ليس الماضي إرثاً

في بعض الحالات، قد يكون المتوقع من مهاجري الجيل الثاني القسريين بل قد يُشجّعون على إرث "غضب أسلافهم"[1]. يبين البحث الذي أجريته حول مفاهيم الهوية والانتماء لدى الجيل الثاني من اللبنانيين الذين نشأوا في الخارج بعد أن أُرغم والديهم على الفرار جراء الحرب التي اندلعت في لبنان ما بين عامي 1975 و1990 أن آباء عينات دراستي لم يكن لديهم غضب لينقلوه لأبنائهم أو اختاروا عن قصد ألا ينقلوه.

وبدلاً من ذلك، فقد اختاروا تعليم أبنائهم أفكاراً عامة حول "صفات اللبنانيين" التي لم تعكس الانقسامات الطائفية التي كانت سبباً في كثير من النزاعات في لبنان، مفضلين الترويج للتعايش السلمي والهوية الوطنية لا الطائفية. وقد استوعب الأطفال هذه المفاهيم وتمسكوا بها مع الربط بينها في نفس الوقت وبين ثقافة الدول التي تربوا فيها.

"أحب كوني لبنانياً وأحب بلادي لجمالها وتقاليدها وحرية العيش والتعبير بها. لكنني أحب قَطر لأنني أجد فيها الأمن في وظيفتي وعدداً من الأصدقاء حولي."

"لقد جلعت مني غربتي عن لبنان ونشأتي في الشتات نصف سويدي ونصف لبناني، وأنا أحاول الاستفادة من الأشياء الجيدة من كلتا الثقافتين."

"لم أكن أعرف عن وجود عدد من الطوائف المختلفة [في لبنان]. ولم أعلم، على سبيل المثال، أنه كان هناك طائفة شيعية أو مسيحية هناك أو حتى أن طائفة الدروز موجودة. وما علمنا إياه والدينا هو أننا لبنانيون وحسب."

والشيء الوحيد الذي ينتقص من هذه الهويات الجمعية هو شعور البعض منهم بأنه لا ينتمي إلى أي مكان أو أنه بالأحرى ينتمي إلى المكان الذي لا يوجدون فيه حالياً:

"هناك قول أن من يملك وطنين فلا وطن له. هذا هو ما أحسه في بعض الأحيان. إن لدي وطنين ولا أزال أشعر بشكل كامل أن وطني ليس أي منهما."

 

يارا روماريز ماسري yara.r.maasri@gmail.com هي حالياً أحد المحررين المشاركين لنشرة المساعدة القانونية للاجئين التي تقدمها منظمة فاهامو http://frlan.tumblr.com/. والنص مقتبس عن أطروحة: "لبنان من وجهات نظر مختلفة": النزوح الناجم عن الصراعات والهوية" التي قدمتها الكاتبة للحصول على درجة الماجيستير.



[1] Robben, A C G M, and Suárez-Orozco, M M, (eds) (2000) Cultures under siege: collective violence and trauma, (ثقافات تحت الحصار: العنف الجماعي والصدمة)Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, p35

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Not inheriting the past

In certain situations second-generation forced migrants may be expected and even encouraged to inherit ‘the rage of their ancestors’.[1] My research into notions of identity and belonging in second-generation Lebanese who were brought up abroad after their parents were forced to flee the 1975-90 war in Lebanon suggests that the parents of my respondents either had no rage to transmit or deliberately chose to not transmit it.

Instead, they chose to teach their children generic notions of ‘Lebaneseness’ that did not reflect the sectarian divisions that were the cause of so much strife in Lebanon, preferring to promote peaceful coexistence and national, rather than sectarian, identity. The children internalised these notions, making them their own while at the same time connecting to the culture of the countries where they were brought up.

“I love being Lebanese. I love my country for its beauty, its traditions, freedom in life and expression. However, I love Qatar because I find security with a job and many friends around.”

“Being out of Lebanon and growing up in the diaspora has made me half Swedish, half Lebanese, and I try to take the good things from each culture.”

“I had no idea that there were many different sects [in Lebanon]. I did not know, for example, that there was a significant Shi’a or Christian community there or that the Druze sect even existed. My parents simply taught us that we were Lebanese.”

The only thing that detracts from these plural identities is a feeling some of the respondents have of not belonging anywhere, or rather of always belonging to the place where they are currently not:

“There is an expression that says: the one that has two homes is never at home. That is what I feel sometimes – I have two homes and still I can’t feel 100% at home in either of them.”

 

Yara Romariz Maasri yara.r.maasri@gmail.com is currently one of the co-editors of the Fahamu Refugee Legal Aid Newsletter http://frlan.tumblr.com/ Text extracted from ‘“You have your Lebanon and I have my Lebanon”: conflict-induced displacement and identity’, MSc in Forced Migration 2007 dissertation by author.



[1] Robben, A C G M, and Suárez-Orozco, M M, (eds) (2000) Cultures under siege: collective violence and trauma, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, p35.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview