إعادة اندماج الأمهات الشابات

تواجه الأمهات الشابات الساعيات لإعادة اندماجهن بَعدَ انقضاء مدد زمنية في العيش مع القوات المقاتلة والجماعات المسلحة العزلة والوصم بالعار بدلاً من الدعم الذي يحتجنه بشدة هن وأطفالهن.

أدت الحرب الأهلية في ليبيريا وسيراليون وشمال أوغندا إلى تمزيق حياة الشابات تمزيقاً كبيراً. وتمثل بعض هذا التمزيق في تصدع العلاقات التقليدية الداعمة مع أفراد العائلة والأكبر سناً والأقران. ويصف هذا المقال نتائج بحث العمل التشاركي المجتمع الذي أُجري طوال ثلاث سنوات ما بين 2006 و2009 مع أولئك الأمهات الشابات في هذه الدول الثلاث[1]. وكان ثلثا المشاركات البالغ عددهن 658 مشاركة قد ارتبطن من قبل بالقوات المقاتلة أو الجماعات المسلحة، في حين كان ينظر المجمع المحلي لثلث منهن على أنهن الأكثر استضاعفاً لعدة أسباب، بما في ذلك اليُتم أو الإعاقة. وتضمنت الدراسة أيضاً ما يزيد على 1200 طفل لأولئك الأمهات الشابات.

ويأتي الهدف من الدراسة التي أُجريت في 20 مجتمع محلي ما بين القرى النائية إلى المراكز الحضرية لمعرفة ما يعنيه "إعادة الاندماج" لهؤلاء الشابات. وقد أُقصيت الفتيات والشابات اللاتي شاركن من قبل مع القوات المقاتلة أو الجماعات المسلحة ومن حملن أو كان لديهن أطفال خلال الصراع المسلح من برامج نزع السلاح والتسريح وإعادة الاندماج التي وضعها المجتمع الدولي. ويعود هذا الإقصاء لعدة أسباب بما في ذلك التمييز الجنساني والتصور أن الفتيات والشابات لا يمثلن تهديداً لديمومة معاهدات السلام، وبذلك يمكن تجاهلهن.

وعند توطين الشابات والفتيات المجندات من قبل في المجتمعات بعد الحرب، فإنهن يعانين من التوتر النفسي والعزلة الاجتماعية التي تمثل حاجزاً أمام إعادة اندماجهن. والعديد منهن، خاصة من حملن أو من كان لديهن أطفال خلال الصراع، يشعرن بالحجب وعدم التمكين. وحيث يحدث الحمل في الغالب نتيجة للاغتصاب أو الزواج القسري بالمقاتلين، تواجه هذه الأمهات الشابات مع أطفالهن المزيد من الوصم.

وعلى الرغم من بدء البرامج في التطور لتعمل مع الأمهات الشابات، لا تستطيع أغلب برامج إعادة الاندماج أو تدريب المهارات الوصول إليهن وأطفالهن، وهي البرامج الموضوعة وفقاً للمفاهيم المركّزة على البالغين. وكان الباعث لإجراء دراسة بحث العمل التشاركي هو الحصول على المعلومات من الأمهات الشابات أنفسهن حول ما يعنيه إعادة الاندماج بالنسبة لهن وكيف يمكنهن النجاح في تحقيقها لهن ولأطفالهن.

بناء العلاقات

بعد عدة أشهر من المشاورات والحشد المجتمعي، بدأت الأمهات الشابات المشاركات في الالتقاء بصورة منتظمة في مجموعات وبحث التحديات العامة التي يواجهنها في مجتمعاتهن. وقد استخدمن في ذلك مجموعة من الأساليب، بما في ذلك مقابلة بعضهن البعض وأطفالهن ومناقشة ما هي عليه حياتهن وكيف تشعرن بالاختلاف عن باقي الأمهات الشابات وأطفالهن والتحدث مع القادة المجتمعيين حول كيفية ملاحظة تقدم أمور الأمهات الشابات وكيف اختلفت الحياة قبل الصراع وتمثيل الأدوار بخصوص تجاربهن. ثم ناقشت الأمهات الشابات ما اكتشفنه ووضعن الأهداف لكيفية التغيير الذي رغبن في إحداثه على حياتهن وأجرين جلسات العصف الذهني حول الأساليب والإجراءات المبتكرة لتحقيق هذه التحسينات.

واستهدفت الإجراءات الأولى في أغلب المجتمعات تقليل الوصم بالعار والتهميش، واتخذت على العموم صورة الأعمال الدرامية أو الغنائية التي أعدتها الأمهات الشابات لتعريف أسرهن ومجتمعاتهن حول تجاربهن، بما في ذلك الوقت الذي أمضينه مع الجماعات المسلحة وكيف كانت عودتهن. ومن خلال أداء هذه الأعمال الدرامية والغنائية، نالت المشاركات في أغلب الأوقات دعم أفراد المجتمع والعائلات بعد تخليهم عنهن من قبل. واتخذت الإجراءات اللاحقة لدعم سبل كسب الرزق بشكل أساسي وأنشطة التعليم مثل تعلم كيفية العناية بأطفالهن بصورة أفضل أو فيما يتعلق بالممارسات المقبولة للنظافة والإصحاح.

وكان عصب مشروع بحث العمل التشاركي يقوم على العلاقات المتعددة التي أقامتها المشاركات فيما بينهن ومع أفراد المجتمع وأسرهن وموظفي الوكالة والمشروع. وقد فقدت جميع المشاركات تقريباً أسرهن أثناء الصراعات. وفي حين عاد أغلب الأمهات الشابات إلى مجتمعاتهن الأصلية، أبلغت 35% من الليبيريات و44% من السيراليونيات و21% من الأوغنديات عن عدم انتمائهن للمجتمع الذي كنّ يعشن به في الوقت الحالي. ولم يكن أكثر من ثلث المشاركات يعشن مع والد أو وصي، في حين عاشت 41% منهن مع أصحابهن أو أزواجهن و5% كن يعشن بمفردهن مع أطفالهن، في حين عاشت باقي المشاركات مع الأقارب أو الأصدقاء. وقد اتسمت العلاقات بين الأمهات الشابات ووالديهن بالقلق، كما تحدث العديد من المشاركات عن الشعور بعدم تلقي الرعاية الكافية من جانب والديهن أو أنهم أساءوا معاملة أطفالهن. وبالنسبة للعلاقات مع الأصحاب والأزواج، فقد مثلت هي الأخرى تحدياً كبيراً، حيث أبلغ أكثر من نصف المشاركات عن عدم دعم أصحابهن أو أزواجهن لأطفالهن. وفي بعض الحالات، لم يكن باستطاعة الشركاء من الذكور إعانة أطفالهن اقتصادياً أو كانوا يتعاطون المشروبات الكحولية وفاقدي القدرة على التصرف بمسؤولية. وفي الحالات الأخرى، لم يكن الشركاء آباءً لأطفال الأمهات الشابات وتخلوا عن المسؤولية تجاه هؤلاء الأطفال.

"الآن يهتم الناس بنا"

عندما بدأ المشروع، أبلغ العديد من المشاركات عن جلوسهن بمفردهن طوال اليوم وأنه لم يكن لهن أصدقاء مع محدودية خيارات كسب الرزق مثل جمع الحطب أو القيام بالأعمال الزراعية في أراضي الأشخاص الآخرين. وقد جعلهن التهميش والوحدة يشعرن بالعار. لكن الأمل جاء من حتى أبسط الأفعال التي تضمنت تجميع المشاركات في مجموعات وتشجيعهن على مشاركة قصصهن فيما بينهن حيث بدأت المشاركات في إدراك أنهن لم يكن بمفردهن في معاناتهن. "لقد كنت أعتقد أنني الوحيدة المكروهة".

وبالنسبة لبعض المشاركات، أحدث المشروع نقلة في وعيهن لذاتهن كجديرات بالحب والدعم. وهذا ما قالته إحدى الشابات: "لم نر من قبل مشروعاً يهتم بالأمهات الفتيات... والآن، نعلم أن هناك أشخاصاً يهتمون بنا". وقد تنامت العلاقات بين المشاركات خلال سنوات المشروع الثلاث. "لقد أنشأت اجتماعاتنا حساً بالاتحاد فيما بيننا، والآن، فنحن نتقاسم أعبائنا، ونحن ننظر لأنفسنا على أننا أخوات." ومع التقارب بين المشاركات، فسيتقابلن في الغالب خارج أوقات الاجتماعات العادية. تتأمل إحدى الأمهات الشابات في الكيفية التي تطور بها المشروع، فتقول: "في بعض الأحيان... كانت المجموعة تطهو الطعام معاً وتتناول الطعام معاً، وهذا ما ساعدنا على الاتحاد بل ساعدنا على حل المشكلات."

وقد اختير بعض أبناء المجتمع المحلي لتشكيل اللجان الاستشارية المجتمعية لدعم المشاركات وتقديم المشورة لهن. وعُدّ أعضاء اللجان الاستشارية المجتمعية قدوة وموجهين للمشاركات وأيضاً تلقوا الدعم من غيرهم من أبناء المجتمع المحلي. فعلى سبيل المثال، في أحد المجتمعات في ليبيريا، أقنع أعضاء اللجان الاستشارية المجتمعية سلطات القرية للتبرع بالأراضي للمشاركات كي يزرعنها وعثرت على مراكز للرعاية النهارية والمدارس التي أبدت رغبة في إعطاء المنح الدراسية لأطفال المشاركات ونظموا ورشة عمل حول الخبز عندما قررن افتتاح مخبز.

كما تحسنت العلاقات مع أفراد العائلة خلال مدة المشروع. وبنهاية المشروع، أبلغ أكثر من 86% من المشاركات عن تنامي الشعور بالود أو الحب من قبل عوائلهن تجاههن وأطفالهن. وفي بعض الحالات، عُزي ذلك إلى التشاورات الأسرية غير الرسمية. وبالنسبة للأخريات، ترافق تحسن العلاقات مع أسرهن مع تطور قدرتهن على المساهمة تجاه عائلاتهن. "منذ انضمامنا للمجموعة، تحسنت حصتي التموينية، إذ كان الطعام الذي كنا نتلقاه من قبل قليلاً للغاية. والآن، يمكنني المساهمة في إطعام أسرتي، بذلك اختلف الأمر." وقد أبلغ حوالي ثلاثة أرباع المشاركات عن أنه منذ بدء المشروع، أصبح باستطاعتهن المساهمة تجاه أسرهن من خلال شراء المستلزمات الأساسية.

وقد وصفت إحدى الوالدات المصاعب التي واجهتها لدعم ابنتها وأطفالها في بداية المشروع: "لسنا هنا لنهتم "باللقطاء" وأطفال الأشخاص الآخرين." لكن المشروع ساعد في تغيير هذه المواقف بالعديد من السبل، من خلال التشاورات غير الرسمية من جانب موظفي المشروع والأقران، ومن خلال الآباء الملاحظين للقيمة التي بدأ المجتمع يراها في بناتهم. وبعد ذلك، مع دعم الفتيات لقدراتهم الاقتصادية عبر الإجراءات التي اتخذوها، بدأ الوالدون في النظر إلى بناتهم على أنهن من مصادر القوة الاقتصادية، وليس بوصفهن استنزافاً لموارد الأسرة المحدودة.

وفي حين كانت العلاقات الأسرية في السابق وفي كثير من الأحيان مصدراً لألم المشاركات، اكتسبت المشاركات حساً بالقيمة الذاتية من خلال أنشطتهن وبنائهن لسبل كسب الرزق وبناء العلاقات الجديدة مع الأقران وأبناء المجتمع كما تحسنت العلاقات الأسرية تحسناً كبيراً. والمحتمل أن تتلقى التغييرات التي تمكنت المشاركات من تحقيقها في حياتهن وحياة أطفالهن الدعم بالعلاقات الجديدة والأكثر رعاية التي تحيط بهن في مجتمعاتهن.

 

ميرندا ورثين mworthen@post.harvard.edu أستاذ مساعد للعلوم الصحية بجامعة ولاية سان خوسيه، وسوزان ماكاي McKay@uwyo.edu أستاذ فخري للآداب والعلوم بجامعة وايومنغ، وأنجيلا فيالي a.veale@ucc.ie محاضر بكلية علم النفس التطبيقي في كلية كورك الجامعية، ومايك ويسيلز mikewessells@gmail.com أستاذ الصحة السريرية للسكان والعائلة في برنامج الهجرة القسرية والصحة، جامعة كولومبيا.



[1] يمكن الاطلاع على مزيد من المعلومات حول الدراسة، بما في ذلك منهجية العمل التشاركي، على الرابط www.pargirlmothers.com. انظر أيضاً

S McKay et al, ‘Building Meaningful Participation in Reintegration Among War-Affected Young Mothers in Liberia, Sierra Leone and Northern Uganda’,  (بناء المشاركة الفاعلة في إعادة الاندماج بين الأمهات الشابات المتضررات جراء الحرب في ليبريا وسيراليون وشمال أوغندا)  Intervention, 2011, vol. 9, no. 2, pp. 108–24

 http://tinyurl.com/Intervention-pargirlmothers. وقد مُولت هذه الدراسة من قِبل مؤسسة Oak ومؤسسة Pro-Victims ومؤسسة Rockefeller ومؤسسة Compton واليونيسيف بغرب أفريقيا. وشركاء الوكالة في بحث العمل التشاركي هم: (في ليبيريا) مؤسسة إنقاذ الطفل – المملكة المتحدة في ليبيريا ومنظمة "اللمسة الإنسانية بحاجة إلى العطف" (THINK)، (في سيراليون) صندوق الطفل ومنظمة الإخوان المسيحيين ومجلس الكنائس في سيراليون والشبكة الوطنية للرعاية النفسية والاجتماعية، (في أوغندا) كاريتاس - أبرشية جولو وجمعية الآباء المعنيين والمنظمة النفسية والاجتماعية العابرة للثقافات ومؤسسة الرؤية العالمية.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Reintegration of young mothers

Young mothers seeking reintegration after periods of time spent living with fighting forces and armed groups face exclusion and stigma rather than the support they and their children badly need.

In Liberia, Sierra Leone and northern Uganda, young women’s lives were greatly disrupted by civil war. Part of this disruption was a fracturing in traditionally supportive relationships with family members, elders and peers. This article describes the findings of a three-year community-based participatory action research (PAR) study undertaken in 2006-09 with young women who are mothers in these three countries.[1] Two-thirds of the 658 participants were formerly associated with fighting forces or armed groups, while a third were identified by community members as highly vulnerable for a variety of reasons including being orphaned or disabled. The study also included over 1,200 children of these young mothers.

The purpose of the study – which took place in 20 communities ranging from remote villages to urban centres – was to learn what ‘reintegration’ meant to these young women. Girls and young women who were formerly associated with fighting forces or armed groups and who had become pregnant or had children during armed conflict have been excluded from the disarmament, demobilisation and reintegration programmes developed by the international community. This exclusion is for numerous reasons, including gender discrimination and a perception that girls and young women are not a threat to the durability of peace accords and can thus be ignored.

When formerly recruited young women and girls settle in communities after war, they experience significant psychosocial distress and social isolation, which create a barrier to their reintegration. Many, in particular those who became pregnant or had children during the conflict, feel invisible and disempowered. As pregnancies are often a result of rape or forced marriage with male combatants, these young mothers and their children face additional stigma.

Although programmes are beginning to be developed to work with young mothers, most reintegration or skills training programmes – developed from adult-centric perspectives – have been unable to reach them and their children. The motivation for the PAR study was to learn from young mothers themselves what reintegration meant to them and how they could successfully achieve it for themselves and their children.

Developing relationships

After several months of community consultation and recruitment, the participating young mothers began meeting regularly in groups and researching the common challenges that they faced in their communities. They used a variety of methods to do this, including interviewing each other and their children about what their lives were like and how they felt different from other young mothers and children; talking with community leaders about how they observed the young mothers getting on and how life was different before the conflict; and role-playing about their experiences. The young mothers then discussed what they had discovered, set objectives for how they wanted their lives to change, and brainstormed ways and actions to achieve these improvements.

In most communities, the first actions were targeted at reducing stigma and marginalisation, and typically took the form of dramas or songs that the young mothers developed to teach their families and communities about their experiences, including their time with armed groups and what it was like to return. Through performing these dramas and songs, participants often won the support of formerly unsupportive community members and families. Subsequent actions were primarily livelihood support and education activities, such as learning how to care better for their children or about good hygiene and sanitation.

The backbone of the PAR project was the multiple relationships that participants developed with each other, with community members, with their families, and with agency and project staff. Nearly all the participants had lost family during the conflicts. While most young mothers had returned to their original communities, 35% of Liberians, 44% of Sierra Leoneans and 21% of Ugandans reported not being from the community they were currently living in. Only a third were living with a parent or guardian, while 41% were living with boyfriends or husbands; 5% were living alone with their children and the remaining participants lived with extended family members or friends. The relationships between the young mothers and their parents were often fraught and many participants reported feeling that their parents did not care for them well or that their parents mistreated their children. Relationships with boyfriends and husbands were also a challenge with more than half of participants reporting that their boyfriends or husbands were unsupportive of their children. In some instances, male partners were unable to provide economically for their children or were abusing alcohol and unable to act responsibly. In other instances, male partners were not the fathers of the young mothers’ children and claimed no responsibility for them.

“Now people are caring for us”

When the project began, many participants reported that they sat alone all day and had no friends and only limited livelihood options, such as collecting firewood or doing farmwork on other people’s land. Marginalised and lonely, they were made to feel ashamed. Yet even the simple act of bringing the participants together in groups and encouraging them to share their stories with each other brought much hope as participants began to realise they were not alone in their suffering. “I thought that I was the only one that was hated.”

For some participants, the project created a shift in their awareness of themselves as worthy of love and support. One young woman put it this way: “We have never seen a project which cares for girl mothers.... now we know that people are caring for us.” The relationships between the participants grew over the three years of the project. “Our meetings have created a sense of oneness among each other and now we share our burdens. We are each other’s sisters.” As participants grew closer, they would often meet outside of regular meeting times. Reflecting on how the project developed, one young mother recalled, “Sometimes the … group would cook together, eat together, and it helped us be one, and even helped us solve problems.”

Community members were selected to form Community Advisory Committees (CAC) to support and advise the participants. CAC members were role models and mentors to the participants, and also rallied support from other community members. For example, in one community in Liberia, CAC members persuaded village authorities to donate land to participants to cultivate, found day-care centres and schools that were willing to give scholarships to the children of participants, and organised a baking workshop when participants decided to open a bakery.

Relationships with family members also improved during the course of the project. By the end of the project, more than 86% of the participants reported that they and their children felt more liked or loved by their families. In some cases this was because of informal family counselling; for others, the improved relationships with their families went hand-in-hand with their improved ability to contribute to the family. “Since I joined the group, my dish ration has improved. Before the food we received was small. Now I can contribute to household food, so it is different.” Nearly three-quarters of participants reported that since the project began they had become able to contribute to their families by buying basic necessities.

One parent had described her difficulty in supporting her daughter and her daughter’s children at the beginning of the project: “We are not here to care for ‘bastards’ and other people’s children.” The project helped change these attitudes in many ways – through informal counselling by project staff and peers but also through parents observing their daughters being valued in the community. Then, as the daughters bolstered their economic capacity through the actions they undertook, the parents began to see their daughters as potentially economically valuable, rather than just a drain on limited resources.

Whereas in many cases family relationships had previously been sources of pain for participants, as the participants gained a sense of self-worth through their activities, economic livelihood development, and new relationships with peers and community members, family relationships greatly improved. The changes that the participants were able to achieve in their lives and the lives of their children are likely to be supported by the new, more caring relationships that surround them in their communities.

 

Miranda Worthen mworthen@post.harvard.edu is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Health Science at San Jose State University. Susan McKay McKay@uwyo.edu is A & S Distinguished Professor Emeritus, University of Wyoming. Angela Veale a.veale@ucc.ie is a lecturer at the School of Applied Psychology, University College Cork. Mike Wessells mikewessells@gmail.com is Professor of Clinical Population and Family Health in the Program on Forced Migration and Health, Columbia University.



[1] More information about the study, including the participatory action methodology, is at www.pargirlmothers.com. See also S McKay et al, ‘Building Meaningful Participation in Reintegration Among War-Affected Young Mothers in Liberia, Sierra Leone and Northern Uganda’, Intervention, 2011, vol. 9, no. 2, pp. 108–24 http://tinyurl.com/Intervention-pargirlmothers  Funding for this study was provided by Oak and ProVictimis Foundations, the Rockefeller Foundation, the Compton Foundation and UNICEF West Africa. Agency partners in the PAR are: (in Liberia) Save the Children UK in Liberia, Touching Humanity in Need of Kindness (THINK); (in Sierra Leone) ChildFund, Christian Brothers, Council of Churches in Sierra Leone, National Network for Psychosocial Care; (in Uganda) Caritas – Gulu Archdiocese, Concerned Parents Association, Transcultural Psychosocial Organisation, World Vision.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview