors – girls and boys, parents and caregivers, sheikhs, community leaders, courts and judicial staff.

Keep girls and boys in schools: When girls are enrolled in school, parents are less likely to consider marrying them before the age of 18; early school drop-outs are directly correlated with increased risk of being married.

Engage girls and boys as peer-to-peer educators: It can be too easy for interventions to focus entirely on parents and caregivers and ignore the agency of young people themselves. Awareness-raising sessions and support groups can help to empower young people and also to identify potential leaders and change-makers who can speak to their peers and their community at large on the issue of child marriage.

Address basic needs: The provision of non-food items and emergency cash can help eliminate immediate financial need that might encourage early marriage to be used as a negative coping mechanism.

Increase livelihood opportunities for the whole community: Enabling skills development that leads to income generation for the refugee population can help mitigate the longer-term economic drivers of child marriage.

Through initiatives that support girls and boys as leaders and enable their voices to be heard in their own communities, young people can positively influence harmful perceptions and practices surrounding child marriage, thereby creating sustainable social change. A young Syrian woman who attended ICMC’s awareness-raising sessions captures how this influence from within takes place:

“My grandmother was married as a child, my mother was married as a child, and I was married as a child. Before attending these sessions, I would have probably also married my daughter as a child. Now I understand that this will harm my daughter, and I want better for her. I will break the cycle.”

 

Georgia Swan Swan@icmc.net
Protection Programme Manager, ICMC Jordan www.icmc.net

 

[1] While child marriage is a reality for both girls and boys, girls are disproportionately affected. ICMC data indicates that 89% of identified child marriage cases involve girls.

[2] Higher Population Council (2017) Policy Brief – Child Marriage in Jordan www.share-net-jordan.org.jo/?q=en/node/12144

[3] It is worth noting that the legal age of marriage is as low or lower in many other countries. Many countries also provide for multiple exceptions allowing marriages to take place under the age of 18.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview