اختيار الشارع أثناء الأزمة

في أوقات الأزمات، غالباً ما يختار الأطفال الشوارع ثم ما يلبثوا أن يعلقوا فيها.

ويشير بحث أُعدَّ مؤخراً[1]  إلى أنَّ هناك عدد لا يستهان به من الأطفال الذين ذهبواً إلى الشوارع في إقليم الوادي المتصدع في كينيا إثر العنف الوحشي الذي تبع انتخابات عام 2007 في كينيا وما زال كثير منهم في الشوارع. وفي عام 2011 كان معدل الأطفال النازحين نتيجة عنف ما بعد الانتخاب 37% من مجموع الأطفال المشردين في الشوارع الذين قابلهم الباحثون (64% في نايفاشا التي تأثرت تأثراً كبيراً بالنزاع).

وحدد الأطفال النازحون عدداً من العوامل التي دفعت بهم إلى الشارع وهي:

  • الانفصال عن أسرهم نتيجة النزوح
  • وفاة أعضاء الأسرة أو إصابتهم
  • انسحاب المساعدات الإنسانية
  • انعدام الأمن الغذائي نتيجة فقدان مصادر كسب الرزق أو عدم لقدرة على إعادة بناء سبل كسب الرزق بسبب برامج إعادة التوطين المستعجلة.

 

وتمثل الهدف الأكبر الوحيد لانضمام الأطفال إلى الشوارع في انعدام الاستقرار الغذائي (59%) وكان سبب هذه الحالة الطارئ المخفية نتيجة التهجير وفقدان سبل كسب الرزق إثر النزاع بل كان أيضاً ناتجاً عم القحط وارتفاع تكاليف الأغذية الرئيسية والوقود.

وفي حين أنَّ استغلال الأطفال وتعنيفهم يعدان من الأمور الشائعة فليس جميع الأطفال ينظرون لوجودهم في الشوارع على أنه أمر سلبي كلياً. فبعضهم ينظرون للشارع على أنه الحرية بعينها التي تمكنهم من الاختلاط الاجتماعي بالآخرين ومن مساعدة أسرهم والاستقلال عنهم. ويختار كثير من الأطفال الشوارع لكسب المال عن طريق بيع المعادن الخردة وغيرها من المواد القابلة للتدوير أو تنفيذ الأعمال الغريبة أو التسول أو عرض الجنس ويستلمون الطعام مباشرة من خلال برامج الإطعام في الشوارع أو جمع الفضلات.

وينظم الأطفال أنفسهم في مجموعات عنقودية فرعية تؤسس هويات لها وتوفر الحماية في الشوارع، وينضم معظمهم إلى "القواعد" وهي نظام مهيكل للعصابات التي تسيطر على بعض الأماكن في المدن والتي تتمتع بهيكلية هرمية داخلية قوية وتتبع مدونات للسلوك. وغالباً ما تكن الفتيات أقل ظهوراً أو قد لا يظهرن إلا على محيط الشوارع كالأسواق أو قد يعملن في الحانات أو النوادي الليلية أو في الجنس أو قد يستبدلن بالجنس الطعام خلال فسح الغداء المدرسية.

أما جمهور العامة فقد يتصرفوا بوحشية ومتعصبة إزاء الأطفال المرتبطين بالشوارع حيث ينظرون إليهم لا على أنهم أطفال بل مجرمين. وهذه الوصمة تجعل من الصعب على بعض الأطفال تخيل عودتهم إلى البيت أو انضمامهم إلى المجتمع العام، وتزداد مخاوفهم إزاء إلقاء القبض عليهم من قبل الشرطة أو السلطات البلدية التي تنفذ حملات عنف منتظمة على الأطفال وهذا يؤدي إلى حجب الأطفال الذي يقود بدوره إلى حرمان كثير منهم من الوصول إلى خدمات الرعاية الصحية. وأغلبية هؤلاء الأطفال يتسربون من المدرسة في حين لا يوجد إلا ما ندر من مبادرات إعادة دمجهم في المجتمع. ويتغير الأطفال مع تقدمهم في العمر وبما أنهم معرضون للشوارع فإنهم يصبحون تدريجياً أقل قدرة على الاندماج في التعليم المدرسي الرسمي ويزداد التحدي عندما يكون هؤلاء الأطفال مدمنين على استنشاق مادة "التنر".

والعجيب في الأمر أنهم رغم إلقائهم لطفولتهم وراء ظهرهم فإنهم يعيشون في حالة مطولة من الإهمال الذي يجعلهم غير قادرين على "النمو" لتحقيق مؤشرات البلوغ في كينيا التي تتمثل في الزواج والانضمام إلى القوى العاملة وبناء الأسرة والبيت.

 

وقد خلصنا في هذا البحث إلى جملة من التوصيات منها ضرورة تحقيق ما يلي:

  • ضمان التخطيط السليم للاستجابات الإنسانية التي تعترف بحاجات الأطفال الخاصة (منع الانفصال ولم الشمل السريع وغيرها)
  • الانسحاب المسؤول للمساعدات
  • توفير الوصول إلى الخدمات القائمة بما فيها الصحة والتعليم والتدريب ودوائر خدمة الأطفال وتسجيل الولادات/ الهويات الشخصية ووحدات حماية الطفل في دوائر الشرطة.
  • بناء البرامج اللازمة للتعامل مع الأسباب الجذرية للمسألة بدلاً من الاقتصار على أعراضها. ومن ذلك: توفير التعليم المرن والبديل والتدريب وسبل كسب الرزق المستهدفة لدعم العائلات المستضعفة.
  • توفير المساحات الحمائية للأطفال المرتبطين بالشوارع وذلك من خلال مراكز السحب وبرامج التوعية الجماهيرية جنباً إلى جنب مع دعم اللعب والدعم العاطفي.
  • إشراك بنى "القواعد" والأطفال إشراكاً مباشراً
  • مساءلة الدوائر الحكومية أمام القانون إزاء تشريعات حماية الطفولة والتزاماتها بهذا الشأن.

 

بريجيت ستيفين bridget_steffen@yahoo.co.uk تعمل حالياً محاضرة في الدراسات الإنسانية في جامعة ويتس، كلية الدراسات العليا في الإدارة العامة والإنمائية في مدينة جوهانسبرغ، وزيفانيا أوينو zeph.owino@yahoo.com شاب كان سابقاً من أطفال الشوارع وتعمل حالياً على دعم 13 طفلاً من المرتبطين بالشوارع والعمل معهم في ناكورو، كينيا.

 

للاطلاع على نتائج البحث كاملة يرجى الاتصال بـ s.hildrew@scuk.or.ke أو بالدخول إلى الموقع التالي: http://resourcecentre.savethechildren.se/content/library

عنوان البحث: "جيل مشرد: حالة الطوارئ الحضرية المزمنة في إقليم الوادي المتصدع في كينيا-تقرير من الأطفال الخاضعين للدراسة والمرتبطين بالشوارع في إقليم الوادي المتصدع"

‘A Generation Out of Place: The Chronic Urban Emergency in Rift Valley Kenya- Report from Profiling Children Connected to the Streets in Rift Valley Province’

 



[1]  أجري البحث في خمس مدن في إقليم الوادي المتصدع عام 2011 بدعم من اليونيسف ونفذ البحث منظمة إنقاذ الطفولة برعاية مجموعة عمل الحماية الوطنية حول النازحين، واشتمت عينة الدراسة على 2404 طفلاً مرتبطاً بالشارع.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Choosing the street during crisis

Children often choose the streets during crises and then remain trapped there.

Recent research[1] revealed that a significant number of children joined the streets in Rift Valley Province in Kenya after the brutal violence that followed the 2007 elections in Kenya, many of whom still remain on the streets. In 2011 37% of all interviewed children connected to the streets were IDPs as a result of the post-election violence (64% in deeply scarred Naivasha).

These IDP children identified a number of factors that led them to join the streets:

  • separation from their family caused by displacement
  • death or injury of family members
  • withdrawal of humanitarian aid
  • food insecurity due to loss of livelihoods or inability to rebuild livelihoods due to rushed resettlement programmes

 

The single biggest reason that children join the streets is food insecurity (59%). This hidden emergency has been caused by displacement and loss of livelihoods after the violence, but also by drought, and the increasing cost of staple foods and fuel.

While exploitation and violence towards the children is frequent, not all children perceive their street existence as wholly negative. For some it is a liberating experience to socialise, be independent or help support their family. Many children choose the streets to earn money by selling scrap metal and other recyclables, doing odd jobs, begging or offering sex, and receive food directly from street feeding programmes or by scavenging.

Children organise themselves into strong sub-cultures that build group identities and provide protection in the streets. Most join ‘bases’ – a structured system of gangs which control specific territories in towns and have strong internal hierarchies and codes of behaviour. Girls are often less visible or exist on the streets’ peripheries: in markets, working in bars and clubs at night as sex workers or exchanging sex for food during school lunch breaks.

The public can be brutal and intolerant towards children connected with the streets, seeing them first as criminals, not children. Such stigma makes it difficult for some children to imagine going home or ever re-joining mainstream society. Their greatest fear is being picked up by the police and municipal authorities, who conduct regular violent round-ups of children, and children’s consequent ‘voluntary’ invisibility means that many do not access healthcare at all. Most drop out of school, and initiatives to re-integrate them are scarce. Children change as they grow up exposed to the streets and become progressively less able to reintegrate into formal schooling, with the challenge compounded where children are addicted to sniffing glue.

Ironically, while they have shed the identity of a child, they are living in a state of extended limbo unable to ‘grow up’, to achieve the indicators of adulthood in Kenya – getting married, joining the workforce, and building a family and home.

Among our recommendations is the need to:

  • Ensure proper planning of humanitarian responses recognising children’s specific needs (prevention of separation, rapid reunification, etc)
  • Conduct responsible withdrawal of aid
  • Make existing services accessible, including: health; education and training; children’s department services and birth/ID registration; police child protection units
  • Develop programmes that tackle the root causes not the symptoms of the issue, including providing flexible, alternative education and training and targeted livelihoods support to vulnerable families
  • Provide protective spaces for children connected to the streets through drop-in centres and outreach programmes combined with play and emotional support
  • Engage street ‘base’ structures and children directly
  • Hold government departments legally accountable to child protection legislation and obligations.

 

Bridget Steffen bridget_steffen@yahoo.co.uk is currently a lecturer in humanitarian studies at Wits University’s Graduate School of Public and Development Management in Johannesburg. Zephania Owino zeph.owino@yahoo.com is a former street youth, currently supporting and working with thirteen children connected with the streets in Nakuru, Kenya.

Full research findings available from s.hildrew@scuk.or.ke or (from end August) at http://resourcecentre.savethechildren.se/content/library



[1] Conducted across five towns in Rift Valley Province in 2011, supported by UNICEF and carried out by Save the Children (UK) under the auspices of the National Protection Working Group on IDPs, during which 2,404 children connected to the streets were profiled.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview