اليافعون وعلاقات القوى

المهاجرون القسريون الشباب في لندن يتحدون علاقات القوى القائمة ويسعون إلى إعادة التفاوض بشأنها

بالنسبة لليافعين القادمين من المملكة المتحدة لطلب اللجوء، فإن تنقلهم وحصولهم على الأمن والفرص المتاحة تحددها الدولة وفقاً لتشريعاتها وممارساتها المؤسسية. وتكون محاولاتهم للاستمرار في حياتهم وبناء مستقبل في تحدٍ لإطار عمل الهجرة المصمم ليكون عقابياً من أجل التقليل من الهجرة واسترضاء شرائح الرأي العام. وبالنسبة لطالبي اللجوء غير المُصاحبين ببالغين بصورة خاصة، فإن هناك نقصاً في الجهات السياسية الممثلة لهم، مما يجعلهم ينظمون هياكل قواهم بأنفسهم ويشاركون بها. وتعد المجموعة الشبابية "برايتر فيوتشرز" (آفاق مشرقة) مجموعة للمناصرة الذاتية من طالبي اللجوء غير المُصاحبين ببالغين واللاجئين الذين وحدهم الالتزام بتحسين نوعية حياة أقرانهم من خلال مشاركة صانعي السياسات ومعارضة السياسات التي تؤثر بصورة مباشرة على حياتهم وتغييرها.

وتدعو برايتر فيوتشرز باستمرار المتخصصين في الفنون الإبداعية، وتساعد فرصة التعبير الذاتي اليافعين على التواصل لأبعد من حقائقهم اليومية والكشف عن تجاربهم أو أفكارهم أو مخاوفهم أو أحلامهم. ويضمن وضع أفكارهم وتأملاتهم على الورق، ومع مشروع الكتابة الإبداعية باللغة الإنجليزية، أن تصل قصص اللجوء القائمة على الخبرات المُعاشة إلى ما وراء حدود المشروع ومنح المعلومات لواضعي السياسات ورفع الوعي وتوسيع فهم المجتمع "للغير". ولهذا أهميته الخاصة عند وضع السياسات وتقديم الخدمات من قِبل من لم يواجهوا التوابع وقت التنفيذ. وضمن البيئة الجماعية الآمنة، يتم تشجيع الأعضاء على المناقشة بقوة. فهم يستمعون إلى بعضهم ويحاولون اقتراح الحلول العملية لمشكلاتهم والتفكير في كيفية استطاعتهم إحداث التغييرات البسيطة التي قد يكون لها تأثيرات عميقة والكيفية التي يمكنهم بها مشاركة صانعي السياسات ومقدمي الخدمات الذين يجدون أنفسهم عاجزين في الغالب عن معارضتهم.

كما أن لفهم أن الصدمات السابقة تستمر في التأثير على الأفراد أهميته. ومن خلال البحوث التشاركية، زارت برايتر فيوتشرز الجماعات الشبابية الأخرى للاجئين لجمع المعلومات حول تجاربهم في الخدمات الاجتماعية. إلا أن استخدام كلمة "مقابلة" يعني أن بعض اليافعين الأخرين كانوا غير راغبين في المشاركة خوفاً من تكرار مقابلات وزارة الداخلية البريطانية، وهي جانب مقلق من عملية اللجوء، حيث تُختار قصص اللجوء الخاصة باليافعين. وبشكل مماثل، فإنه يمكن للعمليات التي تتطلب بشكل غير ضروري من اليافعين تذكر الصدمات السابقة والتي تضعهم في مركز الاهتمام لسبب لا يتجاوز كسب التعاطف من أجل نتيجة سياسية يقررها الأخرون أن تقضي على إمكاناتهم السياسية.

وعند بناء العلاقات مع المسؤولين والأخرين، يجب تقويم فعاليات القوى وإسنادها إلى الجوانب الإنسانية المشتركة للأشخاص بدلاً من تستمد من المسمى الوظيفي لموظف الدولة أو إسنادها إلى وضع الهجرة الخاص بالشخص اليافع. ولا يمكن أن يحدث ذلك إلا من خلال منهج يبدأ بالخبرات المُعاشة، مما يمنح الشرعية لخبرات التهجير الخاصة بالمشاركين. وعن طريق إيجاد الفرص التي تمنح القدرة على التعبير عن وجهات النظر وإضفاء الشرعية عليها، يتمكن اليافعون من إيجاد مساحة لمعارضة معايير حقائقهم اليومية. كذلك يمكنهم استعادة قواهم كيافعين التي يعمها غضب كامل من الظلم والفخر بتراثهم والأمل الكبير في مستقبلهم غير المضمون.

[بداية مربع نصي]

 (اقتباس عن أحد أعضاء مجموعة برايتر فيوتشرز الشبابية)

هناك مكان لتبدأ حياتك فيه

حيث يساعدك أفضل أصدقائك الأوائل

على الضحك

للمرة الأولى...

وهناك مساحة

كي تحقق أول حلم لك

حول مستقبلك.

[نهاية المربع النصي]

يعمل أليكس ساتون نائباً للرئيس التنفيذي لمؤسسة براكسيس للمشروعات المجتمعية (Alex.Sutton@praxis.org.uk) وتروبتي ماغيشا هي كبير منسقي برايتر فيوتشرز (kushdigital@googlemail.com) المجموعة الشبايبية الرائدة برايتر فيوتشرز (brighterfutures@praxis.org.uk). في حين أن شامسير سينها مُحاضر لعلم الاجتماع في جامعة كامبوس سوفولك (S.Sinha@ucs.ac.uk)، وكُتب تقرير "نافذة نحو المستقبل؟ تبعات المهاجرين اليافعين على سياسة الهجرة والرفاه" بالاشتراك مع ليز باك أستاذ علم الاجتماع بكلية غولدسميث   http://tinyurl.com/eumargins-uk-national-policy وجاء التقرير ضمن الدراسة البحثية التي أجراها الاتحاد الأوروبي بعنوان "هوامش الاتحاد الأوروبي: على هامش المجتمع الأوروبي".

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Young people and relations of power

Young forced migrants in London are challenging – and seeking to renegotiate – existing power relations.

For young people who come to the UK seeking asylum, their movement and access to security and opportunity are determined by the state, its legislation and institutional practice. Their attempts to carry on with life and to build a future are in defiance of an immigration framework designed to be punitive in order to discourage migration and placate sections of public opinion. For unaccompanied asylum seekers in particular there is a shortage of political bodies to represent them, leaving them to organise and engage with power structures themselves. The Brighter Futures youth group is a self-advocacy group of unaccompanied asylum seekers and refugees united by a commitment to improve the quality of life for their peers by engaging with policymakers and challenging – and changing – policies directly affecting their lives.

Brighter Futures regularly invites collaborations with creative arts specialists. The opportunity for self-expression enables young people to communicate beyond their daily realities and reveal their experiences, ideas, fears or dreams. Putting thoughts and reflections in print, as with a recent creative writing project with English Pen, ensures that a narrative of asylum based on lived experience has a reach beyond the project, informing policy, raising awareness and broadening society’s understanding of the ‘other’. This is particularly important when policy and services are shaped by those who do not experience the consequences at the point of implementation. Within a safe group environment members are encouraged to debate fiercely. They listen to each other and try to suggest practical solutions to their problems, to think about how they can create small changes that may have profound effects, and how they can engage with policymakers and service providers whom they often find themselves powerless to challenge.

Understanding that past trauma continues to afflict individuals is critical. While undertaking participatory research, Brighter Futures visited other refugee youth groups to gather information on their experiences of social services. The use of the term ‘interview’, however, meant that some of the other young people were unwilling to take part, fearing a recreation of the Home Office interview – a distressing part of the asylum process where young people’s stories of asylum are picked apart. Similarly, processes which unnecessarily ask young people to revisit past traumas and which place them in the limelight for no other reason than to gather sympathy for a political outcome determined by others can remove their political agency.

In building bridges with officials and others, power dynamics should be levelled and based on people’s common humanity rather than being derived from the job title of the state actor or being based upon the immigration status of the young person. This can only happen through an approach which begins with the lived experience – giving legitimacy to participants’ experiences of displacement. By creating opportunities that give expression and validity to their perspectives, young people are able to carve out a space from which to challenge the norms of their daily reality. They can reclaim their power as young people: full of anger at injustice, pride in their heritage and full of hope for their uncertain futures.

 

THERE IS A PLACE

(Excerpt, by a member of Brighter Futures youth group)

There is a place where you can start life

where your first best friend

makes you laugh for the

first time...

There is a bench where you

make your first dream

about your future.

 

Alex Sutton, Deputy Chief Executive of Praxis Community Projects Alex.Sutton@praxis.org.uk, and Trupti Magecha, Brighter Futures Lead Facilitator kushdigital@googlemail.com, lead the Brighter Futures youth group brighterfutures@praxis.org.uk. Shamser Sinha, Lecturer in Sociology at University Campus Suffolk S.Sinha@ucs.ac.uk, co-authored (with Les Back, Professor of Sociology at Goldsmiths College) the report A door to the future? the consequences for young migrants of immigration and welfare policy http://tinyurl.com/eumargins-uk-national-policy as part of an EU research study titled ‘EU Margins: On the Margins of the European Community’.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview