تركيا: بين حسن الضيافة والعداء

أحدثت المستجدات السياسية الأخيرى والتغيرات في قانون اللجوء في تركيا أثراً ضاراً جداً في سلامة اللاجئين ويقينهم القانوني في تركيا.

مع استمرار الاضطرابات في الشرق الأوسط وإغلاق الطريق أمام أوروبا من الناحيتين العملية والقانونية، لا مفر من أن تستمر تركيا في وضعها الحالي كبلد يؤوي أكبر عدد من اللاجئين[i] في العالم، ومن هنا تكتسب وظائفية منظومة اللجوء التركية وفعالية الحماية هناك أهمية قصوى لدى جميع الأطراف المعنية.

وفي عام 2014، دخل قانون الأجانب والحماية الدولية في تركيا حيِّز النفاذ ليزيد من درجة اليقين القانوني لطالبي اللجوء واللاجئين، فهذا القانون يرسخ حقوق اللاجئين ويمنحهم بذلك القدرة على إنفاذ هذه الحقوق في المحاكم الوطنية، كما أنَّه يزيد من القدرة على التنبؤ بما ستؤول إليه القرارات الإدارية ومدى ملائمتها للقانون، لكنَّ تركيا وضعت تحفظاً جغرافياً عند تصديقها على اتفاقية اللاجئين لعام 1951 فهي لن تمنح صفة اللجوء إلا للقادمين من البلدان الأوروبية، في حين أنَّها تمنح القادمين من أماكن أخرى إذا استوفوا الشروط الرئيسية لصفة اللاجئ صفة ’اللاجئ المشروطة‘، وضمن الحماية المؤقت التي تمنحها هذه الصفة تقع الغالبية العظمى من طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين المقيمين اليوم في تركيا، ويتضمن هذا النظام صراحةً السوريين الذين أعيدوا إلى تركيا من جزر بحر إيجة بموجب اتفاق أبرمته تركيا مع الاتحاد الأوروبي.[ii]

صحيح أنَّ القانون الجديد قد جاء ببعض التحسينات بشأن الوضع القانوني لطالبي اللجوء واللاجئين في تركيا، لكنَّ سلسلة من الأحداث المستجدة أثرت تأثيراً كبيراً في إمكانية تنفيذه، فسياسة إغلاق الحدود في كثير من البلدان الأوروبية وما نتج عنها من تزايد في أعداد اللاجئين الذين لا شك في أنَّهم سيبقون في تركيا أدت إلى تغيير في المواقف بين السكان المضيفين الذين فَتُرَ ترحيبهم باللاجئين عما كان عليه الحال عند بدء وصول اللاجئين إلى تركيا في عامي 2011 و2012، ويضاف إلى ذلك وجود نزاعات داخلية على المستوى الحكومي مما أدى إلى تغير ملموس وكبير في الموظفين العاملين لدى المؤسسات الحكومية وذلك تسبب بدوره بأثر سلبي في تطوير الهيكلية المؤسسية الجديدة المعنية بمتابعة تنفيذ القانون الجديد وإدارته، ثم إنَّ الكم الكبير من المعارف التي بُنِيَت من خلال مشروعات التوءمة مع المنظمات غير الحكومية أو المؤسسات في الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي فضاعت وفُقِدَت، فلم تعد القرارات تُتَّخّذ في وقتها، وتراكمت طلبات اللجوء لدرجة جعلت الجهات المسؤولة في بعض المناطق الإدارية ترفض قبول أي طلبات جديدة، حتى لو كان رفضها غير رسمي، لحين الانتهاء من دراسة الطلبات الحالية المتراكمة والبت بها جميعاً.

ودخلت البلاد حالة الطوارئ منذ 21 يوليو/تموز 2016 نتيجة محاولة الانقلاب الفاشلة في 15 يوليو/تموز، واستدعت وقف الإجراء الاعتيادي في سن التشريعات واستعاضت عنه بالمراسيم الرئاسية التي تنظم مجالاً معيناً من القانون أو تعدله وتحد من الحقوق والواجبات السياسية ومن ذلك أنَّه يمكن للمرسوم الرئاسي أن يحد من حقوق القادمين إلى تركيا بحثاً عن الحماية، أمَّا الضوابط الرقابية الديمقراطية والدستورية على العملية التشريعية فهي في أدنى وضع لها حالياً.

التَّرحيل و الإعادة القسرية

على إثر التعديلات التي أُدخِلَت على القانون التركي للأجانب والحماية الدولية بموجب المرسوم الرئاسي شهر أكتوبر/تشرين الأول 2016، يجوز للسلطات إصدار قرار إزالة مباشرة لأي شخص متقدم بطلب للحماية الدولية أو أي مستفيد منها إذا اشتبه بأنّه متورط في منظمات إرهابية أو إجرامية أو إذا كان ممن يُمثِّلون خطراً على النظام العام أو السلامة العامة أو الصحة العامة، وحتى لو وضعنا جانباً المسألة الإشكالية لتفسير المصطلحات مثل ’الإرهاب‘ و ’السلامة العامة‘ وفقاً للقانون التركي، يفتح هذا المرسوم الرئاسي الباب أمام التعدي على قانون اللجوء الدولي.

ففي بعض الأحيان، خاصة عند الحديث عن الذين كانوا يعملون في السابق لدى المنظمات الدولية غير الحكومية التي لم تعد تركيا ترغب بهم، صدرت أوامر الترحيل إلى سوريا التي يمكن تنفيذها حتى دون اللجوء إلى القضاء. وعلى أية حال، يمكن الطعن في قرار الإزالة من خلال إجراء استُحدِثَ قريباً نسبياً في تركيا ويمكن استخدامه لتعليق الترحيل إلى سوريا بموجب القانون الدولي، وعندما يكون الترحيل إلى دولة أخرى تعُدُّها تركيا دولة آمنة، لكنَّ المشكلة أنَّ قليلاً جداً من المحامين في تركيا يعلمون بوجود هذا الإجراء الذي يجهل بوجوده أيضاً اللاجئون أنفسهم. ومن هنا، يتعاظم خطر الإعادة القسرية أكثر مما مضى نتيجة لاستمرار حالة الطوارئ في تركيا.

الآثار المترتبة على المنظمات غير الحكومية

تفرض حالة الطوارئ وما ينتج عنها من مشهد قانوني وسياسي مصاعب كبيرة على المنظمات غير الحكومية من ناحية مسايرة التغيرات في التشريعات ذات الصلة وتوفير المساعدة والمشورة القانونية الفعالة للاجئين وطالبي اللجوء، كما أنَّ السلطات بدأت تنظر بعين الشك والريبة إلى عمل كثير من المنظمات الدولية غير الحكومية، فازداد عدد المنظمات الدولية غير الحكومية الخاضعة للتحقيق وازداد عدد المعتقلين من كوادرها و/أو قوبل طلب تجديد تسجيلها الرسمي بالرفض، علماً أنَّها لا تستطيع ممارسة نشاطها في تركيا دون ذلك التسجيل أو عمدت السلطات إلى إلغائه أو تعليقه مدة طويلة من الزمن. وعلى وجه الخصوص، تقع تحت تلك المخاطر المنظمات الدولية غير الحكومية التي قدَّمت المساعدات الإنسانية عبر الحدود في سوريا والتي تسجلت رسمياً في مدن شرق تركيا مثل غازي عنتاب، بل تواجه أيضاً ممارسات محبطة إلى درجة أن كان الحظر مصير بعضها فلم يُسمَح لها بعد ذلك من العمل في تركيا. وحتى المنظمات غير الحكومية وإن كان معظمها مسموح لها في الاستمرار في نشاطاتها فنطاقها محدود ويفتقر للتنسيق، ثم إنَّ كوادرها تعتمد في أغلب الأحيان على التدريب التمويل من المنظمات الدولية غير الحكومية، وهذا ما يجعل لوجود المنظمات الدولية غير الحكومية أهمية قصوى لكي تتمكن من توفير الحماية الفعالة للاجئين في تركيا.

مارغاريتا هيلينا زوتيهواي-تورهان margarite.zoeteweij@unifr.ch

زميلة باحثة، المركز الوطني للكفاءة في بحوث الهجرة ودراسات التحركات ورئيسة قسم القانون الوروبي وقانون الهجرة الأوروبي، جامعة فريبورغhttp://nccr-onthemove.ch



[i] وفقاً لبيانات المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، تستضيف تركيا ما يربو عن 3.4 مليون لاجئ بينما تُقدِّر السلطات التركية والباحثون الأتراك ذلك العدد بـ 3.9 مليوناً.

[ii] تركز هدف بيان الاتحاد الأوروبي-التركي المشترك في مارس/آذار 2016 على إيقاف تدفق الهجرة غير النظامية نحو أوروبا عبر تركيا www.europarl.europa.eu/legislative-train/theme-towards-a-new-policy-on-migration/file-eu-turkey-statement-action-plan

انظر تونابويلو س. وألبس ج. (2017) ’الاتفاق بين الاتحاد الأوروبي وتركيا: ماذا يحدث للعائدين إلى تركيا؟‘ نشرة الهجرة القسرية، العدد 54www.fmreview.org/ar/tunaboylu-alpes

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Turkey: between hospitality and hostility

Recent political developments and changes in Turkey’s asylum law have had a significantly injurious impact on the safety and legal certainty of refugees in Turkey.

As unrest in the Middle East persists and the road to Europe has been blocked in both practical and legal terms, Turkey’s status as the country in the world hosting the largest number of refugees[1] is bound to continue. The functioning of Turkey’s asylum system and the effectiveness of protection in Turkey have therefore become of the utmost importance for all parties involved.

In 2014 a Law on Foreigners and International Protection in Turkey entered into force. This new law increases the legal certainty for asylum seekers and refugees since, by establishing the rights of the refugee population, it gives refugees the possibility of enforcing those rights in a national court. It also increases the predictability and legality of the administration’s decisions. However, Turkey has retained a geographical limitation to the 1951 Refugee Convention, meaning that refugee status is granted only to those coming from European countries. Applicants from other countries who fulfil the same substantive criteria may be offered ‘conditional refugee’ status, and the vast majority of asylum seekers and refugees currently in Turkey fall under this temporary protection. This regime explicitly includes those Syrians who were returned to Turkey from the islands in the Aegean Sea after the EU-Turkey deal was struck.[2]

Although undoubtedly the new law has improved the legal position of asylum seekers and refugees in Turkey, a series of events have seriously affected its implementation. The closure of borders in several European countries and the resulting growth in the number of refugees that are clearly going to remain in Turkey have brought about a change of attitude among the host population, who are now less welcoming than they were when Syrian refugees began arriving in 2011 and 2012. Furthermore, internal disputes at government level have led to a considerable change in personnel within government institutions, which in turn has had a negative impact on the development of the new institutional structure entrusted with the administration of the new law. Knowledge built up through twinning projects with non-governmental organisations (NGOs) or EU Member State institutions has been lost and decisions are not being taken on time, leading to a growing backlog in applications for asylum; in some provinces new applications are – unofficially – not even being accepted until the backlog has disappeared.

The country has been in a state of emergency since 21 July 2016 as a result of the failed coup d’état on 15 July. This state of emergency has triggered the replacement of normal legislative procedure with legislation through presidential decrees. These presidential decrees can regulate or amend any area of law, and can also limit political rights and duties. They can therefore also limit the rights of those who have come to Turkey in search of protection. Democratic and constitutional checks on the legislative process are at present minimal.

Deportation and refoulement

As a result of amendments to the Turkish Law on Foreigners and International Protection made by a presidential decree in October 2016, applicants for and even beneficiaries of international protection who are suspected to be involved in terrorist or criminal organisations or who are deemed to pose a threat to public order, public safety or public health can be issued with an immediate removal decision. Even leaving aside the problematic issue of the interpretation of terms such as ‘terrorism’ and ‘public safety’ under Turkish law, this presidential decree opens the way for infringements of international refugee law.

In some cases, especially those concerning former employees of international NGOs that have fallen from favour, deportations to Syria have been ordered – and can be effected without recourse to a judge. It is possible to appeal a removal decision, though a relatively new procedure in Turkey, and this procedure may be used to suspend deportation to Syria under international law; deportation to another country regarded as safe by Turkey is then considered by the administration as an alternative. However only a handful of lawyers in Turkey are familiar with this procedure, and it is not well known among the refugee population. The risk of refoulement as the direct result of the enduring state of emergency in Turkey is therefore much greater than before.

Implications for NGOs

Due to the state of emergency and the resulting legal and political scene it is difficult for NGOs to keep abreast of changes in the relevant legislation, and to offer effective legal assistance and counselling to refugees and asylum seekers. The work of many international NGOs is also now regarded with suspicion by the authorities. A growing number of international NGOs have been investigated, had their staff arrested and/or had their official registration – necessary to operate in Turkey –  refused for renewal, cancelled or kept pending for an excessive period of time. International NGOs who offered cross-border humanitarian aid in Syria from their offices registered in cities in the east of Turkey, such as Gaziantep, particularly face these and other discouraging practices, and some of these organisations have been banned from operating across Turkey. While Turkish NGOs are mostly allowed to continue their operations, their geographical and topical scope tends to be limited and so a lack of coordination persists. Furthermore, their staff are often reliant on training and funds provided by or through international NGOs. The presence of international NGOs is therefore of paramount importance to effectively protect the refugee population in Turkey.

 

Margarite Helena Zoeteweij-Turhan margarite.zoeteweij@unifr.ch
Research Fellow, National Center of Competence in Research for migration and mobility studies (nccr – on the move) and Chair for European Law and European Migration Law, University of Fribourg http://nccr-onthemove.ch

 

[1] According to data from UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, Turkey hosts just over 3.4 million refugees; Turkish authorities and researchers estimate this figure to be up to 3.9 million.

[2] The EU-Turkey Statement of March 2016 aimed at stopping the flow of irregular migration via Turkey to Europe www.europarl.europa.eu/legislative-train/theme-towards-a-new-policy-on-migration/file-eu-turkey-statement-action-plan See Tunaboylu S and Alpes J (2017) ‘The EU-Turkey deal: what happens to people who return to Turkey?’ Forced Migration Review issue 54 www.fmreview.org/resettlement/tunaboylu-alpes

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview