توسيع آفاق الفرص الاقتصادية في وضع التَّهجير المطوَّل

أُحرِزَ تقدم مُرَحَب به في تحقيق الالتزامات التي قطعها المانحون الدوليون وحكومات البلدان المضيفة من أجل زيادة الفرص الاقتصادية لكل من اللاجئين السوريين والمجتمعات المضيفة في البلدان المجاورة. بيد أن الأهداف والالتزامات تحمل في جعبتها مزيداً من التحديات الجديدة ويجب على أي سياسة جديدة أن تقوم على الأدلة.

بحلول عام 2017، كانت الدول المتاخمة لسوريا (تركيا ولبنان والأردن والعراق) إضافة إلى مصر تستضيف نحو خمسة ملايين لاجئ سوري معظمهم ممن عاشوا في المنفى أربع سنوات فأكثر. ومع تضاؤل التوقعات الحالية بعودة اللاجئين إلى سوريا بأعداد كبيرة، يقف اللاجئون في مواجهة مستقبل مُبهَم في بلد النزوح بينما تكابد الدول المضيفة لا سيما الأردن ولبنان وتركيا للتصدي للتأثيرات شديدة التباين الناجمة عن تفاقم الطلب على المساكن والخدمات العامة والبنية التحتية والموازنة العامة وأسواق العمل والأمن المحلي والاستقرار العام.

ودولياً، ازداد الاعتراف بالجهود التي تبذلها هذه البلدان المضيفة فقد تمثّلت استراتيجية توجيه المساعدات الدولية للمنطقة بالخطة الإقليمية للاستجابة للاجئين والقدرة على مواجهة الأزمات (‘3RP’) التي أُطلِقَت في ديسمبر/كانون الأول لعام 2014 وعُدَّت مثالاً على أفضل الممارسات[1] التي تشجع المانحين ومنظمات المساعدات على زيادة دعمهم لخطط الاستجابة الوطنية[2]والبرامج متعددة السنوات والمشروعات الهادفة لتعزيز القدرة على مقاومة الأزمات وبناء القدرات لمسايرة الظروف في البلدان المضيفة.

وفي عام 2016، عُقِدَ في لندن مؤتمر دعم سوريا والمنطقة تعهّد فيه المانحون بتقديم تبرعات مالية تزيد عما قُدِّم في أي وقت مضى وأعلنوا فيه أول التزاماتٍ متعددة السنوات للاستجابة للأزمة السورية. ولم تتوقف نتائج المؤتمر عند هذا الحد، بل ذهبت إلى أهداف أكثر فاعلية تسعى إلى توفير ما يصل إلى 1.1 مليون وظيفة للاجئين والمجتمعات المضيفة بحلول عام 2018. أمّا حكومات البلدان المضيفة المجاورة فتعهّدت بفتح أبواب أسواق العمل أمام اللاجئين وتحسين البيئة التنظيمية المحلية. ثم تعهد المجتمع الدولي بتقديم الدعم لبرامج توليد فرص العمل وتسهيل الحصول على التمويل بشروط ميسرة.

وكل ذلك إنَّمَا جاء ليكون في مجموعه خطواتٍ ترحيبيةٍ جريئةٍ تعزز الانتقال القوي نحو الاستثمار في القدرة على مقاومة الأزمات والإنماء بعيد الأمد في المنطقة، بَيْدَ أنَّ هذه الأهداف والالتزامات تمثل تحدياً بحد ذاتها وإذا ما أردنا تحقيقها فلا بد من الإجابة على الأسئلة التي تحيط بها. فكيف يمكن إيجاد ما يصل إلى 1.1 مليون وظيفة، وأين ولِمَن ستكون هذه الوظائف بالضبط؟ وأي سياسات وأُطُر التي يمكنها أن تساعد على تحقيق هذه الأهداف وفتح أبواب سوق العمل فعلياً أمام اللاجئين؟ وما التدابير الأخرى التي اتُخِذَت لتحسين استضافة اللاجئين وتلبية حاجات المجتمعات المضيفة؟ وما الأدلة التي يجب أن تقوم عليها السياسات الجديدة؟

من أجل التوصل إلى إجاباتٍ لهذه الأسئلة، نظمت منظمة العمل الدولية عام 2016 بالتعاون مع برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي وبرنامج الأغذية العالمي تقييماً مشتركاً لحالة الفرص الاقتصادية في كل من مصر والعراق والأردن ولبنان وتركيا وسوريا.[3]وبالاستفادة من الرؤى والأفكار التي أدلى بها ممثلون عن جهاتٍ مختلفة اشتملت على الحكومات والمانحين والمنظمات غير الحكومية والمنظمات الدولية والقطاع الخاص في 120 مقابلة كانت قد أُجرِيَت معهم ومن خلال تحليل الأدلة والدراسات القائمة يتيح التقرير عقد المقارنة بين الأوجه المختلفة للاستجابة في المنطقة للأزمة من جانب الفرص الاقتصادية. واعتماداً على هذا التقرير وما جاء فيه من توصيات، يجري برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي مزيداً من الأبحاث وينظم بالتعاون مع البرنامج الأوروبي الإقليمي للتنمية والحماية جلسات نقاشية بين أصحاب المصلحة بشأن السياسات العامة من أجل تطوير خيارات وأُطُر سياسية محددة قائمة على الأدلة لاستضافة اللاجئين في العراق والأردن ولبنان.[4]

التوصيات

يقدم التقرير مختلف التوصيات حول المقاربات الإيجابية لتوليد الفرص الاقتصادية. وتَبَيَنَ أن كل واحدة من هذه المقاربات سبق أن كُلِلَت بالنجاح في بلد واحد على الأقل، وأنها جميعاً تتمتع بخصائص يمكن تكرارها في بلدان أخرى في المنطقة إلى حد ما:

توسيع نطاق النفاذ إلى أسواق الاتحاد الأوروبي: يعدّ قرار الاتحاد الأوروبي بتوسيع نطاق نفاذ بعض الصادرات الأردنية إلى سوق الاتحاد الأوروبي الخطوة الأكبر في تعزيز الاستثمارات الداعمة لتشغيل العمالة السورية والأردنية في الأردن (رغم وجود مصاعب تتعلق بتلبية معايير ضمان الجودة الأوروبية).[5]

تسهيل الاستثمار الخاص السوري والسماح للسوريين بإطلاق مشروعاتهم الناشئة والنفاذ إلى البُنَى التحتية الصناعية: في مصر، كما الحال في تركيا، كان لتشجيع استثمار السوريين والسماح لهم ببدء مشروعاتهم أثرٌ طيبٌ في النمو في بعض القطاعات الاقتصادية فقد بدأت تلك المشروعات المذكورة باستقطاب العمالات الوطنيةِ والسورية على حدٍ سواء.

توسيع نطاق حصول اللاجئين على المعلومات: في تركيا، تعاونت السلطات المحلية مع المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية والدولية من أجل تأسيس مراكز مجتمعية في المجتمعات المضيفة للاجئين التي توفر معلومات عن فرص العمل إلى جانب الخدمات الأخرى التي تقدمها.

تشجيع منظمات المساعدات على الشراء المحلي المباشر: تشتري هيئات الأمم المتحدة بما فيها منظمة الأمم المتحدة للطفولة (اليونيسف) ووكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في الشرق الأدنى (الأونوروا) مستلزماتها من الشركات والموردين المحليين. وعند الحاجة، يمكن تدريب صغار المنتجين على تلبية المعايير المطلوبة وتنظيم التعاونيات بغرض تحقيق وفورات الحجم.

تقديم التمويل بشروط ميسرة من أجل تحسين البنية التحتية: في الأردن، قدم المانحون الدوليون تمويلاً بشروط ميسرة للمشروعات التي تعمل على تحسين الطرق والطاقة والصحة والبنية التحتية للمياه ما ساعد الحكومة الأردنية على تلبية الحاجة لتحسين هذه الجوانب.

السماح للسوريين بتقديم الخدمات لغيرهم من السوريين: في تركيا، تنتهج الحكومة منذ مدة طويلة مقاربة استباقية لتوظيف مهنيين مؤهلين من اللاجئين السوريين ليوفروا خدمات اجتماعية لمجتمعاتهم. وبحلول منتصف عام 2017، تلقى ما يزيد عن 13 ألف معلم سوري و 400 متخصص طبي تصاريح خاصة لتقديم الخدمات للاجئين السوريين.

شَمْل اللاجئين والبلدان المضيفة كمستفيدين في كل البرامج: ففي إقليم كردستان في العراق، صُمِمَت البرامج التي تنفذها وزارة العمل والشؤون الاجتماعية بالتعاون مع المنظمات غير الحكومية لتشمل كل من المضيفين واللاجئين والنازحين.

التحديات

يسلط التقرير التقييمي المشترك الضوء على خمسة تحديات أساسية تتعلق بالتنسيق وتصاريح العمل والتدريب المهني وتوفّر المعلومات وإعداد المساعدات الإنسانية للتشجيع على العمل فلهذه الجوانب تأثير مباشر على صياغة الأُطُر والسياسات الفعالة. ولعله من الحتمي في أزمة تتسم بهذا التعقيد أن يُشَار إلى التنسيق باعتباره تحدياً، لكنَّ تنفيذ التنسيق لا يقل أهمية منه. فثمة تحديات أخرى أكثر تميزاً ويعود السبب في ذلك جزئياً إلى السياق ذي الدخل المتوسط التي توجد فيه. ومثال ذلك وجود شكوك حول مدى رغبة الأطراف ذات العلاقة الثنائية والمتعددة في إدامة الاستثمار في الاقتصادات في المنطقة بعد انتهاء الأمة التي طال أمدها ومَردُّ ذلك إلى أنَّ دول المنطقة متوسطة الدخل. وكما تبين من المقاربات المتنوعة المُتَّبَعة في مصر والعراق ولبنان فمجرد تهيئة الفرص للحصول على تصاريح عمل لا تكفي لزيادة الفرص الاقتصادية الملائمة للاجئين السوريين بل ينبغي لرأس المال السياسي والاقتصادي أن يُنفَقَ في مجالات أخرى تتعلق بتحسين آفاق فرص العمل. فعلى سبيل المثال، يجب تحسين فرص الحصول على تصاريح الإقامة بالتوازي مع توسيع نطاق الحصول على تصاريح العمل. ولا بد من بذل مزيد من الجهود لتحسين قدرات الموارد البشرية لدى بعض أصحاب العمل المحتملين حتى لا تضيع الجهود المبذولة في تنمية المهارات للموظفين المحتملين سدى. ويمكن أن ينعكس تحسين البيانات أيضاً على تحسين مواءمة برامج سبل كسب الرزق مع حاجات السوق المحلي ومهارات اللاجئين.

واستناداً إلى هذا التقرير، يعمل برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي بالتعاون مع السلطات الوطنية وآخرين من أصحاب المصلحة على تطوير سياسات وأُطُر محددة تقوم على الأدلة من أجل تحسين استضافة اللاجئين في كل من الأردن ولبنان وإقليم كردستان في العراق.[6]ويمكن أن يكون لهذا العمل المشترك تأثيراً إيجابياً ما دام أنه يحظى بتأييد أصحاب المصلحة الوطنيين وأن العوامل السياسية مثلاً لا تعيق الجهود الرامية إلى وضع السياسات الموصى بها في موضع التنفيذ. غير إنَّه من الواضح أنه ثمة الكثير مما ينبغي فعله إذا ما أُريد تحقيق الاستدامة في استضافة اللاجئين وإذا ما أُريد تحقيق الأهداف والالتزامات المُعلَنة في مؤتمر لندن بطريقة مجدية. وهنا، يتبادر إلى الذهن تحديان رئيسيان:

أولاً، إن إجراء التقييمات وصياغة التوصيات بشأن السياسة العامة وتنفيذها أمر مختلف تماماً عن اتخاذ قرارات حاسمة بشأن تلك السياسة ووضعها موضع التنفيذ الكامل، إذ يمكن زيادة فرصة تحقيق الخيار الثاني. رغم عدم وجود ضمان بذلك، من خلال المشاركة الوثيقة بين الهيئات الوطنية المعنية والمنظمات الدولية المانحة للمساعدات بالإضافة إلى الدعم الثابت الذي يقدمه المانحون الدوليون كما أن صياغة القوانين والأنظمة والإصلاحات ومِن ثَمَّ تطبيقها عملية تميل إلى البطء في كل مكان، كما أنها عرضة للتأثر بالعوامل الحركية السياسية المحلية ما يتطلب تنسيق الجهود في تسريع العملية وضمان جودة السياسات الناتجة عنها.

ثانياً، قد يكون ثمة حاجة ملحة للتفكير ملياً بأنواع الوظائف التي تحاول الجهات الفاعلة الوطنية والدولية توفيرها. ومع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار معدلات نمو الوظائف في أماكن أخرى من العالم، سيكون من غير الواقعي توقع توفير ما يصل إلى 1.1 مليون وظيفة مستدامة في البلدان المضيفة للاجئين في مدة تتراوح ما بين سنتين إلى ثلاث سنوات. وحتى لو وفَّرت المبادرات فرص عمل قصيرة الأمد مما يساعد على بلوغ الهدف المنشود، فانتهاج هذا المسار يوجب بذل الجهود لتوفير فرص عمل قصيرة الأجل تزامناً مع اتباع مقاربات طويلة الأمد مثل تعزيز الاستثمار وتحسين النفاذ للتمويل.

استشراف المستقبل

لقد أُحرِزَ تقدم ملموس في استجابات المساعدات الدولية لدعم السوريين في داخل سوريا وكذلك في البلدان المجاورة لها.[7]وبما أنَّ هذا التقدم يمثل تحولاً نحو الاستثمار في اللدونة وراس المال البشري والوظائف والبرامج بعيدة الأمد، فقد يكون ذلك التقدم أيضاً مفيداً في ظل الجهود الحالية الرامية لوضع إطار عالمي وشامل للاستجابة للاجئين. لكنَّنا يجب أن نبقى متيقظين للمخاطر المستقبلية من إخفاقات ونكسات وتدهورات جديدة قد تؤثر على كيفية استقبال البلدان للاجئين والتعامل معهم. وتتمثل إحدى تلك المخاطر المستقبلية بإخفاق مستوى التمويل غير المشروط الذي تقدمه المؤسسات متعددة الأطراف والبلدان المانحة في تلبية توقعات الحكومات وحاجاتها في كل من الأردن ولبنان وتركيا. لكنَّ ما يدعو إلى التفاؤل أنه من غير المرجح حدوث ذلك حتى الآن. وثمة خطر آخر أكثر عمقاً هو أنَّ الضغوطات الاقتصادية والتطورات السياسية أو قد تجعل اللاجئين ككبش الفداء وتدعو البلدان إلى الامتناع عن استضافتهم.

ومع ذلك، استناداً إلى التزامات الخطة الإقليمية للاستجابة للاجئين والقدرة على مواجهة الأزمات ومؤتمر لندن، ثمة رؤية مشتركة أقوى للمساعدات الإنسانية والقدرة على مواجهة الأزمات والتنمية في المنطقة، ويعد كل من التمويل متعدد السنوات والتمويل بشروط ميسرة والفرص التجارية والاقتصادية والوظائف عناصر مهمة في تشكيل هذه الرؤية.

 

ميكي تاكاهاشي miki.takahashi@undp.org

متخصصة في الرصد والتقييم وإدارة المعلومات

ميشيل موروز michael.moroz@undp.org

متخصص في تنسيق السياسات والأزمات

جوناثان بيترز jonathan.peters@undp.org

مستشار لدعم البرامج

مرفق الاستجابة دون الإقليمي التابع لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي والخاص بالأزمة السورية www.arabstates.undp.org/content/rbas/en/home

http://bit.ly/UNDP-ArabStates

جايسون برونيك jason.pronyk@unv.org

المدير الإقليمي، الدول العربية وأوروبا/رابطة الدول المستقلة

متطوعو الأمم المتحدة www.unv.org

ريتشارد بارلتروب richard.barltrop@gmail.com

مستشار لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي



[1] High-Level Panel on Humanitarian Financing (2016) Too important to fail – addressing the humanitarian financing gap, Report to the UN Secretary-General https://reliefweb.int/sites/reliefweb.int/files/resources/%5BHLP%20Report%5D%20Too%20important%20to%20fail%E2%80%94addressing%20the%20humanitarian%20financing%20gap.pdf p8

 (اللجنة العليا لتمويل العمل الإنساني (2016) أهم من أن يُسمَح لها بالفشل- التصدي للثغرة في تمويل العمل الإنساني، تقرير مقدم للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة)

[2] اثنتان من هذه الخطط أصبحتا متعددتا السنوات منذ ذلك الوقت وهما خطة الاستجابة الأردنية للأزمة السورية 2017-2019.

https://static1.squarespace.com/static/522c2552e4b0d3c39ccd1e00/t/5956897e78d1714f5b61f5c2/1498843547605/JRP+2017-2019+-+Full+-+(June+30).pdf

 وخطة الاستجابة اللبنانية للأزمة 2017-2020www.un.org.lb/lcrp2017-2020 

[3]

برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي ومنظمة العمل الدولية وبرنامج الأغذية العالمي (2017) توفير فرص العمل يحدث الأثر المنشود: توسيع الفرص الاقتصادية للاجئين السوريين والمجتمعات المحلية المضيفة مصر - العراق - الأردن - لبنان - سوريا - تركي

http://bit.ly/UNDP-ILO-WFP-JobsMake-2017-ar

[4] برنامج الإنماء والحماية الإقليمي ممول من ثمانية مانحين أوروبيين ويهدف لدعم لبنان والأردن وإقليم كردستان في العراق وتعزيز فهمها لأثر التهجير القسري على اللاجئين السوريين والتخطيط له وخفض آثاره.

http://rdpp-me.org/RDPP/index.php   

[5] انظر مقالة للينر وتيرنر في هذا العدد

[6] UNDP and RDPP (Forthcoming 2018) Development of evidence-based policy options and frameworks for the accommodation of refugees in countries affected by the Syria Crisis.

 (تقديم خيارات السياسات القائمة على الأدلة وأطرها العامة لاستيعاب اللاجئين في البلدان المتأثرة بأزمة سوريا)

[7] UNDP (Forthcoming 2018) The Resilience Agenda: a progress report.

 (جدول أعمال اللدونة: تقرير بالأعمال المنجزة)

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Expanding economic opportunities in protracted displacement

Welcome progress has been made towards realising commitments made by international donors and host country governments to expand economic opportunities for Syrian refugees and host communities in neighbouring countries. However targets and commitments also bring new challenges, and evidence must underpin new policies.

By 2017, the countries immediately bordering Syria (Turkey, Lebanon, Jordan and Iraq), in addition to Egypt, were between them hosting around five million Syrian refugees, the majority of whom had been living in exile for four or more years. With little immediate prospect of large-scale returns to Syria, most face an indeterminate future in displacement, while the host countries, in particular Jordan, Lebanon and Turkey, have had to cope with widely varying impacts on housing demand, public services, infrastructure, public budgets, labour markets, local security and overall stability.

International recognition of these host countries’ efforts has grown. The guiding strategy for international aid for the region is the Regional Refugee and Resilience Plan (‘3RP’) – launched in December 2014 and considered an example of best practice[1] – which encourages donors and aid organisations to increase their support for national response plans[2] and for multi-year programmes and projects that build resilience and coping capacity in the hosting countries.

At the Supporting Syria and the Region conference held in London in 2016, international donors pledged more funds than ever before and made the first multi-year commitments for the Syria crisis response. The conference also effectively set a target of creating up to 1.1 million new jobs for refugees and host communities by 2018. Neighbouring host country governments made commitments to open up their labour markets and improve the domestic regulatory environment. And the international community pledged to support employment creation programmes and access to concessional financing.

These were bold and welcome steps, consolidating the drive to invest in resilience and longer-term development in the region. But targets and commitments are also a challenge and if they are to be met, questions need to be answered. How can up to 1.1 million jobs be created, and exactly where and for whom can this best be done? What policies and frameworks can help achieve the target and really open up labour markets? What other measures have been taken to improve refugee hosting and meet the needs of host communities? And what evidence underpins new policies?

To help answer these questions, in 2016 the International Labour Organization (ILO), the UN Development Programme (UNDP) and the World Food Programme (WFP) organised a joint assessment of the economic opportunity situation in Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon Turkey and Syria.[3] Drawing on insights from 120 interviews with representatives from governments, donors, non-governmental organisations (NGOs), international organisations and the private sector, and analysis of evidence and existing studies, the report allows comparison of those aspects of the crisis response across the region that relate to economic opportunity. Building on this report and its recommendations, UNDP has been carrying out further research and stakeholder policy dialogues in partnership with the Regional Development and Protection Programme (RDPP) to develop specific evidence-based policy options and frameworks for hosting refugees in Iraq, Jordan and Lebanon.[4]

Recommendations

The report makes recommendations about positive approaches to generating economic opportunities.  Each of these approaches has been found to have been successful in at least one country already, and all have characteristics which, to at least some degree, can be replicated in other countries in the region:

Expand access to markets in the European Union (EU): The EU’s decision to widen access for certain Jordanian exports to the EU market has been seen as the single biggest step in promoting investments that support Syrian and Jordanian employment in the country (although meeting European quality assurance standards has posed difficulties).[5]

Facilitate Syrian private investment and allow Syrians to start businesses and access industrial infrastructure: In Egypt and Turkey, the process of encouraging investment by Syrians and allowing Syrians to start businesses has led to significant growth in some economic sectors, with the businesses concerned hiring both national and Syrian workers.

Expand refugees’ access to information: In Turkey, local authorities and national and international NGOs have cooperated on establishing community centres in refugee-hosting communities, which – among other services – provide information about work opportunities.

Encourage aid organisations to use direct, local procurement: UN agencies including UNICEF and the United Nations Relief and Works Agency procure from local businesses and suppliers. Where needed, small producers can be trained in meeting required standards and organising cooperatives to generate economies of scale.

Provide concessional financing for infrastructure: In Jordan international donors have provided concessional financing for projects to improve roads, energy, health and water infrastructure, thereby helping the government to meet the need for improvements in these areas.

Allow Syrians to provide services for other Syrians: In Turkey the government has long taken a proactive approach to employing skilled professionals from the Syrian refugee population to provide social services to their own communities. By the middle of 2017 more than 13,000 Syrian teachers and 400 Syrian medical professionals had received special permits to provide services to Syrian refugees.

Include both refugees and host communities as beneficiaries in all projects: In the Kurdistan Region of Iraq, programmes implemented by both the Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs and NGOs have typically been designed to include host, refugee and displaced populations.

Challenges

The joint assessment report also highlights five principal challenges which relate to coordination, work permits, vocational training, information, and designing humanitarian assistance to encourage work. These have a direct bearing on the formulation of effective policy and frameworks. In a crisis of such complexity, it is perhaps inevitable to cite coordination as a challenge – but it is no less important to do so. Other challenges are more distinctive, and arise partly because of the middle-income context. For example, the willingness of bilateral and multilateral partners to sustain their investment in economies in the region at the end of the protracted conflict is doubtful, given those countries’ middle-income status. As has been shown by the varying approaches pursued in Egypt, Jordan, Iraq and Lebanon, merely creating access to work permits is not enough to expand decent economic opportunities for Syrian refugees; political and economic capital must be expended in other areas relevant to improving work prospects. Improving access to residency permits, for example, may need to take place in tandem with widening access to work permits. More needs to be done to improve the human resources capacity among some potential employers, so that skills development efforts for potential employees are not fruitless. Better use of data can also help to better align livelihoods programming with local market needs and the skills of refugees.

Building on the report, UNDP has been working with national authorities and other stakeholders to develop specific evidence-based policies and frameworks for improving the hosting of refugees in Jordan, Lebanon and the Kurdistan Region of Iraq.[6] This work has the potential to have a positive impact on policy, provided that it gains traction with national stakeholders and that political factors, for example, do not obstruct efforts to put recommended policies into practice. Plainly, however, there remains an enormous amount to do if refugees are to be sustainably hosted and if the commitments and targets announced at the London Conference are to be met meaningfully. Two particular challenges come to mind:

First, it is one thing to conduct assessments and formulate recommendations about policy and its implementation, but it is quite another to get firm decisions about policy and have those policies put fully into practice. The chances of the latter happening can be increased – though not guaranteed – through close engagement between relevant national bodies and international organisations offering assistance, and steady support from international donors. Formulating laws, regulations and reforms, and putting them into practice, tends to be a slow process anywhere, and vulnerable to domestic political dynamics; it requires concerted effort to accelerate the process and ensure the quality of ensuing policies.

Second, more thinking may be needed about what types of jobs national and international actors are trying to create. Considering job growth rates elsewhere in the world, it would have been unrealistic to expect to create 1.1 million sustainable jobs in the refugee-hosting countries in the space of just two to three years. Initiatives generating short-term employment may make the target attainable. But if this path is taken, efforts should be made to couple the creation of short-term employment opportunities with longer-term approaches – such as boosting investment and access to finance.

Looking ahead

Significant progress has been made in international aid responses to support Syrians both inside Syria and in neighbouring countries.[7] In its shift towards investing in resilience, human capital, jobs and longer-term programmes, such progress may also be instructive in current efforts to develop a global comprehensive refugee response framework. We must, however, remain alert to the risks of future setbacks, deteriorations and new crises, which might affect how countries in the region host and treat refugees. One risk is that the level of concessional financing ultimately delivered by multilateral institutions and donor countries fails to meet the expectations or the needs of the governments of Jordan, Lebanon and Turkey. Encouragingly, so far this looks unlikely to happen. Another risk, more profound, is that economic pressures, political developments or a combination of the two lead to scapegoating of refugees and to countries turning away from hosting.

However, building on the 3RP and the London Conference commitments, there is now a stronger shared vision for humanitarian assistance, resilience and development in the region, and multi-year financing, concessional finance, trade access, economic opportunities and jobs are important elements of that vision.

 

Miki Takahashi miki.takahashi@undp.org
M&E IM Management Specialist

Michael Moroz michael.moroz@undp.org
Policy and Crisis Coordination Specialist

Jonathan Peters jonathan.peters@undp.org
Programme Support Advisor

UNDP Sub-Regional Response Facility for the Syria Crisis www.arabstates.undp.org/content/rbas/en/home

Jason Pronyk jason.pronyk@unv.org
Regional Manager, Arab States and Europe/CIS
UN Volunteers www.unv.org

Richard Barltrop richard.barltrop@gmail.com
Consultant to UNDP

 

[1] High-Level Panel on Humanitarian Financing (2016) Too important to fail­ – addressing the humanitarian financing gap, Report to the UN Secretary-General, p8 http://bit.ly/UN-HumFinancing-2016

[2] Two of these plans have since become multi-year: the Jordan Response Plan for the Syria Crisis 2017-2019 http://bit.ly/JordanResponse-2017-19 and the Lebanon Crisis Response Plan 2017-2020 www.un.org.lb/lcrp2017-2020

[3] UNDP, ILO and WFP (2017) Jobs Make the Difference: Expanding Economic Opportunities for Syrian Refugees and Host Communities, Egypt – Iraq – Jordan – Lebanon – Syria – Turkey www.jobsmakethedifference.org/full-report

[4] The Regional Development and Protection Programme (RDPP) is funded by a consortium of eight European donors to support Lebanon, Jordan and KRI to better understand, plan for and mitigate the impact of forced displacement of Syrian refugees. http://rdpp-me.org/RDPP/index.php       

[6] UNDP and RDPP (forthcoming 2018) Development of evidence-based policy options and frameworks for the accommodation of refugees in countries affected by the Syria Crisis.

[7] UNDP (forthcoming 2018) The Resilience Agenda: a progress report.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview