دور البلديات في ضمان الاستقرار

تُظهِر الاستجابات المنفذة عام 2017 في منطقة سهل البقاع اللبناني قدرة البلديات المستضيفة للاجئين في تولي دور محومحوريٍّ في التعايش السلمي والتي لا بد من دعمها.

تستضيف منطقة سهل البقاع الواقعة في شرق لبنان والمحاذية لسوريا حوالي 360 ألفاً من اللاجئين السوريين المسجًّلين، وهو أعلى عدد من الناحية المطلقة والنسبة للسكان المحليين مقارنة بالمناطق الأخرى في لبنان. وفي عام 2017، شهدت المنطقة سلسلة من الاضطرابات التي فرضت تحديات كبيرة على التعايش السلمي بين المجتمعات المضيفة واللاجئين.

الأزمات في منطقة سهل البقاع

في فبراير/شباط 2017، أجلت السلطات آلاف اللاجئين السوريين عن بلدية زحلة وحول قاعدة رياق الجوية الإستراتيجية مسوّغة ذلك بالدواعي الأمنية، لكنّها لم تضع خططاً للطوارئ للتجمعات البديلة للاجئين. وفي أبريل/نيسان، تظاهرت المجتمعات المضيفة في لبنان في كثير من البلديات مطالبين بإغلاق المحلات التجارية التي يملكها لاجئون سوريون. وفي يونيو/حزيران، دمرت الحرائق تَجَمُّعَين للاجئين في بلديتين في البقاع الأوسط هما بر إلياس وقب إلياس، مما أسفر عن مقتل فتاتين لاجئتين. وفي يوليو/تموز وأغسطس/آب، طهرت العمليات العسكرية التي قام بها حزب الله والقوات المسلَّحة اللبنانية ضواحي بلدة عرسال (التي كانت تستضيف حوالي 11 ألف مدني سوري) من المقاتلين منهية بذلك وضع الجمود الذي دام ثلاث سنوات. وتركت هذه الأحداث مجتمع اللاجئين منهوك القوة، وأكثر إغراقاً في الديون، وأكثر استضعافاً، يغمرهم الشك والخوف من أن تكون هذه الأزمات قد اُفتُعِلَتْ خصيصاً لإجبارهم على العودة إلى سوريا. وساهمت هذه الأحداث أيضاً في زيادة التوترات بين اللاجئين والمجتمعات المضيفة.

واستجابت المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين وشركاؤها لهذه الأزمات، وبذلت جهوداً كبيرة في سبيل ذلك. وبعد توقف أعمال القتال في عرسال، وضعت البلدية بالتعاون مع شركاء إنسانيين وإنمائيين خطة عمل عرسال التي تضمنت لأول مرة التخطيط الإنساني والإنمائي الدامج، وأشركت السوريين في عمليات التخطيط. كما استخدمت جهود الوساطة والمناصرة على نطاق واسع خلال أزمات إخلاء رياق وزحلة من المقاتلين.

البلديات: جهات فاعلة رئيسية في التعايش السلمي

في إطار هذه الظروف الصعبة، اضطلعت السلطات المحلية عموماً بدور إيجابي في استقرار منطقة البقاع، لكنَّ هذا الدور لم يحظ بالانتباه والفهم الكافيين، فقد تباينت ردود الفعل على مستوى العاصمة في بيروت وعلى المستوى المحلي إزاء الحرائق التي دمرت تجمعين للاجئين. فالحرائق مشكلة تتكرر كثيراً في مخيمات اللاجئين، لكنَّ الإصابات والوفيات (على وجه الخصوص في الأطفال) كانت من الأمور الشائعة أيضاً. وعلى مدار عدة سنوات، تعاونت المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين مع الشركاء الإنسانيين لخفض آثار هذه الحرائق، فوضعت مطافئ الحريق في جميع التجمعات تقريباً، ودربت اللاجئين على استخدامها وعلى الاستجابة للطوارئ. واستجابت بلديتا بر إلياس وقب إلياس سريعاً للحرائق، فقد تعاونتا مع رجال الإطفاء والعاملين في الصليب الأحمر اللبناني الذين كانوا يعرضون أنفسهم للمخاطر بغية تقليل الإصابات، وقدم المجتمع المدني المحلي والعاملون الإنسانيون المساعدات في حالات الطوارئ إلى الضحايا السوريين، وأعادوا بناء المواقع في غضون أيام. لكنَّ تلك الجهود لم تكن من بين ما تصورته الجهات المانحة والأوساط الدبلوماسية في بيروت في البداية، ذلك أنَّ أخبار الشائعات انتشرت لتعطي انطباعاً بأنَّ المجتمعات المضيفة اللبنانية الساخطة تعمدت إضرام الحرائق، ووصلت الشائعات إلى بيروت بسرعة أكبر بكثير من أخبار التضامن الهائل الذي قدمته البلديات المحلية وأظهرته الجهات الفاعلة من المجتمع المدني.

وفي عرسال، أقام الفاعلون في المجال الإنساني والجهات الفاعلة في مجال الإنماء والبلدية علاقات عمل إيجابية للغاية، كما أُنشِئت آلية تنسيق شهرية مخصصة. ولعل الأهم من ذلك أنَّ المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين والفاعلين الإنسانيين الآخرين أوفوا بالتزاماتهم إزاء الاستجابة لتلبية حاجات اللبنانيين الفقراء أيضاً. وثابرت البلدية على ممارسة دور معتدل بين السوريين واللبنانيين آخذة في الاعتبار أنَّ أول تضامن حظي به اللاجئون السوريون في 2013 و2014 فتح باباً للسخط والشكاوى بشأن المنافسة الاقتصادية، وأثار المخاوف من تواطؤ اللاجئين السوريين مع الجهات الفاعلة المسلحة.

وفي زحلة، أطلقت المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين والبلدية حواراً أعرب المشاركون فيه عن الصعوبات المرتبطة باستضافة عدد كبير من اللاجئين، وتناول الحوار أيضاً الشعور بالخذلان من جانب صفوة المجتمع اللبناني غير القادرين أو غير الراغبين (بسبب أمور تتسم بالحساسية السياسية من جانب) في إبرام اتفاقات لوضع مبادئ توجيهية ملموسة بشأن استضافة اللاجئين على المستوى المحلي. ولا يمكن إغفال دور الاعتبارات الاقتصادية في هذا الصدد فلا يمكن للصناعات الزراعية والغذائية في منطقة البقاع الاستمرار في أنشطتها دون اللاجئين السوريين. وفي الوقت نفسه، رفض المالكون الزراعيون والحضريون دفع الضريبة البلدية المفروضة على الإيجارات التي يحصلونها من اللاجئين، وهذا يعني أن الأشخاص المستفيدين من وجود اللاجئين السوريين لا يساعدون البلديات في التكاليف الإضافية الأساسية التي تحملتها البلديات نتيجة وجود اللاجئين السوريين، مثل التكاليف الخاصة بإدارة المياه والنفايات الصلبة.

زيادة الدعم المقدم إلى البلديات

في لبنان كما الحال في كثير من البلدان الأخرى، البلديات هي الهيئة الإدارية الأكثر تأثراً مباشراً بوجود اللاجئين، كما يقع على عاتق البلديات مسؤولية حفظ السلام على أراضيها، وغالباً ما يقع على عاتقها أيضاً مقاومة الضغط المباشر الذي تلقاه من المواطنين اللبنانيين الذين ينادون باتخاذ إجراءات أشد صرامة إزاء اللاجئين. وهنا يمكن التساؤل عمَّا إذا كان المجتمع الإنساني والإنمائي قد بذلا بالفعل ما يكفي من المساعدة ضمن هذه الجهود.

لقد بُذِلَت بعض الجهود القيمة بالفعل واستُخدِمَت الأزمات المتكررة في 2017 استخدماً فعالاً لزيادة الدعم المقدم إلى البلديات. ويتشارك برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في ترأس مجموعة عمل معنية بتحقيق الاستقرار الاجتماعي بالاعتماد على تحليل التوترات في منطقة البقاع. وتعد وزارة الشؤون الاجتماعية وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي خرائط بالمخاطر والموارد المصممة بهدف توجيه الموارد المقدمة من الجهات المانحة لتلبية الحاجات المحددة على المستوى البلدي. وتحتفظ المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين بعلاقات دبلوماسية مع رؤساء المجالس البلدية، والمحافظين، والقوات المسلحة اللبنانية للسيطرة على التوترات وإدارتها وللحديث بشفافية عن أنَّ العودة هي الحل المستدام الوحيد أمام اللاجئين السوريين حالما تسمح الظروف بذلك، ومن ثم السعي لتبديد المخاوف واسعة الانتشار من أنَّ المجتمع الدولي يتوجه لحل دمج اللاجئين محلياً. وتذهب نسبة كبيرة من الموارد الضئيلة التي تقدمها المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين إلى مساعدة اللبنانيين المستضعفين إما من خلال مشروعات مجتمعية صغيرة مثل توفير شاحنات القمامة أو محطات لمعالجة النفايات الصلبة أو من خلال تقديم المساعدات المنزلية للأسر اللبنانية الفقيرة بما في ذلك بطاقات المحروقات وإعادة تأهيل المساكن، وتتركز هيئات التنسيق التابعة للمجالس البلدية في ثلاث بلديات رئيسية (عرسال، والقاع، وزحلة).

غير أنَّ جميع هذه الجهود جزئية ومتشتتة نسبياً، وهناك خطر في أنَّ عدم انتهاج مقاربة أكثر تنظيماً لدعم المجالس البلدية، فسيضعف دورها في تأمين التعايش السلمي وسيصعب عليها إدارة الأزمات.

أهمية التنسيق والتخطيط القائم على أساس المناطق

لدعم التعايش السلمي، ينبغي للمجتمع الدولي اتخاذ خطوات جريئة للنظر إلى المجالس البلدية بوصفها وحدة طبيعية للتخطيط والتنسيق وإخراجها من طور هيكل التنسيق الإنساني التقليدي القائم على القطاع. ولتحقيق ذلك، ينبغي الأخذ في الاعتبار، على وجه الخصوص، بعض الجوانب الرئيسية مثل تقديم المساعدة للأسر اللبنانية المستضعفة، وإدارة التجمعات غير الرسمية، وفتح حوار مع مجتمعات اللاجئين، وتوفير خدمات المياه والإصحاح، وإدخال تحسينات على البنية التحتية المحلية، وتعزيز الوصول إلى سبل كسب الرزق. ولكي يحدث هذا، هناك عدة خطوات مهمة ينبغي اتخاذها.

وبينما تبدي الحكومة اللبنانية على العموم استعداداً جيداً من خلال خطة الاستجابة للأزمة اللبنانية التابعة للأمم المتحدة 2017-2020[1]، يترتب عليها في الوقت نفسه أن تعزز قدرتها في تلبية الحاجات المحلية وتوجيه الموارد لتغطية حاجات البلديات، كما لا بد من الاعتراف أنَّه بعد مرور سبع سنوات لا حاجة للاستمرار باستشارة السلطات المحلية بل يجب تقديم الدعم لها.

وبالمثل، في الوقت الذي أدخلت فيه المناقشات الدائرة بشأن نموذج التنسيق في لبنان بعض عناصر التنسيق القائم على المناطق، ما زالت هذه المناقشات تركز على مسؤوليات القطاعات والقدرات. وما يلزم الآن إبداء الالتزام الواضح من جانب المجتمع الدولي بما في ذلك الجهات المانحة لإعطاء الأولوية للبلديات على أساس الحاجة التي تشترك الجهات المختلفة بتحديدها والقائمة على الأدلة.

وتمثل الخطط المحلية التي رُسِمَت من خلال إطار التخطيط للمخاطر والموارد بقيادة وزارة الشؤون الاجتماعية وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي نموذجاً يحتذى به، ويجب تعزيز قدرتها على توجيه تمويل الجهات المانحة إلى الإنماء المحلي بالإضافة إلى تعزيز أوجه التآزر مع التخطيط الإنساني. وعلى سبيل المبادرة التجريبية، يسعى برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين إلى دمج التخطيط الإنمائي والإنساني في خطة عمل عرسال، ثم يجب إخضاع هذه الجهود إلى التقييم المناسب، والتصحيح، وتوسيع نطاقها.

وما زال العاملون الفنيون في الهيئات الإنسانية والإنمائية المعنية بالتنسيق، والتخطيط، وإدارة المعلومات يتركزون غالباً في العاصمة. وإضافة إلى ضرورة الاعتراف بأهمية التنسيق والتخطيط المحليين القائمين على المناطق، لا بد في الوقت نفسه من العمل على لا مركزية الموارد.

وما زالت المساعدات المباشرة التي تقدمها الهيئات الإنسانية إلى الأسر اللبنانية الفقيرة غير كافية ومشتتة، مما يعزز الشعور بالظلم لدى المجتمعات المضيفة. وينبغي للهيئات انتهاج تخطيط أكثر تكاملاً ودمجاً وأن تأخذ في الاعتبار إلى درجة كبيرة دور المجتمعات المحلية بما في ذلك رؤساء المجالس البلدية والمجتمع المدني عند تحديد الأشخاص المحتاجين.

وفي السنة الثامنة من النِّزاع في سوريا ومع ازدياد الضغط على اللاجئين السوريين للعودة إلى وضع غير مستقر أو خطير، ينبغي للمجتمع الدولي تقديم دعم أكثر جرأة وأكثر استهدافاً للسلطات اللبنانية. وفي ظل بيئة صعبة والظروف غير المستقرة التي شهدتها منطقة البقاع في 2017، أثبتت السلطات المحلية أنَّها تستحق بجدارة حقها في أن تتلقى هذا الدعم وأن تكون شريكة فيه.

جوزيب زاباتار zapater@unhcr.org

رئيس فرع المفوضية في زحلة، المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين www.unhcr.org

كتب المؤلف هذا المقال بصفته الشخصية فقط.



[1] الخطة الإقليمية للاجئين وتعزيز القدرة على مواجهة الأزمات استجابةً للأزمة السورية

http://bit.ly/UNHCR-3RP-2017-2018-ar

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The role of municipalities in ensuring stability

Responses to crises in Lebanon’s Beka’a region in 2017 show that refugee-hosting municipalities can be a pillar of peaceful coexistence and must be supported.

The eastern Lebanese region of Beka’a, which shares a long border with Syria, hosts around 360,000 registered Syrian refugees. This is both the highest absolute number among regions in Lebanon and also the highest proportion of refugees to local population. In 2017 the region experienced a series of upheavals which posed significant challenges to peaceful coexistence between host communities and refugees.

Crises in the Beka’a region

In February and March 2017, thousands of Syrian refugees were evicted from the municipality of Zahle and around the strategic Riyak airbase. While security concerns were cited, authorities did not establish contingency plans for alternative settlements. In April, Lebanese host communities demonstrated in several municipalities demanding the closure of shops held by Syrian refugees. In June, fires destroyed two refugee settlements in the Central Beka’a municipalities of Bar Elias and Qab Elias, killing two refugee girls. And in July and August military operations by Hezbollah and the Lebanese Armed Forces (LAF) effectively cleared the outskirts of Arsal (which hosted around 11,000 Syrian civilians) of militant presence, ending a three-year stalemate. These events have left the refugee community exhausted, more in debt, more vulnerable and filled with uncertainty and fear that these successive crises have been staged to force them to return to Syria. They have also contributed to raising tensions between refugees and host communities.

UNHCR (the UN Refugee Agency) and its partners have made significant efforts in response to these crises. After hostilities ended in Arsal, the municipality, together with humanitarian and development partners, developed an Arsal Action Plan which for the first time includes integrated humanitarian and development planning and participation of Syrian refugees in planning. Mediation and advocacy have also been extensively used during the Riyak and Zahle eviction crises.

Municipalities: key players in peaceful coexistence

Against this difficult background, local authorities have generally played a positive stabilising role in the Beka’a region, which is not always sufficiently recognised and understood. This was made apparent by the diverging reactions in Beirut and locally to the fires that destroyed two refugee settlements. Fires in refugee settlements are a recurrent problem, with casualties and deaths (in particular of children) not uncommon. For years, UNHCR and humanitarian partners have been working both on fire mitigation, including the placing of fire extinguishers in virtually all settlements and training in their use, and on contingency response. The municipalities of Bar Elias and Qab Elias responded quickly to the fires, with firefighters and Lebanese Red Cross personnel putting themselves at risk to limit casualties. Local civil society and humanitarian workers gave emergency assistance to Syrian victims and rebuilt the sites in a matter of days. The perception among the donor and diplomatic community in Beirut, however, was initially very different; the rumour that arson had been committed by disgruntled Lebanese host communities reached Beirut much more quickly than did news of the overwhelming solidarity with Syrians that local municipalities and Lebanese civil society actors showed.

In Arsal, humanitarians and development actors and the municipality have built very positive working relationships. A dedicated monthly coordination mechanism has been established. Perhaps more importantly, UNHCR and other humanitarian actors have fulfilled commitments to respond to the needs of poor Lebanese as well. The municipality has consistently played a moderating role between Syrian and Lebanese communities, taking into account how initial solidarity in 2013 and 2014 has given way to weariness, complaints over economic competition and fears of collusion between Syrian refugees and armed actors.

In Zahle, UNHCR and the municipality have started a dialogue in which the difficulties of hosting a large refugee population have been expressed. This includes a feeling of abandonment by Beirut elites, who are unable or unwilling (due, in part, to political sensitivities) to reach agreements on concrete policy guidelines on hosting refugees at the local level. Economic considerations also play a role. The agriculture and food industries in the Beka’a region could not survive without Syrian refugees. At the same time, agricultural and urban landlords refuse to pay municipal tax on the rent paid by refugees. Thus, those who gain the most from the Syrian refugees’ presence are not assisting municipalities with the substantial extra costs incurred as a result of their presence, such as those associated with water and solid waste management.

Increasing support to municipalities

In Lebanon, as in many other countries, municipalities are the administrative body most directly affected by the presence of refugees. They also have a responsibility and an interest in keeping the peace in their territory – often resisting direct pressure from a part of their Lebanese constituency who may be advocating for tougher measures against refugees. It is questionable, however, whether the humanitarian and development community has done enough to help them in this effort.

Some valuable efforts are in place and the repeated crises in 2017 have actively been used to increase support to municipalities. The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and UNHCR co-chair a social stability working group which analyses tensions in the Beka’a region. The Ministry of Social Affairs and UNDP produce maps of risks and resources, designed to channel donor resources to needs identified at municipal level. UNHCR maintains diplomatic ties with mayors, governors and the LAF to keep tensions manageable and to transparently communicate that return is the only sustainable solution for Syrian refugees, once conditions allow it – thereby assuaging widespread fears that the international community is aiming for local integration. An increasing percentage of UNHCR’s meagre resources goes to assisting vulnerable Lebanese, either through small community projects such as provision of refuse trucks and solid waste management plants, or through delivery of household assistance to poor Lebanese families including fuel cards and rehabilitation of housing. Municipal coordination bodies are in place in three key municipalities (Arsal, al Qaa and Zahle).

All these efforts are, however, partial and relatively fragmented and there is a danger that, without a more structured approach to supporting municipalities, their role in securing peaceful coexistence will be progressively weakened and crises will become less manageable.

The importance of area-based coordination and planning

In order to support peaceful coexistence, the international community must take bold steps to consider the municipality as a natural unit for planning and coordination, transitioning from a traditional sector-based humanitarian coordination structure. In particular, this needs to take into account key aspects such as assistance to vulnerable Lebanese households, management of informal settlements, dialogue with refugee communities, water and sanitation provision, improvements to local infrastructure and enhancing access to livelihoods. For this to happen several important steps need to be taken.

The Government of Lebanon and the United Nations’ Lebanon Crisis Response Plan 2017-2020[1] is, overall, well-prepared and evidence-based. At the same time, its capacity to address local needs and channel resources to municipalities needs to be reinforced, and there is a need to recognise that after seven years local authorities do not need to be endlessly consulted – they need to be supported.

Similarly, while current discussions around the coordination model in Lebanon have introduced some elements of area-based coordination, overall they remain focused on sector and agency responsibilities. What is needed is a clear commitment from the international community, including from donors, to prioritise municipalities on the basis of jointly identified, evidence-based need.

The local plans that have been developed through the Mapping of Risks and Resources framework, led by the Ministry of Social Affairs Lebanon and UNDP, represent a valid model. Their capacity to channel donor funding into local development, and their synergies with humanitarian planning, need to be reinforced. As a pilot initiative, UNDP and UNHCR are endeavouring to integrate development and humanitarian planning in the Arsal Action Plan. These efforts will need to be properly evaluated, corrected and scaled up.

Technical staff of humanitarian and development agencies involved in coordination, planning and information management remains overwhelmingly concentrated in the capital. Recognition of the importance of area-based, localised coordination and planning will need to be accompanied by a decentralisation of resources.

Direct assistance by humanitarian agencies to poor Lebanese households remains insufficient and fragmented, reinforcing a sense of injustice among host communities. Agencies need to undertake more integrated planning and to take into greater account the role of local communities, including mayors and civil society, in identifying persons in need.

In the eighth year of the Syrian conflict and with increased pressure on Syrian refugees to return to an unstable and dangerous situation, the international community needs to provide bolder, more purposeful support to Lebanese authorities. In a difficult environment in 2017 in the sensitive Beka’a region, municipal authorities have demonstrated they have more than earned the right to be a key recipient of and partner in this support.

 

Josep Zapater zapater@unhcr.org
Head of Sub-Office Zahle, UNHCR www.unhcr.org

This article was written in a personal capacity.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview