دور الثقافة في التوجيه

يسعى الأطفال اللاجئون والمهاجرون سعياً حثيثاً إلى اعتناق الثقافة الأمريكية وغالباً ما يكون ذلك لتجنب تعرضهم للتهكم وللتخلص من مشاعر عدم الانتماء. لكن اليافعين ما إذ يعودون إلى البيت حتى يتعرضون في أغلب الأحيان إلى توبيخ آبائهم وأمهاتهم على أساس أنهم يبالغون في تقليد الأمريكيين، فالعائلات القادمة حديثاً تخشى أن يصبح أولادها جزءاً من المجتمع الجديد بسرعة كبيرة تجعلهم ينسون إرثهم الثقافي أو يلقونه وراء ظهورهم. ولا غرابة في أنَّ اليافعين اللاجئين والمهاجرين يشعرون أنه لا أحد يفهم ما يمرون به أثناء تنقلهم بين الثقافات المختلفة ومحاولاتهم تحديد مسار حياتهم الشخصية وهوياتهم ومصائرهم.

وقد أقامت شركة التواصل بين الثقافات Cultural Connect, Inc. برنامج "توجيه الوسطاء الثقافيين" الذي يعمل على جمع اليافعين اللاجئين والمهاجرين بموجِّهين من الجيل الأول أو الثاني للاجئين أو المهاجرين الذين ينتمون إلى ثقافة اليافعين المستهدفين (أو ما يشابهها) والذين يتكلمون لغة اليافعين الأم. وكان هؤلاء الموجهون قد واجهوا بالفعل كثيراً من العقبات ذاتها التي يواجهها اليافعون اللاجئون والمهاجرون الآن. والأهم من ذلك أنَّ البالغين يمثلون نموذجاً حيَّاً لجيل اليافعين يثبت وجود طرق لإقامة الجسور الناجحة بين ثقافتين مختلفتين ظاهرياً. كما يمثل موجِّه "الوسطاء الثقافيين" دوراً مهماً نظراً لقدرته على التواصل مع أولياء الأمور بلغتهم الأم. وهذا الأمر لا يريح أولياء الأمور فحسب بل إنه يقدم فرصة لمساعدتهم على أن يكونوا أكثر راحة واتصالاً بموارد المجتمع الأكبر.

"أفهم معنى أن يكون لديك والدان لا يتحدثان اللغة الإنجليزية ولا يشعران بالراحة مع الآخرين الذين لا يتشاركون معهم بالثقافة واللغة. أما الآن وقد أصبحتُ بالغة فإنني أتفهم الهواجس الاجتماعية التي ألمت بوالديَّ نتيجة العيش في بلد أجنبية غريبة. عندما كنت طفلة، كنت عالقة بين ثقافتين وأفهم أحاسيس الإحباط والحزن التي تشعر بها (ن) التي لا يسمح لها بفعل الأشياء التي يفعلها نظراؤها المراهقون في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.... ويمكنني إرشادها ومساعدتها على فهم الثقافة الأصلية التي تنمي إليها أمها". (موجِّهة من أمريكا اللاتينية)

 

بيرناديت لودفيغ (bludwig@gc.cuny.edu) مؤسِّسة مشاركة وعضو في مجلس إدارة شركة التواصل بين الثقافات Culture Connect, Inc. www.cultureconnectinc.org ومرشحة لنيل درجة الدكتوراه في مركز الدراسات العليا في جامعة ستي في نيويورك.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The role of culture in mentoring

Refugee and immigrant children actively try to embrace the American culture, often to escape taunts and feelings of not belonging. However, once they reach home, they are frequently reprimanded by their parents for being too American. Many newcomer families fear that their children will become part of the new society too quickly and forget or dismiss their cultural heritage. Not surprisingly, refugee and immigrant youth feel that nobody can really understand what they are going through as they navigate between different cultures while trying to define their own lives, identities and destinies.

The Go-Betweener Mentoring Program, run by Culture Connect, Inc., matches refugee and immigrant youth with mentors who are first- or second-generation refugees or immigrants from the same (or similar) cultural background, and who speak the same home language. These mentors have themselves faced many of the same obstacles that the young refugee and immigrant youth are encountering. Even more importantly, the adults are living examples to the younger generation that there are ways to successfully bridge two seemingly differing cultures. The Go-Betweener mentor also plays an important role in being able to communicate with the parents in their native language. This not only puts parents at ease but also offers an opportunity to help them become more at ease and better connected to resources in the larger community.

“I understand what it is like to have parents who do not speak English and do not feel comfortable with others who do not share their culture and language. As an adult I can now appreciate the social anxieties my parents faced living in a foreign country. Having been a child stuck between two cultures, I can understand the frustration and sadness of N, who is not allowed to do things that teenagers like her are allowed to do in the US. … I can counsel her and help her understand where her mother is coming from.” (Latin American mentor)

 

Bernadette Ludwig bludwig@gc.cuny.edu is the co-founder and a board member of Culture Connect, Inc. www.cultureconnectinc.org and a PhD Candidate in Sociology at The Graduate Center, The City University of New York.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview