مشاركة القطاع الخاص في تعليم اللاجئين

تستحق مشاركة القطاع الخاص في توفير التعليم للاجئين السوريين الثناء لكنَّنا نحتاج إلى الانتباه أكثر إلى المخاوف الأخلاقية والعملية التي قد تثار حول تلك المشاركة.

أصبحت مشاركة القطاع الخاص في التَّعليم تحظى باهتمام متزايد للمجتمع الدولي. وفي السياق السوري، هناك جهود تُبذَل من خلال أنظمة التعليم العام في الشرق الأوسط التي تعاني من تحديات كبيرة في توفير التعليم للأعداد المتزايدة من اللاجئين، ومن تلك الجهود شركات الاستثمار رفيعة المستوى مثل جولدمان ساكس، وجوجل، وهيوليت-باكارد، ولينكد إن، وماكنزي إنك، ومايكروسوفت، وبيرسون للتعليم وجميعها أبدت تعهدات تمويلية، واقترحت مبادرات جديدة، ووضعت ترتيبات لإقامة شراكات من أجل النهوض بعملية تعليم أطفال اللاجئين السوريين.

ومن الناحية الظاهرية، قد تبدو تعبئة هذه الجهات الفاعلة وغيرها من الجهات التابعة للقطاع الخاص جديرة بالثناء لأنَّها تعكس عن قلقها إزاء تعليم اللاجئين، وبمقدور الشركات التجارية أن تقدم المساعدة في التصدي للثغرات التعليمية الحرجة. لكنَّ لهذا النموذج منتقديه ممن يقولون إنَّ مشاركة القطاع الخاص قد تُضعِف منظومات التعليم العامة وتقوِّض مسؤولية الدولة وحتى في سياق الأزمات يُنظَرُ إليها على أنَّها نوع من أنواع استغلال.[i]

ففي سوريا قبل الحرب، كانت نسبة الأطفال الملتحقين بالتَّعليم الابتدائي والإعدادي 94%. لكنَّها تراجعت تراجعاً كبيراً بعد الأزمة إذ قُدِّرت أعداد الملتحقين في المدارس من أطفال اللاجئين السوريين في التعليم الرسمي والتعليم غير النظامي في أغسطس/آب 2016 ما لا يزيد على 52% من الأطفال الفئة العمرية المدرسية المُسجّلين (في الفئة العمرية المدرسية 5-17) في بلدان المنطقة وتحديداً منها الأردن، ولبنان، وتركيا، والعراق، ومصر.[ii] وعلى الصعيد الإقليمي، تشير التقديرات إلى أنَّ 739 ألفاً من الأطفال والمراهقين من أبناء اللاجئين السوريين المسجلين من الفئة العمرية المدرسية غير مسجلين في أي نوع من البرامج التَّعليمية.

واستناداً إلى البيانات المجمعة في النصف الثاني من عام 2016، حددنا 144 منظمة غير حكومية تعمل في تعليم اللاجئين السوريين في لبنان، والأردن، وتركيا وكان 32% من هذه المنظمات تابعة للمشروعات التجارية و10% من المؤسسات غير الربحية، 77% منها تتخذ مركزاً رئيسياً لها في بلدان الشمال (البلدان ذات الدخل المرتفع) في حين لم تتوافر 62% منها على برامج تعليمية ضمن مجال عملها. وتشير المقابلات التي أُجريت مع الجهات الفاعلة من القطاع الخاص بما في ذلك الممثلين من المشروعات التجارية، والمؤسسات التابعة للشركات، وهيئات الأمم المتحدة، والمنظمات الدولية غير الحكومية الدولية، والجهات المانحة ثناية الأطراف إلى بعض المجالات الرئيسية الباعثة على الشعور بالقلق.

انتشار كبير وضعف في التنسيق: تعد مشاركة القطاع الخاص في تعليم اللاجئين السوريين طفرة حديثة بدأت مع بداية انخراط معظم الجهات الفاعلة منذ عام 2015، وليس قبلها. وكانت المسارعة في مشاركة القطاع الخاص في عملية التعليم يُنظَر لها على أنَّها إشكالية نظراً لغياب التنسيق وعدم تشارك المعرفة بين الجهات الفاعلة.

هيمنة التكنولوجيا: تتمثل واحدة من أكثر أشكال المشاركة شيوعاً في تقديم التعليم من خلال منصات التعليم الرقمية عبر الإنترنت، والدورات التدريبية عبر الإنترنت، والأجهزة اللوحية، وسماعات الهاتف، واستحداث نقاط الاتصال اللاسلكية بالواي فاي (WiFi) في المدارس وتطوير أنظمة تشغيلية جديدة. وانتقدت كثيرٌ من الجهات الفاعلة هذا التركيز المفرط على التكنولوجيا إذ يرون أنَّها غير ملائمة لمحددات السياق والعوامل اللوجستية الداعمة، بل ترى تلك الجهات أنَّ ذلك التركيز يثير إشكالية تربوية تعليمية لأنَّها على وجه الخصوص اُنشِئت أساساً كبديل للمعلمين.

دعم التمدرس الخاص/غير النظامي: تعمل كثيرٌ من الجهات الفاعلة التابعة للمشروعات التجارية بالتعاون مع الحكومات ووزارات التعليم، لكنَّ كثيراً غيرها في الوقت نفسه تعمل منفردة دون ذلك التعاون متجاوزة القطاع العام ومؤسسة للمدارس الخاصة الأهلية. ويرى الناقدون أنَّ هذا النوع من المدراس يعزز من ضعف المساءلة إذ إنَّها غالباً ما توظِّفُ معلمين غير نقابيين وغير مدربين التدريب الكافي كما أنَّها تفتقر إلى إستراتيجية للخروج ما يزيد من احتمالية مغادرة الطلاب الذين تقطعت بهم السبل عندما تصبح الأرباح أو الأشكال الأخرى للعودة غير كافية ويحتم الوضع إغلاق المدارس.

أخلاقيات الدوافع: هناك حالات من التوترات الأخلاقية بين الدوافع الإنسانية ودوافع تحقيق الأرباح. ففي حين أنَّ بعض الجهات الفاعلة التابعة للقطاع الخاص تعلن أنَّ أهدافها إنسانية، يمثل إيجاد أسواق جديدة، وزيادة ظهورها، وتطوير الانتماء للعلامات التجارية دوافع رئيسية أخرى.

 وتبين لنا أنَّه رغم التخوفات الكبيرة المحيطة بدوافع الشركات التجارية والمؤسسات غير الربحية التابعة لها، ما زال لتلك الكيانات دور مهم محتمل في دعم تعليم اللاجئين السوريين. ونظراً لحجم تأثير الأزمة السورية، يبدو أنَّ الاعتماد على مشاركة القطاع العام التقليدي وحده في عملية التعليم غير واقعي بل إنَّه يحد في الوقت نفسه من العملية التعليمية ويقيدها. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، قطعت كثير من الجهات الفاعلة التابعة للشركات - سواء أكانت مؤسسات تجارية أم خيرية أشواطاً لا يُستَهان بها في تلبية حاجات التعليم من خلال توفير الدعم المالي إلى المنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية والدولية العاملة في هذا المجال.

ومع ذلك، تلقي دراستنا هذه الضوء على القيود المفروضة على القطاع الخاص في الفهم والعمل ضمن سياقات إنسانية سريعة التطور. وعلى مجتمع التعليم العالمي أن يسأل نفسه عن كيفية استغلال خبرات وأموال القطاع الخاص والاستفادة منها بطريقة منسقة وأخلاقية لا تغفل دور الدولة بصفتها المزوِّد الرئيسي والمنظم للتَّعليم النوعي.

 

زينا زخريا zeena.zakharia@umb.edu

فرانسين ميشاني francine.menashy@umb.edu

بروفيسورتان مساعدتان، جامعة ماساشوسيتس بوسطن www.umb.edu



[i] Research undertaken 2016-17, funded by Education International.

 انظر(2017) Investing in the crisis Menashy F and Zakharia Z

(الاستثمار في الأزمة)

http://download.ei-ie.org/Docs/WebDepot/EI_Research_Syria_final.pdf

[ii] UNHCR (2016) 3RP Regional Refugee and Resilience Plan 2017-2018 in response to the Syria crisis Regional strategic overview http://reporting.unhcr.org/node/16434:

(الخطة الإقليمية للاستجابة للاجئين والقدرة على مواجهة الأزمة السورية 3RP، لمحة إستراتيجية إقليمية عامة)

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Private sector engagement in refugee education

The involvement of the private sector in providing education for Syrian refugees has much to commend it but greater consideration needs to be paid to the ethical and practical concerns that may arise.

Private sector engagement in education has become increasingly appealing to a growing portion of the international community. In the Syrian context, with public education systems in the Middle East struggling to provide for growing refugee populations, high-profile businesses such as Goldman Sachs, Google, Hewlett-Packard, LinkedIn, McKinsey & Company, Microsoft and Pearson Education have made funding commitments, proposed new initiatives and developed partnership arrangements to advance the cause of educating Syrian refugee children.

On the surface, the mobilisation of these and other private sector actors appears commendable. Prominent actors are voicing their concern for refugee education, and businesses may be able to help address crucial educational gaps. Critics, however, argue that the involvement of the private sector can weaken public education systems, undermine state responsibility and even, in contexts of crisis, be seen as exploitation.[1]

In pre-war Syria, 94% of children were enrolled in primary and lower secondary education. In August 2016, enrolment figures for Syrian refugee children in formal and non-formal education were estimated at a total of 52% of registered school-age children (aged 5-17) across the region of Jordan, Lebanon, Turkey, Iraq and Egypt.[2] Regionally, it is estimated that 739,000 registered Syrian refugee school-age children and adolescents are not enrolled in any type of educational programme.

Based on data collected in the second half of 2016, we identified 144 non-state organisations engaged in Syrian refugee education in Lebanon, Jordan and Turkey, of which 32% were businesses and 10% were foundations. Of these, 77% were headquartered in the Global North (that is, in high-income countries) and 62% did not have education as part of their mandate. Interviews with private sector actors and their partners, including representatives from businesses, corporate foundations, UN agencies, local and international NGOs and bilateral donor agencies, indicate some major areas for concern.

Mass proliferation and limited coordination: The surge in private participation in the education of Syrian refugees is very recent, with most actors beginning to engage only since 2015. The rush to involvement was largely seen as problematic because of the lack of coordination and knowledge sharing among actors.

Dominance of technology: A dominant form of engagement is through the provision of education-related technology, such as online digital learning platforms, online courses, tablets and handsets, portable WiFi hubs for use in schools and the development of new operating systems. Many actors were very critical of this over-emphasis on technology, seeing it as contextually and logistically inappropriate and pedagogically problematic, particularly where it was formulated as an alternative to teachers.

Support for private/non-formal schooling: Many business actors work collaboratively with governments and ministries of education but many others do not, instead bypassing the public sector and establishing privately run schools. Critics argue that such schools foster a lack of accountability, often hire non-unionised and poorly trained teachers, and lack an exit strategy, potentially leaving students stranded when profits and other forms of returns are no longer considered sufficient and schools have to close.

Ethics of motivation: There are also ethical tensions between humanitarian and profit motivations. While some private actors express humanitarian aims, for others creating markets, increasing visibility and developing brand loyalty are central motivations.

We found that, despite serious concerns about their motivations, businesses and foundations have a potentially important role to play in supporting the education of Syrian refugees. Given the scale of the impact of the Syrian crisis, it would seem that a reliance solely on traditional public sector engagement in education is both limiting and unrealistic. Furthermore, several corporate actors – both businesses and philanthropic foundations – have made significant strides in meeting educational needs, including by providing financial support to local and international NGOs working in this field.

However, our study also sheds light on the limitations of the private sector in understanding and working within rapidly evolving humanitarian contexts. The global education community needs to ask how to harness the expertise and funds of the private sector in a coordinated and ethical way that is mindful of the state’s responsibility to be the primary provider and regulator of quality education.

 

Zeena Zakharia zeena.zakharia@umb.edu

Francine Menashy francine.menashy@umb.edu

Assistant Professors, University of Massachusetts Boston www.umb.edu

 

[1] Research undertaken 2016-17, funded by Education International. See Menashy F and Zakharia Z (2017) Investing in the crisis: Private participation in the education of Syrian refugees
http://download.ei-ie.org/Docs/WebDepot/EI_Research_Syria_final.pdf

[2] UNHCR (2016) 3RP Regional Refugee and Resilience Plan 2017-2018 in response to the Syria crisis: Regional strategic overview http://reporting.unhcr.org/node/16434

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview