من أرياف كولومبيا إلى الإقصاء الحضري

العلاقة بين الفقر وعدم المساواة والنزاع تزيد من تفاقم أوضاع هجرة اليافعين من المناطق الريفية.

تهاجر الغالبية العظمى من اليافعين في إقليم أنتيوكيا ممن نزحوا بالقوة إلى العاصمة الكولومبية مديلين حيث فاق عدد السكان ستة أضعاف ما كان عليه قبل خمسين عاماً. وتتسبب الهجرة في نزع هؤلاء النازحين من بيئاتهم الاجتماعية والثقافية التي ترعرعوا بها وتقوّض أمنهم حيث إنَّ هؤلاء اليافعين غير مستعدين وجدانياً للتعامل مع أحداث العنف المشحونة بالمأساة والألم فهذه الأحداث تتراكم شيئاً فشيئاً إلى درجة تجعلهم معتادين على العيش مع النزاع حيث يصبح كل شخص عدواً محتملاً وحيث ينجرف فيه اليافعون على غير هدى ودون هدف جسدياً وخلقياً ينتابهم شعور بانعدام الأمن وخوف كبير في بيوتهم وعلى أرض بلادهم.

ومع مرور الوقت، ينتج عن ذلك آثار مدمرة تقود إلى خيبة الأمل وتمزق النسيج الاجتماعي وانسحاب اليافعين. ولهذا السبب يظهر كثير من اليافعين متمسكين بالحاجة للبقاء على قيد الحياة بدلاً من البحث عن مستقبلهم فقد أضحت حياة اليافع مرحلة تحول مزقها العنف إلى درجة لم تتح لهم الفرصة للوجود والتفكير والشعور على أنهم "يافعون عاديون" بل أجبرتهم بدلاً من ذلك على تولي مسؤوليات البالغين رغم عدم استعدادهم لذلك إلا ما ندر.

عندما يصل اليافعون النازحون إلى المراكز الحضرية الكبيرة مثل بوغوتا ومديلين يجدون أنفسهم مجبرين على إخفاء خوفهم من وجودهم في مكان مجهول لهم تحكمه مجموعة مختلفة من القيم والاعتقادات، ويجدون أنَّه عليهم التكيف مع وتيرة جديدة للحياة إذا ما أرادوا مسايرة نمط الحياة في هذا الإقليم ما يسبب تحولاً مفاجئاً في مرجعياتهم الشخصية والأسرية في مشهد جديد لا يعرفون عنه سوى القليل. وهذا ما يهدد إحساسهم بالهوية ويقوض من اتصالهم بجذورهم عندما يحاولون الاستيطان ضمن أسلوب مختلف للحياة.

وغالباً ما يكون الخوف السمة التي تعتريهم عند سرد قصصهم وتذكر الأحداث التي ألمت بهم. فيفضلون عدم التعليق على شيء مع أن أفكارهم مليئة بالذكريات المتكررة للأحداث التي شكلت علامة فارقة في حياتهم. ولهذا السبب يشكل الترعرع في سياق النزاع المستمر تحدياً كبيراً لليافعين النازحين ومع أنه من الطبيعي أن يواجهوا المشكلات ذاتها والمجهول ذاته الذي يواجه أي مراهق آخر فإنهم محرومون من الفرص الكافية للتعليم واكتساب المهارات الخاصة وبخبرة اقل من أقرانهم بشأن الظروف اللازمة لحياة صحية جسدية ونفسية على حد سواء.

وتقود ديمومة المواجهة بالأطفال واليافعين إلى القبول الداخلي النفسي بأنماط تسوية الخلافات والنزاعات واعتبارها على أنها أمر طبيعي مع أنَّ البيئة التي ترعرعوا بها كانت ترفض تلك السلوكيات وتلك المسألة غالباً ما تجعل من الصمت والسلبية الحل الوحيد للبقاء على قيد الحياة.

ويتفاقم هذا الوضع مع مرور الوقت لكن حياة أولئك اليافعين لا تتغير وذلك ما يولد إحساساً عميقاً بالإحباط وعدم القدرة على مسايرة البيئة المحيطة عنما يدركون أن الظروف والفرص لم تتح لهم مع حاجتهم إليها لكي يتقدموا خطوة إلى الأمام. وفي بعض الحالات، قد تقود هذه النقلة إلى الانضمام إلى العصابات في الأحياء كخيار للحصول على المال، وهذا ما يفصلهم أكثر عن المجتمع فيصبون جام غضبهم عليه ما يقود مجدداً إلى دورة من العنف في عملية قد لا تنتهي أبداً.

وفي حين ينظر إلى المدينة على أنها تقدم قدراً أكبر من الأمن إزاء النزاع المسلح فالحقيقة أن هذه المراكز الحضرية ترتبط بشتى أنواع العنف في نظر النازحين الذين يشكلون مجموعة أقلية لا حول لها ولا قوة في البيئات المحيطة بهم. صحيح أن الواقع يشير إلى تغير في المشهد لكن لا يوجد أي تغير في ظروف العنف التي أجبرتهم على النزوح من بيوتهم.

يضيف البحث عن مكان للعيش فيه عبئاً آخر إلى الأعباء الملقاة على عاتقهم ويجد معظمهم أنفسهم مجبرين على الالتحاق بالفقراء الذين يعيشون في ضواحي المدن الكبيرة ما يزيد عددهم كثيراً. وفي معظم الأحيان يضطرون للعيش في أكواخ القش والخيم أو الأكواخ الخشبية ومثل هذه الأوضاع قد تعني غياب الخدمات العامة الأساسية كالماء والكهرباء كما أنَّ قليلاً جداً من هؤلاء اليافعين قادرون على النفاذ إلى الخدمات التي لا تقل أهمية كالخدمات الصحية والتعليم ويعني ذلك أنَّ اليافعين النازحين مجبرون على السلوك كالبالغين رغم أنهم لم يصبحوا بالغين بعد وفي بعض الأحيان يكون ذلك على حساب هوياتهم التي يفقدونها بسبب التمييز الاجتماعي الذي يواجهون عند الانتقال إلى إقليم أخر وبسبب المجهول الذي يحيق بمستقبلهم.

مواجهة نزوح اليافعين

أي تحليل لمسألة التهجير القسري في الفئات السكانية الريفية من اليافعين لا بد أن تطرح سؤالاً حول الأهداف التي يجب تركيز الجهود عليها على اعتبار أن هجرة اليافعين من الأرياف إلى المدن دائماً ما ترتبط بتدهور المناطق الريفية ومن غير المرجح أن تقدم تلك الهجرة فرصة إيجابية للمدن لاستقبالهم. فلا بد من أن تهدف الحوافز المقدمة في مناطق النزاع إلى إيجاد بيئة تشجع على عملية حقيقية للعودة وإعادة الإدخال وعرض الحوافز والدوافع للسماح لليافعين الذين يواجهون المصاعب في المدن العودة إلى مناطقهم الأصلية لأن كانوا يرغبون بذلك. ويكمن تحقيق ذلك من خلال إنشاء فرص العمل في المناطق الريفية وتحسين الخدمات العامة وبناء العمليات الإدارية الواضحة للعودة والالتزام بعيد الأمد لسلطات البلديات هناك لإنجاح العودة.

من الواضح أن العودة لا ينبغي أن تعني مجرد العودة للحياة في المنطقة التي يوجد فيها المنزل بل لا بد من أن يرفد العودة استراتيجيات فعالة لحماية العائدين وإعادة دمجهم. فالعودة إلى البيت وحدها لن تضمن إنهاء النزوح، بل إنَّ تحسين الظروف المعيشية تشكل عاملاً يساعد حقاً على إعادة الاستقرار لليافعين الذين يختارون العودة.

وأخيراً فإنَّ معظم السياسات تضع تركيزها على مسألة منع نزوح اليافعين من المناطق الريفية لكن مع ذلك هناك كثير من اليافعين الذين نزحوا بالفعل إلى المدن. إذن، لابد أن يتمثل الهدف الحقيقي في توفير الخيارات التي ستتيح لهم فرص الحياة التي سوف تحفزهم إلى البقاء في أرضهم والاستشفاء من النزاع المسلح.

 

أليخاندرو فالنسيا أرياس javalenca@unal.edu.co طالب في جامعة كولومبيا الوطنية في مديلين.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

From rural Colombia to urban alienation

The relationship between poverty, inequality and conflict exacerbates youth migration from rural areas.

The great majority of young people in the Department of Antioquia who are forcibly displaced migrate to its capital, Medellín, where the population is now over six times the size it was 50 years ago. This migration removes them from the social and cultural structures within which they grew up, destroying their security as young people are not emotionally prepared to deal with violent events charged with such tragedy and pain. These events, little by little, make them accustomed to living with conflict, where anyone could be the enemy and where they are constantly adrift, physically and morally, feeling insecure and fearful in their own homes, in their own land.

Over time this has devastating effects, leading to disillusionment and tearing of the social fabric, and causing young people to withdraw. That is why many young people appear to cling to the need to survive rather than looking to their future; their youth has been a period of transformation disrupted by violence that has not allowed them to exist, think and feel as ‘normal’ young people but has instead forced them to assume adult responsibilities with little or no preparation.

When displaced youth arrive in large urban centres such as Bogotá and Medellín, they are obliged to hide their fear of an unknown place ruled by different values and beliefs. They have to adapt to a new rhythm of life if they are to fit in with this territory, abruptly transforming their personal and family reference points in a new landscape where they know very little. This threatens their sense of identity and destroys their connection with their roots as they try to settle into a new lifestyle.

Often they fear to speak, remember, tell their stories. They prefer to make no comment but their thoughts are filled with recurrent memories of the events that have marked them for life. That is why growing up in the context of constant conflict represents such an enormous challenge for displaced youth. They must confront the same problems and uncertainties as any other adolescent but without sufficient opportunities for education or the acquisition of specific skills, and having experienced even fewer of the conditions necessary for a healthy life, either physical or mental.

This permanent state of confrontation leads to children and young people internalising violent modes of resolving differences and conflicts as natural, as the environment in which they have grown up has trivialised this type of behaviour, very often making silence and passivity the only way to survive.

This situation worsens as time goes by but the lives of these young people do not change, generating a profound feeling of frustration and lack of conformity with their surroundings, as they realise they are not offered the conditions and opportunities they need in order to move ahead. On some occasions this can lead them to join neighbourhood gangs as a money-making option, segregating them further from society while venting their anger against it, once again initiating a cycle of violence in a possibly never-ending process.

While the city is seen as providing greater security against armed conflict, the reality is that these urban centres are associated with different forms of violence for displaced people, who are a relatively powerless minority group in such surroundings. In reality there is a change of scene but not of the conditions of violence that have forced them to leave their home areas.

The search for a place to live adds to their burden. Most are obliged to swell the numbers of the poor living on the outskirts of large cities, in many cases having to live in shacks, tents or wooden huts; such a situation may entail a lack of basic public services such as water and electricity, and very few of these young people can access other equally important services such as health and education. Displaced young people are obliged to behave and live as adults, although they are not yet adults, sometimes losing their identity in the face of the social discrimination they meet when relocating to another territory and the uncertain nature of their future.

Confronting youth displacement

Any analysis of the issue of forced migration in the rural youth population must ask the question of where to target efforts, given that youth migration from the countryside to the cities is always associated with the degeneration of rural areas and is unlikely to be a positive opportunity for the cities that receive them. Incentives in all conflict zones must aim to create an atmosphere that will encourage a true process of return and reinsertion, offering incentives and motivation to allow those young people facing difficulties in the cities who wish to return to their places of origin to do so. This can be achieved through the creation of work opportunities in the rural areas, the improvement of public services, the development of clear administrative processes for return and long-term commitment by municipal authorities there to their successful return.

It is obvious that return must not simply mean moving back to live in the home area but must instead be supported by effective strategies for the protection and reintegration of returnees. Return home will not alone guarantee the end of displacement; improved living conditions will be the factor that truly helps stabilise those young people who choose to return.

Finally, most policies place emphasis on the issue of preventing youth displacement from rural areas but there are already many young people who have moved to the cities. The real objective must be to provide options that will offer them life opportunities that genuinely motivate them to remain on their land and to recover from the armed conflict.

 

Alejandro Valencia Arias javalenca@unal.edu.co is a student in the National University of Colombia in Medellín.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview