موضوعات سياسية جديدة: أطفال الأكراد النازحين

منذ عام 1984، تسبب الصراع المستمر بين الجيش التركي وحزب العمال الكردستاني في نزوح الملايين من الأكراد في شرق وجنوب شرق تركيا. وفي المناطق التي تعيش فيها الأسر النازحة قسرياً، كانت المشاركة الفاعلة للأطفال في المظاهرات السياسية منذ عام 2006 في أعلى مستوياتها. وبدلاً من السعي إلى فهم بواعث هؤلاء الأطفال، كان المفهوم المعتاد أنهم مستغلون من قِبل حزب العمال الكردستاني وأنهم غير مدركين لعواقب أفعالهم.

لكن كان للنزوح أثر كبير على أطفال الجيلين الأول والثاني. وعلى الرغم من أن الجيل الثاني لم يعش النزوح بصورة فعلية، فقد خاض توابع النزوح الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والسياسية وشهد الصدمة التي عانت منها عائلاتهم. ولم يستطع أغلب الأطفال الاستمرار في تعليمهم وكان عليهم العمل في الوظائف متدنية الأجور وفي القطاع غير الرسمي لإعالة عائلاتهم. وفي الكثير من الحالات، ونظراً للعوائق اللغوية وأمية الوالدين، كان على الأطفال تولي مسؤوليات جديدة داخل الأسرة. والأهم من كل ذلك، هو نشأة أطفال الأسر النازحة ومعهم العديد من قصص النزوح والعنف، وتظهر البحوث أن هذا الجيل يعاني من ضغط الصدمة والأعراض الاكتئابية كمن عانى بالفعل من النزوح.

ولنشأتهم في هذه الظروف، اضطلع الأطفال بدور البالغين منذ سن صغيرة، فاكتسبوا الوعي السياسي حول عدم المساواة والتمييز الذين يواجهان الأكراد. ولأنهم شهدوا تجارب أسرهم، وعاشوا في ظل ظروف غاية في الصعوبة ولمعاناتهم من التمييز والإذلال بصورة فعلية، سعى هؤلاء الأطفال وراء الكثير من الصور للتعبير عن أحاسيسهم. وفي حين شارك البعض في الجرائم أو العصابات الاعتيادية، أصبح الانخراط في العل السياسي مؤخراً السبيل الأساسي للتعبير عن أحاسيسهم وللتماشي مع صدمتهم الثانوية.

ولأنهم تُركوا "معزولين"، زادت لدى هؤلاء الأطفال النزعة السياسية والرديكالية، وعملوا على استعادة المساحة التي حُرمت منها أسرهم. وبدلاً من إسكات صوتهم وجعلهم سلبيين وحرمانهم من إمكاناتهم الذاتية السياسية، لا بد من إنشاء النقاشات الجادة معهم والاستماع إلى وجهات نظرهم.

                                                                                                         

حصلت يسيم يابراك يلدز yaprakyildiz@gmail.com مؤخراً على درجة الماجيستير من جامعة ووريك، كما أنها عملت في منظمة العفو الدولية وجمعية الحرية من التعذيب.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

New political subjects: children of displaced Kurds

Since 1984, the ongoing conflict between the Turkish army and the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) has caused the displacement of millions of Kurdish people in eastern and southeastern Turkey. In locations where forcibly displaced families live, the active participation of children in political demonstrations since 2006 has been at very high levels. Rather than seeking to understand the motives of these children, the usual perception has been that they have been manipulated by the PKK and that they are not aware of the consequences of their acts.

Displacement has had a significant impact, however, on both first- and second-generation children. Although the second generation has not experienced displacement themselves, they have lived through the social, economic and political consequences of displacement and have witnessed the trauma experienced by their families. Most of the children have not been able to continue their education and have had to work in low-paid jobs and in the informal sector to support their families. In many cases, due to language barriers and parental illiteracy, children have had to bear new responsibilities within the family. Most importantly of all, the children of displaced families have grown up with stories of displacement and violence – and research shows that this generation suffers traumatic stress and depressive symptoms as do those who actually experienced displacement.

Having grown up in these conditions, the children embraced an adult role from an early age, acquiring a political awareness of the inequalities and discrimination they face as Kurds. Witnessing the experiences of their families, living under extremely difficult conditions and experiencing discrimination and humiliation themselves, these children have sought various ways to express their feelings. While some have become involved in ordinary crime or gangs, recently political activism has become the main way to express their feelings and cope with their secondary traumatisation.

Being left ‘out of place’, these children have increasingly become politicised and radicalised, reclaiming the spaces denied to their families. Rather than being silenced, reduced to passivity and denied their political agency, they need to be taken seriously and listened to.

 

Yesim Yaprak Yildiz yaprakyildiz@gmail.com has recently finished a Masters at the University of Warwick and has also worked at Amnesty International and Freedom from Torture.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview